Pakistan to take the field against India on February 15, 2026, for their scheduled fixture in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup [Update@post#1434]

Oh bhai what you blabbering about?

You keep crying how are we humilated

I asked a simple question - what is the reason Pakistan dont want to play against India?

Instead of answering this, your response has been we dont like you...so stop begging us to play.

This childish excuse will not fly neither infront of ICC or me.

Thank You Afghanistan.... being a Muslim nation you didn't bring dirty politics in cricket..... Afghanistan voted in favor of truth

InshaAllah we will.

Indian cricket will be DELETED in the world of Pakistan cricket.
I believe this is good in long run. Icc will also realise ind vs pak game missing is a loss but an unvearable one, things will financially and life moves on.

Kudos to pcb for the boycott

T20 World Cup hosts SLC have written to the PCB highlighting major losses following Pakistan’s decision not to play the India–Pakistan match in Colombo, noting that all match arrangements were already completed. Massive hotel cancellations have also been reported in Colombo, impacting the tourism sector. The letter recalls Sri Lanka’s past support to Pakistan during difficult periods and urges reconsideration

Because you are Dushman desh and involved in creating unrest in Baluchistan

Indians openly admit this thats why movies like Dhurandhar are made. Its an admission that we do this by Indians

This does nt Fly with Us

Hahahaha. Jokes aside, its called Dushman Mulk and not desh

:najam

Because you are Dushman desh and involved in creating unrest in Baluchistan

Indians openly admit this thats why movies like Dhurandhar are made. Its an admission that we do this by Indians

This does nt Fly with Us
You had played the cricket match against India in U-19 World Cup on same day your goverment announcement this boycott decison .

Your women's team is going to play match against India women's on 15 February.

:klopp :kp

🚨 SLC WRITES A LETTER TO PCB 🚨

- Sri Lanka has requested the PCB to reconsider their boycott against India.

- Sri Lanka may suffer heavy losses and widespread hotel cancellations.

- Sri Lanka also recalled its support for Pakistan in difficult times. (Newswire)

-----

A Love Letter 💌

- Sri Lanka also recalled its support for Pakistan in difficult times. (Newswire)

-----

A Love Letter 💌
I got very lucky

The hotel I booked didn’t have a free cancellation option. But a week ago they messaged me saying they are overbooked for one of the two nights and requested if I could cancel, and they will waive off the fees. I did so luckily.

Excellent post. Good luck in getting an answer. I have been asking the same why PCB wants to boycott the India game after getting the hybrid arrangements but no one is able to answer with a straight face.

Atleast you are a Pakistani. When we Indians ask the same question likes @emranabbas @Rana @DeadlyVenom thinks Indians are begging Pak to play.

:klopp
Boycott is not do with security or hybrid model.

We cannot share field with Indians for political reasons on 15th February.

You had played the cricket match against India in U-19 World Cup on same day your goverment announcement this boycott decison .

Your women's team is going to play match against India women's on 15 February.

I get why you’re confused. When India refuses bilaterals for “principles” yet happily plays Pakistan in every ICC event for the broadcast money, consistency clearly isn’t a requirement anymore. Also they play in other sports happily, no issues whatsoever maybe less money there is the reason :)

So yeah first look at yourself lol, as India is Undisputed champion of being Hypocrites. So getting taste of your own medicine shouldnt be hard. Kek

It’s one of the scenarios I’d written about.

PCB Press Note: Because of urgings of brotherly nations, requests from hosts (SL), double request from ICC, triple requests from the public, quadruple requests from the spirit of the game, quintuple requests from our ancestors past, and full request from Mr Naqvi’s left hanging fruit, we will turn up to play the game.

ICC: Wait, wut?

I get why you’re confused. When India refuses bilaterals for “principles” yet happily plays Pakistan in every ICC event for the broadcast money, consistency clearly isn’t a requirement anymore. Also they play in other sports happily, no issues whatsoever maybe less money there is the reason :)

So yeah first look at yourself lol, as India is Undisputed champion of being Hypocrites. So getting taste of your own medicine shouldnt be hard. Kek
We haven't play bilateral series with Pakistan in cricket. Pakistan is Boycotting the match in ICC event's ye they have played in U-19 World Cup.

It’s one of the scenarios I’d written about.

PCB Press Note: Because of urgings of brotherly nations, requests from hosts (SL), double request from ICC, triple requests from the public, quadruple requests from the spirit of the game, quintuple requests from our ancestors past, and full request from Mr Naqvi’s left hanging fruit, we will turn up to play the game.

ICC: Wait, wut?

As i said before, it will happen soon and that was the plan all along. PCB just wanted to show ICC and others that they can do something out of the box if things dont get better in future.

Soon, Naqvi will show up with overturned decision.

As i said before, it will happen soon and that was the plan all along. PCB just wanted to show ICC and others that they can do something out of the box if things dont get better in future.

Soon, Naqvi will show up with overturned decision.

Well, everyone is going to claim a victory.

But as they say in Mumbai, “in the process sabka dimaag ka dahi ban gaya.”

