[REPORT] Imran Khan asks Najam Sethi to step down as PCB Chairman

<iframe frameborder="0" width="480" height="270" src="//www.dailymotion.com/embed/video/x6rsjoo" allowfullscreen allow="autoplay"></iframe>.

I know Sethi came with a lot of baggage but under his tenure a lot has gone right for Pakistani cricket. It’s a shame he can’t stay on.

I agree. Sethi did a lot of good. However what Imran must do now is seperate the link between cricket and politics. A change of government should not mean a change of leadership at the PCB. The PCB chair should be independently elected (and that does not mean just voted for by his chums on the PCB board) and the PCB should be run like a professional public body.

Good timing from Imran Khan with PCB annual player awards done. This has been long overdue.

He should still be involved in the PSL at the very least.

He’s done great things for Pakistan cricket and he should definetly carry on.

Sethi, in all honesty, a legacy of PMLN's corruption's legacy :facepalm:

He's kind of guy who didn't even congratulate IK on victory? That was pathetic.

In institutions people come and go but the system keeps working, those crying about "best ever PCB chairman" are exactly the reason why Pakistan is the way it is.

Nobody is irreplaceable.

Sethi has done a bit for cricket but that was his job (and currently still is). There's no confirmation as such that he has been asked to resign.

It is actually Sethi who has made it political with Imran by omitting him and Javed from the World Cup Win Tribute video.

If Imran does ask Sethi to go then I don't blame him as Imran wants politics and cricket separated...i.e someone democratically voted with the right credentials for the job. Sethi we all know was given the position by Nawaz Sharif and not got it by merit.

Having said the above there is no reason Sethi can't reapply for the post again in a proper democratic way. If he is the best man for it then no reason why he won't get the role again (that is if politics is ruled out).

PCB and PCL has not been audited so it is alleged Sethi may have benefited himself and those close to him with salaries and kickbacks. Sethi should just resign and make way for someone with a squeaky clean image and the knowledge and experience in cricketing administration to head PCB.

Financial irregularities, complete lack of professionalism and a complete lack of transparency are what Sethi's tenure will be known as. Like his predecessor, he made one good decision, and that was his choice of captain.

What happened to Imran Khan victory speech?

I want all of Pakistan to unite. I want to make it clear that anyone who was against us, who voted against us, I think the kind of personal attacks that I have seen, no one has seen those, but I have forgotten all of those, they are behind me. ... my cause is far bigger than me.

We will not do any kind of political victimising. We will establish supremacy of the law ... whoever violates the law, we will act against them.

To make PCB transparent, Sethi has to go.

Sure he made PSL better and were able to host couple of games in Pakistan but that isn't enough and Sethi has too much baggage to be completely transparent.

I don't see how that speech means he has to let someone who oversaw PSL which has financial irregularities on a huge scale stay in-charge.

Not proven

Didn't Imran want PCB to be depoliticized and no political intervention so this is wrong. There should be change in system without any political intervention, make legislation to make system better and call for new PCB chairman election rather directly removing him.

Not proven

Didn't Imran want PCB to be depoliticized and no political intervention so this is wrong. There should be change in system without any political intervention, make legislation to make system better and call for new PCB chairman election rather directly removing him.

You can't make a new system with old people. Sethi has to go first, and then a independent system can come in, and if they want, appoint Sethi.

What happened to Imran Khan victory speech?

In case you didn't hear the victory speech, he talked about cleaning up the house and removing corrupt Sethi is exactly in line with that.

I'm loving all these cries of anguish by the Nooras. Long may it continue Inshallah

Mein inko rolaonga, mein inko takleeq pohchaonga.

Heard najam sethi have hired his relative on some of the pcb post also there is nab reference against him so lets see how he come clear about this allegation .
Imran khan have bigger challenge to whom he replace with him.i hope it is none of mohsin khan,moin khan,javed maindad

I'm loving all these cries of anguish by the Nooras. Long may it continue Inshallah

Mein inko rolaonga, mein inko takleeq pohchaonga.

