[PICTURES/VIDEOS] The Spirit of Cricket in action

Reminds me when kids are small and the teachers want to make sure no one feels left behind so they give badges for "best helper" or "good behaviour" awards!

Think Misbah has been handed one like that!

For a team that has struggled for years to play away from home, ICC could have done better then this

Anyways - :misbah4

Shouldn't be too greedy - we are lucky we got an honourable mention in something given the composition of the Test team of the year etc

Reminds me of Pakistani presentation ceremonies with award categories you never heard of like "Brighto's Smart Player of the Match".

What to except when sanga and dravid is in the panel, two of pakistan bitter enemies, quite personally they lost the little respect they have

Haha - yes literally.

If you look at Misbah's acceptance remarks, even he is confused about this award ( or whoever in the ICC wrote that for him)

Can just imagine him being called in Aus and being told and him looking at his team-mates and mouthing "Yeh kiya hota hai?"

What to except when sanga and dravid is in the panel, two of pakistan bitter enemies, quite personally they lost the little respect they have

What nonsense. Who would you have selected instead?

Smith averaged 66 in the specified time period, yet was condemned as the 12th man. Does that mean is there an anti Aussie/Smith agenda?

I don't think Pakistan were particularly hard done by in any ICC award this year.. There were simply better performers this year that kept out several of Pakistan's top performers. Although, you could argue for the emerging player, than again Rabada is ahead of both Babar and Mustafizur but somehow still managed to miss out.

Don't think Babar would have made it to emerging player. His big achievement was the 3 100s aginst WI but then it was against WI and that too in UAE. He needs to perform in the next year and should then be in contention. Though if Rabada continues in this vein he might win it over Babar.

So wait,After all the accusations against previous Pakistani teams of Fixing,Tampering,cheating,chucking pretty much everything that goes against the spirit of cricket,Pakistan have found a leader who has led his team admirably well,kept a maverick unit together and on top of that delivered results and people are not happy and questioning his award???

Unbelievable

Haha ha.I also noticed it.Really funny.What does it take to be a smart player?

so now giving an award to Pakistan also means a conspiracy behind it.

Haha ha.I also noticed it.Really funny.What does it take to be a smart player?

That award is basically given to player who had the second best performance in the match. The best obviously gets the M.O.M.

so now giving an award to Pakistan also means a conspiracy behind it.

I am surprised too. Some people seem to think that this is a way to pacify Pakistan.
If anything, this is quite quite a prestigious award as Zaheer Abbas rightly recognized.

Don't think Babar would have made it to emerging player. His big achievement was the 3 100s aginst WI but then it was against WI and that too in UAE. He needs to perform in the next year and should then be in contention. Though if Rabada continues in this vein he might win it over Babar.

2 50s in the first tour to NZ as well, a few vs England in UAE, problem is that the 3 hundreds were after the cutoff date, so if he keeps up his form he'll get it next year.

In India there are Daikin coolest player , Hero Honda hero of the match etc. Just make everyone happy

So a team that managed to get to the number one spot in tests and is still ranked within the top three doesn't have ONE player who could be inducted in the test team of the year.

Mashallah.

Doesn't matter, Pakistan has always been shunned by the ICC, but we continue to give it a tight slap from time to time.

In India there are Daikin coolest player , Hero Honda hero of the match etc. Just make everyone happy

Every match should have 22 awards for the 22 participants :yk3

While we are at it why leave the umps out.. give those three old chaps some love too.

What about the Match Referee mate !! and the Coaches ?? :ma

Why no love for them :( ?!?!

Misbah is the ideal son, son in law, full power to him. But we play this game to play hard and win, not to let the world walk over us.

Reminds me when kids are small and the teachers want to make sure no one feels left behind so they give badges for "best helper" or "good behaviour" awards!

Think Misbah has been handed one like that!

For a team that has struggled for years to play away from home, ICC could have done better then this

Anyways - :misbah4

Shouldn't be too greedy - we are lucky we got an honourable mention in something given the composition of the Test team of the year etc
Misbah is a smart and honourable man who tries to serve his country.

But he and Younis have stayed on 2 years too long and obstructed the development of younger players, especially Babar Azam.

They have actually done significant damage!

Pakistani fans has to be worst of all. They are going to complain if they don't get what they deserve and when they get what they deserve they complain about it being a token to show pity

Misbah singlehandedly took a sinking Pakistan ship and brought it to the top. He was positive, calm in a dressing room filled with nepotism.

I don't understand why the judging period has to change every year. Why can't they just judge player's performances in the previous calendar year?

