Pakistan's unbeaten run in T20Is [6/6]

msb314

So Pakistan are now on an unbeaten run in T20's with 5 consecutive wins.

This includes:
- 1-0 win against England in August 2016
- 3-0 win against WI in November 2016
- 1-0 win against WI in March 2017 (on-going)

The last time we lost a T20 game was against Australia in the 2016 World T20 on March 25th. Coincidentally - it has just been over a year now since that defeat.

How long can our unbeaten run continue?

Liking the way our t20 team is developing. Need to get Raees in there though.

Our batting is one-dimensional, make no mistake, but I think we undersell our bowling.

Imad, Shadab, Hassan, Roman, Amir/Asghar/Wahab/Tanvir/Usama is a very good attack IMO

Our batting is one-dimensional, make no mistake, but I think we undersell our bowling.

Imad, Shadab, Hassan, Roman, Amir/Asghar/Wahab/Tanvir/Usama is a very good attack IMO

Sharjeel and Latif really messed up our batting line up with there actions.

Our bowling is good. It's got variety in it. Sarfraz knows how to use them as well.

Backing us to do well at the next world t20 if we can add some power to our batting line up.

Sharjeel and Latif really messed up our batting line up with there actions.

Our bowling is good. It's got variety in it. Sarfraz knows how to use them as well.

Backing us to do well at the next world t20 if we can add some power to our batting line up.

Sometimes I wonder if Sarfraz actually knows what he's doing when he changes his bowlers lol :))

Every 2nd over there's a change in bowling, confusing the likes of everyone.

Sometimes I wonder if Sarfraz actually knows what he's doing when he changes his bowlers lol :))

Every 2nd over there's a change in bowling, confusing the likes of everyone.

He doesn't want the batsmen to get use to facing 1 bowler. I don't think he should be always using this tactic as bowlers want to get some rytham as well.

4 off those victories are against WI. I'd not celebrate until we beat some of the better sides.

The victory against England was truly breathtaking. What a display of excellent, destructive batting by the fixers.

4 off those victories are against WI. I'd not celebrate until we beat some of the better sides.

The victory against England was truly breathtaking. What a display of excellent, destructive batting by the fixers.

3 lafzon ke gap se saari izzat utaar di fixers ki :))

You have a very good T20 team. It will only get better as PSL goes on and matures. Good luck!

Imagine if the fixers hadn't sold their careers for a few dollars we would have developed quite a spectacular T20 side by now.

Sharjeel
Latif
Babar
Fakhar (he is weak against pace and a monster against spin, should thrive in the middle order)
Malik
Sarfaraz (too low a position for him but there is no where else to put him)
Shadab
Imad
Hassan
Tanvir/Raees
Wahab/Amir

Beating West Indies is not an achievement in any format, they're minnows now. Current Afghanistan > West Indies in LOI

Why were there no T20's for our tour to Australia :13:

the current batting is truly horrendous - Kamran, Shehzad, Hafeez, Babar, Malik is the kind of top 5 that will struggle to score 65 in the first 10 over as the did today vs WI

unless there's major changes in the top 3, that streak isn't going to last very long

Beating West Indies is not an achievement in any format, they're minnows now. Current Afghanistan > West Indies in LOI

I disagree. In T20 WI are a good team in their home. Good win. Moreover any win is better than a loss.

Kya yaad dila diya yaar that was some great power hitting. I have not seen any Pakistany player bat like those two in a long time.

5 so far, should be 8 after this series.

We're gonna play Bangladesh, who are ranked below Afghanistan currently, we should win those 2 matches as well, that will be 10 matches unbeaten.

After that we're gonna play 3 against Sri Lanka, so we are capable of even beating them and take our unbeaten run to 13 games, it's realistic, but anything can happen, we can lose a match or two, but not more than that I think. All in all possible to win all those games.

4 of these wins against mediocre WI side. That England game was amazing though, one of the best games, shame Latif and Sharjeel are now gone. idiots

5 so far, should be 8 after this series.

We're gonna play Bangladesh, who are ranked below Afghanistan currently, we should win those 2 matches as well, that will be 10 matches unbeaten.

