Pakistani hero fails to get PSL final tickets (now got them)

SL_Fan

Mehar Mohammad Khalil, the brave bus driver who saved the Sri Lankan team in 2009, has remained unable to buy tickets to the game, despite being hailed as a national hero.

“Neither have I got a response from the people I contacted nor are the tickets for the final available anywhere,” Khalil told the reporters.

In March 2009, Khalil was driving the Sri Lankan team bus to Lahore’s Gaddafi Stadium when it was ambushed by a rocket launcher and machine gun-wielding terrorists in an attack that left eight people dead and seven players injured.

The attack brought a sudden end to international cricket in Pakistan.

With reward money from Sri Lanka’s government and donations from well-wishers, Khalil started his own bus company.

In 2015, the 45-year-old was one of the guests of honour at the same stadium, where Pakistan played Zimbabwe in their first home international since the 2009 terrorist attack- in another attempt to bring international cricket back to Pakistan.

Now, the PSL final is scheduled to be held in Lahore on March 5. Khalil says he wishes to watch the PSL final in his home ground.”The enemies do not want the revival of international cricket in Pakistan,” he said, adding, “The entire nation wishes so and it must be revived.”

Khalil is just one of the many cricket enthusiasts who have been unable to purchase a ticket for the final given the high demand for it. Moreover, to their utter dismay, some even claimed that the tickets they bought online have been cancelled all of a sudden.

Link

He has milked it enough already. Multiple visits to Sri Lanka, monetary rewards etc. etc., even though he was probably saving himself from the terrorist attack, but obviously the Sri Lankan players are indebted to him.

Good that he hasn't been given any special treatment with respect to the tickets for the final. Yes sir tickets are available should you have the intention to pay money for it, but if you were expecting a special invitation by the PCB, then you were wrong.

People are keen to see proper cricket at home and they are paying money for it. They cannot be denied because you are a 'national hero'.

He has milked it enough already. Multiple visits to Sri Lanka, monetary rewards etc. etc., even though he was probably saving himself from the terrorist attack, but obviously the Sri Lankan players are indebted to him.

Good that he hasn't been given any special treatment with respect to the tickets for the final. Yes sir tickets are available should you have the intention to pay money for it, but if you were expecting a special invitation by the PCB, then you were wrong.

People are keen to see proper cricket at home and they are paying money for it. They cannot be denied because you are a 'national hero'.

Exactly. Couldn't agree more. Pakistanis wish to drain every single seed of the tree if they even watered it once.

Even if they never watered it, they would try to drain it :facepalm: muft ka maal moon per lag gaya hai

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Mehar Mohammad Khalil, the bus*driver who saved S Lanka team*in 2009 unable to buy tickets. Come on organisers get him a ticket <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PSLFinal?src=hash">#PSLFinal</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/837953087801286656">March 4, 2017</a></blockquote>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Great news. 2 passes are being issued by PSL marketing for PSL final to Mehr Khalil, the bus*driver who saved S Lanka team*in 2009 <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PSLFinal?src=hash">#PSLFinal</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/838062066388828161">March 4, 2017</a></blockquote>

After my tweet this morning I reeived a message from one of the PSL guys who wanted Mehar's number. I didn't have his number but eventually managed to get it.

I passed Mehar's number on to the PSL and then received a message to say that he had been given 2 passes for the PSL final :)

Hope he enjoys the final.

After my tweet this morning I reeived a message from one of the PSL guys who wanted Mehar's number. I didn't have his number but eventually managed to get it.

I passed Mehar's number on to the PSL and then received a message to say that he had been given 2 passes for the PSL final :)

And you think you helped a deserving person ?

Well done [MENTION=9]Saj[/MENTION] bhai!

:19:

Don't really think this was necessary. There are lots of deserving people and fans of cricket that want to attend, but you have to go through the process of buying tickets first.

Kind of seemed like a situation where Saj used his platform, and the PSL organizers reacted to avoid any bad publicity.

I agree this guy is totally undeserving. The tickets should be saved for the real hereos of PK- Nooras and their friends. Afterall,they are the ones that made him a hero because if it were not for the disastrous security plan and shocking Police reaction in 2009, he wouldn't have been a hero.

His quick thinking and bravery probably saved the lives of the Sri Lankan's that day, well at least some of them. He'll always be a hero to them. Some of the critical comments about him here seem a bit harsh.

And we'll done @saj

I agree this guy is totally undeserving. The tickets should be saved for the real hereos of PK- Nooras and their friends. Afterall,they are the ones that made him a hero because if it were not for the disastrous security plan and shocking Police reaction in 2009, he wouldn't have been a hero.