T20 World Cup hosts SLC have written to the PCB highlighting major losses following Pakistan’s decision not to play the India–Pakistan match in Colombo, noting that all match arrangements were already completed. Massive hotel cancellations have also been reported in Colombo, impacting the tourism sector. The letter recalls Sri Lanka’s past support to Pakistan during difficult periods and urges reconsideration

SLC also thinking filing court case against PCB.... 2 nations doing religious internal politix in the game of cricket and started playing dirty politix.... since the day Naqvi become PCB chairman, PCB started all this Nautanki...... Asim Munir calling shots thru his pawn Naqvi

Boycott is not do with security or hybrid model.

We cannot share field with Indians for political reasons on 15th February.

Politics and sports should not be mixed. Have you ever seen Indian team or BCCI doing it? We did Op Sindoor on 7 May and 3 months later came to play in Asia cup and blanked your team 3-0

:klopp

-----

A Love Letter 💌

Cricket has become such a farce.

How did cricket reach this stage?

Before 1999, no board was pleading another board to play. It is a recent phenomenon. What has changed? :inti

@Rajdeep is Pakistan making the ground for taking the U - Turn?

Oh look SL requested us to play the match so we are going to play,

Pakistan needs a face saving exit from this mess and this is first steps of taking the U - Turn.

The Pakistani government and the PCB should offer to compensate Sri Lanka for their losses.

Why? :inti

Any team can boycott any team for any reason.

England didn't play Zimbabwe in 2003 WC due to Mugabe. England didn't have to compensate anyone.

SL should stop being corrupt/greedy/needy and focus on generating revenue themselves.

Cricket has become such a farce.

How did cricket reach this stage?

Before 1999, no board was pleading another board to play. It is a recent phenomenon. What has changed? :inti
We're at a tipping point. When a change is happening. The users cry, panic and beg for things to stay the way it was.

Cards are all with Pakistan to now decide if they want to change the dynamics of World Cricket. Or do they want things to go back the way it was 1 month ago.

We're at a tipping point. When a change is happening. The users cry, panic and beg for things to stay the way it was.

Cards are all with Pakistan to now decide if they want to change the dynamics of World Cricket. Or do they want things to go back the way it was 1 month ago.

I blame all the cricketing boards who let BCCICC grow like this.

India should have been kept in check 15-20 years ago. How come no board said anything at that time? They chased short-term profits over long-term reprecussions. :inti

As I have mentioned, no cricket board pleaded another board to play before 1999 (when India was not controlling cricket). Cricket world had integrity and class. World Cups used to feel like World Cups.

Sri Lanka urge Pakistan to reconsider India's boycott at T20 World Cup 2026

The Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) has requested the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) to reconsider the decision of boycotting the blockbuster ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2026 match against arch-rivals India, international media reported on Thursday.

According to a report, the SLC formally wrote a letter to the PCB, highlighting that the abandonment of the lucrative fixture between two fierce rivals, scheduled to be played at the R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo on February 15, will expose it to substantial financial losses.

The Sri Lankan board further urged the PCB to take the exceptional circumstances in the relationship between the two parties into account.

"Any non-participation will have wide-ranging implications, including substantial financial exposure for SLC and the potential loss of anticipated tourism inflows," the SLC stated.

"We urge you to take into account the exceptional circumstances, the enduring relationship between our two boards, and the broader interests of the game of cricket."

The development came in the aftermath of the Government of Pakistan's decision to bar its national men's cricket team from taking the field against arch-rivals India.

Sri Lanka urge Pakistan to reconsider India's boycott at T20 World Cup 2026

The Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) has requested the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) to reconsider the decision of boycotting the blockbuster ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2026 match against arch-rivals India, international media reported on Thursday.

According to a report, the SLC formally wrote a letter to the PCB, highlighting that the abandonment of the lucrative fixture between two fierce rivals, scheduled to be played at the R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo on February 15, will expose it to substantial financial losses.

The Sri Lankan board further urged the PCB to take the exceptional circumstances in the relationship between the two parties into account.

"Any non-participation will have wide-ranging implications, including substantial financial exposure for SLC and the potential loss of anticipated tourism inflows," the SLC stated.

"We urge you to take into account the exceptional circumstances, the enduring relationship between our two boards, and the broader interests of the game of cricket."

The development came in the aftermath of the Government of Pakistan's decision to bar its national men's cricket team from taking the field against arch-rivals India.

We don't care about SL. These matches should have been held in UAE where there is no rain.

All they need to do is put Bangladesh back into the tournament and schedule their matches outside of India.

PCB should hold firm with their decision.

According to weather.com, there may be a daily evening thunderstorm/shower spell starting about a week from now. Of course, these forecasts can change.

In that event, it will be just shared points anyways.

Why? :inti

Any team can boycott any team for any reason.

England didn't play Zimbabwe in 2003 WC due to Mugabe. England didn't have to compensate anyone.

SL should stop being corrupt/greedy/needy and focus on generating revenue themselves.
@Savak please compensate BCB too..doesn't make sense to not compensate actual brotherly mulq and compensate Sri Lanka

This isn't only about Bangladesh.

