Question to meat eaters: Why do you do it?

Do any of you guys have kadu, tori, tinday etc :yk

Lol some Indians think we eat meat every day.

We often have vegetables though I am not a fan of desi vegetable Salans. Much rather have a salad.

What i've heard is most pakistani's if they can afford it, hardly have a pure vegetarian dish.
There is always some form of meat involved in the vegetable salan isn't it?

Indian diet is also different from pakistani's in the sense that we Indians do not mix our vegeterian dishes with our non-veg ones.
They are almost always separate.

Actually Pakistanis themselves mentioned that they eat meat everyday.

What i've heard is most pakistani's if they can afford it, hardly have a pure vegetarian dish.
There is always some form of meat involved in the vegetable salan isn't it?
Yea I guess.

Unless it's carrots aloo or palak paneer.

Tbh I can't imagine having to eat turai loki etc standalone and without chicken.

The problem with many hindu veggies who try to take a moral high ground is that they are vegetarians only because of the religion and culture they grew up in. There is no other reason why they do not eat meat. It certainly isn't moral reasoning or a result of some epiphany that they became vegetarians. It is conditioned into them due to religion and culture and then try to make it sound as if they are veggies due to reasons other than that like the OP most likely. There's very few Indians Hindus I know, and I know a lot, who are vegetarian but growing up they regularly had meat in their homes. Though I do know quite a lot who hide eating beef from their families.

I respect a lot of Western vegetarians who grew up in a culture where eating meat is very common and encouraged but in their teens or later they think it through and decide that they Will not have meat and be pure vegetarians. Sometimes their reasons are moral and sometime health but I respect them on being upfront about their reasoning unlike many Indians who are veggies because of religion and culture but try to make it a moral thing. This is plain hypocrisy. Also one shouldn't be ashamed to say that they do something due to religion. People will respect that.

Actually there are many Hindus who actually come from families where meat eating is perfectly acceptable but choose to become vegetarians anyway for ethical reasons etc and its rarely because of religion. My own parents are examples and there are countless more. It would be wrong to say that Hindus are vegetarians when around 65-70% are not vegetarian s at all.

Vegetarians really don't get how hard it is for non-vegetarians to survive without meat.
Just because you can survive on a vegetarian diet doesn't mean it is easy for us non-vegetarians to do that.
I eat chicken around 2-3 times a week.

So you are just surviving by eating chicken around 2-3 times a week? 2-3 times a week? If on an average you eat twice a day that means you eat 14-15 times per week out of that you only eat chicken around 2-3 times. Great surviving skills bhai. :murali

What I meant is we crave for meat, eating it in 2-3 meals a week satisfies that craving.
As for as surviving goes you can even survive on fruits and nuts but that's another point :)

What I meant is we crave for meat, eating it in 2-3 meals a week satisfies that craving.
As for as surviving goes you can even survive on fruits and nuts but that's another point :)

I wouldn't have quoted your post if you have said you crave for meat because then it makes sense to eat it 2-3 times a week. But you said non-vegetarians like you can't survive without meat which is actually false in your case because you are surviving by eating vegetables.
:kakmal

I wouldn't have quoted your post if you have said you crave for meat because then it makes sense to eat it 2-3 times a week. But you said non-vegetarians like you can't survive without meat which is actually false in your case because you are surviving by eating vegetables. : kakmal

Sorry bhaiya galti hogayi maaf kardo :kakmal

Domestic Animals can't survive without humans needing them. They will be either hunted or caged.

For sack of their survival, they need to be eaten.

FOOLS WHO WRANGLE OVER FLESH

Sikh Guru Nanak Dev Ji tackled this entire issue head on and rubbished the claims of so called spiritual people who thought themselves more pious and religious simply because they did not eat meat.

Guru Nanak Dev Ji saw life at all levels. He saw it at the molecular level and did not differentiate between plant, animal, or mineral. The only form of life he saw as different was human life (read the 84 million incarnations bit).

