Pakistan set to outdo India in introducing 5G internet: PTA

KARACHI: Pakistan, a fast growing digital nation, will emerge as the first nation in South Asia to introduce 5G internet services, stated the Pakistan Telecommunication Authority (PTA) in its annual report.

It said that Pakistan would even beat the largest regional nation, India, on this front as the neighbouring country is also in the run for introducing the most advanced internet service.

“The real potential of 5G (in India) can only be realised post-2025,” Amresh Nandan, research director at advisory firm Gartner, told Quartz.

Pakistan has set its eyes on launching 5G technology by 2020 and preparations have begun to test 5G cellular connectivity, the first of its kind in South Asia, according to the PTA’s annual report for 2017.

About two months ago, the federal cabinet allowed cellular companies to test 5G technology in Pakistan within the existing regulatory environment without charging the users. Network and cellular companies are conducting various lab and field tests to prepare themselves to launch the technology when it is ready.

“Yesterday, I visited a customer support centre of a cellular company and saw 5G signals on my mobile,” said Abdullah, a regular user of mobile internet services amongst millions of Pakistanis.

More than 87% of the population of Pakistan is covered by cellular mobile networks, out of which 70% are covered by 3G services while 30% can access 4G LTE services. Internet and broadband services are spreading to every nook and corner of the country, pushing the demand for more international and national connectivity, the report said, adding that international internet bandwidth is also increasing regularly.

While talking with The Express Tribune, Abdullah said he would have benefitted if he had a 5G compatible smartphone since smartphones in Pakistan are rarely compatible even with 4G technology. With the commencement of 5G services, experts state the market for high-end smart phones will also grow and mobile companies like IPhone which are not directly doing business in Pakistan may open up their stores here.

Security of Data and Critical Information Infrastructure (CII) is also an important issue for Pakistan due to its geo-political importance. In this regard, PTA is preparing guidelines for implementation by the telecom licensees.

In the wake of all the initiatives and regulatory actions, it is of utmost importance that the ICT developments in Pakistan are depicted on the national and international level.

Therefore, PTA has engaged the Pakistan Bureau of Statistics (PBS) to carry out a national survey for measuring the true level of ICT development in Pakistan. Subject to the issuance of Policy by the Government of Pakistan, the PTA has plans to auction more spectrums in 1800 MHz band for NGMS services, the report said.

https://tribune.com.pk/story/1576953/2-pakistan-set-outdo-india-introducing-5g-internet-pta/

anyone in Pakistan have 4g - if so what is your speed? in the city centre of Nottingham i get 23down 20upload

Just focus on your work and forget India. Would also look silly if you say you are gonna do something before your neighbour and it turns out to be opposite.

Does Pakistan offer Internet service in India too? Otherwise I don’t know how the comparison matters. I would expect a decent internet service if I were to live in Pakistan, at least its better than India wouldn’t be a satisfying response.

Pakistan's whole existence depends on how it compares with India and it suffers from major inferiority complex. So not surprised to see lame articles like this.

What most people forget is that Pakistan historically introduced most of these services ahead of India. A few examples: B&W TV transmission, color TV transmission, pager service, mobile phone service. Introducing first doesn't mean anything. What really matters is what you do with these things.

First let's get the basics right ie. Gas, Electricity, Health and Education for the masses, we can discuss 4G/5G speeds for later.

no sent astronuts to space first...

“Yesterday, I visited a customer support centre of a cellular company and saw 5G signals on my mobile,” said Abdullah, a regular user of mobile internet services amongst millions of Pakistanis.
That is impossible. When I say impossible, I don't mean Ireland beating Pakistan impossible, I mean a 12 year juggling a hippo, rhinoceros and an elephant impossible.

Looks like this guy counted number of signal bars.

Airtel 5G Services Launched in Patna; City to Get Coverage in Phased Manner, Telco Says

Bharti Airtel on Monday announced the launch of its high-speed 5G services in Patna. Currently, 5G services are operational at Patna Sahib Gurudwara, Patna Railway Station, Dak Bunglow, Maurya Lok, Bailey Road, Boring Road, City Centre Mall, Patliputra Industrial Area and a few other select locations. Customers flying in and out of Patna can enjoy high-speed Airtel 5G Plus across the airport terminal.

Airtel will augment its network making its services available across the city in due course of time, and the services will be available to customers in a phased manner as the company continues to construct its network and complete the rollout.

The new terminal in Bengaluru, Pune, Varanasi, and Nagpur are the other airports that have Airtel 5G Plus.

