[PICS & VIDEOS] Pakistan squad train at the Boot Camp in Abbottabad

Muhammad10

Newly released videos by the PCB give us an exclusive look at Pakistan's squad training at the boot camp in Abbotabad.

<iframe width="640" height="360" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/u2vJ3V8yWWY" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

<iframe width="640" height="360" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/qbDvg14nni4" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

<iframe width="640" height="360" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/mHK7HHYdjkE" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

<iframe width="640" height="360" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/jcjB_VSOuiE" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

<iframe width="640" height="360" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/M9jY-PQLXB8" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

"Haath chalain, haath nahi chala rahay ap" :)))

What a stunning view of Abbottabad. They seem to be training hard. I hope this will help our team to perform better.

Those are not some out-of-the-blue training drills that they are doing.

Steep hill run is the best experience to increase your stamina and running speed.

I see nothing wrong in this camp atleast from these videos.

Excellent move by PCB and also great idea to make the videos Public ;-)

So many memories.

Also the white shirt people are the army trainers who are associated with these guys. Brilliant to see one of them out pacing all our super stars in the 50 m sprint test.

Good to see the boys working hard. Running up the hill will improve stamina as someone said

I couldn't tell for sure whether that was Imran Khan struggling to run up the hill but still, a very worrying sight.

Watch second turn (Imran & Khalid) doing steep hill.

Remember Khalid is a batsman, owes a Belly and is overweight but even He beats Imran comprehensively.

Not sure whether his general fitness is so poor or he did not fully recovered yet from his knee injury. But he did pass fitness test at NCA with an average score.

Am I write ?

In 50 meters sprint :

Shan Masood in white P-cap was first , Rahat was second & Bilawal was 3rd ?

I can assure you the "staffs" arent this encouraging when they are dealing with cadets.

Btw in Army, trainers who Non commissioned officers are addressed as Staff by the cadets.

I can assure you the "staffs" arent this encouraging when they are dealing with cadets.

Btw in Army, trainers who Non commissioned officers are addressed as Staff by the cadets.

Now I know why your name is Bashira Taeli ;-)

Bhaee agar Koi ghalti hogaee ho tou maaf ker dena. Abi tou meinay zindagi mein kuch dekha he nai ;-)

<iframe width="640" height="360" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/M9jY-PQLXB8" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Lol did the trainer just beat a bunch of international athletes. Pretty sure the guy would be older than all of the guys in our team.

[MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION]

Look at the last person doing stairs.

Isn't that Yasir Shah ? I think he is.

Reports were than he was ruled out on day1.

Lol did the trainer just beat a bunch of international athletes. Pretty sure the guy would be older than all of the guys in our team.

I wouldn't call most (if not all) of them international-level athletes just yet, because they're clearly not at the the required fitness level to deserve that description.

Anyone else agree this looks like such a waste of time? How is running up and down a hill going to improve a player apart from giving them an injury that will rule them out?

Fawad seems to be the fittest and seems to have most form. Bilawal Bhatti doing the steep hill looked completely out of place with how he positioned his arms.

Anyone else agree this looks like such a waste of time? How is running up and down a hill going to improve a player apart from giving them an injury that will rule them out?

You are right this won't increase the cricketing skills of a player, but then again this is not a cricket camp but a fitness and conditioning camp. Keeping that in mind running up a hill is an excellent exercise to improve stamina, running speed and overall fitness.

I really wanted to see Akmal/Shahzad there.

Good way to torture them.

Looks like HIIT training. It is effective. However, there is an excellent choice for one of them to get injured on those uneven surfaces.

This was fazal mehmood's idea of training in the 1950s.....glad to know we are still stuck there.

Imran Wasim and Waqar all said that they trained mostly just by running laps constantly and building up stamina and then practicing their bowling. Our players have pathetic stamina, so running will be good for them. If they can't do these exercises,they should not be in the team. Other teams have proper athletes while our team is filled with guys who are out of shape.

All BS, don't take this footage seriously guys.

Saw the EXACT same thing at the EXACT same venue of Abbottabad at yet another boot camp just 3 years ago around the same time this year only for an utter demolition at CT '13.

