[PICTURE] Is Wasim Khan feeling the pressure of his job?

Normally a visit like this would have Pakistan CE bubbling with joy but watching Pakistan perform so dismally and hearing of the criticism from all quarters must be putting him under a lot of pressure.

He also showed similar emotions at the post match ceremonies and wore a look of a defeated person.

Fight or flight? Which option will he take? I suppose the Test series against Sri Lanka and the Australia T20I series are more tests but can he survive the pressure?

EGccoQwWkAAsQ08

Must be tough to get overpaid for a job that you can’t do. The amount of money PCB is wasting on him is utterly ridiculous.

While creating a new domestic structure is a good initiative but he better start doing somethings that can produce the results at international level as thats the main purpose of any decision and action. Obviously somethings will take time but to remain in his job he needs to sort out the national team as if the performances continue to be like that, he will have to find another job soon.

Problem is he has come into an environment where no one looks at any long term goals - its only about next match - its a tough job selling the future to Pakistanis - we just dont work like that.

Obviously, he's the main man in our domestic reform efforts. Imagine all the political power he's had to shake off trying to make change.

This will be the most challenging job he will ever have.

Working at Leics, ECB etc will be a piece of cake compared to his current roll.

People will disagree with me but I think Dr. Nauman Niaz would have been better choice than him...

Strategic decision makers can only be assessed for long term results.

Wasim Khan is ridiculously overpaid for the job that he is supposed to do. 40 lakhs per month amounts to 48 crore rupees per year. That is an absurd and completely irrational amount of money to supervise domestic cricket and the day to day to activities of PCB. And this is just the base salary - it doesn’t include other allowances, bonuses, perks, logistics etc.

We have to look at it this way - does his job description justify a package of roughly 50 crore rupees per year? I really don’t think so. It is a clear example of inefficient use of recourses and not taking effective cost-cutting measures.

He is getting ridiculously overpaid because of he is a British national and the “I left England to help Pakistan cricket” drama. Yes for a British national who was working with the ECB, 40 lakhs per months is not a big sum, but it is an absurd amount of money per annum for PCB.

PCB got swayed by his British accent and his work experience with the ECB, but that is not a pre-requisite. You don’t need someone who has worked with the ECB to improve Pakistan’s domestic cricket. Pakistan is not England and what worked for England may not work for Pakistan.

More interestingly, he didn’t even implement his own system. He was simply handed the structure approved by Imran “PM should not intervene in PCB affairs unless the PM is a cricket legend like me” Khan.

Imran Khan has botched many appointments in his tenure and Ehsan Mani is one of them, who in turn botched by appointing a ridiculously overpaid foreign national when it wasn’t necessary.

Who is going to be answerable when 50 crore rupees go to waste every year? How much many does PCB have anyway? Haven’t they been left dry by the “corrupt” Sethi and the lost legal battles with BCCI?

Problem is he has come into an environment where no one looks at any long term goals - its only about next match - its a tough job selling the future to Pakistanis - we just dont work like that.

It's not like the present is so great that we need to avoid working on the future. There needs to be a mindset change. If Pakistan wishes to continue dwelling in the past, then they should give the job to some former player who is well versed in how Pakistan cricket works. Lots of jobs for friends and family perhaps and a cosy arrangement where domestic cricket stays undeveloped but those on the inside are happy.

Wasim Khan is ridiculously overpaid for the job that he is supposed to do. 40 lakhs per month amounts to 48 crore rupees per year. That is an absurd and completely irrational amount of money to supervise domestic cricket and the day to day to activities of PCB. And this is just the base salary - it doesn’t include other allowances, bonuses, perks, logistics etc.

We have to look at it this way - does his job description justify a package of roughly 50 crore rupees per year? I really don’t think so. It is a clear example of inefficient use of recourses and not taking effective cost-cutting measures.

He is getting ridiculously overpaid because of he is a British national and the “I left England to help Pakistan cricket” drama. Yes for a British national who was working with the ECB, 40 lakhs per months is not a big sum, but it is an absurd amount of money per annum for PCB.