"I am thrilled to announce the launch of Airtel 5G Plus in Patna. Airtel customers can now experience ultrafast networks and enjoy speeds up to 20-30 times faster than the current 4G speeds. We are in the process of lighting up the entire city which will allow customers to enjoy superfast access to High-definition video streaming, gaming, multiple chatting, instant uploading of photos and more," said Anupam Arora, CEO - of Bharti Airtel, Bihar, Jharkhand and Odisha.

In the last one year, Airtel has demonstrated the power of 5G with a host of powerful use cases that will change the way we lead our lives and do business.

5G is the fifth-generation mobile network capable of transmitting a large set of data at a very rapid speed.

In comparison to 3G and 4G, 5G has a very low latency which will enhance user experiences in various sectors.

Low latency describes the efficiency to process a very high volume of data messages with a minimal delay.

The 5G rollout is also expected to bring more development in remote data monitoring in sectors such as mining, warehousing, telemedicine, and manufacturing, among others.

Who were the participants in the 5G spectrum auction?

Reliance Jio, Adani group, Bharti Airtel, and Vodafone Idea are the four major participants in the spectrum auction.

How much revenue did the government make from the auction?

Department of Telecom received total bids worth Rs. 1.50 lakh crore from the recently concluded auction. Revenue from the auctions was initially estimated to be Rs. 80,000-90,000 crore.

Speed:

5G services are expected to be about 10 times faster than 4G.

https://www.gadgets360.com/telecom/...ounced-phased-manner-airport-terminal-3559353

I was like huh and then saw 2017, wow 5g took 5 years to be mainstream.
Every tech does make it though , probably later but still does.

Just focus on your work and forget India. Would also look silly if you say you are gonna do something before your neighbour and it turns out to be opposite.

In the age of LinkedIn and marketing your product I can see why they advertised like this, I think its to bring the citizens together.

India does this kind of one aspect reporting too, it did with “digital covid” card reporting and US not having one.

"Mata ji, Pita ji Bigger Than 5G": Mukesh Ambani To Students

Reliance Industries Chairman Mukesh Ambani chose a unique way to remind students to appreciate and understand the importance of parents in their lives.
Addressing the convocation of Pandit Deendayal Energy University last week, Mr Ambani told the graduating students that their efforts were shared by their parents and family who supported them.

"Let me tell you something in your own lingo - the language of the youth. Nowadays, every youngster is excited about 4G and now 5G. But there is no 'G' in this world greater than Mata ji and Pita ji. They were, are, and will always remain your most dependable pillars of strength and support," he said.

"Today is your day. The arc lights are on you. But standing in the wings are your parents and elders... it's a very special day for them too. They have waited eagerly to see you walk up to the stage and receive your graduation certificate. It has been their lifelong dream. Don't ever forget the struggles they underwent and the sacrifices they made to bring you here. Their contribution to your success is immeasurable," he added.

Mr Ambani said he was "confident" that India's bright young minds from across the nation will help it grow from a $3 trillion economy to $40 trillion economy by 2047.

The business tycoon's Reliance Jio has successfully launched 5G services in several cities across the country.

NDTV

Delhi, Mumbai Among 50 Towns To Have 5G Services, Parliament Informed

Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai and Bengaluru are among 50 towns across 14 states where 5G services have started, minister of state for telecommunications Devusinh Chauhan informed Parliament on Wednesday.

According to the information shared by Mr Chauhan in Lok Sabha, Gujarat has 5G services available across all districts.

"Telecom service providers have started providing 5G services in the country from October 1, 2022 onwards and as of November 26, 2022, 5G services have started in 50 towns distributed over 14 states and Union Territories," Mr Chauhan said.

In reply to a separate question on internet connectivity in villages, Mr Chauhan said that as per data provided from the telecom operators, out of 6,44,131 villages, around 6,05,230 villages are having mobile internet connectivity in the country and 38,901 villages are not having mobile internet connectivity as of March 2022.

In reply to a question on mobile coverage in tribal area, the minister said out of 1,20,613 villages with more than 25 per cent tribal population in respective districts, around 1,00,030 or 83 per cent villages are having mobile network coverage and 20,583 villages are not having any mobile coverage.

"The reasons for not having mobile networks in these villages include, inter-alia, remote and tough terrain, areas diversely located with scattered population and commercially non-viable operations. The Union Cabinet has approved a project for 4G mobile coverage saturation to cover all such uncovered villages," the minister said.

The minister in response to a question on Bharatnet project said that there are approximately 2.6 lakh Gram Panchayats (GPs) in the country, out of which 1,84,399 GPs have been made service-ready.

NDTV