Still, better than them sitting on their bums.

Esp the bowlers, need to be ready to bowl plenty of overs.

If only those young cadets had cricketing skills

We would be so better off, why do all the fat and lazy people have to have the cricket skills

It's good that semifit or unfit players break down here rather than breaking down mid series as has often happened with us.

And our players are way behind other teams in term of fitness and they don't either work hard on individual levels apart from 4-5 players so such camps are must indeed.

Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk

If only those young cadets had cricketing skills

We would be so better off, why do all the fat and lazy people have to have the cricket skills

Because they have talent remember? Be afraid be very afraid :afridi

Glad Fawad comes out to be the fittest. Needs to be inducted into the team for his fitness and fielding skills alone, and for not being big mouth or egoistic as well!

His numbers are not bad as well ;)

All BS, don't take this footage seriously guys.

Saw the EXACT same thing at the EXACT same venue of Abbottabad at yet another boot camp just 3 years ago around the same time this year only for an utter demolition at CT '13.

Still, better than them sitting on their bums.

Esp the bowlers, need to be ready to bowl plenty of overs.

Did you see the team that was selected for that CT?

Kamran Akmal, Imran Farhat, Umar Amin, Asad Shafiq, Shoaib Malik

The team selection did not factor any fitness criteria, because Fawad was also the fittest player in that camp. We were playing for a white-wash with that team, and got what we deserved

Did you see the team that was selected for that CT?

Kamran Akmal, Imran Farhat, Umar Amin, Asad Shafiq, Shoaib Malik

The team selection did not factor any fitness criteria, because Fawad was also the fittest player in that camp. We were playing for a white-wash with that team, and got what we deserved

That's the point. If the selection is not on point, then these fit camps aren't worth much.

Even now, don't expect this camp to transform us to world beaters.

This camp has 1 purpose. To get us to catch up to the fitness levels of other teams because we are below par atm.

If we achieve that then it's done it's job, but it is incredibly unlikely because how much can you gain in 2 weeks? You'll be given rest days too, so not even full 2 weeks.

[MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION]

Look at the last person doing stairs.

Isn't that Yasir Shah ? I think he is.

Reports were than he was ruled out on day1.

Who are the last 4 guys in the final clip? The ones who couldnt even finish the sprint?

He was (supposedly) fit.

Our players hide niggles.

He got ruled out midway day1 and than ruled out of camp after Scans.

He should be put under strict care at NCA until England tour.

If handled right he still can be ready for England tests (2nd test atleast if not 1st)

Who are the last 4 guys in the final clip? The ones who couldnt even finish the sprint?
The one who is limping abit in the end is Imran Khan on the right side. While one of the rest 3 is Sharjeel Khan. One is probably Sami Aslam (but I am not sure about it) and 4th one don't know.

Imran Khan really needs to improve his fitness, Ehsan should have been part of the camp and should be back up of Imran. If he doesnt improve his fitness there is no use of selecting him

Misbah was 4th and Amad Butt 5th.
[MENTION=379]Bouncer[/MENTION] probably it was Sami Aslam, Asad Shafiq or Asif Zakir.

By huge concern is Imran Khan limping in his strides :(
[MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION] who is the tall fellow at right hand side of Imran Khan who could not finish ?

lollzzzzz i 3rd video at 21 sec army trainer saying "sharjeel sahab aage nikal gaye mere se"
sharjeel beat army trainer . wow :))))

Imran Khan really needs to improve his fitness, Ehsan should have been part of the camp and should be back up of Imran. If he doesnt improve his fitness there is no use of selecting him
Is he fully fit (no injury) ?

Has he completely recovered from Knee injury ?

He is limping.

You cannot improve limping during such camps no matter how hard you try. It may worsen his case.

And Ehsan is more unfit, rightly ignored by Inzamam. He can't even balance himself on his thin legs while bending down to collect ball while fielding and little said about his legs collapse during delivery stride the better it is. (Pak-Cup)

Is he fully fit (no injury) ?

Has he completely recovered from Knee injury ?

He is limping.

You cannot improve limping during such camps no matter how hard you try. It may worsen his case.

