[PICTURES/VIDEO] The return of Test cricket in Pakistan - Marketing/Crowd watch

Free entry today.

Everyone loves a freebie :)

Beautifully scenes.

One cannot imagine how many things the players and fans have missed out for so many years.

I hope we host an ICC tournament in the next five-eight years

Just a matter of time. The next aim should be to host SENA countries, then hosting an ICC tourney wont be that difficult..

Yes next step should be inviting the likes of South Africa and England.

and people used to call uae our "home" venue.

great to see my hometown represent, brilliant scenes for a dead 5th day of a test match, pindi deserves a test every year.

great chance to use momentum in batting, feel good factor of homecomeing to win toss in karachi, bat first, bat big and try to get 60 wtc points.

Hopefully today's scenes will have been watched around the world with interest. This should also mean that Boards are running out of excuses to not tour Pakistan.

However some Boards will ALWAYS find an excuse to not tour Pakistan.

Just hope Karachiites will show up in big numbers to keep up the momentum.

Can someone please tel how the hell do you buy tickets for this match and where?

Oh My God why does the PCB have to make everything in life so difficult

Can someone please tel how the hell do you buy tickets for this match and where?

Oh My God why does the PCB have to make everything in life so difficult

Found this on Pcb official Facebook page

Karachi Test: PCB announces free-entry for students and general public in Majid Khan, Nasimul Ghani, Zaheer Abbas and Iqbal Qasim enclosures through CNIC and student cards.

#PAKvSL

Found this on Pcb official Facebook page

Karachi Test: PCB announces free-entry for students and general public in Majid Khan, Nasimul Ghani, Zaheer Abbas and Iqbal Qasim enclosures through CNIC and student cards.

#PAKvSL

It’s stupid you can’t buy at the stadium.

And also seems like you can’t buy day of the match because it’s not allowing to buyonline

Karachiites seriously?

This is very baffling from what i have heard the entry is free today yet such a small crowd
This is just embarrassing

It's just the first day on a weekday.
Only judge the crowd on the weekend

City with a population of 15 million, it isnt that hard to fill atleast one stand
Working day may be a justified excuse but comeon
I could count the spectators if the camera men decides to pull the camera on them for a bit

Probably good thing considering what Misbah just did to Karachite Alam. Maybe Karachi people will avoid this ground for good until Misbah resigns and Fawad is selected as part of 11 members. :jf

Poor Fawad
His comments before being selected were so heartfelt
Shame he was not given the chance today

This is very baffling from what i have heard the entry is free today yet such a small crowd
This is just embarrassing

Its a metropolitan city which generates 70% of country's revenue. Farig nahi hai awaam jo subah 12 baje stadium main milegi people have jobs, college/universities and business to run. At the end of the day its our hard earned taxes which is being used to run this bhikari government and other cities.

Plus no one in right mind would invest on Misbah and his evil twin aka Azhar. :jf

Wait till 5pm or better to play Day/Night Test in Karachi.

It’s a loser team, has been for a while since 2016 tests in England. They need to give the common fan a reason to pay for tickets and watch..

Cricinfo says its only 3000 crowd despite tickets being free. What went wrong?

Tbh it’s decent crowd for first day

There is some atmosphere atleast and you can hear the crowd which was never case in UAE tests.

Besides test attendances were never great in Pakistan post 90s so I Don’t even know what people expecting

Tbh it’s decent crowd for first day

There is some atmosphere atleast and you can hear the crowd which was never case in UAE tests.

Besides test attendances were never great in Pakistan post 90s so I Don’t even know what people expecting

People expecting the 1st day of a test match to be full havent seen enough test cricket.

Only Pakistan stadium that has a good history of test match attendance is Faisalabad. Karachi, Lahore generally have been deserted in the past.

Well said
Life in karachi is extremely busy
This is the first day people should give them a break

Faislabad stadium is not up to scratch.

Agree, it needs massive renovations. But based on the stadiums currently available, Karachi, Lahore, Rawalpindi and Multan, I don't think any of them have traditionally had decent test crowds.

As if Karachi is the only city in the world in which people work. It’s a city of 15 million and you can’t even get 5K to the first day of the first test played in the city for 10 years. Pathetic.

You speak as if karachi has the best public transport in the world:salute

Crowds in Pindi were an anomaly.

Pak fans don't like Tests and they love their deserted stadiums during Tests. Even many ODIs.

It's just normalcy which has been restored. Both Khi and Lhr grounds have been absolutely empty even when cricket was thriving in Pak.

90s. Early 2000s. Deserted grounds particularly in these two cities.

Point well made.

Fawad did not deserve to be humiliated like this by Misbah.

You speak as if karachi has the best public transport in the world:salute
I’ve never been to Karachi and don’t plan on going either, so I don’t know anything about the public transport system; but you’d expect a city of 15 MILLION to get a fair crowd of 10,000 to the first day of a historic test.

EMJm_IdX0AA0D3W

Credit to PCB for the pic

as I said during the first test that crowd in Pindi has just set the bar too high for Karachite crowd. crowd in Karachi has always been disappointing. games here feel more like UAE than home. PCB should move next Karachi matches to FSD and also give them much better stadiums.

I’ve never been to Karachi and don’t plan on going either, so I don’t know anything about the public transport system; but you’d expect a city of 15 MILLION to get a fair crowd of 10,000 to the first day of a historic test.

