Pakistan to release Indian pilot tomorrow as peace gesture: Prime Minister Imran Khan

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Pakistan to release India's Wg Cdr Abhinandan on March 1 as a peace gesture, says PM Imran Khan <a href="https://t.co/LZ3mOcDfNz">https://t.co/LZ3mOcDfNz</a> <a href="https://t.co/7P9Dk5A611">pic.twitter.com/7P9Dk5A611</a></p>— Dawn.com (@dawn_com) <a href="https://twitter.com/dawn_com/status/1101083027332124672?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">February 28, 2019</a></blockquote>

Good gesture by PM Imran Khan.

Excellent speech overall.

Talked again about peace talks and appreciated Pakistani media’s maturity.

Brave decision for peace and a very powerful speech in National Assembly mentioning don't see our will for peace as weakness.

Any video of the Speech [MENTION=133397]WebGuru[/MENTION]?

Watching some of these Indian News channel makes me puke! Imran just announced pilot will be released as a peace gesture and news channels are saying 'Pak Caves' 'Pak Succumbs' 'Pak Forced'

Thank you Imran Khan, now please let our 2 countries never get into a tussle like this ever again... Lets stop all this madness and work hard for peace....

Any video of the Speech [MENTION=133397]WebGuru[/MENTION]?

It will be available on youtube in a few minutes when somebody upload. He just finished his speech a few minutes ago so it will take time to upload.

Imran Khan has won this engagement through and through.

Modi has tried to pull off a Kargil type stunt and ended up with tomatoes (pun intended) on his face.

This is sad to see Indian media still saying cheering for war and seeing it as a weakness.

We should release him but not sure if Modi will give anything in return.

Releasing him so soon will be branded as a sign of weakness by many troublemakers and warmongers. That's certainly how the Indian media would portray it.

It will be available on youtube in a few minutes when somebody upload. He just finished his speech a few minutes ago so it will take time to upload.

Ok, thank you for Your reply. I am watching it now

This is sad to see Indian media still saying cheering for war and seeing it as a weakness.

Disgusted with the Indian media.

NDTV is starting to change its tune after yesterday’s slap but the rest of them still want a war.

It’s a brave move by Imran but I hope it leads to deescalation because Modi may change his colours once they get the pilot back.

And it's good that he is being let off 'tomorrow' and not today - disallows India from doing something stupid overnight.

Hope Twitter doesn't go about predicting WW3 imminent tonight, but I'm not too hopeful.

If you were Pakistan, what would you demand? Money?

We keep him for a while, it’s a card Pakistan have in their pocket.

Would India have done the same so quickly ?

However if it brings peace and Imran Khan who I trust must know more than us then It was Most likely the right decision.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">We in India may not like this, but in terms of pure optics, <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@ImranKhanPTI</a> at the moment is winning the day by taking the moral high ground .. we have a strong case on terror but too many of our leaders busy calculating votes at the moment..</p>— Rajdeep Sardesai (@sardesairajdeep) <a href="https://twitter.com/sardesairajdeep/status/1101078456446668800?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">February 28, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Indian media and Indians claiming this as a victory of Modi under whose pressure Pakistan has been forced to release the Indian Pilot.

Bet this will be hailed as another feat of strong statesmanship by Modi and Pakistan succumbing to pressure.

Weak decision. No way would India have returned our pilot like this. Being too nice. Letting a trump card go without anything in return is crazy.

Imran Khan has won this engagement through and through.

Modi has tried to pull off a Kargil type stunt and ended up with tomatoes (pun intended) on his face.
Yeh account apak to nae?
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Never seen a Pakistani PM so outplay an Indian PM so completely.</p>— Krishan Partap Singh (@RaisinaSeries) <a href="https://twitter.com/RaisinaSeries/status/1101078159364161536?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">February 28, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Disgusted with the Indian media.

NDTV is starting to change its tune after yesterday’s slap but the rest of them still want a war.

