PTI's Tsunami March on 14th August [Mega Thread]

Now, the other major player in rigging, the EC, has jumped into the picture.

Imran Khan's criticism of the election process is unconstitutional - EC

Rigging isnt unconstitutional, but its criticism is is :91:

+1

Also, even if all of the above questions are valid then let the thumb verification expose Imran & PTI? Why those stay orders? Why sacking an harassment of NADRA chief? Why waste all the time and energy?

Thumb veryfication is nearly impossible as no magnetic ink was was used..

Billions of Pakistan tax payer money used to purchase Magnetic Ink. Not a single culprit found in this scam.

RO's fault and Ex CJ Ch. Iftikhar was giving them Tribute.

IA it will be successful:hafeez2 I pray that our terrible so called military democracy started from 1947 ends and atrue Islamic democracy is established where all citizens whether muslim or non muslim are equal I know Imran Khan has guts to dismiss these generals who are making important decisions since 1958

Time for all corrupt politicians and generals is almost over ia!

RO's fault and Ex CJ Ch. Iftikhar was giving them Tribute.

what about the ex-NADRA chief who PTI was using as a fallen hero whilst govt was trying to have him sacked...was he not responsible as well?

Us nay Magnetic Ink nahi deni thi. It was Election Commission Duty

NADRA doesnt conduct elections, EC does. NADRA chief was not willing to give a clean chit to noora victory after vote verification, and hence was sacked.

On a different note, govt decides to close all petrol pumps along motorway and GT road on 14th August to minimize the number of participants reaching the capital

Govt did not let Hashmi's plane land in Sialkot

Height of democracy

Imran losing his temper, watch after 20 mins.

<iframe frameborder="0" width="480" height="270" src="//www.dailymotion.com/embed/video/x22uszw" allowfullscreen></iframe><br /><a href="http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x22uszw_livewithtalat5aug2014_news" target="_blank">LiveWithTalat5aug2014</a> <i>by <a href="http://www.dailymotion.com/awaztoday-tv" target="_blank">awaztoday-tv</a></i>

what is the Prediction ?

Nawaz sharif will resign, govt will be dissolved

PTI will withdraw from the march

PTI will come back from march, empty handed

Govt and PTI will come to a consensus and govt will continue to work

Marshal law

or any other option ??

<iframe frameborder="0" width="480" height="270" src="//www.dailymotion.com/embed/video/x22uszw" allowfullscreen></iframe><br /><a href="http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x22uszw_livewithtalat5aug2014_news" target="_blank">LiveWithTalat5aug2014</a> <i>by <a href="http://www.dailymotion.com/awaztoday-tv" target="_blank">awaztoday-tv</a></i>

If an anchor has issue with understanding simple things than what a normal person can do ?
The problem with Talat is his ego because after elections he claimed that "Generally" Elections were transparent.
As per Talat Logic if some mafia occupied my land by force and police or courts are not giving me justice than i should keep silent because as per constitution of pakistan i have no right to protest against it.
Why it is soo hard for people to understand that As per constitution of pakistan elections should be free and fair which were not.So going by the Contitution of Pakistan this government should be dissolved and election results should be nullified.
Any group of people/Individual has right to protest on streets in every country.

In custody: Police detain PAT,PTI workers in South Punjab

MULTAN: Police have launched a crackdown against the Pakistan Awami Tehreek (PAT) and Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) workers in different districts of south Punjab. They have started the operation in Muzaffargarh where a large number of PAT workers reside.

Speaking to The Express Tribune, PAT spokesperson Rao Arif revealed that three workers from Muzaffargarh, seven from Alipur, eight from Jatoi, three from Shah Kamal and two from Chowk Qureshi have been taken into custody.

On the condition of anonymity, officials from the special branch of the Punjab police have confirmed the arrests from Jatoi. The president of PAT in Jatoi AD Shehbaz, Tahir Azeem and the Naib Nazim of PAT in Muzaffargarh are among the party activists who have been arrested.

The detained workers have been taken to an unknown location and police officials have been stopped from revealing any details to the media about the arrests.

Meanwhile, the relatives of two Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf workers from Chowk Sarwar Shaheed named Muhammad Maqbool and Azeem Afridi have also been arrested and shifted to an undisclosed location. The police have refused to speak openly about the issue.

Source:http://tribune.com.pk/story/745389/in-custody-police-detain-pat-pti-worker-in-south-punjab/

In custody: Police detain PAT,PTI workers in South Punjab

MULTAN: Police have launched a crackdown against the Pakistan Awami Tehreek (PAT) and Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) workers in different districts of south Punjab. They have started the operation in Muzaffargarh where a large number of PAT workers reside.

