Pakistan's forfeit has angered India more than Pakistan; why?

You can see how rattled these Indians are from their comments. Literally seething with rage.

The whole world is slowly opening its eyes to the reality of the india.

Lmao...

Why will we seethe with rage at the prospect of free two points and Pakistan surrendering even before the match?

Only reason why will be sad is that we will be deprived of mauling your mediocre side for the fifth time in 12 months. :yk

Speaking to reporters on the sidelines of the WPL 2026 final at the BCA Stadium, BCCI Joint Secretary Prabhtej Singh Bhatia did not mince words while reacting to Pakistan’s announcement regarding the February 15 fixture. “This is against the sportsmanship of any sport. This is a very wrong decision by Pakistan. I am sure the International Cricket Council will take very strict action, and we will wait for the ICC’s decision,” Bhatia said.

When asked about possible punitive measures, he added that it would be inappropriate to speculate, reiterating his confidence that the ICC would act decisively.

Suryakumar Yadav: India Fully Prepared

Earlier in the day, India’s T20I captain Suryakumar Yadav echoed the BCCI’s stance, asserting that the Indian team’s preparation remains unaffected by Pakistan’s boycott call. Speaking at the captains’ media briefing in Colombo, Suryakumar said India’s approach would stay unchanged and that the team was ready for any challenge, including the high-profile clash at the R Premadasa Stadium.

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2026 is scheduled to run from February 7 to March 8. India will open their campaign against the USA on February 7, followed by a group-stage match against Namibia on February 12. Group A also includes the Netherlands, alongside the Pakistan national cricket team.

With tensions rising over the boycott announcement, all eyes are now on the ICC’s response. While India insist their focus remains firmly on cricket, the situation has added an unexpected layer of controversy to one of the most anticipated tournaments on the global calendar.

Speaking to reporters on the sidelines of the WPL 2026 final at the BCA Stadium, BCCI Joint Secretary Prabhtej Singh Bhatia did not mince words while reacting to Pakistan’s announcement regarding the February 15 fixture. “This is against the sportsmanship of any sport. This is a very wrong decision by Pakistan. I am sure the International Cricket Council will take very strict action, and we will wait for the ICC’s decision,” Bhatia said.

When asked about possible punitive measures, he added that it would be inappropriate to speculate, reiterating his confidence that the ICC would act decisively.

Suryakumar Yadav: India Fully Prepared

Earlier in the day, India’s T20I captain Suryakumar Yadav echoed the BCCI’s stance, asserting that the Indian team’s preparation remains unaffected by Pakistan’s boycott call. Speaking at the captains’ media briefing in Colombo, Suryakumar said India’s approach would stay unchanged and that the team was ready for any challenge, including the high-profile clash at the R Premadasa Stadium.

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2026 is scheduled to run from February 7 to March 8. India will open their campaign against the USA on February 7, followed by a group-stage match against Namibia on February 12. Group A also includes the Netherlands, alongside the Pakistan national cricket team.

With tensions rising over the boycott announcement, all eyes are now on the ICC’s response. While India insist their focus remains firmly on cricket, the situation has added an unexpected layer of controversy to one of the most anticipated tournaments on the global calendar.

You know what else is "against the sportsmanship of any sport?"

Not shaking hands with the opposition team after the conclusion of the match.

Lmao...

Why will we seethe with rage at the prospect of free two points and Pakistan surrendering even before the match?

Only reason why will be sad is that we will be deprived of mauling your mediocre side for the fifth time in 12 months. :yk

and most importantly making it 17-1 in worldcups. :cool:

From the tone you can tell BCCI are crying deep inside.

This is something BCCI will remember for years to come

Naqvi has tought them a very good lesson

Lol at expect ICC action. ICC is an independent organisation. How can the BCCI say they expect action? Why are they acting like the ICC is staffed by their phupos sons?

Oh wait ......:inti
They can say by just looking at the rules? What dumb logic is this?

If I see someone breaking traffic laws and say I expects a fine, or if I see someone stealing and say I expect he will be jailed, is the police staffed by my phupos sons?

I swear you guys come up with the dumbest comments.

BCCI coming from a strong position when they kind of brought this on themselves.

Seriously insane from them.

