PCB announces Pepsi as Pakistan team partner

shah_1

timthumb.jpg

PCB announces Pepsi as Pakistan team partner

Lahore, 16 July 2020: Pakistan Cricket Board and Pepsi today announced a one-year extension as principal partner of the Pakistan men’s national cricket team for all three formats. Pepsi and PCB have enjoyed a fruitful partnership for over two decades.

The partnership will run initially until 30 June 2021, during which period Pakistan will take on England in the upcoming Test and T20I series from 5 August and are then scheduled to feature in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, home series against Zimbabwe and South Africa, and away series against South Africa, New Zealand and Zimbabwe.

Easy Paisa, Pakistan’s first mobile financial services platform, will be the associate partner of the Pakistan men’s national cricket team for the upcoming tour of England.

Director - Marketing & Franchise, PepsiCo Pakistan, Saad Munawar Khan: “We are proud to continue our much cherished journey with Pakistan cricket as the principal partner of the Pakistan men’s national cricket team.

“Pepsi, Pakistan cricket and our passionate supporters are all part of one family and we are very excited to see our champion cricketers taking the field and making us proud with stellar performances.”

PCB Director – Commercial, Babar Hamid: “Despite working with a backdrop of a challenging economic climate, I am delighted that we have reached an acceptable agreement with Pepsi to continue as a principal partner for, at least, the next 12 months.

“Pepsi has been our valued partner since the 1990s, during which period we have shared great on-field memories and we look forward to that continuing over the next 12-months.

“This extension of the partnership not only reflects our relationship and understanding with Pepsi, but also indicates the value that they place on the profile and visibility that sponsoring the Pakistan men’s national cricket team brings.”

WhatsApp Image 2020-07-16 at 10.01.24 AM.jpg

Heard they are paying very less from previous deal .Alarming situation for Pakistan cricket i don't know who to blame pcb sponsor department or Pakistan cricket disgracefull performances in recent years.

Corona virus excuse will be busted in next year .i don't think we will see any major brand sponsoring next year

Heard they are paying very less from previous deal .Alarming situation for Pakistan cricket i don't know who to blame pcb sponsor department or Pakistan cricket disgracefull performances in recent years.

Corona virus excuse will be busted in next year .i don't think we will see any major brand sponsoring next year

Sponsorship has nothing to do with a team's performance. I don't know how you even came up with this strange co-relation. There will always be a company willing to sponsor the Pakistan Cricket Team which plays international cricket the year round and is watched by millions of watchers. Plastering your brand's name on the jersey of a sports team is literally one of the simplest and most effective ways to advertise. There may be a difference of money between a brand that sponsors Australia and a brand that sponsors Pakistan but it would have to take something like what happened to hockey here for Pakistan to not have a sponsor in the long-term.

And I can very much assure you major Pakistani brands will be lining up to sponsor if this doesn't work out.

Easy Paisa.

I hope the players don't take that literally.

Hearing the Pepsi deal is a fraction of previous deals, but I guess it's better than nothing.

Easy Paisa.

I hope the players don't take that literally.

Hearing the Pepsi deal is a fraction of previous deals, but I guess it's better than nothing.

Seems like face save deal.

Easy paisa, oh dear

Fraction of previous deals???

Damn, is PCB in such a bad state?

Ah well, must take it I guess.

I'm confused. There was a story a couple of weeks back where it was reported that a different company had been chosen as the main sponsor for 12 months, and that they were paying a decent-ish amount compared to the Pepsi offer. Was that a fake story?

What happened to deal with transmedia group as it was reported here couple of weeks ago.

oh bhai, if you live in pakistan plz go out. Billboards are empty. Companies are not advertising anymore.

PCB made the right move here, They got a deal for 1 yer and that is good enough. Companies would had tried to palce a long term one which thy cant.

FUnny how there is a whole marketing department handling this, but posters think they know better

The problem with current situation is there is no gurantee for tours happening, matches can be cancelled anytime.

Also, the advertising companies working with PCB lost more. The PSL semi final and final would had resulted big viewership, but it didnt happen. Companies had already paid their money.

I think the best situation here could had been HBL being compensated by getting this tour on lower fees as the main sponsor.

Oh well, an annual deal is still good.

I don't think I have ever seen Pakistan team without Pepsi sponsor.

Pepsi and Pakistan cricket team are like lifelong partners.

I knew it that the people criticizing the PCB for not adhering to the principal that something is better than nothing would run their mouths again that the PCB has accepted a deal at a loss.

I don't think I have ever seen Pakistan team without Pepsi sponsor.

Pepsi and Pakistan cricket team are like lifelong partners.

