Pakistanis 'stranded' in Bangladesh

gani999

First Class Star

Interesting to see this. A bit sad too. These are Bihari muslims who migrated to East Pakistan during partition. Now they are not wanted either in Bangladesh and seemingly, in Pakistan too.

What do our Pakistani friends think of this?

Many of these people arrived in Bangladesh after partition hoping to live in safety but so many were killed by the so called freedom fighters who wanted an independent nation and to this day the suffering and discrimination seems to be continuing.

Can anyone explain why they are hated? [MENTION=146517]Traveller55[/MENTION]

Many of these people arrived in Bangladesh after partition hoping to live in safety but so many were killed by the so called freedom fighters who wanted an independent nation and to this day the suffering and discrimination seems to be continuing.

Can anyone explain why they are hated? [MENTION=146517]Traveller55[/MENTION]

They are not hated from what i know. As per being killed by the freedom fighters- its only Pakistani propaganda to slander the freedom fighters, which is why nobody but Pakistani sources/sites are the ones spreading that myth.

You used wiki as a source. So is it all lies on here?

The Bihari ethnic minority in Bangladesh (also known as Stranded Pakistanis) were subject to persecution during and after the 1971 Bangladesh Liberation War,[1] (called the Civil War in Pakistan)[2] experiencing widespread discrimination.[3] Biharis largely maintained a pro-Pakistani stance, supported the Pakistan Armed Forces and opposed the independence of Bangladesh. Biharis faced reprisals from Bengali mobs and militias[1] and from 1,000[4] to 150,000[5][6] were killed. Bihari representatives claim a figure of 500,000 Biharis killed.[7][8]

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Persecution_of_Biharis_in_Bangladesh

You used wiki as a source. So is it all lies on here?

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Persecution_of_Biharis_in_Bangladesh

Wiki itself is not a source, as it sources stuff from outside. Thats what [1], [2] etc. show.
As per the claims in the links- they are claims but there is no substantiation from the sources provided.

I have used wiki, where the wiki source is cited to a substantiated claim.

As i said, find me an independent source that substantiates their claim and i will be happy to accept.

Wiki itself is not a source, as it sources stuff from outside. Thats what [1], [2] etc. show.
As per the claims in the links- they are claims but there is no substantiation from the sources provided.

I have used wiki, where the wiki source is cited to a substantiated claim.

As i said, find me an independent source that substantiates their claim and i will be happy to accept.

Sure but can you clarify your view ? No Biharis were killed at all ? They don’t face any discrimination & never have ?

In my experience, they are so few in numbers, that its hard to tell if they face discrimination or not.
Obviously collaborators with the genocidal Pakistani army/government would've faced retribution during the lawlessness that prevailed after Pakistan's defeat.

however, the Bihari-muslims wanted Pakistani citizenship, yet pakistan barred them from citizenship. You may want to address that.

In my experience, they are so few in numbers, that its hard to tell if they face discrimination or not.
Obviously collaborators with the genocidal Pakistani army/government would've faced retribution during the lawlessness that prevailed after Pakistan's defeat.

however, the Bihari-muslims wanted Pakistani citizenship, yet pakistan barred them from citizenship. You may want to address that.

And none were killed ?

I don't know if any innocent people were killed by the freedom-fighters. I am sure some were, as law of averages dictates that some innocent people always die.
However, there is a huge difference between collateral damage suffered by the populace vs systematic genocide by the Pakistani genociders.

I think Bangladesh should accept them if they want to be Bangladeshi citizens and vice versa Pakistan should accept any of them that pledge allegiance to Pakistan.

What wrongs Pakistan did, I have no issue accepting them.

Let's stick to the topic .

You say it's hard to tell if they are discriminated against? You seem to know little about your beloved Bangladesh.

There are about 300,000 Urdu-speaking people living in camps

Despite a law introduced in 2008 that guarantees citizenship for Bihari refugees, they face serious obstacles to obtaining citizenship documents such as passports and birth certificates

https://www.theguardian.com/global-...akistanis-camps-bangladesh-bihari-in-pictures

Please read the full article and view the photos.

What are your views now?

I think that the PK govts have treated these people appallingly. They should be allowed to live in PK without delay.

What wrongs Pakistan did, I have no issue accepting them.

Let's stick to the topic .

You say it's hard to tell if they are discriminated against? You seem to know little about your beloved Bangladesh.

No, i know more than you about my homeland. I said its hard to tell, because they are a tiny, invisible minority. Just like its hard to tell if you Pakistanis discriminate against the Chitral people or not.

https://www.theguardian.com/global-...akistanis-camps-bangladesh-bihari-in-pictures

Please read the full article and view the photos.

What are your views now?

They are refugees, because they WANTED PAKISTANI CITIZENSHIP AND PAKISTAN REFUSED. They are living in Refugee camps-where worldwide, the standard of living in refugee camps are far worse than that of the regular population.
Their standard of living is no different than the poor people in Bangladesh.

So what discrimination ??
They are in their dire state, because of YOUR NATION REFUSING TO ACCEPT THEM.