"We don't need to play Pakistan"

"Pakistan refuses to play against India"

"WHAT"

"NOOOOOOOO"

:afridi:inti

Lol at expect ICC action. ICC is an independent organisation. How can the BCCI say they expect action? Why are they acting like the ICC is staffed by their phupos sons?

Oh wait ......:inti

This is a ICC event. A team is throwing tantrum and saying we will not play a game at the last minute. So obviously the onus is on ICC to take action and not BCCI.

If I see someone breaking traffic laws and say I expects a fine, or if I see someone stealing and say I expect he will be jailed, is the police staffed by my phupos sons?

What rules? There’s been enough precedent about forfeitures based on government instructions, for there to not be any ‘rules’ issue.

The ICC can try to get legal, but have limited legal grounds to impose fines etc.

Also, good luck in having any future money making matches if you comprehensively burn bridges with one party.

Now go cry into your Daal fam 👋

The issue with OP is, he was thinking PCB will throw tantrum and threaten boycott, BCCI will beg with kneeling down to play, give them counter offer etc.

Not a word from BCCI and this silence is really killing them.

:misbah

This is a ICC event. A team is throwing tantrum and saying we will not play a game at the last minute. So obviously the onus is on ICC to take action and not BCCI.
And the ICC is an event organising body rather than one that has any credibility or substantive power.

A ‘team’ has not thrown any tantrum but just obeyed its government’s directive, the same as your little board has done for decades now.

The issue with OP is, he was thinking PCB will throw tantrum and threaten boycott, BCCI will beg with kneeling down to play, give them counter offer etc.

Not a word from BCCI and this silence is really killing them.

:misbah
Yes, because all that reported back channel negotiating is happening in someone’s dreams, is it? Who do you think prompted those negotiations?

I know you lot have a very high opinion of yourselves on all matters and get endorphins from watching Dhurundar. However, the one thing you’re world champions at is the drameybaazi. Heavyweight champions of the world.

An example of this is how you and little friends keep frequenting a Pakistani forum to make weak arguments to manage your precious egos.

Why are you even here? You know where I’m not? At the Indian version of this forum, because I’m not terribly interested in Dramaybaazi central.

Did they use terms "against the sportsmanship"? 🤣

What shameless bunch, you have been doing the same all along and now feeling the heat when dumped. Let them cry. Pakistan must stop playing with terror state of India until ICC becomes a neutral governing body and stops being a leashed pet of BCCI

Which rules :inti ?

It is a grey area.

And the ICC is an event organising body rather than one that has any credibility or substantive power.

A ‘team’ has not thrown any tantrum but just obeyed its government’s directive, the same as your little board has done for decades now.

Its an ICC tournament. So the onus is on ICC to take punitive actions if a member board is acting rogue. BCCI is correct in staying quiet and let ICC do its things.

Pakistan, PCB or its govt are known bluffmasters. Hence no one takes them seriously. If you think you will get away with Govt directive narrative, you are living in fools world. Pak govt has no issues when schedule were announced, no issues in playing U19 WC but suddenly 10 days before the tournament they want to boycott the game at the venue chosen by themselves as a part of hybrid arrangement. If this is not tantrum and dramebaazi what is? No force majeur will work in this case...if that is what Pakistan is dreaming.

Indian govt's only stance is not to allow its team to travel to Pakistan. It is consistent and has been there for last 2 decades. Its not based on whimcial grounds like the one for Pak. So obviously any governing body will respect it.

These are crimes you are using as an example lol

Which crime PCB committed?

Imagine PM of a country standing in Parliament saying we will not allow our cricket team to play against Endia on 15th.

Kya country hai

:klopp :kp

Its an ICC tournament. So the onus is on ICC to take punitive actions if a member board is acting rogue. BCCI is correct in staying quiet and let ICC do its things.

Pakistan, PCB or its govt are known bluffmasters. Hence no one takes them seriously. If you think you will get away with Govt directive narrative, you are living in fools world. Pak govt has no issues when schedule were announced, no issues in playing U19 WC but suddenly 10 days before the tournament they want to boycott the game at the venue chosen by themselves as a part of hybrid arrangement. If this is not tantrum and dramebaazi what is? No force majeur will work in this case...if that is what Pakistan is dreaming.

Indian govt's only stance is not to allow its team to travel to Pakistan. It is consistent and has been there for last 2 decades. Its not based on whimcial grounds like the one for Pak. So obviously any governing body will respect it.
India brought this on themselves.

