Pakistan's best known Qawwal Amjad Sabri shot dead in Karachi

What's the reaction been like in Pakistan?

The entire media is mourning the death, the man was admired by everyone and it is a massive loss.

I have been in shock since last night, really hard to believe :(

The entire media is mourning the death, the man was admired by everyone and it is a massive loss.

I have been in shock since last night, really hard to believe :(

Everybody has loved his amazing talent all their life since yesterday.

Let's be honest here, he was just always "kind of there" on tv as the less talented scion of the Sabri line, nobody actually admired him.

Don't think you have watched tv a lot then, he appeared in many shows especially in Ramzan and he wasn't there just to make numbers. Last time i saw people crying for a tv personality was when Moin Akhtar died.

What on earth are you talking about? This was a really poor post, he had a tremendous voice Ma Sha Allah.

A true Ashiq-e-Rasool (saw). Born in Ramadan, shaheed in Ramadan.

Inna lilahi wa ina ilahi rajighon,

Pakistan is a mess, a person can be killed in broad daylight these days.

Karachi seems like jungle to me since last few years, where every street thug has gun on his belt who can kill innocent people in mobile phone snatching or in target killing.

That's been the case since the mid 90s.....

Don't think that dropping people dead in name of target killing and phone snatching (and kill people if they resists) was norm in mid 90s.

Still in shock.
Been to a few Qawwali nights of his.I don't understand why the TTP targeted him?

I find it hard to believe as well, apparently this is due to shirk or biddah? Then almost entire country is involved in those practices as per their twisted logic so this makes absolutely no sense.

MQM has alleged that Pak Sar Zameen (Mustafa Kamal) party was trying to get him to join their party and he declined so he was receiving threats and he informed Farooq Sattar about those threats.

Still don't know why would anyone take his life. His work was hardly political/controversial. Karachi needs to be cleansed of these scums. It's disgusting that a city with so much potential is going through this.

I'm soo sad Pakistan need Imran khan otherwise Pakistan going to hell

Pakistan needs to stop looking for a messiah who will come and fix things for us.

Fact that these events are happening in broad daylight shows how we are failing as a nation.

Sports community mourns ‘cricketer’ Sabri’s death

KARACHI: Amjad Farid Sabri was acknowledged all over the world as one of Pakistan’s best known Qawwals. But very few knew that he was also an avid cricketer and also keenly followed other sports like hockey and squash.

Shot dead in Karachi on Wednesday, Amjad was mourned by the city’s sports community as it joined the rest of the country in grief.

Former Pakistan captain Imran Khan, squash legend Jahangir Khan and many other sports persons and officials expressed their sorrow over Amjad’s shocking murder.

“He was a great qawwal, a greater human being and a very passionate cricketer as well as cricket fan,” said Salahuddin Sallu, the former Pakistan Test cricketer.

Fawad Ijaz Khan, chairman of the Pakistan Veterans Cricket Association, remembered Amjad as a regular on the cricket field.

“He (Amjad) was a much-loved person in the cricket circles. He played regularly with us and we all knew that he had great love for the sport,” said Fawad.

Among the mourners was Test cricketer Faisal Iqbal, who recalled many cherished memories with Amjad. “Amjad bhai was very dear to all of us,” he said.

Just three days back, Amjad played in a match of a Ramzan cricket tournament at the Moin Khan Cricket Academy Ground in DHA. He was a skillful bowler who could bat and showed his talents by picking up three wickets in the recently played match.

http://www.thenews.com.pk/print/129988-Sports-community-mourns-cricketer-Sabris-death

Never heard of him before this unfortunate news. I can't say I'm surprised. It's just another day in Pakistan.

RIP.

Quite saddened by this. He performed at many weddings I recently attended in Karachi and I must say he made qawwali hip for youngsters like us. Really pray for the day the violence will end. Pakistan has more to mourn about and even the things that make us proud or make us celebrate are constantly being taken away from us.

Sad news very very sad news clearly only those who are spreading hate are safe in Pakistan.

- He can be killed due to bhatta quite common in Ramzan.

- He can be targeted by religious lunatics they are also full swin in Ramzan.

