Pakistan v Australia | CT 2009 | Centurion | 30/9/09 | Pak Inns

Poison said:
:))) :))) Here we go :)))

Let me make it clear that (for those who dont get it) that I am not talking about bookies and dodgy dealings. This is a good batting pitch. Pakistan did not lose wickets. Yet they have scored only 200.

Clearly they dont want to do India any favours. And I am certain, though I would like to be proved wrrong, that it will cost them the tournament, either because they will now lose to NZ in the semis or Aus in the final.

Gents, this is win win for us! We are through to the semis anyway, and India are going home! For the first time in my life, I don't care whether we win or lose!

always easier chasing a smallish total, however the pitch will play its part and if all of our bowlers ball well then i still think we can pull it off

Good call by Ponting, lucky to win toss, great bowling by aussie bowlers, good use of conditions..............batting without backbone or ideas even when pitch was rather perhaps difficult to bat on....will it get easier now for batters not sure? should do.

We are about 30-60 run shot to make it even interesting unless we really bowl like we have not for a while and put aussies at the bookfoot early on.

Good Luck Pak, give your best shot, inshallah that will be enough if it comes out right.

As for India, who cares!

taaveez said:
expect some match fixing allegations to come out of this bizarre performance.

well serves this team right.. its obviously fixed other wise you wont be saying this scoring 7 runs in over 46-48 with 5 wickets on hand is mind numbing ridiculous.. this is not even done in a test match.. Did we have to make it so obvious that we are throwing the match away.. even if we got to 250 aussies would chase it down with ease we dont have to make it this easy for them... ridiculous.. I really hope PCB suspends Moyo and Misbah for their obvious let down..

Some quick observations:

• Pakistan changed their batting order again. Why?
  • the pitch was variable bounce, the OZ bowled well and Dubya kept changing the bowlers around which never let the batsmen settle
  • there was a lack of urgency in the Pak batting, particularly after the 35th over, all things considered
  • Misbah's dismissal showed a casual attitude - should always know where your stumps are
  • the OZ will find it hard to score on this wicket, but we should be able to chase down 205 if we play sensibly

Immy Ji said:
Gents, this is win win for us! We are through to the semis anyway, and India are going home! For the first time in my life, I don't care whether we win or lose!

lack of sportsman spirit! :(

Wow this is one heck of a bowling performance by the Aussies. Did anyone see Lee cranking it up to 151 Kms ??? He is back with a bang it will be an awesome ODI series in India coming up folks, if only Yuvi was fit.......

Pakistan took their sweet time getting to 205.....they could easily get 240 here which is a match winning score here...

Anyways its looks like pak don't want Ind in the Final...hope this performance don't haunt them in semis...Pak has always been a momentum team and they just lost that in lackluster performance....

shane said:
Let me make it clear that (for those who dont get it) that I am not talking about bookies and dodgy dealings. This is a good batting pitch. Pakistan did not lose wickets. Yet they have scored only 200.

Clearly they dont want to do India any favours. And I am certain, though I would like to be proved wrrong, that it will cost them the tournament, either because they will now lose to NZ in the semis or Aus in the final.

Thats the feeling I get aswell.

shane said:

No.

I think we have pretty good total by looking at the pitch. we also have 2 good spinners who will make life hard for AUS batsmen. so take a chill pill guyz :):D

in 1999 pak lost the game to bangala , india.....then played total crap in the finals.

in 87 they lost the final prelim then lost the semi to auss.

looks like a similar pattern

Guys, it was a slow variable pitch which is hard to score on,

and aus bowlers did well, chill.

Oz played well against India, probably would have gone on and won that match, only fair if Australia wins today to secure their route to the semis.

deep82 said:
Pakistan took their sweet time getting to 205.....they could easily get 240 here which is a match winning score here...

Anyways its looks like pak don't want Ind in the Final...hope this performance don't haunt them in semis...Pak has always been a momentum team and they just lost that in lackluster performance....

No I disagree, Aus just bowled really well and Pak could not do much...

shahzadddd said:
205-6 from 50

As I said before it's Australia's game to lose , but we still have a game. Don't lose all hope India.

Abay yaar, leave India. Why are we so concerned about them?

It is no secret that their board doesn't leave any opportunity to kill cricket in Pakistan. If they dont back from pushing us out of world cricket, there's nothing wrong with us being the reason for pushing them out of a tournament.

That being said, I really REALY want Pakistan to win this against AUS. YK said he wants his team to be feared by all teams. Beating AUS would be a step in that direction.

TurkishCricketFan said:
mate I am talking about the general innuendo that Pakistan is pushing out India on purpose and you are the one who quoted me.

As i said before, let's wait for the Aussie chase to see what kind of a pitch THIS REALLY IS.

And please dont take cheap shots at me, let's keep the dialogue within the borders of the ongoing match.

I quoted to refute your point that I disagreed this.

Anyway, I think we will see from the Aussie innings. I think they will chase this down in less than 44 overs so as you said, LETS WAIT AND SEE. :younis

I think 240 was always gettable,

Catching the last few over I cannot believe that this pitch is a 200 run pitch.

I blame Yousuf and Misbah trying to secure their place in the team with slow 40s rather then trying to increase the tempo.

Guys, this is correct decision. Pak wants to play Kiwis in the semi final. England can upset AUS. I think Yonus derailed the scoring by scoring 18 from 49 and it never picked up.

BTW, Pak just returned the favor India did in Asia cup. they intentially lost to SL to block out Pak from the final but loosing in the final against SL.