No, i know more than you about my homeland. I said its hard to tell, because they are a tiny, invisible minority. Just like its hard to tell if you Pakistanis discriminate against the Chitral people or not.

They are refugees, because they WANTED PAKISTANI CITIZENSHIP AND PAKISTAN REFUSED. They are living in Refugee camps-where worldwide, the standard of living in refugee camps are far worse than that of the regular population.
Their standard of living is no different than the poor people in Bangladesh.

So what discrimination ??
They are in their dire state, because of YOUR NATION REFUSING TO ACCEPT THEM.

Did you not read they are guaranteed citizenship now since 2008? They are no longer refugees but continue to live in these camps as they face discrimination and hatred from your brothers.

You can find many reports including from Amnesty International confirming they face continued discrimination and attacks.

Why cant they be treated like all other Bangladeshis?

Millions of afghans accommodated and hundreds of thousands of rohingye but these people who are Pakistanis .... cannot!!Disgraceful. They should have all been offered citizenship and a gradual campaign to bring them all to Pakistan should have been launched decades ago.

They face no hatred.

This is what wiki says:

"In May 2003, a high court ruling in Bangladesh allowed ten Bihari refugees to obtain citizenship and voting rights.[67] The ruling exposed a generation gap among Biharis; younger Biharis tended to be "elated", but many older people felt "despair at the enthusiasm" of the younger generation and said their true home was in Pakistan.[68] Many Biharis now seek greater civil rights and citizenship in Bangladesh.[69]

On May 19, 2008, the Dhaka High Court approved citizenship and voting rights for about 150,000 refugees who were minors at the time of Bangladesh's 1971 war of independence. Those born in the country since the war also gained citizenship and the right to vote.[48][49] Several political parties campaigned in the camps for the Bihari vote during the 2008 general election, and the group was considered important to parties and candidates.[70] Although the court ruling explicitly said that the Biharis are eligible to register to vote in the December 2008 elections, the Election Commission closed its rolls in August 2008 without enrolling them.[71]"

Where's the hatred ? The younger generation, born after 1971 have been given citizenship rights. The older people who are originally PAKISTANI CITIZENS AND WANT TO BE PAKISTANI ARE REFUSED BY YOUR NATION.

Thank you for showing, that yet again, Bengalis are more humane people than Pakistanis and correcting injustices brought to people by Pakistan's callous dumping of people on other nations.

The above quite clearly proves that we are doing more for stranded Pakistanis in Bangladesh than Pakistan itself- which is no surprise, given that Pakistan is the most genocidal nation in South Asia.

Because they are Pakistanis, they want to be Pakistanis. Why can't they be treated like normal citizens by Pakistan ??
The problem of the Bihari refugees is Pakistan's making. Not ours. Its your nation that turned its back on them and its MY nation that is feeding them, clothing them and giving citizenship to their youth.

Kindly do not compare your heinous nation's heinous track record on this to my far more humane nation.
We are looking after YOUR PEOPLE that YOUR GOVERNMENT abandoned.

Why are you not campaigning to get back YOUR PEOPLE and dumping them on us ???

You are struggling to understand very simple points.

I know what the court did, it was part of my point.

Is this a lie?

"Despite a law introduced in 2008 that guarantees citizenship for Bihari refugees, they face serious obstacles to obtaining citizenship documents such as passports and birth certificates"

If they are Pakistani's why can they become citizens of Bangladesh? lol

Bihari's came to what is now Bangladesh after partition to get away from the violence they were facing but instead the Bengalis have shown they are no more humane than the Indians.

The crazy thing is they are Muslims but it seems Bengalis have little understanding of their religion.

I know Bangladesh is a poor nation and very crowded but surely Bengalis should show some humanity and treat them better? Or do you like others enjoy seeing them suffering?

I agree Pakistan should have taken them all.

You are struggling to understand very simple points.

I know what the court did, it was part of my point.

Is this a lie?

"Despite a law introduced in 2008 that guarantees citizenship for Bihari refugees, they face serious obstacles to obtaining citizenship documents such as passports and birth certificates"

Nope. But again, they are being taken care of better by my people, than your people, despite them being YOUR PEOPLE.
So why are you harping against us, who are doing something FOR YOUR PEOPLE, instead of your people, who are abandoning their OWN PEOPLE ??

If they are Pakistani's why can they become citizens of Bangladesh? lol

The same reason if you are Chinese, you don't just get to become citizen of Russia.
Besides, most of them don't WANT to be citizens of Bangladesh, they want to return to Pakistan.

Bihari's came to what is now Bangladesh after partition to get away from the violence they were facing but instead the Bengalis have shown they are no more humane than the Indians.

The crazy thing is they are Muslims but it seems Bengalis have little understanding of their religion.

I know Bangladesh is a poor nation and very crowded but surely Bengalis should show some humanity and treat them better? Or do you like others enjoy seeing them suffering?

I agree Pakistan should have taken them all.