Using cricket as a tool to bully others. India has no geopolitical relevance so they use cricket to show off.

Why did India stop bilateral cricket with Pakistan?

Why did India not travel to Pakistan for Asia cup and ICC trophy?

Why did India not collect Asia cup Trophy?

Why did India not shake hands?

Why did Surya make political statement post match?

Why did they remove Mustafizur from IPL?

India dirtied cricket. This is the consequence of India bringing politics to cricket.

Oh Raju when we asked you difference between Indians tennis team travelling to Pakistan and their cricket team you said cricket team is different so government policy is different

Can't we say mens team is different to u-19 brother and therefore government policy is different too?

India brought this on themselves.

Using cricket as a tool to bully others. India has no geopolitical relevance so they use cricket to show off.

Why did India stop bilateral cricket with Pakistan?

Why did India not travel to Pakistan for Asia cup and ICC trophy?

Why did India not collect Asia cup Trophy?

Why did India not shake hands?

Why did Surya make political statement post match?

Why did they remove Mustafizur from IPL?

India dirtied cricket. This is the consequence of India bringing politics to cricket.

India is the reason cricket is still a global sport and teams like Afg has any relevance. All of the things you highlighted are not breaking any laws. Though not shaking hands or not taking trophy from an individual looks petty but these are individual preferences.

If Pakistan's ego is hurt due to those actions and they want to boycott playing India, they absolutely can. However, remember after those hand shake sagas, Pak team has played U19 Asia cup, Womens world cup, U19 world cup, emerging Asia cup...multiple tournaments. Now only 10 days ago, they want to pull out for something happened in April.

A - no one will buy it.
B - there will be obvious sanctions

India is the reason cricket is still a global sport and teams like Afg has any relevance. All of the things you highlighted are not breaking any laws. Though not shaking hands or not taking trophy from an individual looks pettt but these are individual preference.

If Pakistan's ego is hurt due to those actions and they want to boycott playing India, they absolutely can. However, remember after those hand shake sagas, Pak team has played U19 Asia cup, Womens world cup, U19 world cup, emerging Asia cup...multiple tournaments. Now only 10 days ago, they want to pull out for something happened in April.

A - no one will buy it.
B - there will be obvious sanctions

India is the reason cricket is a global sport? I thought it was the british?

Cricket is still a global sport due to Indian money.

Cricket is second most popular sport in the world due to Indians.

Indian Premier League is second most expensive league after NFL.

The 20 team participating in WT20 is only due to India still pumping money into this sport.

I live in England and no one cares about cricket. It is considered a minority brown boys sport here.

Take India out and cricket will be dead as a sport.

Oh Raju when we asked you difference between Indians tennis team travelling to Pakistan and their cricket team you said cricket team is different so government policy is different

Can't we say mens team is different to u-19 brother and therefore government policy is different too?
I’m sure Rajesh will do some spectacular mental gymnastics to justify his beloved nation’s nonsense.
It’s almost like ‘self reflection’ dies a slow death when he comments.

Ultimately, his saffron tinted brain cells don’t comprehend that you do not achieve anything w/ this forceful posturing. If the ICC is stupid enough to enact any fines (which won’t even hold up in kids court), there will NEVER be another cash cow contest. So what’ll be the value of those future rights then?

@thelandofthebravepeople why dont you answer the other part of my post.

You said India dirtied this game due to handshake and refusal to take cup. Agreed.

However, why did Pakistan play 4 tournaments with India since then?

Why did Pakistan had no issue when fixtures for WT20 was announced?

Why just before 10 days, they realized those insults and want to boycott it?

It is pretty clear jeapordizing the event is their motto. So ICC has all the right to take legal action against them. Hiding behind Govt narrative or standing up for BD will not work here.

I’m sure Rajesh will do some spectacular mental gymnastics to justify his beloved nation’s nonsense.
It’s almost like ‘self reflection’ dies a slow death when he comments.

Ultimately, his saffron tinted brain cells don’t comprehend that you do not achieve anything w/ this forceful posturing. If the ICC is stupid enough to enact any fines (which won’t even hold up in kids court), there will NEVER be another cash cow contest. So what’ll be the value of those future rights then?
If Pakistan do indeed boycott then I think the cash cow for ICC is over forever. No media organisation can take their word that the fixture will definitley go ahead in future.