PCB got swayed by his British accent and his work experience with the ECB, but that is not a pre-requisite. You don’t need someone who has worked with the ECB to improve Pakistan’s domestic cricket. Pakistan is not England and what worked for England may not work for Pakistan.

More interestingly, he didn’t even implement his own system. He was simply handed the structure approved by Imran “PM should not intervene in PCB affairs unless the PM is a cricket legend like me” Khan.

Imran Khan has botched many appointments in his tenure and Ehsan Mani is one of them, who in turn botched by appointing a ridiculously overpaid foreign national when it wasn’t necessary.

Who is going to be answerable when 50 crore rupees go to waste every year? How much many does PCB have anyway? Haven’t they been left dry by the “corrupt” Sethi and the lost legal battles with BCCI?

4.8 crore, not 48 crore!

You make decent points. Please share an alternative from within Pakistan. High character professionals with knowledge of Sports Management are not growing on trees in Pakistan.

People in Pakistan are too impatient and expect results in one day.

You make decent points. Please share an alternative from within Pakistan. High character professionals with knowledge of Sports Management are not growing on trees in Pakistan.

They are not growing on trees, but you won’t find them unless you advertise the role and make a proper effort to find the right candidate. How many candidates did PCB interview for the role and why were they rejected? How did Wasim Khan sell himself? What was the screening process like?

Yes he has an impressive CV, but how did he sell himself for this particular role and what ideas did he share in his interview? I don’t think PCB have the answers to these questions.

From where I see it, it appears that PCB appointed him purely because of his nationality and experience of working with the ECB, without properly considering whether Wasim Khan had the capacity to transfer those skills and tweak them to the Pakistan job.

Considering his first major decision (other than implementing Imran Khan’s idea) was to make Misbah the coach and the selector, it is abundantly clear that he is clueless and does not deserve to be overpaid. I am sure the dozens of salty and bitter ex-cricketers could have come up with the genius idea of making Misbah the most powerful man in Pakistan cricket with one stroke for far less money.

People would rather see a corrupt incompetent ex cricketer in charge.

And they would have taken the same genius decision of making Misbah coach and captain for a lot less money. If you are going to put a clueless person in charge, why not put the less expensive clueless person.

Nevertheless, on a concluding note, I would say that unless he can use his contacts to convince ECB to arrange a full tour to Pakistan which would be a game-changer as far as restoring cricket in Pakistan is concerned, I really don’t see him appointment leading to anything other than a serious waste of money.

instead of writing eassy can you provide me the official contract about his salary?he denied the reports of such a high pay

They are not growing on trees, but you won’t find them unless you advertise the role and make a proper effort to find the right candidate. How many candidates did PCB interview for the role and why were they rejected? How did Wasim Khan sell himself? What was the screening process like?

Yes he has an impressive CV, but how did he sell himself for this particular role and what ideas did he share in his interview? I don’t think PCB have the answers to these questions.

From where I see it, it appears that PCB appointed him purely because of his nationality and experience of working with the ECB, without properly considering whether Wasim Khan had the capacity to transfer those skills and tweak them to the Pakistan job.

Considering his first major decision (other than implementing Imran Khan’s idea) was to make Misbah the coach and the selector, it is abundantly clear that he is clueless and does not deserve to be overpaid. I am sure the dozens of salty and bitter ex-cricketers could have come up with the genius idea of making Misbah the most powerful man in Pakistan cricket with one stroke for far less money.

With Misbah, i think his hands were tied, the applicants who were interested in the Pakistani role were Dean Jones, Misbah ul Haq, Waqar Younis. If no quality candidates applied, what could the PCB do? Appoint Mohsin Khan?

instead of writing eassy can you provide me the official contract about his salary?he denied the reports of such a high pay

I don’t work for the PCB so I don’t have access to their official contracts. Besides, a couple of months back, Wasim Khan moaned that the media and ex-cricketers attack him for his salary. That clearly indicates that the reported figure is correct otherwise he would have said something.