We are showing them far more humanity than Pakistan is showing them. So Thank you for making my point that Bengalis treat people better than Pakistanis do and we are treating Pakistani citizens better than Pakistan is

Nope. But again, they are being taken care of better by my people, than your people, despite them being YOUR PEOPLE.
So why are you harping against us, who are doing something FOR YOUR PEOPLE, instead of your people, who are abandoning their OWN PEOPLE ??

The same reason if you are Chinese, you don't just get to become citizen of Russia.
Besides, most of them don't WANT to be citizens of Bangladesh, they want to return to Pakistan.

We are showing them far more humanity than Pakistan is showing them. So Thank you for making my point that Bengalis treat people better than Pakistanis do and we are treating Pakistani citizens better than Pakistan is

Those Pakistan has taken in are living a better life than those left in Bangladesh.

Your court would not allow them to be citizens if they were Pakistani. They are Bihari's who happen to live in a poor nation whose majority hate them due to lack of education and understanding.

Your court has agreed they have the right to be Bangladeshi's. Yet your establisments and your people treat them like dirt.

Did you read the link and did you see the photos? There is one testimony of a girl who says when Bengalis find out she speaks Urdu they say you killed our ancestors. In Pakistan people dont blame Sikhs or Hindus for what happened in partition. Are Bengalis so low in the mind they would punish people who had nothing to do with anything?

What is worse is you're in denial they are even suffering or being discriminated against. Your nation is a third world country with many backward people and a backward culture, it's not Switzerland. Accept the wrongs of your nation and speak up against them not pretend its all rosy because once again you will make a fool out of yourself.

Those Pakistan has taken in are living a better life than those left in Bangladesh.

Your court would not allow them to be citizens if they were Pakistani. They are Bihari's who happen to live in a poor nation whose majority hate them due to lack of education and understanding.

My courts are allowing citizenship to only the youth. Not the adults.

They are Pakistanis, because they were Pakistani citizens who want to return to Pakistan after 2nd partition and instead Pakistan dumped them on the Bengalis.

Your court has agreed they have the right to be Bangladeshi's. Yet your establisments and your people treat them like dirt.

We treat them better than your absconding nation does.

Did you read the link and did you see the photos? There is one testimony of a girl who says when Bengalis find out she speaks Urdu they say you killed our ancestors. In Pakistan people dont blame Sikhs or Hindus for what happened in partition. Are Bengalis so low in the mind they would punish people who had nothing to do with anything?

Pointing out facts doesn't mean we are gonna kill them. We Bengalis are far more peaceful people, which is why Partition of Bengal was far more peaceful than partition of Punjab.
And as i said, they are living in the same state as most poor bengalis are and we are doing more for them than their own government is.

What is worse is you're in denial they are even suffering or being discriminated against. Your nation is a third world country with many backward people and a backward culture, it's not Switzerland. Accept the wrongs of your nation and speak up against them not pretend its all rosy because once again you will make a fool out of yourself.

My nation got dumped on by your nation rejecting its own people.
You betray your racism by calling these Pakistanis of Bihari origin 'they are biharis, not Pakistanis'.
They didn't just arrive from Bihar in 1971.
They arrived in 1947. They are Pakistanis. And Pakistan is refusing to accept them, while Bengalis are feeding them and somehow we are worse....
Logic clearly is not your strong suite.

Pakistan should accept Biharis. They are discriminated in Bangladesh and apparently they live in camps. If they are pro Pakistani; Pakistan should take them in.

I think Tamim Iqbal is a bihari too. I guess things will improve for them over time in Bangladesh.

Pakistan should accept Biharis. They are discriminated in Bangladesh and apparently they live in camps. If they are pro Pakistani; Pakistan should take them in.

I think Tamim Iqbal is a bihari too. I guess things will improve for them over time in Bangladesh.

They are not Biharis.
They are Pakistanis, who's ancestors migrated from Bihar after 1947. Pakistan simply refused to take them when the 2nd partition (1971) happened.

If they are Biharis, then Liaqat Ali Khan isn't a Pakistani either, he was a Haryanvi.

They are not Biharis.
They are Pakistanis, who's ancestors migrated from Bihar after 1947. Pakistan simply refused to take them when the 2nd partition (1971) happened.

If they are Biharis, then Liaqat Ali Khan isn't a Pakistani either, he was a Haryanvi.

I mean ethnic Biharis. I agree that Pakistan should take them in; they should take them in now. It is a complex issue tbh but Bangladesh should also treat them better and not call them names such as traitors etc. End of the day; we are all humans.

Bhai, we are not calling them traitors.
We are giving citizenship to their young ones ( born after 1971) because we realize thats the humane thing to do and its the only country they've known.

We are simply asking Pakistan to accept the citizens its chucked away. These people are Pakistani. The never stopped being Pakistani.

Its the same story the world over - when a part of a nation breaks away (for eg when USA seperated from the British Empire), adults have the CHOICE - the choice to become citizens of the new nation or retain their old citizenship.

These people CHOSE to be Pakistanis. Well, that'd automatically make them non-Bangladeshis and thus, refugees.