After that we're gonna play 3 against Sri Lanka, so we are capable of even beating them and take our unbeaten run to 13 games, it's realistic, but anything can happen, we can lose a match or two, but not more than that I think. All in all possible to win all those games.

And suddenly we beat India in World Cup final and crowned as champion and than they will find oil and gold reserves and we will be rich too and pretty we are already.:shezzy

Imagine if the fixers hadn't sold their careers for a few dollars we would have developed quite a spectacular T20 side by now.

Sharjeel
Latif
Babar
Fakhar (he is weak against pace and a monster against spin, should thrive in the middle order)
Malik
Sarfaraz (too low a position for him but there is no where else to put him)
Shadab
Imad
Hassan
Tanvir/Raees
Wahab/Amir

Open with Fakhar, time has gone when everyone used to open with pace. He is not good at finding gaps but thrashing it over the fielders in the 30 yard circle may make a nice contribution to the total in the first 6 overs.

I keep thinking back to the Sharjeel-Latif explosion vs Eng. That was the only time in the last 5-8 years when we looked like a modern day side. It was a truly spectacular sight. I was in Pak when the match took place and after the first innings me dad threw in the towel and said this tiny target is too steep for our tuk tuk side and went to bed.

I was the only one in the fam that had faith in the side and what transpired next literally had me shell-shocked. Never seen Pakistani batsmen rip apart a bowling attack like that.

In fixers ne zara bhi nahi socha ke fans ke dillon pe kya guzraygi agar yeh pakray jain :facepalm:

Pakistan has the best bowling in T20s at the moment. However, batting still needs a lot of improvement. There is no single batsman in the team who can score at 150+ SR.

it means absolutely nothing in the larger context of what will happen when Pakistan play a t20 world cup again.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Sarfraz Ahmed is the 3rd cricketer to start his tenure as T20I captain with 5 consecutive wins. Misbah & Sangakkara are the other 2 <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash">#Cricket</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/846771800419766278">March 28, 2017</a></blockquote>

this flatters us, our t20 batting is actually a mess, all are accumulators. There is not one play in the top 6 hat can come in and smash from ball one unless we foolish want to pin our hopes on a close to 40 Kami.

Also till he improves his game Babar has to open in t20s. Given the current team thats impossible but i hope in the near future we can have a top 6 that is something like this

1. Babar
2. Naveed Malik or another mad hack
3. Sarfraz
4. Talat or one of the few other free flowing players in Pakistan
5. Malik
6. Hammad

thats still not anything great, but with our bowling it at least gives us a chance in most games

Sadly any fire-power that could have been in the T20 lineup are either not good enough atm, fixing or not fit enough. Sharjeel, Maqsood, Umar, Hammad, Shazaib etc.

Brilliant run. Add some power to our line up and this team looks really good and difficult to beat

They struggled to score 100 runs against a mediocre WI side.

Good bowling but batting

lol at "means nothing".

WI is currently ranked number 4, and we're number 6.

If we whitewash them in this series, we will be 3rd in the rankings :))) even if we beat them 3-1, we will be 4th.

Pakistan have a serious chance of becoming number 1 ranked t20 team by the end of the year.
We're likely gonna win this series, and also the next 2 against Bangladesh and Sri Lanka.
Unbeaten run is gonna continue most likely, but even if we lose a match we'll probably win the next 3 series.
Under Sarfraz's captaincy it is possible because he's not a fool, and knows how to lead, only problem is the TTF issue in the selection. Bowling is top notch and it will win us games.

Pakistan have a serious chance of becoming number 1 ranked t20 team by the end of the year.
We're likely gonna win this series, and also the next 2 against Bangladesh and Sri Lanka.
Unbeaten run is gonna continue most likely, but even if we lose a match we'll probably win the next 3 series.
Under Sarfraz's captaincy it is possible because he's not a fool, and knows how to lead, only problem is the TTF issue in the selection. Bowling is top notch and it will win us games.

Do T20 rankings really mean anything?

I mean who takes them seriously?

lets not make a hoo haa out of a nothing statistic. 4 out of the 5 wins have come against west indies. The one against England fair enough we played well. However lets not forget we are still playing a 90's brand of cricket in limited overs, we will never be able to match the firepower and initiative being used by the leading nation.

