Pakistan to release Indian pilot tomorrow as peace gesture: Prime Minister Imran Khan

Poor from Imran Khan. We did not gave him votes to do this.:facepalm:
Abhi should have been given back after the Indian elections. Now Modi will proudly claim in his election rallies that he 'forced' Pakistan to release him and subcontinent will have to endure another five years of him.

Disgusted at indian media and the regular public with their hate comments on Pakistan.
How we bowed down,how we succumbed,how we are terrified,how we had no choice due to Geneva convention,how we are bound,how we were given an ultimatum.

I expect nothing sane from the media but atleast the Indian public shouldnt be this thick.Its a peace gesture,accept it for what it is and be grateful.
We were not bound by anything and certainly did not buckle under any pressure.

Abhi should have been given back after the Indian elections. Now Modi will proudly claim in his election rallies that he 'forced' Pakistan to release him and subcontinent will have to endure another five years of him.

Firstly you should understand this is not Imran Khan's personal decision. The army is also behind this and I am sure they must have thought well about this. Do you think they are a bunch of jazbaati kids?

Disgusted at indian media and the regular public with their hate comments on Pakistan.
How we bowed down,how we succumbed,how we are terrified,how we had no choice due to Geneva convention,how we are bound,how we were given an ultimatum.

I expect nothing sane from the media but atleast the Indian public shouldnt be this thick.Its a peace gesture,accept it for what it is and be grateful.

The major of the people are not like that. The keyboard warriors on Twitter do not represent the sentiments of the majority.

Abhi should have been given back after the Indian elections.

That is quite impossible you know ? - there wont be a let down in hostilities until he is released and if things stay the way they are then Modi can declare a national emergency and postpone the elections indefinitely

Just think for a while. Indian media wanted war against Pakistan. They wanted to destroy Pakistan no matter what.

And now they are Down to celebrating getting back the pilot, who in fact is a pakistani prisoner. Do you understand how badly this has hurt them and how stupid they now look.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">TITANIC WIN FOR INDIA: Pakistan to release IAF's Wing Commander Abhinandan tomorrow, crumbling under unprecedented pressure from India <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/SaluteOurForces?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#SaluteOurForces</a><a href="https://t.co/HG6kD0PrBy">https://t.co/HG6kD0PrBy</a></p>— Republic (@republic) <a href="https://twitter.com/republic/status/1101080112080969730?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">February 28, 2019</a></blockquote>

At least they didn't said "Sloan The Great Wall Victory For India"

IK should have embarrassed India a bit more.... But releasing the pilot is a good gesture.

Now they know their aukaat.

In yesterday's speech he acknowledged the power of both nations. This is truly a great sign from a person who really wants peaceful relations between both nations.

Here is a nice introduction to the greatest sellout Indian media has ever seen

Modi vs Who.
Modi vs WHO (World Health Organization) :maqsood

OR

Ariel, Ariel, Who, Who... Man this guy should be a comedian

Great step by Pakistan, the right thing has been done. Let's hope this leads to de-escalation.

Modi in a tight spot now, if he de-escalates, the whole Hindutva brigade will rip into him, if he doesn't then the opposition and international community will. This aggression against Pakistan for votes has backfired on him badly.

By looking at the whole scenario objectively, it is a good step taken. Our whole country is a mess. Economy is a sham and foriegn relationship is all time low. It will help us to turn a blind eye to the Indian media and their some of the gullible followers - buss chayay or coffee key entertainment Hain yeh.

Let Imran keep the ball rolling of economical improvement. We have a bright future ahead of us if we forget about India and keep the focus on our interest.

No more nonsense! Just let this be the end of the madness. We seriously don't want anymore of this.

Firstly you should understand this is not Imran Khan's personal decision. The army is also behind this and I am sure they must have thought well about this. Do you think they are a bunch of jazbaati kids?

Imran has the final say, not army. Imran does not understand India's and specially Modi's mentality. He is almost begging for peace with a country that has never truly accepted us and will always will be looking to destroy us.

Imran said in the parliament that he tried to talk with Modi on phone but there was no response :facepalm:. Please don't embarrass us Khan sahab.

Trust me, the educated Indian public aren't a bunch of gullible idiots. No matter how hurt we are, we can see right through this decision by Pakistan. Even if now Modi Ji wants to cause further mischief after this, good luck to him. This whole episode has sickened me.

The major of the people are not like that. The keyboard warriors on Twitter do not represent the sentiments of the majority.

Facebook,Instagram and twitter posts and comments by a range of different people does make up a substantial amount of population and it is disheartening to see every other comment celebrating the "weakness" of Pakistan.

For once it would do them good to accept and appreciate a nice gesture.

Just think for a while. Indian media wanted war against Pakistan. They wanted to destroy Pakistan no matter what.

And now they are Down to celebrating getting back the pilot, who in fact is a pakistani prisoner. Do you understand how badly this has hurt them and how stupid they now look.

There is a part of the indian population who are actually delusional enough to think that we succumbed to some nonexistent pressure from the Indian Government and to them this is also a victory.

I don't have an iota of doubt in my mind after this whole episode that Imran truly wants to work for peace between both the nations.

Facebook,Instagram and twitter posts and comments by a range of different people does make up a substantial amount of population and it is disheartening to see every other comment celebrating the "weakness" of Pakistan.

What would that earn you? False bravado as Indians? What would you lose with further escalation, have you thought about it? It is not worth it.

Of course there will be a substantial amount of gullible people in a population as large as India's. As for the rest, anyone who appreciates this gesture by Pakistan will be labelled a traitor.

On the other hand, we have a genius who is appalled at this decision by Imran

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en-gb"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">IK deserves this humiliation at the hands of Indians...<br>When you throw away your trump card unilaterally towards a filthy ungrateful enemy, then you deserve this. <br>Indians will NEVER respect any gesture of "peace"..<br>He still has time to rethink.... <a href="https://t.co/mi3xZ92jI3">pic.twitter.com/mi3xZ92jI3</a></p>— Zaid Hamid (@ZaidZamanHamid) <a href="https://twitter.com/ZaidZamanHamid/status/1101102859809157122?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">28 February 2019</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en-gb"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">I am appalled at the insanity of the Govt...<br>Last night, there was a genuine threat of an India attack especially in Karachi...<br>Entire night, our fighter jets were patrolling the skies from Siachin to Gawader...<br>Threat has NOT diminished....<br>Keep the bloody pilot in your hand!!</p>— Zaid Hamid (@ZaidZamanHamid) <a href="https://twitter.com/ZaidZamanHamid/status/1101091037374832640?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">28 February 2019</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en-gb"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">I am again warning the Govt...DO NOT return the pilot now. <br>Fighting is still going on.....if God forbid, our pilot goes down in India, you can then exchange him with this swine.....<br>if you return this Indian now. then India will NEVER return our pilot so soon...<br>Think !!!</p>— Zaid Hamid (@ZaidZamanHamid) <a href="https://twitter.com/ZaidZamanHamid/status/1101090604262543360?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">28 February 2019</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en-gb"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">I demand resignation of Shah Mehmood Qureshi...&#55358;&#56620;&#55357;&#56864;<br>Betrayal is in his bloodline...<br>I always knew he will stab us at the most dangerous junction....<br>Indians are celebrating it as their victory....& we have betrayed Kashmiri prisoners & Col Habib...<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/disgusted?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#disgusted</a> <a href="https://t.co/I4moweUGn9">pic.twitter.com/I4moweUGn9</a></p>— Zaid Hamid (@ZaidZamanHamid) <a href="https://twitter.com/ZaidZamanHamid/status/1101085553779507200?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">28 February 2019</a></blockquote>

Zaid Hamid and Goswami need to be dumped on a deserted island.

What would that earn you? False bravado as Indians? What would you lose with further escalation, have you thought about it? It is not worth it.

What is not worth what?
I am not in favor of keeping the pilot and torturing him or anything.I appreciate IKs gesture and my point is that our fellow indians should appreciate it too instead of celebrating it as a sign of some weakness showed by Pakistan.

People who are criticizing this decision should be chained to some post in LOC :facepalm:

Disgusting behavior

Hopefully Pak gov will take an action against these warmongers.

Indians are beyond help at this stage!

Of course there will be a substantial amount of gullible people in a population as large as India's. As for the rest, anyone who appreciates this gesture by Pakistan will be labelled a traitor.

Well than goes to show that as long as this substantial population of gullible people is around peace can not be hoped or expected.

Pakistan are very lucky to have found a gem of a leader in IK. If he gets 10-15 years it will massively progress Pakistan as a nation and the entire sub continent will benefit.

He has already managed to put a billionaire crook like NS in jail. It's unheard of!

What has happened is Modi is all set to win 2019 elections now. The Indian media has made sure he has won. Indian elections are won in 5 Hindi speaking States and Indian media has made sure BJP wins again in all those 5 states.

Hence I believe that Zaid Hamid is insane (Arnab Goswami is even worse! Can’t stand that guy). Zaid is a self styled defence analyst but actually he is an extremist, a warmonger

He is criticising even a good gesture by IK and government to release the Indian POW. Army chief and the military must be on board on this. I am sure that IK took this decision after consulting with them.

