Ravi Shastri to apply for post of Indian cricket team coach

waheed_sofi

Former Indian team director Ravi Shastri on Tuesday decided to apply for the position of Indian team's head coach. He was the director of the team between 2014 and 2016 during which he led India to the semi-finals of the World Cup in 2015.

Shastri had also applied for the job last year but Anil Kumble was preferred over him. Kumble had resigned as the coach of the Indian cricket team last week. This came after the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) decided to not renew his one-year contract and invited fresh applications for the top post.

Kumble's contract as the head coach of the Indian team expired after the ICC Champions Trophy and he was not interested in an extension.

Hours after resigning, the former India captain put out a statement on Twitter and wrote,"the captain had reservations with my 'style'... In light of these 'reservations'. I believe it is best I hand over this responsibility to whomever the CAC and BCCI deem fit."
The situation had snowballed just prior to the ICC Champions Trophy with the BCCI issuing a press release, asking for applications for the post of head coach for the Indian men's cricket team.

Shastri was not among the people who had applied for the post of Head Coach when the BCCI had issued the first release. That list included Virender Sehwag, Tom Moody, Richard Pybus and Lalchand Rajput, among others.

During Shastri's tenure as Team Director, India won the Test series in Sri Lanka after a gap of 22 years and also outplayed South Africa 3-0 in a four-Test home series before clinching the Asia Cup.

It then came out that Shastri desperately wanted to continue his association with the Indian team, but the BCCI's Cricket Advisory Committee (CAC), comprising of Sachin Tendulkar, Sourav Ganguly and VVS Laxman, chose Kumble ahead of Shastri.

https://sports.ndtv.com/cricket/ravi-shastri-to-apply-for-india-head-coach-1717556

Why doesn't Dravid apply - he has much better expertise and he's a much calmer individual.

Shastri is too passionate and brash.

I doubt Sehwag is even serious about his application.

He'd be surprised if he was selected as coach.

to my indian friends, wth is going on? I would assume you would want to have someone a bit better applying?

Moody should be the coach.

India needs a overseas coach to perform well. Desi Coaches are not appreciated.

Seems a bit obvious that the players want Shastri back as coach. He wouldn't have applied if he hadn't heard whispers from the dressing room that he has a good chance of being appointed this time around. It's no secret that he has a great relationship with Kohli. I know Indian supporters weren't huge fans of Shastri's time as coach but the results weren't that bad to be honest.

Kohli wants someone telling them how good they are, rather than someone who puts the team through their paces.

The India cricket followers want a team that wins. If Kohli's formula delivers good rankings then it doesnt matter.

Shastri is a great motivator. He props up the egos and confidence of players like Johli, Rohit, Dhawan etc. That is exactly what Indian players need. Someone to tell them how good they are.

They can always watch recorded videos etc but what will he do on the ground?

They can. But a cheer leader in the dressing room who can motivate is always a good thing.

Indian team did perform well when Shastri was in charge previously.

They can. But a cheer leader in the dressing room who can motivate is always a good thing.

If that is what they want best option is Mohsin Khan.

No they didn't

Also he is too in your face so Dhoni was a nice balance to him

With Kohli there will be many dramas

Pick moody. He'll whip them into shape and take Kohli to the next level like he did with Sanga and Mahela

He will get it too. I can see him working well as Kohli's mouthpiece, which is what he will be most.

Many here dont like his commentary. Look at positives...if he is coach he wont be in comm box :)))

I doubt Sehwag is even serious about his application.

He'd be surprised if he was selected as coach.

Of course he aint serious. He is a troll as people here must be aware. He not just trolls Pakistanis but everyone including BCCI.
His resume was 1 line and said "You guys know me and my records" :))). What he did not write was probably "Make me coach phir sochengey kya karna hai"

I am surprised Fleming isnt in the mix

He isnt a taskmaster, more of a mentor, but knows how to convey tactical nous without putting people down

Him and Kohli are made for each other. Both very confident, brash, and ambitious. Father-son like relationship tbh, Goku-Gohan like.

I think Shastri is still hurting badly from the Champions Trophy final result:))):))) Should listen to him how he talks India up as if it's out of the world. I love it when someone like Barry Richards tells him some home truths.

Wonder what guidance Sehwag will give to the team...coach baap hota hai aur team beta

Not sure why he was sacked/left in the first place. Kohli and him had a really good partnership going.

Rohit will replace Pujara in tests
Rahane will replace KL Rahul in ODI

Dark days for Indian cricket ahead. Kohli gang taking our cricket backward.

Apart from backing his (favorite) players and fast bowlers Kohli doesn't offer much as captain.

The sooner India get rid of him as captain, the better it is for them.

Wasn't he just the head coach or assistant coach after India lost to England a few years ago?

I doubt they will select him after dropping him.

Anyone can apply: Ganguly on Shastri

Sourav Ganguly remained a man at peace with the world even after news spread on Tuesday that Ravi Shastri, not the best of friends, was applying for the Indian cricket team coaching job.

Former captain Ganguly is a member of the Cricket Advisory Committee (CAC) that will select Anil Kumble’s replacement. That the two are not the best of friends is well- documented, but Ganguly seemed to be unperturbed with the latest development.

“Everybody has got the right to apply. We will find out. I can also apply provided I’m not an administrator,” Cricket Association of Bengal (CAB) president Ganguly said.

The appointment of India’s coach took a new twist as Shastri appeared to be a front-runner a year after Kumble was favoured over him.

The two former skippers, then, had exchanged verbal volleys after Shastri, having served as team director for a year, was not considered for the coach’s job as he did not appear for the interview in person.

