Pakistan's best known Qawwal Amjad Sabri shot dead in Karachi

#GreenRoars

KARACHI: Renowned Qawwal Amjad Sabri was shot dead in Karachi Wednesday afternoon, after unknown gunmen fired at his vehicle in the city's Liaquatabad area.

Sabri and an associate were travelling in a car in Liquatabad 10 area, when unknown gunmen fired at their vehicle, critically injuring him. The two were shifted to Abbasi Shaheed hospital immediately, where Sabri succumbed to his injuries.

Additional police surgeon Dr Rohina Hasan confirmed Sabri's demise.

Amjad Sabri was one of the country’s finest qawwal, known for his soul-stirring renditions of mystic poetry.

http://www.dawn.com/news/1266514

Can't believe this news :( just 3 days back i saw him in T20 exhibition match and took a great catch and i was laughing with some ppers that he should be our fielding coach :(

<iframe frameborder="0" width="560" height="315" src="//www.dailymotion.com/embed/video/x4h3xgi" allowfullscreen></iframe><br /><a href="http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x4h3xgi_amjad-sabri-takes-a-shockingly-stunning-catch-at-slip-5th-corporate-cup-2016_sport" target="_blank">Amjad Sabri takes a shockingly stunning catch...</a> <i>by <a href="http://www.dailymotion.com/cricket-lover" target="_blank">cricket-lover</a></i>

Wow he's actually very very famous

inna lillahi wa inna ilayhi raji'un. Karachi really needs to revamp their security agencies.

That was actually the reason he was shot. Kill high profile person create more chaos. Karachi is in news again for wrong reasons.

being part of a family that has suffered through target killings it is very disappointing to see that 20 years later this gunda gardee is still live and kicking in a once great city.

RIP

Apparently he had been involved in a blasphemy case for singing a qawwali for a mock wedding in a morning show.

RIP.

RIP. This is extremely tragic, remember just last year he was appreaciating Atif Aslam's cover of his qawwali in coke studio and also sued Adnan Sami for stealing one of his qawwals.

That came out of blue, he was a good man and had no enemies. Great loss to the subcontinent music.

Who and why killed him?

Personal grudge to me or idk what. However, the best qawaal in Pakistan is gone due to what? NOTHING!

RIP

:( Heard the news this morning. Feeling really sad. I have seen his interviews in many morning shows. Seems like a good person. Rest in peace. When are we going to see an end to these kind of tragedies in Karachi?

Here I was thinking the situation in Karachi is much better after Gen. Raheel Sharif took measures. I guess I was wrong?

Pakistan's best Qawwal Amjad Sabri shot dead in Karachi

إِنَّا لِلّهِ وَإِنَّـا إِلَيْهِ رَاجِعون
^Verily, unto Allah do we belong and, verily, unto Him we shall return^

What an incredibly sad news! My mother has been crying the whole time. She was a huge fan of his Qawwaalis . The "bharr dou jholi" Qalaam by his father is one brilliant piece and he well and truly kept it alive for years and years. There can't be a Muslim who understands Urdu who doesn't get emotional listening to it. The killing of an aashiq-e-Rasool like him, that too at such a young age, is a tragedy. This is being mourned by one and all - actors, cricketers, politicians, every TV channel. He was a nice man.

May God grant him maghfirah is this holy Month, Amen.

A reminder that a lot is yet to be done in Karachi, a lot. What a mess the city is!

Here I was thinking the situation in Karachi is much better after Gen. Raheel Sharif took measures. I guess I was wrong?

Maybe on the whole the city has become safer?

But generally, no matter how safe a city is this kind of barbaric act happen anytime. You just saw what happened in England last week to that politician.

There is still a lot of work to do in Karachi and in Pakistan in general. This was very sad.:(

Did you ever feel safe travelling in Karachi?

I felt safe last year. Was roaming around alone on foot and car.

Is it a safe city as compare to most of the major cities in the world? Yes!
Every city has their issue. Homicide happens daily in almost every major city in the world, but, you only hear about the celebrity and politician.

Inna lilahi wa inna ilaihi rajioon.

Unbelievable. It's been three hours I still cannot fathom such a tragedy...

I always try to have faith in Pakistan - but recently I've reached that point where I don't know what we stand for anymore. It's utterly hopeless..

They're saying that a fresh wave of criminal activities has swept the city especially after Ramzan began.