If we eat vegetable we would have to go out plant the seeds, water them, put fertilizer on them, put pesticides on them, etc etc. Guru Nanak Dev Ji talks at length of the pain of plants:

Page 143 of the Sri Guru Granth Sahib Ji

First Mehl:

Look, and see how the sugar-cane is cut down. After cutting away its branches, its feet are bound together into bundles,
and then, it is placed between the wooden rollers and crushed.
What punishment is inflicted upon it! Its juice is extracted and placed in the cauldron; as it is heated, it groans and cries out.
And then, the crushed cane is collected and burnt in the fire below.
Nanak: come, people, and see how the sweet sugar-cane is treated! ||2||

We see the wildlife habitats destroyed for farming, the insects killed by pesticides, cows force fed to produce milk etc we become blinkered about the meat vegetable debate.

Sri Guru Granth Sahib ji
First Mehl:

The fools argue about flesh and meat, but they know nothing about meditation and spiritual wisdom.
What is called meat, and what is called green vegetables? What leads to sin?
It was the habit of the gods to kill the rhinoceros, and make a feast of the burnt offering.
Those who renounce meat, and hold their noses when sitting near it, devour men at night.
They practice hypocrisy, and make a show before other people, but they do not understand anything about meditation or spiritual wisdom.
O Nanak, what can be said to the blind people? They cannot answer, or even understand what is said.
They alone are blind, who act blindly. They have no eyes in their hearts.
They are produced from the blood of their mothers and fathers, but they do not eat fish or meat.

Sri Guru Granth Sahib ji

WHY MEAT IS NOT SERVED IN LANGAR

The reason why meat is not served at langar in the Gurdwaras is because langar is supposed to be a symbol of equality of mankind where all people no matter what race, religion or caste can eat together in the atmosphere of brotherhood. Hindu, Sikh, Muslim, it does not matter who they are. Different religions have different dietary restrictions. Hindus cannot eat cow, muslims cannot eat pork and will only eat halal meat. Jews will only eat kosher meat, others cannot eat fish or eggs. But in a Gurdwara langar, it does not matter what their dietary taboos or religious beliefs are, the food is designed so that all can eat together and no one will be offended or not be able to partake of the meal.

WHY JHATKA MEAT?

What is Jhatka Meat and Why?

Jhatka meat is meat in which the animal has been killed quickly without suffering or religious ritual.

We must give the rationale behind prescribing jhatka meat as the approved food for the Sikhs. According to the ancient Aryan Hindu tradition, only such meat as is obtained from an animal which is killed with one stroke of the weapon causing instantaneous death is fit for human consumption. However, with the coming of Islam into India and the Muslim political hegemony, it became a state policy not to permit slaughter of animals for food, in any other manner, except as laid down in the Quran - the kosher meat prepared by slowly severing the main blood artery of the throat of the animal while reciting verses from the Quran. It is done to make slaughter a sacrifice to God and to expiate the sins of the slaughter. Guru Gobind Singh took a rather serious view of this aspect of the whole matter. He, therefore, while permitting flesh to be taken as food repudiated the whole theory of this expiatory sacrifice and the right of ruling Muslims to impose iton the non-Muslims. Accordingly, he made jhatka meat obligatory for those Sikhs who may be interested in taking meat as a part of their food.

And one semitic practice clearly rejected in the Sikh code of conduct is eating flesh of an animal cooked in ritualistic manner; this would mean kosher and halal meat. The reason again does not lie in religious tenet but in the view that killing an animal with a prayer is not going to enoble the flesh. No ritual, whoever conducts it, is going to do any good either to the animal or to the diner. Let man do what he must to assuage his hunger. If what he gets, he puts to good use and shares with the needy, then it is well used and well spent, otherwise not.

WHY MANY SIKHS DON'T EAT MEAT TODAY?

Vaishnava tradition influenced Sikhism in last 2 decades, Hukamnama issued by Akal Takht Jathedar Sandhu Singh Bhaura dated February 15th 1980 that Amritdhari Sikhs can eat meat as long as it is jhatka meat and that eating meat does not go against the code of conduct, Kurehit, of the Sikhs.