- He can be targeted due to political point scoring not new to us.

Also being shot is so east in Pakistan that I wonder how many of us are still breathing we should have been shot and killed at some point. I am very sad this month lost 2 relatives in same wave of terror and hate in Karachi but than it is not new we killed people like Hakeem Saeed and Raees Amrohvi in same fashion years ago.

[MENTION=135445]Strike Rate[/MENTION] [MENTION=22846]Nostalgic[/MENTION] knowledge of some posters here is MashAllah, for the first time i heard he was ordinary voice and he was never admired by many :facepalm:

TTP claiming attack is just a farce, they are just taking advantage of a murder who real reasons will remain un known for a century and can't believe people are really thinking that this news is true :facepalm:

And thanks to our media who are giving full coverage to TTP, ridiculous.

TTP don't send local guys with 30-bore pistols to kill some one.

[MENTION=135445]Strike Rate[/MENTION] [MENTION=22846]Nostalgic[/MENTION] knowledge of some posters here is MashAllah, for the first time i heard he was ordinary voice and he was never admired by many :facepalm:

These things are irrelevant and must not be discussed at least in this thread.

I think it is purely a case of religious intolerance, i.e. TTP or some other Wahhabi group targeting him because of their belief that Qawwali is haram and targeting Pakistan's last remaining great Qawwal is a statement.

He was a harmless man who had no political affiliation. Just an incredibly talented artist who entertaining people whilst glorifying God.

He really did not have to die.

In addition, people need to stop sharing videos of his blood-bathed body in his car.

It is disrespectful and no one should see in this state.

Apparently some idiot decided to film him on his phone so get some cheap likes and retweets on social media.

Btw how come these killers never get caught? Surely some onlookers must have been paying attention to what the killers and their vehicle looked like.

It will take some for me to recover from this lost. Ya Allah please grant him to jannah to Ashaq - e - Rasool (SAW).

I'm sure people will not celebrate Eid the way they usually do. This is sad very sad. Idk what to say. I'm speechless.

Btw how come these killers never get caught? Surely some onlookers must have been paying attention to what the killers and their vehicle looked like.

Only time this gov. will do something is if one of their leaders (Allah na kare) is gunned down.

I think it is purely a case of religious intolerance, i.e. TTP or some other Wahhabi group targeting him because of their belief that Qawwali is haram and targeting Pakistan's last remaining great Qawwal is a statement.

He was a harmless man who had no political affiliation. Just an incredibly talented artist who entertaining people whilst glorifying God.

In addition, people need to stop sharing videos of his blood-bathed body in his car.

Apparently some idiot decided to film him on his phone so get some cheap likes and retweets on social media

Very weird, how on earth people can do this, unbelievable.

Apparently some idiot decided to film him on his phone so get some cheap likes and retweets on social media.

I am of the impression that this target killing actually has very little to do with religions intolerance and a lot more to do with extortion.

It's warning to the city of whats to follow and all high profile personalities who receive death threats to pay up or face the consequences. No doubt media personalities the likes of Amir Liaqat, Junaid Jumshed, Umar Shareef etc are seriously reviewing their own movements and security arrangements right now.

also, a lot of people commenting how can this happen in Ramadan, fact is Pakistan and specially a city like Karachi has a sizable non Muslim population based in and around it. Not saying the target killers were non Muslims but if i was in the extortion and target killing business, Ramadan would not be an issue as it wouldn't be too difficult to recruit some guns that were non muslim.:danish

Only time this gov. will do something is if one of their leaders (Allah na kare) is gunned down.

Well, it's true tbh. According to Fakhr e Alam, before some days Amjad Sabri sent an application to Home Ministry that he is receiving threats and he wants some security, but Home Security didnt do any thing.

One was wearing helmet, other one face was covered, bike must be stolen one.

They come, kills, and disappear.

The funeral of slain Pakistani Qawwali singer Amjad Sabri is being held in Karachi, amid a major security operation.

Thousands of people have gathered for the procession and funeral service on Thursday, which will be led by the spiritual heir of Sufi saint Baba Farid, Pakistani media reports.

