[PICTURES] Special reception held by the Prime Minister to honour Pakistan's CT winning squad

Pictures from ceremony

Screenshot_20170704-142430.jpg

Screenshot_20170704-142133.jpg

Screenshot_20170704-142053.jpg

Screenshot_20170704-142015.jpg

So proud. Wish I could rewind and go back to that day we won the CT. Nothing better than beating India

Too bad Amir was not able to come back and missed out on so many things such as this event back home.

Even though, who would want to be in the same room as Nawaz Sharif but it is still an official event by a Prime Minister.

Can't see Misbah and Younus in the audience. Have they been given the snub?

lol at nawaz sharif saying how many runs he has scored :)))

golo is so cute ina way ...

Yesterday I watched an hour long highlights of the final since it was a day off.. What a day yaaar... So proud of the lads. India were never in the game after the 5th over.

Heard very little mention of Mickey Arthur from the hosts or other speakers.

Very disappointing

Someone will always get snubbed or get less attention.

Get over it.

You dont need to mention everyone 20 times for the sake of it.

A well deserve reception

Are you seriously suggesting it's no big deal that Mickey didn't get a mention when the likes of Rashid Latif, Waseem Haider, Wasti & Tauseef Ahmed did.

What planet you on?

https://www.pakistantoday.com.pk/20...reception-in-honour-of-national-cricket-team/

Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif is holding a reception in honour of victorious cricket team.

State Water and Power Minister Abid Sher Ali, Planning and Development Minister Ahsan Iqbal and State Information Minister Marriyum Aurangzeb greeted the team and officials of the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB).

The family members of the players are accompanying the team, which is lodged at a private hotel in the capital.

Players and board officials are going to be presented with monetary rewards announced by the premier earlier.

Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif and all senior cabinet members are also present at the event, as is PCB Chairman Shahreyar Khan.

Pakistan had crushed India in the final of ICC Champions Trophy that was played at The Oval on Sunday by a humiliating defeat of 180 runs, and lifted the trophy for the first time in history.

Nawaz Sharif has said that a wonderful welcome will be given to the national heroes of Pakistan for their brilliant achievement.

Are you seriously suggesting it's no big deal that Mickey didn't get a mention when the likes of Rashid Latif, Waseem Haider, Wasti & Tauseef Ahmed did.

What planet you on?

Yes its no big deal.

He got invited to a reception and thats enough.

You dont need to mention everyones name just for the sake of it

Nothing gives more please in Sports than beating india. In terms of wins against them I will rate Champions Trophy final win over India as Pakistan's finest over their arch rivals, but lets not forget another finest achievement by our Hockey Team winning the Field Hockey World Cup on Indian Soil in 1982 in front of Indira Gandhi, Miandad's six was 3rd memorable achievement. At No.4 would be Hockey's team win over India in 1971 Hockey worldcup Semi Final and at number 5, Pakistan's test series win in Bangalore 1987.

Why is Shahzad always trying to hog the limelight?

From the picture , one gets the impression that Shezzy was Man of the Tournament.

Why the heck is Shehzad standing so far ahead of the rest of the team :))

Yesterday I watched an hour long highlights of the final since it was a day off.. What a day yaaar... So proud of the lads. India were never in the game after the 5th over.

'khoobsoorat yeh zamaanay yaad aayen gay'

i did the same btw. the moment from where pandya falls until the last wicket falls is like pure symphony.

So Wahab and Shehzad are there, but no Amir.

Who cares where shehzad is standing, get a grip you small people :facepalm:

The Main Man Fakhar on the last Row while Shahzad sabsay aagey :)))

Oh I figured it out. So the theory is:

Shehzad is standing ahead of everyone because he was positioning himself for a selfie (this would be explained by the phone in hand). The official photograph would have been right before or after the act of taking the selfie.

Case closed.

#desi sherlock

having a seat with the prime minister of the country (who ever it is) is a great honour for sarfraz ahmed

I was a movie addict after CT final i have quit watching movies and every night i watch highlights of that CT final 1hr 51m <3 and still it feels like that im watching it live

Something on these lines:

DR NN:Humne suna hain ki aap ne tennis ki shortain b seekh le hain
Shoaib:Haan seekh le hain aur jitna aap criticise karte hain shayad main aap pe he try krunga pehle. :))

Dr:Aapne 2019 ka WC ka kya soncha hain?
Shoaib:Jis tarha aap critise karte hain 2019 to chodo is mahine ki 19 tak b khelna mushkil h.:)))

I know these are not exact quotes but pretty similar.