Sooner or later Pakistan would have had to release the prisoner in accordance with the Geneva convention

This is is the right step by the government and military to de-escalate tension in the region

He has already managed to put a billionaire crook like NS in jail. It's unheard of!

He is actually someone who cares. He had enough money to live a lavish life but he struggled for decades to get to where he is today. He is a fighter who genuinely wants Pakistan to do well. Very mature and sensible leader.

Now slowly he needs to get rid of whatever terrorist organisations are left in Pakistan and that will ensure the economic growth of Pakistan

Trust me, the educated Indian public aren't a bunch of gullible idiots. No matter how hurt we are, we can see right through this decision by Pakistan. Even if now Modi Ji wants to cause further mischief after this, good luck to him. This whole episode has sickened me.

Well i am glad to know your opinion and i am glad their are sane Indian voices on this forum or else if a person only hears the twits on other mediums of social media it is enough to exasperate anyone(one example is the headline you just shared below,and i have been seeing the Indian public posting similar strong words and celebrating this as a sign of the power of Indian Govt and the supposed terror they have instilled in our hearts)and nurture unnecessary prejudice amongst the public on both sides of the border.

For every one Indian/Pakistani that thumps his/her chest on social media, there are a dozen who don’t. The general public in both countries do not support war.

What is not worth what?
I am not in favor of keeping the pilot and torturing him or anything.I appreciate IKs gesture and my point is that our fellow indians should appreciate it too instead of celebrating it as a sign of some weakness showed by Pakistan.

If you are watching Indian media and getting triggered, then you need to make yourself stronger buddy. When I watch the Zee news or any such garbage, It is merely for entertainment.

Releasing him so soon will be branded as a sign of weakness by many troublemakers and warmongers. That's certainly how the Indian media would portray it.

You can't really cater for the troublemakers and warmongers, Pakistan has to ensure they do the right thing so the whole world can see it. If that isn't recognised as a good gesture, then fine, all gloves are off and it will be a dirty war.

Pakistan desperately need some good publicity as well. This decision is a win-win from all accounts.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">India-Pakistan conflict: Pakistan Prime Minister scored another diplomatic win over India by announcing the release of captured Indian pilot Abhinandan Varthaman <a href="https://t.co/7MJj25szdX">https://t.co/7MJj25szdX</a></p>— Gulf News (@gulf_news) <a href="https://twitter.com/gulf_news/status/1101099518773338113?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">February 28, 2019</a></blockquote>

Yaar who is this Arnab guy, seems like I would have to start listening to him for entertainment

His formula is to have 8-9 guests on (no exaggeration) and let the "discussion" devolve into chaos.

From my understanding, Pakistan is putting extreme pressure on India to call truce and Modi is now in a very difficult position.

If he accepts Pakistan’s goodwill gesture, he will face hostility from the Hindutva nutters. For two fighter jets and one one hostage, India will have nothing but a few trees and a dead crow to show for.

If he attempts to take revenge for yesterday, he will face a lot of criticism for his lust for war and bloodshed, and the opposition will accuse him for not learning from his mistakes.

He is in a very difficult position right now. He can neither swallow nor spit.

Loving how you supporting your own country for a change.

India is party to the 1949 Geneva Conventions and several weapons treaties but not the 1977 Additional Protocols. In the human rights field, it is party to many major treaties but not the 1994 UN Convention Against Torture.

Pakistan desperately need some good publicity as well. This decision is a win-win from all accounts.

I can tell you now, that the British press has already started to turn. Initially the story was ignored, then the Indian spin was played out, but by today the mood seems to have shifted towards Pakistan's version of events. India didn't help themselves by claiming to have killed 300 terrorists and then losing this pilot it should be said, but Imran's cool words have impressed generally.

Imran Khan has won this engagement through and through.

Modi has tried to pull off a Kargil type stunt and ended up with tomatoes (pun intended) on his face.

Because of Jingoism, the Indian government during times like this will get free PR from its own media. No questioning whatsoever. Shocking lol

Loving how you supporting your own country for a change.

I have always loved my country, and I am a bigger patriot than some of the loudmouths on this forum with American, Canadian and British passports, who will come up with a billion excuses if you ask them to return to the country they pretend to love so much over the Internet. Signatures and profile pictures do not make you a patriot.

However, I am not blind to Pakistan's problems and I also understand that we need to mend our ways. Not everything is a conspiracy against Pakistan by India and the West. We need to clean up our own act as well and hold ourselves accountable.

If you are watching Indian media and getting triggered, then you need to make yourself stronger buddy. When I watch the Zee news or any such garbage, It is merely for entertainment.

It is not about the media,the media can not be expected to be sane.

It is about the general public like you and me.they have to be smarter than that and not spread further hate and prejudice for afterall that would go against everything Imran Khan is standing up for and that is disheartening to say the least.