In the Sikh Rehit Marayada, Section Six, it states:
The undermentioned four transgressions (tabooed practices) must be avoided
1. Dishonoring the hair;
2. Eating the meat of an animal slaughtered the Muslim way (Kutha);
3. Cohabiting with a person other than one's spouse
4. Using tobacco.

btw Paneer (Cheese) is more expensive than Chicken in India. Its a myth that veg food is cheap.

Sikh Guru Nanak Dev Ji tackled this entire issue head on and rubbished the claims of so called spiritual people who thought themselves more pious and religious simply because they did not eat meat.

Guru Nanak Dev Ji saw life at all levels. He saw it at the molecular level and did not differentiate between plant, animal, or mineral. The only form of life he saw as different was human life (read the 84 million incarnations bit).

If we eat vegetable we would have to go out plant the seeds, water them, put fertilizer on them, put pesticides on them, etc etc. Guru Nanak Dev Ji talks at length of the pain of plants:

Page 143 of the Sri Guru Granth Sahib Ji

First Mehl:

Look, and see how the sugar-cane is cut down. After cutting away its branches, its feet are bound together into bundles,
and then, it is placed between the wooden rollers and crushed.
What punishment is inflicted upon it! Its juice is extracted and placed in the cauldron; as it is heated, it groans and cries out.
And then, the crushed cane is collected and burnt in the fire below.
Nanak: come, people, and see how the sweet sugar-cane is treated! ||2||

We see the wildlife habitats destroyed for farming, the insects killed by pesticides, cows force fed to produce milk etc we become blinkered about the meat vegetable debate.

Sri Guru Granth Sahib ji
First Mehl:

The fools argue about flesh and meat, but they know nothing about meditation and spiritual wisdom.
What is called meat, and what is called green vegetables? What leads to sin?
It was the habit of the gods to kill the rhinoceros, and make a feast of the burnt offering.
Those who renounce meat, and hold their noses when sitting near it, devour men at night.
They practice hypocrisy, and make a show before other people, but they do not understand anything about meditation or spiritual wisdom.
O Nanak, what can be said to the blind people? They cannot answer, or even understand what is said.
They alone are blind, who act blindly. They have no eyes in their hearts.
They are produced from the blood of their mothers and fathers, but they do not eat fish or meat.

Sri Guru Granth Sahib ji

WHY MEAT IS NOT SERVED IN LANGAR

The reason why meat is not served at langar in the Gurdwaras is because langar is supposed to be a symbol of equality of mankind where all people no matter what race, religion or caste can eat together in the atmosphere of brotherhood. Hindu, Sikh, Muslim, it does not matter who they are. Different religions have different dietary restrictions. Hindus cannot eat cow, muslims cannot eat pork and will only eat halal meat. Jews will only eat kosher meat, others cannot eat fish or eggs. But in a Gurdwara langar, it does not matter what their dietary taboos or religious beliefs are, the food is designed so that all can eat together and no one will be offended or not be able to partake of the meal.

WHY JHATKA MEAT?

Jhatka meat is meat in which the animal has been killed quickly without suffering or religious ritual.

We must give the rationale behind prescribing jhatka meat as the approved food for the Sikhs. According to the ancient Aryan Hindu tradition, only such meat as is obtained from an animal which is killed with one stroke of the weapon causing instantaneous death is fit for human consumption. However, with the coming of Islam into India and the Muslim political hegemony, it became a state policy not to permit slaughter of animals for food, in any other manner, except as laid down in the Quran - the kosher meat prepared by slowly severing the main blood artery of the throat of the animal while reciting verses from the Quran. It is done to make slaughter a sacrifice to God and to expiate the sins of the slaughter. Guru Gobind Singh took a rather serious view of this aspect of the whole matter. He, therefore, while permitting flesh to be taken as food repudiated the whole theory of this expiatory sacrifice and the right of ruling Muslims to impose iton the non-Muslims. Accordingly, he made jhatka meat obligatory for those Sikhs who may be interested in taking meat as a part of their food.

