Permission for Muslims to conduct Friday prayers has been revoked in India’s Gurugram city

Why not if these Indians are public?

For any group activities, if the local public does complain, then jurisdiction will stop it. It doesn't matter which religion it belongs.

If local Muslims complain about activities from others religion disrupting their day to day life, then that would be stop too.

For any group activities, if the local public does complain, then jurisdiction will stop it. It doesn't matter which religion it belongs.

If local Muslims complain about activities from others religion disrupting their day to day life, then that would be stop too.

So does this mean that if the 'local' Muslims complain that they're being denied their fundamental right to peaceful prayer regardless of public space or not, then jurisdiction will stop it?

From the reports, all I can see is that right wing mobs are the ones that have put a stop to it cos the authorities are powerless to face up to them or are in cahoots with them.

Disrupting day to day life? Its only Friday afternoon's dude. I'm also sure that they would have taken great care to ensure minimal disruption as far as possible, all Jum'ah sermons promote, teach and encourage this.

So does this mean that if the 'local' Muslims complain that they're being denied their fundamental right to peaceful prayer regardless of public space or not, then jurisdiction will stop it?

From the reports, all I can see is that right wing mobs are the ones that have put a stop to it cos the authorities are powerless to face up to them or are in cahoots with them.

Disrupting day to day life? Its only Friday afternoon's dude. I'm also sure that they would have taken great care to ensure minimal disruption as far as possible, all Jum'ah sermons promote, teach and encourage this.

Let them complain. Then we can see what judgement jurisdiction brings.

Till now, only one party has complained.

Why not if these Indians are public?

Public places are not for daily religious activities. They don't belong to muslims but to everyone.

I can understand if this was being done for Eid or some festival. But every week? Thats not possible on a public place

Build a mosque and pray.

Muslims or anyone dont have the right to occupy public space for their religious activity.

Buy land and build a mosque. If they can't, ask the waqf board to do so.

Public places are not for daily religious activities. They don't belong to muslims but to everyone.

I can understand if this was being done for Eid or some festival. But every week? Thats not possible on a public place

Build a mosque and pray.

Muslims or anyone dont have the right to occupy public space for their religious activity.

Buy land and build a mosque. If they can't, ask the waqf board to do so.

The mobs would come back to put a stop to that. They're already busy burning existing mosques.

So if Muslims file a complain about mandir - are they getting lynched first before being ask to move to Pakistan?

File a complaint about mandir? For what? Is a mandir a public place or a private place of worship of a religion?

Dec 3 (Thomson Reuters Foundation) - Friday afternoons are a time for communal prayer for Muslims in the northern Indian city of Gurugram, who over the years had negotiated with local authorities to pray in parks and empty plots of land as they outgrew their mosques.

But recent protests by Hindu groups, sometimes preventing prayers as banner-carrying members shouted slogans, have disrupted the arrangement - prompting city officials to withdraw permission for some of the sites used by Muslim worshippers.

The protests, and orders to remove street vendors selling meat-based snacks in several cities in Gujarat state, reflect a broader fight for shared spaces as religious minorities are increasingly denied equal access, urban experts said.

India’s religious divisions have deepened under the Hindu nationalist government of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, with civil society groups accusing authorities in several states of favouring Hindu groups over minority communities.

“Space is limited, so there is always a question of how it can be made available for different activities, and different groups,” said Prerna Mehta, an associate director of urban development at World Resources Institute India, a think-tank.

“But there is a certain hierarchy in how public spaces are distributed and accessed in the city: often, poorer sections and minority communities have fewer spaces and more limited access,” she told the Thomson Reuters Foundation.

Muslims account for about 14% of India’s population of 1.3 billion, with Hindus making up about 80%.

Across the country, public spaces are often taken over by informal settlers, street vendors, for children’s games, festival celebrations, wedding processions and political rallies.

In Gurugram, near the Indian capital Delhi, designated public areas for namaz, the Persian word for prayer, have halved to about 20 as Hindu groups claimed the spaces for games and other activities, saying religion should not be practised there.

“The Friday prayer takes hardly 30 minutes, and it is the only time - apart from festivals - when we need a large space because there aren’t enough mosques to hold us,” said Shehzad Khan, chairman of Muslim Ekta Manch, a charity group.

“Public spaces are for everyone, and we have been praying like this for more than a decade without inconveniencing anyone. If religious activities are not allowed, then authorities should not allow any Hindu festivities, either,” he said.

A senior official in Gurugram said authorities were not being partial to Hindu groups.

“Muslim prayers are still being offered in many places - there have been protests in only two or three places,” said Yash Garg, deputy commissioner of Gurugram district.

“The community and the administration are committed to finding a peaceful resolution, and we are looking at all possible options,” he said, without giving further details.

Across Asia, public spaces have become battlegrounds pitting informal settlers, street vendors and other marginalised communities against elite residents and authorities who say they are removing vendors and settlements to beautify the city.

In Gujarat, Modi’s home state, authorities in at least four cities have ordered the removal of street vendors selling non-vegetarian food.

Some officials have said the food stalls offended Hindus, but state Chief Minister Bhupendra Patel said last month the orders were not discriminatory, aiming instead to unclutter crowded streets and boost food hygiene standards.

“People are free to eat whatever they want. But the food being sold at stalls should not be harmful, and the stalls should not obstruct traffic flow,” he told reporters.

Across the country, human rights activists have reported a rise in mob lynchings and hate crimes against Muslims and low-caste Dalits during Modi’s tenure - a charge the government has denied.

Events marking Hindu festivals have become more belligerent, too, the campaigners say.

Such incidents reflect “a clear disregard to any restraint on religious manifestations in public spaces when it comes to Hindus”, said Neha Dabhade, a deputy director at the Centre for Study of Society and Secularism.

