[PICTURES/VIDEO] ICC CEO Dave Richardson presents Misbah-ul-Haq with Test Championship mace!

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Misbah has his hands on the mace! Dave Richardson handing the Test Championship mace over to Misbah-ul-Haq in Lahore at Gaddafi Stadium! <a href="https://t.co/FAUth9fERG">pic.twitter.com/FAUth9fERG</a></p>— PakPassion.net (@PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/PakPassion/status/778452144802234369">September 21, 2016</a></blockquote>

"Quite excited, it's a huge honour for Pakistan as a team and myself also. It's a dream come true that finally we're #1."

"It's a huge achievement specially when you aren't playing at home. You're playing away matches, not playing on grounds where you've played all your life. UAE is like foreign soil. All teams in home conditions do very well so it's a huge achievement for Pakistan to have attained this while playing outside the country."

Wow MashaAllah, from spot fixing scandal to test championship mace!! Hail Misbah!

Don't forget the unsung heroes Abdul Rehman, Saeed Ajmal, both of them contributed a lot sadly they're no longer part of the team,

Awesome, feels surreal. Don't know when we'll get this opportunity again. But if someone told me we'd be carrying that thing 6 years back I would've called them an afridi.

The Mace has finally returned home !!

Proud moment for all of us - it was a privilege to follow Pakistan Cricket and Misbah ul Haq in the last 6 years.

Can we have Misbah for Prime Minister ?? Please !! ??

Cs2gDYdUAAEFP8D.jpg

Cs2gFS3UEAAEh8l.jpg

Cs2gIavVMAAILzJ.jpg

Congratulations guys, long time coming. Richly deserved one as the best test team in the world atm. Misbah deserves all the plaudits he gets and couldn't have happened to a better person really. Well done to the other players who helped in the quest as well.

I assume the streets of Lahore and Karachi will be celebrating.

Congratulations guys, long time coming. Richly deserved one as the best test team in the world atm. Misbah deserves all the plaudits he gets and couldn't have happened to a better person really. Well done to the other players who helped in the quest as well.

Test cricket not that popular so don't expect a ticker tape parade

can anyone post a pic here. like not link

David Richardson presents ICC Test Championship mace to Misbah-ul-Haq

76955.jpg

Misbah-ul-Haq today received the prestigious ICC Test Championship mace for inspiring Pakistan to the top of the MRF Tyres ICC Test Team Rankings for the first time since the current rankings system was introduced in 2003.

ICC Chief Executive David Richardson presented the mace to Misbah at the home of Pakistan cricket at the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore and Pakistan captain Misbah said it was befitting that the mace presentation was taking place there.

“There can’t be a better location to receive the ICC Test Championship mace than this ground where we last played a home Test seven years ago,” said Misbah. “It is ironic for both the players as well as the fans that the journey to the number-one position has been outside Pakistan.

“The players have missed on the crowd support, while the spectators have been unable to watch live some magnificent team and individual performances. But I am confident that things will change and international cricket will soon return to Pakistan.”

Misbah added he was delighted to hold the mace in the twilight of his career.

“It has always been a dream to lift an ICC trophy as captain. To be only the ninth international captain to achieve this honour in the traditional format of the game is something to be very proud of. This mace is a reward for the efforts and hard work of each and every individual who has been part of this group over the past few years.”

Pakistan is only the fifth side after Australia, England, India and South Africa to top the ICC Test rankings, while Misbah is the ninth captain to lift the mace after Steve Waugh, Ricky Ponting, Michael Clarke, Steve Smith (all Australia), MS Dhoni (India), Andrew Strauss (England), Graeme Smith and Hashim Amla (both South Africa).

Mr Richardson congratulated the Pakistan cricket team, saying: “The ICC Test Championship mace is a symbol of excellence and a recognition of a side’s outstanding performance in the purest format of the game. Being part of a team that is ranked No.1 in Test cricket is a pinnacle achievement for any cricketer. Pakistan is a deserving recipient of the mace.

“It is all the more impressive that it has reached the number-one Test ranking despite not being able to play a series in front of its home crowd since March 2009.

“On behalf of the ICC, I want to congratulate the Pakistan cricket team and Misbah-ul-Haq in particular for the way he has led his side. I hope that the team continues to go from strength to strength. A strong Pakistan side is good for international cricket.”

Mr Richardson said the upcoming weeks will continue to be as exciting and entertaining for Test cricket fans.

