PTI's Tsunami March on 14th August [Mega Thread]

what a wonderful country you run and you wonder why people want to bring down this sham democracy ?

http://www.samaa.tv/pakistan/31-Aug-2014/saad-steps-in-to-stop-police-torture-on-media

Talking to media, the federal minister said that this is a criminal mindset that is undermining the government’s case.

“I assure you that the police personnel involved in vandalizing media vehicles will be brought to justice for their ugly act of violence.”

He admitted that the police force on the ground is out of control and acting without any command, claiming that the cops even attempted to attack him when he stepped out of his vehicle to stop them.

“Have you seen any inspector, SHO or any other higher police official commanding the personnel at the site? This is totally a criminal negligence which will not be tolerated.”

“This is an embarrassing situation for the government,” he admitted.

Saad said that he will contact information minister to come forward at the site and review the situation. - SAMAA

Surely that is the definition of government failure. When you admittedly can't even control your own police force.

If admit they don't have the control over police, they should resign. What a bunch of morons leading Pakistan.

Is your chacha in PML N??

Just like your chacha is in PTI. I am for industrialisation of the country. No one can to that better than Sharif.I don't want a former cricket player to lead Pakistan. Khan doesn't want progress for the country, otherwise the long march wouldn't have taken place.

I have to agree with [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] here. On one hand, Insafiaans say they are holding peaceful protests with women and children present who have been targeted by police, on the other hand, Imran Khan is making fiery speeches about PM and PM house while PTI workers are armed with sticks and masks. First of all, women are citizens like any others, their lives don't hold less or more value than men's. If they are present at protests and making their political voice heard, they should be counted as people and PTI workers should not use them to play the victim card, ie ''x women got injured''. Similarly, children have no place in such protests, be it in Pakistan or anywhere else in the world. Even if the protests were expected to be peaceful (which they were not since PTI workers were armed (scantily, admittedly), meaning that they were at least anticipating violence), children don't have the critical thinking to form a political opinion different than their parents. By using them to further your own political opinions, you are exploiting their innocent minds and impeding their intellectual growth.

So, the blame for the deaths of the injured and the dead goes on both sides of the political arena here. PML-N obviously let their ego get ahead here. This azaadi march was destined to be a complete failure and it would have been had Zardari been in power rather than Nawaz Sharif. At any point in the last two months, they could have given IK an exit door for him to save face in front of his workers. But they didn't want to give him even that and, by pursuing political annihilation for IK, they made a series of blunders that led to an escalation where IK is in a corner and would have smothered his infant political career in the crib had he backed down. The best way for IK to get out of this situation is, like [MENTION=14431]blinding light[/MENTION] said, to play ''lashon ki siyaasat" and NS knew this perfectly well.

They both went all-in, the pot was the prime minister's seat and the blind was the death of a few Pakistanis which, to great leaders like these, is a small fee to pay. However, they forgot one of the most essential rules of betting and it is that the house always wins. You can hear many people here suggest that the house doesn't want to intervene. The thing is that they may or may not intervene but one thing is for sure and it is that their power has grown a lot over the past few months. Another thing to consider is that, even if they wished to intervene, they really would have no need to do so now when they can manipulate their pawns into degrading their situation further so that they can carry on faking reluctancy and finally ''accept'' to take over for the good of the country.

Kick out the corrupt scums who swindled the country for billions of dollars

Dead bodies is what tuq wanted. This guy is beginning to act like Jim Jones. He still has hundreds at his disposal. I worry he'll get few more killed as well.

Doing what he did yesterday is the equivalent of suicide by cop on a massive scale.

Mamoon, what on earth are you smoking? Would you want those rubber bullets fired at you? your family? females and little kids?

They were being shot at point blank range at which it IS LETHAL. 3 people have been martyred cuz of these "RUBBER" bullets as confirmed by PIMS.

Firstly, my family won't take part in such nonsense and those friends of mine that are part of it, well they have it coming. Which democracy allows people to gather with sticks and barbed wires, threatening to break into PM House? I don't buy this peaceful protest crap one bit.

I am not defending the actions of the government. They have clearly handled this very poorly but I won't say that PTI/PAT are completely faultless.

I consider a weapon with a death rate of less than 1 in 20 000 rounds to be as safe as you can get without losing the ability to disperse the crowd. There isn't much more a police force can do. Do people have any other solutions? The blame is to be put on the escalation that took place before the event from both sides, not the actual use of rubber bullets which was perfectly fine IMO. I agree with [MENTION=134608]Hawkeye[/MENTION] that police shouldn't have used it in close quarters.

People might call it true democracy, but how does getting owned on live TV by Javed Hashmi bode well for Imran? How can PTI move forward where there such internal cracks and factions?

Hashmi was ghanja's master plan, he was a double agent, this was planned all along :imran

Hashmi is very emotional and somewhat naive but, as opposed to Imran Khan, he is actually consistent with this and doesn't pick and choose when to care for the people and when to further his own interests, which is why I deeply admire him. The idea that there are frictions in PTI doesn't matter, what matters is how IK and his crownies handle these. If they start thrashing a great person like Hashmi, or otherwise manage to silence his opinion, then and only then will I consider PTI is truly lost.

No other party member agreed with Hashmi so why he should be lauded now for backstabbing party?

5:13pm: Imran went with party’s decision to go to PM House: Shireen Mazari
PTI Central Information Secretary Shireen Mazari has said that the decision to go to PM House was made in the following sequence.

She said first the PTI negotiating committee decided that the party would not move forward towards PM House and the decision was conveyed to Imran who endorsed it.

The party’s decision was conveyed by Secretary General Jahangir Tareen and Additional Secretary General Saifullah to PAT representatives who said their movement forward would remain peaceful.

Mazari said that on hearing this reassurance, Imran convened a meeting of the larger core committee which endorsed his view that PTI should move forward to PM House.

Javed Hashmi was the only exception who disagreed, Mazari said, adding that Imran went with the majority’s call.

She said the PTI leadership stands with Imran and the decisions made by him.
http://www.dawn.com/news/1128786/battleground-islamabad-pm-back-in-capital-as-imran-qadri-supporters-clash-with-police
If he still has problem with majority than I don't know what kind of democracy he is talking about.

No other party member agreed with Hashmi so why he should be lauded now for backstabbing party?

That's what you signed up for when you accepted him. Furthermore, this is what you lauded him for at that time. Being honest is what Hashmi does, if you can't accept that and start trying to bring him down, or otherwise devalue his opinions (like some insafiyaans are suggesting bringing his health into it), it reflects badly on you, not him. If his health is so bad that you can't trust him to be coherent, why is he the president of your party?

The problem probably stems from the fact that, when Hashmi said ''Main Baghi Hun'', Insafiyaans thought he was saying ''Main Burger Hun''.

SSP Ali Omar and Captain Mustansar have resigned as they refused to fire on protestors-IK

--Dawn--

Imran leads a non violent protest against corrupt government = Pak nitpickers start hating.

Ganja continuously uses his police force as a gang squad and indiscriminately kills and injures civilians = the same nitpickers and haters don't say a word.

Great post! Well done!

SSP Ali Omar and Captain Mustansar have resigned as they refused to fire on protestors-IK

--Dawn--

Many officers standing down, seeing the barbaric dictator face of the NS brothers.

A female DSP one of them.

Also, an official of Interior Ministry resigned on live TV.

Hashmi has always been anti establishment and imran's actions is forcing martial law. Hence hashmi stuck by his principles and respect to him. Imran just lost a huge politician

What I make of this decision is that factions have started to develop within PTI. So much for the revolution.

So if we are going to use cricketing analogies at every junction, is it safe to say that Imran got hit wicket? :ibutt

"This collective attack on the media makes us think that it was planned to make us look bad,” Rafique said.

LMAO.

So the police attack on the media was planned by external forces...umm WHAT?

Nation is waking up. Police officers resigning, interior ministry officials refusing to obey Ch. Nisar and now PMLN Sindh's chief organizer leaves PMLN.

I hope Supreme Court comes into action and sends these brothers to jail for crimes against humanity, unconstitutional measures.

Is another Martial law right around the corner?

Dr. Qadri predicted before this march that Nawaz Sharif and Shahbaz Sharif will be no more in power after 31st August 2014 and he was so confident.

