PCB Cricket Committee - Discussion Thread

how is he responsible for the one-day set up

He was the one who kicked out senior players from the squad as he knew they weren't suitable to play modern odi cricket ,these players include alastair cook,ian bell ,stuart broad,james Anderson,matt prior and many other players whom I can not remember and instead he introduced youngsters in the odi squad like jos butler,johnny bairstow,jason roy,ben stokes and many players who are the part of the current england set up.He kept faith in these players by backing them and made england a team which they are today.

wasnt peter moores the 2015 coach...

Oh yes ,he was. But the players I mentioned were given the chance by andy flower during his tenure as I rembered that most players were introduced by him during flowers tenure.

I think he might have a role, but his link is tenuous.
Bayliss (And morgan) should get credit for this. Bayliss should also get blame for England's indifferent test form as well/.

I think he might have a role, but his link is tenuous.
Bayliss (And morgan) should get credit for this. Bayliss should also get blame for England's indifferent test form as well/.

Flower is still quite a solid coach and if PCB listens to his demands and get him what he wants, we could have a solid rebuild. He's the right man to back. Im pretty sure he had success with England's test team as well.

He's definitely an upgrade over Mickey. Mickey hasn't had major success since his SA days - with both Pak and Aus he's had mixed results.

Flower is still quite a solid coach and if PCB listens to his demands and get him what he wants, we could have a solid rebuild. He's the right man to back. Im pretty sure he had success with England's test team as well.

He's definitely an upgrade over Mickey. Mickey hasn't had major success since his SA days - with both Pak and Aus he's had mixed results.

We say this about every coach we hire, but we dont have the patience to stick with anyone for more than three years without throwing the toys out of the pram.
Its not what PCB can do for any new coach: its what the PCB WILL DO when dressing room leaks about coach misbehaving start coming out when the coach is tough with players. The PCB is a spineless institution - any one wanting to coach should think of it as three year paycheck and nothing more

Nope it was Moores

Apologies, I just checked and you're absolutely right. Giles left the post in 2014 to be replaced by Moores.

I also agree that Bayliss was the coach, along with Morgan as the captain, who transformed the ODI unit.
The ODI team was going nowhere until Baylis came onboard.

Splitting captaincy makes sense. It is very hard for one person to manage all captaincies.

Test should have a separate captain and LOI (ODI and T20) should have another captain.

So he can recommend Asad shafiq or cheater hafeez as captains.

Also Shan Masood And Asif Ali have his backing.
Was not impressed with expert comments that Misbah made during the world cup, he was wrong about so many things. Like Praising Hasan Ali and opposing the inclusion of Shaheen Shah Afridi & criticizing Mohd Amir. Both Mohd Amir and Shaheen performed well.

Splitting captaincy makes sense. It is very hard for one person to manage all captaincies.

Test should have a separate captain and LOI (ODI and T20) should have another captain.

Also Mohd Rizwan needs to be included in the squad, he is always overlooked because Sarfy is also the skipper

In my opinion, Dean Jones would make for an excellent coach for the Pakistan Team... He's a brilliant analyst and an excellent technician.... Besides, he has the passion to coach Pakistan since he has previously applied for the position quite a few times... Moreover, after Waqar Younis was sacked, the final two shortlisted candidates were Mickey and Deano, with Mickey getting the preference... Although Deano hasn't coached any team apart from franchise teams, but I believe he could be the man for Pakistan..

Inshallah sarfraz will be sacked from all formats. I pray to God this happens

Misbah will recommend Shafiq as test captain, Azhar as ODI captain and Hafeez as T20 captain. Also he will recommend to drop Shaheen, Hasnain, Sadab and replace them with Gul, Sami and Yasir.

Misbah will bring back to ODI team at no. 9.

In my opinion, Dean Jones would make for an excellent coach for the Pakistan Team... He's a brilliant analyst and an excellent technician.... Besides, he has the passion to coach Pakistan since he has previously applied for the position quite a few times... Moreover, after Waqar Younis was sacked, the final two shortlisted candidates were Mickey and Deano, with Mickey getting the preference... Although Deano hasn't coached any team apart from franchise teams, but I believe he could be the man for Pakistan..

PCB should not take such chance , you need take in coach with credentials.

Misbah will recommend Shafiq as test captain, Azhar as ODI captain and Hafeez as T20 captain. Also he will recommend to drop Shaheen, Hasnain, Sadab and replace them with Gul, Sami and Yasir.

Wasim Khan is a smart guy, hopefully he won't follow those foolish recommendations.