Much like your leader, you probably need some Burnol as well now that the final is going ahead in Lahore successfully. What happened in 2009 was very tragic and the Punjab govt. must be blamed for it, but this guy has milked his heroism enough, and he doesn't deserve any free tickets for it. You want to watch, well then pay for it.

At the same time, it was most pathetic to see Princess Maryam hand out free passes to her workers. It is something that should definitely be condemned. In spite of you accusing me of being a 'Noora' when I am not, I am still calling spade a spade and criticizing them when criticism is due. I hope that one day, you develop the guts to criticize your leader as well when he is blatantly wrong.

Wow welldone Saj bhai :bow:

And to the folks being overtly critical of him, this guy is a hero. He is a hero whether you like it or not. God forbid if he had not had the presence of mind and the terrorists had been successful you would have said good bye to international cricket for two decades atleast.

Wow welldone Saj bhai :bow:

And to the folks being overtly critical of him, this guy is a hero. He is a hero whether you like it or not. God forbid if he had not had the presence of mind and the terrorists had been successful you would have said good bye to international cricket for two decades atleast.

It would have badly hurt our reputation and maybe international cricket could have been gone forever from Pakistan,he sure is a hero.

Much like your leader, you probably need some Burnol as well now that the final is going ahead in Lahore successfully. What happened in 2009 was very tragic and the Punjab govt. must be blamed for it, but this guy has milked his heroism enough, and he doesn't deserve any free tickets for it. You want to watch, well then pay for it.

At the same time, it was most pathetic to see Princess Maryam hand out free passes to her workers. It is something that should definitely be condemned. In spite of you accusing me of being a 'Noora' when I am not, I am still calling spade a spade and criticizing them when criticism is due. I hope that one day, you develop the guts to criticize your leader as well when he is blatantly wrong.
No Noora on this earth is good enough to lick IK feet, he has achieved more in his life than you and every Noora put on this earth has or will achieve. It matters not what you think but on the ground Maryam and her coterie of crooks have used to reward loyalists but a real hero has been "milking it". Had it not been for his reactions, tomorrows match with foreigner's wouldn't have taken place it for the next 50 years. Nooras have stolen money left,right and centre and destroyed institutions but you and ilk couldnt cough up a word but a real hero asks for a ticket and you are all over the thread like a rash. As far as PSL final being successfully staged, inshallallah it is but is it worth the risk? It shows the paucity of Noora intellect that they can attack IK on his views on the PSL but don't have the courage to take him on about the real cancer destroying the country.

Guys keep the politics out of this thread.

Use TP for political discussions.

No Noora on this earth is good enough to lick IK feet, he has achieved more in his life than you and every Noora put on this earth has or will achieve. It matters not what you think but on the ground Maryam and her coterie of crooks have used to reward loyalists but a real hero has been "milking it". Had it not been for his reactions, tomorrows match with foreigner's wouldn't have taken place it for the next 50 years. Nooras have stolen money left,right and centre and destroyed institutions but you and ilk couldnt cough up a word but a real hero asks for a ticket and you are all over the thread like a rash. As far as PSL final being successfully staged, inshallallah it is but is it worth the risk? It shows the paucity of Noora intellect that they can attack IK on his views on the PSL but don't have the courage to take him on about the real cancer destroying the country.

The amount of frustration and anger that has built up inside you because the final is going to be held in Lahore successfully InshAllah makes me pity you. At times, it is better to put national interest above political agenda. If PTI was in power today and Sethi wasn't the driving force behind it, you would be singing a different song.

Secondly, the hero has been praised enough. He has been given enough benefits for saving the Sri Lankan players' lives. What does he except and want now? Should he be given the Pride of Performance Award or perhaps make the first living and civil recipient of Nishan-e-Haider? Good on Saj for helping him out, but he is not entitled to having a free ticket for the final. You want to watch, go and pay. Of course, this doesn't change the fact that the free tickets that were distributed amongst the PML-N workers is not acceptable and justifiable.

The amount of frustration and anger that has built up inside you because the final is going to be held in Lahore successfully InshAllah makes me pity you. At times, it is better to put national interest above political agenda. If PTI was in power today and Sethi wasn't the driving force behind it, you would be singing a different song.