Pakistan acting as per geneva convention. India released 90k pakistanis once. So both sides respecting the geneva convention.

Its been 24 hours.

I expect India to give up the war in another 24 hours.

Are u still on that bet ?

Yes Pakistan scumbed to some Geneva convention.

According to the same posters like you Pakistan ignore so many other UN demands and resolutions but now suddenely they are worried about Geneva convention.

Sorry to say you seriously are deluded if you believe what you have just written. And so are the other gulliable Indian public who believe such nonsense.

Modi is now further boxed in a corner. Any neutral observer will tell you Imran Khan has out classed Modi big time.

According to the same posters like you Pakistan ignore so many other UN demands and resolutions but now suddenely they are worried about Geneva convention.

Sorry to say you seriously are deluded if you believe what you have just written. And so are the other gulliable Indian public who believe such nonsense.

Modi is now further boxed in a corner. Any neutral observer will tell you Imran Khan has out classed Modi big time.

So Pakistan will take him to courts and hang him?

If countries could just openly flout geneva convention, POWs will never return. Just look up the countries who have returned POWs and you will know why pakistan has to return him.

Good decision. As per reports, India have mounted a diplomatic offensive for this.

This is a victory for India. Getting their man back in 2 days is unbelievable.

So Pakistan will take him to courts and hang him?

If countries could just openly flout geneva convention, POWs will never return. Just look up the countries who have returned POWs and you will know why pakistan has to return him.

Arnab bhai..yeh sab choro aur batao downed f16 ki picture dekhi aapnay?

India will stop the war idea within 48 hours.

I think they already have.. but just need official confirmation that they will not attack again.

Just now Indian Army said action is still going on in loc.

Indian airforce said we will hit terror camps whenever we see them.

This is a victory for India. Getting their man back in 2 days is unbelievable.

So having 2 jets shot down and zero losses on Pak side, with a pilot captured is victory for India?

Well done.... keep that head in the sand.

Arnab bhai..yeh sab choro aur batao downed f16 ki picture dekhi aapnay?

Air Vice MArshal RGK Kapoor: There is enough evidence to show that F-16s were used in this mission through their electronic signatures. Parts of AMRAAM, air to air missile which is carried only on the Pakistani F-16s was recovered east of Rajouri within the Indian territory.

So having 2 jets shot down and zero losses on Pak side, with a pilot captured is victory for India?

2 jets shot down? Lol.

India lost a mig 21
Pakistan lost a F 16

Which is the bigger loss?lol.

What mounting pressure? Our foreign office said we haven't even received request from India to release him.

Of course they will say that. Ball was in India's court after Imran's speech. Indians have done nothing in public after that. As per reports, it was diplomatic pressure. Pak could have kept the POW for 7 days

I really don't know what to say, I keep getting surprised by the depths of human stupidity. The delusion on show by some Indian posters, who don't realize what escalation would mean for the region, is staggering. They should all be forced to march down to the LoC and take up arms.

Pakistan is not like India. Had our pilot been killed in action he would have been accorded full military honour in his burial. All three chiefs and PM would have attended his funeral and he would have been accorded Nishan-e-Haider. Declared a Shaheed.

We don't hide our dead unlike a certain country who is still claiming their pilot is "missing in action"

Jets down was Pak's victory. This one goes to India. This is day to day my friend. Indians have announced that they have proof for F16 and also for India's bombing on targets on day 1. Let's wait and watch

Pakistan is not like India. Had our pilot been killed in action he would have been accorded full military honour in his burial. All three chiefs and PM would have attended his funeral and he would have been accorded Nishan-e-Haider. Declared a Shaheed.

We don't hide our dead unlike a certain country who is still claiming their pilot is "missing in action"

Really?

You did that to 100s of pakistani soldiers who died in Kargil war?

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">I must say <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@ImranKhanPTI</a> has handled the current crisis with India in an exemplary way. A Captain’s innings. <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Pakistan?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Pakistan</a></p>— George Galloway (@georgegalloway) <a href="https://twitter.com/georgegalloway/status/1101090726073548800?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">February 28, 2019</a></blockquote>

Who cares though if Indians think they have won.

Wo kehty hein na "Wo Haq hi kya jis ki mukhalifat na ho".

The more people are opposing or considering this release as "weak", the more righteous and correct Pakistan sounds internationally.

Jets down was Pak's victory. This one goes to India. This is day to day my friend. Indians have announced that they have proof for F16 and also for India's bombing on targets on day 1. Let's wait and watch

They have already shown proof of AMRAAM AIM 120C. Its used by F16s only. So PAF was lying that no F 16 were used.