This statement will be remembered forever. And not only did he make PMLN and sharif family cry, but all noora supporters are also crying, including ones on this board

Writing is on the wall. The PTI has written a letter to NAB and FBR demanding a thorough investigation into Najam Sethi, his assets, PCB accounts and the PSL accounts and affairs

This statement will be remembered forever. And not only did he make PMLN and sharif family cry, but all noora supporters are also crying, including ones on this board
Nobody is crying. I m happy we somehow got rid of the status quo; but that doesn't mean I keep my eyes shut and don't criticize any wrongdoing

I am an IK fan like many but should play neutral. Yes if something is wrong on either side we should criticize that.
I think Sethi with all his history with IK has done a job many before him couldn't do

At the end this is a ridiculous decision. Sethi has done a great job, yes chairmans come and go, but Sethi could easily be adjusted with a directors post or some other post.

James Sunderland was with Cricket Australia for 20 years and has done great things for that board.

Imran is just doing this just for the sake of it, nothing else.

At the end this is a ridiculous decision. Sethi has done a great job, yes chairmans come and go, but Sethi could easily be adjusted with a directors post or some other post.

James Sunderland was with Cricket Australia for 20 years and has done great things for that board.

Can't agree with you more

Brother bring the proof and if found guilty kick him out.

That is what is happening, reference has been sent to NAB. Hence he cannot stay on as PCB chief while NAB investigates. If he gets cleared then he can be reappointed as per due process.

I am an IK fan like many but should play neutral. Yes if something is wrong on either side we should criticize that.
I think Sethi with all his history with IK has done a job many before him couldn't do

Yeah a job of financial irregularities, appointing relatives and not conducting audits, hence there is a reference against him in NAB which btw has not been initiated by IK.

Nobody is crying. I m happy we somehow got rid of the status quo; but that doesn't mean I keep my eyes shut and don't criticize any wrongdoing

Actually, you are crying. Someone who is glad he got rid of the status quo wouldn't cry and resort to name calling like u-turn khan.

Sethi was a political appointment. He was rewarded for helping noora win in punjab in 2013.

Also, who are the share holders in the PSL?

If there are PSL directors or shareholders, they would need to be consulted if they decide to remove Sethi from the PSL top post.

PSL only exists due to Najem Sethi.

There is NAB reference against him, he cannot stay on while NAB investigates.

Actually, you are crying. Someone who is glad he got rid of the status quo wouldn't cry and resort to name calling like u-turn khan.

Sethi was a political appointment. He was rewarded for helping noora win in punjab in 2013.

oh bhai, every chairman who comes is a political appointment.

You want a fair appointment? then why not have elections amongest all the regional board chairmans?

Even the guy Imran will bring in as Chairman will be based on Nepotism.

You are comparing james sunderland with najam sethi who hire his relative on top media department post in pcb.also he is facing nab corruption case .good bro

PCB needs a new chairman that is competent and based on merit. I don't want any cricketer to be a chairman, most of them are Jahils.

They have no clue of PR, relation building, marketing, and administration .

Inshallah Sethi will be forced to resign, Noora'on ko izzat raaz nahi ati.

Good IK is involved and pressurizing NAB. He is the people's elected Prime Minister. What he says goes. Samaj ayi?

wow :facepalm:

so trying to place a false corruption charge for the sake of it is ok.....

its funny how some people talk about not doing wrong, but when their own resort to it, then its ok.

wow :facepalm:

so trying to place a false corruption charge for the sake of it is ok.....

its funny how some people talk about not doing wrong, but when their own resort to it, then its ok.

He can do it. He has people's mandate to clean the house. You can keep crying.

clean the house?

so kicking out competent people and placing your own TCs in important position is cleaning the house?