Didn't even have the decency to accept the trophy from a Pakistani in the Asia Cup. The audacity, the disrespect. Countless other examples over the years.

India has repeatedly spat in Pakistan's face and its time India gets a gut punch and their tournament becomes a flop.

Pakistan cricket board might enforce Force Majeure with ICC, BCCI says it’s a ‘weak argument’

Anticipating sanctions from the International Cricket Council (ICC) over their last-minute withdrawal from the T20 World Cup game against India in Colombo on February 15, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) might enforce the Force Majeure clause in their defence, The Indian Express has learnt.

The clause refers to unforeseeable circumstances that can prevent a contract from being fulfilled. And in their expected communication to the international body, sources said, the PCB will justify their stand by attaching their government’s social media post on February 1 that instructed them to boycott the India game.

Sources close to the fast-moving events around the tournament that starts Saturday said that by insisting on Force Majeure, Pakistan would claim that the situation was extraordinary and beyond their control. “This is their last resort since they don’t have any other reason to not play India,” an official said.

After the Pakistan government’s unprecedented intervention on Sunday, the ICC released a statement reminding the PCB of the potential consequences. While the world body didn’t specify sanctions, there has been talk that the Pakistan board might end up facing a hefty fine since their action would result in the broadcaster suffering a big loss in the high-value game. The ICC can also punish the PCB with a temporary ban on bilateral series, leading to international isolation.

Such a step would be unprecedented. In the 1996 World Cup when Australia and West Indies refused to travel to Sri Lanka, they were neither hit with any sanction nor was their revenue share cut. The story repeated itself during the 2003 World Cup, when England didn’t take the flight to Zimbabwe based on instructions from its government. During the same tournament, New Zealand didn’t make the trip to Nairobi, citing security concerns. The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) wasn’t hit with any sanctions, either, when England refused to give visas to Zimbabwe players for the 2009 World T20.

However, since this is a first-of-a-kind situation where a team is refusing to take the field for reasons not specified, the interpretation of the Force Majeure clause remains to be seen. For starters, had the fixture been scheduled to take place in India, PCB would have had a strong case. However, with Colombo being a neutral venue, there is a bit of ambiguity. Moreover, since the PCB has committed to play their matches in Sri Lanka, the ICC can argue why an exception is made for the fixture against India alone.

Those in the Indian board say the PCB’s argument is weak. “When Pakistan had no problem playing India in the Under-19 World Cup on the same day their government put out the post to boycott the T20 World Cup game, this wouldn’t cut ice. Besides, when it comes to the Pakistan Cricket Board and the Pakistan government, there is not much difference. The Pakistan prime minister is the patron-in-chief of PCB and the board’s chief is a minister,” said a BCCI official.

“The Pakistan and Bangladesh boards are mixing politics with cricket. Despite the Indian government’s repeated statements ensuring security to their team, the Bangladesh team didn’t travel to India. Now, Pakistan too is being unreasonable. There has been an understanding that India and Pakistan will play at a neutral venue in ICC events. Boycotting the game is just mischief,” the official said.

The latest crisis in world cricket was triggered by the BCCI asking Kolkata Knight Riders last month to eject Bangladesh seamer Mustafizur Rahman from its squad for the next IPL, citing “recent developments” — believed to be a reference to the domestic turmoil across the border.

BCCI pressured other ICC members to force the PCB to shift the entire CT to UAE. The ICC back then threatened the PCB to accept the BCCI demand to accept the Hybrid Model or the ICC will be forced to shift the entire CT to the UAE, the PCB caved and accepted the Hybrid model because they did not want the entire CT to be shifted out of Pakistan at the time. These are typical BCCI tactics where they use all the other boards to pressurize the PCB.

Pakistan skipper Salman Ali Agha shared following thoughts regarding Pakistan's stance to skip the match against Arch-rivals:

* “It is the government’s decision,”

* “As players, we will follow whatever the government asks us to do.”

* "The India game, it's not in our control. It's a government decision, and we respect that. Whatever they are going to say, we do that. And then, yeah, we're playing three other games, and we are very excited for that. Yeah, we lost to USA in the last World Cup, but that's history now. And it's a new World Cup, and it's a new team, and it's a new combination. And we are very excited for that"

* "I have mentioned that before. It is a government decision and we respect that. We will do what they are going to say and we will do that. Regardless - I do not know if the game is going to happen or not, but the government has said one thing and we are going to do that. I do not know about the game"

* "Well, they are our brothers. Thank you very much for them supporting us. And I'll say they can support us in the tournament as well. And it's really sad to see them. They are not playing the World Cup. But yeah, thank you so much for them supporting us. And hopefully, they can carry on supporting us in the tournament as well"

I got very lucky

The hotel I booked didn’t have a free cancellation option. But a week ago they messaged me saying they are overbooked for one of the two nights and requested if I could cancel, and they will waive off the fees. I did so luckily.

Lucky? Haha

Ramadhan is just around the corner. Ab toh jhoot bholna bandh kar de yaar

There is still a pretty strong possibility that the game will take place but you have already cancelled all the plans in advance.