With Misbah, i think his hands were tied, the applicants who were interested in the Pakistani role were Dean Jones, Misbah ul Haq, Waqar Younis. If no quality candidates applied, what could the PCB do? Appoint Mohsin Khan?

Terrible candidates all of them. I agree. Dean Jones is also a hack and people are deluded if they think he is a proper coach. However, what good is Wasim Khan then? He has worked with the ECB for years and has an extensive network in County cricket. How come not a single coach from county cricket got excited by the prospect of Wasim Khan and having the opportunity of working with a national team?

My point is, what good is Wasim Khan for Pakistan if his clout and influence in English cricket does not yield any benefits such as attracting coaching talent, getting England to tour Pakistan, contracts for the top English talent in PSL etc. What exactly is Pakistan getting from him in exchange for the ridiculous amount of money that he is getting paid?

I don’t work for the PCB so I don’t have access to their official contracts. Besides, a couple of months back, Wasim Khan moaned that the media and ex-cricketers attack him for his salary. That clearly indicates that the reported figure is correct otherwise he would have said something.

No surprised there you believed in media speculation:inti .

Terrible candidates all of them. I agree. Dean Jones is also a hack and people are deluded if they think he is a proper coach. However, what good is Wasim Khan then? He has worked with the ECB for years and has an extensive network in County cricket. How come not a single coach from county cricket got excited by the prospect of Wasim Khan and having the opportunity of working with a national team?

My point is, what good is Wasim Khan for Pakistan if his clout and influence in English cricket does not yield any benefits such as attracting coaching talent, getting England to tour Pakistan, contracts for the top English talent in PSL etc. What exactly is Pakistan getting from him in exchange for the ridiculous amount of money that he is getting paid?

I think the pay the PCB was offering for the role was simply not competitive i.e. $240,000 a year. According to media reports, a lot of candidates expressed interest in the role and their first question was regarding the pay, the perks involved. However once the PCB responded, those candidates did not get back to them.

The BCCI pays Ravi Shashtri $1.2 million a year. After that the likes of Australia and England pay $600,000 and $550,000 a year to their coaches. The PCB should have been ready to cough up $600,000 plus atleast to attract the very best

He's going to suffer a lot of frustration in this job. He's going to have to deal with a lot of people who dislike him and want to make his life as difficult as possible

I wonder if he will see his contract out.

Yes sorry for the mistake. I didn’t double check. Nevertheless, the point remains. It is a huge sum of money for his job description.

Lol! It’s 1/10th the amount you were using in your argument! The point doesn’t remain.

$350K a year for the head of an organization the size of PCB is not ridiculous

He's going to suffer a lot of frustration in this job. He's going to have to deal with a lot of people who dislike him and want to make his life as difficult as possible

I wonder if he will see his contract out.

Im sure he will, no one accepts a job in the pcb accepting a smooth ride.

He has made poor choices, which I am very surprised about.
I thought he would be bring in professionalism, he just seems to
be putting a rubber stamp on bad decisions. If he doesn't start thinking for
himself and stops appeasing the established routine he will just be a higher paid loose end.

He should be feeling pressure - by far his biggest decision so far, to appoint Misbah as head coach and chief selector, looks like a total blunder - in fact it looks like one of the worst decision in the history of the PCB

Every executive makes mistakes, the question is will he realize his mistake and try to correct it?

So if he just have had a laugh and a shot was taken at that particular time, everything would have been fine right?

The role was advertised. Amongst the other candidates was a certain Doctor from PTV Sports.

You, nor I know what all happened at the interviews, so your post is basically conjecture at this point. PCB aren't going to broadcast his interview and what happened there, so it's pointless to discuss this.

I don't mean to be rude, but your whole argument revolves around the style of third-rate journalism that is prevalent in the Pakistani media i.e. "Bairuni mulk insaan ko le aye kyun ke wo achi angrezi bolta hai, itni paise de rahe hain, apne Pakistani bande ko kyun nahi lagaya". From a poster of your calibre, I'd expect a little more substance than this.

How much do you propose a Chief Executive of an organisation like the PCB should be paid?

