PP UK South vs North Cricket Match

murphyslaw79

Dear PPers,

For the past month or so, i have been contemplating an idea to have a cricket match between members of PP. At the moment the match is being billed as South vs North, but depending on quality and availability, this could possibly change.

The idea has been discussed with the guru of PP, Saj bhai and he is keen for this to go ahead this summer, and is looking forward to scrubing those cricket boots that he put in the loft a couple of years ago.

The idea is to have the match somewhere in the midlands, as this will be easily accessible by most people and to have it at a time when possibly the Pakistan team are around. Saj bhai will try to use his influence to get a few members of the team there. We can also try to involve current FC cricketers playing league cricket in the UK as well.

Please feel free to post your ideas and thoughts about this possible match, and also thoughts towards location and format.

The format will obviously depend on the number of members turning up for the game.

Hope to see some good ideas posted soon

regards

Murphyslaw

Random draw like the FA Cup,with a first round,second round,quarters and so on depending on the number of people

Good idea. but quality of player might be a draw back. what happens when someone who cant play very well turns up?

Reading is currently on the treatment table but InshAllah is on it.

makaveli786 said:
Good idea. but quality of player might be a draw back. what happens when someone who cant play very well turns up?

Hopefully Malik's ban will still be in place, so we'll be OK

will you be gracing the field? im sure they has been a video of you somewhere walloping a bowler around the park

I'm in North London and am definitely up for it!

If people can do mid week, then i'll probably be able to get us a ground here in London too..

makaveli786 said:

will you be gracing the field? im sure they has been a video of you somewhere walloping a bowler around the park

10 years (and 25kg) too late for me I'm afraid...

Oxy dil hona chaida jawaan umraan ki rakhya. Com,n oxy I will need some company there. don't want to be the only one 90kg+.

I haven't played in years, my knees hurt, back is just about ok, can't field barely bowl but Im willing to grace this shin dig with my presence..after all TGK can't stay anonymous for ever!!

the Great Khan said:
I haven't played in years, my knees hurt, back is just about ok, can't field barely bowl...

You'd pass the Pak cricket team's fitness test

i hope zaid65 lives in UK....

he'll have a chance to settle score with fans of Afridi in opposing team :)

Just remember you are mostly dealing with Pakistanis here. I don't think an Englishman or Indian or Bangali has showed interest. So if you need 10 players look for 30 members interested

Zaid65 in one team, against Makaveli, Raz, DM, GhoshtBuster (if he's in the UK?), and Blazer :)))

West London!!!

Btw me and hasan are already planning a get to together. hopefully we can get more people. Currently i think mohisn and omar malik will come along. We have quiet a few options if we want to play indoor we can book the indoor nets in Oval Cricket Ground

Paradox said:
Zaid65 in one team, against Makaveli, Raz, DM, GhoshtBuster (if he's in the UK?), and Blazer :)))

The sledging in that match would be immensely entertaining. :afridi

Ok few Questions?!
Is it going to be one off match or Tournament?
Hard Ball Match or Tape Ball Match?

Btw i have to thanks PP. This has given me extra motivation to work even harder and prove myself when big players are watching ( assuming pak players will be there)

Yeah Im in...but i have a feeling this idea might not get off the ground that easily...

im in the midlands, near birmingham, I can arrange an indoor game.

Being in SA I will not have the opportunity but is a fabulous idea!!!

Every now and again (nowadays less though) a few of my ex cricketing buddies get together and play a 6 a side tourney. Great fun is always had!!

30 overs a side.

4 bowlers allowed to bowl a maximum of 6 overs each.
In effect the remaining 2 players must bowl 3 each, including the keeper.
Limited run ups for bowlers.
Last man stands, with no non striker, the fielding side may run out at any end, regardless to which side the batter is running to.

Prizes awarded after the game:

N.O.M. (Nightmare of Match)
P.L.E.B. (Player Least Economical Bowler)
Johnny Jism (Worst fielder of day)

We also have continued my old club's tradition of the duck walk!!!

Any player that has scored a duck (whether out or 0 not out!!) must go down on their haunches holding a wooden duck attached to a string. They pull this duck, whilst on their haunches, between two chairs (spaced about 5 m apart) whilst shouting loudly: Quack Quack I am a Duck. There are usually 2 large glasses of beer on each chair which the player must down when he reaches the chairs.

Also any player (not on the field ofcourse) that ends up with his pads on when the game is finished must be "fined" accordingly.

