Pakistan Super League 2020 - Broadcast, Production and Commentary Thread

From PCB release:

“As far as the nationalities of the personnel involved in the production of the matches, the PCB wishes to clarify there is a diverse group of people who are ensuring images of our event, culture and passion is distributed across the globe. Most of these personnel have been regular visitors to Pakistan since 2015, albeit different production company.

“It must be remembered modern day high-tech broadcast technologies are neither locally available, nor are the personnel trained to operate these technologies. A goal identified at the outset by both PCB and our consortium partners of Tower Sports and SportzWorkz, was to start the process of developing local talent so that the country becomes self-reliant.

Apparently according to reports, 6 out of 24 cameramen are locals, those who have been covering local domestic tournaments. All the flaws have mostly been done by them. They plan to have 12 by next year

I was speaking with a friend of mine who works in the television industry. He sat and watched one of the matches with me on Sunday.

He's not a huge cricket fan but it was interesting to hear his comments.

He said the studio coverage was totally amateur, the pitch-side interviews were embarrassing and the work of someone who has no place to be doing that, the camerawork appalling, the production out-dated, the graphics terrible.

In fact he said that the whole production needs a complete overhaul from top to bottom, as it reminded him of sports coverage in the 80s or even earlier in the UK.

Before I forget, a special mention for Bazid Khan's post-match presentations - they are that bad, that they make Ramiz's post-match presentations almost seem like they are watchable.

Awkward, horrible and dull.

What is going on, why can't people running the PSL see just how unprofessional this is.

Before I forget, a special mention for Bazid Khan's post-match presentations - they are that bad, that they make Ramiz's post-match presentations almost seem like they are watchable.

Awkward, horrible and dull.

What is going on, why can't people running the PSL see just how unprofessional this is.

Bazid Khan is the dullest personality in Pakistan cricket. His presentation skills are pathetic.

Does anyone know if one has to pay the TV License fee in UK in order to watch the paid live streaming of cricketgateway? Reply to this would be appreciated.

It's a bit of a grey area. Generally licensing fee is applicable if the content you are watching is also broadcast live in the uk.

However, in this case the vendor is different. Hum masala broadcasts the games on satellite and cricket gateway has the same content online. The definition of live TV is a bit ambiguous but it's better to have a license to be on the safer side.

Ooredoo to show PSL live

Ooredoo Qatar announced it has secured rights for the upcoming Pakistan Super League 2020, and it will be showing the cricket matches live on Ooredoo TV channel 399.The fifth season of the Twenty20 franchise kicked off on 20 February and will run until 22 March.

It's a bit of a grey area. Generally licensing fee is applicable if the content you are watching is also broadcast live in the uk.

However, in this case the vendor is different. Hum masala broadcasts the games on satellite and cricket gateway has the same content online. The definition of live TV is a bit ambiguous but it's better to have a license to be on the safer side.

Thank you so much for the detailed response, appreciated.

PSL - TV coverage disappointing

I love the PSL and want to see it become a global brand. However, TV coverage for UK viewers is very very poor. When its live, there are too many commercials, no end of graphics and little cricket. At the end of the day people want to watch CRICKET not a storm of commercials. Ok, I accept the commercials pay for the TV coverage but cricket has to take priority and get more airtime.
In there evening there are reportedly some highlights but you can never find them as the TV schedule for Hum is so messed up; you might catch it by luck. When you do get to see the highlights, they are so compressed you wonder why you are watching it with very little action and more commercials. In fact the time given to commercials is more than the cricket!
If PSL wants to stand up in the world then it has to deliver quality TV coverage to rival the likes of Sky, Star etc. Sub-standard TV broadcast will kill the audince across the world.
Take a cue from Sky and other global TV broadcasters.

PSL commentary team

The commentary is generally lively and interesting. However, there is one commentator who is letting the side down. His knowledge of cricket is poor to say the least and his English very dismal. No offence to the gentleman concerned.

Without naming names, I just dont understand how they keep such a poor commentator in an important position. PSL - you are aiming for a global audience, improve your commentary team pls.