Because Logic and Sanity is something people lose (whoever it may be) when they enter into a room that labels as I.C.C. :facepalm:

It doesn't change very year.

It covers two seasons - the SH season and the NH season.

SH season (2015/16) runs from October to March. NH season runs from April to September.

So the qualifying period reflects that

Who cares about these awards?

They'll be forgotten about next week.

2 50s in the first tour to NZ as well, a few vs England in UAE, problem is that the 3 hundreds were after the cutoff date, so if he keeps up his form he'll get it next year.

Inshallah he will win ODI player of the year award next year

New Zealand and Sri lanka have bee specialists at winning this award since 2004, both have won perhaps 5 each. Dhoni I remember was given this in 2011 for recalling Ian Bell!

Yeah Misbah doesn't deserve this, ICC just wants to make Pakistan Happy

I have some ideas for them

Fair and Lovely fairest face award - For the player who spent lots of time out of the field (getting the 12th man to field for him) for avoiding getting tanned in the sun

Sunflower oil oily palm award - For the fielder who drops the most catches

Bata chappal speedster award - For Indian bowlers touching 140 kph

Baba ramdev chor ki dadi me tinka award - For the longest beard

Stardust best acting award - For those not walking after nicking, those who claim a ground catch, etc

My point was that an award like "Spirit of Cricket Award" is an insult to top cricketers. Its like an honorary Oscar or a lifetime achievement award - usually an after thought than anything else.

Misbah doesnt need ICC to tell him he has done well

My point was that an award like "Spirit of Cricket Award" is an insult to top cricketers. Its like an honorary Oscar or a lifetime achievement award - usually an after thought than anything else.

This is a very negative way to look at things. The recognition may not be of much value, but how is it an insult? I understand that as fans we prefer awards we can brag about, but even then, there is nothing that makes this award an insult.

Spirit of Cricket award is not just some forthe sake award.

This is what is said on the ICC website

Described by the ICC as awarded to the team most notable for "upholding the 'Spirit of the Game', involving respect for:
Their opponents
Their own captain and team
The role of the umpires
The game's traditional values"

Such awards are given in other sports aswell.

In NHL this award is known as Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy. Its awarded to those who uphold the sportsmanship and dedication to Ice Hockey

Qadir ridicules ‘unnecessary and pointless’ ICC awards

KARACHI: Branding several of the International Cricket Council’s (ICC) awards unnecessary, former Pakistan captain Abdul Qadir has stressed that the governing body needs to spend more time doing something constructive rather than ‘indulging in needless activities’.

On Thursday, the ICC announced several awards for cricketers which included a ‘Spirit of Cricket’ award for Pakistan Test captain Misbahul Haq. The governing body also named its Test and ODI teams for 2016 which featured no Pakistani player and that did not sit well with Qadir.

“I don’t understand what the point of these awards is,” Qadir told The Express Tribune. “The ICC is causing divide by naming their own versions of the best teams in Test and ODIs. Pakistan attained number one position in Tests this year, yet no player from the side found a place. I find that quite surprising.”

Qadir also said that the ICC should have named Misbah the best captain of the year if they wanted to honour him. “If ICC had to honour Misbah for his good work, they should have picked him as the best captain of the year.”

Qadir, who played 67 Tests and 104 ODIs, said the ICC has much important tasks at hand and should work on finding a solution to those first rather than give out ‘unnecessary awards’.

“Most importantly, we are yet to see any ICC effort against corruption in the game. Those who have been caught for match-fixing was a result of domestic effort and ICC had no role to play in it. Similarly, the ICC needs to work on the viability of the DRS and making its ranking system much better. They should be doing more than just giving out these unnecessary awards.”

http://tribune.com.pk/story/1272776/qadir-ridicules-unnecessary-pointless-icc-awards/

Spirit of Cricket award is not just some forthe sake award.

This is what is said on the ICC website

Described by the ICC as awarded to the team most notable for "upholding the 'Spirit of the Game', involving respect for:
Their opponents
Their own captain and team
The role of the umpires
The game's traditional values"

Such awards are given in other sports aswell.

In NHL this award is known as Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy. Its awarded to those who uphold the sportsmanship and dedication to Ice Hockey

In my book this is the award given when you want to be seen to be doing justice to all.

Ask any cricketer, he would rather have an award for his performance rather than some airy-fairy reason

What about the Match Referee mate !! and the Coaches ?? :ma

Why no love for them :( ?!?!

