Punjab Governer Salman Taseer Killed

He would be responsible for it himself only if he was a murderer.

Otherwise, no one deserves to die or to be killed and thus every unjust death is a 'wrong'.

That would be my stance too if I was also looking at this incident in isolation. But I can't do it no matter how much I try. I hold him and politicians like him responsible for the lawlessness. And it was this same lawlessness that has resulted in his death. There is absolutely no justification in killing someone like this, but you can't help thinking it's a case of digging someone else's grave and falling in it yourself.

It's all about personal perception, meray bhai. I respect your sentiment, but these political deaths don't sway me in the least. I wasn't much perturbed when Benazir dropped dead either. I didn't forget how corrupt she had been just because they kept showing re-runs of her assassination on TV. The only thing I worry about is the following added lawlessness after such assassinations in which innocent people die. And it's all a cycle because these same politicians don't bother setting the country right in the first place.

Mate in a decent society, no I would not advocate this, but Pakistan is NOT a decent society in any way shape or form.

We have been better than them until now havent we? Where has that gotten us...us moderates have been silently sitting in our houses doing nothing and look where that has got us.

Capital punishment is not good enough...because these extremists their aim is to in fact die...capital punishment is what they want, which is why advocate keeping them alive and making them suffer through it...make an example of them and if capital punishment is to be carried out then do it publicly.

Keep in mind this is IF and only IF this guy i proven beyond ALL doubt that he did indeed carry out this crime.
It may not be a decent society now, but it will never become a decent society if we start advocating torture as a form of punishment.

to be honest, I didnt like the guy at all espeially his puthi soCh for Islam.

jo bhi hota he aChay ke liyye hota he.

ye duniya do din ka ashiyana he, koi tamasha nahi he
aik din tau sab ne jana zaroor he

Mate in a decent society, no I would not advocate this, but Pakistan is NOT a decent society in any way shape or form.

We have been better than them until now havent we? Where has that gotten us...us moderates have been silently sitting in our houses doing nothing and look where that has got us.

Capital punishment is not good enough...because these extremists their aim is to in fact die...capital punishment is what they want, which is why advocate keeping them alive and making them suffer through it...make an example of them and if capital punishment is to be carried out then do it publicly.

Keep in mind this is IF and only IF this guy i proven beyond ALL doubt that he did indeed carry out this crime.

Agree!! During the apostate wars when some tribes of Arabia left Islam and they burned some Muslims alive. Abu Bakr (ra) ordered those that burned other alives to be burned alive themselves. Thats what we should do with this kind of menace. i.e those that terrorise should be terrorised themselves

Inna lillaahi wa inna ilaihi rajioon

But
Please at least dont call him Shaheed.

Sometimes you feel that some people are just not worthy of democracy.

What democracy got to do with some one getting the opportunity and killing another person? You think under Martial Law the very same person would not have been able to kill governor or someone?

so why do you advocate secular democracy if you're going to go off the bend so quickly.

So youre telling me you never say anything in anger AZ?

A guy was shot 9 times for his views...am i not allowed to say something out of anger without it being termed as "bending"

Is my every word to be analysed or what...because i can return the compliment mate.

We all say things in anger particularly when something so extreme has just happened in our country.

What democracy got to do with some one getting the opportunity and killing another person? You think under Martial Law the very same person would not have been able to kill governor or someone?

Im a big opponent of Martial law that wasnt my point. In a functioning democracy Murder etc is not the way to channel grievances.

Please open your eyes.. Pakistan is not going down. It is being cleard of some dirts its good the corrupt gov is in mess.

what dirt???

every gov is corrupt but that doesn't mean you need to kill them to get rid of them

A guy was shot 9 times for his views...am i not allowed to say something out of anger without it being termed as "bending"

Is my every word to be analysed or what...because i can return the compliment mate.

We all say things in anger particularly when something so extreme has just happened in our country.

you're always going to be called out if you state something that is a complete opposite of what you usually propagate.

That would be my stance too if I was also looking at this incident in isolation. But I can't do it no matter how much I try. I hold him and politicians like him responsible for the lawlessness. And it was this same lawlessness that has resulted in his death. There is absolutely no justification in killing someone like this, but you can't help thinking it's a case of digging someone else's grave and falling in it yourself
That's an interesting and even thought-provoking perspective. To be honest, I hadn't considered it that way - on reflection, its not entirely without merit.