And dont get me started on those 'cricket experts' sat in the studio.

I love the PSL and want to see it become a global brand. However, TV coverage for UK viewers is very very poor. When its live, there are too many commercials, no end of graphics and little cricket. At the end of the day people want to watch CRICKET not a storm of commercials. Ok, I accept the commercials pay for the TV coverage but cricket has to take priority and get more airtime.
In there evening there are reportedly some highlights but you can never find them as the TV schedule for Hum is so messed up; you might catch it by luck. When you do get to see the highlights, they are so compressed you wonder why you are watching it with very little action and more commercials. In fact the time given to commercials is more than the cricket!
If PSL wants to stand up in the world then it has to deliver quality TV coverage to rival the likes of Sky, Star etc. Sub-standard TV broadcast will kill the audince across the world.

I watched a bit of the first match of the tournament and the picture quality was extremely poor. Not even in HD, which should be fairly standard nowadays. Heck, we even watch the football in 4k on Sky Sports/BT Sport.

If I'm not mistaken the test against BD was in HD, but I'm guessing that was on a different channel in the UK?

I think you should thank your stars that you dont have to listen to Urdu commentary because its even worse.

That's a problem on your end.

The Willow Broadcast in the US comes through in HD. There's little to no commercials for the entire 3-4 hour window.

Hour long highlights are also shown that evening and are available via the app too.

I think the Bangladesh series was shown by one of the Indian channels (or at least nok-pk) in the UK.

If you're watching it in the UK on Him Masala then you should be grateful, you get to watch 1/5 of ads PTV or whichever Pakistani channels show the matches. Sky is a paid subscription service, you'll never get that quality because you're not paying for the telecast. Try the official web stream that might be ad free and better picture quality.

I watched a bit of the first match of the tournament and the picture quality was extremely poor. Not even in HD, which should be fairly standard nowadays. Heck, we even watch the football in 4k on Sky Sports/BT Sport.

If I'm not mistaken the test against BD was in HD, but I'm guessing that was on a different channel in the UK?

People watch on Pakistani channels and then say it's the PSL's fault like the PCB is running them. Where the channel is in HD (like the US), the feed is coming through as HD.

98% cable, satellite and all analogue TV viewers in Pakistan are receive their feed through SD/analog boxes.

People watch on Pakistani channels and then say it's the PSL's fault like the PCB is running them. Where the channel is in HD (like the US), the feed is coming through as HD.

98% cable, satellite and all analogue TV viewers in Pakistan are receive their feed through SD/analog boxes.

Exactly i am watching om cricketgateway website and it is full HD without any ad breaks even during inning break.

Watching on ptv or any Pakistani channel is like test of nerves (waqar younis style)

Question is not about HD or SD (although HD would be nice), it is about the plathora of commercials, bad graphics, too many graphics and amatuerish commentary.
It is like watching messed up cartoons. In the years they have been running, PSL have made zero improvement in this area; in fcat they have got worse.
Come on PSL, take a cue from those guys next door who run the IPL; learn and improve. And if your coverage gets better and teh PSL gets the better then it will be bought by the likes of Sky and 10Sports etc.

Question is not about HD or SD (although HD would be nice), it is about the plathora of commercials, bad graphics, too many graphics and amatuerish commentary.
It is like watching messed up cartoons. In the years they have been running, PSL have made zero improvement in this area; in fcat they have got worse.
Come on PSL, take a cue from those guys next door who run the IPL; learn and improve. And if your coverage gets better and teh PSL gets the better then it will be bought by the likes of Sky and 10Sports etc.

PSL does not run the channels and commercial breaks.

I am watching PSL on Willow. There are no commercials and the graphics are fine.

Bangladesh and SL series were shown on Sony LIV which is one of the best sports channel in Asia so its wrong to compare it with them.

It depends on how you look at it , if the PCB is marketing PSL as a premium sports product like the IPL and is looking at international audience then the UK would be arguably the biggest audience for PSL outside Pakistan given the large expat community here . If that’s the case then surely you would try to ensure your premium product gets broadcast in the UK to the highest standard especially if as it seems HD feeds are available elsewhere?