Exactly lol the Pepsi logo on the Pakistan jersey has become iconic it would feel wrong if their was something else lol

I'm confused. There was a story a couple of weeks back where it was reported that a different company had been chosen as the main sponsor for 12 months, and that they were paying a decent-ish amount compared to the Pepsi offer. Was that a fake story?

Fake news.

Made-up story.

I wonder when will Chinese brands like Huaweii or Xiaomi replace American brand Pepsi

Seeing some of the comments above downplaying Easy Paisa knows nothing about the brand it seems.
Easy Paisa is product of Tameer Bank and one of their successful products which generate huge revenues.
Tameer Bank belongs to the TELENOR telecom operator group.

So i hope now people can see that easy paisa associate sponsorship is not a small thing.

Lol Pak cricket team and Pepsi are match made in heaven. better love story than twilight...

i legit thought that for first time in my life i would see a non-pepsi logo on our shirt lol

Rumours are that Pepsi has paid 20% of what they previously paid to PCB.

Well it’s one year and clearly they had PCB by the plums so to speak. I hope the board has learnt a lesson from this and is already sourcing a replacement sponsor.

its a different world now..people need to understand this. 'm glad they managed to get an extension, im sure once we know the economic climate beyond this year they can negotiate a longer term deal..

I'm not surprised, they probably want to continue the relationship with Pepsi once the whole covid situation is over and doing a one year deal is a good way to keep the relationship while not screwing yourself with a longer term deal.

Pepsi and Pakistan team are a match made in heaven. In current scenario it's ok if sponsors pay less because there is going to be less visibility also.

Now this issue should be closed and focus must be put back to Cricket.

Sounds like PCB needs new sales personnel who know the art of negotiating.

If the PCB responds to this by signing Coca-Cola for a multi-year deal at the end of this, that'll show Pepsi who's boss!

Never ever sponsor Pepsi after this.

Pepsi are doing what most companies would do and that is use the situation to their advantage:

PCB desperate
PCB marketing dept. struggling
No other offers on the table

We were told that PCB is flexing and paying hard ball because they are getting the best deal thanks to their brilliant negotiating skills.

But all that flexing has turned to bust because they have ended up with Pepsi, who are paying a fraction of what they did, because PCB did not get any other good offers.

In the end, Pepsi had the last laugh. Mani and Wasim continue to fail with flying colors and continue to exhibit their incompetence.

PCB announces Lifebuoy as Pakistan team Official Hygiene Partner

Lahore, 7 August 2020:

Pakistan Cricket Board has joined hands with Lifebuoy, the world’s number one selling hygiene soap brand 1, for Pakistan men’s national cricket team’s ongoing tour of England.

Lifebuoy will be the Official Hygiene Partner of the team during the tour of England. The three-match Test series, part of ICC World Test Championship, between England and Pakistan started on Wednesday at Old Trafford, Manchester, and it will be followed by three T20Is.

During the England tour, Lifebuoy will be supporting the Pakistan team by providing hand hygiene products to the full touring party. Pakistan players will help promote better hygiene behaviours with exciting public service and behind-the-scenes-content.

While ensuring there is no compromise on health and safety of the players, team management and staff, the PCB has actively promoted Government of Pakistan’s SOPs on Covid-19.

The PCB headquarters in Lahore and offices in the rest of the country continue to practice social distancing while following all government prescribed SOPs.

Pakistan men’s national cricket team is in bio-secure environment in England since arriving in the country in the last week of June.

Global Vice President of Lifebuoy Kartik Chandrasekhar: “Lifebuoy has always been a brand that has looked to support people to have better personal hygiene. Following the success of our relationship with the West Indies, we are looking forward to working closely with the Pakistan cricket team to promote better hygiene practices.”

“Sports is an integral part of life, a passion point across countries bringing people together. We will work closely with the Pakistan cricket team to improve hygiene behaviours of all fans.”

PCB Director – Commercial, Babar Hamid: “We are delighted to partner with Lifebuoy as our Official Hygiene Partner for the tour of England. Under the newly revamped commercial strategy, Pakistan Cricket Board is keen to create sustainable and meaningful partnerships with leading brands and this partnership with Lifebuoy is a key milestone in our strategy.

“The tour of England is happening under very different circumstances and in a world that requires us to place a renewed focus on health and safety. Our objective, through this partnership, is to use the Pakistan men’s national cricket team’s outreach in order to influence attitudes towards hygiene and contribute towards a safer Pakistan for all of us.”

erman sports apparel and footwear major Puma could be the frontrunner in bagging the Indian cricket team’s kit sponsorship rights while rival Adidas could also enter the fray.