I guess that clip of the fan being assaulted by Babar fans at the stadium had you too shook to go to a game and really express yourself. Then this whole fiasco came just at the right time for you. Ready made bahana mil gaya na jaane ke

I see you rana

1000038183.gif

Pakistan cricket board might enforce Force Majeure with ICC, BCCI says it’s a ‘weak argument’

Anticipating sanctions from the International Cricket Council (ICC) over their last-minute withdrawal from the T20 World Cup game against India in Colombo on February 15, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) might enforce the Force Majeure clause in their defence, The Indian Express has learnt.

The clause refers to unforeseeable circumstances that can prevent a contract from being fulfilled. And in their expected communication to the international body, sources said, the PCB will justify their stand by attaching their government’s social media post on February 1 that instructed them to boycott the India game.

Sources close to the fast-moving events around the tournament that starts Saturday said that by insisting on Force Majeure, Pakistan would claim that the situation was extraordinary and beyond their control. “This is their last resort since they don’t have any other reason to not play India,” an official said.

After the Pakistan government’s unprecedented intervention on Sunday, the ICC released a statement reminding the PCB of the potential consequences. While the world body didn’t specify sanctions, there has been talk that the Pakistan board might end up facing a hefty fine since their action would result in the broadcaster suffering a big loss in the high-value game. The ICC can also punish the PCB with a temporary ban on bilateral series, leading to international isolation.

Such a step would be unprecedented. In the 1996 World Cup when Australia and West Indies refused to travel to Sri Lanka, they were neither hit with any sanction nor was their revenue share cut. The story repeated itself during the 2003 World Cup, when England didn’t take the flight to Zimbabwe based on instructions from its government. During the same tournament, New Zealand didn’t make the trip to Nairobi, citing security concerns. The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) wasn’t hit with any sanctions, either, when England refused to give visas to Zimbabwe players for the 2009 World T20.

However, since this is a first-of-a-kind situation where a team is refusing to take the field for reasons not specified, the interpretation of the Force Majeure clause remains to be seen. For starters, had the fixture been scheduled to take place in India, PCB would have had a strong case. However, with Colombo being a neutral venue, there is a bit of ambiguity. Moreover, since the PCB has committed to play their matches in Sri Lanka, the ICC can argue why an exception is made for the fixture against India alone.

Those in the Indian board say the PCB’s argument is weak. “When Pakistan had no problem playing India in the Under-19 World Cup on the same day their government put out the post to boycott the T20 World Cup game, this wouldn’t cut ice. Besides, when it comes to the Pakistan Cricket Board and the Pakistan government, there is not much difference. The Pakistan prime minister is the patron-in-chief of PCB and the board’s chief is a minister,” said a BCCI official.

“The Pakistan and Bangladesh boards are mixing politics with cricket. Despite the Indian government’s repeated statements ensuring security to their team, the Bangladesh team didn’t travel to India. Now, Pakistan too is being unreasonable. There has been an understanding that India and Pakistan will play at a neutral venue in ICC events. Boycotting the game is just mischief,” the official said.

The latest crisis in world cricket was triggered by the BCCI asking Kolkata Knight Riders last month to eject Bangladesh seamer Mustafizur Rahman from its squad for the next IPL, citing “recent developments” — believed to be a reference to the domestic turmoil across the border.

Why BCCI official getting involved?

Isn't this is an issue between ICC and PCb, strange why a BCCI official is analysing strength/weakness of case. These guys are getting 2 points with no hassle, yet seem to be becoming legal analysts of cricketing contracts for some reason :inti

For Pakistanis and PCB, I can say one thing only:

First you win against India or win some trophies then do all these dramas and nautankies. BCCI/ICC will teach this duffer naqvi a lesson of his life now. These nautankies are justified when your team is a world beater

That's the most absurd logic. Not in stoneages where dehuminizing is cheered because they apparently "win" more or got more money. The onyl duffer are the people who support such stupidity in sports, or in any walk of life. Respect is earned

Why BCCI official getting involved?

Isn't this is an issue between ICC and PCb, strange why a BCCI official is analysing strength/weakness of case. These guys are getting 2 points with no hassle, yet seem to be becoming legal analysts of cricketing contracts for some reason :inti

BCCI = BJPCCI

ICC = BJPCC

Afghani players are happy to clean the toilets of Indian players if ordered to do so.

Afghanistan cricket board not played any dirty politics in cricket.... they stood on the side of truth and voted against BCB despite being Muslim nations.

PCB wants to decide cricket on the basis of religion. Asim Munir played dirty politics thru Naqvi... PCB will surffered badly if the 15th Feb game not played.

BCCI cleverly using other board members to pressurize the PCB. The Pakistani government and the PCB should offer to compensate Sri Lanka for their losses.
Did SLC compensate PCB when it took away half of the Asia Cup fixtures from Pakistan in 2023?

Afghanistan cricket board not played any dirty politics in cricket.... they stood on the side of truth and voted against BCB despite being Muslim nations.