Speaking to The Express Tribune, PAT spokesperson Rao Arif revealed that three workers from Muzaffargarh, seven from Alipur, eight from Jatoi, three from Shah Kamal and two from Chowk Qureshi have been taken into custody.

On the condition of anonymity, officials from the special branch of the Punjab police have confirmed the arrests from Jatoi. The president of PAT in Jatoi AD Shehbaz, Tahir Azeem and the Naib Nazim of PAT in Muzaffargarh are among the party activists who have been arrested.

The detained workers have been taken to an unknown location and police officials have been stopped from revealing any details to the media about the arrests.

Meanwhile, the relatives of two Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf workers from Chowk Sarwar Shaheed named Muhammad Maqbool and Azeem Afridi have also been arrested and shifted to an undisclosed location. The police have refused to speak openly about the issue.

Source:http://tribune.com.pk/story/745389/in-custody-police-detain-pat-pti-worker-in-south-punjab/

Zia ki Bakiyat ne yehi kerna tha,
Ise kehte hain apne paon per khud kulhari marna.
Kash PML-N ko jamhoriyat aur badshahat ka farq pata hota.

what is the Prediction ?

Marshal law

or any other option ??

I believe army is with NS right now so he isn't going anywhere. Either plmln would stop the march through the force or pti would reach some sort of agreement.

This PTI vs. status quo. And army is part of status quo. Army was part of the machinery that designed PMLN's fake victory in the elections. And I wont be surprised if the army want this status quo preserved, even though they have serious reservations about Nawaz.

One thing we all know about Imran is that he doesnt give in to threats. So I am not sure if it would be easy to strike a deal with him. Read the news every day. Look at how scared the govt is. They have started raiding PTI workers' homes to arrest them. Imran has asked all PTI leadership to go underground before the 14th to avoid arrests.

All of the above makes it very hard to predict what is going to happen. Let's wait and watch and pray that someones takes down a corrupt govt for once.

what is the Prediction ?

Marshal law

or any other option ??

There are several things to consider.

First, for the march to be successful, you will have to have Army's intervention in some way or another. N-league will not budge just because there are a million people on the streets jamming Islo. Army is fighting a war and has no appetite in taking over or imposing a care-taker govt. US and other powers to be are content with the govt. as they are finally getting us to fight the militants in NW. Saudia Arabia, a big supporter of our army is with the govt. as well.

As for the other pillars of the state, the judiciary is fairly pro-govt. Media could have been a player but I see divided opinion among anchors, who lets face it will shape the narrative of this march. Whether they have been bought by the govt. or not is another debate.

Comparing this to the lawyers movement march is also foolish. That march was not to topple the PPP govt., that's a big difference. Plus, the whole of Punjab was under PML-N's control like today where the march started so they controlled the police, administration etc. to allow the march and actually work towards making it successful.

I think nothing will happen. There will be a march with not so many people, some fiery speeches, even a little dharna but in the end....IK will be given some assurances by some mediator for face saving. IK will return claiming victory and saying he never intended to topple the govt. and just wanted reforms. Govt. will stay in power and things will go on as usual. Only I fear it will permanently damage IK's reputation and if anytime in the future he starts making tall predictions and wanting people to come out on the streets, it will be treated as a joke, kind of like TUQ.

There are several things to consider.

I think nothing will happen. There will be a march with not so many people, some fiery speeches, even a little dharna but in the end....IK will be given some assurances by some mediator for face saving. IK will return claiming victory and saying he never intended to topple the govt. and just wanted reforms. Govt. will stay in power and things will go on as usual. Only I fear it will permanently damage IK's reputation and if anytime in the future he starts making tall predictions and wanting people to come out on the streets, it will be treated as a joke, kind of like TUQ.

And this is exactly why I dont think this march will not achieve anything. IK knows this is do or die for his political career. And he will not return empty handed. Just my 2 cents.

I completely understand your analysis and the reasons behind it, the history of the country, the status quo and army interventions. You know, us insaafians live in our own world sometimes. And in that world we have hope that something very unexpected may come out of this march. But that goes against all logic and everything that we have seen in the past. So I understand why you would disagree with it :)

I don't think IK's reputation would be affected. PMLN has already made this march a success no matter what happens. If the govt had opened it arms and allowed IK to protest and sit there as long as they wanted nothing would have happened but of course this is NON-SENSE League, they learn nothing from the history. They did the same in 1992 when Benzair Bhutto announced the long march against PMLN govt. NS did they same then too. Did all the things he's doing right now and then use the force on that day to arrest PPP leaders. BB was beaten with sticks by police and then got arrested. March was averted but as a result PPP became very popular and PMLN popularity took a nose dive. So, when BB announced another march after 9-10 months.. army intervened and asked NS to resign.