“Everyone should have equal access to public spaces in a way that does not cause inconvenience, but increasingly there is a competitive contestation that is communal in nature, and a feeling that Muslims should not be in public spaces,” she said.

In reducing the number of designated spaces for namaz, Muslims’ citizenship rights and their freedom to worship are being curbed, she said.

“It is part of a larger eco-system of marginalising minorities in the country,” she added.

These actions come even as federal and city officials have pledged to increase the amount of public space and make communal areas more accessible to improve residents’ health and quality of life.

Prolonged lockdowns during the coronavirus pandemic have highlighted the importance of outdoor public space in cities around the world.

In Gurugram, some Hindu residents have offered their homes and shops for namaz, and several Sikh groups have said Muslims can also pray in the gurduwara, the Sikh place of worship.

“This gives us hope,” said Khan, adding that they still hoped to resolve the matter amicably.

"The act of praying in the open should not be one that causes anxiety and concern. These spaces are for everyone - whether for prayer or a game of cricket, and should remain that way."

India: Hindu groups continue to disrupt Muslim prayers in Gurgaon

Found this article on Al-Jazeera very sad to hear.
Website link: https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2021...day-prayers-hindu-groups-islamophobia-haryana

For more than two months now, Hindu vigilantes have tried to stop the minority community from offering their prayers outside Indian capital.

A Hindu vigilante tries to stop an imam from offering prayers at Sector 37 in Gurugram near New Delhi [Vipin Kumar/Hindustan Times via Getty Images]
Published On 7 Dec 2021
7 Dec 2021
For more than two months now, right-wing Hindu groups have been protesting against Muslims offering Friday prayers in public spaces in Gurugram – less than an hour outside the Indian capital New Delhi – causing outrage and anxiety among the minority.

Last Friday, the demonstrators parked nearly a dozen trucks at one of the prayer sites in Sector 37 of Gurugram, which is better known by its older name Gurgaon, in the northern state of Haryana, which is governed by Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

KEEP READING
Muslims barred from Friday prayer sites in India’s Gurgaon
‘Hate won’: Indian Muslim comic says he’s ‘done’ after shows axed
Muslims in India’s Tripura remain in fear after mosques targeted
Why India is witnessing spike in attacks on Christians, churches
As a group of Muslims arrived for the weekly congregational prayers, a crowd of Hindu men began shouting religious slogans, including Hail Lord Ram, heckling the worshippers, and saying the prayers would not be allowed – all in the presence of heavy police security.

Gurugram, home to 1.1 million people, according to the 2011 census, is a financial and technology hub where numerous multinational companies have their offices. Less than 5 percent of its residents are Muslim.

Faced with a shortage of mosques, Gurugram’s Muslims had been offering their Friday prayers in parks and on empty lots for years with due approval from the authorities. About 100 such sites were earmarked for the purpose.

But persistent protests by Hindu groups have disrupted the prayers in recent months, prompting city officials to withdraw permission from most of the sites.

Muslims pray in Sector 37 parking area amid protests in Gurugram [Vipin Kumar/Hindustan Times via Getty Images]
‘No prayers here’
In a video that went viral last Friday, a Hindu vigilante named Dinesh Bharti was seen heckling a Muslim imam, identified as Shehzad Khan, saying in Hindi: “Namaz nahi hogi yahan (There won’t be any prayers here).” He was dragged away by the police and reportedly arrested later for instigation and disturbance of public peace.

Indian media reports said Bharti had been arrested on similar charges earlier as well.

Since mid-September, right-wing Hindu groups under the banner of Sanyukt Hindu Sangharsh Samiti (Joint Hindu Struggle Committee) have been disrupting Friday prayers across Gurugram, once by spreading cow dung over a site and at times by holding Hindu prayers instead.

“We are not against namaz (prayer) but we are against namaz being offered in public places,” Rajiv Mittal, spokesman of the umbrella group, told Al Jazeera.

“We have no problem with Muslims offering namaz in mosques, madrasas (religious schools) or on Waqf land or properties. We also have no problem if namaz is offered at anyone’s private property.”

Waqf refers to endowments made by a Muslim to a religious, educational or charitable cause.

Mittal said his organisation will not allow any prayers in public spaces in Gurgaon next Friday.

“We have given our ultimatum to the administration that we will not allow namaz [in the open] anywhere [in Gurugram] on December 10,” he told Al Jazeera.

However, Muslims say they have been praying in public spaces for years because of an “insufficient” number of mosques in the city.

“We are praying in open spaces because of compulsion, not because of choice,” Altaf Ahmad, co-founder of Gurgaon Muslim Council, told Al Jazeera.

“There are only 13 mosques functional in the entire Gurgaon region,” he said.

Ahmad said there were at least 108 open spaces in the city where Muslims prayed until three years ago. He said the first instance of disruption came in May 2018, reducing the number of sites for Friday prayers to 37.

“That number further shrank to about 20 last month,” he said.

Mufti Mohammad Saleem, president of the local chapter of Jamiat Ulema E-Hind, a leading organisation of Islamic scholars, told Al Jazeera that “namaz has not been happening even at those 20 designated sites because members of the right-wing groups have been coming there, blocking the sites or disrupting it”.

“Last Friday, namaz was offered at only 13 or 14 sites,” he said. “We are not sure whether they will allow namaz at any public space next Friday.”

Indian Muslims perform Friday prayers at an open ground in Gurugram [Pradeep Gaur/SOPA Images/LightRocket via Getty Images]
A recent report by the Scroll.in website said there are at least eight such “flashpoints” in the city, including the corporate blocks of Sector 43 and 44, the call centres of Sector 39 and 40, the housing colonies and factories of Sector 18, the automobile markets of Sector 12, the affluent apartments of DLF Phase III neighbourhood, and the more modest residential quarters and factories of Sector 37.