PCB wants to decide cricket on the basis of religion. Asim Munir played dirty politics thru Naqvi... PCB will surffered badly if the 15th Feb game not played.

If BJPCCI asked Afghan Board to vote against their own Afghan team participation..... they would actually ban themselves in a beat

And nothing to do with religion, everything to do with a nation polluting cricket with its dirty politics. Bangla stance is justifiable, if one Bangla players can be dropped because his life could be in danger in India, then it's common sense why entire Bangla wouldn't want to jeopardise their life. IPL dirty politics fired back quite badly on India's reputation

Not once did KKR or BCCI say that Fizz was removed from IPL because of security factor.

Pakistan skipper Salman Ali Agha shared following thoughts regarding Pakistan's stance to skip the match against Arch-rivals:

* “It is the government’s decision,”

* “As players, we will follow whatever the government asks us to do.”

* "The India game, it's not in our control. It's a government decision, and we respect that. Whatever they are going to say, we do that. And then, yeah, we're playing three other games, and we are very excited for that. Yeah, we lost to USA in the last World Cup, but that's history now. And it's a new World Cup, and it's a new team, and it's a new combination. And we are very excited for that"

* "I have mentioned that before. It is a government decision and we respect that. We will do what they are going to say and we will do that. Regardless - I do not know if the game is going to happen or not, but the government has said one thing and we are going to do that. I do not know about the game"

* "Well, they are our brothers. Thank you very much for them supporting us. And I'll say they can support us in the tournament as well. And it's really sad to see them. They are not playing the World Cup. But yeah, thank you so much for them supporting us. And hopefully, they can carry on supporting us in the tournament as well"

India match boycott: Asif Nazrul thanks Pakistan

Pakistan has decided to boycott its match against India in protest against Bangladesh’s exclusion from the ICC Twenty20 World Cup, Pakistan’s prime minister Shehbaz Sharif said on Wednesday.

In response, Bangladesh’s adviser for Youth and Sports, Asif Nazrul, has expressed his gratitude to Pakistan.

Asif Nazrul conveyed his thanks in a post published on his verified Facebook page at 10:13 am on Thursday.

In the post, he wrote, “Thank you, Pakistan. Pakistan’s prime minister Shehbaz Sharif has said that his country has decided to boycott the match against India in protest at Bangladesh being excluded from the T20 World Cup. Addressing members of the cabinet on Wednesday, he said, ‘We will not play against India, because politics should have no place on the field of sport. We’ve taken this decision after careful consideration. We should stand fully by Bangladesh. I believe this is a very appropriate decision.’”

The 2026 ICC T20 World Cup is scheduled to begin on 7 February and will be jointly hosted by India and Sri Lanka. The India–Pakistan match was due to be held in Colombo on 15 February. However, on Sunday, the Pakistani government announced that the Pakistan team would not play against India.

Following threats from communal extremists in India, Bangladesh fast bowler Mustafizur Rahman was dropped from the Indian Premier League on 3 January.

Due to that incident, the Bangladesh government decided not to send its team to India for the World Cup. The following day, Bangladesh requested the ICC to relocate its matches to Sri Lanka.

The ICC, however, rejected the request, describing the Mustafizur Rahman incident as “isolated and irrelevant”.

Ultimately, after Bangladesh remained firm in its decision not to travel to India, the ICC excluded Bangladesh from the tournament and included Scotland in its place.

BCB too concerned about Pakistan’s decision to ‘boycott India’

Pakistan has not yet officially explained its reasons for deciding to boycott a match against India at the T20 World Cup.

However, this decision will affect not only the two countries but also global cricket as a whole. Bangladesh will not remain unaffected by its repercussions.

When asked for reactions to Pakistan’s decision, no director of the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) agreed to speak on record.

Nonetheless, everyone remains concerned about the potential financial losses following Pakistan’s stance, as the BCB’s primary source of income comes from the International Cricket Council’s (ICC) revenue distribution.

The on-field rivalry between India and Pakistan has lost much of its competitive edge in recent times. At the most recent Asia Cup, Pakistan faced India three times and lost on every occasion.

Yet, beyond match results and sporting rivalry, the India–Pakistan fixture carries a much broader significance.

After the Pakistan government announced its decision on Tuesday night, the ICC responded by stating that Pakistan’s refusal to play the match would affect the entire global cricket ‘ecosystem’.

The economic impact would prove the most severe. BCB officials share this concern.

A senior BCB director, speaking to Prothom Alo on condition of anonymity, said, “If the India–Pakistan match does not take place, the entire cricketing world will face financial losses. Even our dividend will decrease. We did not want such losses.”

He also pointed to Pakistan’s motivation behind such a firm decision, adding, “Pakistan wanted to send a strong message to Indian cricket. They wanted to challenge India’s dominance. From that perspective, the decision may make sense.”

Political hostility with India remains one of the key reasons behind Pakistan’s refusal to play the match.

PCB chairman Mohsin Naqvi has, from the outset, opposed declining requests to change Bangladesh’s venue and organising the World Cup without Bangladesh.