Just today this topic came in our team party, about pakistan's boycott. The laughter was so loud everyone else at the restaurant was looking our way

That's the general sentiment in India.

If Pakistan do indeed boycott then I think the cash cow for ICC is over forever. No media organisation can take their word that the fixture will definitley go ahead in future.

Pakistan simply cannot boycott a game and get away with it. If that is what they are thinking, they are living in fools world. There will be obvious repurcussions and rightly so. Else, it will set up bad precedence for the future.

Now dont mistook it as Endians are desperate to play. Trust me, no one is. However, I am just saying ICC events are not Pakistan's Fufa jis tournament where they can do whatever they wish. Every action will have an opposite reaction.

Now what that extent of reaction from ICC is will be anyones guess.

Just today this topic came in our team party, about pakistan's boycott. The laughter was so loud everyone else at the restaurant was looking our way

That's the general sentiment in India.
Usually these jackanory stories end with whole restaurant staff standing on the tables and clapping but thankfully you had the good sense to end it quickly.

After their opposition assembly made a statement, these indian posters cant deny that their is anger.

Even during the Asia Cup, we lost 3 times, but at the end of the day, the indian side made themselves look like idiots when they decided not to take the trophy from Naqvi. Because in return what Naqvi did was, he followed the rules and regulations, which was simple that if you are not willing to accept the trophy from the guy presenting it you dont get it.

The indian side never expected this, thats why they came out of their dressing rooms as they thought someone else would still hand them the trophy.

After not getting trophy and medals, the whole thing looked awkward and the Indian side really looked bad there. Bad in the sense that they won a tournament, but had no photo ops, and also the fact that a Cricket Board actually stood up to their shenanigans and they couldnt do anything.

We all heard about the powerful BCCI, yet during that 90 mins delay in post match ceremony, they couldnt have their way and looked bad on tv. Many posters here tried to play it down and went futher that the trophy would be with them by a week. Three months later, BCCI was still asking for it and they till date never received it.

It really made them look bad, and there was embarrassment that these guys had to bottle up. Funny thing is, no noc or money issue became for PCB like some of these guys claim

And than PCB pulls this off, and now the emotions are coming out. I said it back than, right now these guys are celebrating all this, but later when things fall apart, they will make Surya the scape goat for all the no handshake tamasha he started.

The fact that they won 3 games and are angry that why they played us is their bottled up emotions now spilling.

Right now with the opposition govt asking questions and indian public also talking about it, they are gonna try their best to either force Pakistan to show up. Make our captain come to the stadium or somehow switch groups in the last minute.

Further embarrassment is coming up, and that is that to claim a forfeited match, one team still needs to show up to the stadium. So if Indian team travels all the way to Sri Lanka, lands there, travels on the bus to the stadium with the captain showing up for the toss and than walking back, and the whole team returning back to India, they will get their 2 points and nrr boost, but the photo ops are gonna be very very ugly. India is gonna look very stupid, and people are gonna bash them.

We all saw how Surya cares about his image, so they will try to do face saving here. They will now try to shift themselves out of this group, if that doesnt work, they will than try to convince ICC that since pakistan is forfeiting we dont need to travel down to Sri lanka with out captain showing up.

This is where Naqvi played a master stroke, as he did not give anything in official, so that the indian side still comes to the ground for its two points.

Eventually what i think will happen is, these guys will also claim a boycott after some event happening in India and not show up to Sri lanka. This way, ICC will be forced to share the points between both sides, or maybe switch groups aswell.
First of all you cannot win neither a game nor a trophy against India..your Beggar chief stole the trophy and you people thinking that as a win..whatever you people or your board, if they would have done after winning against India or atleast be a top cricket team in any format would have been credited..However both PCB and your new brother are just a minnow team and dependent on Indian viewers money till date to run your board and suddenly doing all these drama because you know you cannot win in the ground and only way to avoid another humiliation is boycott..You are trying to set a narration of being the victims, however the real victims were Indians and Hindus in Bangladesh who were being constantly attacked over years by the terrorists and local Bangladesh extremists..Our Indian cricket board stance were always the stable and never they had boycott any international game. Rather they show dominance in the cricket fields. However only the cry Babies like you Pakistanis and Bangladeshis show your frustration by doing these boycott drama. How weird to see a govt announcing that Pakistan team will not play only the first match against India. If they would have said they won't play any match against India, be it semifinals or finals, it would have been appreciated..But how can a govt say not to play only one match without providing the proper reason..We Indians are not angry, but irritated with these kind of notorious acts by the penny boards which were till date begging for our money..soon we will put you in place and then we will see all the reactions in the forum..And it is not new to Pakistanis in this forum overhype something in the beginning and later after years have egg on their face and accept the pathetic state of their cricket and it's players..I'm 100% sure same thing will happen on this thread too..