Sad confession - I been watching highlights every day. My wife and kids are threatening to delete the highlights if I don't stop. But this was such a special match, I can't help it.

I wonder what Ahmed Shezad and Wahab Riaz were thinking as they picked up their awards?

Ahmed Shezad : "My run out v England changed our fortunes. I deserve this"

or

"Damn - we won cos that Fakkhar replaced me. We would have had no chance if I'd been playing. I'm so lucky to get this award and totally don't deserve it. I couldn't play like Fakkhar in my dreams"

Wahab Riaz :

"Wow - I had one game where I was appalling and got 0-87. I got injured and Pakistan suddenly found the right team cos Junaid is a far better ODI bowler then me. I should give this award to charity cos I totally don't deserve it"

or

" I was rubbish but I'll take it anyway. Win some. Lose some."

PS: You have to give everyone in the squad an award so I am not questioning their awards. Just hoping they are humble about their awards.

Something on these lines:

DR NN:Humne suna hain ki aap ne tennis ki shortain b seekh le hain
Shoaib:Haan seekh le hain aur jitna aap criticise karte hain shayad main aap pe he try krunga pehle. :))

Dr:Aapne 2019 ka WC ka kya soncha hain?
Shoaib:Jis tarha aap critise karte hain 2019 to chodo is mahine ki 19 tak b khelna mushkil h.:)))

I know these are not exact quotes but pretty similar.

That second one :)))

DIssapointed to see PTV Sports crew there.They were the people who criticised the players like animals after first ODI.What is their contribution in this win?

Shoaib Malik probably took Nauman's notice and smashed him left right but it was so much that he had to send a message through Hassan Ali later to cure his wounds.

Nauman tried to start of with some cheap wit, something he usually does but by the end he made sure to stop.

to add some more to Fantasy's post;

Nauman; Aap Next program deken "game on ha ka" (intending to stop criticism next time)

Malik; meray liye, "Its just another Show":hafeez2

Shoaib Malik probably took Nauman's notice and smashed him left right but it was so much that he had to send a message through Hassan Ali later to cure his wounds.

Nauman tried to start of with some cheap wit, something he usually does but by the end he made sure to stop.

to add some more to Fantasy's post;

Nauman; Aap Next program deken "game on ha ka" (intending to stop criticism next time)

Malik; meray liye, "Its just another Show":hafeez2

If it were upto me I would've boycotted the show just because of that person.Someone who criticises you right left and centre,always finds some things to critcise and always belittles you deserves to be shown the door and not respect.He shamelessly will defend his favourites like Shehzad and will find some faults in every other player.

On top of that he thinks that he knows everything and doesn't need to know anything more when he should have a long look at himself.

If it were upto me I would've boycotted the show just because of that person.Someone who criticises you right left and centre,always finds some things to critcise and always belittles you deserves to be shown the door and not respect.He shamelessly will defend his favourites like Shehzad and will find some faults in every other player.

On top of that he thinks that he knows everything and doesn't need to know anything more when he should have a long look at himself.

hahaha, Shezii?? thats damn funny!

I've got the full 7 hour ball by ball full match as well. Any day you've got 7 hours of spare time, hit me up. :shafiq2

Too bad Amir was not able to come back and missed out on so many things such as this event back home.

Even though, who would want to be in the same room as Nawaz Sharif but it is still an official event by a Prime Minister.

isnt nawaz sharif peoples choice? i thought pakistan was democracy and ppl have complete right to choose their PM

We are over doing it with all these celebrations. Time to get over it and move on. Had any other team won the champions trophy they wouldn't be meeting the PM and having endless special meals. It's a bit embarrassing now with every player making speeches as if we won the Football world cup.

Where do you guys watch these highlights? I can't seem to find 1 to 2-hour highlights anywhere. I was thinking maybe the ICC might release the match to buy somewhere but don't see that either.

[MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION] [MENTION=140383]Inswing[/MENTION]

Lol at Misbah not even being invited to the PM's ceremony

I watched this whole show. 75% of the show was all about how great PML-N government is, and how amazing Nawaz Sharif is. It is because of Nawaz that Pakistan won the 92 WC and 2017 CT.

