Pakistan V England, 1st Test Day 1 [13/11/05]

Samster needs to hang on in there. Play like he did at Rawalpindi last year except dont get run out.

I swear saleem altaf said 83 overs in a day...why are they playing 90

Pak can still win this....if only Inzi can:

1. Play all positions from 1-10
2. Bowl from both ends
3. Field at all positions, simultaneously

the rest of the team qualifies for the top 10 in Annual Circus magazines, Jokers of the Year award.

Rameez is saying YK is to blame a bit for slowing it down too much, shud have taken singles and 2's.

MenInGreen said:
Pak can still win this....if only Inzi can:

1. Play all positions from 1-10
2. Bowl from both ends
3. Field at all positions, simultaneously

the rest of the team qualifies for the top 10 in Annual Circus magazines, Jokers of the Year award.

And you? What happens to you for allegedly initiating it all?

kya hogaya miggy? aik taraf amjid sahab achi achi baatein kar rahay hain, aur doosri taraf yeh ?

244-6 Close of Play.
Great comeback lads on a placid wicket.
Definitely our day today

Gasherbrum said:
kya hogaya miggy? aik taraf amjid sahab achi achi baatein kar rahay hain, aur doosri taraf yeh ?

As they say in Lahore Oi Mainoo Gussa na dila Oi!!!! Aik to I cant see the bdy match live and on top of that, Pak doing so badly !

People dont lost faith! Sami can bat and can bat well. He has solid defence and can play shots. He is the perfect foil for Inzi. Remember Pakistan-Sri Lanka Faisalabad last year? Jayasuriya out on 100 for the 7th or 8th wicket with the other guy Fernando i think it was scoring only 1!

People dont lost faith! Sami can bat and can bat well. He has solid defence and can play shots. He is the perfect foil for Inzi.

Well he's looked worse than Hoggard so far...

Marooned said:
It's typical migsy. Match say pehlay sher gurbur ho jaye tu forien flat.

Jee Aap hee kay Mulk ka bashinda hoon!

New Pakistani lineup, same old performance. Our fortunes rise and fall purely on the performance of Inzi, nothing should surprise me about our play but how can we keep on descending into such a shambles from promising starts time after time?

sami certainly can bat - and i agree with RH in that he is an ideal foil for inzi. Then we have akhtar who can throw his bat about a bit and shabbir can certainly put up a fight

Yar, Akmal bhi naa bus,,,,there was no need at all to play that stupid shot. He knew it that the day will soon be over then he should have waited a bit

Waqar's inswinging yorker said:
sami certainly can bat - and i agree with RH in that he is an ideal foil for inzi. Then we have akhtar who can throw his bat about a bit and shabbir can certainly put up a fight

good stuff. looks like 500 is still on the cards.

anyhoooo, time to sleep it off.

244 for 6 at close

Dissapointing obviously that on a good batting track our batsman get starts and then fail to capitalise. A couple of decisions, which perhaps should have gone the other way, have not helped either.

Slow run rate but I think that is the nature of the wicket. It is a slow pitch so the ball isn't really coming onto the bat. What we need to do tomorrow is get a minimum of 300. It might not be as bad a score as people would imagine....given the inexperience of England's middle order but really we should be scoring 400 plus here.

A lot depends on Inzi tomorrow. If he can keep as much of the strike as possible....300 plus shouldn't be a problem and 350 plus is always a possibility while he is there.

Inzi is no doubt out best bat. look at his striking rate. I have seldom played him a slow innings. Unlike, Butt bhai and one more thing, i knew that either MOYO plays a responsible knock or Inzi, but again i have seldom seen both playing well together. Tough luck to Hassan Raza, baichara, he must be a real disappointed man.