It’s a brave move by Imran but I hope it leads to deescalation because Modi may change his colours once they get the pilot back.

There are no guarantees. This is pure naivety by IK.

Excellent decision, but unfortunately, the loudmouths armchair patriots on the other side are accusing Pakistan of caving under pressure and how the “he is not a bargaining chip” narrative has worked.

Nevertheless, the right decision has been made. The keyboard warriors on PP who wanted him to be tortured can go for a hike now.

Yeh account apak to nae?
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Never seen a Pakistani PM so outplay an Indian PM so completely.</p>— Krishan Partap Singh (@RaisinaSeries) <a href="https://twitter.com/RaisinaSeries/status/1101078159364161536?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">February 28, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Haha, a lot of folks are thinking this now.

And this India Today is a top indian news site? Look at the words in their handline "Massive victory for India, IAF pilot to return to the country tomorrow."

This is so unreal, I can't believe I am listning to a pakistani PM. So calm, so controlled and what Power in his Speech. Ma sha Allah. Ya Allah tera shukr hai, tera shukr hai.

And this India Today is a top indian news site? Look at the words in their handline "Massive victory for India, IAF pilot to return to the country tomorrow."

Un besharmo kou yeh yaad nahi, woh Pakistan kar kya rah hai in first Place.

You have to do what is right. People like Arnab and Gambhir etc. will bark anyway.

Even if Pakistan wipes our terrorist hideouts (which they should), they will not soften their anti-Pakistan stance.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">TITANIC WIN FOR INDIA: Pakistan to release IAF's Wing Commander Abhinandan tomorrow, crumbling under unprecedented pressure from India <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/SaluteOurForces?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#SaluteOurForces</a><a href="https://t.co/HG6kD0PrBy">https://t.co/HG6kD0PrBy</a></p>— Republic (@republic) <a href="https://twitter.com/republic/status/1101080112080969730?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">February 28, 2019</a></blockquote>

Aah Arnab you obese Assamese chashmish.....time for another swig of caramel popcorn and a tune in at 9PM today.

Of course it looks like we buckled. Massive win turned into confusion.

No confusion. Almost everyone in Pakistan ranging from the govt., to the opposition, the liberals, critics of IK and plenty across the border are appreciating this.

Clearly those who aren't are in a small minority.

No confusion.Almost everyone in Pakistan ranging from the govt., to the opposition, the liberals, critics of IK and plenty across the border are appreciating this.

Clearly those who aren't are in a small minority.

Not really. Check our defence forum. And military Twitter guys. Saudis maybe asked us to do this. Otherwise no reason to do it so quick.

Excellent decision, but unfortunately, the loudmouths armchair patriots on the other side are accusing Pakistan of caving under pressure and how the “he is not a bargaining chip” narrative has worked.

Nevertheless, the right decision has been made. The keyboard warriors on PP who wanted him to be tortured can go for a hike now.

I agree that it's the right thing to do but could have been done in a better way. They could have negotiated that we will release him if you release a statement "appreciating Pakistan's goodwill and effort for deescalation". Or something like that.

Don't think 1 POW is going to shape India's strategy in this engagement , lol @ anyone who thinks this is a sign of weakness or giving up on a 'win'. Imran Khan is playing his cards perfectly while the Indian camp is mostly confused on what to do next by the looks of it so far

Aah Arnab you obese Assamese chashmish.....time for another swig of caramel popcorn and a tune in at 9PM today.

Yaar who is this Arnab guy, seems like I would have to start listening to him for entertainment

:)) Then why isnt Pakistan coming under international pressure and handing over Mashood Azhar or Hafiz saeed. Indian media walo, tumhare nostrils main nuke

True power lies in forgiveness.

Agree.

Allah SWT is watching and if India try something similar again, Pak will capture their pilots again In sha Allah. No worries at all.