Secondly, the hero has been praised enough. He has been given enough benefits for saving the Sri Lankan players' lives. What does he except and want now? Should he be given the Pride of Performance Award or perhaps make the first living and civil recipient of Nishan-e-Haider? Good on Saj for helping him out, but he is not entitled to having a free ticket for the final. You want to watch, go and pay. Of course, this doesn't change the fact that the free tickets that were distributed amongst the PML-N workers is not acceptable and justifiable.

My friend i am indifferent to the final being in Lahore. If the people want it, who am i disagree but the risks are there and lets be brutally honest it makes no difference to bringing cricket back to PK. Countries that they want to come arent going to come whether the final took place in Dubai or Lahore. I would go as far as to say that England, Aus or NZ will never ever come again even if every player was given his own Presidential level security. That is not going to change whether the Nooras or IK is in power.

As far as the free tickets go, no amount of money could compensate this guys bravery. He saved lives when he could have done what many of the Lahore Police did- run. You pretend to criticise the Nooras but its the likes of you whose support allows these crooks to offer free tickets.

My friend i am indifferent to the final being in Lahore. If the people want it, who am i disagree but the risks are there and lets be brutally honest it makes no difference to bringing cricket back to PK. Countries that they want to come arent going to come whether the final took place in Dubai or Lahore. I would go as far as to say that England, Aus or NZ will never ever come again even if every player was given his own Presidential level security. That is not going to change whether the Nooras or IK is in power.

As far as the free tickets go, no amount of money could compensate this guys bravery. He saved lives when he could have done what many of the Lahore Police did- run. You pretend to criticise the Nooras but its the likes of you whose support allows these crooks to offer free tickets.

Not sure why are you so much against Pakistan taking a small step to bring back international cricket. The negative comments regarding PSL final in Lahore are just disappointing.

Its quite simple, all PCB has to prove that they can provide enough security to the players and the spectators. Every life is precious but no one can guarantee nothing can happen in the remotest corner of the city of 180 millions or anywhere in the country.No other country can provide the same guarantee.

As far I remember , Ashes test was continued after a terrorist attack in London.

Not sure why are you so much against Pakistan taking a small step to bring back international cricket. The negative comments regarding PSL final in Lahore are just disappointing.

Its quite simple, all PCB has to prove that they can provide enough security to the players and the spectators. Every life is precious but no one can guarantee nothing can happen in the remotest corner of the city of 180 millions or anywhere in the country.No other country can provide the same guarantee.

As far I remember , Ashes test was continued after a terrorist attack in London.

I just said that i am indifferent because of the risks but it makes no difference what i think. Ultimately, it comes down to what the plàyers of England, Aus and NZ think and they wont come because of the perception in the West of terrorism and its links with PK. As i said, i dont think those countries will come again but I do believe that SA will come within a decade and SL and even BD may tour within a few years.

Who cares if England, Australia and NZ don't come. For starters, England and Pakistan have had a cordial relationship historically. It was only Botham in particular who had issues because he couldn't outdo Imran when they both played each other. They toured Pakistan in 2005 and were willing to allow us to play our home matches in England following the SL attack, but Ijaz Butt publicly accused them of match-fixing without any evidence, and things went south. However, with more professional people at the helm now, the relationship has already repaired somewhat and if things get better one day, England will be much more likely to tour than Australia, who haven't bothered to show up since 1998. Similarly, South Africa have also been less uptight and have visited us twice in the 2000's.

Nonetheless, even if they don't show up, so what? Some international cricket in Pakistan is better than no cricket. Even if teams like SL, WI, Zimbabwe etc. tour Pakistan on a full-scale, it will be better than the total isolation now. You are wrong that it makes no difference. You hate him, but Sethi has done a brilliant job on this front ever since he got involved with Pakistan cricket. Zimbabwe toured Pakistan in 2015, he has made the PSL final happen in Lahore and was the first person to propose the idea last year, and the PCB nearly convinced WI to tour Pakistan last year. In addition, Giles Clarke also visited us recently to discuss the return of international cricket to Pakistan.

He is not doing lip service only like his predecessors. Things are happening and if he continues to be involved with the PCB and is not sabotaged if a 'certain' leader with Sethiphobia wins the elections in 2018, he will bring international cricket back to Pakistan. It is such a shame that people are incapable of putting national interest above political agenda. It doesn't matter who is bringing international cricket back to Pakistan, the fact is that work is being done on this front and we should be proud of it. It is important that we take these small, incremental steps.

I'm not 'pretending' to criticize them. I will repeat that giving free tickets to their workers was pathetic and not justifiable at all. However, it is not PCB and the government's obligation to serve this hero of ours for the rest of his life. Perhaps we should give him the Pride of Performance after all, as well as the Nishan-e-Haider if that would be worthy enough for his heroism.