They should in future when selling international TV rights insist on broadcasters meeting certain standards, eg. HD , and in today’s era of 4K/UltraHD surely it makes sense to ensure there is HD coverage for PSL available to attract maximum audience in UK/Europe/US ?

Just think about it, how many people will just avoid watching the blurry and low resolution ‘mess’ on Hum Masala , especially if you have a large screen 4K TV at 50” or more which is standard these days. Watching sports in SD on a large screen TV designed for 4K/HDR content is almost unbearable.

Compare that with the slick TV coverage the IPL has every year, it has the look and feel of a premium product.

yesterday there was no sound on Dsports..
some technical problem... very disappointing..
it was just Dsport problem here or even in Pakistan coverage??
between ad sound came back on.. but while televising match sound gone... kinda like broken radio

yesterday there was no sound on Dsports..
some technical problem... very disappointing..
it was just Dsport problem here or even in Pakistan coverage??
between ad sound came back on.. but while televising match sound gone... kinda like broken radio

Just DSport, I guess. No issues here.

Willow coverage is the best, coverage in Pakistan is not hd and you can blame geo and ptv for that.

It depends on how you look at it , if the PCB is marketing PSL as a premium sports product like the IPL and is looking at international audience then the UK would be arguably the biggest audience for PSL outside Pakistan given the large expat community here . If that’s the case then surely you would try to ensure your premium product gets broadcast in the UK to the highest standard especially if as it seems HD feeds are available elsewhere?

They should in future when selling international TV rights insist on broadcasters meeting certain standards, eg. HD , and in today’s era of 4K/UltraHD surely it makes sense to ensure there is HD coverage for PSL available to attract maximum audience in UK/Europe/US ?

Just think about it, how many people will just avoid watching the blurry and low resolution ‘mess’ on Hum Masala , especially if you have a large screen 4K TV at 50” or more which is standard these days. Watching sports in SD on a large screen TV designed for 4K/HDR content is almost unbearable.

Compare that with the slick TV coverage the IPL has every year, it has the look and feel of a premium product.

From what I understand, the PSL does not sell the broadcast rights to individual channels.

The PSL sold the global television rights to Techfront, who turns around and negotiates with broadcasters and acts as a distributor.

As the PSL brand grows, Techfront will be able to garnish interest from HD channels in the UK.

The deal currently runs from 2019 - 2021.

From what I understand, the PSL does not sell the broadcast rights to individual channels.

The PSL sold the global television rights to Techfront, who turns around and negotiates with broadcasters and acts as a distributor.

As the PSL brand grows, Techfront will be able to garnish interest from HD channels in the UK.

The deal currently runs from 2019 - 2021.
Thanks for clarifying , hopefully things will improve in future but as it stands right now, PSL being broadcast live in the UK in a low resolution SD (awful video quality even by SD standards, in fact) on a food / cooking channel (Hum Masala) doesn’t exactly come across as a premium sports brand to rival IPL.

And that’s a shame because the on field cricket is pretty good.

Thanks for clarifying , hopefully things will improve in future but as it stands right now, PSL being broadcast live in the UK in a low resolution SD (awful video quality even by SD standards, in fact) on a food / cooking channel (Hum Masala) doesn’t exactly come across as a premium sports brand to rival IPL.

Exactly, despite people trying to paper over the cracks.

Many people I know have stopped watching it due to the poor picture quality.

That's a question then for the other channels in the UK on why they won't buy the rights from Techfront.

Supply and Demand rules at the end of the day.

I asked someone at Sky why they wouldn't buy the rights for PSL. He said due to the PCB hierarchy who are not reliable.

I wonder if that changes with Wasim Khan there now.

Content uploaded on digital platform for today's match Islamabad v Quetta has audio problems, actually no audio. Feels like the old audio cassette recording gone wrong. Production hitting new lows every day.

Loving the graphics this season. Very clean and neat.

Having the PSL in Pakistan has improved the viewing experience for me: decent atmosphere and great pitches.