And one semitic practice clearly rejected in the Sikh code of conduct is eating flesh of an animal cooked in ritualistic manner; this would mean kosher and halal meat. The reason again does not lie in religious tenet but in the view that killing an animal with a prayer is not going to enoble the flesh. No ritual, whoever conducts it, is going to do any good either to the animal or to the diner. Let man do what he must to assuage his hunger. If what he gets, he puts to good use and shares with the needy, then it is well used and well spent, otherwise not.

WHY MANY SIKHS DON'T EAT MEAT TODAY?

Vaishnava tradition influenced Sikhism in last 2 decades, Hukamnama issued by Akal Takht Jathedar Sandhu Singh Bhaura dated February 15th 1980 that Amritdhari Sikhs can eat meat as long as it is jhatka meat and that eating meat does not go against the code of conduct, Kurehit, of the Sikhs.

In the Sikh Rehit Marayada, Section Six, it states:
The undermentioned four transgressions (tabooed practices) must be avoided
1. Dishonoring the hair;
2. Eating the meat of an animal slaughtered the Muslim way (Kutha);
3. Cohabiting with a person other than one's spouse
4. Using tobacco.

Yeah it is unfortunate that we do not have Jhatka meat in most parts of India. It is all meat that is slaughtered according to Islamic principles I suppose.

WHY JHATKA MEAT?

I believe that is wrong, it has to do with draining of the blood and consumption of blood is prohibited in Islam.

Normally i would agree with you since a creation is eating another creation. But living without Seekh Kabab and Meat Biryani? I am biased in this matter. But we do have to draw the line somewhere as several examples laid out by [MENTION=2099]Cricket[/MENTION] Cartoon.

Why cows are important for us? It is the most clean and healthy animal hence decreed halal to us whereas other animals are not. Likewise, all the fish types from water are halal, but regarding Shark and Whales, debatable from observed debates.

I love vegetables more, but can i live without cow, goat, chicken? I don't know.

From the Hannibal's point of view, we taste better than cows hence they crave human meat. :afaq

When did bengali's come in picture here?? We were talking about malayalam and telugu..:20:

Malayalis have copied almost everything from bengalis. Love for fish and rice, communism, football, armchair political debates. Too bad they could not copy superior bengali cinema, and could only produce midnight masala movies.

Lol don't know why this midnight masala movies bags a lot of national awards every year compared to your superior bengali cinema..:D

Lol I don't the number of times we won. Anyways congratulations for that stat.:D

You people can gloat over your achievements with other states, but dont make the mistake of comparing with Bengal. You will always come second. No offence.

Even plants are living. So why do you need to eat them and kill those poor things?

Eating the fruit vegetable is not killing, in fact , the fruit ,offers itself as payment for propagation for its seed. Also when we cut a plant it gives out more offshoots.
( I am not saying there is no pain at all what i am saying is the pain involved is very very less in comparison to killing an animal.)

The level of consciousness of a animal is higher than that of plants.

Animals have all senses like humans except (a logical MIND ) which subject them to same kind of pain as a human, and eating it one carries the karma of inflicting that pain

Research has only proved that plants also demonstrate similar processes and cellular structures that are found in animals. Science does not say that plants have a personality like animals. There is no way to prove that plants exhibit same form of sorrow or joy or put efforts like animals. Plants don’t reproduce in a manner similar to animals or stop being able to reproduce more plants like animals after they are killed. There are significant differences in plants and animals, and that is why even science of biology clearly differentiates study of botany and zoology.
So I do not consider plants to have a soul that feels “I am this mango tree”. This coupled with reasons discussed below justify eating of plants, but not of animals.