NAB has cleared him

but now PTI is pressurring NAB, so please dont give us the lame ** that oh immy aint involved

https://www.pakistantoday.com.pk/2018/08/10/pti-asks-nab-to-probe-pcb-chairman-najam-sethi/

Read your own link... and read it twice. Sethi has refused to release the audit report of PSL despite him being asked to do so, and that is why PTI have approached NAB. Why is he not releasing? Does he have something to hide? It's publics money who is Sethi to not release audit report?

Can you provide evidence that his tenure has been completely transparent?

Do not much about Sunderland but i am pretty sure his tenure was completely transparent.

I told you I have every right to say wrong what is wrong even if he is my favorite.
And let the NAB complete it's proceeding regarding Sethi's corruption and he should be punished if found guilty

Read your own link... and read it twice. Sethi has refused to release the audit report of PSL despite him being asked to do so, and that is why PTI have approached NAB. Why is he not releasing? Does he have something to hide? It's publics money who is Sethi to not release audit report?

If govt of Pakistan or Imran had any power, he could just ask the AGP to do the audit. simple as that.

also NAB themselves found nothing against Sethi.

As I have said before, Najam Sethi has brought this on himself.

If Najam Sethi wants to depoliticise the PCB and ensure it is an independent organisation, then he should practice what he preaches.

How does he justify writing very opinionated political articles and posting political tweets (using the same account as his cricket one) whilst the Chairman of the PCB?

Not only is it unprofessional it is also a conflict of interest- he should pick a role and commit to it. This double hatting reeks of hypocrisy.

If he keeps his opinions to himself then there isn't a problem. By broadcasting his controversial views so publicly he puts himself in a compromised position and it also undermines the PCB's independence.

Imran has been very clear he wants to build institutions. Sethi's behaviour flies in the face of that.
I know it's a difficult concept to explain (not least because it is less tangible than a motorway etc) but building strong institutions is the fundamental building block to securing a country's long term future. That includes the PCB; nepotism and political appointments need to be removed, and instead there needs to be an independent PCB which operates on merit. As long as that is what Imran does I am not worried.

Can you provide evidence that his tenure has been completely transparent?

Do not much about Sunderland but i am pretty sure his tenure was completely transparent.

Innocent until proven guilty!

Bring corruption proof and i will stop posting on this thread.

Assuming for Arguments sake that all these corruption, tax evasion and nepotism allegations against Sethi are true.

Wouldn't Sethi have done something to cover his tracks or have an exit strategy? Wouldn't the smart thing be to have resigned and left the country (I don't believe his name is on the ECL?), Why would he stick around and commit suicide knowing IK and PTI had high chances to come to power?

These things don't add up. When Musharraf resigned in 2008, Nasim Ashraf resigned and got out of Pakistan immediately in next few days and didn't stick around.

oh bhai, every chairman who comes is a political appointment.
so no one should fix this?
You want a fair appointment? then why not have elections amongest all the regional board chairmans?

And Imran will do that as he has promised multiple times. Let's wait and see

Even the guy Imran will bring in as Chairman will be based on Nepotism.
And you can say that how? Plz lend me your crystal ball

Guys, refrain from bringing politics into the thread.

Seth being removed was expected after his diatribe on Twitter against the soon-to-be PM.

My assumption is that the PSL was audited when the financials were discussed in the various Board meetings. I am sure the PCB has an annual audit after its year end by a reputed international accounting firm. How is it possible that the PCB and the PSL were not audited in the last 3 years?

Imran should have learned his lesson after the 35 punctures drama. The false accusation caused him great embarrassment, and PTI had to apologize on his behalf, since his ego was too big to apologize.

There is no cure for Sethiphobia. A very poor decision by Imran that lacks objectivity. Sethi has done an excellent job as PCB honcho and deserved to continue in his role.

[MENTION=135038]Major[/MENTION] read my above post.

Sethi is part of the problem in as much as he is a political appointee; if you live by the sword you will die by the sword. Imran as PM is entitled to appoint a CM of his choosing in the same way NS was entitled to do so.

