Pakistan Super League 2020 - Broadcast, Production and Commentary Thread

Pakistan Super League 2020 - Urdu commentary

So whats your take?

I think Rameez is trying to hard.... And Urooj is abit under pressure and trying to match with him.

This Fakr e Alam guy seems a bit to hyped up.

The people who he is speaking to seem to be a bit worried about him and his behaviour.

Production of PSL V

I am sorry to say this but it has been pathetic, It looked like ICL level production. Even Faysal Bank T20 Cup on GEO Super used to have better production than this. The T20I matches against SL and Bangladesh had much better production, I wonder what happened in this PSL.

Did you watch on online free streaming sites?

Looked pretty good to me unless you were watching on low quality. If you were streaming maybe use a better one.

Probably watched on a streaming site telecasting SD (Standard Definition) quality.

What?

FaysalBankT20 cup used to be pathetic.

Production was decent.

Not the best of course.

You probably watched on a low resolution stream or poor cable/tv connection.

I watched it on PTV stream but I watched on the same last year as well but it was really good and look at the videos from PSL as well.

The problem is on your end. Maybe upgrade your own set up.

Was in HD and came through clear with no issues here.

Not getting 1080HD results its showing lines and the bit rate per second is slow, picture quality is fuzzy and not sharp.
Inspite of having multiple cameras incl. a spider cam, only set of 2 cameras are working when a bowl is bowled. /during the Faheem Ashraf catch did not see other camera angles. The front camera is so far away or mounted on some hill that it needs to zoom in and is unable to follow the bowl.

Looks like some local channels have been hired to do production and teleast, not a good decision.

One can watch the recently concluded Pakistan v Bangladesh Test series

Ten Sports hire foreign and experienced teams to handle telecasts. The cameras also are HD.

The PSL broadcasts are not upto the mark but as Ten Sports is not involved the streaming is free and can be watched anywhere in the world. Unfortunately picture quality is'nt there.

Didn't watch the game live but just had a look at highlights on PSL YouTube channel and it's terrible, much much worse than what it used to be during previous seasons(highlights on PSL YT).

It's all sloppy, camera angles, distorted voice of commies, no innings scorecard, no intro, it's all terribly done and even picture quality isn't that great compared to when you watch highlights of previous seasons. You can justify some of it during live broadcast but the highlights package at least should be best version if not perfect. TBH highlights package gives feel of BPL, I know this is just the first game but this is too much negligence on part of PCB digital team and broadcasters. Amidst the excitement of homecoming of PSL, they can't forget all these things which are very very important for the overall image of the League.

Pleasantly surprised to see Sky Sports NZ showing the whole PSL! Finally some high quality channels.

This is like watching domestic T20 cup. Production and sound quality is horrendous compared to previous seasons. Doesn't look like PSL at all.

Yup the production quality has gone down, no wonder Tensport isn't broadcasting this year

Pakistan Super League 2020 - Fan Promos during broadcast

Between the cringy hand sanitizer and whatever the "right left right left" dance Fan cut aways, I almost miss the Cool & Cool hair moves from the previous years.

PSL broadcast production quality is downright mediocre. Gets worse each passing year.

The graphics are better than last season IMO. But the placement of some of the things is just weird. For example the speedgun readings are sometimes in the middle, sometimes left, and it replaces other text that is shown there... annoying.

Its dark looking. The pics.

The cringeworthy gimmicks and product plugs are getting tiring and repetitive.

Catch a crore nonsense with the catchers being asked the same stupid questions again and again.

Painful to watch.

It’s quite disappointing picture quality on Hum Masala TV channel on Sky in UK..

Amazing to think the football World Cup in 2006 was broadcast in HD around the world and even now in 2020 when 8K TVs are arriving and mainstream Pakistani channels still haven’t adopted HD.

64m six
Female commentator shrieks "that's a huge six"

It’s quite disappointing picture quality on Hum Masala TV channel on Sky in UK..

Amazing to think the football World Cup in 2006 was broadcast in HD around the world and even now in 2020 when 8K TVs are arriving and mainstream Pakistani channels still haven’t adopted HD.

Absolutely MK.

I can't see the ball a lot of the time due to the awful picture quality.

98% cable, satellite and all analogue TV viewers in Pakistan are given feed through SD/analog boxes. Doesn't make economic sense for the channels to have HD distribution.

Camerawork is crap and replays from multiple cameras have been non-existent. Whenever the bowl is hit in tbe air towards sidescreen cameraman loses the bowl.
This is the worst production since Psl inception. PSL coverage is terrible.