And -- that it'll likely get worse as we approach Eid.

They're saying that a fresh wave of criminal activities has swept the city especially after Ramzan began.

:42: That's not a good sign. I can't believe people would do these kind of acts and that too in the holy month of Ramadan. Qawwal Amjad Sabri died in the holy month. I pray to Allah SWT for peace in Karachi and rest of Pakistan. I will be there in a few days and I hope that I will be see a better Pakistan.

I see what you did there

I hate the mqm but there are numerous terrorist groups in khi, he was smost likely killed by a religious organization, the mqm wouldn't kill a Shia Mohajir like Sabri, he wasn't a political person.

People sitting in Lhr, only think the mqm is the only terror group in the city but there dozens just as bad or even worse

Yes I heard people at my gym saying the exact same thing today. Didn't understand what they were talking about. Came back to hear about this..

I hate the mqm but there are numerous terrorist groups in khi, he was smost likely killed by a religious organization, the mqm wouldn't kill a Shia Mohajir like Sabri, he wasn't a political person.

People sitting in Lhr, only think the mqm is the only terror group in the city but there dozens just as bad or even worse

I live in Karachi

I think the military should step up and do something about this. Especially, as the above poster mentioned that these incidents are going to increase as we approach Eid.

Devastating news. I saw an interview of his, and he lived in a very modest home with his mother, wife and kids, which wasn't surprising since so many of our qawwals and classical singers have fallen on hard times, living in such humble abodes, yet somehow keeping their craft going and keeping their heritage, our heritage, alive.

With the upcoming Coke Studio gig though, he was on the verge of a real breakthrough. I hope the sessions with him have already been recorded. It will be so poignant seeing them.

KARACHI: Renowned Qawwal Amjad Sabri was shot dead in Karachi Wednesday afternoon, after unknown gunmen fired at his vehicle in the city's Liaquatabad area.

Sabri and an associate were travelling in a car in Liquatabad 10 area, when unknown gunmen fired at their vehicle, critically injuring him. The two were shifted to Abbasi Shaheed hospital immediately, where Sabri succumbed to his injuries.

Additional police surgeon Dr Rohina Hasan confirmed Sabri's demise.

Amjad Sabri was one of the country’s finest qawwal, known for his soul-stirring renditions of mystic poetry.

http://www.dawn.com/news/1266514

Inna Lillahi Wainna ilahi rajion
Surely we belong to Allah and to Allah shall we return

:42: That's not a good sign. I can't believe people would do these kind of acts and that too in the holy month of Ramadan. Qawwal Amjad Sabri died in the holy month. I pray to Allah SWT for peace in Karachi and rest of Pakistan. I will be there in a few days and I hope that I will be see a better Pakistan.

Welcome to Pakistan.

Yes I heard people at my gym saying the exact same thing today. Didn't understand what they were talking about. Came back to hear about this..

This was more in terms of crime

In Ramadan there's also been more theft, mugging etc then previous whole month

Personal grudge to me or idk what. However, the best qawaal in Pakistan is gone due to what? NOTHING!

RIP

Dude he was living in an MQM dominated area and was a big MQM supporter. Whoever you support(hint hint PTI) you dont know what you are talking about

Don't know.

Dawn are reporting it. What's the reason?

Karachi is famous of stories murders with out any reason. And i think this is the same story, later on people will label is as act of terror, target killing, political parties will try to score some points, rivals will try to drag their opponents in this case.

And in the end, nothing will happen.

Thanks. Feeling terrible since hearing this news. Everyone seems really sad on TV.

It is a tragedy. A lover of Islam, Allah SWT and the Holy Prophet SAW - one who spread the message of peace, love and devotion as well as represented our culture and heritage - was taken from us today.

We lost an entire institution today.

Whoa!!! You are summing up Pakistan on the actions of the person who killed Amjad Sabri. Let me tell you that what you are doing is the injustice to Pakistan. Have you forgotten people like Edhi sahab, Chhipa sahab, Ansar Burney etc. Are these not representitives of our country?? You might say that a Pakistani killed Amjad Sabri, but how can you be so sure about it that you are insulting the whole country in this way. In my opinion, these killings have become common ever since Zia-ul-Haq allowed armed afghani "mujahideens" to seek refuge in Pakistan. And if there is something that doesn't deserve to exist then that is your pathetic mentality reflected in your post.