Make up your own fines and rules guys!!!

Thats ideal for the Pakistan team.

Yes, guys lets get behind this idea.

More than just a game of cricket, it could be a great social occasion for PP members to meet up.

I am definitely up for this, even though I havent held a cricket bat for years !

I teckn we should make it an annual thing: first pp invitational tape ball tournament..this way us oldies who are out of practice will have a chance too..LOL

Ok guys, if you decide on North London then let me know. I can try to arrange a midweek game at Finchely Cricket Club during the season.

If it's anywhere else then just let me know when and where and I'll definitely try to make it!

What about those in Manchester?

I am interested, however only if it takes place after 26th of May!

Asalaam alikum wr wb, Great idea ! I would definetely be interested but first i need to work seriously on my fitness ! . I have lived in london for over a decade and in recent times since i got married have lived in bedfordshire and lancashire. I did go back to my parents home in wembley but after a year and a half have moved out again to luton, beds !. I will start going to the gym to get in good shape before the exciting clash of PPERs ! I have been planning to join a club this summer in luton but i guess i can delay that and participate amongst PPERs first ! I use to be a good fast bowler with my bowling action similar to my favourite champion bowler Waqar Younis. I developed great ability to bowl crushing inswinging yorkers and bag loads of wickets. As years went by i gained weight and also developed leg spin bowling inspired by mushtaq ahmed and shane warne. Endless hours of practice in nets really developed leg breaks as good as warne but struggled to bowl googlies. As a batsman i was more of a pinch hitter but as i hit late 20s i started to developed better technique and temperament alongwith with respecting value of my wicket and spending more time at the crease. I have played for one of harrow cricket club's teams and have also played in western union league. Bring it ON, I AM UP FOR IT !

Fantastic response from everyone here. Have had a very busy weekend, and am off my feet until thursday.

Will start working on this idea, at the back end of this week, and will post details or ask for help/suggestions accordingly. Please keep faith, as i fully intend to get this idea off the ground to have a great day for all PPers.

On a side note, for this coming winter, am thinking of entering a team in the indoor cricket league at Canarf Wharf, which will require a core of at least 16 members to committ playing at least twice a month, in the evenings. With the admin's blessing, want to work along the lines of calling the team "pakpassion.net". More on that later and closer to the time.

Regards all and thanks again for the support shown.

Murphyslaw

So far 22 ppl have stated that they would like to be involved

1. murphyslaw79
2. pakmania
3. Pakistani Tiger
4. BoomBoom Cricket
5. Sohaib 789
6. saeed-sohail
7. Immy69
8. navsheikh76
9. the great khan
10. shehzad.nl
11. cricketpassion
12. aki.montana
13. zubair_786_7
14. saj001
15. hasanb
16. Goggy
17. saj
18. Boi
19. Immy69
20. vegitto1
21. easy_like_sunday
22. Bilsher 007

Some other members have posted on here, but can you confirm your interest, so i can add you to this list

1. makaveli786
2. ShehryarK
3. Oxy
4. Gujar
5. Mohsin

off course any other members that are still interested can sign up or at least state an interest.

Now, Immy69 mentioned that for a mid week game, he can arrange Finchley cricket club. Those who have not seen Finchley cricket club, it is a fantastic facility, and it would be a pleasure to play there. However would ppl be willing to travel to North London. It is well connected via the M1.

Immy69, can you possibly advice on ground cost etc and what day would work best, taking into account the clubs practice days.

Also would members be willing to take a day off and play mid week or is sunday still the preferred day?

ShehryarK said:
I think he said in one of his posts that he's in the US.

Cant all the "Shahid Afridi fan club" collect some amount and invite him over to UK.

Dont you guys want a battleground while on the field :)

And Instead of naming PP North vs PP South ...

Lets name the match:

PP Ball Eaters vs PP Apple Eaters

How much will I get paid if I sign up?

Also, my dietary requirments are quite specialised.

makaveli786 said:

Thats a quality video as well!

Murphyslaw I'm unfortunately preoccupied with A-Level exams atm,havent had a lot of time to play cricket :(

pakmania said:
Murphyslaw I'm unfortunately preoccupied with A-Level exams atm,havent had a lot of time to play cricket :(
Is this good or bad news?

Seen Sheen said:
I could skipper,so where should I fit in!..:yk

I'm really up for this too, but it's on condition of me being made skipper of the South team.