Who cares if England, Australia and NZ don't come. For starters, England and Pakistan have had a cordial relationship historically. It was only Botham in particular who had issues because he couldn't outdo Imran when they both played each other. They toured Pakistan in 2005 and were willing to allow us to play our home matches in England following the SL attack, but Ijaz Butt publicly accused them of match-fixing without any evidence, and things went south. However, with more professional people at the helm now, the relationship has already repaired somewhat and if things get better one day, England will be much more likely to tour than Australia, who haven't bothered to show up since 1998. Similarly, South Africa have also been less uptight and have visited us twice in the 2000's.

Nonetheless, even if they don't show up, so what? Some international cricket in Pakistan is better than no cricket. Even if teams like SL, WI, Zimbabwe etc. tour Pakistan on a full-scale, it will be better than the total isolation now. You are wrong that it makes no difference. You hate him, but Sethi has done a brilliant job on this front ever since he got involved with Pakistan cricket. Zimbabwe toured Pakistan in 2015, he has made the PSL final happen in Lahore and was the first person to propose the idea last year, and the PCB nearly convinced WI to tour Pakistan last year. In addition, Giles Clarke also visited us recently to discuss the return of international cricket to Pakistan.

He is not doing lip service only like his predecessors. Things are happening and if he continues to be involved with the PCB and is not sabotaged if a 'certain' leader with Sethiphobia wins the elections in 2018, he will bring international cricket back to Pakistan. It is such a shame that people are incapable of putting national interest above political agenda. It doesn't matter who is bringing international cricket back to Pakistan, the fact is that work is being done on this front and we should be proud of it. It is important that we take these small, incremental steps.

I'm not 'pretending' to criticize them. I will repeat that giving free tickets to their workers was pathetic and not justifiable at all. However, it is not PCB and the government's obligation to serve this hero of ours for the rest of his life. Perhaps we should give him the Pride of Performance after all, as well as the Nishan-e-Haider if that would be worthy enough for his heroism.

I agree with the Sethi part. The guy is getting the right things done

Agree, doing nothing is not an option, or is it ? Initial steps are being taken and things will get better. Credit to those, including Sethi to make it all happened. Even in peaceful time , Australia and England used to visit Pakistan once is a decade, don;t care much if they don;t come anytime soon.

I don't think he should've gotten a special treatment.

But he deserves it far more than pmln workers and actresses and vips. So I have no complaints.

Blind supporters of a specific party need to call spade a spade.

Risks are everywhere. We have foreigners coming and final is today.

Massive achievement by the pcb. Just accept that it's a great small step towards better future.

Stupid stuff by pcb for giving him free passes.

Let me tell you guys one thing.

I have been to these t20 finals of pcb, and what happens each and everytime is that they end up printing too many of these passes, and then these passes are given to friends and families and all.

What happens is that the stadium and stands get full, and the gate authrities are forced to stop more people from entering.

The people who have bought paid tickets are then forced to stand outside only because pcb ends up giving out these free passes that fills up the stadium.

Just because this guy did his job, doesnt deserve a free pass. I heard even misbah wasnt given one, nor was imran or miandad, and i think PCB did a right thing.

Just because this guy did his job, doesnt deserve a free pass.

He was a bus driver. I don't think in his job specification it will have mentioned that he has to save many lives.

Stupid stuff by pcb for giving him free passes.

Let me tell you guys one thing.

I have been to these t20 finals of pcb, and what happens each and everytime is that they end up printing too many of these passes, and then these passes are given to friends and families and all.

What happens is that the stadium and stands get full, and the gate authrities are forced to stop more people from entering.

The people who have bought paid tickets are then forced to stand outside only because pcb ends up giving out these free passes that fills up the stadium.

Just because this guy did his job, doesnt deserve a free pass. I heard even misbah wasnt given one, nor was imran or miandad, and i think PCB did a right thing.

Then cap the passes at 500 and update the quotas so that no more can be printed. That's what other organizations do. If well known people/important people want tickets, then they can be given first opportunity to buy tickets.

If it was my hand I would give him and his family free entrance to all PCB cricketing events for life. He is more deserving than Setthies and Sharayars. Setthies and Sharayars are doing their job while Mr. Khalil go beyond his job of driving bus and saved life. As a foreigner, my understanding is he is the difference between cricket returning to pakistan 10 years and 50 years time. If one player died in the attack, there would not be any international cricket in Pakistan till the last of SL players breath their last.
Well done @saj