Gimme a break.

When national icons are robbed from us, when every minute of every day is filled with debillitating news - of murder, rape, abuse, honour killings - slitting throats of pregnant women, people being kidnapped in broad daylight while people stand by and do nothing, to the buffoonery carried out in the name of certain Ramzan transmissions ---

Easy to point to a problem that began forty years ago. Hard to own up to the problems we face now.

Edhi, Chhipa, Ansar Burney, Jibran, Jinnah, Iqbal - everyone are/would be crying tears right now at our current state. And instead of seeking refuge in poor Edhi, it's high time we start asking the important questions and fixing up this cesspool of a country we ourselves have allowed to become.

Karachi is famous of stories murders with out any reason. And i think this is the same story, later on people will label is as act of terror, target killing, political parties will try to score some points, rivals will try to drag their opponents in this case.

And in the end, nothing will happen.

Why would anyone murder an another person without any reason, that too a humble qawwali singer?

It is a tragedy. A lover of Islam, Allah SWT and the Holy Prophet SAW - one who spread the message of peace, love and devotion as well as represented our culture and heritage - was taken from us today.

We lost an entire institution today.

Gimme a break.

When national icons are robbed from us, when every minute of every day is filled with debillitating news - of murder, rape, abuse, honour killings - slitting throats of pregnant women, people being kidnapped in broad daylight while people stand by and do nothing, to the buffoonery carried out in the name of certain Ramzan transmissions ---

Easy to point to a problem that began forty years ago. Hard to own up to the problems we face now.

Edhi, Chhipa, Ansar Burney, Jibran, Jinnah, Iqbal - everyone are/would be crying tears right now at our current state. And instead of seeking refuge in poor Edhi, it's high time we start asking the important questions and fixing up this cesspool of a country we ourselves have allowed to become.

C'mon this kind of speech looks good only in misguided articles. Ok even if you ask questions, who will answer them? No one except you. Because no one has an answer during these tragedies. What you are saying is easier said than done.

Lovely then.

You keep supporting the few saviours running charities, while we'll try and do what needs to be done. Everyone wins.

Tbh, I usually don't get emotional over celebrity deaths, but his death was really a shocker. I was just staring at the TV for 10 mins and then realizedd what we had lost. Felt like crying me heart out. My head kept stumbling upon that last part of "Salaam-e-Aakhir" (if anyone knows about it)

"Jo bach gaye aglay baras to hum hain aur yeh ghum phir hain
Jo chal bassay to yeh apna Salaam-e-Aakhir hai"

Lovely then.

You keep supporting the few saviours running charities, while we'll try and do what needs to be done. Everyone wins.

And may I know what you are trying to do and what needs to be done? Do you know that majority of our population is illiterate? And the fact that when they get free dinner from political parties the day before election, they simply vote for the party that gave them dinner? Do you think it is that easy to raise a voice when no one is going to hear you? I'm not hiding in the shadow of Edhi sahib. I'm trying to show that there are positives in this society too.

Good for you.

Oh I'm very well aware of how our political system works, buddy. But this is the time our negatives far outweigh the few positives.

Well said.

RIP to the victim, unfortunate loss :(

What I don't get is, what would anyone gain by killing such a harmless and down to earth artist? The guy just minded his own business from what I hear, so it's pretty baffling that someone could target him.

Dude he was living in an MQM dominated area and was a big MQM supporter. Whoever you support(hint hint PTI) you dont know what you are talking about

Exactly dude. I totally agree with you. I'm a big time supporter of MQM.

Deosai Janab; MQM is not a terrorist group. It's a political party and the mayor of Karachi is from MQM. Looks like you have no idea and clue about Pakistani politics and government.

It's sad to see someone people don't realize MQM is one of the best and greatest political parties ever entered in Pakistan elections. After Mohammad Jinnah the next best leader of Pakistan is Altaf Hussain. Thank you!

Is Qawwali accepted in Islam? If it is not, may be extremists might have had something against Amjad Sabri.

Deosai Janab; MQM is not a terrorist group. It's a political party and the mayor of Karachi is from MQM. Looks like you have no idea and clue about Pakistani politics and government.

It's sad to see someone people don't realize MQM is one of the best and greatest political parties ever entered in Pakistan elections. After Mohammad Jinnah the next best leader of Pakistan is Altaf Hussain. Thank you!

