Peshawar BRT project referred to NAB for investigation

Terry Bollea

PESHAWAR: The Peshawar High Court on Thursday referred the Bus Rapid Transit (BRT) project to the National Accountability Bureau for further investigation.

A division bench comprising Chief Justice of Peshawar High Court Justice Waqar Ahmed Seth and Justice Mussarat Hilali, announcing its judgment in the much-trumpeted case, directed NAB Khyber Pakhtunkhwa to probe alleged irregularities in the project, which has been marred by one delay after another.

The court directed the anti-graft body to investigate why the BRT project was not completed on time and why its costs escalated.

The deadline for completion of the BRT project has been delayed several times. The first deadline was April 20, which was extended by a month to May 20. The then-project director had told media that the civil work would be completed by June 20, which was also missed.

Peshawar’s BRT: A comedy of errors?

The cost of the project, at the same time, has purportedly hiked from Rs49 billion to Rs64 billion.

During his appearance on Geo News' show 'Aaj Shahzeb Khanzada Kay Sath' on Thursday, former KP CM Pervez Khattak said the Asian Development Bank made all decisions with regard to Peshawar BRT project and that he had no role in any of the decisions.

The former chief minister, who has in the past claimed credit for the project, said the project's cost was estimated less as they were inexperienced.

Earlier this month, NAB Khyber Pakhtunkhwa asked the Peshawar Development Authority to submit record of the mega project, after NAB Chairman Justice (retired) Javed Iqbal ordered an inquiry into alleged corruption and delay in completion of the BRT project.

I thought KP was now a better place. I recommend people here to watch Shahzeb Khanzada's full on chitrol of CM foul-mouthed Dancer Pervez Khattak on the show. Now they will say that Shahzeb is on payroll of Patwaris.

Good should be investigated and anyone found guilty should be sent to jail. We are not gonna cry Saazish no matter how many cases are registered against so called laadla and his party. 4 of his most strong candidate are already disqualified and can't contest but we are not going to call it saazish and we believe in law.

PESHAWAR: The Peshawar High Court on Thursday referred the Bus Rapid Transit (BRT) project to the National Accountability Bureau for further investigation.

A division bench comprising Chief Justice of Peshawar High Court Justice Waqar Ahmed Seth and Justice Mussarat Hilali, announcing its judgment in the much-trumpeted case, directed NAB Khyber Pakhtunkhwa to probe alleged irregularities in the project, which has been marred by one delay after another.

The court directed the anti-graft body to investigate why the BRT project was not completed on time and why its costs escalated.

The deadline for completion of the BRT project has been delayed several times. The first deadline was April 20, which was extended by a month to May 20. The then-project director had told media that the civil work would be completed by June 20, which was also missed.

Peshawar’s BRT: A comedy of errors?

The cost of the project, at the same time, has purportedly hiked from Rs49 billion to Rs64 billion.

During his appearance on Geo News' show 'Aaj Shahzeb Khanzada Kay Sath' on Thursday, former KP CM Pervez Khattak said the Asian Development Bank made all decisions with regard to Peshawar BRT project and that he had no role in any of the decisions.

The former chief minister, who has in the past claimed credit for the project, said the project's cost was estimated less as they were inexperienced.

Earlier this month, NAB Khyber Pakhtunkhwa asked the Peshawar Development Authority to submit record of the mega project, after NAB Chairman Justice (retired) Javed Iqbal ordered an inquiry into alleged corruption and delay in completion of the BRT project.

If any corruption has taken place, investigate and use the Chinese Model for dealing with those that steal from the poor. As you are a Liberal and anti corruption please start with the billions stolen by your mafis godfathers like NS and their families.

Good should be investigated and anyone found guilty should be sent to jail. We are not gonna cry Saazish no matter how many cases are registered against so called laadla and his party. 4 of his most strong candidate are already disqualified and can't contest but we are not going to call it saazish and we believe in law.

Pervez "anyone who votes for PPP is son of a prostitute" Khattak's 20 crore chai paani bill should be next. By the way, who were Pervez Khattak's parents when he was with PPP for decades?

If any corruption has taken place, investigate and use the Chinese Model for dealing with those that steal from the poor. As you are a Liberal and anti corruption please start with the billions stolen by your mafis godfathers like NS and their families.

lol these noors think we are gonna defend corruption like them :)) No humaari teraf se phansi dedo if proven guilty we are not here to defends corrupts

If you are hoping PTI supporters will start defending corruption like Nawaz Sharif fans do then you are wrong.

If there is proven corruption, PTI supporters will create a storm before PMLN or others and it has happened before.

PTI supporters even forced Imran Khan to clarify his protocol in Peshawar after few PTI MNAs/MPAs went to welcome him :))

Pervez "anyone who votes for PPP is son of a prostitute" Khattak's 20 crore chai paani bill should be next. By the way, who were Pervez Khattak's parents when he was with PPP for decades?

I said investigate and send him jail if found guilty or hang him don't worry we are gonna cry saazish liek you guys i assure you.

If you are hoping PTI supporters will start defending corruption like Nawaz Sharif fans do then you are wrong.

If there is proven corruption, PTI supporters will create a storm before PMLN or others and it has happened before.

PTI supporters even forced Imran Khan to clarify his protocol in Peshawar after few PTI MNAs/MPAs went to welcome him :))

True they think we are typical derbaris like them :yk

I thought KP was now a better place. I recommend people here to watch Shahzeb Khanzada's full on chitrol of CM foul-mouthed Dancer Pervez Khattak on the show. Now they will say that Shahzeb is on payroll of Patwaris.

"ghuroor ka sar neechay".

I said investigate and send him jail if found guilty or hang him don't worry we are gonna cry saazish liek you guys i assure you.

Aik jangla bus bana nahi saktay, aur mulk ko tabdeel karnay nikl aye hain. :)))

Bhai i can feel you pain because PTI Pakistan main government banaaye na banaye KP main to agle 5 saal aapke sir ke bethegi he and who know 2023 main dubara :D

If Khattak, or anyone else from among the PTI officials, is guilty of mismanagement at the best or corruption at the worst, he should be investigated and punished accordingly by the courts.

We won't do hajj for him.

If Khattak, or anyone else from among the PTI officials, is guilty of mismanagement at the best or corruption at the worst, he should be investigated and punished accordingly by the courts.

We won't do hajj for him.

And we are not gonna call him a leader in making when he spend time in jail.

Bhai i can feel you pain because PTI Pakistan main government banaaye na banaye KP main to agle 5 saal aapke sir ke bethegi he and who know 2023 main dubara :D

Apni taraf se tou koshish kar raha hoon. Isi liye lantern ko PA vote de raha hoon. However, I would rather have PTI than MMA 2.0.

Credit should be given to PTI supporters because they are really good at damage control. If PML N was involved in this case, This thread would have gotten 100s of pages by now

Oh they are masters at it. Consider the silence over Pervez Khattak’s 20 crore refreshments bill.

Imagine if this was Shehbaz Sharif, there would be a 100+ pages thread. Not a word now.

Oh they are masters at it. Consider the silence over Pervez Khattak’s 20 crore refreshments bill.

Imagine if this was Shehbaz Sharif, there would be a 100+ pages thread. Not a word now.

Investigate, see what the issue is, find the culprits, put them on trial and carry out justice. Simple.

Unlike PML-N supporters, no one here is going to try and defend corruption with roundabout defences and whataboutism involving false claims without being able to back them up #saplings #CMHPindi :rosco

Once the criminals are jailed, no one here will call them 'their leaders' and offer 'their services' to the jailed criminal after he (or she :batman:) has been convicted with a fair trial :wave

Investigate, see what the issue is, find the culprits, put them on trial and carry out justice. Simple.

Unlike PML-N supporters, no one here is going to try and defend corruption with roundabout defences and whataboutism involving false claims without being able to back them up #saplings #CMHPindi :rosco

Once the criminals are jailed, no one here will call them 'their leaders' and offer 'their services' to the jailed criminal after he (or she :batman:) has been convicted with a fair trial :wave

Great post. The PTI has to be better at protecting the public finances and it must be weary of the corrupt in its ranks. They must be jailed and their assets confiscated if they are found guilty.