Sarfraz as T20 captain, Babar in ODIs and Shan in Tests.

Easy way to split burden on sarfaraz is drop him from tests and ODI team. Leave him in T20 side.

Also Shan Masood And Asif Ali have his backing.
Was not impressed with expert comments that Misbah made during the world cup, he was wrong about so many things. Like Praising Hasan Ali and opposing the inclusion of Shaheen Shah Afridi & criticizing Mohd Amir. Both Mohd Amir and Shaheen performed well.

He is allergic to youngsters. He loves his oldies. Should be removed from this committee with immediate effect. Rubbish cricketer and even more rubbish analyst. This shameless person even benched Babar when he was playing for Islamabad shows how much he knows.

I agree with Misbah and his obsession with ex team mates but i think in a couple of years time when those guys have moved on, he would make an excellent Director of Cricket.

Sorry if i sound too harsh but you look out of place on the cricket section with opinions like these. Timepass and PTI maybe should be your focus.

Its unbelievable how someone can support Misbah when his support for senior culture, recommending duds like Azhar for captaincy is well known.

Sorry if i sound too harsh but you look out of place on the cricket section with opinions like these. Timepass and PTI maybe should be your focus.

Its unbelievable how someone can support Misbah when his support for senior culture, recommending duds like Azhar for captaincy is well known.

Misbah is not perfect but you are looking for the perfect candidate and he doesn't exist.

Important decisions coming up if this report is to be believed - lets hope its for the best of Pakistan cricket

So Grant flower goes and Andy comes in? Or does PCB get a family discount with both in?

Sarfraz Nawaz, the former Pakistan fast bowler credited with creating reverse swing, has called on the country’s Prime Minister Imran Khan, also the patron of the Pakistan Cricket Board, to take stern action and sack those responsible for the team’s failure to qualify for the semi-finals of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019.

Pakistan finished fifth at the World Cup, a result that on paper owed to the seven-wicket loss to West Indies in their tournament opener and later the 41-run loss to Australia. They needed to win their last four group matches to remain in contention for the semi-finals and did just that, but once eventual winners England beat fellow finalists New Zealand in their last group match, it left Sarfaraz Ahmed‘s team with a near-impossible task against Bangladesh at Lord’s on July 5 to improve their poor net run-rate of 0.792 by 0.98 to surpass the Black Caps and take fourth place on the points table.

After the win over Bangladesh, Pakistan captain Sarfaraz, the head coach Mickey Arthur and the retiring Shoaib Malik each apologised to fans of the team for their collective failure to reach the semi-finals. Nawaz, who played 55 Tests for Pakistan, said he expected some resignations post the World Cup, but now that they have not happened he urged Imran to take action.

“People who have dignity and understand responsibility themselves step down, but it does not happen in Pakistan. I was expecting resignations from selection committee, team management and COO Subhan Ahmed after highly dismal performance of the national team but no one is ready to accept the responsibility,” Nawaz was quoted as saying by The Nation.

“I am surprised how the PCB and their blue-eyed are appreciating the Pakistan team’s performance in the World Cup. It was totally pathetic and below average. How on earth was the Pakistan team expecting favours from other teams? Why did they blame India, New Zealand and others? Why did they not earn a place in the semi-finals themselves? It is very easy to point fingers at others but very hard to accept failure and get aside.”

Nawaz, who a few years ago was recruited as fast-bowling consultant at the National Cricket Academy in Lahore, put the onus on Imran to lead the way in resurrecting Pakistan cricket.

“In Pakistan, people are still looking at the PCB and Imran Khan, who is not only the prime minister and PCB’s patron but also one of the best captains the cricket world had ever witnessed to take some action against the responsible. The PM should act now and send selection committee, coaches and all the flops home,” said Nawaz.

In his view, the PCB were left with no option but to persist with Sarfaraz as captain owing to a perceived failure to groom a suitable vice-captain.

“Sarfaraz should continue to lead the Pakistan team and he must make some bold decisions and prove himself that he is that leader who will could Pakistan team forward,” said Nawaz. “It makes no sense of changing Sarfaraz as it will further aggravate the situation. I think, it is high time Imran should make tough decisions and clean the PCB. It is also the duty of PCB chairman Ehsan Mani and newly appointed Managing Director Wasim Khan to clean the board from all the ills who had destroyed Pakistan cricket and neat and clean persons, who had a solid background, must be introduced.”

https://www.cricketcountry.com/news...yers-management-post-world-cup-failure-869847

PCB Cricket Committee to meet on 2 August

Lahore, 24 July 2019:

The Pakistan Cricket Board today announced its cricket committee will meet at the National Cricket Academy on Friday, 2 August.

The PCB Cricket Committee is an advisory panel whose remit is to make recommendations to the PCB Chairman. The committee is chaired by PCB Managing Director Wasim Khan, and includes former men’s and women’s teams’ captains Wasim Akram, Misbah-ul-Haq and Urooj Mumtaz, as well as Zakir Khan (Director – International Cricket and Committee Secretary), Mudassar Nazar (Director – Academies) and Haroon Rashid (Director - Domestic Cricket).

The agenda of the PCB Cricket Committee meeting includes review of the Pakistan men’s and women’s cricket teams as well as U16 and U19 cricket teams’ performances and make recommendations to the PCB Chairman.

Inzamam-ul-Haq, Mickey Arthur and Sarfaraz Ahmed have been invited to attend the meeting and provide their feedback and assessment of the men’s team’s performances. Wasim Akram will join the meeting via video link while rest of the members will attend in person.

I wish that the PCB telecasts these meetings in public

Sounds awfully bureaucratic, why do we need a few people to be sat on their hinds before they can make a decision?

Also Zakir khan, haroon rashid and mudassar nazar are part of the problem, how will they provide any solution?

Apologies, I just checked and you're absolutely right. Giles left the post in 2014 to be replaced by Moores.

I also agree that Bayliss was the coach, along with Morgan as the captain, who transformed the ODI unit.
The ODI team was going nowhere until Baylis came onboard.

There’s is considerably more to this as teams don’t transform overnight just because coaching staff have changed. Let me explain.

Moores came along from Sussex and flower was his understudy (assistant coach in 2009) mushtaq was also the spin bowling coach along with a whole host of other junior coaches. Moores was sacked and flower was made head coach. I remember ten years ago flower implemented some very important processes in English cricket such as lions tours and other junior tours. there was a lot of emphasis on fitness and other technical aspects of the game plus the relationship with the counties. England surged to NO1 in the rankings with the only real blemish being outplayed by pak in 2012 in UAE and also Australia. But he was promoted to director of cricket around 2014 when moores returned for a year 2014-2015. And then Giles and Baylis. The emphasis here was to play attacking cricket after 2015 World Cup debacle but many of these players like Bairstow and butler were already brought in from the lions team so flower was instrumental in their development. Switch hits and other types of shots were being brought into the mainstream around this time.

Flower has been one of the most important people in modern English cricket. Pakistan would be honoured to have him but more for revamping the domestic scene and tying The regions and cities coaching and playing squads together. most likely if he joins there will be plans to get a team of coaches and do structural reforms in all aspects of our cricket. We lag behind in many departments and if flower can recreate the role that he filled as director of cricket, now done by Strauss it will be a significant step up for how we revitalise our cricket. On short, a change of a single coach like a Mickey Arthur or a Waqar younis won’t do anything for a cricketing country like Pakistan with a huge and very diverse population. You need a proper coaching and sports science culture.

Sounds awfully bureaucratic, why do we need a few people to be sat on their hinds before they can make a decision?

Also Zakir khan, haroon rashid and mudassar nazar are part of the problem, how will they provide any solution?

What has mudassar done wrong?

What has mudassar done at all? he has been with the board off and on since 90s

He has done nothing

It is time for guys like Rashid Latif to be brought in. It is refreshing to hear his thought process and solutions at grass root level. Just watch his interview with Wasim Khan. Mudassar has been in NCA for so many times and yet all we see is so many technically inept batsmen, bowling at low speed, rubbish spinners and low quality fielding. Just look at the last U19 team in WC and the batsman were bad to worse.

According to many experts that NCA level 1,2,3 coaching is a joke compared to other certification around the world. It is outdated

We need a change

What has mudassar done at all? he has been with the board off and on since 90s

for a good part of 2-3 years we had abs no talent coming through the ranks... whether it was bowling or batting... with mudassir nazar in NCA, suddenly we have 4-5 bowlers who are screaming up the ladders and a couple of good batsmen as well... what else do u want him to do.. i think Mudassar Nazar is the best individual as NCA head

Mudasser Nazar is the best thing that has happened to the NCA.

When Mudasser left the NCA for the UAE job Pak felt its absence. Mudasser knows how to develop young players.

He has done nothing

It is time for guys like Rashid Latif to be brought in. It is refreshing to hear his thought process and solutions at grass root level. Just watch his interview with Wasim Khan. Mudassar has been in NCA for so many times and yet all we see is so many technically inept batsmen, bowling at low speed, rubbish spinners and low quality fielding. Just look at the last U19 team in WC and the batsman were bad to worse.

