PCB defends scheduling of first Test against Sri Lanka in Rawalpindi

PCB defends staging first SL Test in Pindi

RAWALPINDI: Pakistan Cricket Board, in a press release issued here on Friday, tried to defend the scheduling of the historic first Test against Sri Lanka in Pindi after nearly two thirds of the Test match has got washed out or cancelled due to bad light so far, thus depriving thousands of fans who had thronged stadium on all three days to witness some exciting Test cricket.

The PCB explained that according to the original FTP schedule, Sri Lanka should have been here for the white-ball cricket, while they would have completed their red-ball assignment in September/October. However, the matches were swapped to give the SLC a little taste and flavor that Pakistan was safe to play cricket.

The PCB’s strategy worked as Sri Lanka are now here for the WTC Tests. The release further said that this time of the year, only Karachi and Rawalpindi could stage Tests as Lahore is not available due to smog and rains and Multan and Peshawar are in the upgradation process.

“If Karachi had staged the first Test, it would have been impossible to allow any cricket in Rawalpindi due to extreme weather conditions from mid-December onwards. The first Test against Sri Lanka couldn’t start before Dec 11 as the Pakistan cricket team only returned from Australia on Dec 6.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1522088/pcb-defends-staging-first-sl-test-in-pindi

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Valid question - why have the first Test match in Rawalpindi given the weather there in December <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PAKvSL?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PAKvSL</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1205543607228342272?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">December 13, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Looking at all the factors, both Tests could just have been scheduled in Karachi - only realistic option.

According to some that there will be another test match in Rawalpindi(Bangladesh tour) :)

When I posted after Day 1 that someone should lose his job in PCB for scheduling a Test match in north most venue of PAK in middle of December - there was lots of “reactions”. By Day 4, I believe I have more friends & followers now.

And, I didn’t even had that data of Test matches in December in north PAK - I just used my common sense of venues at around 30-35 degree north & month of December, that too surrounded by Karakoram range!!!! Have been following PAK cricket for almost 4 decades now - enough to realise how stupid and incompetent a professional organisation can be!!!!!!!

At least this time I hope the excuses will be more professional - three of the gems I can quote from history:

1998 - when that famous ZIM series was lost with both Lahore & Faisalabad Test being almost fogged out .... one PCB guy informed - “Allah ke marzi se barish hoti hai ya dhoop nikalti hai....”

2001 - that PAK- ENG series was played on absolute shocker of wickets and conditions. Poms drew first two Tests some how and then won at Karachi on a 450 overs Test in magrib wakth, to win a series that they should have lost 3-0!!!!! So, PAK management (forgot who was coach - Javed may be) raised a question of the wicket & condition. PCB’s response - “jo khelna janta hai, kisi ki wickto ya condition may match jeet shakta hai ....”. So true.....

2006 - this time from PCB Chief (SK). That famous Lahore Test ended in a draw after less than 250 overs were possible in 5 days and PAK scoring 678/6d, India 420/1 ... with the scoring rate being around 5 for that Test. So, this time Indian management raised a little “concern” on the wicket, being politically correct. Shahriar explained that in the month of January, due to bad weather & and lack of sun shine, groundsmen couldn't prepare the wickets and it got flat (over prepared)!!!!!

I hope this time someone at PCB will stand up and swallow the bitter pill to accept a mistake, which is a rare case for PCB - admitting that something they could have done better. It’s a Test in PAK after 127 months, so already PCB has done almost a miracle, kudos to them - a little humbleness will get things better for next time; otherwise we’ll be stuck in the same loop.

Sorry for my rant - good night. At least there is one more Test taking place in a Friday night.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Valid question - why have the first Test match in Rawalpindi given the weather there in December <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PAKvSL?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PAKvSL</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1205543607228342272?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">December 13, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Looking at all the factors, both Tests could just have been scheduled in Karachi - only realistic option.

Well you have to understand the limitations PCB had to work with. With the over the top security arrangements that are going into these matches I would think that the commissioner of Karachi wouldn't be willing to expend so many resources. The politicians would have loved it if it allowed them to claim credit.

Also preparing the ground and pitch for a test match does take some time after going through 5 days of cricket.

When I posted after Day 1 that someone should lose his job in PCB for scheduling a Test match in north most venue of PAK in middle of December - there was lots of “reactions”. By Day 4, I believe I have more friends & followers now.

And, I didn’t even had that data of Test matches in December in north PAK - I just used my common sense of venues at around 30-35 degree north & month of December, that too surrounded by Karakoram range!!!! Have been following PAK cricket for almost 4 decades now - enough to realise how stupid and incompetent a professional organisation can be!!!!!!!

At least this time I hope the excuses will be more professional - three of the gems I can quote from history:

1998 - when that famous ZIM series was lost with both Lahore & Faisalabad Test being almost fogged out .... one PCB guy informed - “Allah ke marzi se barish hoti hai ya dhoop nikalti hai....”

2001 - that PAK- ENG series was played on absolute shocker of wickets and conditions. Poms drew first two Tests some how and then won at Karachi on a 450 overs Test in magrib wakth, to win a series that they should have lost 3-0!!!!! So, PAK management (forgot who was coach - Javed may be) raised a question of the wicket & condition. PCB’s response - “jo khelna janta hai, kisi ki wickto ya condition may match jeet shakta hai ....”. So true.....

2006 - this time from PCB Chief (SK). That famous Lahore Test ended in a draw after less than 250 overs were possible in 5 days and PAK scoring 678/6d, India 420/1 ... with the scoring rate being around 5 for that Test. So, this time Indian management raised a little “concern” on the wicket, being politically correct. Shahriar explained that in the month of January, due to bad weather & and lack of sun shine, groundsmen couldn't prepare the wickets and it got flat (over prepared)!!!!!

I hope this time someone at PCB will stand up and swallow the bitter pill to accept a mistake, which is a rare case for PCB - admitting that something they could have done better. It’s a Test in PAK after 127 months, so already PCB has done almost a miracle, kudos to them - a little humbleness will get things better for next time; otherwise we’ll be stuck in the same loop.

Sorry for my rant - good night. At least there is one more Test taking place in a Friday night.

Bro.i agreed with you!
Why hold tests in the middle of winter anyway?

Have a feeling that SLC said no Lahore - find us another venue - safe one.

:))):))) What a response!

I was a diehard fan of Pakistan cricket for over 37 years, but now i am losing all interest in it.
I was a huge fan of football even before i was a fan of cricket , but i lost interest in that too, because of the drop in standards, i havent watched much football in the last decade, apart from world cups and barca and madrid, i think i will end up watching only cricket WCs and World t20s.

Poor on the PCB's part if they can't even persuade them into playing in Lahore. Lahore's probably the safest city in Pakistan (a lot more safer than in 2009). Also, Pakistan should look to build a stadium in Bahria Town, Lahore. BT is definitely a lot safer than mainland Lahore so that'll give the Sri Lankans a lot more assurance

I was a diehard fan of Pakistan cricket for over 37 years, but now i am losing all interest in it.
I was a huge fan of football even before i was a fan of cricket , but i lost interest in that too, because of the drop in standards, i havent watched much football in the last decade, apart from world cups and barca and madrid, i think i will end up watching only cricket WCs and World t20s.

Ok and?
iirc, you said you don't even care about test matches. Then why are you complaining about this?

Poor on the PCB's part if they can't even persuade them into playing in Lahore. Lahore's probably the safest city in Pakistan (a lot more safer than in 2009) or Pakistan should try to build a stadium in Bahria Town, Lahore. BT is definitely a lot safer than mainland Lahore so that'll give the Sri Lankans a lot more assurance

PSD - To convince SL to play in a venue where they narrowly escaped with their lives last time they played there would have been too much to ask.

Bro.i agreed with you!
Why hold tests in the middle of winter anyway?

I wrote this actually after reading PCB’s explanation.

I understand every circumstances, but - you can’t schedule a Test match with official timing of 9:45 to 4:45 + half an hour extension, when Magrib Azan is at around 4:55!!!! I am not sure which two Test matches brought results here (North PAK, December), probably one in 1990s against ZIM or WIN, and one against us in 2003 .... so, you got the clue.

If it was logistically challenging, then simply PCB should have scheduled both Tests at Karachi. I know it’s monotonous, but that at least can ensure that cricket is happening. It’s not new that same city has arranged multiple Tests - London has two venues, and FGS last year they hosted three Tests in space of three months. Colombo has four Test venues, because during their civil war period, they used to host every cricket within 10-12 KM of Colombo & Moratua. Before Brisbane in 1928, ACB used to host 5 Test Ashes in 3 venues - 2 at MCG, 2 at SCG and one at Adelaide.

Even shifting venue is not new - WIN being a cricket team of several nations, still I can recall at least 4-5 times a Test match was rescheduled at 11th hour to other venue, or they simply altered the schedule. Old Bourda ground was below sea level, hence they had flooding problem and it was quite common that at last moment either they had shifted the Guyana Test to PoSpain or just swapped schedule. And, at least 2 Tests at Antigua was cancelled after some play due to risky wicket ... and they just started a new Test somewhere else a day or two later.

This is why, I have to say - PCB is forced to arrange Test matches; no thought process, no planning ... in fact no intension to make it exciting. They just go through the motion - if it was a T20 series, I can bet my house, we won’t have ended so bitter - if required they would have chartered whole lot from Pindi to Karachi and conduct the grand show, some how, even at 13th hour.

The bottom line is - we need that fu*king red ball rolling, no matter what !!!!!

PSD - To convince SL to play in a venue where they narrowly escaped with their lives last time they played there would have been too much to ask.

Didn't they play a t20i in Lahore though?
But I guess having a Test match would give them flashbacks

Pakistan just doesn't have the management to host a test match.
Overnight rain was the reason we didn't get any day's play today. How poor can your drainage system be?
Should just play in the UAE until we fix our stadiums

Poor arrangements overall

It has been a farce, should have played it in UAE otherwise both matches in Karachi

Poor on the PCB's part if they can't even persuade them into playing in Lahore. Lahore's probably the safest city in Pakistan (a lot more safer than in 2009). Also, Pakistan should look to build a stadium in Bahria Town, Lahore. BT is definitely a lot safer than mainland Lahore so that'll give the Sri Lankans a lot more assurance

From article: The PCB’s strategy worked as Sri Lanka are now here for the WTC Tests. The release further said that this time of the year, only Karachi and Rawalpindi could stage Tests as Lahore is not available due to smog and rains and Multan and Peshawar are in the upgradation process.

Lol.
Looks like we're just not ready to host a test match.
Should have played in the UAE instead.
If some overnight rain's going to be the reason you lose a day of cricket, you know you should have your hosting rights stripped

I think one option can be play pink ball day tests if you have play in december january in the northern cities. That way they can play on after sundown and dew won't be that big of a problem..

Without having proper planning and infrastructure how can u host a test match? At last it leads to embarrassment.

I understand every circumstances, but - you can’t schedule a Test match with official timing of 9:45 to 4:45 + half an hour extension, when Magrib Azan is at around 4:55!!!! I am not sure which two Test matches brought results here (North PAK, December), probably one in 1990s against ZIM or WIN, and one against us in 2003 .... so, you got the clue.

If it was logistically challenging, then simply PCB should have scheduled both Tests at Karachi. I know it’s monotonous, but that at least can ensure that cricket is happening. It’s not new that same city has arranged multiple Tests - London has two venues, and FGS last year they hosted three Tests in space of three months. Colombo has four Test venues, because during their civil war period, they used to host every cricket within 10-12 KM of Colombo & Moratua. Before Brisbane in 1928, ACB used to host 5 Test Ashes in 3 venues - 2 at MCG, 2 at SCG and one at Adelaide.

Even shifting venue is not new - WIN being a cricket team of several nations, still I can recall at least 4-5 times a Test match was rescheduled at 11th hour to other venue, or they simply altered the schedule. Old Bourda ground was below sea level, hence they had flooding problem and it was quite common that at last moment either they had shifted the Guyana Test to PoSpain or just swapped schedule. And, at least 2 Tests at Antigua was cancelled after some play due to risky wicket ... and they just started a new Test somewhere else a day or two later.

This is why, I have to say - PCB is forced to arrange Test matches; no thought process, no planning ... in fact no intension to make it exciting. They just go through the motion - if it was a T20 series, I can bet my house, we won’t have ended so bitter - if required they would have chartered whole lot from Pindi to Karachi and conduct the grand show, some how, even at 13th hour.

The bottom line is - we need that fu*king red ball rolling, no matter what !!!!!

I don't think they could host multiple Tests in the same city.

They've been exhausting Karachi's security resources over the past year (PSL, ODIs). You have to split the burden or it becomes unreasonable on everyone.

I feel bad for the PCB because setting up the tour was difficult with all of the limitations.

And pakistan needed to prove that pindi was viable for the future, weve already done that in lahore and karachi. Next is multan, then peshawar/quetta, maybe muzaffarabad.

I think one option can be play pink ball day tests if you have play in december january in the northern cities. That way they can play on after sundown and dew won't be that big of a problem..

You can’t - I can explain the reason scientifically, but I guess we’ll have to wait till PCB tries that in future for a proof.

This rain has has just allowed an excuse to PCB for saving their face, otherwise you could have seen the mockery of gamesmanship here. This is the 3rd millennium- no one gives a damn middle finger about sportsmanship. In a Test where you know that max you can get 330-350 overs and absolutely no space to extend play - whichever side is slightly behind will adopt unfair tactics to waste time. I can recall one Test in early 1990s vs WIN (Lahore) - they were in strong position at start of 4th innings, so they bowled abound 23 overs in 90+ minutes.... next day Imran & Masud Anwar (?) put a resistance and at one point it got a bit too close - WIN bowled 19 overs in almost two hours until umpires offered light - that’s in 90s, now you’ll see players faking injury to bring ambulances and some how take the game to 4:20pm.....

Look, I sound oxymoron because I can see few things. Being a Bangladeshi, living in Toronto, two months back when I came to know that SRL will travel to PAK and play two Tests there - my first post was : why Rawalpindi in December? This is science, you don’t need to be a genius to figure it out if you know the game. Few years back, I saw another stupendous stupidity from PCB - they brought Tea earlier, so that “... jayada se jayada cricket achhi roshni ke wakt may khela jaye ....”. Such an idiotic plan, when you need 6 hours + 30 minutes day light and, you have maximum 5 hours available.

There are only two solutions here - first one is to develop at least three-four southern venues - Karachi (2), Hyderabad (Don’t know why Niaz stadium didn’t host Cricket these days, Javed’s 280* was scored there), and one at Gwadar may be. Then, you can start Test matches at 9 am even in December and extend play till 4:30pm for full 90 overs. Northern venues can be compensated with games in their better day light time - August-Sep, Mar-May (I know about heat in PAK, which is another Bull Sh!t excuse - they are playing at Perth right now at 48C ground temperature).

Second one is to reschedule domestic Callander - white ball cricket doesn’t need day light, PSL can be arranged between Nov-Dec and that’s actually better for PCB - the more distant PSL is from IPL, the better. This will open the best period of cricket in PAK - Feb - May. They can arrange few LO domestic tournaments between Sep- Oct, then the grand show between Nov-Dec, a week’s break and by mid January start the FC season for 4/5 month’s uninterrupted cricket. And, this’ll help PAK players participating in domestic FC more as well - other all important mega events like BPL, BBL, Qatar League, UAE League, Afghan Leagues ... still haven’t invaded that small window between Feb- May, from the fear of IPL; but it’s not touching PAK players as they are not welcomed to IPL.

There is a 3rd solution as well, and I dare to say which has brought PAK cricket to this minnow level after 7 decades of glory (though I am sure [MENTION=132916]Junaids[/MENTION] won’t agree with me here) - make wickets such that 300 overs are enough for a direct result in four innings game. Unfortunately, that’s where the problem started - those wickets make Awais Zia more valuable than Babar Azam (a blind slogged 65 is match winner there, instead of trying to build an innings over 6 hours - when you’ll hardly survive more than two hours) ....and Kashif Bhatti or Sadaf Khan more potent than Mo Asif (you can check their domestic stats). I suggests, better don’t go to that route.

I sincerely hope Wasim Khan is reading my disgusted rant, written at 3:30 am.

I don't think they could host multiple Tests in the same city.

They've been exhausting Karachi's security resources over the past year (PSL, ODIs). You have to split the burden or it becomes unreasonable on everyone.

I feel bad for the PCB because setting up the tour was difficult with all of the limitations.

When a nation goes through a crisis - you need sacrifice; you need big hearts from some corner. This was the biggest crisis for PAK cricket since 1947 .....

It’s not ideal for sure, but still it was a better show than what is happening now. If Karachi can’t manage 35 people for less than 3 weeks, why are we expecting six weeks of PSL in PAK over four venues with six teams, several foreigners, ICC, media & production people?

If our home Tests will be from Oct-Dec, then maybe in future December Tests should all be Day-Night

You can’t - I can explain the reason scientifically, but I guess we’ll have to wait till PCB tries that in future for a proof.

This rain has has just allowed an excuse to PCB for saving their face, otherwise you could have seen the mockery of gamesmanship here. This is the 3rd millennium- no one gives a damn middle finger about sportsmanship. In a Test where you know that max you can get 330-350 overs and absolutely no space to extend play - whichever side is slightly behind will adopt unfair tactics to waste time. I can recall one Test in early 1990s vs WIN (Lahore) - they were in strong position at start of 4th innings, so they bowled abound 23 overs in 90+ minutes.... next day Imran & Masud Anwar (?) put a resistance and at one point it got a bit too close - WIN bowled 19 overs in almost two hours until umpires offered light - that’s in 90s, now you’ll see players faking injury to bring ambulances and some how take the game to 4:20pm.....

Look, I sound oxymoron because I can see few things. Being a Bangladeshi, living in Toronto, two months back when I came to know that SRL will travel to PAK and play two Tests there - my first post was : why Rawalpindi in December? This is science, you don’t need to be a genius to figure it out if you know the game. Few years back, I saw another stupendous stupidity from PCB - they brought Tea earlier, so that “... jayada se jayada cricket achhi roshni ke wakt may khela jaye ....”. Such an idiotic plan, when you need 6 hours + 30 minutes day light and, you have maximum 5 hours available.

There are only two solutions here - first one is to develop at least three-four southern venues - Karachi (2), Hyderabad (Don’t know why Niaz stadium didn’t host Cricket these days, Javed’s 280* was scored there), and one at Gwadar may be. Then, you can start Test matches at 9 am even in December and extend play till 4:30pm for full 90 overs. Northern venues can be compensated with games in their better day light time - August-Sep, Mar-May (I know about heat in PAK, which is another Bull Sh!t excuse - they are playing at Perth right now at 48C ground temperature).

Second one is to reschedule domestic Callander - white ball cricket doesn’t need day light, PSL can be arranged between Nov-Dec and that’s actually better for PCB - the more distant PSL is from IPL, the better. This will open the best period of cricket in PAK - Feb - May. They can arrange few LO domestic tournaments between Sep- Oct, then the grand show between Nov-Dec, a week’s break and by mid January start the FC season for 4/5 month’s uninterrupted cricket. And, this’ll help PAK players participating in domestic FC more as well - other all important mega events like BPL, BBL, Qatar League, UAE League, Afghan Leagues ... still haven’t invaded that small window between Feb- May, from the fear of IPL; but it’s not touching PAK players as they are not welcomed to IPL.

There is a 3rd solution as well, and I dare to say which has brought PAK cricket to this minnow level after 7 decades of glory (though I am sure [MENTION=132916]Junaids[/MENTION] won’t agree with me here) - make wickets such that 300 overs are enough for a direct result in four innings game. Unfortunately, that’s where the problem started - those wickets make Awais Zia more valuable than Babar Azam (a blind slogged 65 is match winner there, instead of trying to build an innings over 6 hours - when you’ll hardly survive more than two hours) ....and Kashif Bhatti or Sadaf Khan more potent than Mo Asif (you can check their domestic stats). I suggests, better don’t go to that route.

Pure POTW stuff.

Btw when things get better we can use places like Abbottabad and other northern places for cricket in summers. Heard about a stadium in Abbottabad. Don’t if it’s complete, under construction or proposed.

Excellent posts. PCB in a hurry to bring cricket back to Pakistan messed up the arrangements.

[MENTION=93712]MenInG[/MENTION] [MENTION=9]Saj[/MENTION] POTW stuff here.

Should have just played both matches in Karachi.

Lahore wasn't an option due to fog during December and January, it had nothing to do with security concerns. You just can't play test cricket in Punjab during the winter.

You just have to look at your own history for this. Test cricket simply can't be played in the months of December /January. You either play in September - October or April - May in Pakistan. The difference is stark actually. Take, for example , the 1998 Australian tour of Pakistan . That test series was played in October and you had enough overs bowled in that series. Zimbabwe tour started in the last week of November and the last two tests hardly saw any cricket. 2002 NZ tour of Pakistan and the 2004 India tour of Pakistan were in that April - May season. Again, the conditions were very good for cricket and enough overs were bowled. As [MENTION=79064]MMHS[/MENTION] said you don't need to be a genius to figure that out.

Ideally , the test series with Lanka should have happened in September and the the limited overs leg now or they should have just played in the UAE. The funny thing is December /January is an ideal time to play test cricket in UAE where Pakistan regularly played in October/November instead.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Not quite the return of Test cricket that was hoped for <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PakvSL?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PakvSL</a> <a href="https://t.co/LXb4xzISuq">pic.twitter.com/LXb4xzISuq</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1205799576822792192?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">December 14, 2019</a></blockquote>

RAWALPINDI: Although the rainy season here has played havoc with the historic Pakistan vs Sri Lanka match of the ICC World Test Championship, the enthusiasm of cricket fans has been a salient feature, particularly among the youngsters.

Despite being Saturday’s fourth day also falling prey to the weather, the spectators — who understandably are very few in numbers — made their way into the Pindi Cricket Stadium with the hope of watching at least some action, while braving the chilly winds and light drizzle.

A group of girls — all of whom are students of the Fatima Jinnah Women’s College in Rawalpindi — were second time lucky in entering the near-empty stadium in spite of the fact they won’t be seeing any cricket.

“We were here on Wednesday as well but didn’t get the opportunity to see the game because the ground authorities refused us entry by stating ‘just go away because the enclosure is full’. That was very upsetting since we’ve come here to see our stars play in front of us,” they told Dawn just before heading towards the stands.

Hira Liaqat, who along with Sadia Azam and Iqra Zainab are all first semester software engineering batch-mates, said she is a fan of Shaheen Shah Afridi but her favourite cricketer is former Pakistan captain Sarfraz Ahmed.

“In fact, I’m not the only one who likes Sarfraz, both Sadia and Iqra also are ardent fans of Sarfraz. We love him because he’s very cute with a great smile!”

Auqudas Zahra, who is a student in the department of chemistry at the same varsity, expressed mixed emotions when she quipped: “At the onset we were looking forward to being part of history. But the rain and bad light not only curtailed the Test but also dampened our spirits. After being turned away on the first day, we were desperate to see the game today but it all ended like a bad dream.”

Asfandyar Ali, Haroon Naeem, Faisal Sajjad, Talha Afzal and Ali Haider are all close friends studying at the Comsats University in Islamabad. Just before Saturday’s play was abandoned, these young boys were in jovial mood as they made their way towards the stand.

“We are very, very excited to be here and are looking forward to have first glimpses of our Pakistan players,” Asfandyar said while his pals nodded in agreement. “It is just great for our country to be hosting Test cricket again after so many years. This is our first time at the Pindi Cricket Stadium but we saw the last Test played in Rawalpindi when India won in 2006. Then all of us were too young to remember but we did see Rahul Dravid score 270 on TV.”

But all these youngsters were left disappointed shortly afterwards when the play was called off for the day.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1522281/bad-weather-leaves-enthusiastic-cricket-fans-dejected

I think realistically they didn’t have a choice. Can’t keep playing all matches in Karachi. Lahore has smog, the others are not ready and pindi is a good sporting wicket. Rain can’t be helped but it could have been a day night test or some arrangement that lights and pink ball will be used later in the day.

I think pcb are desperate to show pak is safe and this trumps everything even quality of cricket.

Why don't they start matches earlier, since the sun sets so early during winters? Why aren't 9 AM starts an option. Just 70 overs on a day without rain or bad weather is disgusting.

Too much dew in the morning

I would have liked to have seen one test played in Gujranwala.

Should have just played both matches in Karachi.

That wouldve delayed the proving of pindi's safety before the psl to the security heads, who are the main people we have to keep proving to that pakistan is safe.

Hira Liaqat, who along with Sadia Azam and Iqra Zainab are all first semester software engineering batch-mates, said she is a fan of Shaheen Shah Afridi but her favourite cricketer is former Pakistan captain Sarfraz Ahmed.

“In fact, I’m not the only one who likes Sarfraz, both Sadia and Iqra also are ardent fans of Sarfraz. We love him because he’s very cute with a great smile!”

Kya baat hai :sarf2

That wouldve delayed the proving of pindi's safety before the psl to the security heads, who are the main people we have to keep proving to that pakistan is safe.

What's more important, Test cricket returning after 10 years or a few matches in the PSL.

International cricket at every venue for the fans is important.

Not if that stadium is in a pretty poor state and ridiculous pictures of concrete slabs which are seats are seen around the world.

The security required would have meant 2 weeks of disruption to the locals and local economy. And We have had test matches in Pindi before in December.

Sacrifices have to be made I guess, given what's at stake.

Sadly apart from the last day the Pindi Test has flopped.

I think as a rule, Multan, Hyderabad and Karachi should be test venues from Nov to Feb

Well the PCB limited their options due to poor planning and a lack of urgency in getting stadiums ready that could have been options for this series.

That is true, lots of corruption in who was chosen to fix up these stadiums. None of it is ever done on time, as witnessed when the national stadium roof was completed midway in between games.

Javed afridi even said before the psl 5 draft that all of their foreign players were willing to play in Peshawar but the stadium completion date was delayed.

A bit of hard luck as well for PCB. It was bright and sunny on Sunday and on Monday. The forecast is clear on the next couple of days as well.

Pcb is unprofessional to the core , there are people sitting there who are not only incompetitive but also goo arrogant to accept their faults.

A bit of hard luck as well for PCB. It was bright and sunny on Sunday and on Monday. The forecast is clear on the next couple of days as well.

Bro , you cant get more that 70 over a day in rwp in december , thats a fact.

So the weather is PCBs fault? LOL

In december you cant get more than 70 overs per day in rwp , rain or no rain , you wont get more than 350 overs in pindi in december. You need to have a look at pindi/ islamabad december domestic matches last year and the year before and there lies the answer. The choice of venue in december is pcbs fault.

I think, PCB has lots of excuses, which might be valid to some extent, but they (Read WK, he is the operation manager now, there is no Subhan) can’t get away with one issue - at least 50% of the play was lost not because of weather or poor day-light; rather because of lack of basic facilities like drainage & drying system.

I come from Bangladesh, whose cricket season is pushed now in to the monsoon - from June to September, therefore I do understand that one can’t help much if it rains; but here PCB simply wasn’t prepared enough to host a Test at Pindi. My first boss at World Bank was a Yank Jew, and a damn smart guy. First one on on meeting on day 1, he told me this :”.... M...., as a Project Manager, remember the first ground rule - Chance favours the prepared mind. You must cover your bases, must keep plan B in mind and must have a clue of what’ll be fall back plan if any risk is realised. That you can only do, if you have done your home work properly, have checked every relevant data, have studied previous records, trends and have discussed with subject matter experts”.

I have to say, WK was a big failure here - it doesn’t cost much to arrange basic facilities for a cricket board engaged in cricket management at highest level for 7 decades, that a grand occasion like such should end in a farce because of wet outfield under bright sunshine!!! I don’t blame WK alone for appointing Misbah as Godfather of PCT, but this one will go against him.

I think the main thing is that test cricket is back in Pakistan and that was the main goal for PCB at the moment. If that true they achieved it and slowly other things will also be in place.

Seems like one of the tests against BD will also be in Pindi. Weather may get better though around end of Jan or early Feb.

i think things change with the time. I used to be a crazy fan of cricket. Living abroad, we used to play every sunday. I could not wait for sunday to come so i can play. I used to think how i am gonna live without cricket. But now i have not played since last 3 years. Completely focusing on other duties. I even hardly watch now. just follow the score card. Losing interest as the time passing.

It as simply lack of professionalism and due to laziness. Lots of people in PCB drawing lots of salary for little work.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Javed Miandad on criticism of PCB for scheduling the 1st Test in Pindi "If people have some divine connection & they can tell what the weather will be like when tours are being arranged, they should contact PCB. If not, then it's best not to talk such rubbish" <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PAKvSL?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PAKvSL</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Cricket</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1207007730692702208?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">December 17, 2019</a></blockquote>