Pakistan v India | CT 2009 | Centurion | 26/9/09 | Indian Inns

Spinners rocked, again. Aamer continues to impress (noballs aside) and Rana held his own. Gul can take a rest.

Absolute class from Yousuf, but the day belongs to Malik, and to Pakistan.

YiPPi Pakistan won :) Good bowling by spinners.

I must say INDIA WELL PLAYED . India had some bad luch and was missing key player like Yugraj, Sewaq and Zaheer.

DRAVID GAMBIR AND RAINA PLAYED VERY WELL.

the after match moments (people rushing on the field) reminded of the old england days, 99 world cup

And Geo already have a music video out with clips of the match with the song Geo to Aisay and it's titled 'Congratulations Pakistan on beating India in a memorable win'....a bit over the top don't you think?

Man of the Match.?
For me,its got to be Yousuf.It was innings of the highest class..n he was at the top of his game when others were struggling,

Pakistan has almost booked its place in the semi-finals.....courtesy....good NRR in this match and agaisnt Windies.....

Fine win for Pakistan. Yousuf and Malik set it up with their outstanding partnership before the bowlers did enough to do the job.

dhoni says........we were in with a chance with Raina was batting......next we are playing Australlia we look to the game....

I believe the points table is wrong atm. When you get the team all out it counts as 50 overs. So theoretically our NRR should be 1.619 instead of 1.399 as noted on cricinfo

Dhoni: "Till Raina was batting I thought it was pretty gettable. He got a tough one and after that it became difficult. Two run outs; doesn't help you when you are chasing. During bowling, we gave too many runs. I have never seen so many runs scored of cut (Malik hit over 60 runs in that region!). Two big games coming up. From now on, its like a knock out for us. If we don't play well, we can pack up and go back home!"

just watching star news they are crying like hell
well ALLAH KA SHUKER HAI AND INSHALLAH PAK WILL WIN THIS WORLD CUP PAKISTAN ZINDABAAD

YK says......we got a good start of 30 odd runs......then Shoaib Malik was fantastic.....we were 20 odd runs short in our last batting power play....lost too many wickets there..........Saeed Ajmal performed in every game getting more mature.....we are still hungry....if we beat aussies in the next game it will be very nice.....

WNC said:
And Geo already have a music video out with clips of the match with the song Geo to Aisay and it's titled 'Congratulations Pakistan on beating India in a memorable win'....a bit over the top don't you think?

Looking at Indian media and gov. behaiver against Pakistan its totaly cool.

Younis Khan: "It was a professional performance. We had a good start. Fantastic knocks from Yousuf and Malik. I thought we would reach 320 in the end but we didn't hit too many runs in the last Powerplay. The boys were very keen ... Ajmal has performed every game and Afridi, in the last couple of years, has been fantastic with his all round performances. We are still hungry. If we can defeat Australia in the next game, it would be nice."

Shoaib Malik is the Man of the Match: "When I started my batting, I just kept one thing at the mind; to stay at the wicket. It wasnt' easy wicket as the ball was not coming to the bat. Yousuf bhai came and told me to stay at the wicket. Don;t worry about the target. he is a very experienced player. When we were about 200, there we decided that 300 is [possibilitly]. We succeeded. "

Raina's wicket was the turning point. Now we can debate patiently and view the replay in detail, Was it out?

Malik could at least have accepted the watch from dignatory #142 - hes been waiting all day to present it!

don1990 said:
Dhoni: "Till Raina was batting I thought it was pretty gettable. He got a tough one and after that it became difficult. Two run outs; doesn't help you when you are chasing. During bowling, we gave too many runs. I have never seen so many runs scored of cut (Malik hit over 60 runs in that region!). Two big games coming up. From now on, its like a knock out for us. If we don't play well, we can pack up and go back home!"

He is such a pathetic whiner! He was whining at the coin toss about injuries and now he is whining about ONE freaking decision. :))

Savak said:
Raina's wicket was the turning point. Now we can debate patiently and view the replay in detail, Was it out?

It was OUT.

But he might have edged it first.

Bu the scorecard says 'OUT'

'Sachin Tendulkar! Manmohan Singh! Shah Rukh Khan! Amitabh Bhachan! Bal Thakeray - can you hear me Bal Thakeray! Your boys took one hell of a beating! Your boys took one hell of a beating!'

PAKISTAN WINN!!!

Congratz to all Pakistani and all Pakistani cricket followers!!

Geordie Ahmed said:
'Sachin Tendulkar! Manmohan Singh! Shah Rukh Khan! Amitabh Bhachan! Bal Thakeray - can you hear me Bal Thakeray! Your boys took one hell of a beating! Your boys took one hell of a beating!'

LOL! :))) :))) :))) :iamlegend

Geordie Ahmed said:
Keep the faith mate, keep the faith

Like i said - Keep the faith

I hope the wrist slitters have learnt an important lesson about not giving up BUT i very much doubt it :wasim

Group A

Teams Mat Won Lost Tied N/R Pts Net RR For Against
Pakistan 2 2 0 0 0 4 +1.606 436/80.3 381/100.0
Australia 1 1 0 0 0 2 +1.000 275/50.0 225/50.0
India 1 0 1 0 0 0 -1.080 248/50.0 302/50.0
West Indies 2 0 2 0 0 0 -1.501 358/100.0 409/80.3

Its quite conceivable that India could be sent packing home in a few days time if they lose!

Geordie Ahmed said:

Waiting for a congratulations post form 'I'. He was very keen on passing out tissues in the morning. He might need some.

Nazir_ Rules said:
Are you crazy? YOu cant take the heat can you?
:20: What are you talking about lol? The points table was initially miswritten with Pakistan being shafted from a higher NRR lol

Geordie Ahmed said:
:))) :))) :))) :))) :)) :)) :)) :))

It was OUT.

But he might have edged it first.

But the scorecard says 'OUT'
Hit the nail on the head there, Oxy! Why make things more complex than they are?! :14:

TBH Australia look quite weak, I mean Mitchell Johnson was literally the difference today with his innings. He won't do that all the time and their bowling lineup did not look at all effective from the parts that I watched/

I don't think the story of this group is set in stone yet but as far as I am concerned Pakistan is definitely through and I feel that Asif should now be given a chance in what is effectively a dead rubber against Australia (at the expense of Gul who needs to do some soul searching)

When I look back - if the Pakistani bowling had been half disciplined and did not bowl those no balls ..the margin of victory would have been massive ( > 100 runs ) .. Pakistan should not rest on laurels - they had a jail break today ..but if they don't bowl with discipline - they will never become a top side ..I still can't forget Gul's implosion

Anybody has Times Now...the indian chanel...first grade comedy going on...before the game it was matter of taking revenge for partition, literally, now they are coming back down to earth...

Anybody see Indian players' life size posters in their dressing room...rock stars would be ashamed of this behavior...

Geordie Ahmed said:

Feel sorry for Dhoni ..the sick bunch of loosers that the Indian media is - will now hound him and paint him as a devil

India has been trying to push Pakistan into a corner and isolate them - Pakistani victory today was divine justice ..

Geordie Ahmed said: