PSL to cause Rs23bn loss to local traders: LCCI

LAHORE: As the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) is all set to host Pakistan Super League (PSL) matches in Lahore, traders have said that strict security measures are taken by the government, such as sealing off markets and roads to facilitate the movement of the teams, will cause loss of at least Rs23 billion to local businesses.

Addressing a press conference in LCCI on Tuesday, along with Vice President Mian Zahid Jawaid Ahmad, former presidents Bashir A Baksh and Sohail Lashari, he said, “We are not against cricket matches as these activities are very encouraging and aid in improving the image of our country.”

He said that the closure of the Liberty Market and others in surrounding areas for just one day will cause a loss of Rs23 billion. “We are frequently in the contact with government and we are also putting the proposals to the government to make a long term strategy which can help the business community and locals,” he added.

The president was of the view that revival of international cricket in Pakistan is a healthy sign and would highlight the soft image of the country but trade and economic activities have equal importance, therefore, the government should make a plan in consultation with the stakeholders to hold the sports event without affecting the trade and economic activities.

He said that the revival of sports in Pakistan is ample proof of the reality that Pakistan is a peaceful and safe country.

He said that the LCCI and the business community support efforts of the government aimed at highlighting the soft image of Pakistan’s but it is also important that business activities should not be damaged.

He also said that during the cricket matches in the recent past, Liberty and other markets and restaurants adjacent to Gaddafi Stadium Lahore were closed, which resulted in significant loss of business activities, not only to the traders but to the daily wagers.

He further said that a few PSL matches are scheduled to be held at Gaddafi Stadium during the next month and if the markets will be closed during those matches, the consequences would be worse for the business community as people will face further financial losses.

The LCCI president said that the business community is ready to cooperate with the government to ensure all necessary security measures during these matches, but they also want that the adjacent markets and restaurants should not be forced to remain close because this will create the impression that the security conditions are not normal yet in the country.

“A state-of-the-art luxurious hotel should be built as soon as possible within the premises of Gaddafi Stadium Lahore for the guest Cricket teams because it is the only solution to address all the concerns,” he added.

Sheikh also offered to build a five-star 100-bed hotel for the cricket team in the vicinity of Gaddafi Stadium. “We proposed to the government to establish a separate hotel for the cricket teams in the nearest area to the stadium which can not only serve the security purposes but also give relief to people and if the government allows me then I am ready to construct the hotel,” he added.

https://www.pakistantoday.com.pk/2020/02/18/psl-to-cause-rs23bn-loss-to-local-traders-lcci/

That is why I feel cricket still isn't feasible in Pakistan as of now.

We need to build new stadiums out of the crowded places so that cricket can return as a normal feature and not an exception.

And one more thing, when the government talks about taxes, all of a sudden these traders go like "there's no business, we having no revenue, no customers, only losses but the instant they shut them down, it's losses of 23 billion to be precise. Nice.

It will be a loss to particular traders but will be a gain for other traders, so not a loss of economy. In Pakistan we have given too much freedom to these traders mafia, Pakistan should focus on e commerce now.

Some pathetic comments here on. After all it’s just a game of cricket and having so strict security is not doing any favour to anyone

Got to feel sorry for the traders who have to bear the pinch due to organizing Cricket in an unsafe country .

I would rather have no Cricket than shut down my business to provide Top Notch security to some foreign Cricketers playing in a domestic tournament.

The traders should hit the streets and protest against this move.

23 billion is around $150million one day yet they pay very little tax, I have zero sympathy for them. Tax evaders

I was thinking the same, as the tax returns of the Lahore traders is very small, is this an admission of massive tax evasion.

There is a reason that stadiums around the world already are or are encouraged to be a bit away or atleast some corner of the city. Having a stadium in the hub of the city was always gonna be a problem for any country.

I am not sure the idea of traders of a state of the art hotel near the Gaddafi Stadium is feasible as it will require a lot of land in that area.

For big cities Govt has to evaluate the feasibility of creating a state of the art hotel near the hotel as traders asked or a stadium at the corner of the city or maybe a bit away with a hotel and other facilities near by.

i havent hear this kind of news from karachi traders, why lahore walas are crying ? and we all know karachi provide 80% of revenue to Pakistan ...

Got to feel sorry for the traders who have to bear the pinch due to organizing Cricket in an unsafe country .

I would rather have no Cricket than shut down my business to provide Top Notch security to some foreign Cricketers playing in a domestic tournament.

The traders should hit the streets and protest against this move.

according to who ? try google sometimes for better news ...

Pakistan's transformation from terrorism to toursim 'absolutely remarkable', says UN chief

https://www.dawn.com/news/1535044/pakistans-transformation-from-terrorism-to-toursim-absolutely-remarkable-says-un-chief

Then play all the matches in Karachi.

no problem, but we need all the money PCB spending on other stadiums to make 2 more stadiums in Karachi ....

Rafi cricket stadium is also going to be complete in couple of years ...
so it will make 4 stadiums ... :)

Got to feel sorry for the traders who have to bear the pinch due to organizing Cricket in an unsafe country.

Its mainly due to the location of Gaddafi stadium which is in the hub of a big city.

Also on what basis you are calling Pakistan unsafe? Kindly share some recent data comparing it to other countries to give weight to your words.

Its mainly due to the location of Gaddafi stadium which is in the hub of a big city.

Also on what basis you are calling Pakistan unsafe? Kindly share some recent data comparing it to other countries to give weight to your words.

he is a student of BJP whatsapp University ....

I remember during 2007 tour of SA to Pakistan. SA team went to a restaurant in Lahore (Nandos) and interacted with the public without feeling unsafe. I wish those days could return soon because the confinement of the players is not a good sign.

Closing of liberty market and surrounding area for one day would cause a loss of 23 billion PKR, or 150 million USD. Now I have no idea how big liberty market is but if the place does business 300 days a year, it'd do business worth 45 billion USD. Or almost 20 percent of the entire GDP of pakistan.

Must be one hell of a trading hub.

150mn for 1 day. Nearly a billion a week. Are these figures verified?

Btw why is it necessary to shut down the entire market?

anyone who is believing these numbers has retake their grade 1 math

23 Billion Rupees a day is 5 Trillon Pakistani Rupees a year if you take out 2 days off on average a week

Pakistan's annual GDP is 4.6 Trillion a year

Are these jokers saying Liberty market creates more GDP than the entire Pakistani economy?

23 Billion Rupees a day is 5 Trillon Pakistani Rupees a year if you take out 2 days off on average a week

Are these jokers saying Liberty market creates more GDP than the entire Pakistani economy?

bolne mein kya jata hai, let all these traders bark...

Gadaffi Stadium was constructed in 1959, back then this part of Lahore was outside of the city. Lahore has grown a lot of the years. They probably need to relocate the stadium from its current location.

PCB and Punjab Govt. can build a 5 star hotel or residential place near Qaddafi stadium. This has been demanded by busineds owners which'll resolve the issue permanently.

Got to feel sorry for the traders who have to bear the pinch due to organizing Cricket in an unsafe country.

I think the years 2009-2013 are missing you and calling you back. Maybe you can use a time capsule to travel to that time.

No ****. I read the numbers and it sounded blown way out of proportion so that these guys could make a stronger case. But you only weaken your case when you lie.