Dean Jones would still have been an upgrade over Misbah

If all were terrible candidates - what prevented the PCB and Wasim Khan in particular from retaining Mickey?

Let’s be honest - our 5th place position in the WC was as best as this lot could have done. Realistically - losing to England and Australia was expected anyway before the WC.

Yes - our Test team was in shambles but all Mickey needed was some help from the PCB and our senior players on the playing XI for UAE tests.. he would have learnt anyway.

My two cents:

4.8 crore rupeee is still about £250k annually with less tax to pay than UK and much greater allowances and fringe benefits including free accommodation.

I doubt CEO of a small county like Leicestershire is paid more than £200k per year. Add to that the 40% tax .

Also, everyone says he was working for ECB. He was actually working for Leicestershire CCC. There was no guarantee he would have bagged the ECB job. If anything after PCB, he will most probably have a much greater chance of landing the ECB job than he ever had before.

Hopefully, he does really well at PCB. However, the whole coach selection process was a fiasco. From Misbah’s obvious conflict of interest to suspicious lack of interest from non-Pakistani candidates. Heck even Afghanistan coaching role attracted greater interest. At worst, it reeks of nepotism and corruption. At best total lack of competence.

This would hold true regardless of how well Misbah performs as a coach.

Any person responsible to bring in Misbah for his current job should be fired immediately.

I agree. The CEO of Pakistan’s biggest and most profitable sporting entity should be paid well. I also believe that Wasim Khan is highly qualified even if I disagree with some of his decisions and strategies.

The comments related to the process are fair. I personally don’t think this position should be advertised. C-Suite personnel is headhunted. The PCB in its infinite wisdom advertised the job.

Yes sorry for the mistake. I didn’t double check. Nevertheless, the point remains. It is a huge sum of money for his job description.

4.8 crore pkr is $300,000 usd, how is that too much, Sarfaraz and Mickey were being payed that much.

He's running the PCB and he's doing a good job. As far as the appointment of Misbah is concerned, there was a committee to select the coach, which he was part of, but he can't overrule everyone in the committee and appoint a coach he wanted as he would get more criticism and there would have been no point of forming a committee.

Also I donÂ’t see anything off about WKs demeanor in the picture so not sure what the OP is on about

Doesnt seem to happy - atleast in pictures going out to the world media he should be, well smiling! Don't read too much into it as I really dont know what he was thinking at the time pic was taken.

Picture is just to trigger a discussion about how as CE of PCB he should be feeling pressure.

Chief Selector and Pakistan cricket team head coach Misbah-ul-Haq faces setback as a claim has been filed in civil court for withholding a salary of Rs 32 lakh.

The claim has been filed by local lawyer Manzoor Qadir, in which the chief executive and chief selector Pakistan Cricket Team have been made part of the petition.

The petition states that Pakistan owes Rs 30,000 billion while Chief Selector Misbah-ul-Haq’s salary is 32 lakh monthly. 32 lakh monthly salary is cruelty to the country and the nation. The cricket board’s unwise spending is irreparably damaging to the country.

https://dailytimes.com.pk/481473/head-coach-misbah-ul-huq-in-trouble-over-rs-32-lakh-monthly-salary/

Doesnt seem to happy - atleast in pictures going out to the world media he should be, well smiling! Don't read too much into it as I really dont know what he was thinking at the time pic was taken.

Picture is just to trigger a discussion about how as CE of PCB he should be feeling pressure.

He obviously didn't know the picture of was being taken, nobody in that room did. Also his expression is the expression of every Pakistani watching those mathces.

I think this picture was not taken by a hidden camera so rest assured, everyone knew the picture was taken.

However, I suggest we move away from the picture for this discussion.

Anyone, who has made massive changes, has seen his team been whitewashed and facing criticism from all quarters would be under pressure.

It appears that everyone is adamant that 30 lakhs/month is very reasonable for this post.

However, we should not forget that this is a newly invented position in the PCB hierarchy because previously the PCB Chairman was also managing the day to day affairs. Now the question is - did the PCB previously fail because the Chairman was also the CEO or did it fail because it never really found the right man for the job? I don’t think the answer to this question is clear, and when your newly appointed CEO ends up appointing Misbah as coach and selector in his first major move, you have to question if it was really necessary to have him on board.