He has also spoken in favour of Bangladesh at ICC meetings. Many therefore view Pakistan’s decision as a gesture of support for Bangladesh.

From that perspective, many also interpret the move as a strong message directed at India.

One BCB director said, “The ICC excluded us without properly listening to our position. Some response was inevitable. Pakistan’s decision not to play India is a very significant development.”

However, his remarks also reflected frustration. The BCB will already face financial losses because Bangladesh will not participate in this year’s T20 World Cup.

Domestic cricket no longer generates substantial revenue. The income from sponsorships and broadcast rights barely suffices to cover the annual costs of running cricket in the country.

A BCB director involved in the sequence of events surrounding Bangladesh’s absence from the World Cup said yesterday, Tuesday, “This will directly affect the ICC’s central revenue pool. Like everyone else, we are also stakeholders in that fund. Take Kenya or Uganda, for example. They would be satisfied with a USD 100,000-200,000. But given our infrastructure, how will we survive if ICC revenues decline?”

Beyond the economic impact, Bangladesh’s cricketing relations with India have now become openly strained, similar to those between India and Pakistan.

The BCB believes this tension will negatively affect future tour schedules, including the Asia Cup.

Nevertheless, despite everything, officials remain hopeful that the crisis will soon pass. One board director concluded, “The door to dialogue can always be opened, let us see what happens.”

Moeen Ali speaking during an interview:

"It is sad because Bangladesh would have been good in this World Cup. They would have been decent, and these political things have been happening for some time now, obviously, and in the future, there will be some sort of solution going forward after this, probably, and it needs to be because you want the best teams in the World Cup, and it's sad to see teams either pulling out or not going somewhere. But we get that because in certain countries, these things are huge things, and huge things can come out from it. So, hopefully the solution will be there over the next two or three years.”

If single player ie mustafizur can play in india no security issue, but Bangladesh team plays then security issue? I don't digest this fact

Pakistan has not yet officially explained its reasons for deciding to boycott a match against India at the T20 World Cup.

However, this decision will affect not only the two countries but also global cricket as a whole. Bangladesh will not remain unaffected by its repercussions.

When asked for reactions to Pakistan’s decision, no director of the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) agreed to speak on record.

Nonetheless, everyone remains concerned about the potential financial losses following Pakistan’s stance, as the BCB’s primary source of income comes from the International Cricket Council’s (ICC) revenue distribution.

The on-field rivalry between India and Pakistan has lost much of its competitive edge in recent times. At the most recent Asia Cup, Pakistan faced India three times and lost on every occasion.

Yet, beyond match results and sporting rivalry, the India–Pakistan fixture carries a much broader significance.

After the Pakistan government announced its decision on Tuesday night, the ICC responded by stating that Pakistan’s refusal to play the match would affect the entire global cricket ‘ecosystem’.

The economic impact would prove the most severe. BCB officials share this concern.

A senior BCB director, speaking to Prothom Alo on condition of anonymity, said, “If the India–Pakistan match does not take place, the entire cricketing world will face financial losses. Even our dividend will decrease. We did not want such losses.”

He also pointed to Pakistan’s motivation behind such a firm decision, adding, “Pakistan wanted to send a strong message to Indian cricket. They wanted to challenge India’s dominance. From that perspective, the decision may make sense.”

Political hostility with India remains one of the key reasons behind Pakistan’s refusal to play the match.

PCB chairman Mohsin Naqvi has, from the outset, opposed declining requests to change Bangladesh’s venue and organising the World Cup without Bangladesh.

He has also spoken in favour of Bangladesh at ICC meetings. Many therefore view Pakistan’s decision as a gesture of support for Bangladesh.

From that perspective, many also interpret the move as a strong message directed at India.

One BCB director said, “The ICC excluded us without properly listening to our position. Some response was inevitable. Pakistan’s decision not to play India is a very significant development.”

However, his remarks also reflected frustration. The BCB will already face financial losses because Bangladesh will not participate in this year’s T20 World Cup.

Domestic cricket no longer generates substantial revenue. The income from sponsorships and broadcast rights barely suffices to cover the annual costs of running cricket in the country.

A BCB director involved in the sequence of events surrounding Bangladesh’s absence from the World Cup said yesterday, Tuesday, “This will directly affect the ICC’s central revenue pool. Like everyone else, we are also stakeholders in that fund. Take Kenya or Uganda, for example. They would be satisfied with a USD 100,000-200,000. But given our infrastructure, how will we survive if ICC revenues decline?”

Beyond the economic impact, Bangladesh’s cricketing relations with India have now become openly strained, similar to those between India and Pakistan.

The BCB believes this tension will negatively affect future tour schedules, including the Asia Cup.

Nevertheless, despite everything, officials remain hopeful that the crisis will soon pass. One board director concluded, “The door to dialogue can always be opened, let us see what happens.”

Matlab paise bhi chahiye aur rubab bhi dikhana hai, wah re Bangladesh, honestly I want Pakistan to boycott the 15th match & see the impact on these poor boards.

So glad BCB refused to send their team to India. The only thing I want next is for Pakistan to actually boycott their match against India.