So we have kept them as refugee status and fed them, clothed them, out of our own pocket, while Pakistan has discarded them like an used condom. What more should Bangladesh do, with Pakistani people that Pakistan wants to forget ?!?

I am indifferent to them , they dont belong to any native Pakistani groups and Afghan comparison here is not valid as most Afghan refugees are Pashtuns.

There is a pretty large population of Biharis in Karachi isn't there? but I guess since most in Karachi migrated from India, they dont really count as natives and are not as Pakistani as the rest. Good Point.

They should integrate into the Bangladeshi society and start calling themselves Bangladeshis. The only way forward.

LMAO what about the Mohajirs? Aren't half of them from UP and Bihar anyway?

Anybody that fights for a country is more than welcome to be part of that nation. These people would be more loyal to Pakistan as opposed to most Afghan refugees who hate Pakistan. That's just the American way of seeing things.

Didnt they collaborate with the Pakistani army and take part in the genocide in 1971? I thought that they formed the majority of razakars etc.

Of course, there is going to be reprisals if you take part in the genocide against the local populace. Just like the Nazi officers suffered Americans released the concentration camp prisoners in Dachau.

I would prefer people who are loyal to Pakistan despite living most of their life in another country.

Millions of afghans accommodated and hundreds of thousands of rohingye but these people who are Pakistanis .... cannot!!Disgraceful. They should have all been offered citizenship and a gradual campaign to bring them all to Pakistan should have been launched decades ago.

This!
I was once seeing an interview of a Bihari uncle from Bangladesh (10 years ago or so) and he said that Pakistan has taken over 5 million Afghan refugees (conservative number btw) and it didn't take just 250,000 East Pakistanis who wanted to stay Pakistani

Pakistan is more than just Punjabis in Lahore..... there is quite a big chunk of Biharis who reside in Karachi and migrated in 1947.

We should immediately start a program to bring them back. They are Pakistanis. I'm afraid once Pakistan start a program to bring them back, India and her poodle Bangladesh will cry that we are interfering in Bangladesh's internal affairs.

Won't they just be Mohajirs like millions of others in Karachi? Or will these new arrivals cause demographic change in Sindh?

This!
I was once seeing an interview of a Bihari uncle from Bangladesh (10 years ago or so) and he said that Pakistan has taken over 5 million Afghan refugees (conservative number btw) and it didn't take just 250,000 East Pakistanis who wanted to stay Pakistani

They are/were treated with contempt by Bangladeshis and i find it morally reprehensible for them not to be allowed to move to Pakistan..... they moved in 47 to become east Pakistanis, not Bengalis.

We should immediately start a program to bring them back. They are Pakistanis. I'm afraid once Pakistan start a program to bring them back, India and her poodle Bangladesh will cry that we are interfering in Bangladesh's internal affairs.

You just say, anyone of stranded Pakistani origin can apply for a Pakistani passport and move to Pakistan.....

This is such a poor post that I just don't know where to begin..

First of all, "Bengalis have little understanding of religion...." accusing an entire nation of 150 plus million Muslims of not understanding Deen. Please read up on history of Islam in Bengal.

Second, "Bangladesh is a poor nation". Yes it is. There is nothing wrong with being poor. Our prophet (pbuh) lived a life of extreme poverty. Months went by without him having any decent food. His sahabas were so poor that they passed out of hunger.

But I am sure you know religion better than me (a Bengali). So being poor is obviously a crime.

I am glad to know that you and Pakistanis know Islam very well and better than everyone. This type of religious zealot thinking and judging who is better muslim or not is a serious problem in our ummah.

This is such a poor post that I just don't know where to begin..

First of all, "Bengalis have little understanding of religion...." accusing an entire nation of 150 plus million Muslims of not understanding Deen. Please read up on history of Islam in Bengal.

Second, "Bangladesh is a poor nation". Yes it is. There is nothing wrong with being poor. Our prophet (pbuh) lived a life of extreme poverty. Months went by without him having any decent food. His sahabas were so poor that they passed out of hunger.

But I am sure you know religion better than me (a Bengali). So being poor is obviously a crime.

I am glad to know that you and Pakistanis know Islam very well and better than everyone. This type of religious zealot thinking and judging who is better muslim or not is a serious problem in our ummah.

I was being cynical, of course there are knowledgeable people in Bangladesh who know their religion but then it's very strange how a whole group of people are being discriminated against due to their ethnic background when what should matter is they are people first and then Muslims who deserve much better from other Muslims.

As for poverty, it's huge across the sub continent so maybe this is the reason why they are being discriminated.

If you can shed any light on the plight of these people, please do?

on topic, there were different type of people that got stranded (or decided to stay back) in Bangladesh.