Mate, you’re not gotten too at all, are you?

“We don’t care about Pakistan”.

But we care enough that we’ll painstakingly create a profile on a Pakistani cricket forum and then post a large ranting paragraph so that our bruised little egos can cope.

😂

Brother he stood there waiting to give you trophy. Your guys didn't take it. Where does the stolen part come into it? I am surprised to see this level of dishonesty from Indians. This whole event is recorded and was live on TV.

The point is he should have allowed someone else gave that trophy. Infact, ACC representative from Bangladesh even asked Naqvi that he is happy to do the job. However, Naqvi took the trophy, went back to ACC cabinet and locked it. It is clearly stealing.

Whether Indian players refused to collect was a good move or not is another discussion. However, that doesnt gave him the right to run away with the trophy.

The point is he should have allowed someone else gave that trophy. Infact, ACC representative from Bangladesh even asked Naqvi that he is happy to do the job. However, Naqvi took the trophy, went back to ACC cabinet and locked it. It is clearly stealing.

Whether Indian players refused to collect was a good move or not is another discussion. However, that doesnt gave him the right to run away with the trophy.
I have not seen stealing defined in this way before.

Someone waits 45 minutes to give you something, you refuse to take it, he takes it away to his office for safe keeping and invites you to come and collect it, when it is convenient.

If only more "thefts" took place this way.

The reality is Indian boycotted the trophy ceremony.

Anyway, since the definition of stealing is so loose. If Pakistan forfeit and India gains the points, we can say that India stole them with the help of the ICC. No problem.

I have not seen stealing defined in this way before.

Someone waits 45 minutes to give you something, you refuse to take it, he takes it away to his office for safe keeping and invites you to come and collect it, when it is convenient.

If only more "thefts" took place this way.

The reality is Indian boycotted the trophy ceremony.

Anyway, since the definition of stealing is so loose. If Pakistan forfeit and India gains the points, we can say that India stole them with the help of the ICC. No problem.

India is the winner of Asia cup and that trophy rightfully belongs to them. Standing there 45 mins or an hour is irrelevant when Indian team made it clear they will not take trophy from him. Now whether that demand is ethical or not is another debate. However being ACC head, he should have kept the respect in his hand and allowed someone else to handover the trophy. There is no where its written that only chairmans can give trophy. Jay Shah didnt give Asia cup himself when he was ACC head. The fact that he ran away with that trophy only shows his pettiness and power hungry nature.

can u atleast learn to write in paragraphs.

cant read your rant.

All i understood was that you dont care about Pakistan, yet made an account on a Pakistani forum and wrote a full rant essay

cant read your rant.

All i understood was that you dont care about Pakistan, yet made an account on a Pakistani forum and wrote a full rant essay
We only care about ourselves. If we feel that our country or our cricket team is being maligned on some forum, we rush in to defend it.
If we had truly cared about Pakistan, 1971 would never have happened and Bangladesh would never have been created.
If you see your defeat as our ‘care’ for Pakistan, then God bless you.

Lmao...

Let me help you understand why your entire country is feeling this uncontrollable rage right now. It's because this is an immense, metaphorical slap across the collective, metaphorical faces of India, and the BJP specifically.

Also, this further reinforces the brotherhood between the people of Bangladesh and Pakistan. Indian/Hindu influence is all but eliminated in Bangladesh and everyone in your country was already feeling the burn from the great Bangladeshi Awakening.

Pakistan would absolutely destroy India in Sri Lankan conditions. Your new lot are bunnies against spin and Pakistan has the best spin bowling in T20 cricket.