General Raheel Sharif has called the corps-commander conference immediately on August 31 (today) over the bad political situation in General Headquarter (GHQ) Rawalpindi (Link). The conference was scheduled tomorrow but they changed the schedule.

Just few hours left of this month. What is going to happen?

Nation is waking up. Police officers resigning, interior ministry officials refusing to obey Ch. Nisar and now PMLN Sindh's chief organizer leaves PMLN.

I hope Supreme Court comes into action and sends these brothers to jail for crimes against humanity, unconstitutional measures.

Surely PTI losing Hashmi is a bigger blow?

Great post! Well done!

Can you tell me any one country in the world, where people march so close to the parliament and the government takes no action for 2-3 weeks? Is it possible in Germany? In the US? In UK? How did police behave with the wall street protesters? Be honest

Surely PTI losing Hashmi is a bigger blow?

Hashmi said he's not leaving the party and is still the president.

Him going public over a difference was stabbing the entire party and its leadership in the back.

I'd certainly like him to stay with the party ONLY if he doesn't start backstabbing the core committee again n again. He had already acted like a naraaz bahu 2 times earlier and party core committee had to go to Multan to mend matters.

Depends on how hawkish the general is, and what his views on democracy and political issues are.

You can argue either for or against it.

For - Someone needs to stop the anarchy that is spreading, and that someone is no better than the army. Chaos may spread like wildfire across the country and it may be hard to control if it's too late. May even result in Arab-Spring styled civil unrest that goes on for years.

Against - The army is in the midst of an operation, and may not want to deal with 2 major issues at the same time.

After SSP Ali refuses to take further orders, Gullu Government assigned SSP Ilyas to the operation.

Now, SP ILYAS has ALSO refused to take the SSP position and become another Gullu Butt :) :)))

SALUTE to these men.

Imran Khan said this could be the last night of Dharna. Is he also eyeing on the Conference?

Just to clarify PP Policy in this situation for tweet and Media screen grabs.

We do not support spreading of random twitter accounts and tweets. This is general PP rule and such unverified tweets we will remove from random account.

In this situation we dont want PP to be source to spread any critical unverified information as a lot is coming and no verification is found.

Hope our dear members can understand.

Democracy is better than Martial law but Martial law is better than what's going on right now

I am quite sure Army is in no mood of Martial Law but I cant see any solution clearly gov is failed to handle the situation and at the moment it is just PML N vs PAT and PTI no Pakistan and no Government. Clearly state and resources are used as battle ground.

Express News showing footage of policemen smashing the new Mercedes-Benz Car. They broke all the glasses. Acting like Gullu Butt

Gullu Butts (aka police) caught in Islamabad, openly smashing cars of the public.

Another Gullu Butt caught by media in Gujranwala, trying to attack PTI protest.

Just to clarify PP Policy in this situation for tweet and Media screen grabs.

We do not support spreading of random twitter accounts and tweets. This is general PP rule and such unverified tweets we will remove from random account.

In this situation we dont want PP to be source to spread any critical unverified information as a lot is coming and no verification is found.

Hope our dear members can understand.

Ok thanks for the info!

Javed Hasmi leaving is no bad thing, his heart is not in it. He is an honest guy because IK wouldn't have touched if he wasn't but it's a parting of ways. I respect his opinion but on this occasion we disagree.

Breaking: Army warns Govt not to use force against anyone and try solving your problems through dialogue.

It is clear. Army will not use force against PTI and PAT. It is a direct message to Nawaz Sharif that "Banday Da Puttar Ban Ja"

looks like Nawaz and his henchmen wanted to cause even more death and destruction tonight than last night

Thank god the Islamabad police senior people refusing to follow immoral orders

^ the message was for all "siyaasi qiyadat" which includes PTI and PAT as well - a reporter in Samaa categorically answered this question on Samaa around 30 secs back.

10:05pm Army supports democracy
An ISPR statement released after a four-hour long meeting of the corps commanders, the military said: "While reaffirming support to democracy, the conference reviewed with serious concern, the existing political crisis and the violent turn it has taken, resulting in large scale injuries and loss of lives. Further use of force will only aggravate the problem."

The statement further said: "It was once again reiterated that the situation should be resolved politically without wasting any time and without recourse to violent means."