1) Majority of the Biharis. They were simply stranded. I admit they were discriminated against in the 70s and lived in UN camps. There were various such camps throughout Dhaka. But lately they have integrated into the society and I have noticed the change personally. In the 90s and early 2000s they were starting to assimilate and intermarried and now more or less are considered the same as any other Bangladeshi. Was it possible to do it sooner or better? Yes of course. But nothing works like that in our subcontinent. I am glad that now things are almost back to normal for them. I live close to a bihari neighborhood and they attend same schools and colleges. The only way I knew they are Bihari is because they speak Urdu with their parents but Bengali with the rest of us when outside.

2) Minority of the Biharis. There were other Urdu speaking Muslims from India (esp from UP) who moved during the 1950s and settled in mostly Ctg and other urban areas. Such as Tamim Iqbal and his family. They were able to make a life for them in then East Pakistan because they brought substantial wealth with them and was able to open up business or work in govt jobs. Unlike the first group, this group was educated or had money.

3) Pakistanis who were living before 1971 - Most of them moved after the war. But a sizeable population still remained back due to various reasons. Some already had land or a good business and refused to give that up. Some were married to Bengalis. They had no problem carrying on with their life as they were well of to begin with. I have two such friends. They always go to Karachi every other year to see the extended families. But now consider themselves to be Bangladeshis. As an example, Athar Ali Khan is one of them. He isn't ethnically Bengali but his family stayed back and there thousands of others like him.

I was being cynical, of course there are knowledgeable people in Bangladesh who know their religion but then it's very strange how a whole group of people are being discriminated against due to their ethnic background when what should matter is they are people first and then Muslims who deserve much better from other Muslims.

As for poverty, it's huge across the sub continent so maybe this is the reason why they are being discriminated.

If you can shed any light on the plight of these people, please do?

my apologies if I didn't understand my sarcasm. I am not on this forum much and thus do not know the tone of other posters.

see my above post where I have tried to summarize to the best of my ability.

I believe we can have a genuine discussion without being offensive. I agree that Biharis were discriminated. I do not need any news article for that as I have seen it with my own eyes.

But things have gotten a lot better in the last decade. Very soon there won't be any distinction I hope inShaAllah.

on topic, there were different type of people that got stranded (or decided to stay back) in Bangladesh.

1) Majority of the Biharis. They were simply stranded. I admit they were discriminated against in the 70s and lived in UN camps. There were various such camps throughout Dhaka. But lately they have integrated into the society and I have noticed the change personally. In the 90s and early 2000s they were starting to assimilate and intermarried and now more or less are considered the same as any other Bangladeshi. Was it possible to do it sooner or better? Yes of course. But nothing works like that in our subcontinent. I am glad that now things are almost back to normal for them. I live close to a bihari neighborhood and they attend same schools and colleges. The only way I knew they are Bihari is because they speak Urdu with their parents but Bengali with the rest of us when outside.

2) Minority of the Biharis. There were other Urdu speaking Muslims from India (esp from UP) who moved during the 1950s and settled in mostly Ctg and other urban areas. Such as Tamim Iqbal and his family. They were able to make a life for them in then East Pakistan because they brought substantial wealth with them and was able to open up business or work in govt jobs. Unlike the first group, this group was educated or had money.

3) Pakistanis who were living before 1971 - Most of them moved after the war. But a sizeable population still remained back due to various reasons. Some already had land or a good business and refused to give that up. Some were married to Bengalis. They had no problem carrying on with their life as they were well of to begin with. I have two such friends. They always go to Karachi every other year to see the extended families. But now consider themselves to be Bangladeshis. As an example, Athar Ali Khan is one of them. He isn't ethnically Bengali but his family stayed back and there thousands of others like him.

Interesting post thanks. Some may still face discrimination as we can see from their testimonies but overall life they seem to be involved in society from what you have written. The past shoudln't be held against anyone who is alive today, what happened was nearly 50 years ago now.

right. what happened to them (whether 50 or 5 years ago) wasn't any of their fault.

They have started to assimilate into the local culture. But have retained some of their culture too which isn't any issue. These Biharis are the only group that got "left behind". Other Pakistanis and educated/rich Biharis moved on just like other Bangladeshis.

Recent govt policies (such as 2008 ruling) has helped tremendously but more is required for total integration.

So tell that to your own government.
They are the ones refusing to take their citizens and stranding them.

right. what happened to them (whether 50 or 5 years ago) wasn't any of their fault.

They have started to assimilate into the local culture. But have retained some of their culture too which isn't any issue. These Biharis are the only group that got "left behind". Other Pakistanis and educated/rich Biharis moved on just like other Bangladeshis.

Recent govt policies (such as 2008 ruling) has helped tremendously but more is required for total integration.

I have no problems with integration of the young Biharis with the Bengalis in Bangladesh.

But why should we have to integrate people who do not WANT to be in Bangladesh but are left stranded by Pakistan ??? Its unfair to us and unfair to the victims (stranded Biharis) and the only benificiary, is government of Pakistan, who doesn't have to shell out money to bring these people back home and integrate them.

They are not refugees. Refugees are people fleeing their homeland for various types of persecution. These people are not fleeing their homeland, they WANT to go back to their homeland and their homeland is refusing to accept them.
These people have been made stateless by Pakistan and its high time Pakistan corrects yet another injustice it has meted out to a large number of people.