Yehi agar ,,,,had Aussies been playing/batting today then they would have scored atleast 400 at the end of 88 overs. this i knew it from Pakistani batsman, although they have scored some 45 runs less than what i ve expected them to do.

immubhai said:
Yehi agar ,,,,had Aussies been playing/batting today then they would have scored atleast 400 at the end of 88 overs. this i knew it from Pakistani batsman, although they have scored some 45 runs less than what i ve expected them to do.

it is a slow wicket.

we should get above 400 as long as inzi is there
but ill be happy with 350+

Big Mac said:
With Afridi it was a case of finding an opener, Afridi scored his century against the Windies batting in the lower order. His was a case of finding the right balance, the Kamal/Raza was a straight swap. Two different scenarios
True but with Afridi it wasn't just a century against the West Indies - that's the one frequently brought up - even though it was awesome in itself and, despite many people saying it was a "lost cause", with Afridi at the crease it certainly wasn't a lost cause. Afridi has also hit rapid fifties against India in tests (their speed gave us more time to bowl them out), a 46 against the might of Australia and has performed brilliantly with the ball - taking Sachin 3 out of 4 times and other big scalps and making crucial contributions to our victory eg producing figures like 11 overs 3 for 17 on that final day.

Yes, and now i am thinking, lets hope the English play the same way as they played in the warm up games. This time around we also have (socalled) quality bowlers in Shoaib and Beeeera and if Sami scores 35 plus then he gets in my favorite's list. Otherwise, i ll stop getting up at 0530 in the morning

Was really looking forward to watching Hasan Raza. He was overconfident with that shot he tried to play I thought. Well, didn't get to see much of him so all I can say is that at least he's got a good physique for a cricketer. I'm sure he'll do much better in the second innings. He's due for a big one I feel.

DM said:
True but with Afridi it wasn't just a century against the West Indies - that's the one frequently brought up - even though it was awesome in itself and, despite many people saying it was a "lost cause", with Afridi at the crease it certainly wasn't a lost cause. Afridi has also hit rapid fifties against India in tests (their speed gave us more time to bowl them out), a 46 against the might of Australia and has performed brilliantly with the ball - taking Sachin 3 out of 4 times and other big scalps and making crucial contributions to our victory eg producing figures like 11 overs 3 for 17 on that final day.

I'd definitely have Afridi in the team, more for his bowling than for his batting but if I was picking a Pakistan team then the only place I can find for him is as an opener. Once it was decided to give Malik a run at the top then it was curtains for Afridi.

I'm very sad to see Afridi's name missing from the teamsheet but in my eyes the omissions of Kamal and Rana are far more disappointing

Cmon guys.... raza can still score big in the 2nd innings.... inshallah

Pakistan master of collapses.

Inzi is going to have to do something special if Pak are to win.

zaf1986 said:
Pakistan master of collapses.

Inzi is going to have to do something special if Pak are to win.

Another 100 runs is really what we need. While Inzi is there that will remain possible.

Its a question of if the other end supports him. Im not convinced about the batting prowess of our last 3. Another downside of not playing Rana da man.

Billy said:
English collapse > Pakistan collapse.
Oh that was old England. Pakistan, new or old, will collapse in test cricket. Thats why its suspcious when they are 100-1 or something. More likely to win if they are 90/5 and Inzi plays a rearguard innings. He still could, remains to be seen if he gets the support from the other end.

You know the old saying, when one wicket falls add 1 more to the scorecard.....

That saying has to be specifically adjusted for pakistan, "When one wicket falls add 5 and then see how the team is doing".

I like many others of us though have become used to this brainless cricket that bob with all his laptops cant seem to fix. But the most dissapointing things about today is that apart from the opening partenership it is the same old story of pakistan being crap and inzi does all the work. I really dont wanna think what happens to this team when inzi leaves, we would struggle to compete with bangladesh! For now although we can be optimistic and say that we were rusty and i hope we put in a much better effort next time. But for now we would have to put up with another country's amazement of just how spectacularly implosive we can be when they ridicule us in their press.

Although it seems a world away but it has gotto be said, pakistan need at least 400 on this pitch and maybe it means inzi can change up into "gear Afridi" tommorow morning.