Yaar who is this Arnab guy, seems like I would have to start listening to him for entertainment

Bro, that is pure Entertainment. Deep inside he is probably a good man, but he spouts so much rubbish that you wonder how he even became a journalist.

This sad loser Arnab grovels at the feet of his millionaire master Rajeev Chandrasekhar who is a millionaire BJP MP who went from tech wiz to dangerously silent kingmaker.

Yeah Pak caved in to the pressure of Modiji launching some useless app yesterday while the rest of the country were worried about their pilot.

I agree that it's the right thing to do but could have been done in a better way. They could have negotiated that we will release him if you release a statement "appreciating Pakistan's goodwill and effort for deescalation". Or something like that.

Pakistan has the 2nd Pilot with them. Dont go by official statements. Locals have made it clear they saw 2 parachutes falling from sky. And even DG ISPR mentioned that they took the second pilot to hospital. Later they changed the statement.

Google 'Arnab Goswami' and find a stream of his nightly comedy show if you can.

From my understanding, Pakistan is putting extreme pressure on India to call truce and Modi is now in a very difficult position.

If he accepts Pakistan’s goodwill gesture, he will face hostility from the Hindutva nutters. For two fighter jets and one one hostage, India will have nothing but a few trees and a dead crow to show for.

If he attempts to take revenge for yesterday, he will face a lot of criticism for his lust for war and bloodshed, and the opposition will accuse him for not learning from his mistakes.

He is in a very difficult position right now. He can neither swallow nor spit.

No one wants war. But we just gave up a key asset for nothing in return.

One pilot being held was not going to change the Ind strategy- but the Inds have been put on the back foot by calmness and excellence of PK leadership and this gesture is part of that.

Pakistan has the 2nd Pilot with them. Dont go by official statements. Locals have made it clear they saw 2 parachutes falling from sky. And even DG ISPR mentioned that they took the second pilot to hospital. Later they changed the statement.

According to some shady rumor that I heard a while back, the other pilot succumbed to his injuries which is why changed our official statement. Revealing the news of his death at this point could potentially escalate the tensions.

A MiG-21 is a single seater. The only 2-seater versions are trainers.

Don't waste your time, I'm sure you will stop within seconds if you actually want to

A MiG-21 is a single seater. The only 2-seater versions are trainers.

There were two jets and Pakistan initially claimed that they have two pilots in custody. Either that was a lie or the second pilot has passed way.

I don’t see any other reason why they would change their official statement.

Here is a nice introduction to the greatest sellout Indian media has ever seen

Lol
[MENTION=132715]Varun[/MENTION], you should start a new thread on Arnab only and his vidoes should be posted there.

There were two jets and Pakistan initially claimed that they have two pilots in custody. Either that was a lie or the second pilot has passed way.

36 - 48 hours on, we would know about it if further planes and pilots were lost.

Since there is not a peep, we have to assume that the media has been cooking up stories on both sides.

The Indian Version is that the other pilot was a Pakistan F-16 pilot and Pakistan confused him With a second Indian pilot. And now the same channel is reporting they fond parts of pakistani F-16 lol. What a comedy really.

IK should have embarrassed India a bit more.... But releasing the pilot is a good gesture.

Now they know their aukaat.

Lol
[MENTION=132715]Varun[/MENTION], you should start a new thread on Arnab only and his vidoes should be posted there.

Ah well I'm just glad that I don't have a TV at home.

Doesn't look like I'm missing much. :91:

it has been confirmed that it was an su30 and not a mig or helicopter, that got schooled by a jf17, indians trying to save there embarrasment by twisting facts

Thank you Imran Khan, now please let our 2 countries never get into a tussle like this ever again... Lets stop all this madness and work hard for peace....

PLUS 100!

Lets hope things settle down now.
Happy for the pilot that he will be returning home in a good way and happy for his famely too.

we can also go back to discussing cricket and thats where the rivalry should stay in cricket. Thats all good fun.