We are giving citizenship to the ones who want to stay in Bangladesh and be considered Bangladeshi. Thats the right thing to do. But why should we give citizenship to the ones who do not want to be here and want to go to Pakistan !? That makes no sense at all.

ISLAMABAD:
For more than half a century, they had been nobody’s children and perpetually hanged in ‘statelessness’. But hope has arisen on their horizon – finally. They are the unsung Bihari heroes of the 1971 war who, still soaked in passion to sacrifice everything for Pakistan, now see a flicker of hope that their limbo state is going to end after a long ordeal.

“We respect Pakistan as much as we respect a mosque,” Dilsher Ali Ansari, 67, told The Express Tribune as tears welled up in his eyes. A Bihari veteran of the East Pakistan Civil Armed Forces, Ansari was one of the war prisoners in Bangladesh – a group of people that suffered a fatal blow to its Pakistani identity following the creation of Bangladesh.

Their crime: cherishing a pro-Pakistan stance during the 1971 war.

“It is the first time in the past five decades that Pakistani institutions have started recognising us and holding events to honour the sacrifices that we made,” Ansari says, with a sense of fondness. “We are all old and frail now but if the need arises, we can at least be used as sandbags. Taking a bullet for Pakistan would mean that the purpose of life has been fulfilled,” his fellow veteran Ehtemamuddin Gohar, 70, said with a lump in his throat as he swallowed a wistful sigh.

The story goes back to 1971, when an insurrection covertly instigated, and overtly aided and abetted by India led to the dismemberment of Pakistan and the creation of Bangladesh. This is when Biharis, an Urdu-speaking community, were butchered in thousands for staying loyal to Pakistan.

According to one estimate, more than 20,000 Biharis were massacred in Khulna jute mills alone – including men, women and children. Some were burnt alive, others guillotined. Those Biharis who volunteered and joined Pakistan’s armed forces were incarcerated while the rest were crammed into temporary camps so they could later be repatriated to Pakistan. This, unfortunately, never happened. The prisoners of war were later repatriated to Pakistan, though.

“We were not just resisting the advances of a single entity. All of us were simultaneously fighting the forces belonging to Mukti Bahini, the Bengal Regiment and above all, the Indian forces. All three of them at the same time,” said Essa, pointing towards India’s violation of the international conventions to side with the secessionists against Pakistan through military intervention.

In the days leading to what is sorely remembered as a great tragedy in the nation’s history, India targeted Pakistan by exploiting the internal situation in former East Pakistan and played the central role as a conspirator in the separation that finally took place on December 16, 1971.

Visibilising the ‘forgotten Pakistanis’

Dislodged from their orbits and stranded in “time” and bereft of recognition and rights any war veteran is entitled to, the presence of Bihari veterans in the country had been almost rendered invisible up until now.

Ansari’s fellow veterans, all in the autumn of their lives now, also shared their experiences of braving the trials and tribulations during incarceration in Bangladesh and what felt like ages of being abandoned by the state.

Their recognition as war heroes, they asserted, for sacrificing their blood and loved ones in a bid to cement the idea of Pakistan in the face of rival belligerents was long-overdue. Ansari’s prison companions - Syed Muhammad Essa, 67, Muhammad Alauddin, 69, and Maqbool Muhammad, 73 - sat together to take a painful trip down memory lane.

“After being released from the prisoners’ camp, we were abandoned before being given a three-day stay at the Rangers Headquarters upon our arrival in Pakistan via Wagah Border,” he said.

However, just the thought of being given recognition brings light to their eyes. “Finally, we feel like we have arrived at the destiny, the beacon of safety we had set out for.”

A long road

The wounds we have been nursing for decades, they said, have started healing, crediting Chief of the Army Staff General Qamar Javed Bajwa for it.

“General Bajwa has started gathering details about the Bihari community from across Pakistan,” Ansari said as he urged the government to take more concrete steps for the betterment of the Bihari community in line with their sacrifices for the country.

Even if Biharis do not get anything, Essa said, “we are still ready to sacrifice our lives for Pakistan.”

https://tribune.com.pk/story/2334147/biharis-foresee-end-to-their-state-of-limbo-1

These people sound more patriotic towards Pakistan than Pakistanis living in Pakistan.

Shame on BD.

This is totally not true. My family had to run for their lives when the partition happened leaving everything behind. I have family members who were killed by the so called freedom fighters. I've heard a lot of horror stories from my grandma and my dad who are first hand witnesses of the violence that took place.

Biharis see end to their state of limbo

For more than half a century, they had been nobody’s children and perpetually hanged in ‘statelessness’. But hope has arisen on their horizon – finally. They are the unsung Bihari heroes of the 1971 war who, still soaked in passion to sacrifice everything for Pakistan, now see a flicker of hope that their limbo state is going to end after a long ordeal.