But still - whilst its true in general, in specific, did Mr. Taseer deserve to die? Did his children deserve to lose their father? Did his wife deserve to lose her husband? No, no and no. And hence it would be only human to feel a tinge of sadness at the loss and the waste, at least as an initial reaction - and then to rationalise it in the way that you have outlined.
It's all about personal perception, meray bhai. I respect your sentiment, but these political deaths don't sway me in the least. I wasn't much perturbed when Benazir dropped dead either. I didn't forget how corrupt she had been just because they kept showing re-runs of her assassination on TV.
Fair enough, no one is saying that just because a politician is killed brutally, they become a saint - they don't. Hence, I don't mourn any of these deaths, but its only natural to empathise.

what dirt???

every gov is corrupt but that doesn't mean you need to kill them to get rid of them

tay aur ki haar pehnayye un ko.

there are only two way, one favours them(politiCians), they keep reCyCling and one whiCh is to dimenish them forever.

you're always going to be called out if you state something that is a complete opposite of what you usually propagate.

Hence why it is called saying something in anger, i'll point it out the next time i see you do it mate.

Salman Taseer was a highly unpopular figure (amongst all circles) as it is. His death won't have even 5% of the effect Benazir's murder had on the country

Still a human being getting killed is a sad affair :(

Really Sick.. I went on some other Forums and Pages on Facebook and they are Celebrating his Death. Really Sick.

I fear such behaviour will give rise to Islamophobia even in countries like Pakistan.

I absolutely agree, they need to be publicly executed in fact, yes i know thats somehwat barbaric, but if convicted and proved guilty they need to be made an example of.

What's the difference between us and them, then?

I never believe what this Rehman Malik says. I think Taseer is not killed for Blasphemy law, it is a political murder and an inside job.

Could be. the government was in trouble recently, what with their ittehaadi's walking out. Could be a way to garner public support, a la Benazir. Or maybe not. We can't dicount anything.

Inaa lilahi wa ina ilayhi raajioon.

Totally speechless! I've never been a fan of him, but again, I was never a fan of Benazir Bhutto either - both got killed in similar ways.

One thing is for sure - for the Blasphemy Aasia case, I wanted unbiased investigation to prove what really happened. Whether the Christian lady was guilty or not would be decided in accordance to whatever the investigations turn up. But God knows how rare a feat that is in this country. Just because we're Pakistanis and Muslims, does not give us a right to persecute anyone of another religion without any proof. We need to sort out the mess our minority is in. And balance out the blasphemy laws, apply a better type of standard of proof. Minorities should not be out-cast, we were once a minority too.

Noor bibi talking sense.

Hence why it is called saying something in anger, i'll point it out the next time i see you do it mate.

that sounds fair :misbah

Salman Taseer was a highly unpopular figure (amongst all circles) as it is. His death won't have even 5% of the effect Benazir's murder had on the country

Still a human being getting killed is a sad affair :(

yep, and especially the fundamentalist angle of it makes it even worse.

That's an interesting and even thought-provoking perspective. To be honest, I hadn't considered it that way - on reflection, its not entirely without merit.

But still - whilst its true in general, in specific, did Mr. Taseer deserve to die? Did his children deserve to lose their father? Did his wife deserve to lose her husband? No, no and no. And hence it would be only human to feel a tinge of sadness at the loss and the waste, at least as an initial reaction - and then to rationalise it in the way that you have outlined..

Definitely.

Fair enough, no one is saying that just because a politician is killed brutally, they become a saint - they don't. Hence, I don't mourn any of these deaths, but its only natural to empathise

Agreed.

They need to be shown what the consequences of such acts are dont you think though?

Definitely. And that's why I support speedy justice in this case. He should be convicted by court and hanged. But we don't need to make it public. That would just be barbaric and we already have enough of that in our society, don't we? No need to advertise it further, I think.

I think that just the news that the murdered had to pay for his crime would be enough to deter many of such future psycho cases from attemtpting something similar. I mean, how many political assassinations have been punished in our country? None, I think. So let's start with this one and break the trend.

yep, and especially the fundamentalist angle of it makes it even worse.

It does yes. But people start bashing all Mullahs for the current situation in Pakistan when these same so-called Mullahs are getting killed in Mosques as well

The conspiracists aren't Muslim. Period. They'll kill ANYONE who speaks out against them

Definitely. And that's why I support speedy justice in this case. He should be convicted by court and hanged. But we don't need to make it public. That would just be barbaric and we already have enough of that in our society, don't we? No need to advertise it further, I think.
Indeed. Not only would cruelty by the State be immoral and unjustifiable, it would also be counter-productive. Cruelty and barbarity by the State would lead to a fresh and ever-escalating cycle of violence, and the results won't be to the liking of many,

WIKIPEDIA is quick!!!