Dawn News

I think PTI and PAT can move fwd without any retaliation from Police tonight after military press release. I still think Army dont want to take over and interfere but our leaders are really testing their patience.

Nawaz is finished but the PTI and PAT must make sure that there in no loss of life. One innocent life lost,is one too many;NS and his fellow crooks care about money but we have to show that we care about people

Breaking: Army warns Govt not to use force against anyone and try solving your problems through dialogue.

It is clear. Army will not use force against PTI and PAT. It is a direct message to Nawaz Sharif that "Banday Da Puttar Ban Ja"

^ the message was for all "siyaasi qiyadat" which includes PTI and PAT as well - a reporter in Samaa categorically answered this question on Samaa around 30 secs back.

My theory in this case is following.This is pretty bogus release in current cituation and is no better than what Zardari sahab said after waking up yesterday. Honest opinion I dont think this is what they discussed for 3 hours in the conference, if they really discussed this then they are seriously not interested in whats going on. Or may be what they discussed exactly is not released and we can expect " mere azid hamwatno" tonight.

Official Release
No PR184/2014-ISPR Dated: August 31, 2014
Rawalpindi - August 31, 2014: Corps Commander Conference was held at General Headquarters tonight. Chief of Army Staff (COAS) General Raheel Sharif presided over the conference.
While reaffirming support to democracy, the conference reviewed with serious concern, the existing political crisis and the violent turn it has taken, resulting in large scale injuries and loss of lives. Further use of force will only aggravate the problem.

It was once again reiterated that the situation should be resolved politically without wasting any time and without recourse to violent means.

Army remains committed to playing its part in ensuring security of the state and will never fall short of meeting national aspirations.

https://www.ispr.gov.pk/front/main.asp?o=t-press_release&id=2635#pr_link2635

I dont see anything more than what we are already listening from last 15-20 days.

The media release must be very different to what raheel must be conveying to nawaz as we speak. I expect nawaz will be forced to resign because there won't be martial law with the risk of sanctions looming

Respect for Hashmi for standing up for his principles and exposing IK and his undemocratic plans. Guy is a true baghi. Rest of PTI are his blind followers. No wonder IK said to him that our paths are separate now. He must be content now to be surrounded by only sycophants and 'yes sir, whatever you say our sir' types.

At the same time, he said that in 30 years NS has failed to learn what democracy is.

Also if Hashmi leaving is an indication of Imran's undemocratic plans then 746 including 3 Senior officers refusing to follow orders must indicate that the government has planned a large scale massacre and also intend to assassinate Imran Khan.

The guy is a bigger fool than IK himself,

At the same time, he said that in 30 years NS has failed to learn what democracy is.

Also if Hashmi leaving is an indication of Imran's undemocratic plans then 746 including 3 Senior officers refusing to follow orders must indicate that the government has planned a large scale massacre and also intend to assassinate Imran Khan.

NS is no more a democrat than IK. Our country politics continue to revolve around individuals be it NS, IK, AZ or AH. That's why we are in this state today. If our political parties were truly democratic, our Army would not have found the space to gather support for undemocratic measures through their stooges like TUQ, Sheikh Rashid and Chaudry brothers.

To all those who were saying the protestors were violent etc.

The new SSP Islamabad, Asmatullah Junejo just said on TV he admired all of the protesters, they were peaceful.

He was sorry for misuse of force yesterday night and said legal action will be taken against the culprits (usual statement).

Massive U turn by Islamabad Police with SSP himself saying they will not use any violence will not stop food and water supply and will not arrest anyone from hospitals. Single press release change the world of Police.

To all those who were saying the protestors were violent etc.

The new SSP Islamabad, Asmatullah Junejo just said on TV he admired all of the protesters, they were peaceful.

He was sorry for misuse of force yesterday night and said legal action will be taken against the culprits (usual statement).

ISPR ka jadu hay bhai.... Pyar ki bat samjh hi nahi ati kisi ko.

Javed Hashmi's press conference:

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/jldQDjTApFE" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

I am sure new SP Islamabad is getting order from GHQ directly. His statements totally exposed governments statements today he accepted the protesters were peaceful and police used power. Time is over for NS and this Govt. New Elections are the only option left.