“We respect Pakistan as much as we respect a mosque,” Dilsher Ali Ansari, 67, told The Express Tribune as tears welled up in his eyes. A Bihari veteran of the East Pakistan Civil Armed Forces, Ansari was one of the war prisoners in Bangladesh – a group of people that suffered a fatal blow to its Pakistani identity following the creation of Bangladesh.

Their crime: cherishing a pro-Pakistan stance during the 1971 war.

“It is the first time in the past five decades that Pakistani institutions have started recognising us and holding events to honour the sacrifices that we made,” Ansari says, with a sense of fondness.

“We are all old and frail now but if the need arises, we can at least be used as sandbags. Taking a bullet for Pakistan would mean that the purpose of life has been fulfilled,” his fellow veteran Ehtemamuddin Gohar, 70, said with a lump in his throat as he swallowed a wistful sigh.

The story goes back to 1971, when an insurrection covertly instigated, and overtly aided and abetted by India led to the dismemberment of Pakistan and the creation of Bangladesh. This is when Biharis, an Urdu-speaking community, were butchered in thousands for staying loyal to Pakistan.

According to one estimate, more than 20,000 Biharis were massacred in Khulna jute mills alone – including men, women and children. Some were burnt alive, others guillotined.

Those Biharis who volunteered and joined Pakistan’s armed forces were incarcerated while the rest were crammed into temporary camps so they could later be repatriated to Pakistan. This, unfortunately, never happened. The prisoners of war were later repatriated to Pakistan, though.

“We were not just resisting the advances of a single entity. All of us were simultaneously fighting the forces belonging to Mukti Bahini, the Bengal Regiment and above all, the Indian forces. All three of them at the same time,” said Gohar, pointing towards India’s violation of the international conventions to side with the secessionists against Pakistan through military intervention.

In the days leading to what is sorely remembered as a great tragedy, India targeted Pakistan by exploiting the internal situation in former East Pakistan and played the central role as a conspirator in the separation that finally took place on December 16, 1971.

India’s plans to intervene were made with the consent of Awami League leadership at an infamous meeting known as the Agartala Conspiracy.

During the war, even before the direct military intervention, Mukti Bahini was being provided military, logistic and economic support by India. Moreover, Indian military, including tanks and air power on many occasions, were also used to support Mukti Bahini.

On April 29, 1971, the Indian cabinet ordered General Sam Manekshaw to launch a military operation in East Pakistan. “I want you to enter Pakistan. I do not mind if it’s war,” the then-prime minister, Indira Gandhi, ordered India’s top military commander.

The Mukti Bahini became the military wing of the Indian army with the Indian intelligence agency RAW providing training and arms to Bahini’s rebels. The Indian government trained guerrillas, fanned disruptive activities, and fuelled riots.

According to Lawrence Lifschultz, South Asia correspondent for Far Eastern Economic Review, Mukti Bahini leader, Abdul Kader Siddiqui, “personally bayoneted” non-Bengalis to death and the entire incident was filmed by foreign film crews whom Siddiqui had invited to witness the gory spectacle.

Visibilising the ‘forgotten Pakistanis’

Dislodged from their orbits and stranded in “time” and bereft of recognition and rights any war veteran is entitled to, the presence of Bihari veterans in the country had been almost rendered invisible up until now.

Ansari’s fellow veterans, all in the autumn of their lives now, also shared their experiences of braving the trials and tribulations during incarceration in Bangladesh and what felt like ages of being abandoned by the state.

Their recognition as war heroes, they asserted, for sacrificing their blood and loved ones in a bid to cement the idea of Pakistan in the face of rival belligerents was long-overdue.

Ansari’s prison companions - Syed Muhammad Essa, 67, Muhammad Alauddin, 69, and Maqbool Muhammad, 73 - sat together to take a painful trip down memory lane.

“After being released from the prisoners’ camp, we were abandoned before being given a three-day stay at the Rangers Headquarters upon our arrival in Pakistan via Wagah Border,” he said.

However, just the thought of being given recognition brings light to their eyes. “Finally, we feel like we have arrived at the destiny, the beacon of safety we had set out for.”

A long road

The wounds we have been nursing for decades, they said, have started healing, crediting Chief of the Army Staff General Qamar Javed Bajwa for it.

“General Bajwa has started gathering details about the Bihari community from across Pakistan,” Ansari said as he urged the government to take more concrete steps for the betterment of the Bihari community in line with their sacrifices for the country.

Even if Biharis do not get anything, Essa said, “we are still ready to sacrifice our lives for Pakistan.”

Maqbool acknowledged that recognition was indeed the first step of a long process.

Ansari and his friends admitted that although they have been granted citizenship now, they were never given a pension, adding that their next generation still faces problems while seeking employment. “We were forgotten for decades in West Pakistan, and still being discriminated against as many of us are still deprived of our identity.”

They said that it was time for the government to not just officially recognise them but also give them a pension, medical facilities as well as employees’ old-age benefits along with job quotas for their children.

Longest December

Admittedly, it took the country half a century to initiate the process of recognising the sacrifices made by the Bihari community during the 1971 war and afterwards.