According to many experts that NCA level 1,2,3 coaching is a joke compared to other certification around the world. It is outdated

We need a change

Please stop mentioning that clown Rashid latif in every sentence. He is awful to say the least while mudassar is doing an excellent job.we don't want our team to be filled with khurram, fawad etc.

He has done nothing

We need a change
Rashid Latif over Mudassar Nazar? What credentials does Rashid have, besides a heavy bias for Karachi laundas?

I really fear about Misbah's suggestion. This guy sounds like the enemy of Pakistan cricket. He voted for Azhar (who not even played under Misbah) for ODI captain and we got whitewash by Bangladesh.
This guy has such a hatred for younger players and never groom young spinner/batsman under him.

Basit, Latif, Miandad, Aaqib, Misbah, Qadir are disgrace for our cricket. Most of them were good and Miandad was great in field but they never did a single good thing post retirement.

Well, name one Pakistani Cricketer who did something post-retirement. All are hungry for money and taking a good position in PCB but no one is willing to develop a player

I really fear about Misbah's suggestion. This guy sounds like the enemy of Pakistan cricket. He voted for Azhar (who not even played under Misbah) for ODI captain and we got whitewash by Bangladesh.
This guy has such a hatred for younger players and never groom young spinner/batsman under him.
Serious hate for Misbah

Everyone!!!! But buddies of Misbah were really rubbish to compare with others.

Younis, Yasir, Sarfraz, and Saeed Ajmal were good under him. Even Sami Aslam, Asad and Azhar were ok. Malik, Hafeez, Afridi were supported by all captains. I'm no fan of Misbsh captain or player but he does not deserve the hate either.

I find it funny how shafi repeats the same thing over and over again.

We get it misbah is a bad guy.

Its like he wants the attention of posters

I find it funny how shafi repeats the same thing over and over again.

We get it misbah is a bad guy.

Its like he wants the attention of posters
We are here to support Pakistan cricket team not any individual like tennis or squash.

Younis, Yasir, Sarfraz, and Saeed Ajmal were good under him. Even Sami Aslam, Asad and Azhar were ok. Malik, Hafeez, Afridi were supported by all captains. I'm no fan of Misbsh captain or player but he does not deserve the hate either.
What’s your opinion about Azhar Ali as ODI captain under Misbah recommendation, select someone 44 years in PSL, against the inclusion of Shaheen......
Also Sami Aslam is a timid player and is useless in high pressure games. He was good for test captain compare to Sarfraz but is a absolute failure in ODI.

PCB Cricket Committee meeting concludes

The Pakistan Cricket Board’s Cricket Committee held a lengthy meeting on Friday to review the performances of the senior men, women, U19 and U16 national sides over the past three years.

Over the course of the meeting Pakistan head coach Mickey Arthur, former chief selector Inzamam ul Haq, and Sarfaraz Ahmed provided their assessment and feedback on the senior men’s team’s performances.

The committee chaired by PCB Managing Director Wasim Khan decided to reconvene – via a conference call – early next week to finalise the recommendations, which will be sent to the PCB Chairman, Ehsan Mani, later in the next week.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/O2Lj2V4cfj0" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Like who?

He has done nothing

We need a change

Could you post a link to Wasim Khan's interview?

Arthur, Sarfraz are satisfied with their performance

Pakistan team captain Sarfraz Ahmed has shown satisfaction over his performance as team’s captain during the last three years.

“I am satisfied with my performance as the team’s captain. The team performed really well in last matches of World Cup against top teams,” Sarfraz told the cricket committee which held its meeting at Gaddafi Stadium on Friday.

Sarfraz along with Mickey Arthur attended the first high-profile meeting of Pakistan Cricket Board’s (PCB) cricket committee. According to the sources, they both were clearly satisfied with their performance.

On the other hand, ex-chief selector Inzamam-ul-Haq also attended the meeting and presented a report based on his performance during the last three years.

“During my tenure, players like Hasan Ali, Shadab Khan, and Fakhar Zaman came under the limelight. I had tried my best to provide equal opportunities to the players,” he told the cricket committee.

It is pertinent to mention here that cricket committee headed by MD Wasim Khan conducted a meeting to overview the performance of Pakistan U19, U16, men’s and women’s cricket teams.