Seeing Azhar play?

No thanks I would rather do my job than getting a day off to watch the likes of timid players like Azhar and Shafiq bat

Karachi authorities welcome Sri Lankan team

'Sadarayen Pilinganimu' is Sinhalese for "Warm Welcome to you"
EMDs-QRWkAAA6IU.jpg
EMHwS4IXkAA9Mph.jpg
EMHwS4KWkAAzfr0.jpg

Seeing Azhar play?

No thanks I would rather do my job than getting a day off to watch the likes of timid players like Azhar and Shafiq bat

perfectly said - the Pakistani team has to give the fans a reason to leave work mid-week to attend a test match.

Poor crowd wasn't it.

Given it was Karachi, I would have expected more people in the stadium.

Been hearing this statement that karachites are most passionate about cricket in Pakistan. Here comes a test match after 10 years in a city of population of 15 million & they couldn't even fill half or fourth of the 35k capacity stadium. This is truly pathetic from karachites.

Sad that Pak awam doesn't seem to appreciate test cricket, I agree that their team lacks star power and plays timid cricket in general but still after being cricket starved for over a decade I thought folks there would savour every moment of this game.

It's more to do with the fact that basically all Pakistani stadiums except Faisalabad have always had bad crowds for test cricket. Karachi and Lahore are particularly the worst. They had good ODI/T2o crowds just in September/October, even on weekdays. Going back to the tests in the 2000s, Karachi and Lahore were always deserted during tests.

Aren't you playing Loi next with the Lankans? full house then I guess.

Can someone help with how/where to get tickets? Wanted to get tickets for day 4(Sunday) but am confused about what the best stand to sit in is and how to find tickets

Pakistan should invite afghanistan next. Play a couple of t20w , 3 odis and a test match. Only ofcourse if they agree to come.

Can someone help with how/where to get tickets? Wanted to get tickets for day 4(Sunday) but am confused about what the best stand to sit in is and how to find tickets

The VIP enclosures (Javed Miandad and Fazal Mahmood) have tickets for 50 rs and you can get them from any TCS center near your house (for list of TCS centres check PcBs site). Some premium enclosures are also available with tickets (Wasim Akram/Quaid enclosure etc)but you would want the VIP, if you can since the chairs are better.

If you are a student you can show your ID card and CNIC and enter through Zaheer Abbas enclosure for free which is premium. If you are not a student but just general public you can enter through Iqbal Qasim/Naseem ul Ghani,which are general enclosures, but you wouldnt prefer that since there are just stairs,no seats. So give 50rs and buy VIP tickets with better chairs,close to the media box and easy to view scoreboard.

PCB should think twice before holding another test in Karachi. I know there was poor marketing/availability of tickets but still I expected few thousand passionate would somehow make their way in (just like pindi boys did) but right now, atmosphere isn't much different from Dubai.

Capture.JPG

Watched some live action of the first session and was not surprised to see barely a few people which is a usual sight for Karachi.

Obviously you don't see crowds in Karachi. The city generates 70% revenue for the country. They don't have time to come watch a boring test match, unlike a few of our countrymen who have pajjay ke paye for breakfast and then long naps.

Ok so then lets not have cricket in Karachi and let them earn 70% revenue for the country.

Great Logic this.

Probably in protest of not including Fawad Alam and the sacking of Sarfaraz.

Rofl expecting people to turn up and support Misbah and Azhar is simply ridiculous. If pcb was serious in getting attendance than give the public something they can come for by hiring an event management company which would've arranged some sort of festival or incentive for the crowd to come, atleast treat them as human beings and install proper seating like rest of world, the way they take care of press reporters and vip boxes.
Still its harsh to push people to watch pathetic Misbah-Azhar show.

Rofl expecting people to turn up and support Misbah and Azhar is simply ridiculous. If pcb was serious in getting attendance than give the public something they can come for by hiring an event management company which would've arranged some sort of festival or incentive for the crowd to come, atleast treat them as human beings and install proper seating like rest of world, the way they take care of press reporters and vip boxes.
Still its harsh to push people to watch pathetic Misbah-Azhar show.

well the same people turned up in Pindi,

Usually we don't get good crowds in Karachi. Test matches should be played in Pindi, Multan & Faislabad during Feb - Apr or before december

This is a stupid argument to make. NYC, London, Delhi, Sydney regularly fill up upwards of 60-70,000 people in stadiums. Karachi with higher population can’t even do 10,000. Who cares if it is generating 70% revenue? Out of 20 million people 10,000 is nothing to go watch a match. Especially after 10 years.

I expect crowd in tomorrow. Pakistan batting well, Babar Azam to come and Match is in the balance.

well the same people turned up in Pindi,

Usually we don't get good crowds in Karachi. Test matches should be played in Pindi, Multan & Faislabad during Feb - Apr or before december

Yes, but it was the very first Test match and fans were prepared to go and see what the team offered.

Since then everyone’s realised its not even worth paying 50 rs to go and see the drab fare offered up by the Misbah-Azhar show.

It may sound harsh, but the reality is that the current Pakistan Test team is not a very marketable product, without too many world-class performers.

Add to that an opponent who is very much like Pakistan, re-building and without big names.