The commentary is slightly bland so hopefully better commentators will be added next season. HD Ackerman is easy to listen to. Slater will bring the excitement. Not sure if Bishop is joining, but he's a must for next season.

Overall, no complaints from me.

Exactly, despite people trying to paper over the cracks.

Many people I know have stopped watching it due to the poor picture quality.

The matches have been good this year. The atmosphere in the stadium has added a lot to the psl.

The production isnt great, but its watchable.

The matches have been good this year. The atmosphere in the stadium has added a lot to the psl.

The production isnt great, but its watchable.

Exactly.

I have some issues with the broadcast, actually not broadcast but the graphics - like bowling speed and its position.

But otherwise the quality of the footage is good. Cameras sometimes can't follow the ball, but that's due to some PAK cameramen getting trained on the job.

Overall - atmosphere & matches: Great
Broadcast: OK

Picture quality isn't an issue at all, on cricketgateway it's proper HD.
Issue is the commentary team, presentations, on field ints etc, that's some horrible stuff.

How bad is Dominic Cork.

So many errors.

Too excited thinking about the rupees he is getting.

Waqar "What a hitting, 67 runs in last over" :)

Rameez is still the king of cringe. A couple of gems from yesterday
Wiese gets hit for a 4, cue Rameez
. "arooj, mughay dar hay k Wiese ka visa na cancel hojaye"

Livingstone walks in to bat
"Ab dekhtay hain k Livingstone kitni dair " live" kartay hain"

Rameez is still the king of cringe. A couple of gems from yesterday
Wiese gets hit for a 4, cue Rameez
. "arooj, mughay dar hay k Wiese ka visa na cancel hojaye"

Livingstone walks in to bat
"Ab dekhtay hain k Livingstone kitni dair " live" kartay hain"

You clearly haven't heard the bakwaas of Bazid Khan.

I have.. Difference is Bazid is actually funny atleast 50% of the time. Hes the only one i can tolerate in the urdu commentary panel.
Rameez is just a lost cause through and through

The worst and most awkward post match presentations ever.

His Urdu commentary is even worse. He tries so hard to be funny but it is not even funny. I think they take inspiration from Hindi commentary in IPL but that is genuinely funny when someone like Sidhu is commentating but not these jokers.

Why does Ramiz hit on Urooj while commenting? How is this even allowed?

Hi,

So, I can't believe how many times Urooj has been hit on by Rameez while commenting by Ramiz. Clearly she doesn't want this, judging by her serious replies. He is subtle most of times. Just right now, Ramiz made a comment how he will be able to take Urooj to eat in Lahore.

Am I the only one noting this cringey commentary? Why can't he be professional? Why PSL management does not notice this?

Unless he is being blatant about it, I don't think you can prove or disprove him hitting on her. This is one of those things that is hard to prove.

I always thought of him as a gentleman. But he is probably trying too hard to be someone he is not. To add masala, perhaps.

Hi,

So, I can't believe how many times Urooj has been hit on by Rameez while commenting by Ramiz. Clearly she doesn't want this, judging by her serious replies. He is subtle most of times. Just right now, Ramiz made a comment how he will be able to take Urooj to eat in Lahore.

Am I the only one noting this cringey commentary? Why can't he be professional? Why PSL management does not notice this?

Lol you watch too much of Hollywood it doesn't work the same way in asia my friend get out of your bubble and read some literature
What you are accusing ramiz of is pretty normal

Lol you watch too much of Hollywood it doesn't work the same way in asia my friend get out of your bubble and read some literature
What you are accusing ramiz of is pretty normal

It would be normal if the other commentator were also welcoming such talk. But she clearly doesn't, by being professional and focussed on cricket. Is the idea of consent alien? This is borderline harassing if I didn't know any better. You can't just go on like that. It's unprofessional. Whole world is watching. Not just desi village people.

The cringeworthy gimmicks and product plugs are getting tiring and repetitive.

Catch a crore nonsense with the catchers being asked the same stupid questions again and again.

Painful to watch.

Totally agree.

Whilst I was at the GSL - I saw them throw T shirts in the crowd and saw people trying to get them like animals - painful that.