But even if we assume that plants can feel pain like animals. Still, we can live without eating animals. But we cannot live without eating plants. We simply do not have a choice here. And by eating plants, at least 10 times more humans in our family can get food to eat and water to drink that by tasting a beef-steak. Thus commonsense and basic humanity demands that we show mercy on those at least whom we can allow to live without killing ourselves and torturing our family members. Or else, same reason may be given tomorrow to justify cannibalism as well.
If people stop eating meat and adopt vegetarian ways, they could feed at least 10 times more people using the same efforts and energy. This is based on the principle of energy-pyramid which states that the at least 10 units of vegetation is consumed to prepare 1 unit of meat by feeding the meat-producing animals. Refer any text on food chain or energy pyramid. In fact for most of the commercially produced meat that humans eat currently, energy losses are much higher.
Thus each person who stops eating meat is feeding at least 9 more people apart from himself. What could be a greater form of charity than simply avoiding meat! And what could be a greater sin for me than forcing at least 9 people to die from hunger because I love the taste of mutton! Moreover, meat industry also significantly depletes water.
Since I consider entire humanity as my own family, I cannot sleep peacefully with the guilt of being a cause of hunger and thirst for my dearest brothers and sisters and innocent children in my global home.

Vegetarian alternatives exist
Because in today’s era, I don’t see anybody hunting to survive like the lions in Africa. Meat is simply a non-essential addiction. There is no meat-product for which a healthier vegetarian alternative does not exist.

Meat is non-renewable
Because meat is non-renewable. An animal once killed cannot grow more animals. But a plant, even when uprooted, can grow a new plant from its roots, shoots and seeds. Thus the hunger and thirst caused by meat-eating is much more longer term and intense than that discussed earlier.

Btw i am myself a non vegetarian ��

Is the meat eating Law for Humans only ?

Recently we have been watching disturbing news that people in india are being murdered for eating Beef which is banned in india now because as a hindu country they cannot allow that because the Cow is portrayed as a God among them.

My Question here is, what if a non-human eats the Cow ? Will the same punishment be handed out. Suppose a Tiger attacks a Cow and eats it. Then what. Will the Tiger face judgement before the court.
Correct me if I'm wrong but Tiger is also portrayed as a God among hindus, right ? If that's true then I don't think the Tiger will be killed/murdered.

But that will mean that Human life is less valuable than animals!

Yeh kya tha seriously....kal ko bhai tum kahoge ki murder laws for human only what if tomorrow some tiger murder men then will it b jailed for the same......kuch bhi bhai post kroge kya....

I have two favourite dishes:
Chicken biriyani and rajhma chawal so 50/50 for me:)

And secondly cows are just animal for you but its not the same case for most of the hindus

Serious question -

What is the reason for reverence for cows? I have not been able to find n adequate answer on the internet. In Hinduism Are cows symbolism for some greater power or are they literally thought of as a divine being?

Yeh kya tha seriously....kal ko bhai tum kahoge ki murder laws for human only what if tomorrow some tiger murder men then will it b jailed for the same......kuch bhi bhai post kroge kya....

that is like comparing human life with animals.

but Tiger is also a God for hindus right. Then what if a Tiger eats a cow, then what ?

that is like comparing human life with animals.

but Tiger is also a God for hindus right. Then what if a Tiger eats a cow, then what ?

Cow is not god but considered very holy for hindus and secondly no other animal is considered holy for hindus plus you are comparing humans with animals that what if tiger kill a cow...you replaced human with tiger not me

I'm asking what if a Tiger eats the cow then what would be the outcome.

if the people don't punish the animal then it will only mean Humans in india are below the animals.

You people can gloat over your achievements with other states, but dont make the mistake of comparing with Bengal. You will always come second. No offence.

We are poor humble people. Gloat over your achievements as much as you want.:D

Serious question -

What is the reason for reverence for cows? I have not been able to find n adequate answer on the internet. In Hinduism Are cows symbolism for some greater power or are they literally thought of as a divine being?
eople in the Vedic period were primarily pastoral. They relied on the cows for milk and dung. Cow dung is one of the main fuels in rural India and also served as a fertilizer. Cow dung and cow urine is also thought to be an disinfectant among ancient Indians and used to clean up home. Thus, cow provided the food, fuel, disinfectant and fertilizer for the Vedic people.