Muslims demand land for mosques
In October, India’s powerful Home Minister Amit Shah accused the main opposition Congress party of practising “appeasement politics” by allowing Muslims to pray on roads.

“Earlier, when I came here during the Congress government, some people told me that the government had permitted the highways for namaz on Fridays. Congress does only appeasement and can’t do any welfare work for the people,” Shah said during a speech in the northern Uttarakhand state, also governed by the BJP.

The continuous disruptions by the Hindu groups have become a cause of concern for Gurugram’s Muslims. Saleem said the city administration “should take the issue seriously” and stop the groups from blocking more sites.

“We are avoiding any confrontation with these groups. We have asked our people not to engage in any verbal spat or any confrontation with them,” he said.

“If the administration stops them before reaching a prayer site, there would be no conflict.”

Play Video
Video Duration 02 minutes 34 seconds
02:34
Muslims barred from public prayer sites in Indian city

Last month, the Gurugram administration revoked permission from eight of the 37 designated public spaces for prayers, citing “objections” by the area’s residents.

Gurugram’s Deputy Police Commissioner Yash Garg told Al Jazeera there is no “written permission” for Muslims to pray in those 37 sites and it was being conducted only through an “understanding between the communities” reached in 2018.

“There is no official permission because it is not a matter of right at a public place,” Garg said. “Police have always been on the site. People who have been trying to disrupt have been arrested.”

Ahmad of the Gurgaon Muslim Council said Muslims are ready to stop praying in open spaces if the government provides the land to construct new mosques.

“We are not asking for land for free. We are ready to pay. But if they will not provide us land to construct mosques, where will we go and pray?” he asked.

Local Muslims say many Waqf properties in Gurugram have been encroached upon and they want the government to hand them back to the community.

Meanwhile, Gurugram’s civil society has been trying to find a resolution to the crisis. Last month, a local Hindu businessman offered his premises for Friday prayers while a number of gurdwaras (Sikh temples) were also opened for the community.

Muslim groups want the opposition political parties to raise the issue in the ongoing session of Parliament.

“Right-wing groups have not only disrupted Friday prayers but also stripped Muslims of praying with dignity. It is a deliberate attempt to disturb the peaceful prayers and communal harmony of this cosmopolitan city,” Ahmad said.

At the end of the Friday prayers last week, imam Shehzad Khan prayed for communal harmony between Hindus and Muslims.

“Muslims are as much the citizens of India as Hindus. Our forefathers gave enormous sacrifices for the freedom of this country,” he said, his hands folded.

“Oh God, please guide Hindus and Muslims to remain united in a bond of brotherhood.”

SOURCE: AL JAZEERA

It depends if or not the Indian law allows prayers to be held in public spaces. If not they have to build more Masjids.

The Waqf holds 233 acres of land in that area, why are they not holding namaz on those lands or building mosques there?

Why do they demand that public land be allotted to them for namaz?

Anyone is within his rights to protest if parks or public places are being taken over for namaz every week.

https://indianexpress.com/article/cities/delhi/gurgaon-namaz-dispute-manohar-lal-khattar-7666732/

Haryana Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar Friday said that namaz should not be offered in the open and the practice “will not be tolerated”, adding that an earlier decision where some sites had been reserved for the purpose had been withdrawn.

Asked about Friday prayers being disrupted in Gurgaon over the past few weeks, Khattar said: “We have told the police and the Deputy Commissioner that this issue has to be resolved. To resolve it, everyone offers prayers at their own place, someone offers namaz, someone does paath, someone does puja, we have no issue with that. And religious places are built for these purposes only so that prayers are offered there. Such practises should not take place in the open, this practice of offering namaz prayers here in the open, this will not be tolerated.”

The Chief Minister was speaking after chairing a meeting of the Gurugram Metropolitan Development Authority (GMDA) at PWD rest house in Gurgaon.

Khattar said an amicable solution will be found after discussions with the community. “They have said that they have several places where they should be given permission. Some of their properties or those under Waqf board are encroached upon… how they can be made available to them is being discussed. Or they can offer prayers in their homes. Offering namaz in the open and this confrontation, we will not allow this confrontation to continue,” he said.

“A decision had been taken earlier after consultation, but that decision too where some spots had been reserved, we have withdrawn it. Now, talks will be conducted with a fresh approach again. Everyone should get the facility. No one’s rights should be infringed, but no one will be forced,” he said.

Hours earlier, while the Chief Minister’s meeting was on, some local residents and members of pro-Hindutva groups occupied the area outside the Sector 37 police station, which had been earmarked for namaz prayers.

They conducted a “condolence meet” to mourn the demise of CDS Bipin Rawat and other defence personnel who were killed in a helicopter crash on Wednesday.

Amid police deployment, the group parked trucks and vehicles at the ground, chanting ‘Jai Shri Ram’ and ‘Bharat Mata ki jai’. An argument ensued after a small group arrived to pray and the local residents — from Khandsa, Mohammadpur Jharsa, Begumpur Khatola and nearby villages — asked them to leave.

These groups had disrupted prayers at the designated sites earlier, too. They conducted a havan ceremony at sector 37 to mark the 26/11 Mumbai terror attacks, conducted Govardhan Puja in sector 12 A and left dung cakes behind, and showed up to play cricket and played bhajans through speakers in sector 47.

On Friday, prayers were disrupted by these groups at parks in sector 44 and sector 29, too. They included several people who had been arrested on October 29 for allegedly attempting to disrupt Friday prayers.

Laws are being followed. Those who are breaking the law are being stopped.