Al Jazeera's Alia Chughtai, reporting from Karachi, said the area of Liaquatabad Road where the funeral will be held was under lockdown by security forces.

"The police services have cleared out the roads for the funeral procession and everything in the area is under lockdown," Chughtai reported.

Sabri was killed on Wednesday while driving in his car in the city's Liaqatabad area. A motorcycle pulled up alongside the vehicle and the attackers opened fire.

The 45-year-old singer is survived by his wife and five children.

Sabri's brother, who was also in the vehicle, was wounded.

"Two riders used 30-bore pistols to shoot Sabri five times. The bullet to the head took the Qawwal's life. The attackers took the Hassan Square route to escape," Inspector-General Mushtaq Mehar told Pakistan's English language newspaper Dawn.

"It was a targeted killing and an act of terrorism," Muqaddas Haider, a senior police officer told AFP news agency, without naming possible suspects.

After the funeral, Sabri's body will be laid to rest next to his father Ghulam Farid Sabri in Paposh Nagar graveyard, in the compound of Pir Herat Shah Warsi's shrine.

The killing of the singer was met with shock and condemnation. Neighbours congregated outside the singer's home to offer condolences to his relatives, while TV channels broadcast recordings of his music in tribute.

Nawaz Sharif, Pakistan's prime minister, was among those condemning the killing and ordered an investigation.

A splinter faction of the Pakistani Taliban has claimed responsibility for the raid, saying Sabri's qawwalis were blasphemous.

Fakhre Alam, the chairman of the Sindh Board of Film Censors, claimed on Twitter that Sabri had earlier submitted an application for security, but the home department refused to follow up on it.

Asghari Begum, Amjad Sabri's mother told Al Jazeera, that about six months ago three unknown assailants came to their residence and had burst open the front door. Amjad was not present, and they had left.

Sabri and his late father, Ghulam Farid Sabri, were well-known Qawwali singers - a style of music rooted in Sufism, or Islamic mysticism - that is popular across South Asia with roots tracing back to the 13th century.

Sufi mosques and shrines have come under attack in recent years, including the 2010 bombing of the Data Darbar shrine in Lahore that killed more than 40 people.

http://www.aljazeera.com/news/2016/...-sufi-singer-amjad-sabri-160623074052178.html

so you think it would be challenging to find a couple of killers that were not fasting in Ramadan.......

LOL killers and fasting and Ramadan people here are either absolutely innocent or living in some parallel universe.

so you think it would be challenging to find a couple of killers that were not fasting in Ramadan.......

Yes just a little challenging, it's not about not fasting but more the moral aspect, even the hardened criminals who consider themselves muslim can have moments of refrain during Ramadan, taking this into account, it would be easier to get the job done by hiring someone who is not associated with the religion, my point being that they are not hard to find in a country like Pakistan.

interesting perspective (and I'm being polite).....i honestly had to double take when reading your response.

some of you have an amazing talent of passing the blame onto others......its truly impressive.

Perhaps you have mirrors at home that say the words (Its not your fault) when you look into them...

That video should never have been shared on the Internet.It is so demeaning, degrading and tragic at the same time.

Sent from my Lenovo A6000 using Tapatalk

My brother never received any threats- Sabri's brother

But if those people genuinely believe that what they are doing is GOOD for their religion, then wont they do it more in the holy month? I have never seen any terrorist say they are doing wrong, they believe what they are doing is best for their religion/country

interesting perspective (and I'm being polite).....i honestly had to double take when reading your response.

some of you have an amazing talent of passing the blame onto others......its truly impressive.

Perhaps you have mirrors at home that say the words (Its not your fault) when you look into them...

And i'm guessing your mirrors read (I'm sorry) every time you look into them right? you or i will never know what the facts are and the opinion that support them are not worth anything.

His funeral has been attended by A huge crowd of people. He was admired and loved by so many people and had a wonderful voice. It´s beyond me how a Muslim, in his right state of mind, can even think of slaying a person who sings beautiful praises of the Lord and His Prophet.

His last qalaam yesterday morning, on Samaa TV´s sehr show, is so touching and prophetic! Such a tragedy, what sad state of affairs for the country.