The advisory committee will brief the PCB’s chairman Ehsan Mani about the meeting and will suggest Mani on several issues including the appointment of captain, coaching staff and selection committee

https://arysports.tv/arthur-sarfraz-satisfied-with-performance/

Sarfraz needs to look at his own garbage performances in last two years. He has batted like a tailender

A captain who shows no leadership qualites as a player doesn't deserve to be the captain even if you are the most smartest cricketer out there.

Like who?

really? SSA, Naseem Shah, Hussnain, Moosa, Arshad Iqbal, (Harris Rauf to the list but he is all Qalandar's product but just adding as he is the future of white ball and a bright one) .. yes, only SSA is currently close to a finish product but NCA and Muddasar has played a vital role .. with proper furthur training and domestic expereince, these guys will come good

How is Mudassar getting credit for hasnain and moosa? And ssa????

Seriously?Musa ,husnain have specially mentioned mudassar nazar name for their fast development in fast bowling.

There are numerous other things which was stopped when he was not in pcb .like u13 ,u16 and several other programs which was started in his tenured now once again in full swing due to his return in pcb.

Mudassar nazar was coach in icc academy with numerous coaching degree from icc so i don't know what you are on about and which outstanding coach is waiting in the wing to replace him .

Seriously?Musa ,husnain have specially mentioned mudassar nazar name for their fast development in fast bowling.

There are numerous other things which was stopped when he was not in pcb .like u13 ,u16 and several other programs which was started in his tenured now once again in full swing due to his return in pcb.

Mudassar nazar was coach in icc academy with numerous coaching degree from icc so i don't know what you are on about and which outstanding coach is waiting in the wing to replace him .

Links to Musa and hasnain naming mudassar?

The meeting lasted from 5 pm to 12 pm lol. I think the reason why they choose that time slot was because Wasim Akram was in Canada and it is during that time slot it is early morning in Canada.

But lol what could they have discussed for 7 long hours. A meeting like this shouldn't really be more than 3-4 hours long. I can bet my bottom dollar everyone took breaks in the middle washroom breaks, chai breaks, gossiped about their lives, aaj kya khaya etc

The meeting lasted from 5 pm to 12 pm lol. I think the reason why they choose that time slot was because Wasim Akram was in Canada and it is during that time slot it is early morning in Canada.

But lol what could they have discussed for 7 long hours. A meeting like this shouldn't really be more than 3-4 hours long. I can bet my bottom dollar everyone took breaks in the middle washroom breaks, chai breaks, gossiped about their lives, aaj kya khaya etc

Looking at the people involved, I couldn't see that happening. Sure there would be breaks, but Wasim Khan is really passionate about cricket, especially Pakistani cricket, and it can be really infectious, particularly for people like Urooj and Misbah who must be rubbing their eyes at the thought of dealing with professional and motivated people who want the best for Pakistan cricket. It's a really exciting time for Pakistan cricket, I'm hoping it was one of those meeting where you don't clock watch and it naturally flows over time.

Wasim Khan at a presser:

I stepped down as the Chairman of the Cricket Committee. Despite a lot of frantic calls from people, I hadn't resigned as the CEO which some people thought. It was always intended when Mohsin Khan stepped down that I would do it on an interim basis. It's not ideal if your CEO is also your Cricket Committee Chairman. I will remain on the Committee, it remains an advisory committee to the board. We're looking at 2-3 members to include including a new, independent chairman, an ex-cricketer. We want to revamp the committee and have the next meeting before the Bangladesh series and plan a calendar year where we meet 4 times. Wasim Akram will stay on the committee, Urooj Mumtaz will also remain as the Women's representative. We will be looking at other reps. Currently, we have too many people from PCB there so that will change and it will be ready for January.

According to some media reports, Iqbal Qasim is in the running to be the Chairman of the Cricket Committee.

He is a vocal critic of the decision to remove departments from the system, so not sure how that's going to work...

According to some media reports, Iqbal Qasim is in the running to be the Chairman of the Cricket Committee.

He is a vocal critic of the decision to remove departments from the system, so not sure how that's going to work...

Oh my god.

Imran Farhat and Faisal Iqbal will be making a comeback then.

Mansoor Qadir appointed PCB Election Commissioner

Lahore, 8 September 2025:

Mansoor Qadir, retired PMS Officer (BS -21) has been appointed as the Election Commissioner of the Pakistan Cricket Board. The appointment was made by the PCB Patron and Prime Minister Shahbaz Sharif in accordance with Article 29 of the PCB Constitution 2014.

After assuming charge of his office, Mansoor Qadir called on Chairman PCB Mohsin Naqvi and apprised him of his responsibilities. Chairman PCB expressed that Mansoor Qadir would discharge his duties with commitment and integrity.