“The top four ranked sides are separated by just three points and they will be playing in the coming weeks. The contest for the number-one position gives great context to the upcoming series, providing fascinating entertainment for followers of the Test cricket,” he said.

Number-two ranked India will host New Zealand in a three-Test series from Thursday and if it wins the series, it will move to the top of the table even before Pakistan starts its three-Test series against the West Indies on 13 October. The two-Test series between Bangladesh and fourth-ranked England begins in Chittagong on 20 October, while South Africa will travel to third-ranked Australia where the first Test will commence in Perth on 3 November.

These fixtures are part of an exciting race to the annual cut-off date as the side that tops the ICC Test Team Rankings on 1 April will also receive a cash award of $1million, while the second placed side will collect $500,000. The third and fourth placed sides will receive $200,000 and $100,000, respectively.

Misbah admitted his side will have to produce strong performances to finish as the number-one ranked Test side at the 1 April cut-off date.

“The next target we have set for ourselves is to finish as the number-one ranked Test side at the 1 April cut-off date. It is not going to be easy as we have series against formidable sides like the West Indies, New Zealand and Australia. But instead of getting overawed by our opponents, we need to trust in our abilities, focus on our strengths and try to be as consistent as possible,” Misbah concluded.

Pakistan’s Test series against the West Indies will begin in Dubai on 13 October, while Christchurch will be the venue of the first of the two-match series on 17 November. The three-Test series in Australia will start with the day/night Test in Brisbane on 15 December.

MRF Tyres ICC Test Team Rankings (as on 21 September 2016)

Rank Team Points

1. Pakistan 111

2. India 110

3. Australia 108

4. England 108

5. South Africa 96

6. Sri Lanka 95

7. New Zealand 95

8. West Indies 67

9. Bangladesh 57

10. Zimbabwe 8

About the mace

The mace was produced by the then British Crown Jeweller, Asprey & Garrard, in 2001, which was commissioned to make a distinctive prize designed to stand out from other cricket trophies.

The designers produced a 90cm silver and gold-plated trophy based on a cricket stump as its shank, topped by an orb that represents the cricket world – both geographically and through the inclusion of the emblems of all 10 ICC Members that have played Test cricket.

The stump and the orb combine to portray the mace, regarded as a symbol of authority and prestige. This is regarded as an appropriate combination given the rich history of Test cricket and its image as the most traditional and purest form of the game.

The mace sits on a wooden base with a silver-plated plaque in front with room for engravings of the sides to hold it.

The mace was valued at stg£30,000 in 2001 and automatically passes from one team to another as results confirm a change of leadership in the MRF Tyres ICC Test Team Rankings table.

Nah. Though they will celebrate if we manage to make history in Australia. Then we'll truly be deserving of the #1 spot.

Congratulations to the entire Pakistan Cricket team and ofcourse the rock and leader behind it, Misbah! Very well deserved ..

Test cricket not that popular so don't expect a ticker tape parade

Nah. Though they will celebrate if we manage to make history in Australia. Then we'll truly be deserving of the #1 spot.

Not expecting a parade, but bursting firecrackers and things like that.

Why are the stands empty, weren't crowd allowed inside the stadium? I remember reading that crowds can come for the event. Either way it's disappointing. International cricket doesn't happen in Pakistan and winning the mace in spite of that is a commendable achievement and one that I feel should have been presented in the presence of the people as a tribute of sorts. Heck, football clubs gather so much crowds for the mere presenting of a new player.

Not expecting a parade, but bursting firecrackers and things like that.

Why are the stands empty, weren't crowd allowed inside the stadium? I remember reading that crowds can come for the event. Either way it's disappointing. International cricket doesn't happen in Pakistan and winning the mace in spite of that is a commendable achievement and one that I feel should have been presented in the presence of the people as a tribute of sorts. Heck, football clubs gather so much crowds for the mere presenting of a new player.

Only media allowed probably security reasons

Great to see!

Wasn't expecting this at all and although it will most likely be short-lived, it has been astounding for the pariah of the cricketing world to be at the top of the rankings after such a long time and that too after a great series vs England.

The mace presentation at the Gaddafi in Lahore is just a cherry on top of the cake.

I understand that Shehryar khan is recovering from surgery .. why was Najam sethi not there? High ups from the PCB should have been there

Nice....congrats.

# we won't give it back....

Kiddin

What's even more pleasing is that the maze is in the hands of a truly remarkable player and captain, and not just in the hands of any X,Y,Z player.

