Pakistan v Sri Lanka | 1st Test | Day 1 | Abu Dhabi | 18/10/11

Cover Drive

Finally long wait ends and today, Pakistan will take on Sri Lanka in Abu Dhabi InshAllah!

Sri Lanka have come off playing a harder opposition in test matches while Pakistan played weaker sides since the World Cup, so test series for both teams especially Pakistan.

Good luck Men in Green!

Good luck to Pakistan!

I hope that sometime after lunch one delivery may well deviate slightly from its intended path, it is up to the lucky team to take advantage of it lol.

Good luck to Pakistan!

I hope that sometime after lunch one delivery may well deviate slightly from its intended path, it is up to the lucky team to take advantage of it lol.

Dream batting surface.

Even Shoaib Malik should be able to score runs (if he gets picked). :yk

When does coverage start? I presume at the toss?
Also I forgot, is it geo super or ten sports?

well easy job sitting under AC then being our there coaching in heat LOL

I have no idea what Misbah meant as the XI, except that Shafiq is playing.

I am still hoping it's a mistake, Wahab has been our most promising prospect!! Is he injured?

Might be a bad decision, if we can't get 5 wickets by tea. Also batting last will not be as easy as pitch might act up due to deterioration.

But!

Good Luck Boys! Give'Em HELL

Very bad decision

Mahela, Sanga and Dilshan will eat our bowling attack alive on this flat pancake

Time to bump the Waqar commentary thread.

Another pathetically defensive decision to bowl first. :facepalm:

There better be something in this wicket as really batting first is always the way to go. Has Misbah done a Misbah again?!

I am just hoping that Misbah saw something in the pitch and made the right decision.

Guys if he is wrong, its on him.

Bowling first?

SL will now proceed to make 700+.

Misbah probably saw one blade of grass and thought it was a greentop. :ibutt

Such negativity I will never understand, at minimum we need to take 6-7 wickets today for him to have justified this decision.

Let me get this straight we play with 3 spinners and we are bowling first and batting last.
And we have not selected the most in form test bowler.

this guy is just unbelievable!!! bloody hell Sri Lanka is NOT Zimbabwe!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :69:

Don't we want to bowl last on this pitch?

Craziness from Misbah. They will have to bowl their hearts out now.

Bowling first is actually a more attacking position, especially since we picked 3 seamers.

Still no explanation for Wahab's exclusion.

Waqar saying Misbah's decision is good only if they can take early wickets as there is a lil bit grass on the pitch... :akhtar

Morrison doing pitch report said there was a surprising amount of grass left on the wicket, seam movement very possible early on, and he said he would fancy a bowl.

Misbah as usual proving that why is he looked upon by many as an ultra defensive Captain.

I think bowling first is a good attacking move for a team like ours that has a good bowling lineup but if we planned to bowl first we should go in with 3 fast bowlers to at least get the full out of the pitch.
Its half decisions that cost us choosing 3 spinners to me was the defensive option rather than bowling first

this has 2 be the most stupid decision (im hoping im proven wrong) since INZAMAM ul haq won the toss and batted first on green overcast pitch in 2004 vs west indies, champions trophy semi final, pakistan got bowled out for abt 130 :faceplam:

one wins the toss on green bats - inzi
one wins the toss and ball on dead ducks - misi

Unconfirmed but most likely

Hafeez
Taufeeq
Azhar
YK
Misbah
Asad
Adnan
Gul
Cheema
Junaid
Ajmal

I think bowling first is a good attacking move for a team like ours that has a good bowling lineup but if we planned to bowl first we should go in with 3 fast bowlers to at least get the full out of the pitch.
Its half decisions that cost us choosing 3 spinners to me was the defensive option rather than bowling first

what is the bowling line up?

Rahman, ajmal, junaid and Gul?

Dilshan says he would have batted anyways!

Also, there is grass on the pitch, but it will dry out soon, so must make use of the new ball on the first day

Dilshan says he would have batted anyways!

Also, there is grass on the pitch, but it will dry out soon, so must make use of the new ball on the first day

brother on any pitch the ball will move for first 10 overs..:asif

this is just defensive captaincy

malik and farhat playing? wth is going on? retarded or what.

No they are not, chill.

Issue is with the bowling attack, Wahab has been dropped for Cheema.

I guess since Misbah saw the track has some grass on it, he has chosen three fast bowlers, which explains Rehman's exclusion.
But Wahab, no idea what's going on.

lets-do-this.jpg

brother on any pitch the ball will move for first 10 overs..:asif

this is just defensive captaincy

I love how all the Afridi (extreme defensive captain) fans call this move defensive!

Bowling first on a dead pitch that doesn\t deteriorate with some grass on it gives you the best chance to get 20 wickets, since the most wickets are likely to fall in the first session. Atleast that is the philosophy, Morrison said bowling first was a good decision.

I am trusting Misbah's judgement yaar. He's been good to us all this time, he's earned that trust.

his first real test as a captain

even though sri lanka aint that special but with sangakkara and jayawardena this could be smack in the face of misi:afridi

Ok enough whining.

Itna tou Indians nahi route

Let's just support our team now!

No they are not, chill.

Issue is with the bowling attack, Wahab has been dropped for Cheema.

I guess since Misbah saw the track has some grass on it, he has chosen three fast bowlers, which explains Rehman's exclusion.
But Wahab, no idea what's going on.

CT is saying we are playing three spinners.... you are saying that we are playing three pace bowlers.... one of you is WORNG!! :)

Feels good to know :kami is not behind the stumps, only thing to worry about is if :farhat is placed int he slips! That's a definite gap for 4 runs (dropped catch)