Devastating news. I saw an interview of his, and he lived in a very modest home with his mother, wife and kids, which wasn't surprising since so many of our qawwals and classical singers have fallen on hard times, living in such humble abodes, yet somehow keeping their craft going and keeping their heritage, our heritage, alive.

With the upcoming Coke Studio gig though, he was on the verge of a real breakthrough. I hope the sessions with him have already been recorded. It will be so poignant seeing them.
Coke Studio shared this picture. Looks like he recorded the song & his last performance will be on Coke Studio 9.
Devastating news. I saw an interview of his, and he lived in a very modest home with his mother, wife and kids, which wasn't surprising since so many of our qawwals and classical singers have fallen on hard times, living in such humble abodes, yet somehow keeping their craft going and keeping their heritage, our heritage, alive.

With the upcoming Coke Studio gig though, he was on the verge of a real breakthrough. I hope the sessions with him have already been recorded. It will be so poignant seeing them.

He was very rich man and very well known so definitely in no need for any breakthrough as you put it

He used to charge 10+ lac rupees per concert/mehfil and easily had 2-3 a week.

He was minting money. Preferred to live in old family home out of choice

And when I said this yesterday then I was tagged as it's "the most damning of all. He didn't.".

Some time I wonder why are we so naive (or incredibility stupid) that we can't analysis what going on around us since years.

In this country, people kill each other for religion but nobody follow it as it should be.

He was very rich man and very well known so definitely in no need for any breakthrough as you put it

He used to charge 10+ lac rupees per concert/mehfil and easily had 2-3 a week.

He was minting money. Preferred to live in old family home out of choice

I stand corrected. Thanks.

And when I said this yesterday then I was tagged as it's "the most damning of all. He didn't.".

Some time I wonder why are we so naive (or incredibility stupid) that we can't analysis what going on around us since years.

In this country, people kill each other for religion but nobody follow it as it should be.

You totally misread, my friend. I did not mean to tag you personally in that comment. I merely reinforced your idea, that the most damning aspect in this whole tragedy, was that the target (Sabri) had absolutely no political or religious views for which he deserved the fate that was handed out to him.

Sabri's death was the most brutal way for a man to go, and one who only taught love of God and His Messenger (SAW).

dont know why some of us believe the words of Taliban right away as truth. does that mean Taliban dont lie? Same with ISIS. These organizations commit all sort of crimes against humanity but they would not lie? Dont be a sheep. Look at the Omar Mateen case in Orlando which ISIS claimed. It turns out the guy was going solo and was a gay to boot and ISIS totally lied.

this might be the same case here. Check MQM. This is their area where Amjad Sabri was killed. MQM has allegedly killed innocents before even the ones who were sympathetic to their cause. Look at the political statements they issued after this murder. they were trying to use this death for their political gain. so cruel.

Since this has come very out of the blue and without much rhyme and reason, there´re many theories flying around of course. However, if it turns out to that the usual suspects were behind it, namely the extremist organisations (Taliban etc.), then from what I remember this must be the first case in Pakistan of a celebrity (pardon the use of this word in Amjad Sabri´s case) being targeted. This is sure to cause some jitters amongst other such celebrities or stars.

God forbid, but the security during matches or practice apart, I´m not sure our cricketers for example are all that well guarded when they go outside with their families or friends. Again, God forbid this a hundred times, and this wasn´t easy to articulate this fear into a post but I did..... May this in the end just stay as my fear, Amen.

Just saw this video of him when he was a child singing Lab Pe Aati Hai Dua. So sad..

Still remember when I heard his last kalam. Very touching.

wow very genuine. Shame on his killers whether it was MQM or Taliban. Both MQM and Taliban should be cleaned up from Pakistan forever.

RIP.
Don't know what's qawwali means but seems like they use music tools like Chenda, harmonium etc. didn't islam bans those things?

He wasn't killed because the TTP think Qawwali is haram, this is an attack on people with minority beliefs. It is no coincident that a noha khuwan who he appeared on a show with was almost killed on the same day.

Whatever people say about the situation improving in Pakistan, it does not hold true for minorities at all. Sabri was reciting with this noha khuwan, reciting a marsiya.