Very true and after the abuse he's had for years

With a tear in his eye, this is the greatest moment in Misbah's life! The boyhood dream has come true.

*Get out my ring India* :))

It couldn't happen to a nicer guy! Who said good people finish last? The King has finally been crowned

I'm so glad that Misbah hasn't retired yet from test cricket. If the test captaincy is given to Azhar he will manage to bring us down to number 7-8 by the end of the month.

With a tear in his eye, this is the greatest moment in Misbah's life! The boyhood dream has come true.

:)) :)) Only a true wrestling fan can understand what you said here. Particularly the second part.

Misbah has this X factor as test captain. Because he is calm and handles the pressure well, doesn't let pressure win over him and that is what you require in tests. Patience and Professional approach.

One of the best moments in the history of Pakistan cricket.

No team that has reached #1 has had to overcome the hurdles this Pakistan team has. No international cricket at home, shorn of our two best pacers after spot-fixing and without the resources of the other top sides.

Probably Misbah's finest moment of his career. The hard work and leadership he's provided has been crucial. He deserves this moment in the sun.

Last nite he was in rawal pindi celebrating the Psl trophy today he is in lahore celebrating the test mace.

Life could be tough even for the worlds best kaptaan

Pakistan has played literally 24 AWAY TEST SERIES since 2010, despite of that, they are no.1

It's difficult to play 24 away Test matches simultaneously, let alone 24 series.

Who are the chief architects of Pakistans rise to top beside Misbah?

It's been a team effort. To win consistently whole team must contribute.

Barring openers, every batsman has produced match-winning/saving performances from time to time.

Our bowling is still inexperienced. But with Yasir Shah and Muhammad Amir, Insha'Allah, future looks bright :ik

Rejoice everybody. We just witnessed a unique moment in Pakistan cricket history.

What a journey it has been. I still remember our test team back in 2010 and I'm awfully proud to see how far they've come, MashAllah.

Well done, Misbah! You and your players have achieved something very special.

Congrats.

Hope cricket returns to Pakistan soon and I would be happy if when its clear safe to tour Pk, Bdesh be's the first of the g8 ODI sides to tour Pk.

I remember watching Pk v Ind series 2004. I was in BD thar time on holiday. Good series it was, crowd seemed passionate. Cricket craze nation. Cricket only has a handful nationa; and needs pk back into action, soon the better.

Here's wishing all the best :)

Some more pictures and Video:

14448773_1300713403335322_4917351082888664101_n.jpg

14333601_1300713736668622_9042314077401148337_n.jpg

14446160_1300713833335279_83026968249895932_n.jpg

14370282_1300714240001905_4910885760670947197_n.jpg

13245217_1300714616668534_8040761922379667748_n.jpg

14441162_1300707450002584_6845536046115396580_n.jpg

14390967_1300707400002589_5464235331367334303_n.jpg

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/GS-e7z-LgxM" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

:)) :))

After years of bashing Misbah just kept his head down Mashallah leading the team from strength to strength until we have now reached the top of the pile Alhumdullilah.

May long it continue InshAllah!

Some more pictures and Video:

14448773_1300713403335322_4917351082888664101_n.jpg

14333601_1300713736668622_9042314077401148337_n.jpg

14446160_1300713833335279_83026968249895932_n.jpg

14370282_1300714240001905_4910885760670947197_n.jpg

13245217_1300714616668534_8040761922379667748_n.jpg

14441162_1300707450002584_6845536046115396580_n.jpg

14390967_1300707400002589_5464235331367334303_n.jpg

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/GS-e7z-LgxM" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Nice pics, thanks for sharing. Congratulations to all Pakistanis and their supporters.

Good job by Pakistani team to reach to rank 1.

I actually prefer UAE to be our long term home ... wickets in Pakistan were often flat and produced boring cricket. Wickets in the UAE barring the first series against SA in 2010 have generally produced results which is what keeps the interest alive. Although the crowd support generally goes missing in UAE tests as it's mostly empty stands. lol

I don't think we'd have achieved similar results had we played test cricket in Pakistan last 6 years.

Personally I'd like to see a split b/w UAE & England (if possible) to host teams. But that's just me.

Why is there no parade and fireworks? Is this how you celebrate being number 1 without home tests for 7 years? It's has been an almost 30 year wait for Pakistan to reach this status...

Misbah looks like a guy you shouldn't mess with (not that he wasn't already).
Mace in hands, black shades, thick beard and the suit:misbah

As I said before, we are the BEST and I'm not surprised that such a day has come.