Wasim Khan is certainly being overpaid for the value he's bringing to the table. There's a definite air of amateurishness to the strategic planning and operational management thus far in his tenure. I don't really care about his nationality or background, but solely on the basis of the job he's doing, it's more disastrous incompetence from the PCB to be wasting upwards of 300,000 dollars a year on him.

btw how the team performs isn't Waseem Khans problem. He is incharge for the admin stuff, the doemstic stuff and the hiring.

Team performance headache is the captain and coaches problem

also the kids here who re saying he is being over paid, tell me one thing. What is the salary of a normal Managing Director in an office like PCB?

If you want to pay less, than well and good. Make PCB admin jobs come under CSS. A CSS MD gets 3-4 lakh salary i suppose at director general level.
Appoint a CSS DG as MD and save cost.

You guys talk about hirign professionals but than also have issue on the amount of money being given out.

People here make claims that he is overpaid, but at the same time dont know what is the the market rate aswell for a cricekt admin.

It appears that everyone is adamant that 30 lakhs/month is very reasonable for this post.

However, we should not forget that this is a newly invented position in the PCB hierarchy because previously the PCB Chairman was also managing the day to day affairs. Now the question is - did the PCB previously fail because the Chairman was also the CEO or did it fail because it never really found the right man for the job? I don’t think the answer to this question is clear, and when your newly appointed CEO ends up appointing Misbah as coach and selector in his first major move, you have to question if it was really necessary to have him on board.

bro lets also admit that there is a misbah biasness here.

WE could had hired Mike Hesson, and had he lost to Srilanka we would had said, oh its his first series give him time.

Reading your post I was thinking wow I actually agree with Mamoon - for the PCB, 48 crore is massive. Then other posters pointed out that the salary 4.8 crore and it became apparent that everything you wrote was, well, fake news.

What's worse is that instead of saying ah ok my point no longer stands, you've doubled down and said no point still applies that 4.8 crore is too much. It's always better to own up when you're wrong - contrary to what you might think, it makes people respect you more and not less.

4.8 crore is certainly not a massive salary for one of the most high profile roles in Pakistani cricket. In fact, I would argue its grossly below par. It actually gives me new found respect for Wasim - he's clearly got the interests of Pakistani cricket at heart otherwise for this sort of money, he simply wouldn't have uprooted his life in Britain where he was clearly more than comfortable. It's not like his career was going down the drain here in England - by all accounts he was doing very well and he was not under the unreasonable media pressure that comes with his new role. I absolutely love Pakistani cricket but even for me, in his situation, that would have been a tough life choice and I'm not certain I would have taken it.

So, instead of carrying out an unjustified character assassination of Wasim, I think you and other Pakistani fans should be applauding the fact that we finally have someone in charge of Pakistani cricket who is a) competent and b) not looking to line his pockets with the PCB's cash. That is an extremely rare combination which I'm not sure we've ever had before.

Wasim has my unquestionable support and it's about time other so called Pakistani cricket fans got behind him too. If every time someone tries to do good things for Pakistani cricket, we the fans and the media, scare them away, then we simply will never progress as a cricketing nation. So let's back Wasim, give him time to achieve results and make him feel welcome in the Pakistani set up.

I will tell you why Wasim was hired, you guys don't know how to manage your finances. Its better a Pakistani ethnic person tells you what to do than a non Pakistani. Give him time and space.

Blame your ex cricketers for the failures. This will be last time Wasim trusts ex cricketers to do coaching jobs.

The main problem for some to digest is that Wasim Khan is Mani's hire who is Imran Khan's appointment. The rest is hubris.