If the agenda of this thread was to highlight the plight of muslims in India, it is proving to be counter productive. They are the ones performing illegal acts!

Curious to know why Indian Muslim's want to pray on the streets of their country? If Muslim's don't do this in the west then why should they do so in Hindu majority India?. Surely they have enough Masjid's in India or they can perform prayers at home. Having thought about it I can see it it can be troublesome.

Indian Muslim's have no choices other then slavery. This should be good people are obey their Hindu masters.

As an atheist, I'm all for limiting the expression of religion in the public sphere. But it's interesting why a reaction occurs only when a muslim offers namaz in the open in India.

Yesterday I saw a brahmin in my apartment performing the brahmin rituals in the open in the middle of the apartment. I was amused to see the irony of what's happening in our country. I'm sure nobody was 'offended' by him performing the Brahmin rituals publicly and certainly there were no police force to prevent him from doing so to avoid "confrontations".

As an atheist, I'm all for limiting the expression of religion in the public sphere. But it's interesting why a reaction occurs only when a muslim offers namaz in the open in India.

Yesterday I saw a brahmin in my apartment performing the brahmin rituals in the open in the middle of the apartment. I was amused to see the irony of what's happening in our country. I'm sure nobody was 'offended' by him performing the Brahmin rituals publicly and certainly there were no police force to prevent him from doing so to avoid "confrontations".

I am surprised at this post.

What the people in the surrounding wants should be according to you and not what makes them comfortable I suppose?

As long as the neighbors don't complain, you can perform rituals, hold parties or play loud music as much as you want.

If your neighbors didn't complain, why the jurisdiction will enforce it?

You would have had a case if someone had complained yet no actions had been taken. But that's not the case here.

What the people in the surrounding wants should be according to you and not what makes them comfortable I suppose?

As long as the neighbors don't complain, you can perform rituals, hold parties or play loud music as much as you want.

You would have had a case if someone had complained yet no actions had been taken. But that's not the case here.

No no, I'm not questioning the police force for not taking action. I'm just amused at how a muslim doing namaz grates people in some corners of India, but you never hear news about people being offended by brahmins doing their daily rituals in public (in half naked attire no less).

Does the city have anything to recommend for travellers other than banning public Friday prayers for Muslims?

Well it's one of the largest IT and manufacturing hubs of India. The city is pretty modern, but sadly their views on religious tolerance don't seem as modern.

On the tourism aspect, I have no idea as it's way up north and the farthest I've travelled up north in India is Pune, and that's closer to the south than the north, so you get the drift. You might have to ask some of our fellow posters from the north of India or those who have visited the city.

No no, I'm not questioning the police force for not taking action. I'm just amused at how a muslim doing namaz grates people in some corners of India, but you never hear news about people being offended by brahmins doing their daily rituals in public (in half naked attire no less).

What is this Brahmin daily rituals you keep going on and on about? You are an atheist...so your knowledge on religion is poor. There is no hindu ritual like Namaz where they jam the road every week. Most of hindu pujas happen inside temple including bhajans and satsangs. The apartment puja you talking about may be 'Griha pravesh' but then how often does it happen? Yes there are some road processions happen but those are not very frequent and not a every week event.

I grew up in Bihar and there was a mosque just outside my house. Every friday, especially during Roza times, streets used to be packed with people offering Namaz. Some used to even crash into our gardem due to lack of space. I had the change my course on those days coming back from School. And if you are cycling etc., you have to wait for it to get over since there is no road to ride. Which hindu/christian/sikh mass cause such inconvinience to public life? And if someone points the inconvinience out..they become islamophobic and India is becoming intolerant?

Your effort of somehow equating Namaz with some Brahmin rituals you might have seen is hilarious. Matlab kuch bhi bol do :facepalm:

Public offering of Namaz and is banned in entire Europe and USA. Not bcoz those countries are intolerant against muslim faith but bcoz public life is not disturbed.

Trying to score some cheap points here? Lol
And you making fun on his attire as well.

What is this Brahmin daily rituals you keep going on and on about? You are an atheist...so your knowledge on religion is poor. There is no hindu ritual like Namaz where they jam the road every week. Most of hindu pujas happen inside temple including bhajans and satsangs. The apartment puja you talking about may be 'Griha pravesh' but then how often does it happen? Yes there are some road processions happen but those are not very frequent and not a every week event.

I grew up in Bihar and there was a mosque just outside my house. Every friday, especially during Roza times, streets used to be packed with people offering Namaz. Some used to even crash into our gardem due to lack of space. I had the change my course on those days coming back from School. And if you are cycling etc., you have to wait for it to get over since there is no road to ride. Which hindu/christian/sikh mass cause such inconvinience to public life? And if someone points the inconvinience out..they become islamophobic and India is becoming intolerant?

Your effort of somehow equating Namaz with some Brahmin rituals you might have seen is hilarious. Matlab kuch bhi bol do :facepalm:

Public offering of Namaz and is banned in entire Europe and USA. Not bcoz those countries are intolerant against muslim faith but bcoz public life is not disturbed.

The daily Brahmin ritual is called sandhavandhanam, I have no idea what it's called in hindi or if north Indian Brahmins do that ritual.

I thought this whole Haryana issue was about muslims not being able to perform namaz in designated areas sanctioned to them by the government..At least that's what the article says.

The daily Brahmin ritual is called sandhavandhanam, I have no idea what it's called in hindi or if north Indian Brahmins do that ritual.

I thought this whole Haryana issue was about muslims not being able to perform namaz in designated areas sanctioned to them by the government..At least that's what the article says.

Sandhavandhanam....oh dear :)))

Sandhavandhanam is called sandhya aarti in North India and no people dont jam streets for Sandya Aarti. Most aarti's and jagrans happen inside temple infront of the diety.