Thankfully Imran has much more vision than that and wants to make the PCB independent from the government and merit-based. In other words, he wants to limit his power as PM to interfere with the PCB- that is unheard of in Pakistan and would bring us in line with the rest of the world.

Sethi's behaviour to date shows a refusal to work towards this and Imran is therefore justified to take the path he is taking.

so no one should fix this?

And Imran will do that as he has promised multiple times. Let's wait and see

And you can say that how? Plz lend me your crystal ball

their have been reports of waseem akram or some else being named as chairman.

Same reports as the one in OP.

Also, election ain't even possible and i would rather have political appointees being chairman then having elections as i have seen the corruption that happens at club level.

Pakistani cricekt circles arn't suited for having a properly elected chairman. Votes are bought here at club level.

Plus, even if they have elections at director level, you have Sheikh Shakil at that level who could become chairman which is even more dangerous

[MENTION=135038]Major[/MENTION] read my above post.

Sethi is part of the problem in as much as he is a political appointee; if you live by the sword you will die by the sword. Imran as PM is entitled to appoint a CM of his choosing in the same way NS was entitled to do so.

Thankfully Imran has much more vision than that and wants to make the PCB independent from the government and merit-based. In other words, he wants to limit his power as PM to interfere with the PCB- that is unheard of in Pakistan and would bring us in line with the rest of the world.

Sethi's behaviour to date shows a refusal to work towards this and Imran is therefore justified to take the path he is taking.

if you are saying that PCB could elect its own chairman through elections amongest local region presidents, then our cricket is screwed.

Imran should have learned his lesson after the 35 punctures drama. The false accusation caused him great embarrassment, and PTI had to apologize on his behalf, since his ego was too big to apologize.

There is no cure for Sethiphobia. A very poor decision by Imran that lacks objectivity. Sethi has done an excellent job as PCB honcho and deserved to continue in his role.

political revenge, nothing else.

doesn't AGP come under Imran's domain now? Why not get an audit report through them, lol at crying to NAB

But don't we want an independent PCB from political governance?

if you are saying that PCB could elect its own chairman through elections amongest local region presidents, then our cricket is screwed.

Like I said before, building institutions is a difficult concept to grasp but trust me when I say having strong institutions is key to a country's growth.

My assumption is that the PSL was audited when the financials were discussed in the various Board meetings. I am sure the PCB has an annual audit after its year end by a reputed international accounting firm. How is it possible that the PCB and the PSL were not audited in the last 3 years?

even if it was not audited, AGP could come in anytime and do an audit.

their have been reports of waseem akram or some else being named as chairman.

Same reports as the one in OP.

Also, election ain't even possible and i would rather have political appointees being chairman then having elections as i have seen the corruption that happens at club level.

Pakistani cricekt circles arn't suited for having a properly elected chairman. Votes are bought here at club level.

Plus, even if they have elections at director level, you have Sheikh Shakil at that level who could become chairman which is even more dangerous

Reports? The same reports that said Atif khan would be CM KP? Or the same reports that have named at least 11 people as CM Punjab? Or may be the same reports that ensured everyone about Shah Mehmood Quershi being the next speaker. All wrong.

Are you really basing your predictions on these reports? Wasim wont be chairman PCB. That's stupid, and if that happens, I will call it exactly that.

Your last point is exactly why Imran will not have elections right away. He will most likely appoint someone to clean this mess, and then have elections. Like I said, wait and watch. Sethi, Shakil Sheikh etc. are all part of the same corrupt bunch. And in case you didnt know, Sethi's right hand man who is the head of infrastructure is also a close nawaz ally. He will be removed as well

But don't we want an independent PCB from political governance?

We will see how “independent” PCB becomes. If Imran stays true to his word and PCB is freed from all political influences, I will appreciate his decision to remove Sethi.

However, I can’t help but feel that this decision has been motivated by his personal problems with Sethi and he has shown short-sightedness.

Sethi did a very good job and he is not full-time politician. He has differences with Sethi but it is nothing that can’t be solved. He has joined hands with many people that he used to hate in the past.