He was in the running to be the Chairman of ECB

Lucky that way otherwise England would be in the bottom of the ranking. So far the decisions he made are atrocious.
The whole process of finding management staffs of Pakistan cricket team looks very unprofessional and deceptive. He put Misbah in a coach selection committee and than select Misbah without have any qualification according the advertisement.
If he wanted to hand picked coaches why he did false advertisement with high requirements and choose worse people for the job.
He put Sarfraz in A+ category and kept him captain but in fact Sarfraz shouldn't be even in the team. Keep the same old managements in PCB, gave Misbah dual role knowing that this guy can only select his friends rather than give opportunities to new players...

bro lets also admit that there is a misbah biasness here.

WE could had hired Mike Hesson, and had he lost to Srilanka we would had said, oh its his first series give him time.

Mike Hesson would not bring back Shehzad, Umar Akmal and retain Safraz, Fahim, Asif....

btw how the team performs isn't Waseem Khans problem. He is incharge for the admin stuff, the doemstic stuff and the hiring.

Team performance headache is the captain and coaches problem

Tell me what significant job so far he has done?

Highly unlikely. In PCB apart from criticism people can get away with many wrong doing but in ECB he would have been sacked in 6 months if he did 1 wrong thing.

Pakistan needs a professional coach like Steve Rhodes or even Haturi of Sri Lanka not Misbah/Dean/Waqar/Mohsin.No need to go with high profile players rather than some hard working professional English/Australia Div 1 coaches. Wasim Khan like himself obsess with the star without knowing that star has ability to train players.

Trying to compare an administrator's salary in Pakistan to what they could earn in the west is false equivalence. You'd be laughed out of town if you tried to do that in other industries in Pakistan. Only a complete imbecile would try and compare the salaries for a general manager in US sports or the director of operations in European football to the salaries the PCB can afford.

Compensation needs to be tied to the size of the industry and the PCB cannot afford to pay as much as the BCCI or the ECB because it doesn't make a quarter of the revenue. In any case, I'd be shocked if Wasim Khan's salary at Leicestershire would not have been less than half what he's making at the PCB. All this talk about professional sacrifice is a red herring in that context.

No you wont because you have no experience of doing this job.

To be honest there are a number of posters who could do a better job and just because [MENTION=113742]Hamza_[/MENTION] has no experience doesn't mean he would do just as bad as Wasim Khan. After all anyone with a bit of common sense would not opt for Misbah to occupy not just one but two positions in Pakistan cricket as Head Coach and Chief Selector.

This is like my old joke whenever a batsman is out for 0... I say "I could have also scored a 0" but we know that playing international cricket, running an organization etc are not things ordinary people can do without experience.

Scoring a duck is a one time failure whereas appointing a specialist in failure like Misbah is far more substantial.

How can anyone justify selecting an ex-player who stabbed Mickey in the back (as a committee member) and then go on to replace him as Head Coach without any experience or sufficient coaching qualifications?

If Wasim Khan was half competent he would realise by now he's made a big blunder and fire Misbah today, but it won't happen until it's too late, as the damage caused by him would be beyond repair by then.

Scoring a duck is a one time failure whereas appointing a specialist in failure like Misbah is far more substantial.

How can anyone justify selecting an ex-player who stabbed Mickey in the back (as a committee member) and then go on to replace him as Head Coach without any experience or sufficient coaching qualifications?

If Wasim Khan was half competent he would realise by now he's made a big blunder and fire Misbah today, but it won't happen until it's too late, as the damage caused by him would be beyond repair by then.

I am not sure if posters suggesting this are serious.

PCB already has a reputation for being a haphazard organisation and we need to do a lot of positive image-building to attract high quality coaches and professionals.

Misbah has been signed for a 3-year term. Panicking and dumping the coach after one series/month will be a perfect way to further the negative image. It will also be costly, and PCB will have to waste resources on finding a new coach. With coaches hardly lining up to be hired, we'll be stuck with someone like MHK one week before the tour of Australia.

Let's all think rationally about this.

I think Misbah will remain the coach until the T20 World Cup next year at the very least.

I am not sure if posters suggesting this are serious.

PCB already has a reputation for being a haphazard organisation and we need to do a lot of positive image-building to attract high quality coaches and professionals.