Muhammad said:
I'm really up for this too, but it's on condition of me being made skipper of the South team.
I will be 31 in june so I must be one of the seniors in north team.On the basis of seniority I am a suitable cadidate to lead my team.

Why don't we have a tournament..tape ball style..teams of 5 or 6..that way more people can be involved and it wouldn't just be north vs south..??

the Great Khan said:
Why don't we have a tournament..tape ball style..teams of 5 or 6..that way more people can be involved and it wouldn't just be north vs south..??
Good idea TGK I am up for any idea which enhances my chances of becoming captain I am senior afterall.

saeed-sohail said:
I will be 31 in june so I must be one of the seniors in north team.On the basis of seniority I am a suitable cadidate to lead my team.
Again the word 'seniority'...:pissed:...It should be only based on merit.....:butt

Im ready. Im from Bolton (Manchester Area) add me to the list pleaseeeeee

As long as its not a Saturday I'm always up for a game with my fellow brethren. London area would be ideal.

Seems that you're going to get more than 22 players so how about some sort of 6-8 over tournament?

TKC can sponsor the event...it can be like a BBQ...

'Assalamualikum, mera naam Mohammad Yousuf hai...mere saath dinner kare...TKC main....ab mere paas bohot waqt hai' :moyo

'Hi...im Shoaib Malik....come.....come dinner...me TKC......also time lots of free' :malik

London is a no go..too far and too expensive..midlands is better..London isnt the only place in England guys!!

murphyslaw79 said:

1. murphyslaw79
2. pakmania
3. Pakistani Tiger
4. BoomBoom Cricket
5. Sohaib 789
6. saeed-sohail
7. Immy69
8. navsheikh76
9. the great khan
10. shehzad.nl
11. cricketpassion
12. aki.montana
13. zubair_786_7
14. saj001
15. hasanb
16. Goggy
17. saj
18. Boi
19. Immy69
20. vegitto1
21. easy_like_sunday
22. Bilsher 007

Some other members have posted on here, but can you confirm your interest, so i can add you to this list

1. makaveli786
2. ShehryarK
3. Oxy
4. Gujar
5. Mohsin

off course any other members that are still interested can sign up or at least state an interest.

Now, Immy69 mentioned that for a mid week game, he can arrange Finchley cricket club. Those who have not seen Finchley cricket club, it is a fantastic facility, and it would be a pleasure to play there. However would ppl be willing to travel to North London. It is well connected via the M1.

Immy69, can you possibly advice on ground cost etc and what day would work best, taking into account the clubs practice days.

Also would members be willing to take a day off and play mid week or is sunday still the preferred day?

I'm definetely interested bro, just out injured at the moment with ankle ligament damage. Haven't played any football for 5 weeks or any running. InshAllah as long as i'm recovered, i'd definetely be up for it.

What would be interesting would be to have two captains. Murphyslaw79 could select and skipper one side (South i'm assuming) and maybe one to select and skipper the Northern side.

I think location is going to be the main problem according to my alter ego captain obvious.

For 'youngsters' like myself who have no car, arranging transportation to far flung places like Birmingham could be a problem...unless TKC let us hire their bus.

Would be a start to know where the vast majority of ppl are from and how far they could travel. Personally from London ends but would require some sort of transportation assistance (lift or minibus hire even?) if the location isn't within the London vicinity.

murphyslaw79 said:

1. murphyslaw79
2. pakmania
3. Pakistani Tiger
4. BoomBoom Cricket
5. Sohaib 789
6. saeed-sohail
7. Immy69
8. navsheikh76
9. the great khan
10. shehzad.nl
11. cricketpassion
12. aki.montana
13. zubair_786_7
14. saj001
15. hasanb
16. Goggy
17. saj
18. Boi
19. Immy69
20. vegitto1
21. easy_like_sunday
22. Bilsher 007

1. makaveli786
2. ShehryarK
3. Oxy
4. Gujar
5. Mohsin

No worries..I'll get back to you soon on the dates that are available during this season together with all the costs etc etc...

I'll also let you know when there are free sundays available just incase most people can only make it on a weekend.

I'll also check to see if there are any free sunday friendly fixtures available incase we can only get eleven guys together in whichcase we can play one of the Finchley Sunday Teams.

Give ma few days please and I'll be back to you.

makaveli786 said:
croydon? i got friends from there, whats your age and do you ply for any cricket clubs?

I am same age as :razaaq .I have played cricket for Mitcham club only last year after nearly 6 years .I hope I get selected now :afridi