Hindu scriptures have always considered milk as among the highest forms of food - Satvic. Cow's milk is believed to have a great calming effect and improves meditation.
A product of cow's milk - ghee (clarified butter) - is used for Yajna (fire worship). Fire worship is the highest form prayer for Hindus. This adds religious significance to cow's products.
Despite its big size, a cow is a calm animal and non-threatening - you could see cows quietly roaming Indian roads. Hindus have always appreciated the tolerance, patience and calmness of the cow. Thus, cows stood for the goodness of Hindu religion and considered a representative of Dharma. Also, a cow's affection to its calf is a beautiful thing and Vedas greatly appreciated this bonding.
Sustainability: Ancient Indians probably ate meat when they wandered in the grasslands. However, as soon as they settled and the population near Ganges exploded, they saw the issues cropping. The key was water pollution from the slaughterhouses. Both the leather industry and slaughter industry hugely polluting industries and thus taboos quickly came.
In some ways, cows for Indians are like the pets in the Western Culture. You don't see dog meat, cat meat or even horse meat in the US as these are the animals people have in their homes and form a special bonding with. For some Westerners, killing a dog for meat can be as gruesome as killing a human for meat. In the same way, many of us Indians formed a special bonding with our cows.

Environmental Sustainability
These days we are understanding the impacts of beef better. Here are some of the recent research on the impact on beef on the environment:
Consequences of increased global meat consumption on the global environment -- trade in virtual water, energy & nutrients
Food Giants Want 'Sustainable' Beef. But What Does That Mean?
Sustainability of meat-based and plant-based diets and the environment

Researchers are coming to the same conclusion as the early Hindus did - lacto-vegetarian diet is the most sustainable option for a denser world population.

Summary: Religious Hindu households always had a cow in their backyard until a couple of decades ago. They provided the family's daily:
Food (milk, buttermilk, curd, butter and ghee)
Products for worship (ghee)
Fuel for the kitchen (cow dung)
Antiseptic cleaning agent (cow dung and cow urine)
Clearing up extra growth in the farm before sowing.

if the people don't punish the animal then it will only mean Humans in india are below the animals.

Yaar ulte hi logic lgane hi toh mai b lgata hun ruk jra.....what if tiger kills a man and tiger is not arressted ....if the law doesnt punish the tiger then it will only mean that tigers are superior than human and they can do whatever and nobody can even question that....

Actually there are many Hindus who actually come from families where meat eating is perfectly acceptable but choose to become vegetarians anyway for ethical reasons etc and its rarely because of religion. My own parents are examples and there are countless more. It would be wrong to say that Hindus are vegetarians when around 65-70% are not vegetarian s at all.

My father used to eat it but i don't. Nobody forced me to not eat it. And even he has stopped eating it now. I can only try my best by not hurting any animal to satisfy my tongue or stomach. But there is some way or the other we do hurt them whether its for leather jacket, some unknown ingredients put into our foods just like maggi did.

Yaar ulte hi logic lgane hi toh mai b lgata hun ruk jra.....what if tiger kills a man and tiger is not arressted ....if the law doesnt punish the tiger then it will only mean that tigers are superior than human and they can do whatever and nobody can even question that....

you're not understanding my point.

Of course no one will question or sentence the tiger But india having made a law of executing whoever eats beef is confusing me. What if a tiger/dog eats a cow. then what. Since humans are being killed for eating a cow. Then what about animals eating cow. As you said it won't matter but if it wont then it means india is putting animals before human lives.

Why do Pakistanis add potato in their meat dishes? That is not something that should go with meat. Some even add it to biryani :facepalm:

Are you kidding me? You've never had potato in your biryani. Boy, are you missing out.

Potato goes well with everything. Maybe you should explore a little.

It is supposed to be a meat substitute (very poor one though), and the practice actually started in Bengal.

There is this story about the nawab of Oudh who was exiled to Calcutta by the British. As he was given very little money to sustain himself there, his cooks hit upon the idea of using potatoes in the biryani, in place of the more expensive mutton.

Potato in biryani is awesome if it is cooked how it is meant to be

Are you kidding me? You've never had potato in your biryani. Boy, are you missing out.

Potato goes well with everything. Maybe you should explore a little.

I refuse biryani if it has potato in it. You should try authentic hyderabadi dum biryani, not fake pakistani varieties.

It is supposed to be a meat substitute (very poor one though), and the practice actually started in Bengal.