Misbah has been signed for a 3-year term. Panicking and dumping the coach after one series/month will be a perfect way to further the negative image. It will also be costly, and PCB will have to waste resources on finding a new coach. With coaches hardly lining up to be hired, we'll be stuck with someone like MHK one week before the tour of Australia.

Let's all think rationally about this.

I think Misbah will remain the coach until the T20 World Cup next year at the very least.

I get that it's not good for Pakistan's image if they just sack him because of the team's results however he can be fired in a more dignified way and that would be on the basis of the blatant conflict of interest that occurred during the process leading up to the appointment.

As for your point regarding the lack of coaches lining up for the role, well they didn't need to replace Mickey Arthur did they? I've been saying this since the start of the year to all those who wished for him to be given the boot, you can't replace someone an inferior ex-player just because the current coach isn't living up to your expectations.

There is no point in retaining for him any longer unless we want to press self-destruct button on Pakistan cricket.

I feel for this bloke. He definitely set out to improve the quality of Pakistan cricket but might have hit the same wall that has prevented younger, talented players from coming through the ranks.

Most of the senior players in the team are fairly medicre and barring once-in-a-flashpan performance, they don't have much to offer to their younger counterparts in terms of mentorship. I think he should turn attention to building cricket at the local level. identify talented players and push them higher. Until we look outside the current pool, nothing will change

All those recent discussions about Wasim Khan & Imran Khan changing the face of Pakistan cricket looked like all talk. Bringing in older, tempramental players like UA was step back, not forward. It seems that regardless of who is at the driving seat at PCB, it is the same ol..same ol

Misbah Ul Haq

I think Misbah is a good professional. That said, Misbah's approach to cricket is basic. To ask him to add nuance and complexity to that basic approach seems impossible. Furthermore, to expect him to transfer that nuance and complexity through coaching is even more unlikely.

Keeping Misbah around is good cause he can slowly destroy his own legacy. There is a assumption going around that he will do better than Mickey. So with that alone I would like to see him around for these three years.

He needs time, but Pakistan cricket is full of impatient people.

The biggest problem Wasim has, is that many within Pakistan cricket see him as an outsider and someone who is there to get rid of people at the PCB.

Keeping Misbah around is good cause he can slowly destroy his own legacy. There is a assumption going around that he will do better than Mickey. So with that alone I would like to see him around for these three years.

He never had a legacy to begin with.

He owes his UAE test wins and the pseduo no.1 ranking (briefly in the latter end of 2016) largely because we had an ATG player of spin in Younis Khan. It's revolting to draw comparisons with tags such as "MisYou" when Misbah wasn't even half the batsman that Younis Khan was.

Saeed Ajmal and Hafeez's chucking also helped as well.

The biggest problem Wasim has, is that many within Pakistan cricket see him as an outsider and someone who is there to get rid of people at the PCB.

Am sure Wasim Khan came in knowing full well what challenges he would have to deal with and therefore he is dealing with it accordingly. He couldn't have been so naive otherwise.

I think Wasim Khan put himself in danger by appointing Misbah. Misbah has good connections all around and will get away with all his mistakes even if we have to play 2023 World Cup qualifier to enter into main event. If we fail to qualify Misbah will be in serious trouble but then he still able to get away and keep his job due to his connection but Wasim Khan will be out of the office just like Inzi (he made few blunders in selection which coast his job).

Cant judge Misbahs appointment yet. Time will tell.

Impatient people, maybe but the signs from Wasim's helm aren't encouraging. He is supposed to clean up and modernize Pak cricket, injecting and promoting young talent.

There is nothing wrong in him being seen as an outsider. Sometimes you need an outsider to clean up the house and get rid of all deadwood. But, it looks more and more that Wasim Khan may not have the authority that he thought he would and could be another pawn in PCB & Pak politics.

I would also expect IK to take a more active role in getting things right as far as cricket is concerned but looks like that is not going to happen either. He needs to move on from his "Relukatta" reference and either provide guidance or take decisions for the benefit of Pak cricket otherwise there is not much hope

Ironic that he feeling the pressure.... he himself appointed shameless, incompetent Misbah for like 15 roles. Wasim Khan seems to be all talk.