And Ehsan is more unfit, rightly ignored by Inzamam. He can't even balance himself on his thin legs while bending down to collect ball while fielding and little said about his legs collapse during delivery stride the better it is. (Pak-Cup)

Ehsan might have few issues with his delivery stride but he wasnt unfit in Pak-Cup

If IK isnt fit enough we need to bring in Ehsan, because we have to play atleast 1 Right arm seamer. Hassan Will earn selection most probably but there has to be one more in the squad.

Ehsan might have few issues with his delivery stride but he wasnt unfit in Pak-Cup

If IK isnt fit enough we need to bring in Ehsan, because we have to play atleast 1 Right arm seamer. Hassan Will earn selection most probably but there has to be one more in the squad.
Why was Ehsan Adil not selected for not a 20 membered but a 35 membered squad for boot camp despite playing Pakistan Cup infront of camera ? ?

Now we cannot say that Chief Selector is Haroon Rasheed so knows nothing etc etc.

Not making 35 membered squad gives a strong loud and clear message to Ehsan Adil. Remember he was also 2nd highest wicket taker in QEA and still ignored.

lollzzzzz i 3rd video at 21 sec army trainer saying "sharjeel sahab aage nikal gaye mere se"
sharjeel beat army trainer . wow :))))

He's determined to train to track down and hunt the blackmailers :moyo

Hmm... so this must be Anwar Ali's specialty, fitness camps.

Can't bat, bowl, field. But can do fitness camps. Quite a talent.

Complete tamasha, these videos and this camp.

Completely demystifying national heroes and opening them up to public ridicule. PCB may be thinking it makes them look professional - getting their players fit. Not even Zimbabwe board will put their players' fitness test reports and harsh training public. No wonder players act like children when they are treated like children.

Not to mention that the camp itself is poorly timed, eating into valuable off season. See them since in England laden footed.

No athlete or board in any sport gives out confidential reports. Fitness regimes a routinely covered but they are heavily edited and support a massage.

I don't like this. Our players deserve better.

Most of the guys were not sprinting at all only 3/4 guys, looks like they were too tired already from these drills...[emoji37][emoji37][emoji37]

This kind of camp should happen more regularly and too 70+ players of both national, A and under 19 teams...

Real value is when they adapt many of these trainings in daily life... Fitness is not an event it's a process [emoji848][emoji848]

Correction :

Rahat 1st

Shan 2nd

Bilawal 3rd

I have never understood criticism regarding Rahat's fitness because he never looks unfit (unlike certain others) and is certainly capable of bowling long spells in tests.

Actually this is just a 50 meters sprint which is only 1 of the parameters to judge fitness and he stood 1st among 9 players.

Total their are 35 players so we do not know yet about the other 26 players and there standing.

But among these 9 certainly he and Shan stood out and did quite well comparatively.

Fitness as a fast bowler is not just about bowling long spells but also about the intensity with which you bowl your 2nd 3rd 4th and 5th spell.

Also if you get tired earlier than a fit guy than your line and length control also falls apart.

Rahat is talented and as all the ingredients wrt skillset to be successful but he does lack temperament of a fast bowler and isn't strong nerved. On the other hand his 3rd, 4th and 5th spells aren't as good as is required of him. So fitness is an issue. He also gets unfit too often for a guy who is fast medium.

Currently he has got slight back issue so let's hope he does not break down in this boot camp or during test series in England.

Test series in England will be make or break for him but on the other hand it will be golden oppurtunity for him to cement his place in test side because he would love those bowling conditions.

Let's hope for the best.

Rahat needs Wahab's stamena, Wahab's energy & Wahab's temperament.

Than he will become World class test bowler.

Despite UAE pitches etc his Test figures are not justified because he has played tests in Zimbabwe, Srilanka and South Africa aswell.

So given his skillset he should have been averaging 26-28 after 14 tests whereas he averages 36.

Hope he plays all 3 tests vs England without getting unfit and brings his average under 30 which is very much possible.

Glad to see the boys get worked hard.

Is this a regular army boot camp or an SSG Commando drill?