They're covering it in 140p as that is what the channels specs are for most Pak channels.

I ended up buying the cricketgateway one which for 20 quid isn't that cheap but it lags behind the live action and doesn't work on TV.

Have'nt seen a single shot from spider cam all day. All the shots from front cameras. No shots from back camera(behind the batsmen) in replays also. Do they ahut down cameras to cut cost rofl.

Ten sports coverage of Pak v Ban test match was superb without spider cam, they had hd camera. PCB has ruined the experience for the viewer for watching home cricket . From the opening ceremony to match coverage everything is below par.

This is some indian company running production whose cameramen can't spot the bowl. Sunset Vine were superb last year.

98% cable, satellite and all analogue TV viewers in Pakistan are given feed through SD/analog boxes. Doesn't make economic sense for the channels to have HD distribution.

Maybe I was thinking of IPL , but thought the PSL was also intended as a premium product and marketed for a global audience, or did they just have domestic Pakistani audience in mind ? And to go global with a premium sports product that essentially means international TV broadcasting to increase audience and also means aiming to reach international broadcast standards and meeting expectations of potential audience.

As someone has said above, this almost feels like ICL level sub standard product this year especially , not just due to the poor picture quality and camera work but overall standard of broadcast and production.

Maybe I was thinking of IPL , but thought the PSL was also intended as a premium product and marketed for a global audience, or did they just have domestic Pakistani audience in mind ? And to go global with a premium sports product that essentially means international TV broadcasting to increase audience and also means aiming to reach international broadcast standards and meeting expectations of potential audience.

As someone has said above, this almost feels like ICL level sub standard product this year especially , not just due to the poor picture quality and camera work but overall standard of broadcast and production.

I was referring to the SD distribution on Pakistani channels.

Here in the US, the feed is coming through as HD.

SHAMEFUL

No ultra edge available, cost Quetta a wicket

PCB has hired the worst production team.
No hd coverage, only 1or 2 cameras working, while spider cam is dangling in the air not doing much.

Broadcast is terrible.

No ultra edge.
Camera angle to check no-ball wasn't right.

Poor stuff.

Atrocious, embarrassing coverage. Worst ever for PSL and easily the worst in all major T20 competitions.
The camera misses half the balls hit high in the air.. Jerky zoom in and out.. Stats of batsmen dont even show averages... We only get speed display of 1 out of 20 deliveries..
And just now, we had the snickometer/hotspot not being functional for a review.
Shambles.

CEO Wasim Khan getting exposed.

He is already facing criticism hiring indian nationals for a botched opening ceremony. His picking this Indian Tower sports has actually given pathetic coverage to Psl .

Even Ten sports without spider cam gave better coverage.

Quality of PSL coverage is the lowest compared to other T20 leagues as well as previous Psl seasons. Cameramen can't operate more than one camera. No multiple camera replays available again.

And the whole media/tech side is supposed to be Wasim khans strong suit.
I know this is Pak and not UAE but i have no doubts Sethi, for all his flaws would have still done a way more professional job with PSL this year compared to this clown.

The cameramen seem to be really struggling to follow the ball which makes the viewing experience pretty awful.

Not great viewing this.

I've switched off my tv this PSL has been a horrible viewing experience.

Sharjeel gets out caught and bowled but I could not watch replay of dismissal as commercials come barging in. This is one freaky sports coverage where they are forcing in ads between deliveries. I'm not a fan of graphics but atleast the camerawork should be professional.

I've switched off my tv this PSL has been a horrible viewing experience.

Sharjeel gets out caught and bowled but I could not watch replay of dismissal as commercials come barging in. This is one freaky sports coverage where they are forcing in ads between deliveries. I'm not a fan of graphics but atleast the camerawork should be professional.

Channel is the problem if ads are cutting off play. What channel?

Most of folks here are forgetting that this is the first psl in Pakistan and we still dont know whether psl is making profit for PCB or not but bringing psl to Pakistan is definitely the first step and they will make profit for sure
.from what i have seen its not camera work thats terrible its Camera itself
Cameras Quality looks Quite old And i dont know if its production company that provides cameras or Ground (PCB) itself responsible
BROADCASTINGS cameras are quite Expensive with quality cameras ranging from 250k$ to Million$ .
Pcb needs to upgrade these things .you can actually See how old the cameras are bokeh is Horrible
Quality looks bad
And i dont see why they cant upgrade these equipments They are not that short of money

[MENTION=149100]Mujtaba2900[/MENTION]

Check the coverage of last year PSL matches in Pakistan as well as recently concluded Karachi test between Pakistan and Bangladesh. You'll see the difference.