This is no coincident, this is an attack on the Shias of Pakistan and the lovers of Ahlulbayt. How are the mainstream media quiet on this? It is no coincident that Farhan Ali Waris (a noha khuwan) was almost killed on the same day as Amjad Sabri, they both appeared on a show together reciting "Bataon main key kya Hussain hai". Whoever are saying that the situation there is improving are really out of touch with the large minority population in Pakistan. Pakistan has failed it's minorities badly.

<iframe width="480" height="360" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/voLSV0UbG4M" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

This is no coincident, this is an attack on the Shias of Pakistan and the lovers of Ahlulbayt. How are the mainstream media quiet on this? It is no coincident that Farhan Ali Waris (a noha khuwan) was almost killed on the same day as Amjad Sabri, they both appeared on a show together reciting "Bataon main key kya Hussain hai". Whoever are saying that the situation there is improving are really out of touch with the large minority population in Pakistan. Pakistan has failed it's minorities badly.

Please stop dividing people. This was an attack on Pakistan and we will have to counter it as a nation. You know why Iraq can't control terrorists? Because of divisive tactics like this.

I'm not dividing anyone. Why is it that when a well known guy is targeted in an attack like this based on his religious views, he gets all the attention, the army seeks for revenge, etc. Who is going to seek revenge for all the minorities getting killed every day in attacks like these? Why doesn't anyone speak for these people? I'll tell you why, it's because people like you, the majority of Pakistanis simply do not care or do not want to care.

It's a mass genocide out there, and no one sheds light on it, there is absolutely no retaliation, there are no efforts in place to protect the most threatened people in Pakistan. Don't tell me that minorities aren't being targeted, because there is no doubt that they are. I personally know of more than 5 people who have been killed in targeted attacks within my own circle and family. Enough is enough.

I'm not dividing anyone. Why is it that when a well known guy is targeted in an attack like this based on his religious views, he gets all the attention, the army seeks for revenge, etc. Who is going to seek revenge for all the minorities getting killed every day in attacks like these? Why doesn't anyone speak for these people? I'll tell you why, it's because people like you, the majority of Pakistanis simply do not care or do not want to care.

It's a mass genocide out there, and no one sheds light on it, there is absolutely no retaliation, there are no efforts in place to protect the most threatened people in Pakistan. Don't tell me that minorities aren't being targeted, because there is no doubt that they are. I personally know of more than 5 people who have been killed in targeted attacks within my own circle and family. Enough is enough.

Sabri was sunni.

I stand corrected, was only killed for his Sufi views which majority of Paks adhere to

If anyone doubts that the Shia are deliberately targeted, they should look at what has happened to the Hazaras in Quetta. The perpetrators like Ludhianvi are out there, free to roam, hold rallies, meetings and to pose for photos with Tariq Jameel or other fellow travelers, and if reports are to be believed, they had threatened Sabri as well. Even Shia in the cities have been receiving letters asking them to either convert or leave. Murders of prominent Shia like doctors, noha khwans etc have been happening for years now.

The public's post-Peshawar opposition to the TTP, commendable as it is, does not really extend to the sectarian terrorists as much as it should.

Sabri was sunni.

I stand corrected, was only killed for his Sufi views which majority of Paks adhere to

Never said he was Shia. However, a lot of his views were Shia/Sufi views (they are very similar), and he was killed for those views.

I don't think the majority of Pakistanis adhere to views such as imamat, but even if they do, unfortunately very few are open about them, and very few show their love for personalities like Imam Hussain (as). It's the fact that he was very open about the Shia side of his views that he was killed.

I am sorry for you losses. Whole society is spreading hate, all people can do at individual is to not take part in it. Amjad Sabri's religious views are shared by majority of Pakistanis. Most Pakistanis are beralvi and every single beralvi respects Ahle-e-bait. Even some deobandis do. Though I do agree Pakistan is allowing certain terrorist groups to commit genocide against Shias, i.e. LeJ killing innocent Hazaras. But security forces did take out Malik Ishaq and few of his fellow terrorists. Spreading sectarian hate through loud speakers was also banned. In general Pakistani society is conservative and a lot needs to be done to protect minorities. But this should be made Pakistan's issue, not a Shia or Sunni issue.

