Panic on the field by Pakistanis

Hawkeye

Can't believe it's happening.

Fielders are panicked, bowlers losing their line, and above all, Sarfraz running towards the bowler after every delivery and going OTT in feedback.

What's happening?

Media and some people think running to the bowler repeatedly is aggression.

But really, it's not. You give your bowlers time and don't constantly chatter and disturb them.

It was just poor captaincy. Used part-timers excessively in the middle and let the middle order get set. Continues to bowl pace to Jason Mohammed when hes in the zone against pace.

Apart from captaincy, this is just poor if Sarfraz thinks bringing your bowlers under pressure by constant chatter is "aggression".

Does he care about the media? And his image of an "aggressive" captain?

Apart from captaincy, this is just poor if Sarfraz thinks bringing your bowlers under pressure by constant chatter is "aggression".

Does he care about the media? And his image of an "aggressive" captain?

I think thats just how he channels his anxiety. Its not ideal for the captain to be doing that. He'll have to learn to curb it.

Obviously an aggressive captain won't do well under pressure.

Won't keep his calm when under the pump. These are situations in which guys like Dhoni and Misbah would thrive.

Sarfaraz was the first one that panicked. Did not take the risk with Shadab who was the best Pakistani bowler towards the end.

I hope he learns. But more than that I hope people realize captaincy is not judged on body language.

well to be honest it was pretty hilarious to see what was happening on the field. And kya hua yaar wahab is our most experienced bowler na, he should have won us the match :p

Reminded me of the days when we had 11 captains on the field.

It was chaos out there.

Sarfraz Ahmed has to take a fare share of the blame regarding the panic.

Can't believe it's happening.

Fielders are panicked, bowlers losing their line, and above all, Sarfraz running towards the bowler after every delivery and going OTT in feedback.

What's happening?

Media and some people think running to the bowler repeatedly is aggression.

But really, it's not. You give your bowlers time and don't constantly chatter and disturb them.

Is this true? Then IMHO this is not a good sign. He being a wicket keeper might get really behind the over rate which could hurt Pak very badly

Sarfraz was all panic out there in the last 10. Saw Kamran get angry at Sarfi as Sarfi said why didnt you catch it at 3rd man? Kamran pointed saying look where I am and where the ball is? It seems hes getting on the nerves of the bowlers and the bowlers/fielders are wasting too much energy focusing on Sarfraz and his changes as opposed to on their game.

When the captain of the side is running around like a headless chicken what else do you expect? Such a panicking captain isn't good for any side. The team loses all confidence. He is in stark contrast of Dhoni who stayed calm even when Bangladesh needed 1 off 3 balls. Sarfu bhai is flying all over like an angry bird

Is this true? Then IMHO this is not a good sign. He being a wicket keeper might get really behind the over rate which could hurt Pak very badly

Yes, mostl in the last 10 overs.

Sarfraz was all panic out there in the last 10. Saw Kamran get angry at Sarfi as Sarfi said why didnt you catch it at 3rd man? Kamran pointed saying look where I am and where the ball is? It seems hes getting on the nerves of the bowlers and the bowlers/fielders are wasting too much energy focusing on Sarfraz and his changes as opposed to on their game.

Hahaha that's so true!!!

Saw that as well. Kamran was all swearing the B word at Sarfraz. Because of his constant whining against the bowlers and fielders.

I think thats just how he channels his anxiety. Its not ideal for the captain to be doing that. He'll have to learn to curb it.

I agree, if the captain is panicking then this trickles through to the rest of the team and this seemed like it was the case today, it could have easily been avoided.

Nothing new. The fielding is so poor that the opposition is given a free 30 runs.

Ok when your main bowlers are giving 17/18 runs constantly and fielders look already lost, any captain will panic and bash.

What would you expect him to be? Smile or cry lika both akmals when they got out?

He will learn through his tenure as its his FIRST odi as captain.

Hojata hai.. a panicking captain has been a constant sight in Pakistan LOI cricket for the last two years. It is just a continuation of the same.