^ IK's reputation will be heavily affected. People, just regular people, are planing on attending the march. I know quite a few personally, and the only reason they are going is coz they want the govt gone. One of them even voted for PMLN!

If that doesnt happen, expect Imran to lose a lot. And expect Nawaz to rule like a king for 5 years coz he will know nothing can dent him

^ IK's reputation will be heavily affected. People, just regular people, are planing on attending the march. I know quite a few personally, and the only reason they are going is coz they want the govt gone. One of them even voted for PMLN!

If that doesnt happen, expect Imran to lose a lot. And expect Nawaz to rule like a king for 5 years coz he will know nothing can dent him

It's really unrealistic to believe govt would get toppled. At most IK would be able to negotiate some very good electoral reforms and thumb audit of 15-20 constituencies.

I think you're ignoring the history of 1992 Long March by saying NS would believe nothing would happen to him.

Just for record I don't think IK should have gone for the long March right now.

It's really unrealistic to believe govt would get toppled. At most IK would be able to negotiate some very good electoral reforms and thumb audit of 15-20 constituencies.

I think you're ignoring the history of 1992 Long March by saying NS would believe nothing would happen to him.
Imran's demands will include re-elections. He has clearly stated that unless there are midterm elections, he will not leave Islamabad. Now, if he does leave without his main demand being met, it will set him back significantly.

I am in no way arguing what will and will not happen, what's realistic and what's not. May be nothing will happen and the march fails. I dont know. I am talking from Imran's political future perspective.

Not sure what you mean with your last statement regarding 1992 long march

Imran's demands will include re-elections. He has clearly stated that unless there are midterm elections, he will not leave Islamabad. Now, if he does leave without his main demand being met, it will set him back significantly.

I am in no way arguing what will and will not happen, what's realistic and what's not. May be nothing will happen and the march fails. I dont know. I am talking from Imran's political future perspective.

"Dipping further back into the pages of history, while Benazir Bhutto’s first long march in November 1992 failed to achieve her desired purpose, her second attempt reaped rewards as both Nawaz Sharif and the then President Ghulam Ishaq Khan were shown the door by Army Chief General Waheed Kakar."
http://www.thenews.com.pk/Todays-News-2-105893-A-political-tim..

OH ok now I understand. I was too young back then to know all that, but from what I have heard and read, NS's sacking had nothing to do with the long march. It was some kind of conspiracy by GIK. I may be wrong though.

It was cuz of the long March. When GIK sacked NS and dissolved the assembly, Supreme Court restored NS then. But when BB announced the long march again, army sent NS and president home.

IK has already said he will be giving NS a way out but will reveal what this is on the 14th. He's playing tactics now too. Not sure NS really has a real answer to all of this except hidden guarantees from whoever backs him that he will not be removed.

Yes I heard that during his interview with Talat. But right after that statement, he said that his demands of new elections, and punishing those involved in rigging will hold no matter what.

New elections can be after 3.5 or 4 years instead of 5 as Talat suggested today.

Shareef family's visa applications for USA according to Qadri.. with proofs.

<iframe frameborder="0" width="480" height="270" src="//www.dailymotion.com/embed/video/x230658" allowfullscreen></iframe><br /><a href="http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x230658_ck_news" target="_blank">ck</a> <i>by <a href="http://www.dailymotion.com/viewsnews" target="_blank">viewsnews</a></i>

Talat can suggest whatever he wants. He is full of negativity nowadays and doesnt even admit that the elections were rigged.

And about the video :91: You can see how shaken up the govt is. That's why I have hope that something very positively unexpected will happen InshaAllah

Govt will seal Islamabad from August 9. Noora showing their true colors every single day

<iframe width="640" height="390" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/dphgaABtNwo" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

That was a good good interview .To the point cut the B.S kind. This is why I like Talat .He doesn't get intimidated by personalities and asks tough questions .Haven't seen Imran pushed this hard intellectually before. Makes me think that IK isn't that sharp ,but at least he is honest . I'd rather have him govern than these other crooks . Do you have the 2nd part of the interview??

So you rather be ruled by a dumb guy who is honest than a smart guy who is not honest....interesting.

I'll post the 2nd part for you.

I was surprised. Talat turns out to be straight shooter. It is kind of rare to see journalism asking the right questions that concerns the nation.

That doesn't assure the nation at all.

So you rather be ruled by a dumb guy who is honest than a smart guy who is not honest....interesting.

I'll post the 2nd part for you.

Well he isn't dumb just not as sharp as I'd like my leader to be . The problem is that we don't really have any other alternatives that are honest .What Pakistan needs right now is an honest leader who can GOVERN with sincerity and honesty . IK seems to be the only option that our nation can agree upon . Preferably I'd like someone with Zardari's shrewdness and IK's honesty to be our leader but that's not gonna happen.Besides, his job would be to delegate .If he can do that on merit then he doesn't need to be that smart .Its not like he will be making our foreign policy ,that comes from GHQ.