Nauman Niaz and the rest of the PTV crew is a joke. I barely saw any praise for the players. All praise was for PML-N, Sethi, Nawaz Sharif. Disgusting show. Amir Liaquat's show was much better than this one.

I hope we can now finally put an end to the celebrations. It is getting embarrassing now.

Let the people celebrate this rare happy moment and achievement.It has brought smile on the faces of many Pakistanis,who have become used to terrorism,sectarianism and many other negative things.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Chief of Army Staff General Qamar Javed Bajwa to Pakistan squad “Stay humble, continue working hard & be upright ambassadors of Pakistan" <a href="https://t.co/Els4QbLk9L">pic.twitter.com/Els4QbLk9L</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/882666870641438722">July 5, 2017</a></blockquote>

Why is Haroon Rasheed there??So is Shakeel Sheikh but he is in the BoG so makes some sense..

Pakistan is a poor country with huge problems. They have been cricket outcasts for years. Tgey have finally beaten India and that too in an ICC trophy final.

People who are embarrassed at the ongoing celebrations really need to examine themselves and find some genuine real life situation to be embarrassed about.

RAWALPINDI: Punjab Minister for Sports, Jehangir Khanzada on Thursday said a grand ceremony to honour the national cricket team would be organized by Punjab government to recognize their achievement as national heroes in the final of ICC Champions Trophy against India.

Speaking at a meeting, the minister said Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif had already honoured the team by hosting a reception and similar function would also be organized by the Punjab government.

Jehangir Khanzada said the Punjab government under the guidance of Chief Minister Shahbaz Sharif had focused on expansion of sports facilities in every district of the province and flood-light cricket stadiums were being constructed to facilitate young players, he added.

Chief of the Army Staff General Qamar Javed Bajwa on Wednesday held reception for Pakistan cricket team and the management while On Tuesday Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif welcomed the Pakistan cricket team to the Prime Minister House for winning the Champions Trophy after defeating arch rivals India last month.

https://www.thenews.com.pk/latest/214824-Punjab-govt-to-honour-cricket-heroes

DEE6MxvWsAAT1fS.jpg

RAWALPINDI: Pakistan Navy hosted a reception dinner today in a bid to acknowledge and pay homage to Pakistan Cricket Team on the historic win of ICC Champions Trophy 2017.

Minister for Inter-Provisional Coordination Riaz Pirzada, Federal Minister for Planning and Development Ahsan Iqbal, Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) Chairman Shahryar Khan, PCB officials, team management and civil dignities were also present in the ceremony hosted by Chief of Naval Staff Admiral Muhammad Zakaullah.

During the informal address, the Naval Chief highly appreciated the display of the team work and esprit de corps by the players during the tournament, especially in the final match for bringing laurels for Pakistan.

He further added that Pakistan Navy, like the entire nation, is proud of Pakistan cricket team. The Naval Chief said Pakistan Navy is especially proud of ex-Pakistan Navy serviceman Fakhar Zaman, who remained part of Pakistan Navy cricket team for seven years and has become symbol of Pakistan as well as of Pakistan Navy, for his impressive performance throughout the tournament.

The Naval Chief also applauded Captain of the team Sarfraz Ahmed who played an instrumental role by uniting as well as leading entire team and playing as one unit thereby achieving this glorious feat.

The Naval Chief remarked that winning the ICC Champions Trophy is a matter of great pride for all of us in Pakistan Navy and that it is a great pleasure to celebrate the success with our cricket team heroes.

The Naval Chief also praised PCB officials/management, selection Committee, PSL management and entire team for their untiring contributions towards winning this Champions Trophy for the first time by defeating arch-rivals in the final.

The Naval Chief, who himself is a recipient of President Pride of Performance for outstanding performance in Yachting and twice Gold medalist in Asian Sailing Championship besides representing Pakistan in Olympics Yachting regattas, acknowledged that Pakistan has tremendous talent and Pakistani sportsmen are well capable to win championships in other sports disciplines as well.

Pakistan Navy has always been at the forefront in promotion and organizing sports in Pakistan and remained a major contributor and producer of National and International level players in sports like CISM, Golf, Hockey, Shooting, Swimming, Squash and Kabaddi.

Chief of the Naval Staff also awarded medals among the winning heroes and champions.

https://www.samaa.tv/pakistan/2017/...istan-team-over-winning-icc-champions-trophy/