No that would be Noora Nawaz

Quite sad to see even educated Pakistanis living in a western democracy have views like you..

Altaf Hussain is a terrorist with thousands of murders on his hands.

Sad news, Sipah e Sahaba had already warned him to stop with his qawalis and now it looks like Hakimullah Mehsud group has accepted responsibility for it.

The large wave of migration from terrorism prone areas from NW Pakistan has really brought a new wave of religious extremism to Karachi. It's sad to see the city which was once the most liberal city of Pakistan become a paradise for extremists. It doesn't help the fact that Karachi's police is mostly made up of outsiders with very few locals being involved.

Quite sad to see even educated Pakistanis living in a western democracy have views like you..

I won't say much here because first, I'm fasting and person who is fasting shouldn't say anything wrong or negative. Second, It's Altaf Bhai not Atalf Hussain, please have some respect when you're talking about great Pakistani leader.

Thanks and have a wonderful day.

He's probably being sarcastic.

Inna lillahi wa inna ilaihi rajioon.

If you take a step back then you should realize that it certainly seems to be another targeted incident, after SHC CJ's son kidnapped yesterday....So 2 major events in last 3 days can't be just coincident.

The level of intolerance and respecting others opinion is incredible. And I wouldn't be amazed if he had difference of opinion and raised his voice against any particular extremist group.

Inna lillahi wa inna ilaihi rajioon.

If you take a step back then you should realize that it certainly seems to be another targeted incident, after SHC CJ's son kidnapped yesterday....So 2 major events in last 3 days can't be just coincident.

The level of intolerance and respecting others opinion is incredible. And I wouldn't be amazed if he had difference of opinion and raised his voice against any particular extremist group.

That's the most damning of all. He didn't.

He simply went along, reciting nasheeds and hamds on various Ramzan shows, as is custom. He wasn't a political figure by any stretch of imagination, neither a strong religious one, either. Just a humble qawwal, an artist.

Well said.

RIP to the victim, unfortunate loss :(

What I don't get is, what would anyone gain by killing such a harmless and down to earth artist? The guy just minded his own business from what I hear, so it's pretty baffling that someone could target him.

Why would anyone murder an another person without any reason, that too a humble qawwali singer?

TBH, killing in Karachi with out any reason is like everyday stuff. And simple reason is to spread fear, terror.

And after his death, some political parties shed crocodile tears for a minute and then started blaming their rivals :( such is the condition in Karachi.

And even one party leader claimed that some days back a TV channel producer called Amjad Sabri for program but he refused to go as he was busy in his personal matters and then he started receiving threats e.t.c.

That's the most damning of all. He didn't.

He simply went along, reciting nasheeds and hamds on various Ramzan shows, as is custom. He wasn't a political figure by any stretch of imagination, neither a strong religious one, either. Just a humble qawwal, an artist.

Perfectly said, he had nothing to do with politics, religion e.t.c.

He was just a Qawwal, and Pakistan's best Qawwal. And he was going to attend Ramazan program at some TV Channel :(

Oh! sad news man.

Musicians truly are loved world over. Extremely sad to lose a musician, especially in such circumstances.

I would say he was the last best Qawwal in our country with soulful voice, a voice who will make you cry if you listen to him with heart :(

Good gesture from Moin Khan and Co at 5th Corporate T20 Cup.

Special prayer for Amjad Sabri because he played during the opening match of this tournament (which was just a festival match)
attachment.php

bhai, its a love hate relationship. Many hate Altaf hussain, but will still vote for MQM.

Wow so sadden by this news... his qawalis are ringing in my head since I heard about the news man this is so bad I have no words to describe it.

I don't know, but instead of anger.. I am genuinely sad.

He was a humbled man. Had a colourful career and was lowkey. What did he do to be targeted or deserve such a painful death? How can anyone do this during Ramadhan? Where is the secuirity for a celebrity?

This is up there with the massacre in the school, in Peshawar.

Karachi is finished and Pakistan is just a mess man. I know the killers wont get caught but Allah will punish them. If they are caught, publicly hang them.

Rip, may Allah grant the soul a place in jannab. Ameen. A sad day, dark day.

"Is mulk main sirf khauf aur nafrat phailanay walay mehfooz hain "- Mira Hashmi.