More such moments to come iA. We'll be a force to reckon with in LOIs, soon times.

Haters and doubters - no right to celebrate.

And oh yeah, hands off Shakil Sheikh!

What a magnificent acheivement by Pakistan! Truly remarkable. Hail King Misbah!

I would put this achievement on par with Leicester winning the league title. This is not because Pakistan don't have talent. They clearly do. But the odds were stacked so much against them - it is astonishing what they have achieved in the circumstances.

- Spot Fixing scandal.
- Corrupt board.
- Incompetent board.
- Not played at home for years.
- Poorest players in world cricket due to lack of IPL.
- Ever changing coaching staff.
- Idiotic attitude of some players - in other teams this would cause chaos. For Pakistan , it is normal!
- Not given adequate opportunities from all the other countries to play cricket home and away.

And yet, they've achieved number 1. Terrific performance.

Well deserved, Pakistan are definitely the best Test side in the world.

Came off across this gem on twitter, Misbah looking like a baws with the mace :))

Cs3-5eRWYAEObq1.jpg

Well deserved, Pakistan are definitely the best Test side in the world.

Came off across this gem on twitter, Misbah looking like a baws with the mace :))

Cs3-5eRWYAEObq1.jpg

Looks like modern day Great Gama haha.

He deserves it, put through a lot stress and expectations by the country. Even his most avid haters respect him today.

Suggest Misbah and Co take lots of pics with the mace....janay walla hai...

:vk has his eyes on it

If India win all their matches against NZ and Pak win all their matches against WI, then the status quo will remain and all that Kohli can do is eye our mace with jealousy :afridi

Not true

India win by 2-0 will ensure No 1 ranking regardless of Pak WI result.

Congrats to all Pak fans.

Take as many pics as possible Misbah Ji!! India will soon become No.1 :kohli

A memorable day but will it ever happen again?

And it's all been downhill ever since.

We really are a very average Test team these days.

And it's all been downhill ever since.

We really are a very average Test team these days.

I think that Pakistan is more mediocre than it needs to be. It's poor planning and selection.

In general, for every Joe Root or Ben Stokes in a team there is at least one Rory Burns - and I'm talking about the quality level of teams ranked 3-6 in the world.

I would assess Pakistan's current talent level as follows:

TOP LEVEL PLAYERS NOW
Babar Azam
Mohammad Rizwan

PLAYERS WHO ARE OK NOW, BUT WITH A HIGH FUTURE CEILING
Naseem Shah
Shaheen Shah Afridi
Shadab Khan

PLAYERS WHO ARE IN DECLINE BUT STILL AT A DECENT LEVEL
Azhar Ali
Asad Shafiq
Abid Ali
Fawad Alam
Haris Sohail
Yasir Shah
Mohammad Abbas

PLAYERS WHO ARE MEDIOCRE BUT BETTER THAN GERIATRICS OR KIDS
Shan Masood
Sami Aslam
Faheem Ashraf

PLAYERS WITH SIGNIFICANT POTENTIAL
Rohail Nazir
Haider Ali
Sameen Gul
Zafar Gohar
Sajid Khan

THERE IS A FUNDAMENTAL PHILOSOPHICAL PROBLEM WITH MISBAH-UL-HAQ.

Normally, when you realise that a team isn't good enough to be successful at the highest level you cull the older players and invest in youth.

That's what Australia did after they lost the home Ashes in 1986-87, and they invested in Boon, the Waughs, Dean Jones, Bruce Reid and Craig McDermott.

The obvious solution for Pakistan now is to write off the 2019-21 World Test Championship cycle and finally discard Azhar, Shafiq, Yasir and the other veterans so that they can bed in the likes of Haider Ali and Rohail Nazir et al.

It's a terrible mistake to use a huge batch of deteriorating players who will get worse and worse and then depart at the same time.

I think that Pakistan is more mediocre than it needs to be. It's poor planning and selection.

In general, for every Joe Root or Ben Stokes in a team there is at least one Rory Burns - and I'm talking about the quality level of teams ranked 3-6 in the world.

TOP LEVEL PLAYERS NOW
Babar Azam
Mohammad Rizwan

Naseem Shah
Shaheen Shah Afridi
Shadab Khan

Azhar Ali
Asad Shafiq
Abid Ali
Fawad Alam
Haris Sohail
Yasir Shah
Mohammad Abbas

Shan Masood
Sami Aslam
Faheem Ashraf

Rohail Nazir
Haider Ali
Sameen Gul
Zafar Gohar
Sajid Khan

Normally, when you realise that a team isn't good enough to be successful at the highest level you cull the older players and invest in youth.