Would love to see what ICC does after the tournament is over.​

AS PER REPORTS:

Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has set certain conditions before the International Cricket Council (ICC) to reconsider its decision to boycott the T20 World Cup 2026 group-stage match against India. While the specifics of these conditions have not been publicly disclosed, it is understood that they are part of ongoing back‑channel negotiations being handled by ICC deputy chair Imran Khwaja.

The talks reportedly began even before Pakistan’s government formally announced the boycott, signaling ICC’s early involvement in trying to resolve the matter. Pakistan faces the risk of heavy financial sanctions if it proceeds with the boycott, and Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) has also urged PCB to rethink its stance, reminding them of the broader implications for the tournament. The ICC, meanwhile, has emphasized that selective participation undermines the spirit of a global sporting event and expects PCB to find a resolution that safeguards the interests of all stakeholders.

AS PER REPORTS:

Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has set certain conditions before the International Cricket Council (ICC) to reconsider its decision to boycott the T20 World Cup 2026 group-stage match against India. While the specifics of these conditions have not been publicly disclosed, it is understood that they are part of ongoing back‑channel negotiations being handled by ICC deputy chair Imran Khwaja.

The talks reportedly began even before Pakistan’s government formally announced the boycott, signaling ICC’s early involvement in trying to resolve the matter. Pakistan faces the risk of heavy financial sanctions if it proceeds with the boycott, and Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) has also urged PCB to rethink its stance, reminding them of the broader implications for the tournament. The ICC, meanwhile, has emphasized that selective participation undermines the spirit of a global sporting event and expects PCB to find a resolution that safeguards the interests of all stakeholders.

Where’s the actual source for this?

This is about the news circulating in the sports sector.

It’s been circulating on Indian websites since yesterday along with a bunch of other questionable stories.

If your sharing updates, they should be properly verified.

Mods really need to be responsible and stick to credible news not sensational “masala” headlines.

2 news updates you posted and both have been from indian propaganda sites where they are trying to belittle pakistan.

AS PER REPORTS:

PCB backed by Asim munir under tremendous pressure of seeing a scenario of loosing yearly revenue

Q&A: Salman Ali Agha Press Conference​

Q: First of all, best of luck to you and the entire team.​

The government has decided not to play against India. Does that put extra pressure on the team to win the first two matches?

Salman Ali Agha:
Thank you. No, there is no such pressure at all. Whenever you come into an ICC tournament, you almost have to win all your games anyway. We came here with the same mindset — to win every match and give our best in each one. InshaAllah, whatever games we play, we will try to perform to our full potential.

Q: Pakistan last won this mega event in 2009. How do you see the team’s preparation now, and what kind of performance can we expect under your leadership?​

Salman Ali Agha:
I remember 2009 very well. I was quite young at that time, and it has been a long while since then. Alhamdulillah, our preparation has been very good. We’ve been playing together for a long time, and over the last six months we haven’t lost a single series and have won most of our matches. Preparation-wise, everything is in place. Now it’s about how we execute once the tournament begins. If we perform the way we have over the past six months, I truly believe we can win this tournament.

Q: Since you started batting at number three, we’ve seen a different Salman Ali Agha. Will you continue at this position in the World Cup or remain flexible?​

Salman Ali Agha:
I think things are going well at number three right now, so there’s no need to change. I will continue batting at number three.

Q: Pakistan has three matches left, and net run rate is also being discussed. Weather has already affected games and practice sessions. How are you approaching these challenges?​

Salman Ali Agha:
If we focus on executing our plans and win all three matches, I don’t think net run rate will even come into the equation. Weather is something completely beyond our control. There’s no benefit in worrying about things we can’t control. As a team, we focus on what is controllable — playing good cricket and winning our matches.

Q: There is talk that Fakhar Zaman’s presence means Khawaja Nafay is being treated unfairly. Some believe Pakistan could score 200-plus if either Babar or Fakhar sits out. What’s your take?​

Salman Ali Agha:
We have come here as a group of 15 players, and we will always try to play the best possible combination. If a senior player — whether it’s Fakhar or Babar — is not suited for a particular combination, we won’t play them. We’ll play whoever is best for the team. Fakhar has served Pakistan brilliantly over the last 10 years, and Babar has done the same. I fully support both of them. Ultimately, the playing XI will be selected purely on what’s best for the team.

Q: There have been many off-field controversies in recent tournaments. Do players feel that cricket itself is being overshadowed?​

Salman Ali Agha:
That’s a very good question. Even when the event has just started, many questions in press conferences are not about cricket. I don’t think that’s a good thing. We come here as sportsmen to play cricket and talk about cricket. As a team and as individuals, we try not to let these things affect us. The less attention you give to such matters, the better it is for your game.

Q: How important is the toss in tomorrow’s match? Also, fans are worried that a boycott and rain could reduce Pakistan’s qualification chances.​

Salman Ali Agha:
I’ve already mentioned that weather is not in our control, so we don’t really discuss it as a team. There’s no benefit in thinking about things you can’t control. Our focus is simple — how to win our three matches. Whatever the weather is, we’ll deal with it then, but we don’t overthink it.