However, it couldn’t be confirmed whether Nike would re-bid after refusing BCCI’s scaled down bid offer from its Rs 370 crore (plus 30 crore royalty), which it paid from 2016 to 2020.

“I can confirm you that Puma has bought the ITT (Invitation to Tender) document worth Rs 1 lakh. While buying bid document doesn’t mean one is bidding, Puma has shown genuine interest in submitting a bid,” a senior BCCI official told PTI on conditions of anonymity.

It is learnt that Adidas too has shown interest but whether it will be bidding for the sponsorship rights is still not known. Even though some feel that the German giant could independently bid for merchandise products, which will be a separate tender.

Selling of exclusive merchandise products depends on how many exclusive stores a company has along with the point of sales (shops that sells your company’s products).

While Puma has over 350 exclusive stores, Adidas has more than 450 outlets which makes these two companies the most sought after.

A senior industry insider explained the sponsorship issue in these turbulent economic times.

“Don’t be surprised if the new rights holder pays something around 200 crore for a five-year deal which will be significantly less than what Nike paid during previous term,” the industry veteran explained.

“Look BCCI offered Nike the first right of refusal and that too a scaled down offer which they declined. This could mean two things. Either they are not interested or may submit a bid which is even more scaled down than what BCCI offered,” he said.

As far as Puma is concerned, it has had an increased interest in the Indian market over the years especially through IPL but now it also has India captain Virat Kohli as its brand ambassador along with KL Rahul.

“Puma has been a part of IPL for some years now and with Virat in their roster, it would only enhance their presence in Indian market,” he added.

The BCCI in it’s new bid has kept a base price of Rs 61 lakh per match compared to the Rs 88 lakh during the last cycle.

https://sportstar.thehindu.com/cric...s-virat-kohl-kl-rahul-ipl/article32301684.ece

Pakistan seem to have another kit sponsor, on the back above the player's name - Sabroso.

Capture.JPG

118483953_4461880507218580_1799890475019371393_o.jpg

Reports indicate that National T20 Cup hasnt had too many sponsors.

I assume that is par for the course given tough economic times?

PCB announces commercial partners for Pakistan v Zimbabwe series

Rawalpindi, 29 October 2020:

Brighto Paints have joined hands with the Pakistan Cricket Board as the title sponsor for the three-match One-Day International series, which begins on Friday.

Itel Mobile Pakistan are the presenting sponsor for the three fixtures which are part of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League campaign and mark the return of international 50-over cricket to the venue after 14 years.

Servis Tyre have come on board as the co-sponsors for the three ODIs.

PCB Director – Commercial, Babar Hamid: “We welcome Brighto Paints, Itel Mobile and Servis Tyre and thank them for their renewed commitment with Pakistan cricket despite the present economic challenges in the wake of the pandemic.

“The PCB has worked tirelessly in both organizing and increasing the stakes of our home international cricket with major broadcast and production breakthroughs this season. Pakistan cricket is surely on the rise and its commercial value is also on a rise simultaneously.

“The Pakistan-Zimbabwe series promises to be a real exciting one and we are confident our commercial partners will get a great mileage and projection by being a part of the resumption of international home cricket.”

Brighto Paints Director, Mr Khawaja Zain Sikka: “Brighto Paints is inspired by nature and the people of Pakistan. As proud sponsors of Pakistan cricket for almost a decade now, Brighto Paints is delighted to continue its partnership with the Pakistan Cricket Board.

“We are proud to be the title sponsor of the Pakistan v Zimbabwe ODI Series 2020. Brighto Paints congratulates PCB and the people of Pakistan for organising cricket in Pakistan in a post Covid-19 world and appreciates the commitment of “Har Haal Main Cricket”. Brighto Paints will continue to support the PCB and the players in this endeavour.”

Itel Mobile Pakistan CEO, Zeeshan Yousaf: “ITEL is proud to be associated with the upcoming Pakistan v Zimbabwe series. We are one of the fastest growing mobile brands in Pakistan and cricket, being the favourite sport in the country, is a natural brand fit. We look forward to some good cricket ahead.”

The complete ODI and T20I series schedule is available below:

30 Oct – 1st ODI, Rawalpindi
1 Nov – 2nd ODI, Rawalpindi
3 Nov – 3rd ODI, Rawalpindi
7 Nov – 1st T20I, Rawalpindi
8 Nov – 2nd T20I, Rawalpindi
10 Nov – 3rd T20I, Rawalpindi

Tapal Tea becomes official Tea Partner of Pakistan men’s national cricket team

Karachi, 18 January 2021:

Tapal Team (Pvt). Ltd has become the official Tea Partner of the Pakistan men’s cricket team with the signing of a one-year agreement through which they will be a home series partner for Pakistan men’s national cricket team in their home series throughout the year.