The ongoing banter between Cork and Slater is making watching much more entertaining

Why there is Urdu commentary between the matches? Is it only for viewers in Pakistan or for everyone?

Not sure who was the supreme intellectual who designed this year's schedule. Lahore have only played 3 matches while ALL of the other teams have played 5 or 6. I understand that LQ embarrass themselves and the city whenever they play, but it is very unfair on them to be sitting out and watching while other teams are refining and fine tuning their strategies and tactics. Somebody nominate the scheduler for tamgha-e-imtiaz.

Totally agree.

Whilst I was at the GSL - I saw them throw T shirts in the crowd and saw people trying to get them like animals - painful that.

And the possibility of injuries too.

Hi,

Taking her to out eat in Lahore is hardly him "hitting on her".
He's probably talking about how good the food is.

I cant watch the PSL on Hum TV in the UK. The picture is so terrible on standard definition, you can hardly make out the white ball!! In this day and age, you would think some of the Pak Channels would be in HD in the UK? Most of the Indian channels in the UK are HD.

Shame as it seems a decent tournament.

Totally agree.

Instead they can have first 100/200 people get the tshirts/souvenir at the gate. They can advertise that and it looks more professional and attractive. Atleast that's what MLB/NBA does..

Why there is Urdu commentary between the matches? Is it only for viewers in Pakistan or for everyone?

Believe only for Pakistani channels. I haven't heard it in the US.

Instead they can have first 100/200 people get the tshirts/souvenir at the gate. They can advertise that and it looks more professional and attractive. Atleast that's what MLB/NBA does..

Or use a T-shirt cannon like is done in other sports or like the PSL was doing in the UAE.

I cant watch the PSL on Hum TV in the UK. The picture is so terrible on standard definition, you can hardly make out the white ball!! In this day and age, you would think some of the Pak Channels would be in HD in the UK? Most of the Indian channels in the UK are HD.

Shame as it seems a decent tournament.
E.

Is it a separate UK Channel with Pakistani Broadcast? Or a direct feed of a Pakistani channel.

98% cable, satellite and all analogue TV viewers in Pakistan receive their feed through SD/analog boxes.

Typical people always complain
Cheer up!
Enjoy PSL it only comes once a year!
Enjoy it before we go back to Pakistan getting thrashed left right and centre.

Astro cricket, Willow Cricket have HD broadcast of the games with hardly any ads. Had no.idea.that standard if broadcast was so.poor in Pak and UK

Apparently Pak viewers can watch the live games on utube on.some bsports channel... Is that HD?

Ramiz Raja and that hired on female quota bland commentator Urooj Mumtaz should take a workshop with 9th standard students for urdu. Absolutely pathetic and humiliating to hear them. And the worst part is they are trying to copy hindi style indian commentary. Hilarious part is most of the terms they usein Urdu are english. When you are speaking 35% English in Urdu commentary better stay with English and please dont try to copy hindi commentary even they dont know any hindi.

Raja sahab is copying Hindi style commentary which is little strange ,urdu has its own accent and it does not go well with the viewers. Using too much of english is shameful. Urooj should not be commentating in any urdu or english, she is the product of our english/burger schools who are not good with any actually, neither urdu nor english.

Bazid calling Ben Dunk, Ben Duckett.

So many other errors in player's names.

It's becoming more about trying to sound passionate and being funny, rather than quality commentary.

Just watched the highlights of the game between Lahore and Quetta.. Are the commentators high on something? They don't even yell like this in world cup match or champions league final. What the hell is going on?

You haven't seen Fakhr-e-aalam yet. He seemed manic. Even the commies were having an awkward chuckle.

I am not sure why people care so much about the commentators. Bar Atherton, Hussain, Bishop and Chappell, all the others are much of muchness.

You haven't seen Fakhr-e-aalam yet. He seemed manic. Even the commies were having an awkward chuckle.

Seriously I worry about him.

His behaviour is very strange.

It's just an act of over exaggeration like Danny Morrison. They're all in on it for fun.

Fakhar-e-Alam isn't some clown. Read up about him.