Salmaan Taseer
26th Governor of Punjab
In office
15 May 2008 – 4 January 2011

e died on January 4, 2011 in Islamabad when he was shot in the chest and on neck by his own security guard and succumbed to his wounds..[

I think that just the news that the murdered had to pay for his crime would be enough to deter many of such future psycho cases from attemtpting something similar. I mean, how many political assassinations have been punished in our country? None, I think. So let's start with this one and break the trend.

I agree and its not something that im usually ever i favour of, but MJ we have done normal justice for a very long time and it doesnt deter these people...so we have to find something that does deter them.

What do you think?

and yes of course the process of proving his guilt beyond doubt must be done first.

Poor guy probably issued one of the only few decent statements and got killed forthat.

Jahil PPP activists startto burn shops, buses etc. These JAHIL ***** ***** have noidea what they are doing, if they are angry, they should burn the person who issued fatwa to kill Taseer because he called blasphemy law "**** Qanoon".

He wasn't the brightest leader around but ifeel sos ad for this, all political parties should get together and take action against extremists.

Malik Mumtaz Qadri, who was later also killed by the police and Taseer's bodyguards. Taseer succumbed to his injuries in the local hospital. Qadri said he killed Taseer because of the latter's vocal opposition to the " [Law]", a controversial law that punishes anyone convicted of insulting Islam, to death. The law is often misused to discriminate against non-Muslims

I am Going Mad now.... PPP ppls has started burning Tires and are on Strike...

Can't we have some Peace for some time

He wasn't the brightest leader around

Au contraire. He was actually quite intelligent, smart and very well-educated. Also, when not completely inebriated, very witty and even eloquent in Punjabi.

I agree. Emotional comments shouldnt be taken seriously

So now even the Elite Police force cannot be trusted in Pakistan

This is very very sad...

I agree and its not something that im usually ever i favour of, but MJ we have done normal justice for a very long time and it doesnt deter these people...so we have to find something that does deter them.

What do you think?

and yes of course the process of proving his guilt beyond doubt must be done first.

Yahi to baat hai yaar, we have never done normal justice. What we've done to date is selective justice. And that is always counter productive, because people realize they wont get justice and therefore take matters in their own hands. Once we start a culture of normal equal justice, majority of these ills will disappear automatically. This is not just heresay. We have many societies in the developed world as a testimony to this.

Very similar to the assasination of Indira Ghandi if I'm not mistaken. Would anyone kindly tell me what act of blasphemy did he commit, I'm sorry but I'm unaware of the matter.

Yahi to baat hai yaar, we have never done normal justice. What we've done to date is selective justice. And that is always counter productive, because people realize they wont get justice and therefore take matters in their own hands. Once we start a culture of normal equal justice, majority of these ills will disappear automatically. This is not just heresay. We have many societies in the developed world as a testimony to this.

well said

Au contraire. He was actually quite intelligent, smart and very well-educated. Also, when not completely inebriated, very witty and even eloquent in Punjabi.

Shaukat Aziz is also bright, how many times do you praise him???
What i meant is that some of his statements were quite idiotic and got into menaingless arguments with Punjab government.

His last tweet.

SalmaanTaseer Salmaan Taseer
Prezdnt Zardaris total support of PM has once again silenced rumours of split in PPP top leadership. Govt is here till 2013
8 hours ago Favorite Retweet Reply

Well whatever his politics was, if such a high profiled politician is killed in this day and age, then it does not reflect greatly on the country.

My thinking: He was killed for political motives.... this ensures that the governor seat of punjab is now available for a PML-N candidate... and this is what you will see happening... a PML-N candidate will fill this seat. Punjab with PML-N Cheif Minister and now PML-N Governor... PPP stays in power because Nawaz Sharif will support the government which is now in minority without MQM

ARY is actually showing his body...do we have no standards in reporting? Surely this should not be allowed...

Shaukat Aziz is also bright, how many times do you praise him???
Sorry, not sure what the relevance of your question is?

How many times do I praise Mr. Aziz? Not infrequently, actually. Have met him in person and a few of my acquaintances know him very well - and yes, he is indeed very bright and very capable.

Very similar to the assasination of Indira Ghandi if I'm not mistaken. Would anyone kindly tell me what act of blasphemy did he commit, I'm sorry but I'm unaware of the matter.

from what little I know, he vowed to give clemency to the Christian lady who allegedly said stuff against the the Holy Prophet PBUH.

and he said the blasphemy law itself was a 'qaala kanoon.'

Punjab with PML-N Cheif Minister and now PML-N Governor.