That's what Australia did after they lost the home Ashes in 1986-87, and they invested in Boon, the Waughs, Dean Jones, Bruce Reid and Craig McDermott.

The obvious solution for Pakistan now is to write off the 2019-21 World Test Championship cycle and finally discard Azhar, Shafiq, Yasir and the other veterans so that they can bed in the likes of Haider Ali and Rohail Nazir et al.

It's a terrible mistake to use a huge batch of deteriorating players who will get worse and worse and then depart at the same time.

Think you're being generous here. Are they really at a decent level? Decent level for what? Definitely in decline and Shafiq is mediocre. The likes of Abbas and Yasir Shah have been exposed and I see no way back for them.

Alam was a novelty pick and has no future. Sohail is injury prone and Abid isn't really Test quality is he? And we all know Azhar has long seen his best days.

TOP LEVEL PLAYERS NOW
Babar Azam
Mohammad Rizwan

Naseem Shah
Shaheen Shah Afridi
Shadab Khan

Azhar Ali
Asad Shafiq
Abid Ali
Fawad Alam
Haris Sohail
Yasir Shah
Mohammad Abbas

Shan Masood
Sami Aslam
Faheem Ashraf

Rohail Nazir
Haider Ali
Sameen Gul
Zafar Gohar
Sajid Khan

I agree with your top level now and future ceiling

Azhar shafiq fawad shah are defo not on a decent level anymore dunno were you got this from.

Players who have significant potentional agree with the above but some who I would add this

Imran butt
Omair bin yousuf
Abdullah shafique
Akif javed

Had Pakistan been playing at home after being #1, they might have been #1 for longer.

They played in NZ and Australia right after being #1. Tough places for any visiting team.

TOP LEVEL PLAYERS NOW
Babar Azam
Mohammad Rizwan

Naseem Shah
Shaheen Shah Afridi
Shadab Khan

Azhar Ali
Asad Shafiq
Abid Ali
Fawad Alam
Haris Sohail
Yasir Shah
Mohammad Abbas

Shan Masood
Sami Aslam
Faheem Ashraf

Rohail Nazir
Haider Ali
Sameen Gul
Zafar Gohar
Sajid Khan

You’ve been saying Azhar Ali is done for a while but now you say he’s decent level

The problem is there is no future planning from PCB.

They know when they'll be touring Australia or South Africa but don't groom players for such tours.

Every away tour there are panic selections, last minute picks, with no thought behind why those players have been picked.

They know when they'll be touring Australia or South Africa but don't groom players for such tours.

Every away tour there are panic selections, last minute picks, with no thought behind why those players have been picked.

Even now, my fear is that a few bums will be picked for the NZ tour when they have no business being on that flight.

It will end up being another wasted series with axis of incompetence expecting different results with the same trash. Or they don't care as long as they're picking up their lavish pay checks.

Had Pakistan been playing at home after being #1, they might have been #1 for longer.

They played in NZ and Australia right after being #1. Tough places for any visiting team.

Pakistan historically hung around near 100 points. When doing poorly, they get close to 90 and when doing their best they get to close to 110.

They don't cross 110 in general and 110 is simply not good enough to be rank one most times. That's why Pakistan does not show up as rank one for any extended period.

Cycle of 90-110 includes their entire history. It simply shows a lack of sustained good performance for 4-5 years without having any poor series.

Just to put it in perspective , 3 teams are above 110 points right now. Most times you will have teams above 110 points unless they happen to play lots of tough series one after another. That may provide some opportunity to get to rank 1 even with 110 points, but rank won't last.

Right now Paksitan is at 85 points, which is nearer to 90. I think they should go up if they maintain the trend.

Even now, my fear is that a few bums will be picked for the NZ tour when they have no business being on that flight.

It will end up being another wasted series with axis of incompetence expecting different results with the same trash. Or they don't care as long as they're picking up their lavish pay checks.

The point is what planning was there for the England tour when they knew that Amir and Wahab weren't playing in that series.

They picked young kids and tried and tested bums who were there just for the trip.

It'll be the same situation for the tour of New Zealand.

The PCB has given the head coach and the specialist coaches a free hand. The head coach is also the chief selector. They are not getting involved in the day to day things of the team and are giving the team management the maximum autonomy as is the practice everywhere else in the world.

This criticism needs to be directed to the team management which seems content on mediocrity