Part II

<iframe frameborder="0" width="480" height="270" src="//www.dailymotion.com/embed/video/x22x9zj" allowfullscreen></iframe><br /><a href="http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x22x9zj_livewithtalat6aug2014_news" target="_blank">LiveWithTalat6Aug2014</a> <i>by <a href="http://www.dailymotion.com/awaztoday-tv" target="_blank">awaztoday-tv</a></i>

Part II

<iframe frameborder="0" width="480" height="270" src="//www.dailymotion.com/embed/video/x22x9zj" allowfullscreen></iframe><br /><a href="http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x22x9zj_livewithtalat6aug2014_news" target="_blank">LiveWithTalat6Aug2014</a> <i>by <a href="http://www.dailymotion.com/awaztoday-tv" target="_blank">awaztoday-tv</a></i>

Gracias.

I was surprised. Talat turns out to be straight shooter. It is kind of rare to see journalism asking the right questions that concerns the nation.

That doesn't assure the nation at all.

Talat has been a straight shooter at PTI for quiet some time now, Same is the case with Saleem Safi.

Azadi march is IK's political graveyard. There's, literally, zero interest amongst people, PTI workers and supporters for this ill-advised move. This is actually the first time I've seen so many people opposing PTI's stance on some matter.

PTI thought they could get away with it and cancel the planned march after their demands are met but PML(N) were shrewd enough not to fall for their bluff. Some overreaction by the govt. aside, this feels like deja vu. TuQ's container march against the PPP regime and I'm predicting this to end up the same way.

Their allies aren't siding with them so PTI is now resorting to cuddle up to TuQ to garner support and provide some extra legitimacy to their procession. Lack of support, immense humidity and monsoon rains that just started a few days back, the Azadi March is already on its way down.

TuQ is already their pet but our agencies have done well to penetrate into PTI. This political blunder will set IK and the PTI a fair few paces back. I just hope they don't end up as Asghar Khan's Tehreek-e-Istiqlal.

Azadi march is IK's political graveyard. There's, literally, zero interest amongst people, PTI workers and supporters for this ill-advised move. This is actually the first time I've seen so many people opposing PTI's stance on some matter.

PTI thought they could get away with it and cancel the planned march after their demands are met but PML(N) were shrewd enough not to fall for their bluff. Some overreaction by the govt. aside, this feels like deja vu. TuQ's container march against the PPP regime and I'm predicting this to end up the same way.

Their allies aren't siding with them so PTI is now resorting to cuddle up to TuQ to garner support and provide some extra legitimacy to their procession. Lack of support, immense humidity and monsoon rains that just started a few days back, the Azadi March is already on its way down.

TuQ is already their pet but our agencies have done well to penetrate into PTI. This political blunder will set IK and the PTI a fair few paces back. I just hope they don't end up as Asghar Khan's Tehreek-e-Istiqlal.

Bro what other options PTI had that would have gotten justice in our corrupt system?
People are behind IK, that is why in scorching heat so many people turn up in bahwalpur jalsa.
PML-N is digging a hole for themselves by not taking serious initiatives to reform electoral system.
Any one who think that even if IK will come to islamabad and will not gain anything out of it are not gauging the matters well.
The judges were restored because of long march because it will be very difficult for government to sustain the pressure that will build up after long march will start , specially the live media coverage.
The PML-N is no way PPP aka Zardari. and IK is not way TUQ either.
About getting allies it was obvious from day 1 that status quo parties will never support IK because they win elections based on rigging.
The only worry is that IK has put the stakes too high like mid term elections and it will be interesting to see which plans PTI have to achieve that goal.

The solution to the mess in our country.

Believe in a hero.

Do nothing.

Believe in fantasies.

Leaders do not bring changes.

People do.

A nation which is morally and ethically corrupt will turn over a new leaf when a hero arrives.

Might as well wish for horses and carriages to start flying like Cinderella.

Forget Cinderella.

People love to dream.

I can't fault them.

Disney believes in heroes.

Why shouldn't we?

Bro what other options PTI had that would have gotten justice in our corrupt system?
People are behind IK, that is why in scorching heat so many people turn up in bahwalpur jalsa.
PML-N is digging a hole for themselves by not taking serious initiatives to reform electoral system.
Any one who think that even if IK will come to islamabad and will not gain anything out of it are not gauging the matters well.
The judges were restored because of long march because it will be very difficult for government to sustain the pressure that will build up after long march will start , specially the live media coverage.
The PML-N is no way PPP aka Zardari. and IK is not way TUQ either.
About getting allies it was obvious from day 1 that status quo parties will never support IK because they win elections based on rigging.
The only worry is that IK has put the stakes too high like mid term elections and it will be interesting to see which plans PTI have to achieve that goal.
Ok let's admit IK isn't TuQ and he will stage a sit-in till his demands are met. What will ensure that demands are met? An ECP cleanup won't be achieved with an executive order. The only option would be to disperse with promises of reform from the govt. In effect, it would only be similar to the pacifier that Zardari put in TuQ's mouth.