Eh???? I watch it on my tablet and the quality is HD and fantastic. Not lagged even once.

It is a bit behind the one shown on TV perhaps due to it being in HD. Despite that it's hard at times to pick the ball in that and as it is it ain't cheap and on top doesn't work on TV.

[MENTION=149100]Mujtaba2900[/MENTION]

Check the coverage of last year PSL matches in Pakistan as well as recently concluded Karachi test between Pakistan and Bangladesh. You'll see the difference.

I saw all three and I see the same Camera Quality Dont know what you are talking about camera quality is the same it was actually bad in Bangladesh tour as well as in previous psl they really need to upgrade those cameras and there need to be at least 4 different main cams from all side

At this rate and given this is the quality of coverage, PCB should just save money and let PTV manage live broadcast of PSL matches , I’m sure those 1972 cameras are still working as they’ve been used for domestic cricket coverage a couple years ago.. and while you are at it bring on some old style Urdu commentators who keep repeating the same line “aur nazreen yeh thi bahut hee umda shot”

I saw all three and I see the same Camera Quality Dont know what you are talking about camera quality is the same it was actually bad in Bangladesh tour as well as in previous psl they really need to upgrade those cameras and there need to be at least 4 different main cams from all side

You can watch highlights of Pak v Ban. Camerawork was better. There were multiple shots(fro. theback) available in case of a dismissal. In PSL there is hardly more than 2 shots.

You are right to an extent quality was more or less the same but PCB does'nt need to buy, they can rent as well as hire or when they enter contract with a production company they can enforce certain standards upon the team. So much of technical issues have never creeped up like this year.

Please check their budget and the amount.they spent on that bakwas opening ceremony.

PSL under Najam Sethi had a lot better viewing experience.

Some of the criticism is unwarranted and doesn't really make any sense.

For starters, this is the first time that PSL is happening concurrently on two venues hence fewer cameras than before. For the test coverage and all, there's only one venue to cover hence it's possible to get more crew in one location. We can argue the merit of having PSL being staged at one location in one time but that's another debate.

There are many areas of improvement and I am sure InshAllah that things will get better as the business end of the tournament comes close. The HD coverage on cricketgateway is good and very watchable.

Then comes the whinging about the advertisement segments; fact of the matter is, they are cringe but what do you want? Do you want cool & cool or dastak to not be part of the tournament and pull their sponsorships back? It's a commercially driven world and that's how it is, maybe we need to tell PCB that they have to arrange better deals with these advertisers but non-stop whinging about this is just boring.

It can be better, and there are areas of improvement but I'd take this league happening in Pakistan everyday instead of being played in Dubai and Abu Dhabi.

[MENTION=133726]GoUgandaCranes[/MENTION]

Rofl this is not the first time
PSL has been covered from Pakistan. This is the third PSL

Sunset + Vine, blitz sports and other sport production companies have managed sports coverage from Pakistan and it has been top notch. They did not have spider cam back then but had professional cameramen who can focus when ever the bowl is hit in the air.

This Indian company Tower Sports Mr Wasim Khan has hired actually have more cameras at their disposal on the location. They actually are not able to access it or manage multiple cameras.

In Pakistan we have a regulatory authority called PEMRA that licenses sports channels and impose upon them rules and regulations when to screen ads during live coverage. Sports channels need vewership to get commercials already this is pathetic viewer experience and then they force in ads only can make a viewer switch off tv.

[MENTION=133726]GoUgandaCranes[/MENTION]

Rofl this is not the first time
PSL has been covered from Pakistan. This is the third PSL

Sunset + Vine, blitz sports and other sport production companies have managed sports coverage from Pakistan and it has been top notch. They did not have spider cam back then but had professional cameramen who can focus when ever the bowl is hit in the air.

This Indian company Tower Sports Mr Wasim Khan has hired actually have more cameras at their disposal on the location. They actually are not able to access it or manage multiple cameras.

In Pakistan we have a regulatory authority called PEMRA that licenses sports channels and impose upon them rules and regulations when to screen ads during live coverage. Sports channels need vewership to get commercials already this is pathetic viewer experience and then they force in ads only can make a viewer switch off tv.