Most of the guys were not sprinting at all only 3/4 guys, looks like they were too tired already from these drills...[emoji37][emoji37][emoji37]

This kind of camp should happen more regularly and too 70+ players of both national, A and under 19 teams...

Real value is when they adapt many of these trainings in daily life... Fitness is not an event it's a process [emoji848][emoji848]

Yeah, but when it's not ingrained in the system then this is what is left. One-off training camps in a desperate attempt to make the players international level athletes.

Hopefully at some point in the future, we can finally get on a higher level, along with other teams.

With my interest and experience in this sort of training, this is not very safe training, bound to create some injury. I have seen professional players here in USA training, much harder but much safer, less chances of getting injured.

Glad Fawad comes out to be the fittest. Needs to be inducted into the team for his fitness and fielding skills alone, and for not being big mouth or egoistic as well!

His numbers are not bad as well ;)

His dancing skills will come in handy when batting against English seamers!!!

At least boys are training, so appreciate them rather than criticizing that these drills won't help and bla bla bla.

Some of our people loves to cry on every single thing.

If our players don't do any thing for their fitness - They are culprits

If our players are do something for their fitness - Still they are culprits

Rahat needs Wahab's stamena, Wahab's energy & Wahab's temperament.

Than he will become World class test bowler.

Despite UAE pitches etc his Test figures are not justified because he has played tests in Zimbabwe, Srilanka and South Africa aswell.

So given his skillset he should have been averaging 26-28 after 14 tests whereas he averages 36.

Hope he plays all 3 tests vs England without getting unfit and brings his average under 30 which is very much possible.

Rahat has issues with his back, he needs to work on it. Otherwise i am pretty sure he will get injured again and again and it can ruin his promising career.

He is still young, need to sort out this issue.

Complete tamasha, these videos and this camp.

Completely demystifying national heroes and opening them up to public ridicule. PCB may be thinking it makes them look professional - getting their players fit. Not even Zimbabwe board will put their players' fitness test reports and harsh training public. No wonder players act like children when they are treated like children.

Not to mention that the camp itself is poorly timed, eating into valuable off season. See them since in England laden footed.

No athlete or board in any sport gives out confidential reports. Fitness regimes a routinely covered but they are heavily edited and support a massage.

I don't like this. Our players deserve better.

There is nothing wrong with doing practice and these drills in even public, this increases awareness, kids can learn something from those drills, plus it will motivate players to improve their fitness... This happens all the time here in USA, Redskin practice nearby thousands of people watch them go through exercise drills and game plays for hours... You are making mole out of nothing...

Plus doing regularly is key, it can have speed gun effect at a smaller scale... Speed gun forces bowlers to bowl at certain level of speed, it want to improve or maintain their speed, fitness is kind of bench mark, in future more well build players will emerge if these fitness exercise are part of middle and high school...That's where you will see real impact...These guys are shadow of high school football or basket ball teams of even my town here :(

I think those who return fit from this camp will be selected for eng tour...I am not fan of this military training for player we dont want them to go to war, but honestly I am happy with misery of our players.

LOl these are routine exercises and unlikely to cause any injuries. Short sprints and a few runs uphill should be cakewalk for these atheletes.

Knowing our players and heat in the country and their level of conditioning it can result in injuries without much effort.

CivbLtLWYAEw6K0.jpg

On the flip side Ahmed Butt look super fit during A team camp.

Knowing our players and heat in the country and their level of conditioning it can result in injuries without much effort.

Its OK in abbotabad , around 34 degrees. Heat is not an issue and believe me if any player gets injured from mthese exercises then god help him.

34 degree is warm secondly lots of our players eat crap and have no idea of proper nutrition and any core strength to keep them up if you see them doing these exercises they seems to be in bad postures and look super tiered...I am seriously scared of their fitness.

CivbLtLWYAEw6K0.jpg

On the flip side Ahmed Butt look super fit during A team camp.

[MENTION=133726]GoUgandaCranes[/MENTION] remember we had a debate few months ago ?

I told you he works very hard on his fitness and he is lean and muscular unlike majority domestic fast bowlers.

InshaAllah he will represent pakistan for more than 12 years.