This :)) :)))

Misbah must be feeling quite awkward. Maybe the ICC wants to make him feel like he should have retired long ago :))

Btw I'm surprised to see Yasir and Azhar missing from the Test team of the Year.

Guess we should just ask UAE pitch curators to make rank-turners then pick Asghar and Yasir and host AUS and ENG to get noticed :/

So much whine about Pakistan getting an ICC award. Pak fans are never content.

Its not like we have a ton of players in ICC world eleven this year. Shukar kro ek hi mil gya he jese tese

So much whine about Pakistan getting an ICC award. Pak fans are never content.

Its not like we have a ton of players in ICC world eleven this year. Shukar kro ek hi mil gya he jese tese

This is what I am making a point about, unless I missed sarcasm in your post

Award is for Misbah for keep playing at 42, although it's of no benefit to Pak cricket, Misbah , not the award----- perhaps both.

India proved yesterday why there is a spirit of cricket award.

To me - this is what this award should be meant for. Watch Siraj .

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.604%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/c37kbw" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

Think this gesture from South Africa Head Coach Mark Boucher deserves a special mention

052d6c37-bcf4-4f4e-b771-77c5f29bcb56.jpg

Our players visited the Nam's dressing room to encourage and appreciate their effort.

Great gesture.

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/o2hnzu" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

Pakistan cricket team visited Namibia dressing room

Good stuff by the team, this must have been a morale booster for the guys getting respect from a Test Nation team.

It feels good how the opposition players and coaches were taking pics with our guys

SpiritofCricket - Pakistan team visited Namibia dressing room

Good gesture!

Pakistani team know where they have come from and what they have been through this is why they respect all oppositions and encourage new cricketing nations to come up the ranks

To Pakistan's credit, they are one of the only teams to show kind hearts to associate nations by trying to bring them into the game.

It is easy to do stuff like this when the team is winning and the morale and spirit in the dressing room is high.

Would have liked to see Pakistan doing this if they were eliminated in the group stage.

Did we visit the Ireland dressing room in 2007 after they dumped us out of the World Cup?

It is easy to do stuff like this when the team is winning and the morale and spirit in the dressing room is high.

Would have liked to see Pakistan doing this if they were eliminated in the group stage.

Did we visit the Ireland dressing room in 2007 after they dumped us out of the World Cup?

Distasteful comment.

And you know why.

The winning team went to the loosing team to up their moral. Seems logical, but logic isn't your best suit!

I'm yet to see a positive comment from you! such a negative minded person you're!

The winning team went to the loosing team to up their moral. Seems logical, but logic isn't your best suit!

This is not about winning or losing. We are talking about an associate nation here. No associate nation visits the dressing room of a Test playing nation after beating them. It probably has never happened.

On the contrary, Test sides don’t visit the dressing rooms of associate nations either to congratulate them on their performance.

These type of stunts are only performed when the spirit and the mood in the dressing room is great and it is a nice little PR exercise.

Why do you think the Pakistani team arrived with cameramen? They wanted to put it on video so that they can get praise on social media, and it worked because now everyone is lauding their gesture, so they achieved whatever they wanted to achieve.

If Pakistan were eliminated in the group, this so-called spirit of cricket and little PR exercise would have taken the backseat.

The bottom-line is that these stunts don’t mean anything. This was not about Namibia but about Pakistan making itself look good.

Why don't other teams do it even after winning....I don't remember anyone doing this even for PR sake

Credit to Pakistan for taking the initiative

Wonderful gesture. Teams visiting others in their dressing rooms is a great cricket tradition.

Nitpicking but this should be done without the camera though, and without the stilted speech 'we see great things in you.' Nowadays things go viral anyways when done naturally.

Why don't other teams do it even after winning....I don't remember anyone doing this even for PR sake

Credit to Pakistan for taking the initiative

Because Pakistan is always hungry for foreign appreciation.

This is not about winning or losing. We are talking about an associate nation here. No associate nation visits the dressing room of a Test playing nation after beating them. It probably has never happened.

On the contrary, Test sides don’t visit the dressing rooms of associate nations either to congratulate them on their performance.

These type of stunts are only performed when the spirit and the mood in the dressing room is great and it is a nice little PR exercise.

Why do you think the Pakistani team arrived with cameramen? They wanted to put it on video so that they can get praise on social media, and it worked because now everyone is lauding their gesture, so they achieved whatever they wanted to achieve.

If Pakistan were eliminated in the group, this so-called spirit of cricket and little PR exercise would have taken the backseat.

The bottom-line is that these stunts don’t mean anything. This was not about Namibia but about Pakistan making itself look good.

True. Bet we won't be walking into the dressing rooms of NAB/AFG/SCO win or lose.

dunno why people are doing mental gymnastics over a little gesture, this kind of stuff happens in football all the time here, when a bigger more established team beats a minnow or associate level team they go over after have a chat share some knowledge and maybe even give some equipment here and there.

This kind of thing happens more often than you think in cricket aswel, england after every home game visit the dressing room of their opposition, it just doesnt get documented on camera all the time.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Priceless. <a href="https://t.co/fBEz6Gp5fL">pic.twitter.com/fBEz6Gp5fL</a></p>— Cricket Scotland (@CricketScotland) <a href="https://twitter.com/CricketScotland/status/1456671899908546561?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">November 5, 2021</a></blockquote>

And there we have it. Indians do it too.

Would have liked to see India doing this if they were eliminated in the group stage.

Did they visit the Sri Lanka dressing room in 2007 after they dumped us out of the World Cup? 😂

India copied us.. losers....

We did it when it was cool. And we did with a cricketing country that was making its debut.

Seen scotland many of times.

We did it when it was cool. And we did with a cricketing country that was making its debut.

Well India didn't exactly copy Pakistan. The BCCI didn't have a videographer waiting inside the Scottish dressing room to film the interaction and post a video on its own page for social media mileage:misbah

Would have liked to see India doing this if they were eliminated in the group stage.

Did they visit the Sri Lanka dressing room in 2007 after they dumped us out of the World Cup? ��

India did this in the 2007 WC after Bangladesh shocked us. Rahul Dravid took Tamim Iqbal and a few others for dinner and even gave one of them his bat :Dah

Well India didn't exactly copy Pakistan. The BCCI didn't have a videographer waiting inside the Scottish dressing room to film the interaction and post a video on its own page for social media mileage:misbah

The fact that it was Scotland that posted the pics and not India

It's these little differences...

Did Namibia post that on twitter. They should have.

:Dah

it was a nice gesture from Indian team as Scotland team expressed their wish to visit the Indian team dressing room and talk with few legends of world cricket.

BCCI letting Indian players participate in something other than the ICC and IPL, unsolicited? That's a surprise.

India did exactly that. Bcci is the one that made the video, that can be told as bcci uploaded a behind the scenes video on their website, bcci tv. If you watch the video their the word bcci is mentioned indicating its their copyright.

And we all know how bcci tv is strict in copyright matters

https://www.bcci.tv/videos/155411/behind-the-scenes-inside-team-india-s-dressing-room

The video was also shared by the official india cricket facebook page.

So yes, bcci did have their own videographer standing and making videos and sharing on their own portals and claiming copyrights on them

The fact that it was Scotland that posted the pics and not India

It's these little differences...

Did Namibia post that on twitter. They should have.

:Dah

Again, namibia shared the images and video on their iwn portel

India did exactly that. Bcci is the one that made the video, that can be told as bcci uploaded a behind the scenes video on their website, bcci tv. If you watch the video their the word bcci is mentioned indicating its their copyright.

And we all know how bcci tv is strict in copyright matters

https://www.bcci.tv/videos/155411/behind-the-scenes-inside-team-india-s-dressing-room

The video was also shared by the official india cricket facebook page.

So yes, bcci did have their own videographer standing and making videos and sharing on their own portals and claiming copyrights on them

Lol thanks for that bit of information. So India didn't visit the Scottish dressing room, the Scottish players expressed their wish to visit the Indian dressing room and it was videographed by the BCCI. I thought it was the other way around. If anything, this only supports my argument.

Well you can find silverlinings in anything.... Still bcci had a videographer made waiting so that the players can come in and they can make videos and post it around

Scotland Captain Kyle Coetzer pre-match press conference

Q. You mentioned that obviously the India players were chatting to you guys afterwards. That was quite nice.

KYLE COETZER: Of course it was. I think guys have had small opportunities to speak to various players from various teams during this tournament, but it's been made a little bit harder by the not being able to mix as easily in this tournament. So that's just one of the challenges that we're faced with.

But the opportunity to go and speak to the India team yesterday was a moment that some guys will probably never forget but also learned so much from.

You've got young players in there like Michael Jones getting a chance to speak to Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli. And there's some amazing names obviously in there. And we've got to find ways to raise our bar and try and compete with them as best as we possibly can in the future.

That's the first time we've ever played India on the world stage. So hopefully we won't have to wait that long to play them again. But I'm confident that we'll grow from this experience.