Now let's assume IK stages a sit-in till Nawaz Sharif resigns. Who will replace him? Which status-quo party will support mid-term elections while they're comfortably sitting within parliament right now? Who will conduct mid-term polls? Who will ensure we don't see a repeat of the 35 punctures and a Chief ECP as worthless as Fakhruddin G Ebrahim? Can fool-proof electronic voting be implemented on such short notice?

Like I mentioned before unlike TuQ, IK may not be on the Agencies pay roll but, oblivious to him, they're definitely pulling his strings. PML(N) has to play its cards right to nullify this march to the effect of TuQ's container dharna. Or over-react and replay the Model Town massacre and force the Army to come in.

With the Army back in, our political system would go back to square one. The present Military has its own vested interests and they would never allow free and fair elections to be held and a government formed that is independent in decision making. God forbidden if such a scenario happens, Baby Bhutto will strike a deal and become the next PM.

History is testimony to the fact that little good is achieved by agitation. Pakistan came into being thanks to some shrewd political moves. In contrast, the Khilafat Movement failed because it was held aloft by protesters and agitators.

Good show on the tsunami march.

<iframe frameborder="0" width="480" height="270" src="//www.dailymotion.com/embed/video/x23036t" allowfullscreen></iframe><br /><a href="http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x23036t_off-the-record-7th-august-2014_news" target="_blank">Off The Record - 7th August 2014</a> <i>by <a href="http://www.dailymotion.com/awaztoday-tv" target="_blank">awaztoday-tv</a></i>

Ok let's admit IK isn't TuQ and he will stage a sit-in till his demands are met. What will ensure that demands are met? An ECP cleanup won't be achieved with an executive order. The only option would be to disperse with promises of reform from the govt. In effect, it would only be similar to the pacifier that Zardari put in TuQ's mouth.

Now let's assume IK stages a sit-in till Nawaz Sharif resigns. Who will replace him? Which status-quo party will support mid-term elections while they're comfortably sitting within parliament right now? Who will conduct mid-term polls? Who will ensure we don't see a repeat of the 35 punctures and a Chief ECP as worthless as Fakhruddin G Ebrahim? Can fool-proof electronic voting be implemented on such short notice?

Like I mentioned before unlike TuQ, IK may not be on the Agencies pay roll but, oblivious to him, they're definitely pulling his strings. PML(N) has to play its cards right to nullify this march to the effect of TuQ's container dharna. Or over-react and replay the Model Town massacre and force the Army to come in.

With the Army back in, our political system would go back to square one. The present Military has its own vested interests and they would never allow free and fair elections to be held and a government formed that is independent in decision making. God forbidden if such a scenario happens, Baby Bhutto will strike a deal and become the next PM.

History is testimony to the fact that little good is achieved by agitation. Pakistan came into being thanks to some shrewd political moves. In contrast, the Khilafat Movement failed because it was held aloft by protesters and agitators.

I think demands for ECP re-forms will be accepted by government
But the main concern is mid-term election demand,that is where PTI and PML-N will have to find middle ground.
Talat yesterday mentioned that maybe government will offer general elections after 4 years.
Army take over possibility is v.less under current political situation.
There was no solution other than agitation if courts, sitting government,Election commission are not interested in making a transparent election system.
If PTI accept to keep silent than we will have same fate of rigged elections even after 4 years.

Before people accuse talat of being anti pti, they should remember that he played a huge part in getting javed hashmi elected in islamabad and then asad umar in the by election.

People expect too much from political moves. IK and PTI is rightly doing pressure politics and one should not expect that the system will be pulled up side down with a 'march'. Election reform and the march can be considered successful. In anycase pressure politics will continue. Midterm election is not what PTI would like to have without having reformed ECP and other institutes.

Talat seems to be ****** off PTI in recent months for whatever reason. Even if is invited as a guest he seems to show his dis-likeness if IK/PTI instead of doing neutral analysis.

Talat made a very good point about maximalist and minimalist positions. I think IK has taken a big stand by asking the government to resign and according to some anchors he wants the provincial governments to resign as well. There is no way the other political parties will support him on that and eventually he might have to compromise on some of his grand demands.

Also as a potential deal-breaker some anchors are suggesting that IK could be made the chairman of the Parliamentary committee on electoral reforms so that he can brings the reforms which he feels are necessary to further promote democracy. Also having the elections after a four year period could also be pursued as a viable objective.

Yesterday's Kamran Shahid and Mehr Bukhari programs were also very good.

Talat seems to be ****** off PTI in recent months for whatever reason. Even if is invited as a guest he seems to show his dis-likeness if IK/PTI instead of doing neutral analysis.
Talat is blunt in his analysis. Nobody minds when he's ripping apart PML(N) and the PPP, do they? He is the only current affairs anchor I listen to.

I didn't questions his bluntness and I don't argue about his style of interviewing (although on many questions he was unnecessary trying to irritate IK when even a child understand the scenario).

What I was commenting on was his snide remarks on other TV shows and twitter giving the impression that he is really angry about IK or PTI. Look at the program of Kashif Abbasi, even when it was not his turn, he was adding snide remarks to comments from other participants as if he thinks PTI/IK is going to fail (seems his wish). This is not a trademark of neutral or professional journalist.

Also if you have observe, he was not neutral about Gullu butt saga in Lahore. He was bashing all out TUQ and his party but no words about noon or punjab gov if they did wrong.

A lot of these analysts and anchors like Talat, Shahzaib say the following:

- In politics you dont take extreme positions
- In politics you should leave room to back off
- In politics you dont have enemies or friends

In politics this in politics that. People are trying to get rid of a fake cheat govt to save the country. And these guys are worried about what happens in politics. Their entire analysis is based on the fact that Imran isnt doing good politics. I dont care about that. He has taken a stand which correct. Bhaar mei jai politics

Lol, war is politics through other means. In PTI parlance, dharna is politics through other means. He is racheting it up and will be looking to strengthen his negotiating position. Talats analysis was entirely sound and as far as I can tell relatively neutral. WHat is the end game? what is IK's objective? has he wargamed the scenario? best case worst case etc? This is a very high risk strategy and IK is not TUQ who is not taken seriously. He can ill afford to make a mistake here. Unless he has something up his sleeve. I suspect he has because if he doesn't the Nawaz clan will use this to denigrate and destroy him in the media.

In politics this in politics that. People are trying to get rid of a fake cheat govt to save the country. And these guys are worried about what happens in politics. Their entire analysis is based on the fact that Imran isnt doing good politics. I dont care about that. He has taken a stand which correct. Bhaar mei jai politics

I personally think this 'Nawaz Sharif should resign' drama is just mere soundbites. I feel his demands are a bit excessive (even though I am a PTI supporter) given the time and situation the country is facing as there is no proof that any other government would do a better job in the remaining period.

I think anything less than consensus and action on electoral reform will be a big failure, there was no magnetic ink used as mentioned in the post and according to news anchors the recounting of whole election will take years given the lethargic judicial process in our courts.

In my opinion IK's timing is off this instance, he should have done this after the Hamid Mir incident when the government was politically isolated from every corner and the army had severe reservations about them. In this instance, IK himself is the one isolated and NS has managed to strengthen his party's relationship with the armed forces as well as his political opponents.

Azadi march preparation :P

<iframe frameborder="0" width="480" height="270" src="//www.dailymotion.com/embed/video/x232p2f" allowfullscreen></iframe><br /><a href="http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x232p2f_imran-khan-working-out-in-morning_news" target="_blank"></a> <i><a href="http://www.dailymotion.com/pakcriki" target="_blank"></a></i>​

The show has begun with the clash between PAT workers and Police in Lahore.

As Punjab govt tries to put TUQ under house arrest.

Punjab Chief Minister Shahbaz Sharif has issued orders to the police to arrest Pakistan Awami Tehreek (PAT) chief Dr Tahirul Qadri, sources in the Punjab administration told DawnNews on Friday.

The orders were issued as PAT workers armed with clubs clashed with policemen in Lahore Model Town, with reports of several people being injured.

Sources added that the government has also recommended to the federal government that Qadri’s name should be put in the Exit Control List (ECL).

PAT leader Rahiq Abbasi told DawnNews that workers will not allow any attempt to put Dr Qadri under house arrest.

He added that the entire nation was watching through the media the atrocities being carried out by the Punjab police against the party workers.

Abbasi vowed to turn every street and neighbourhood in Lahore into “a war zone” if the PAT chief is arrested.

Speaking to the media, Punjab Law Minister Rana Mashood alleged that the PAT was conspiring to disrupt the ongoing military offensive, Operation Zarb-i-Azb in North Waziristan Agency. He said that Tahirul Qadri and his supporters had planned to attack seven districts in Punjab.

The PML-N leader said that law enforcement forces will not allow the ‘mob’ of Tahirul Qadri to disturb peace in the country.

Mashood said there was no place in Pakistan for those who do not abide by the law and the Constitution.

Meanwhile, the situation turned tense in Lahore’s Model Town where a large number of PAT workers broke through a police cordon blocking main entrances leading to the secretariat of Qadri's Minhajul Quran.

Television footage showed PAT workers armed with clubs chasing policemen stationed around the Model Town area. The youth wings of the PAT and the Tehreek Minhajul Quran armed with clubs were roaming the streets around the secretariat.

DIG operations Lahore Haider Ashraf said that the barricades will not be removed at any cost, and that an additional contingent of law enforcement personnel has been called in to quell the situation.

Lahore police has been carrying out an extensive crackdown on PAT office-bearers and activists with hundreds of detentions, and has blocked all entrances to Model Town to bar PAT workers from reaching the secretariat.

Qadri has announced that they will hold a ‘Martyrs’ Day’ on Aug 10 in protest of the killings of PAT workers in violent clashes in Model Town in June.

The cleric-turned-political activist has vowed to topple and jail government ministers by the end of the month.

Speaking to reporters earlier today, Qadri said the Punjab government was resorting to ‘state-terrorism’ in their crackdown against activists and supporters trying to reach his Model Town Residence.

The PAT chief claimed the government was carrying out mass-detentions of PAT workers and had blockaded all roads to his residence, turning the situation in Model Town similar to that in Gaza.

He said such tactics by the government will not stop ‘the revolution’.

http://www.dawn.com/news/1124133/orders-issued-for-qadris-arrest-sources

Totally agree, First thing they are trying to avoid that how to get justice from different pillars of government which are trying to manipulate matters and are using loop holes in laws including ECP etc.
Most Anchors are trying to focus that what PTI is doing is un constitutional but they have no solution what so ever that how to sort out this system and bring in place a transparent electoral system.
Javed Ch, is v.annoying as always he just say " IK ki siasat khatam ho jaye gi agar unhon ne ...." when Qadri did dharna last time in islamabad the same javed Ch. said if IK will not join Qadri than his siasat will get dafan.
but these anchors have no shame what so ever when they are proven wrong

I personally think this 'Nawaz Sharif should resign' drama is just mere soundbites. I feel his demands are a bit excessive (even though I am a PTI supporter) given the time and situation the country is facing as there is no proof that any other government would do a better job in the remaining period.

I think anything less than consensus and action on electoral reform will be a big failure, there was no magnetic ink used as mentioned in the post and according to news anchors the recounting of whole election will take years given the lethargic judicial process in our courts.

In my opinion IK's timing is off this instance, he should have done this after the Hamid Mir incident when the government was politically isolated from every corner and the army had severe reservations about them. In this instance, IK himself is the one isolated and NS has managed to strengthen his party's relationship with the armed forces as well as his political opponents.
We are so used to incompetent govts that we dont even realize a govt can actually do a much better job that this one. They have taken more loans in one year than PPP did in 5 years. If no govt can do better than this, then we better sell Pakistan to the highest bidder.

As for timings, I dont remember the last time I didnt hear the statement "country is in trouble, this isnt the time shake the govt." I have grown up hearing this and I am still hearing it. Imran has taken a year to build his case and now he must strike the final blow.

As for timings, PTI should have come out on the streets right after the elections. They should not have accepted the results in the first place. But better late than never

Totally agree, First thing they are trying to avoid that how to get justice from different pillars of government which are trying to manipulate matters and are using loop holes in laws including ECP etc.
Most Anchors are trying to focus that what PTI is doing is un constitutional but they have no solution what so ever that how to sort out this system and bring in place a transparent electoral system.
Javed Ch, is v.annoying as always he just say " IK ki siasat khatam ho jaye gi agar unhon ne ...." when Qadri did dharna last time in islamabad the same javed Ch. said if IK will not join Qadri than his siasat will get dafan.
but these anchors have no shame what so ever when they are proven wrong

They are just anchors. I just listen to them sometimes and thats it. They can analyze all they want. They have never been out on the streets, they dont know how upset the people are. These same anchors were claiming that PMLN will win Lahore. Yet, they had to rig the elections to win Lahore. So I take their analysis with a pinch of salt.

The show has begun with the clash between PAT workers and Police in Lahore.

As Punjab govt tries to put TUQ under house arrest.

http://www.dawn.com/news/1124133/orders-issued-for-qadris-arrest-sources

This was expected. Qadri is a soft target. Imran and PTI is the big fish here. Qadri has been piggybacking on PTI's jalsas and protest calls. Qadri has some mureeds and besides them no one cares about this drama.

What this will do though, is create more panic and chaos. Govt cant afford much of that before 14th of August.

This was expected. Qadri is a soft target. Imran and PTI is the big fish here. Qadri has been piggybacking on PTI's jalsas and protest calls. Qadri has some mureeds and besides them no one cares about this drama.

What this will do though, is create more panic and chaos. Govt cant afford much of that before 14th of August.

Are you going ? . what about people you know ? .

How are conditions worse than under PPP's government. IK should push for electoral reforms right now and aim for 2018. He'll have a good chance of winning since many people are unlikely to vote for the same party twice.

Are you going ? . what about people you know ? .
I went to some PTI gatherings earlier. Unfortunately this time I wont be able to go coz I cant take time off work. Yes, I know quite a few people who are going. And some of them are burger mummy daddy people who were never into politics. That's why I said that IK and PTI is the big fish here. Common people back Imran, whereas Qadri just has mureeds.

Honestly Imran has won half the battle already. The govt is so shaken up it's amazing. Lahore is blocked, people are being forced to stay in. Petrol stations are being forcefully closed down. In Lahore and Islamabad, motorcycles are being locked up coz Imran said I will have 100,000 motorcyclists with me.

How are conditions worse than under PPP's government. IK should push for electoral reforms right now and aim for 2018. He'll have a good chance of winning since many people are unlikely to vote for the same party twice.

This govt used to rip into PPP for taking excessive loans. Yet, they have taken more loans than PPP. Load shedding is breaking all records.

IK should push for reforms and midterm elections. This govt will agree to anything right now coz Imran has the momentum with him. But they will backtrack later. Nawaz is a liar, he will backtrack later. Cant let this stay and cant trust them

Looks like the March will not even be allowed to enter Islamabad. Section 144 imposed by the federal govt.

Under this section, the administration has prohibited "all kinds of gatherings of five or more persons, processions/rallies and demonstrations at any public place".

The city administration has also prohibited the carrying of firearms by ordinary citizens, the use of loudspeakers and sound amplifiers (except for call for prayers and sermons for Friday prayers), the stock, sale, purchase and use of fire crackers and the distribution of hand-bills, pamphlets, affixing of posters and wall-chalking.

The govt. has already invoked Article 245 of the Constitution and gave the military responsibility for securing the capital amid the spectre of a political showdown.

The army is however not bound to act in aid of the Islamabad police in the enforcement of this section unless Chief Commissioner Islamabad orders them to do so.

http://www.dawn.com/news/1124120/will-the-pti-defy-section-144

Looks like the March will not even be allowed to enter Islamabad. Section 144 imposed by the federal govt.

Under this section, the administration has prohibited "all kinds of gatherings of five or more persons, processions/rallies and demonstrations at any public place".

The city administration has also prohibited the carrying of firearms by ordinary citizens, the use of loudspeakers and sound amplifiers (except for call for prayers and sermons for Friday prayers), the stock, sale, purchase and use of fire crackers and the distribution of hand-bills, pamphlets, affixing of posters and wall-chalking.

The govt. has already invoked Article 245 of the Constitution and gave the military responsibility for securing the capital amid the spectre of a political showdown.

The army is however not bound to act in aid of the Islamabad police in the enforcement of this section unless Chief Commissioner Islamabad orders them to do so.

http://www.dawn.com/news/1124120/will-the-pti-defy-section-144

Ok, that overreaction . Proves that NS ain't no zaradari for sure.

Unless the government is toppled or there are midterm elections this march will be a failure.

Neither of that will happen .I'd be happy if we can get a rigging free election system out of it. It will be a big win for common people of Pakistan if we can get a rigging proof election .

IK has just said on ARY that Mid term elections will happen in winter this year.

What joke of a party is Jamaat-e-Islaami ? Can't they do something practical other than raising slogans of Muslim Ummah, denigrating the west?

One day their emir speaks against the corrupt elite and the next day he tries to meditate between Nawaz and Imran to save the system.
Meanwhile while meditating also says that they will decide about participating in long march after 10th?

At one hand they criticize the operation and at another call TTP agents of India/USA?

It is just mind boggling to understand the thought process of their leadership.

What joke of a party is Jamaat-e-Islaami ? Can't they do something practical other than raising slogans of Muslim Ummah, denigrating the west?

One day their emir speaks against the corrupt elite and the next day he tries to meditate between Nawaz and Imran to save the system.
Meanwhile while meditating also says that they will decide about participating in long march after 10th?

At one hand they criticize the operation and at another call TTP agents of India/USA?

It is just mind boggling to understand the thought process of their leadership.

I'm not a JI fan, but has it occurred to you that it might be that the operation does not equate elimination of Taliban? I mean that might be their point of view.

IK has just said on ARY that Mid term elections will happen in winter this year.

even if gov. falls, there is no chance elections will take place this year in such chaos and so quickly.

most possible outcome will be a caretaker setup agreed by PTI, PAT, MQM and other smaller parties with elections 2 years after