Anyway carry on...

Sandhavandhanam is called sandhya aarti in North India and no people dont jam streets for Sandya Aarti. Most aarti's and jagrans happen inside temple infront of the diety.

Anyway carry on...

I'm talking about this ritual.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">This is something you won't get to see everyday/Everywhere 🙏 <a href="https://t.co/WTVUuytbeg">pic.twitter.com/WTVUuytbeg</a></p>— Vivek Shetty (@vivekshettym) <a href="https://twitter.com/vivekshettym/status/845220686922596352?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 24, 2017</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

The law can't be driven by neighbours emotions. The law has to be objective(beyond permitted sound decibels, encroachment of public space etc etc) and uniform for all citizen(prayer or procession).

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">This is something you won't get to see everyday/Everywhere 🙏 <a href="https://t.co/WTVUuytbeg">pic.twitter.com/WTVUuytbeg</a></p>— Vivek Shetty (@vivekshettym) <a href="https://twitter.com/vivekshettym/status/845220686922596352?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 24, 2017</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

This is a total joke.

I don't have issues to our fellow countrymen objecting to public expression of religion in India. As an agnostic, I would be happy if hindus and muslims in our region are just culturally hindus and muslims for namesake and less fanatical about their faith as it would solve a lot of problems plaguing the subcontinent imo.

But a lot of posters here have objection to muslims performing namaz in public places, even those sanctioned by the government, or even if a lone muslim does it in a metro station, but when hindus like the example I've posted above do the same in airports and railway stations, they either laugh it off or try to rationalise it by saying the neighbours don't have an issue. Of course, more people in our country would have objection to a muslim doing namaz in the open than a hindu doing his daily rituals in the public due to the ubiquitous anti muslim prejudice present in the country.

I'd imagine pollution must the number one problem in Gurgaon. The entire belt in the subcontinent from cities like Faisalabad, Lahore in Pakistani Punjab in the west (you could probably add Karachi as well) to Delhi, UP, Bihar and even West Bengal or Dhaka in the east, seems to be one big smoke cauldron. The real time air quality picture of the subcontinent right now:

Screenshot_20211212-175550~2.jpg

In fact, that belt that runs from Karachi in the west to Bengal in the east would arguably have the most polluted air in the world. Gurgaon seems to be a nice and modern place to visit with good infrastructure, but I'm definitely not willing to risk my asthma getting triggered.

It’s funny how no one is talking about how this is happening only because 6-7 mosques in the area were forcibly closed in the past couple of years under BJP government

I don't have issues to our fellow countrymen objecting to public expression of religion in India. As an agnostic, I would be happy if hindus and muslims in our region are just culturally hindus and muslims for namesake and less fanatical about their faith as it would solve a lot of problems plaguing the subcontinent imo.

But a lot of posters here have objection to muslims performing namaz in public places, even those sanctioned by the government, or even if a lone muslim does it in a metro station, but when hindus like the example I've posted above do the same in airports and railway stations, they either laugh it off or try to rationalise it by saying the neighbours don't have an issue. Of course, more people in our country would have objection to a muslim doing namaz in the open than a hindu doing his daily rituals in the public due to the ubiquitous anti muslim prejudice present in the country.

Actually I hardly care about a Hindu or Muslim having public display of their rituals be it just spiritual or urge to prove their piety infront of the entire world and get some acknowledgement in that process. I have zero issues of their attire , uncut decade old beard or if they just want to be nude as long as they are not trying to make a nuisance on others by "poking in their eye" or "shoving through the throat". Sense of morality, righteousness and being offended is often subjective, hence law ideally should not be drafted on emotions but on uniform and equitable principles.

I have two problems primarily -

Such discrete acts over a period of time becomes the norm leading to a sense of entitlement to encroach public space in the name of God

The littering that comes with such acts with zero accountability.

The law can't be driven by neighbours emotions. The law has to be objective(beyond permitted sound decibels, encroachment of public space etc etc) and uniform for all citizen(prayer or procession).

The law is clear. Don't disturb the neighborhood and you'll be ok.

Dont go by media news only. I have been to Gurugram and it has better hygiene than say in Ilford, East Ham, Upton Park or Watford.

Don't make claims like this unless you can back it up. English cities have proper sewerage and refuse collection. Can you say the same for Gurugram?

Can you say the same for Gurugram?
I visit Gurgaon daily for work so my word carries more weight than any Tom, Dick and Harry.

Gurgaon's sewage and pollution problems are legendary. It gets inundated with rainwater every damn year, resulting in its residents and people who work here facing severe problems.

Any sane person would have thought
that resolution of these problems should have been the priority of the administration but sadly that isn't the case.

No Muslim wants to read Namaz on the street. They would only do so if they had no where else to go. I read that the Waqf land has been encroached, so the government should let them pray in the approved sites until they get it back.

“The Waqf Board and administration have not been able to get Waqf properties back from encroachers for a very long time. Now the Chief Minister has said that 37 approved sites in the open need to be reworked between the administration and the Muslim community. We request him to instruct HSVP to allocate us land in multiple sectors to build multi-storey mosques and that shall be the end of the Juma Namaz row,” said Mr. Ahmed, in a statement to the media.

https://www.thehindu.com/news/national/namaz-in-the-open-cannot-be-tolerated/article37929254.ece

That's not how law works. There can't be much scope for subjectivity.

There can be if you allow it. If the supposed victim doesn't put forward a complaint, most laws will become helpless.

What ritual was he performing? Was he occupying public place with group of people and did the other flat owners object?

The Apartment is not public property, its common property of all the residents and hence all owners have usage rights. There are things you can do within your apartment complex because you have usage rights as a owner and have proportionate ownership of all the common areas.

But a public park or govt land which is occupied by a large group of people and blocks the access of others is not the same.

Its interesting how you always try to bring "Brahmins" "Hindus" in these kind of discussions, not unexpected of a Periyar supporter.

This is stupidity.

No Muslim wants to read Namaz on the street. They would only do so if they had no where else to go. I read that the Waqf land has been encroached, so the government should let them pray in the approved sites until they get it back.

“The Waqf Board and administration have not been able to get Waqf properties back from encroachers for a very long time. Now the Chief Minister has said that 37 approved sites in the open need to be reworked between the administration and the Muslim community. We request him to instruct HSVP to allocate us land in multiple sectors to build multi-storey mosques and that shall be the end of the Juma Namaz row,” said Mr. Ahmed, in a statement to the media.

https://www.thehindu.com/news/national/namaz-in-the-open-cannot-be-tolerated/article37929254.ece

Why should govt give land for mosques? Do they give land for temples or churches or gurudwaras? Why cant they buy land?

Waqf should take legal steps to remove encroachment.

Anyway carry on...

Nope he's right.

Ask any Tam Brahm and he will tell you about Sandhyavandhanam.

I myself do it 3 times a day.

Not getting into the main debate but just wanted to address this point.

Its nice to see. Well done to this brother for being proud of his religious beliefs. He isn't harming anyone or getting in anyones way.

There can be if you allow it. If the supposed victim doesn't put forward a complaint, most laws will become helpless.

Then that is not law. That's called chaos. That's what you see with blasphemy laws where every Tom, Dick and Harry has their own definition of offence, their own tolerance limits and their own interpretation of what the punishment should be. This amplified self righteous ness is promoting some government to ban non veg, some to ban pork and some other to ban liquor. We can't allow that madness to creep into Indian society again - this was rampant 400-500 years back but please no more.

This isn't the place to do sandhya. He is doing rituals like this. This is insane.

From what I have seen on PP Hinduism doesn't have orthodoxy and a person can do what he/she likes. Just because it's insane to you or you feel that it's not the place, doesn't mean the guy shouldn't express his beliefs in a way that he is comfortable.

What ritual was he performing? Was he occupying public place with group of people and did the other flat owners object?

The Apartment is not public property, its common property of all the residents and hence all owners have usage rights. There are things you can do within your apartment complex because you have usage rights as a owner and have proportionate ownership of all the common areas.

But a public park or govt land which is occupied by a large group of people and blocks the access of others is not the same.

Its interesting how you always try to bring "Brahmins" "Hindus" in these kind of discussions, not unexpected of a Periyar supporter.

This is stupidity.

I am fully with you when you say that traffic should not be blocked and public party should not be encroached upon by worshippers of any religion. But the article says the protesting hindus are not allowing the muslims of that area to do namaz even in the government sanctioned areas (which has been taken away by the govt as well now). Muslims are saying the lands belonging to the waqf board have been encroached upon and they're asking the government to take action on the encroachments so that they can build new mosques on their own lands to accomodate those doing namaz in public for lack of space.

Forget about that, check out this tweet:

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Is it allowed in <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/DelhiMetro?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#DelhiMetro</a> premises? Namaz at 6pm today at the exit gate of Botonical Garden metro station in Noida.<a href="https://twitter.com/OfficialDMRC?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@OfficialDMRC</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/DCP_DelhiMetro?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@DCP_DelhiMetro</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/Uppolice?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@Uppolice</a> need to take action.. <a href="https://t.co/Buvk79esk2">pic.twitter.com/Buvk79esk2</a></p>— विनोद बंसल Vinod Bansal (@vinod_bansal) <a href="https://twitter.com/vinod_bansal/status/1451534497078398981?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">October 22, 2021</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Now check the comments under the tweet in which the brahmin man was doing his rituals in the airport and contrast that with the reaction of the hindu nationalists to the person doing namaz behind the gate in the metro station. Of course I was going to bring in the contrasting reaction of the hindus because either you're against public expression of religion or you're not. You can't be like "Look at this muslim doing namaz in metro and railway stations and causing nuisance to the public" and then go like "Wow what a kattar hindu! maintaining the sanatan traditions and not being ashamed about it even in public".

I have always been open in my dislike for Brahminism or casteism as an ideology. I've always said the hindu society is in need of reformation and it should become a casteless society. Of course saying that would be perceived as an "anti-hindu" opinion. I'm always amused when hindu nationalists call low caste hindu converts to Christianity as rice bags, etc. Just think how badly they would've been treated as low caste hindus that all it took was a rice bag and some monetary benefits for them to hop religions. How many times have you seen poor muslims converting to another religion for a rice bag. The fact that those low caste hindus convert to Christianity is a testament to the absurdity of the caste system. Why would they want to remain a part of the hindu society where they're at the bottom most rung of the society and have no way to change their caste.

It's why I say the hindu society needs a reformation to root out the practice of casteism. Casteism actually is detrimental to the hindu society as it bleeds more followers than it gains, and keeps the hindu society divided. But the hindu nationalists are just too dumb to realise it. In fact, I as a non practising hindu, am doing more good for the hindu religion by asking to root out the caste system than most kattar hindu nationalists, yet my opinion would be called anti hindu:narine

The other criticism is "why always the criticism against the hindus, why not the muslim society". I think the muslim society is in need of reformation as well, but I wasn't born into a muslim family, and it's for the muslims to decide about reformations in their society, if it's needed or otherwise. I was born into a hindu family and it's only natural I would want reformations in my society.

Btw, hating Brahminism as an ideology doesn't mean I hate Brahmins as people. Heck, Periyar was a life long friend of Rajaji who was a brahmin and he consulted his important life decisions with Rajaji. Kamal Hasan is the most loved actor in TN along with Rajini, Shankar and Mani Ratnam are the most loved film directors, Santosh Narayanan is the most loved music director right now and Ashwin is the most loved cricketer in TN - all of these personalities were born into a Brahmin family. TN just hates people flaunting their caste or being proud of their caste identity and it just so happens that Brahmins and upper caste people generally are the most proud and flaunt their caste identity the most for obvious reasons. There is a movie director who is non-brahmin, but he flaunts his Vanniyar caste identity heavily while making movies and he's the most ridiculed film personality in TN right now, so it's nothing personal against the brahmins.

I am fully with you when you say that traffic should not be blocked and public party should not be encroached upon by worshippers of any religion. But the article says the protesting hindus are not allowing the muslims of that area to do namaz even in the government sanctioned areas (which has been taken away by the govt as well now). Muslims are saying the lands belonging to the waqf board have been encroached upon and they're asking the government to take action on the encroachments so that they can build new mosques on their own lands to accomodate those doing namaz in public for lack of space.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Is it allowed in <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/DelhiMetro?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#DelhiMetro</a> premises? Namaz at 6pm today at the exit gate of Botonical Garden metro station in Noida.<a href="https://twitter.com/OfficialDMRC?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@OfficialDMRC</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/DCP_DelhiMetro?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@DCP_DelhiMetro</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/Uppolice?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@Uppolice</a> need to take action.. <a href="https://t.co/Buvk79esk2">pic.twitter.com/Buvk79esk2</a></p>— विनोद बंसल Vinod Bansal (@vinod_bansal) <a href="https://twitter.com/vinod_bansal/status/1451534497078398981?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">October 22, 2021</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Now check the comments under the tweet in which the brahmin man was doing his rituals in the airport and contrast that with the reaction of the hindu nationalists to the person doing namaz behind the gate in the metro station. Of course I was going to bring in the contrasting reaction of the hindus because either you're against public expression of religion or you're not. You can't be like "Look at this muslim doing namaz in metro and railway stations and causing nuisance to the public" and then go like "Wow what a kattar hindu! maintaining the sanatan traditions and not being ashamed about it even in public".

1. Can or should the govt give away land for religious purpose? If yes, then temples gurudwaras, churches all should be allocated govt land. If no, then why only muslims are being allocated govt bland for religious purposes? I am astonished that some muslim leaders are saying government must give them land? Why? This sense of entitlement is shocking.

2. Waqf is free to move court to clear any encroachments.Why does it need the govt? Any owner can move court to reposses an encroached property. FYI Waqf owns 233 acres of land in Gurgaon.

3. What is stupidity is stupidity, be it hindu or Muslim or anyone else.

1. Can or should the govt give away land for religious purpose? If yes, then temples gurudwaras, churches all should be allocated govt land. If no, then why only muslims are being allocated govt bland for religious purposes? I am astonished that some muslim leaders are saying government must give them land? Why? This sense of entitlement is shocking.

2. Waqf is free to move court to clear any encroachments.Why does it need the govt? Any owner can move court to reposses an encroached property. FYI Waqf owns 233 acres of land in Gurgaon.

3. What is stupidity is stupidity, be it hindu or Muslim or anyone else.

All these rules will be reversed when Mamata Banerjee becomes PM. ;)

I think you are “offended” by that ritual act. Instead of venting it out here, why dint you take that responsibility of confronting that man personally or at least call the police for the nuisance case.

You can't occupy public space with a huge gathering every week. Locals have every right to complain.

The thread title is a bit creative, making it look like namaz has been banned.

Your ignorance is blinding you from seeing the real picture. If so many people in the streets are praying outdoor, order them to do it X feet away from the road. So regulate it don't flat out ban it. This is such a dumb excuse.

He is praying in the corner, he is not blocking anyone's way. Look how space is left. I swear this fascist-Hindu supported and encouraged by BJP bakths will screw this country up.

Why should govt give land for mosques? Do they give land for temples or churches or gurudwaras? Why cant they buy land?

Waqf should take legal steps to remove encroachment.

Is their not a difference between giving land (permanently) and letting people temporarily use land for one hour a week? These sites were agreed by the govt, not some random sites that Muslims started praying in. If they want to take them away at least they can give them sufficient notice to find alternatives.

Your ignorance is blinding you from seeing the real picture. If so many people in the streets are praying outdoor, order them to do it X feet away from the road. So regulate it don't flat out ban it. This is such a dumb excuse.

They can pray all they want in their mosques or private properties. They have only been asked not to take over public places.

Is their not a difference between giving land (permanently) and letting people temporarily use land for one hour a week? These sites were agreed by the govt, not some random sites that Muslims started praying in. If they want to take them away at least they can give them sufficient notice to find alternatives.

Giving someone a place every week permanently is giving it permanently. No?

I can understand if this was done on ID or Muharram etc. Thats a very valid reason to temporarily conduct some religious function at a public place.

The govt gave the land and the public complained against it as legally the govt was on the wrong foot. Thats why they had to rescind the order.

1. I work in Gurgaon and have seen Muslims perform the Friday Namaz, but they used to do that in open parking space not on the road, didn't block the traffic. No one paid attention to it and it was normal.
2. In North India a lot of Our hindu functions like Jagrans, shri krishna and radha vivah, marriage functions, birthday parties etc people use a tent on the road and block the entire road.
3. Kanwads block the roads sometimes and paths are redirected due to them.
4. The people complaining and agitating here are not the locals, these are political goons from BJP. Most of the area's I said are not even Residential, they are open spaces/parking lots.
5. It's just cheap politics, muslim waqf board due to corruption took the donated money and sold off the land for their own profit rather than building enough mosques.
The goons affiliated to BJP are there to just create nuisance and get in limelight, elections are coming in 5 states so such news have been BJP tactic for long time.
6. BJP IT cell workers are everywhere, don't listen to them.
[MENTION=139664]street cricketer[/MENTION]

Well it's one of the largest IT and manufacturing hubs of India. The city is pretty modern, but sadly their views on religious tolerance don't seem as modern.

On the tourism aspect, I have no idea as it's way up north and the farthest I've travelled up north in India is Pune, and that's closer to the south than the north, so you get the drift. You might have to ask some of our fellow posters from the north of India or those who have visited the city.

Modern in what sense though? I moved from Bangalore to Gurgaon over a month back and I find it pretty regressive in terms of mindset. The residential areas are fine but here in Sukhrali , I hear loud music being played at night and I find that extremely disturbing. No one seems to have an issue with that though

1. I work in Gurgaon and have seen Muslims perform the Friday Namaz, but they used to do that in open parking space not on the road, didn't block the traffic. No one paid attention to it and it was normal.
2. In North India a lot of Our hindu functions like Jagrans, shri krishna and radha vivah, marriage functions, birthday parties etc people use a tent on the road and block the entire road.
3. Kanwads block the roads sometimes and paths are redirected due to them.
4. The people complaining and agitating here are not the locals, these are political goons from BJP. Most of the area's I said are not even Residential, they are open spaces/parking lots.
5. It's just cheap politics, muslim waqf board due to corruption took the donated money and sold off the land for their own profit rather than building enough mosques.
The goons affiliated to BJP are there to just create nuisance and get in limelight, elections are coming in 5 states so such news have been BJP tactic for long time.
6. BJP IT cell workers are everywhere, don't listen to them.
[MENTION=139664]street cricketer[/MENTION]

Thanks for the detailed explanation buddy, always gives a better understanding of the situation when you get information from a local. I do hope communal harmony can prevail in all parts of our country. It feels like hatred is the hottest product to sell in India these days.

Modern in what sense though? I moved from Bangalore to Gurgaon over a month back and I find it pretty regressive in terms of mindset. The residential areas are fine but here in Sukhrali , I hear loud music being played at night and I find that extremely disturbing. No one seems to have an issue with that though

Bruh Pune is just about the farthest I've travelled up north inside India and Maharashtra is basically north India for me, so I've no idea about Gurgaon actually:sree

I just googled some pictures of the city and it looked fairly modern. Aren't Punjabis very common in Delhi/Gurgaon, etc though? Well Punjabis love to listen to loud music all the time, so no wonder they're partying all night there:yk

Thanks for the detailed explanation buddy, always gives a better understanding of the situation when you get information from a local. I do hope communal harmony can prevail in all parts of our country. It feels like hatred is the hottest product to sell in India these days.

So if he says that these guys are not locals and bjp members, it is the truth?

While all media reporting that muslims were using public place to offer namaz and that locals protested is false?

So if he says that these guys are not locals and bjp members, it is the truth?

While all media reporting that muslims were using public place to offer namaz and that locals protested is false?

Don't blame me man for not trusting the media. The state of our national media is reduced to producing a live minute by minute coverage of the Supreme leader performing puja in a temple nowadays.

Sukhrali isn't the right place to live in Gurgaon. You should have found a place in upmarket areas like DLF Ph I, II, III etc.

Sukhrali is more of old Gurgaon where locals still rule the roost while DLF Phases have more professionals residing there.

Don't blame me man for not trusting the media. The state of our national media is reduced to producing a live minute by minute coverage of the Supreme leader performing puja in a temple nowadays.

Why is it an issue? Since you don't like hindus, they should not be on tv?

When the government can't deliver on the fake promised they made and have nothing to show after 7 years being in power, the public is brainwashed by such issues. Earlier the mainstream media wasn't all in pocket of 1 political party so when Congress used to divert their shortcomings and failures by diverting public attention, the media used to catch up with them. Sadly now the mainstream media are all controlled by 1 political party so they spread their propaganda throughout 24*7 and it's easier to fool the public from real issues.

I don't know how many protests you have been part of Or have seen yourself, majority if not ALL are started by political or people/entities with backing from political parties. You won't see a normal salaried worker or businessman starting a protest, the normal public join the protest for a few days if they actually believe in the agenda of protest. You have to just watch the videos of these protests to realise who are thr ones leading the protest. There might be some people living in close by areas who support these protests and want the namaz to be stopped in public sites, but these people never did such protests for last 5-6 years, why now? Now the dirty politics is involved so they might come for a coupe days and protest alongside the hired goons but they won't be leaving their jobs to carry this out for long.

The student unions, organisation such as VHP, Bajrang dal, labour Union's, business unions, residential unions etc all have some sort of political backing whether directly associated with a political party or the leaders of these unions being in close contact with leader of a political party of that area. These are the ones which call for protests.

Very few times the people in public actually leave their jobs Or work altogether to be part of a protest, Anna Hazare lokpal protest was the one where quite a few people actually quit their work to go full time and a large section of common man supported him.

Also in urban gurgaon a large portion is young salaried employees living on rent, watch video of protesters and see if you find any such amongst the crowd :)

At the end of the day these issues have always been there since before our time and will continue to be there till after our time. You see people on this very forums who have been sprouting same non sense for last decade supposedly some of them british citizens. You can't do anything, just ignore and stop feeling sad about it, only thing you can do is teach your kids the power of kindness and humanity. Rest everything is out of your control.

Good luck in life.

Gurgaon is as modern in India as Brampton is in Canada, not a coincidence both the places have an obnoxious loud vibe.