During the agreement period (January 2021 to January 2022), Pakistan will host South Africa, England, New Zealand and the West Indies in what promises to be a thrilling and exciting year for international cricket in the country.

PCB Director Commercial Babar Hamid and Chief Sales Officer Tapal Tea Anwar Nabi Dar were present at the National Stadium Karachi today to announce the partnership.

The venue will host the first Pakistan-South Africa Test which starts from January 26 on what is the first visit by the Proteas to Pakistan in more than 13 years.

Director Commercial Babar Hamid: “We are delighted to further strengthen our ties with Tapal Tea (Pvt). Ltd as the Official Tea Partner for our four exciting home series this year. Tapal is one of the most favourite tea brands in the country and I am sure this partnership will go a long way and mutually benefit both PCB and Tapal Tea as 2021 promises to be a bumper home cricket year with visits from South Africa, England, New Zealand and the West Indies.

“Cricket is well and truly back home and it provides a wonderful opportunity for our partners to showcase Pakistani brands not only to the home audience but also with our global viewers. The Pakistan Cricket Board is committed towards working along with our commercial partners for the growth of the game.”

CEO Tapal Tea Samar Hayat: "We are very excited to announce this strategic partnership between Pakistan's number one tea company which serves and delights consumers across the country, and Pakistan's number one passion - cricket. Looking forward to scoring many runs together with the Pakistan Cricket Board.”

In the ongoing and action-packed 2020-21 domestic cricket season Tapal Tea (Pvt). Ltd partnered with the PCB in the National T20, Quaid-e-Azam Trophy 2020-21 and Pakistan Cup tournaments.

I will take Pepsi on our jerseys over cool n cool or brighto paints. Our team look like cartoons with sponsors like that

Remember the first Pakistan Cup when they literally named the teams after the sponsors ?

Cookania Cake Rusk Punjab were taking on Boom Boom Bubble Gum Khyber Pakhtunkhwa.

Where is Ali tareen (Fatima group)? I am sure he can throw out a billion dollars in sponsorship every year without his dad even noticing.

Remember the first Pakistan Cup when they literally named the teams after the sponsors ?

Cookania Cake Rusk Punjab were taking on Boom Boom Bubble Gum Khyber Pakhtunkhwa.

I remember that. I couldn't stop laughing when I heard the team names.

Mate, in fairness , Cookania Cake Rusk Punjab were a banging team.

Not as good as Brighto Paints FATA or Sehat ki Dastak Sindh though.

When your team and management is full of clowns, you will be priced at that level then. BCCI is a powerful board because of star players it is producing.

Tapal Tea becomes official Tea Partner of Pakistan men’s national cricket team

So expect to see more of those cringeworthy camera shots of people randomly pretending to drink tea :(

I remember Allan Border doing commentary in UAE and drinking the Tea. He looked so uncomfortable.

The uncles running PCB back in the day didn’t know how branding works. Just happy to cash in from the sponsors’ checks.

Tbh idk how much better it is rn

Lifebuoy has become the official hygiene partner of the Pakistan men’s national cricket team with the announcement of a one-year agreement at the National Stadium Karachi on Tuesday (today).

As a result of this historic agreement, the PCB and Lifebuoy will partner for Pakistan men’s team’s home assignments during the one-year period and for year-long content and activations aimed at enhancing awareness around hygiene.

During the agreement period, Pakistan will host South Africa, England, New Zealand and the West Indies in what promises to be a thrilling and exciting year for international cricket in the country.

PCB Director Commercial Babar Hamid and Director Beauty and Personal Care, Unilever Pakistan Asima Haq were present at the announcement event held at the National Stadium Karachi today.

The venue will host the first Pakistan-South Africa Test which starts from January 26 on what is the first visit by the Proteas to Pakistan in more than 13 years.

Previously, the PCB and Lifebuoy had partnered successfully on a short-term basis with exciting content creation aimed at enhancing hygiene awareness. The success of that campaign during the team’s tour of England has now translated into a year-long partnership between the two.

Director Commercial Babar Hamid: “We are now further strengthening our ties with Lifebuoy following the successful campaign last year during Pakistan men’s national cricket team’s tour of England.

“Over the course of the next 12 months, Pakistan is set to host top-class international cricket besides the ongoing historic trip from South Africa. England, West Indies and New Zealand are all scheduled to visit the country for what promises to be an extremely exciting year of cricket that will capture the imagination of the nation.