I am not sure at your comprehension skills, but all of us have asked for an investigation and those guilty must be at least jailed and if i had it my way- hanged. The difference between us PTI supporters and you Nooras is that we love PK and you love the corrupt.

Mamoon questioning PTI supporters' intelligence here while he himself believes that London flats were a gift from a caring grandfather to his grandchildren.

On the topic, NAB should complete the inquiry in short time and if corruption is confirmed culprits should be made an example.

Mamoon questioning PTI supporters' intelligence here while he himself believes that London flats were a gift from a caring grandfather to his grandchildren.

On the topic, NAB should complete the inquiry in short time and if corruption is confirmed culprits should be made an example.

When challenged to provide figures on the supposed wealth of the Sharifs, he runs [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION]. If IK can provide receipts going back 40 years, lets see something, even one receipt from the Sharifs.

Maybe old Terence [MENTION=147338]Terry Bollea[/MENTION] , the new Noora on the block can provide the receipts. Surely they must have something or was the dead old man using Carrier bags.

Anyone who is involved in corruption should get punished, be it Pervez Khattak or anyone else.

[MENTION=147338]Terry Bollea[/MENTION]. You seemed to be vocal last night and then when asked to provide a single receipt yoh disappeared quicker than your mentor [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION]. Come on guy, lets see the receipts.

retrospectively, looks like it didn't block KPK for not only re-electing a party for the first time but also give it 2/3 majority in the assembly, still some recent news on the project :

Asian Development Bank declares Peshawar BRT project transparent: report

PESHAWAR: Asian Development Bank (ADB) declared Peshawar Bus Rapid Transport (BRT) project transparent, stating that the companies for the project were shortlisted by the bank, reported Express Urdu.

According to a statement, the project was also discussed during a recently held ADB Board of Directors meeting

Moreover, under the orders of Peshawar High Court (PHC), National Accountability Bureau (NAB) has started its investigation of the mega project and confiscated different records.

Earlier, different provincial institutes also declared BRT, a transparent project.

Meanwhile, the construction companies have sped-up the work on the project as work on Reach-I will be completed until August 30 and by September 5, the service of BRT Reach-I will be started.

The construction work is underway on Reach-II and Reach-III of the project.

https://www.pakistantoday.com.pk/20...ares-peshawar-brt-project-transparent-report/

The cost of 49 billion was when the US dollar was 100 PKR. When the price climbed to 129 the price of the project went to 62 billion as all the dealings with the Asian Development Bank are in dollars. The rest was due to design changes, land disputes etc.

Just so you know most information is easily available on the ADB website.

Some increase may also be due to the increase in oil prices and materials.

K-P CM orders accelerating BRT project

Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (K-P) Chief Minister Mehmood Khan has directed for accelerated completion of Rapid Bus Transit Project Peshawar. The project is one solution to all the traffic congestions and also a comprehensive design for the overall beautification and efficient services in the provincial capital.

He said this while talking to members of provincial assembly including Kamran Bangash, Fakhar Jehan, Asif and provincial government spokesman Shaukat Yousafzai at Chief Minister Secretariat. Khan discussed with the MPAs the overall developmental activities in the city. “The MPAs should come up with an overall plan identifying deficiencies in different sectors of the city,” Khan said assuring all out support to different projects in the provincial capital.

Regarding BRT, Khan reminded that BRT was not a simple corridor but a comprehensive plan of overcoming traffic congestions and removing irritants in the smooth vehicular flow. This project would add to the overall beautification of the city, he said adding the project had different features that were unique in nature and one of its kind.
Khan stressed the need to improve the local government system developing its linkage with the developmental activities and the public welfare activities adding that his government would further strengthen the local government system so that the people of grass root level could have an easy access to the services at local level.

The chief minister, according to the official statement, also directed for improved municipal services in the provincial capital adding that the capacity building of the Water and Sanitation Service Peshawar was part of the priorities for the city. Khan expressed his intention against encroachment adding that the anti-encroachment drive will continue and roads narrowed down by these intrusions would be widened by removing encroachments in order to ensure the unobstructed vehicular flow on the roads.

https://tribune.com.pk/story/1786147/1-k-p-cm-orders-accelerating-brt-project/