We only care about ourselves. If we feel that our country or our cricket team is being maligned on some forum, we rush in to defend it.
If we had truly cared about Pakistan, 1971 would never have happened and Bangladesh would never have been created.
Looool, a literal keyboard warrior. Incredible that you're honest enough to say who you are though. Truly a jawan.

@thelandofthebravepeople why dont you answer the other part of my post.

You said India dirtied this game due to handshake and refusal to take cup. Agreed.

However, why did Pakistan play 4 tournaments with India since then?

Why did Pakistan had no issue when fixtures for WT20 was announced?

Why just before 10 days, they realized those insults and want to boycott it?

It is pretty clear jeapordizing the event is their motto. So ICC has all the right to take legal action against them. Hiding behind Govt narrative or standing up for BD will not work here.

Why is India playing Pakistan in ICC tournaments and not in bilateral cricket?

Why 10 days before WC? Why did BCCI throw out Mustafizur of IPL? Why was Bangladesh not given same threatment as India in Champions Trophy?

I live in England and no one cares about cricket. It is considered a minority brown boys sport here.

Take India out and cricket will be dead as a sport.

Exactly. Now thanks to Indian govt throwing their weight about even two of those brown countries are sidelined and soon you will be left to play with yourself. Something which should be quite familiar to you.

Sir..did we ask him to stand ?..the message was already conveyed and everyone knows that If India wins they won't collect trophy from Naqvi.. It's unfortunate for him that his own country again lost to India..In that situation, ideal thing to do is leave the trophy in the podium for the deserved winners and walk away with whatever pride left..Rather childishly he took the trophy with him as if it is his father's.. taking away the trophy doesn't make Indian team losers or change the history which proclaims India the reigning Asia Cup winners. However the jealous and utterly broken man who can't tolerate humiliations both from his team and from India had decided to steal the trophy and hide it in unknown location thinking it as big Victory.. ofcourse he is very lucky to be from a country which is a fools paradise, there to celebrate him forgetting all their humiliating defeats..

Defend it?

Ur activity funds this forum which could be used against ur country

cant read your rant.

I have had written many articulative contents when I have patience and time..But these are just Rants and doesn't matter whether it is articulate or not..I'm not debating with some Shakespeare's here..if you don't get it, so be it..And about the caring part, please read my reply for another post..I'm sure you will enjoy it..

Dont care what you have written.

Point is if u gonna rant here atleast type properly and make sense.

This is a pakistani forum, we will offcourse insult india and curse it daily. We know you lot do the same on ICF, and we dont care about that. I dont go to icf to defend pakistan because i have a life.

Its funny how u self admitted that u come to PP to defend your countrys honor which we trash everyday here... i can only advice u to get a life.

I have been to india and spat on your land many times.

Dont care what you have written.

Point is if u gonna rant here atleast type properly and make sense.

This is a pakistani forum, we will offcourse insult india and curse it daily. We know you lot do the same on ICF, and we dont care about that. I dont go to icf to defend pakistan because i have a life.

Its funny how u self admitted that u come to PP to defend your countrys honor which we trash everyday here... i can only advice u to get a life.
What an oxy'moron' you are..You say you don't care about what I have written but you take care to point out grammatical errors and even give me life advice..Really, if you had a life, you won't spend years and days in this forum defending the useless Pakistan team and PCB team and blabber something in name of insult..if you see me , i visit this forum once in a blue moon and spend rest of my precious time caring for my life..When did I say I came here to defend country's honor..I just come here to have some fun at the cost of you..Release some work pressure by ranting at you or by giving some point to point rebuttals...fyki, I'm not in any other Indian cricket forum as I don't get much fun there..so old lad, keep your own advice..

so an Indiot , who self admits he has work pressure, admits he posts rants and cant type properly is telling me, a Pakistani, what to post on a Pakistani forum and what not.

Well, the Indiot call center is known for being toxic, hence the work pressure

Pakistan has every right to refuse playing with India and vice versa.If India refuses to play Pakistan it will not bother me.I don’t understand why people making a mountain out of a molehill.

Its an ego thing. Indian cannot believe someone stood up to them publicly and on a big stage. All ICC members are expected to bow down to lord BCCI.

They thought they had got one over us with the petty minded drama queen stuff like not shaking hands or not putting 'Pakistan' on the jersey so it has rattled them. They can pretend they don't care but they aren't fooling anyone as the response is clear for all to see.