If anyone doubts that the Shia are deliberately targeted, they should look at what has happened to the Hazaras in Quetta. The perpetrators like Ludhianvi are out there, free to roam, hold rallies, meetings and to pose for photos with Tariq Jameel or other fellow travelers, and if reports are to be believed, they had threatened Sabri as well. Even Shia in the cities have been receiving letters asking them to either convert or leave. Murders of prominent Shia like doctors, noha khwans etc have been happening for years now.

The public's post-Peshawar opposition to the TTP, commendable as it is, does not really extend to the sectarian terrorists as much as it should.

Exactly!!

Something must be seriously wrong if I, 18 and living in New Zealand, am connected to at least 5 Shias who have been targeted in such attacks. Regarding Hazaras in Quetta, these people were in so much danger in Pakistan for being Hazara on top of being Shia, a very large amount of them got on a boat not too long ago and ended up settling in Australia and New Zealand. There are a huge number of Hazaras who go to my mosque, and they describe how they simply could not practice their religion before they ran.

Shias have no place in Pakistan anymore. A lot of companies don't hire them on the basis of their faith, they are targeted in violent attacks. The Shia people of Pakistan either must leave or must hide their identities. It is no longer safe to openly be Shia.

RIP.
Don't know what's qawwali means but seems like they use music tools like Chenda, harmonium etc. didn't islam bans those things?

You don't know qawwalis? It's basically sufi music performed with harmonium and tabla like you have mentioned by 8 to 10 people.

I didn't know it either but started loving them after listening to Khwaja and Kun faya kun qawwalis in Jodhaa Akbar and Rockstar. Kinda very soothing to the ears..

Terrible news. Being mourned by the whole world music community in Houston/Austin.

Heard it earlier today on Geo News that an arrest has been made of a man (allegedly) involved in the plot, belonging to 'a political party'. It might well turn out to be "The usual suspects of Karachi" instead of the "The usual suspects". But again, it could well be the latter and him being a Shia makes a strong case for that too.

Since this has come very out of the blue and without much rhyme and reason, there´re many theories flying around of course. However, if it turns out to that the usual suspects were behind it, namely the extremist organisations (Taliban etc.), then from what I remember this must be the first case in Pakistan of a celebrity (pardon the use of this word in Amjad Sabri´s case) being targeted. This is sure to cause some jitters amongst other such celebrities or stars.

God forbid, but the security during matches or practice apart, I´m not sure our cricketers for example are all that well guarded when they go outside with their families or friends. Again, God forbid this a hundred times, and this wasn´t easy to articulate this fear into a post but I did..... May this in the end just stay as my fear, Amen.

Around about three after my above post, I got to know that in a video released on the Internet yesterday evening, Fakhar-e-Alam has raised the same point, alongside many other drama artists and singers. Completely justified in my opinion.

Heard it earlier today on Geo News that an arrest has been made of a man (allegedly) involved in the plot, belonging to 'a political party'. It might well turn out to be "The usual suspects of Karachi" instead of the "The usual suspects". But again, it could well be the latter and him being a Shia makes a strong case for that too.

According to the news, that arrest has led to Amjad Sabri`s chowkidaar being interrogated. Things getting interesting here.

Around about three after my above post, I got to know that in a video released on the Internet yesterday evening, Fakhar-e-Alam has raised the same point, alongside many other drama artists and singers. Completely justified in my opinion.
Sabri was not a Shia.

In the 80s, 90s there was Sabri Brothers who sang qawali. Is he one of them or he is one from the next generation?

RIP.

he's not shia..

RIP

Saw pictures of his kids on facebook. Why pakistan keeps on allowing these terrorists to roam freely :facepalm:

Sabri was not a Shia.

he's not shia..

Doesn't matter what he declared himself, as it's about what his beliefs were. The word Shia means friend, meaning a friend or lover of the Ahlulbayt. Sabri was a lover of the Ahlulbayt, and that makes him a 'Shia', not politically but at heart. If someone were to see him speak or recite without knowing his religious affiliation, he would appear Shia or Sufi type.