There is this story about the nawab of Oudh who was exiled to Calcutta by the British. As he was given very little money to sustain himself there, his cooks hit upon the idea of using potatoes in the biryani, in place of the more expensive mutton.

Yes, adding potato seems to be a poor man's recipe. I hope the nawab got to see better days and removed that obscenity from the ingredients.

You will start a biryani war now!

Pakistanis use the recipes that were perfected in India. All the dishes they are proud of, like biryani, kebab, nihari etc were made by the khansamas of mughal kings and nawabs. No problem with that. But to pollute those recipes and then say that it is an improvement is an insult to the souls of the khansaamas who perfected the art in mughal and nawabi kitchens.

Good topic OP, well good enough for me to post after a long time.

It is more than jest to point out that animals, after all, don't respect the "rights" of other animals, it is the condition of the world, and survival is a matter of tooth and claw. It would surely be absurd to say that the wolf is "evil" because he exists by killing and is aggressive against other animals, the wolf is not evil being because he is aggressive against other species, he is simply following the natural law of his own survival. Similarly for man, it is just as absurd to say that mankind are aggressive against cows and sheep as its to say wolves are aggressive against sheep.

Many will say that animals can petition for their rights, the fact that animals obviously cant petition for their rights is part of their nature, and part of the reason why they are dearly not equivalent to and do not possess the rights of human beings.

further, the fundamental flaw in the theory of animal rights is more basic and far reaching, for the assertion of human rights is not simple emotive one, individuals possess rights not because we feel that they should, but because of a rational inquiry into the nature of man and the universe. No other animal or being posses this ability to reason, to make conscious choice, to transform their environment in order to prosper, or to collaborate consciously in society and the division of labour.

Animals are not our equals.

Edit last paragraph above: -

The day animals within their kingdom give themselves rights to life is the day I may sit up and listen further. till then, animals are not our equals.

Medium-rare steak, grilled ribs.

/thread

there's nothing better than Beef burgers
yum.gif

Edit last paragraph above: -

The day animals within their kingdom give themselves rights to life is the day I may sit up and listen further. till then, animals are not our equals.

I see you are watching Zoo :yk

This thread is not meant to offend meat eaters or hurt anyone's religious sentiments and i hope people will cooperate in giving honest answers and keep it strictly personal instead of speaking on behalf of the different communities they represent. I request mods to deal strictly with anyone who tries to turn it into an India-Pakistan or hindu-muslim hate thread.

I am asking you at a personal level. Why do you eat meat? You know well where it comes from. An animal, usually domestic, is killed to serve meat to your plate.

An animal,
that means you no harm,
that does not wish to die, least of all by a chop or electrical shock,

... at a time when you have ample veg options to satisfy your hunger.

Your arguments generally are:
- Because its tasty
- Because its healthy
- Because its fun
- Because food chain
- Because its economy
- Because population control
- Because we're humans and we're meant to eat'em

1) Taste
Your sense of taste is greater than the life of an animal and all the suffering it goes through because you need tasty food?

2) Healthy
You can get your proteins, carbohydrates and vitamins from veg foods as well. Once again, something that could be easily substituted. Its not above life and doesn't warrant suffering of a fellow species

3) Food chain
Fellow human, you're not in jungle anymore, actually since a few millenniums. Please update your clock.

4) Fun
Robbery, rape, riots is fun too for many. Your amusement does not justify another's suffering

5) Economy
World economy will not collapse if you stop killing animals for food.

6) Population control
They wouldn't be born if you stopped eating meat.

7) Humans are meant to eat them
Of all the things humans were meant to do..... :facepalm:

Please, give up eating meat. You wanna make a change, you wanna save lives. Every time you refuse to eat a chicken burger, you're saving one. Give these poor little animals a break. They do not deserve this.

Many years from now, future generations will hang their heads in shame thinking about us eating meat when we had a choice.

The question should be, why you are not eating meat?

I guess I always ask myself the following question when ever I am about to do something.... 'Is this going to harm me?'

I dont drink as it harms me.

I dont smoke as it will harm me.

I dont lie (or try not to) as it will harm me as a person.