When has PSL happened in two locations in Pakistan at the same time before? (A day match in Karachi, an evening match in Lahore)

For those of you who dont think the coverage of the SL and BD series was better than this pathetic show, just go back and look at the highlights. Whilst the video definition was still crappt, the camera work, graphics and replays were way better than what were seeing right now.
The different location argument doenst have merit either.. If blitz sports can do a decent job covering it in one location before than im sure they wouldve managed it in two as well..
With the budget they have for PSL, this is just down unacceptable. Im not a Sethi fan but i honestly think he would have overseen a much better overall PSL operation if he was still here at the top today.

Are international commentators ignorant of Pakistani cricket?

It seems to me every time we get to a big world event, the vast majority of commentators have no idea who most of the Pakistan players are. They say what style of players are based on the performance they are watching at the time and have no idea who the strongest players are in the line-up.

I don't know why instead of making up stuff they don't ignore the players they don't know and describe what they see instead, or just admit they've never seen them play which sometimes occurs.

I'm not talking about the PSL commentator regulars like Danny Morrison, Alan Wilkins etc who have fantastic knowledge of Pakistani players but wanted to see who else feels this way as well and if any other squads from different international teams suffer the same recognition problem.

Well that happens when you're there simply to pick up a paycheck. We care, they don't.

@saj

Was Tower sports the only bidder for the production rights?

IMG and SunsetVine didnot bid. Which other company bid?

No hd coverage

Strange thing is cricketgate way stream is full HD so why not on tv

This is one freaky sports coverage where they are forcing in ads between deliveries.

All of this are issues on your individual ends. Here in the US, it is being shown on Willow on TV in High Definition.

There's little to no ads during the entire match. Upgrade your your set up instead of complaining.

Even more cringe this year.

The same silly gimmicks which are tried and tested and frankly quite dull now. Yes they are sponsors, but it's embarrassing, maybe change some of them, get some new ideas in and get rid of some of the silly ones.

At times I feel like I am watching some marketing gimmick with a bit of cricket.

At least show batsmen's names! Sometimes they don't even show who's bowling or batting for prolonged periods of time.

Some were calling Tower Sports an indian company which is wrong.
The PSL TV production is being handled by a consortium of 2 companies. Tower Sports and SportzWorkz.

So the company that is responsible for hiring Indian nationals, devastating the opening ceremony and overall screwing our viewing experience as well as PSL brand is Delhi based SportzWorkz.

PCB in their presser called this company Singapore-based to avoid any controversy. But all of its Directors are Indian nationals and its British CEO is also a veteran from ESPN India.

PCB is finding ways to get into a mess they don't need to be in.

How did PCB allow that dastak promo? It is only degrading the brand of PSL. For the sake of few money, you allowed such trash.

At this rate and given this is the quality of coverage, PCB should just save money and let PTV manage live broadcast of PSL matches , I’m sure those 1972 cameras are still working as they’ve been used for domestic cricket coverage a couple years ago.. and while you are at it bring on some old style Urdu commentators who keep repeating the same line “aur nazreen yeh thi bahut hee umda shot”

Haha.

I'm sure Chishty Mujahid would still be better than some of the hopeless commentators they've got out there.

How did PCB allow that dastak promo? It is only degrading the brand of PSL. For the sake of few money, you allowed such trash.

Oh yes.

Of all the PSL's this is probably the worst promo. Silly little dance with the commentators going crazy over it.

Does anyone know if one has to pay the TV License fee in UK in order to watch the paid live streaming of cricketgateway? Reply to this would be appreciated.

Haha.

I'm sure Chishty Mujahid would still be better than some of the hopeless commentators they've got out there.

Even Foreigner commentators aren't any good, Dirk Nannes and other commentator in the last 5 over of Islamabad vs Lahore game,they didn't even know the name of Musa and Abdullah. They were calling them number 10 and 11 batsman. PCB is paying them thousands of dollar and they can't even do enough research to find or memorize the name.

From PCB release:

“As far as the nationalities of the personnel involved in the production of the matches, the PCB wishes to clarify there is a diverse group of people who are ensuring images of our event, culture and passion is distributed across the globe. Most of these personnel have been regular visitors to Pakistan since 2015, albeit different production company.

“It must be remembered modern day high-tech broadcast technologies are neither locally available, nor are the personnel trained to operate these technologies. A goal identified at the outset by both PCB and our consortium partners of Tower Sports and SportzWorkz, was to start the process of developing local talent so that the country becomes self-reliant.