“This partnership will be a great boost to both Lifebuoy and PCB and we are together looking forward to a great year.”

Director Beauty and Personal Care, Unilever Pakistan Asima Haq: “Covid-19 has reaffirmed the importance of hygiene for our health and wellbeing. Lifebuoy, since its inception has stood for preventing infections and saving lives through hand washing.

“In line with this mission of promoting good hand hygiene, we are partnering with the Pakistan Cricket Board to ensure that both clean hands and cricket can remain an integral part of the lives of Pakistanis. Together, we aim to create awareness on good hygiene behaviours.

Halkay nahi aa rahay. Suddenly lots and lots of momentum behind our broadcasting offers and sponsorship deals, all in the space of a few days. Long may it continue.

Lifebuoy has become the official hygiene partner of the Pakistan men’s national cricket team with the announcement of a one-year agreement at the National Stadium Karachi on Tuesday (today).

As a result of this historic agreement, the PCB and Lifebuoy will partner for Pakistan men’s team’s home assignments during the one-year period and for year-long content and activations aimed at enhancing awareness around hygiene.

During the agreement period, Pakistan will host South Africa, England, New Zealand and the West Indies in what promises to be a thrilling and exciting year for international cricket in the country.

PCB Director Commercial Babar Hamid and Director Beauty and Personal Care, Unilever Pakistan Asima Haq were present at the announcement event held at the National Stadium Karachi today.

Previously, the PCB and Lifebuoy had partnered successfully on a short-term basis with exciting content creation aimed at enhancing hygiene awareness. The success of that campaign during the team’s tour of England has now translated into a year-long partnership between the two.

Director Commercial Babar Hamid: “We are now further strengthening our ties with Lifebuoy following the successful campaign last year during Pakistan men’s national cricket team’s tour of England.

“Over the course of the next 12 months, Pakistan is set to host top-class international cricket besides the ongoing historic trip from South Africa. England, West Indies and New Zealand are all scheduled to visit the country for what promises to be an extremely exciting year of cricket that will capture the imagination of the nation.

“This partnership will be a great boost to both Lifebuoy and PCB and we are together looking forward to a great year.”

Director Beauty and Personal Care, Unilever Pakistan Asima Haq: “Covid-19 has reaffirmed the importance of hygiene for our health and wellbeing. Lifebuoy, since its inception has stood for preventing infections and saving lives through hand washing.

“In line with this mission of promoting good hand hygiene, we are partnering with the Pakistan Cricket Board to ensure that both clean hands and cricket can remain an integral part of the lives of Pakistanis. Together, we aim to create awareness on good hygiene behaviours.

[MENTION=93712]MenInG[/MENTION] [MENTION=9]Saj[/MENTION] [MENTION=133760]Abdullah719[/MENTION]
Unrelated to the topic but
Hosting West Indies???? I can see a tour TO West Indies. Any idea about the series? Have they added a new series or is it just a mistake?

TransGroup International has secured the rights for the five bilateral home series that will be hosted in Pakistan in the 2021-22 cricket season.

The upcoming cricket season is set to be one of the busiest home seasons in Pakistan’s cricketing history with tours by New Zealand and England (men’s and women’s) before next month’s ICC Men’s T20 World Cup followed by tours by the West Indies and Australia.

TransGroup International will have the ground and sponsorship rights for the entire bilateral international cricket season which commences with the first ODI between Pakistan and New Zealand at the Pindi Cricket Stadium, Rawalpindi on Friday, 17 September.

Besides TransGroup International, Surf Excel, Lifebuoy and Tapal Tea will also be sponsoring the international bilateral cricket season as part of their existing partnership deals with the PCB.

PCB Chief Executive Wasim Khan: “The upcoming international season is an incredibly exciting one for us and in particular for cricket fans across the country as we host four of the leading international sides in New Zealand, England’s men’s and women’s, West Indies and Australia.

“PCB and Transgroup International enjoy a long and mutually beneficial partnership that has strengthened further over the years. We are keen to deliver outstanding quality events for our passionate fans with the support of all stakeholders."

Group Director TransGroup International Rao Omar Hashim Khan: ‘’TransGroup International has been a proud partner of Pakistan cricket for almost three decades now and it gives me immense joy to see this partnership growing further. PCB's consistent efforts have resulted in a bumper home season with New Zealand, England, West Indies and Australia touring Pakistan and we are keen to provide all our support to Pakistan cricket for these series."

Wonder where's the deal at. Surely Pakistan Cricket Team is now worth more than they were 4 years ago. Considering the cricket at home as well now.