“December always makes us comfortable,” Allaudin lamented as he recounted the harrowing events of December 16 as a prisoner in the 1971 war.

“We were left on our own. For years, our families somehow managed to be content with the thought that we were dead,” he recalled. “Later, we emerged out of as war prisoners when our whereabouts were announced on the radio.”

The teary-eyed men initially found it difficult to begin their stories but soon they were in rhythm; recalling everything from the recruitment process to fighting against the Indian army, Mukti Bahini and Shanti Bahini for the next nine months before the guns fell silent. In between, the Biharis had lost family members, relatives, friends – and above all their identity.

According to the 1951 census, there were 671,000 Biharis in East Pakistan and up to 20 % of them were massacred by the Mukti Bahini. The official Bangladeshi historical narrative has persistently denied or even justified the brutalities committed by Bengali nationalists against non-Bengalis during the bloody, chilly December.

In her book ‘Dead Reckoning: Memories of the 1971 Bangladesh War’, Indian-American journalist and academic Sarmila Bose has questioned the veracity of the allegations of genocide by Pakistani military, citing the presence of mass graves as its “evidence”.

“Claims of the dead in various incidents wildly exceeding anything that can be reasonably supported by evidence on the ground – ‘killing fields’ and ‘mass graves’ were claimed to be everywhere, but none was forensically exhumed and examined in a transparent manner,” Bose writes.

Brig Dapinder Singh, Staff Officer to Gen Manekshaw, in his book ‘Soldiering with Dignity, wrote: “We prepared Mukti Bahini. Some of them were clad in Pakistan Army uniform and tasked to loot and rape in East Pakistan.”

Even before ‘Operation Searchlight’, thousands of horrifying cases of loot, arson, rapes, and massacres were reported. There are petrifying accounts of whole colonies burnt to ashes with inmates locked inside and burnt alive. The entire violence was targeted at non-Bengalis, particularly Biharis.

Thousands of Bihari women were raped and tortured by the Mukti Bahini, writes Yasmin Saikia, a distinguished American international history scholar, in her book ‘Women, War and the Making of Bangladesh’.

Yearning for an irretrievable loss

Decades have flashed by since the tragic fall of Dhaka, but erstwhile East Pakistan still exerts a vestigial pull on the hearts of the Biharis community, which was forced to start an unscripted beginning in the wake of a giant chunk of their country – and identity - now lost.

The Bihari veterans, belonging to Dhaka and Chittagong, still prefer to affectionately call Bangladesh the historical ‘East Pakistan’, somewhat retaining the notional essence of their homeland.

“The inescapable truth that East Pakistan is the place of our birth cannot be forsaken. For others, it may be Bangladesh but for us, it remains to be our East Pakistan.”

Recognition of services & sacrifices

Recently, a ceremony was held at Malir Cantonment, Karachi, to pay tribute to the veterans from the Bihari community and retired officers who fought during the 1971 war.

The ceremony was held to acknowledge and honour the gallant actions and sacrifices of soldiers, particularly those from the Bihari community who were part of the Civil Armed Forces of erstwhile East Pakistan during the 1971 war. Over 250 individuals including veterans and their relatives attended the ceremony and received awards.

According to an official of the military’s media wing, several Biharis, including 21 in Peshawar; 250 in Lahore; 660 in Karachi and Hyderabad and 63 in Rawalpindi, have so far been awarded in various ceremonies. He said that members of the Bihari community would be invited to an event on December 16 to recognise the sacrifices they have made in 1971.

Federal Minister for Information and Broadcasting Chaudhry Fawad Hussain said that Prime Minister Imran Khan was the first to speak about Biharis, adding he would get back after checking what steps the government was considering to take for the Bihari community in the coming days.

https://tribune.com.pk/story/233406...RCMHZFeS1HVnpTSTdlOXdJV19VSmJRbzRROVktUFZYUlI

Unlucky people. With the creation of Bangladesh it seems difficult for them to return to Pakistan. They just found themselves in the wrong place at the wrong time.

Why did Pakistan take in 4m+ Afghanis but never brought back 150k stranded Pakistanis in Bangladesh

These were mostly Urdu speakiers and Biharis in east Pakistan who opposed secession of Bangladesh

As you said those left in Bangladesh are nearly all Biharis, they're seen as lesser beings even within the Urdu-speaking community, who in majority are the "Mughal elite" of Uttar Pradesh (often Pathans), Gujaratis, etc.

FnfZI_WWAAAX_xP

Biharis are better to integrate in Bangladesh and Afghans need to go home if it is safe to do so. I don't mean Afghans who have been living in Pakistan for decades.

I think Bangladeshi government should offer citizenships to them. If they want to leave for Pakistan and Pakistan want them back, that should be okay too.

At the end of the day, Biharis are our Muslim brothers and sisters and should be treated with dignity.

From what I recall, Karachi had a large Bngali popiulation which was very educated, but also very pro-India. Not saying there is anything wrong with this by the way, just looking at India today, wonder whether the same Karachi folk would feel the same today?