Like I said before, building institutions is a difficult concept to grasp but trust me when I say having strong institutions is key to a country's growth.

strong institutions are only possible if our education system is revamped. We are made to taught that committing corruption is like committing blasphemy.

You can end up making very fancy and elected PCB head office, but the problem the garbage from the grass roots.

I will describe how regional board presidents are elected.

Every club in a region has a vote, and when regional president elections are held, every club president cast their vote. Now how are votes given to a particular person in the region?

If i have a club, i will need to be promised that 6 of my club cricketers will be selected for u19, while 4 of them will get senior district, if this doesnt happen i wont vote u.

Now to please the club president they wil play his players in the official pcb tournaments.

Now, the problem here is that a very good player from some other club which isnt that powerful wont get to play, because some other cubs player who wasnt that good but was played because his club had a vital vote....

There is too much corruption. And if regional presidents end up at chairman post, hell wold be lose.

Reports? The same reports that said Atif khan would be CM KP? Or the same reports that have named at least 11 people as CM Punjab? Or may be the same reports that ensured everyone about Shah Mehmood Quershi being the next speaker. All wrong.

Are you really basing your predictions on these reports? Wasim wont be chairman PCB. That's stupid, and if that happens, I will call it exactly that.

Your last point is exactly why Imran will not have elections right away. He will most likely appoint someone to clean this mess, and then have elections. Like I said, wait and watch. Sethi, Shakil Sheikh etc. are all part of the same corrupt bunch. And in case you didnt know, Sethi's right hand man who is the head of infrastructure is also a close nawaz ally. He will be removed as well

isnt this thread discussiong taking place on the basis of reports?

We will see how “independent” PCB becomes. If Imran stays true to his word and PCB is freed from all political influences, I will appreciate his decision to remove Sethi.

However, I can’t help but feel that this decision has been motivated by his personal problems with Sethi and he has shown short-sightedness.

Sethi did a very good job and he is not full-time politician. He has differences with Sethi but it is nothing that can’t be solved. He has joined hands with many people that he used to hate in the past.

Although I respect freedom of speech, Najam Sethi was a fool to go out and start taking shots at Imran Khan following his election win.

For e.g. If the ECB chairman was to criticise Theresa May (when she took over from Cameron), the way Sethi did to Imran Khan, he would be pressurised to resign.

Also I have grave concerns with Sethi, with his past and now that we've discovered the PCB accounts haven't been audited. It reeks of corruption.

isnt this thread discussiong taking place on the basis of reports?

Sethi being ousted aren't reports. Imran and other pti leaders have confirmed it multiple times now. Even after the elections. Who he is being replaced by are speculations in reports

Although I respect freedom of speech, Najam Sethi was a fool to go out and start taking shots at Imran Khan following his election win.

For e.g. If the ECB chairman was to criticise Theresa May (when she took over from Cameron), the way Sethi did to Imran Khan, he would be pressurised to resign.

Also I have grave concerns with Sethi, with his past and now that we've discovered the PCB accounts haven't been audited. It reeks of corruption.

I do agree that Sethi should have stopped posting anti-Imran content after he won the elections.

However, had he done that, PTI supporters would have mocked him for being afraid and trying to save his position. Hence, it was a lose-lose situation for him.

I do agree that Sethi should have stopped posting anti-Imran content after he won the elections.

However, had he done that, PTI supporters would have mocked him for being afraid and trying to save his position. Hence, it was a lose-lose situation for him.

Sethi should have stopped with any political work the moment he become PCB CM. End of.

Sethi is the one who wrote an anti-Imran article after his election victory.

Sethi should have stopped with any political work the moment he become PCB CM. End of.

Sethi is the one who wrote an anti-Imran article after his election victory.

I agree that he should have stopped, but it was a lose lose situation for him anyway. Had he stopped, people would have said that he is afraid of losing his position and is trying to repair his relationship with Imran.