Romali_rotti said:
No I disagree, Aus just bowled really well and Pak could not do much...

Coupled with the Pakistan tactics. There was no intent till the 44th over and the running was abysmal. We had way too many batsmen making this pitch look harder than it is to bat on.

It is no test wicket, yet from when I came on (30th over) we scored about 80 runs for the loss of 3 wickets with a PPlay. Ofcourse Australia bowled well but you have to question the batting side. I think Australia with 'sensible' batting (picking singles) will get this in less than 44 overs.

Ban Pakistani team without any investigation from cricket world. They don't deserve to be any where near the cricket game.

for all who keeps saying aussie bowled well.. are fooling themselves.. any team with the talent like ours who scores 7 runs in overs 46-48 is blatantly doing it on purpose.. this is not because aussie bowled spectacular.. and it will be proven by the way they bowl just how obviously they want to lose the match.

So the India conspiracy theory is:

YK has REALLY, REALLY wanted to beat India. He's been singing this song forever. He wants to beat India so much that, after he has beaten them directly, he wants to beat them even when he's playing another team?

umar akmal was pretty clueless to lee's rockets.... ofcourse he was sent in only to go for wild heaves at the ball...

he's a middle order batsman who's got the ability to clear the ropes as well....

he shouldn't be made into a specialist slogger imo

sajsultan said:
for all who keeps saying aussie bowled well.. are fooling themselves.. any team with the talent like ours who scores 7 runs in overs 46-48 is blatantly doing it on purpose.. this is not because aussie bowled spectacular.. and it will be proven by the way they bowl just how obviously they want to lose the match.

Lets hope so for your sake AHHH whats the worst that can happen ? Oz steam roll you guys like they usually do if you meet in the final ... Seriously I dont want OZ winning this CTT, its the only tournament along with t20 they havent won....I dont want these suckers to keep winning everything....

Random Aussie said:
Does get annoying Poison, yes batters could have done better but we are not hacks at the game of cricket either and Pakistan have scored 200 on a tough pitch.

If they wanted to lose on purpose they could have lost by now.

My guess is maybe 20 runs too few though.

I reckon about 40 runs short of a par score. But we'll see how their spinners do.

Random Aussie said:
Does get annoying Poison, yes batters could have done better but we are not hacks at the game of cricket either and Pakistan have scored 200 on a tough pitch.

If they wanted to lose on purpose they could have lost by now.

My guess is maybe 20 runs too few though.

Hey.I get why you're denying that Pakistan is purposely trying to lose.

Listen,I'm not saying your bowlers sucked and no credit goes to them,I'm just saying that Pakistan could have done a lot better than this.:)

Romali_rotti said:
Lets hope so for your sake AHHH whats the worst that can happen ? Oz steam roll you guys like they usually do if you meet in the final ... Seriously I dont want OZ winning this CTT, its the only tournament along with t20 they havent won....I dont want these suckers to keep winning everything....

You do realise that they are holders don't you. :younis

sajsultan said:

strange .. because younus had previously made it clear that they wanna beat aus.... but their team selection also was casual and i guess they wanted to loose after all... if true then this may not go down well with cricket authorities and fans...

deliberate loosing is never acceptable.... never

Romali_rotti said:

aussies are the present holders of the icc champions trophy!

adarsh_bang said:
umar akmal was pretty clueless to lee's rockets.... ofcourse he was sent in only to go for wild heaves at the ball...

he's a middle order batsman who's got the ability to clear the ropes as well....

he shouldn't be made into a specialist slogger imo

He is pakistan's future star! can expect more of this stuff from Aus when they tour down under.

Any anyone plz let me know how much pakistan scored of the batting power play and when they took it....also how many wickets lost in batting powerplay?

Hilarious post form an Indian cricket forum...

Guys lets not fool ourselves.

First of all, Pak even in their dreams cant beat Aus, wether they play their full team or B team.Do you guys remember any one series in last 10 years where Pak won a series against Aus? They have got thumped everytime they have played Aus and whenever they have won, those have been dead rubbers.

In any case, now Pak's CT is over. They play the Kiwis on a seaming and bouncing Jo'burg pitch where Bond and co are going to destroy the FTBs.

Expect them to start moaning about BCCI conspiracy of getting them to play on a greentop in the semis.

Shakil_pkcricket said:
Any anyone plz let me know how much pakistan scored of the batting power play and when they took it....also how many wickets lost in batting powerplay?

Taken by default(45-50 overs)

31 runs for the loss of 2 wickets (7 runs came from Rana facing the last 3 balls).

They really need to look at the batting order. YK slows everything down in power play overs. May be Yosuf or Shoib should come in at no 3. They also need to promote Umer Akmal. He is one batsman who can rotate the strike and accelerate after he is in. We missed Razzaq at the lower order. He always does well against AUS. Sending Afrdid on top took the lower order hitting power.

Pakistan has a good chance of losing at Wanderers, esp. against a resurgent NZ. Although Eng performance against NZ was similar to Pak's today.

That Aamer wasn't played today plays into the "relaxation" theory. YK wants the surprise element left out until the final. (That's if Pak makes it to the final.)

No full-time batsman wants to open for Pakistan (other than Nazir). Afridi opening is another signal of Pak using the match to do some practice.

I truly, passionately hate this theory. But it might be true.:-(

Bobbins said:
Do you guys remember any one series in last 10 years where Pak won a series against Aus? They have got thumped everytime they have played Aus and whenever they have won, those have been dead rubbers.
Actually, this part is sadly true. Which is why I think we need to grow up, stop using wins against India as redemption, and beat the real teams.