Shastri had openly blamed Ganguly for his ouster, claiming that the former captain, as a member of the CAC, lobbied for Kumble to replace him and convinced the other panel members, Sachin Tendulkar and VVS Laxman.

Meanwhile, Ganguly thought Kumble and captain Virat Kohli’s dressing room rift after India’s Champions Trophy final loss to Pakistan ought to have been handled in a much better way. “The matter between Kumble and Kohli should have been handled a lot better, by whoever was in charge. It was not handled properly.”

http://www.deccanherald.com/content/619593/anyone-can-apply-ganguly-shastri.html

The down fall of Indian cricket will start after the appointment of ravi

It has already started, when you got borderline idiot and arrogant captain in charge, things are bound to go in wrong direction. We were at peak during WC 2011.

I also felt that kohli-Ravi duo will bring back 80s-90s india team

Him and Kohli are made for each other. Both very confident, brash, and ambitious. Father-son like relationship tbh, Goku-Gohan like.

Please take that back. Goku and Gohan? Youve got to be kidding me. More like King Cold and Frieza.

Ganguly along with a couple of others to decide who is going to get the job, that's gonna be an interesting one, wasn't it because of him he didn't get it previously.

I agree. But I wont blame BCCI on that. what they can do. thsi guy has been a run machine. have to handle him carefully, especially when you know he is a borderline ******.

This COA is making mockery out of BCCI. They are adamant on ruining only professional sports body in India. Every day some new drama.

I agree. But I wont blame BCCI on that. what they can do. thsi guy has been a run machine. have to handle him carefully, especially when you know he is a borderline ******.
Just give captaincy to other. Problem solved.

What if he gets upset and start doing crazy stuff. He is still the best batsman in the country. Day light between him and the next one. That's why I said they need to be little careful.

Tendulkar steps in, convinces Shastri to apply for Team India coach's post

MUMBAI: Former India batting legend Sachin Tendulkar stepped in this week to finally resolve the matter surrounding appointment of India's new coach in place of Anil Kumble, following which cricketer-turned-commentator Ravi Shastri finally agreed to send in his application for the role.

Shastri, who is holidaying in London, had been categorical so far that he "wouldn't stand in the queue" for the job, underlining the fact that he had been deliberately ignored last year despite doing a commendable job. Speculation had been rife over whether the ex-India all-rounder would once again come to the table with his CV and a presentation.

TOI has learned that it is Tendulkar, who too is holidaying in London with his family, spoke with Shastri to consider his stand once again. As member of the three-man Cricket Advisory Committee (CAC), Tendulkar took into account the fact that India skipper Virat Kohli too wanted Shastri on board and therefore acted in time to save BCCI - which has been coping criticism in its handling of the matter - the blushes.

It should be mentioned here that in 2016, when the CAC - of which former India cricketers Sourav Ganguly and VVS Laxman are a part alongside Tendulkar - had interviewed Shastri along with Kumble and others for the role.

Shastri, who had been essaying the role of the Team India director until then, had shown all the possible interest he could until Kumble's last-minute entry changed the equation.

Tendulkar had backed Shastri back then too, knowing that the team was also comfortable with him, while Ganguly had backed Kumble. It was then left to Laxman to take a stand by way of what turned out to be a ballot and the former batsman sided with Ganguly to bring Kumble on board.

While Kumble has been impressive as Team India coach, wrapping up one of India's greatest home seasons in 2016-17, the fact of the matter is that Shastri as Team India director following the exit of Duncan Fletcher as coach had played a crucial role in keeping the team together.

To be fair to the noted commentator, he took upon the role that was handed to him as a last-minute responsibility and TOI has learned that there wasn't even any courteous paperwork in place when he was brought on board.

The question is bound to linger for a while why Ganguly did not vote for Shastri in the first place, back in 2016, when it was quite clear that the team was in favour of him continuing in the role.

In fact, Ganguly had even skipped Shastri's interview process saying he had to attend some urgent work on that day. Shastri now joins Tom Moody, Richard Pybus, Virender Sehwag, Lalchand Rajput and Dodda Ganesh who have already applied for the role. Former Australian pacer Craig McDermott had applied post the given deadline last time and will have to send in a fresh application again if his candidature needs to be considered.

Shastri, nevertheless, once again with the thorough backing of Tendulkar and senior Team India members, remains a top favourite for the role.

A footnote should underline that during their playing days, Tendulkar, Ganguly and Laxman too were a part of a side that maintained that the team could not continue under Greg Chappell and therefore needed another coach to replace him. They got their way and so should be the case with Kohli & Co.

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/...am-india-coachs-post/articleshow/59353962.cms

That's not the solution - it'll end up like PAK teams of 90s - 6/7 captains in playing XI at a time. If not Kohli, then none from his contemporary batch should be, that's - Rahne, Dhawan, Sharma, Ashwin, Jadeja, BK, Pujara. It'll spoil the team.

As I wrote when MS was unceremoniously put apart when the Poster Boy of Indian cricket changed - "once MS leaves, Indians will realize what he was to this team". To me, best solution is, if MS is allowed to continue till 2019 - reappoint him as LO Captain & keep Kohli his deputy, who can be in charge of Test team.

Ind are best when they have a low profile coach. The Ind team is a good team with excellent batsman and bowlers and they dont really need a coach, they need more of an advisor for the captain to bounce of when he needs a sounding board. At the higher levels coaches add very little, better off paying the big rupees to make a difference at the young levels where they can make a difference to things like fielding.

Ganguly is a cry baby. Will never forgive him for backing out of that match just because the groundsmen didn't prepare the pitch he wanted.