That would mean a rout for the PPP in the Punjab in 2013, and thus reduced to a rump nationally. Hence, I doubt that would happen.

A Governor from PML-Q and a CM from the PPP is a more intriguing prospect.

One of the few bright, intelligent and articulate political leaders in Pakistan.

He stood defiantly against the tide of extremism and laid down his life for his principles. He will be missed...

May he rest in peace.

from what little I know, he vowed to give clemency to the Christian lady who allegedly said stuff against the the Holy Prophet PBUH.

Yep, that pretty much sums it, I think.

This is what he tweeted six weeks ago.

Mullah back lash attacking my stance demanding my resignation.Rakhte Dil bandh lo Dil fagaro chalo.Phir hamen qatl ho ayen Yaro chalo
22 Nov

One of the few bright, intelligent and articulate political leaders in Pakistan.

He stood defiantly against the tide of extremism and laid down his life for his principles. He will be missed...

May he rest in peace.

The people of Pakistan as a whole need to stand up against extremism, the majority if Pakistanis are not extremists, nor is the religion extreme...it is a very innocent religion and we need to stand up against these evil people who have twisted and subverted it.

This is what he tweeted six weeks ago.

Mullah back lash attacking my stance demanding my resignation.Rakhte Dil bandh lo Dil fagaro chalo.Phir hamen qatl ho ayen Yaro chalo
22 Nov

please clarify, sounds like :zoni

Sorry, not sure what the relevance of your question is?

How many times do I praise Mr. Aziz? Not infrequently, actually. Have met him in person and a few of my acquaintances know him very well - and yes, he is indeed very bright and very capable.

I didn't think your response was relevant either because the word "bright" isn't used for qualifications only. You could be highly qualified and still act like DUMB.

Anyway, useless discussion. Poor guy has lost his life and country is burning:(

The people of Pakistan as a whole need to stand up against extremism, the majority if Pakistanis are not extremists, nor is the religion extreme...it is a very innocent religion and we need to stand up against these evil people who have twisted and subverted it.
Root cause of extremism is musharraf and zardari war of terror so we must stand up against this madness

Im not going to bother replying to this apart from just simply saying I disagree, simple as that. You can debate that in another thread.

Thankyou AZ.

First thing first, he never did any gustakhi of Rasool (SAW). He just said that the blasphemy laws in pakistan are used for the persecution of minorties and should be changed.
Whatever people may say he was asset for pakistan. He was well educated person and he formed pakistan's second biggest chartered accountancy firm and also established kpmg middle east. Unlike other business man of pakistan who took money out of pakistan he formed his companies in pakistan and brought foreign investment in pakistan. We should see him as person not because of his political stances.

jhalat has taken over islam in pakistan, congratulation.

please clarify, sounds like :zoni

It's from Aaj Bazar Main by Faiz.

<object width="480" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/Ara199ZUiKQ?fs=1&hl=en_US"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/Ara199ZUiKQ?fs=1&hl=en_US" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="480" height="385"></embed></object>

Just a question, and if someone can answer it please answer it from the Islamic perspective, I am not interested in your own views:

To kill in the name of Islam, is it necessary that a fatwa is issued by a reliable Mufti or can anyone themselves interpret the actual statements according to their own judgement and go ahead and kill?

Im not going to bother replying to this apart from just simply saying I disagree, simple as that. You can debate that in another thread.

Then carry on trying to cure lung cancer with cough syrup. Cure the root cause not the symptom

First thing first, he never did any gustakhi of Rasool (SAW). He just said that the blasphemy laws in pakistan are used for the persecution of minorties and should be changed.
Whatever people may say he was asset for pakistan. He was well educated person and he formed pakistan's second biggest chartered accountancy firm and also established kpmg middle east. Unlike other business man of pakistan who took money out of pakistan he formed his companies in pakistan and brought foreign investment in pakistan. We should see him as person not because of his political stances.

we know, I don't think anybody thinks he was a Gustakh.

just some rubbish from fundamentalist types.

whatever I have ever heard from people, they say he was quite a corrupt fellow.

but that never got him killed, yet doing the right thing has.

whatever I have ever heard from people, they say he was quite a corrupt fellow.

but that never got him killed, yet doing the right thing has.

That sums up Pakistan right now for you doesnt it.

We are in such a huge mess right now as a people and as a society, that sometimes its hard to see what the way out is.

That sums up Pakistan right now for you doesnt it.

We are in such a huge mess right now as a people and as a society, that sometimes its hard to see what the way out is.
Imran Khan is the only way out. Come and join the revolution guyz