Against world champion WI

No mean feat so those trying to play down are being very unfair

West Indies are weak in bilateral series but winning streak like this is always welcome. It doesn't hide the fact, however, that there's major flaws in the lineup that'll be exposed against better opposition. We lack explosive hitters and the opening combination is up in the air after Sharjeel and Latif's suspensions.

The bowling does look strong. We've plenty of spin options and if we finally discard Tanvir even the pace attack doesn't look too bad - Hasan Ali looks to be a mentally resilient cricketer who can handle pressure.

Why are they playing T20s before Champions Trophy ? :inti

WICB want to generate some cash since they're missing out on the Champions Trophy revenue. That's one of the reasons why ticket prices were so steep in the England series that it priced out the locals - they wanted the money from the English tourist groups who came in their thousands.

T20s do sell well unlike Tests and ODIs, so hence we're having four T20Is.

Our current top 6 are as a whole probably the worst we have ever put out , so we shouldn't at all be confident about the future

Sarfraz has been the most positive influence in pakistan cricket since his comeback , he provided our test batting the much needed positivisy on which Pakistan won a few test matches. He proved his doubters wrong even as an loi opener. This guy deserves all the respect he is getting and I feel he is what pakistan needs in the next 5 years as our captain.

Do T20 rankings really mean anything?

I mean who takes them seriously?

In the context of a single match rankings don't mean much. Even an eight ranked side can beat a number one ranked side in a T20.

However, achieving the number one ranking means that you have played good cricket consistently and have had a string of victories. It is sort of a pat on the back. Obviously achieving number one ranking in ODIs and Tests holds a lot more significance, but it would be unwise to completely disregard T20 rankings.

A bowling line of

Hasan
Wahab
Tanvir (I hate that he is there, needs to be replaced ASAP)
Shadab
Imad

Is arguably one of the best T20 bowling attacks in the world. All bases are covered. An out-an-out left arm pacer, a cunning right arm pacer who has an arsenal of slower balls and can ramp up his pace to 145+, Tanvir Sobers, a left arm spinner who is difficult to get away for runs and picks up wickets as well and a leggie who has arguably the best googly in world cricket today.

I disagree. In T20 WI are a good team in their home. Good win. Moreover any win is better than a loss.

WI real guns are missing Gayle, Bravo, Russel. When they have all their superstars playing, it would be hard for us to control them. Even today when MS went after our bowlers, we were shaking, they have four more like him... We will struggle to beat real WI team, which only play in tournaments, this WI team is not measure of anything...Plus wickets will not be that spin friendly in ICC tournament, these are garbage wickets, does not help you to prepare for tournament :facepalm:

At the end purpose of LOIs(both T20 and ODI) is to win tournaments, winning series on doctored pitches means nothing...Our batting seriously lacking tournament quality lineup, without that we cannot be serious contenders, that has to be fixed for us to win...We need 3/4 Sharjeel style players(players who can wack 145 pace with ease and consistently), right now we went from 1 to 0 again and there is nothing on horizon :((

Too much Chest Thumping over beating weak Teams !!!! Hope we beat some good Teams .... and I think we are getting there .... sure hope so.

We truly are minnows now if we're chest thumping over a few T20 wins.

It's over now. Good streak. Unfortunately has ended, but it is at the hands of the Champions at their home.

It all went downhill after Kamran got out, we never looked at any point like we knew what we were doing... we weren't up for it at all in this game sadly, deserved such a one sided loss, we were pathetic allround

And we are true pessimists when we cant be happy ever.

Hope its 7/7

Good whilst it lasted but everything came crashing down to Earth in amazing fashion today.

Lots of work needed for our T20 side.

Wanted us to win but in a way its good that we lost.
We learn from mistakes and I hope the management makes some changes which will be helpful for long term.

This team is very different from the one that won the world cup.

West Indies don't focuse on t20 bilaterals (frankly no serious team does other than Pakistan). West Indies only look to compete in the World Cup. I would back them to beat us in a World Cup t20

Sometimes it had to end, still 6 in a row for T20 is good consistency. Today's defeat was too shallow though.