So when I ask myself will eating meat harm me? I say no. It is an essential part of my diet and helps me maintaining my fitness as I do a lot of physical exercise.

Those pakistanis who add potato in their biryani, that is your prerogative, but don't call it biryani..call it pulao. but please for the love of god, stop calling it biryani!!!

not really. Communism had been a force in Kerala long before Bengal. It was Kerala, in fact, that had one of the the first elected communist governments in the world long before Bengal. Ditto with armchair political debates. And Keralites have always eaten rice and fish. They are as much a coastal community as Bengal is.

Have to agree about the movies though. Even though Keralites have produced some very good movies, it is the masala stuff they are better known for.

Washing your hands massacres 100s of thousands of germs, that's a massacre.

brah ever heard of steak and mashed potatoes. corned beef and hash? meat and potato is a staple across the world. There's no entree you get a restaurant in the US that doesn't come up with some sort of potatoes. Lamb and potato salan is to die for.

This thread is not meant to offend meat eaters or hurt anyone's religious sentiments and i hope people will cooperate in giving honest answers and keep it strictly personal instead of speaking on behalf of the different communities they represent. I request mods to deal strictly with anyone who tries to turn it into an India-Pakistan or hindu-muslim hate thread.

I am asking you at a personal level. Why do you eat vegetables? You know well where it comes from. A plant, usually domestic, is killed to serve vegetables to your plate.

An plant,
that means you no harm,
that does not wish to die, least of all by a chop or electrical shock,

... at a time when you have ample fruit options to satisfy your hunger. Fruit options that wouldn't kill the plant

Your arguments generally are:
- Because its tasty
- Because its healthy
- Because its fun
- Because food chain
- Because its economy
- Because population control
- Because we're humans and we're meant to eat'em

1) Taste
Your sense of taste is greater than the life of a plant and all the suffering it goes through because you need tasty food?

2) Healthy
You can get your proteins, carbohydrates and vitamins from fruit foods as well. Once again, something that could be easily substituted. Its not above life and doesn't warrant suffering of a fellow species

3) Food chain
Fellow human, you're not in jungle anymore, actually since a few millenniums. Please update your clock.

4) Fun
Robbery, rape, riots is fun too for many. Your amusement does not justify another's suffering

5) Economy
World economy will not collapse if you stop killing plants for food.

6) Population control
They wouldn't be born if you stopped eating vegetables.

7) Humans are meant to eat them
Of all the things humans were meant to do.....

I feel for Hindus, there God can't even stop itself being eaten

Please, give up eating vegetables. You wanna make a change, you wanna save lives. Every time you refuse to eat a veggie burger, you're saving one. Give these poor little plants a break. They do not deserve this.

Many years from now, future generations will hang their heads in shame thinking about us eating vegetables when we had a choice.

The question should be, why you are eating vegetables?

brah ever heard of steak and mashed potatoes. corned beef and hash? meat and potato is a staple across the world. There's no entree you get a restaurant in the US that doesn't come up with some sort of potatoes. Lamb and potato salan is to die for.

I am talking about biriyani not what americans, who have bland cuisine, eat. If you cant afford enough meat and need to increase the quantity by adding cheap potatoes, then fair enough. But don't call it an improvement. Just call it pulao.

I love your concern for animals here, but don't you care about vegetables like Potatoes? Killing them, how disgusting.

Also, in the lynching thread, caring less for humans than cows
It's not Muslims in those areas any better, all pretty messed up and still bitter about partition time hatred.

I am talking about biriyani not what americans, who have bland cuisine, eat. If you cant afford enough meat and need to increase the quantity by adding cheap potatoes, then fair enough. But don't call it an improvement. Just call it pulao.

wow you know nothing about our cuisine. Potatoes is not a substitute for meat. also, no cuisine is bland...just cuz you're used to eating masalas/spices that will make a normal persons a s s bleed doesn't mean that's what food should taste like across the board.

Eat whatever you want, I don't give a damn. But for the sake of kitchen gods, don't call it biryani if you add cheap tubers in it. Call it pulao and eat it. No need to to insult biryani. :facepalm: