Pet Hates thread

Cleveland Indians ( both the team and also any Indians who reside in Cleveland)

When people try and debate the origins and intentions behind Philip K Sheridans quote "The only good Indian I ever saw was Dead".

Indians.
People who are born elsewhere but their parents were born in modern day India.
People who have visited India.
People who look Indian ( dirty,short etc).

You should qualify that by saying non muslim indians. For if you hate muslim indians too, then let me remind you brother

Abu Hurairah, radiyallahu 'anhu, reported that the Messenger of Allah, sallallahu 'alayhi wasallam, said:
"Do not be envious of one another; do not artificially inflate prices against one another; do not hate one another; do not shun one another; and do not undercut one another in business transactions; and be as fellow-brothers and servants of Allah.
A Muslim is the brother of a Muslim. He neither oppresses him nor humiliates him nor looks down upon him. Piety is here - and he pointed to his chest three times. It is evil enough for a Muslim to hold his brother Muslim in contempt. All things of a Muslim are inviolable for another Muslim: his blood, his property and his honour."

Too many cushions on the sofa.

Basically anything that hinders practicality of a thing for the sake of fashion.

Well its self explanatory.

You wouldn't enjoy my company then cuz I'm prone to punching and pushing people during conversations.

I'm that 'arm around the shoulder of the bowler while standing at mid-off' kinda guy.

You wouldn't enjoy my company then cuz I'm prone to punching and pushing people during conversations.

I'm that 'arm around the shoulder of the bowler while standing at mid-off' kinda guy.

Won't mind if you smell good.

Smell is very important for me. Anything that doesn't smell good can be considered a pet hate.

When its 3am and you've been awake in bed for 3 hours twisting and turning and sweating and unable to get to sleep....

People not respecting staff e.g. on the phone while being served

Babies/Children crying in public. "Dear parent. Shut the baby/child up before i hit the bloody thing" (no offence to parents. I know its difficult but god damn crying is annoying)

Mobile phones in cinema. If you're using one during a film you should face a firing squad

People who think Ireland is part of the UK

*breathes heavily*

Slow walkers

The receptionist constantly calling my direct line to talk Bakwas

People that smell bad

Freshies

Call centres calling my phone

Slow internet

Messi fans

Walking in a park and there's dog excrement everywhere. Clean it up you gandha khutta's

Bullying

People who have clearly spent all year revising, aced an exam but will walk out and say omg I messed up. Results day comes, lo and behold, they got 90%

People that don't park properly, subsequently I have no where to park and am circling like an idiot for a while.

Cars that sound like their farting and have been lowered so they have to drive over speed humps at snails pace

Low bats

Any kid who thinks he's a gangster

Slow walkers

People that smell bad

Freshies

Slow internet

Messi fans

Walking in a park and there's dog excrement everywhere. Clean it up you gandha khutta's

Bullying

This times infinity. Hate it when you're walking especially in a high street and your path is blocked by people walking really slow :facepalm:

People who have clearly spent all year revising, aced an exam but will walk out and say omg I messed up. Results day comes, lo and behold, they got 90%

Friend of mine is just like that. Drives me nuts. If hes gonna get 95% in a test he may as well be honest about it lol

:)) it got to the point that I would just say to them, I know full well what you got stop BSing me.

It generally goes like this (the guy has an indian accent that sounds like his throat was torched as a baby so keep that in mind lol)

*Going into exam*
"OMG I am SO SCREWED for this test. I did ABSOLUTELY NO STUDY last night. None. None at all!!
*During test*
I look and hes writing faster than humanely possible
*After exam*
OMG I FAILED!!. Nothing I learned came up. NOTHING!! I am screwed!!
*Results come back*
"Oh Hey _____. Howd you do in that test??"
"95%"
"So much for failing eh??"
"I swear I failed. I just got lucky!!" :facepalm: :facepalm:

At this point im doing my best not to punch him in his face lol

It generally goes like this (the guy has an indian accent that sounds like his throat was torched as a baby so keep that in mind lol)

*Going into exam*
"OMG I am SO SCREWED for this test. I did ABSOLUTELY NO STUDY last night. None. None at all!!
*During test*
*After exam*
*Results come back*
"95%"

Lmao at the looking over to him and seeing him writing his hand off lol!! And yup, I got lucky is their line of choosing once the results come out.

I'd go insane if not for Iqbal's poetry.

Jiss khet se dehqaan ko maiyassar naa ho rozi
Uss khet ke har khosha-e-gandum ko jalaa dau!

Mein naakhush-o-bezaar hun marmar ki silon se
Meray liye mitti ka haram ek aur banaa dau!

Subways can be dangerous. :/

I'm sort of afraid of them.

I'm not afraid.

I just hate them generally when I'm going back home.

:sigh:

This touches me at so many levels - the eloquence with which such profound feelings are woven..

Thanks for sharing Nostalgic bhai! Truly!

Slow walkers

People that smell bad

Freshies

Slow internet

Messi fans

Bullying

What's a freshie?

Wow.

This touches me at so many levels - the eloquence with which such profound feelings are woven..

Thanks for sharing Nostalgic bhai! Truly!

Pleasure. Iqbal usually doesn't "do" it for me. Faiz speaks to me. I've always been ambivalent towards Iqbal, probably because he is quoted by everyone and anyone to peddle whatever kool-aid they have. Come to think of it, that is a pet hate of mine.

But there's no denying the majesty of his verse. It tugs at the heartstrings even of this jaded liberal. These verses are from a favorite poem of mine. My Urdu professor at college told us once that this poem was also a favorite of Ahmad Nadeem Qasmi, who used to ask PTV to have the verses recited, like they did the more ambiguous ones. To no avail, since these were considered socialistic and subversive.

Another one from the same poem that can probably be targeted at the Khilafah crowd on PP:

Sultaani-e-Jamhoor ka aata hai zamaana
Jo Naqsh-e-Kuhan tum ko nazar aye, mitta do!

I also happen to hate rowdy youngsters who do not vacate their seats for the elderly.

Pleasure. Iqbal usually doesn't "do" it for me. Faiz speaks to me. I've always been ambivalent towards Iqbal, probably because he is quoted by everyone and anyone to peddle whatever kool-aid they have. Come to think of it, that is a pet hate of mine.

But there's no denying the majesty of his verse. It tugs at the heartstrings even of this jaded liberal. These verses are from a favorite poem of mine. My Urdu professor at college told us once that this poem was also a favorite of Ahmad Nadeem Qasmi, who used to ask PTV to have the verses recited, like they did the more ambiguous ones. To no avail, since these were considered socialistic and subversive.

Another one from the same poem that can probably be targeted at the Khilafah crowd on PP:

Sultaani-e-Jamhoor ka aata hai zamaana
Jo Naqsh-e-Kuhan tum ko nazar aye, mitta do!

Wow! Brilliant!!

I have a confession - I'm a typical "semi-burger" product of the English-medium system, where I'm more at home conversing in English than Urdu. Not pure burger, because I at least share the overarching values of majority of our people - but burger enough to have had minimal exposure to Urdu literature and poetry (and whatever exposure I did have was overrun by poor, disinterested teachers; who, I believe, were more responsible for making us hate the subject instead of cultivating any love for our mother tongue!).

Fast forward to this day and age: My journeys back home from university slowly began to turn hellish for me. It was then I randomly found an app of Baang-e-Daraa on my phone, and began reading the famous Shikwa and Jawab-e-Shikwa. They were truly eye openers, even though I had a hard time understanding some of the purer Urdu/Farsi morphology. They helped me shift my focus from feeling like a waste of space, to someone whose people have had a history, background and literature to shape their identity (if only we realised!)

Nevertheless, the point was, I am truly a novice in Urdu poetry.. But hopefully, I'll develop enough skills to truly understand the works of not just Iqbal, but also Faiz, Ghalib and other naamwar shura'a :)

Thanks for your ever-enlightening posts :)

Wow! Brilliant!!

I have a confession - I'm a typical "semi-burger" product of the English-medium system, where I'm more at home conversing in English than Urdu. Not pure burger, because I at least share the overarching values of majority of our people - but burger enough to have had minimal exposure to Urdu literature and poetry (and whatever exposure I did have was overrun by poor, disinterested teachers; who, I believe, were more responsible for making us hate the subject instead of cultivating any love for our mother tongue!).

Fast forward to this day and age: My journeys back home from university slowly began to turn hellish for me. It was then I randomly found an app of Baang-e-Daraa on my phone, and began reading the famous Shikwa and Jawab-e-Shikwa. They were truly eye openers, even though I had a hard time understanding some of the purer Urdu/Farsi morphology. They helped me shift my focus from feeling like a waste of space, to someone whose people have had a history, background and literature to shape their identity (if only we realised!)

Nevertheless, the point was, I am truly a novice in Urdu poetry.. But hopefully, I'll develop enough skills to truly understand the works of not just Iqbal, but also Faiz, Ghalib and other naamwar shura'a :)

Dair ayed, durust ayed ;)

I guess my experience is a bit different. I was lucky enough to have three Urdu teachers who were fine poets. The one in college in Wah, Professor Rauf Amir in particular had quite the life: the son of a daily wager laborer, himself a daily wager, who through sheer hard work got himself an education and a professorship. Wah during the 70s and 80s had a stellar poetry scene, and they helped him gain a modicum of recognition in the poetry world. He was personal friends with Faraz, Amjad and numerous other poets. Towards the end he was professor of Urdu at a university in Kazakhstan, where he suddenly died of a heart attack on Eid day. I vaguely remember one of his more famous ghazals, with the radeef (refrain) "meray saaray khwaab." The maqtaa was:

Mein aap apnay galay lagg ke bain karta hun
Rauf Amir! Meray veer! Meray saaray khwaab!

I remember one of our classmates was the son of one of his poet friends, and a very poor student. Sir would recite that guy's father's verse, purportedly penned for the son:

Piyaas tishna labon ki jo naa bujhaeen Naim
Doob marr jayien samandar mein woh kaalay baadal

Memories!

I guess my experience is a bit different. I was lucky enough to have three Urdu teachers who were fine poets. The one in college in Wah, Professor Rauf Amir in particular had quite the life: the son of a daily wager laborer, himself a daily wager, who through sheer hard work got himself an education and a professorship. Wah during the 70s and 80s had a stellar poetry scene, and they helped him gain a modicum of recognition in the poetry world. He was personal friends with Faraz, Amjad and numerous other poets. Towards the end he was professor of Urdu at a university in Kazakhstan, where he suddenly died of a heart attack on Eid day. I vaguely remember one of his more famous ghazals, with the radeef (refrain) "meray saaray khwaab." The maqtaa was:

I remember one of our classmates was the son of one of his poet friends, and a very poor student. Sir would recite that guy's father's verse, purportedly penned for the son:

Memories!

Thanks for sharing these :))

I also happen to hate rowdy youngsters who do not vacate their seats for the elderly.

Wow! Brilliant!!

Shikwa was amazing.

Jawab-e-Shikwa was just something else entirely.

Memories!

You have a very old soul in you for someone who is mid-30s

Hey! Early 30s!

But you're right. I have an old man's ruh in me. In fact, as CS Lewis said, "You don't have a soul. You are a soul. You have a body." Which means I'm old, I just have a young(ish) body.

*Going into exam*
*During test*
*After exam*
*Results come back*
"95%"

Spot on Donal:))),I hate such bluffers.

Hey! Early 30s!

But you're right. I have an old man's ruh in me. In fact, as CS Lewis said, "You don't have a soul. You are a soul. You have a body." Which means I'm old, I just have a young(ish) body.

That's an amazing saying

Back to pet Hates. Being awoken during my afternoon nap. Can never reclaim lost territory in the afternoon.

People who wear watches on their left hand instead of their right.

Sniffling in public.

Sobbing.

Unorganized people.

People who don't respond to your calls and when they finally show up, they're like, "I was coming."

Guys wear it on the left. Girls on the right.
That's the rule that society tells me to follow.

Every girl I see wears it on her left wrist too.

It drives me nuts. Everyone should wear it on their right.

I wear my watch on my right hand because I am left handed. A rule I learned from my father and works for me as well.

Today I was lambasted for the umpteenth time for eating with my left hand. This has definitely become a pet hate of mine, something I've had to live with all my life.

First of all, there is absolutely nothing wrong with it and also, mind your own business.

I wear my watch on my right hand because I am left handed. A rule I learned from my father and works for me as well.

You're left-handed? So am I!

I should start a thread on it. Maybe there's more of us here.

You're left-handed? So am I!

I should start a thread on it. Maybe there's more of us here.

Extreme left handed like my father. My right hand is practically useless in most cases if not aided by my left.

I can use both my hands for most things. Although I usually prefer one hand over the other in most cases.

I guess that makes me ambidextrous. :D

I hate driving a car when I am hungry.

I hate sitting around when I am hungry.

I hate doing anything when I am hungry!

I'm a righty, I wear my watch on my right hand - I do everything with my right hand even though my left side is stronger :facepalm:

On-topic: I also happen to hate pure 'burger' kids, though I'm prolly a halfburger myself

I'm a righty, I wear my watch on my right hand - I do everything with my right hand even though my left side is stronger :facepalm:

On-topic: I also happen to hate pure 'burger' kids, though I'm prolly a halfburger myself

How would you define a pure burger kid? I find it can be quite subjective, depending on the person you ask.

It is subjective. But here's my criteria for burger kids:

- do not care/know about Pakistan.
- believe Pakistanis are "low-culture" and tacky.
- filthy rich, extreme upper class who have no idea about the problems the masses face.
- try to apply Western Ideals onto everything (and then crying about how such ideals don't complement our society, and hence we are "backward.").
- completely removed from our society values.
- Idolise/follow Western TV shows, artists, issues, etc.
- Can speak barely passable Urdu (prefer English - tinted with fake accents).

There are probably more, but thats what comes to mind.