Q: Players are seen as ambassadors of Pakistan. Do you feel the responsibility, especially given recent results? Also, death overs remain a concern — what’s the plan?​

Salman Ali Agha:
Absolutely. As professionals, we represent our country. You can never doubt a player’s effort or intent, but the results haven’t gone our way, and we must be honest about that. We haven’t played the kind of cricket people expect from us — or the kind we expect from ourselves. We are aware of that and are working to improve, especially under pressure situations.

As for death bowling, yes, it is a concern. But if you look at the past six months, there has been noticeable improvement. Our bowlers are working closely with coaches and are fully aware of this issue. Hopefully, what has happened in previous tournaments will not be repeated this time, InshaAllah.

Q: There has been discussion about Tariq Usman’s bowling action. Is there a plan to protect him from scrutiny?​

Salman Ali Agha:
I honestly don’t understand why there is still talk about his action. In my view, it is completely fair. He has been tested twice and cleared both times. It’s reached a point where he almost has to remind everyone that he’s been cleared. There is no issue with his action. He is an X-factor for us, and whenever we feel we need that X-factor, we will use him.

Q: Pakistan often chooses to bat first even after winning the toss. Is this due to conditions or team comfort?​

Salman Ali Agha:
It is completely conditions-based. We have full belief in ourselves as a team — we can chase targets and we can set totals. If conditions suit chasing, we will chase.

Q: Pakistan’s record under the DLS method hasn’t been great. Has there been any discussion around that?​

Salman Ali Agha:
You can’t really prepare specifically for DLS. You can only respond to the situation when it arises — whether it’s about scoring extra runs or restricting the opposition. Weather in Sri Lanka is unpredictable; it can rain and clear up within minutes. We’ll deal with the situation as it comes.

Q: How important is it to bring your A-game against associate nations?​

Salman Ali Agha:
It’s very important because you don’t play against these teams often and don’t always know their strengths and weaknesses. That’s why you must bring your A-game. As a team, we focus on executing our plans across the full 40 overs. If we do that, I truly believe we can beat any side in the world.

Q: Do players feel hurt by the political tensions affecting cricket?​

Salman Ali Agha:
It’s not about being hurt, but it’s definitely not good for the game. These things should not happen. As players, we are role models, and whatever we do gets picked up by kids. Role models should not promote such actions.

Q: Your personal form has improved significantly, with a higher strike rate. What changed?​

Salman Ali Agha:
There was a gap between the tri-series against Sri Lanka and Zimbabwe, which gave me time to analyze my game. I was doing well in Tests and ODIs but not in T20s. That break helped me reflect. Earlier, I used to bat with a captain’s mindset. Now, I bat purely as a batter — expressing myself and enjoying the game. There have been minor technical tweaks, but the biggest change has been my mindset.

Q: Babar Azam has faced criticism over strike rate. Is this team-driven or something he’s personally working on?​

Salman Ali Agha:
He is working on his game himself. He knows what he needs to improve, and that’s a good thing. He is a very key player for us in these conditions. He provides stability. If Babar is in form and scoring runs, Pakistan will win most of its games.

Q: Pakistan hasn’t won a major tournament recently. How important is this World Cup?​

Salman Ali Agha:
This tournament is very important for us. As a group, we avoid discussing external noise and focus only on our game. Sri Lanka has supported us immensely, and we love playing here. There are still three more matches for fans to enjoy, and we’ll try our best to entertain them and win games.

Q: What is the key area the team wants to improve in this tournament?​

Salman Ali Agha:
Consistency. Replicating good performances game after game. In tournaments like these, you have to perform in every match. We recently beat Australia 3–0, and we want to replicate that level of performance here — in batting, bowling, and fielding — every single game.

Salman Ali Agha:
Thank you very much, everyone.

According to Telegraph (UK), broadcast value of 4 guarantee Ind Pak matches from 2024–2027 is $250 million

It means each IND-PAK match value is $62.5 million in broadcasting rights not 250 million USD which was being circulating on twitter for last few days

@Rana is spreading the Fake Propaganda About 500 million etc 🤡🤡🤡

According to Telegraph (UK), broadcast value of 4 guarantee Ind Pak matches from 2024–2027 is $250 million

It means each IND-PAK match value is $62.5 million in broadcasting rights not 250 million USD which was being circulating on twitter for last few days

@Rana is spreading the Fake Propaganda About 500 million etc 🤡🤡🤡

Ammhhh, did you read the article???

From the article : The dispute could have major financial ramifications for all of cricket, as the ICC’s $3bn Indian media rights deal with JioStar is largely predicated on India facing Pakistan every year in a global tournament, meaning each one is worth roughly $500m. A cancellation of next week’s fixture would breach the contract and leave the ICC liable for a rebate.

And again from same article : a boycott that could cost the ICC a huge rebate in a fixture worth around $500m (£367m) in media rights.

it says each game is roughly 500m$... Bro you didnt even read the article properly, may be you copy pasted some lines from twitter trolls :)