[Report] Misbah-ul-Haq unhappy with inclusion of the '112Kg' Sharjeel Khan in the Pakistan squad

Forget his weight, I wouldn't let him anywhere near the Pakistan team after he was convicted of being involved in spot fixing.

will be good to send sharjeel out with the drinks regularly so he loses a few pounds.. i wouldnt play him even if both my openers got injured or were out of form. He is fat and unfit. Imagine Azam Pehlwan and Sharjeel as our openers. lol..we would be a laughing stock..

Its a disgrace that in pakistan people still think fat over weight "jawans" are seen as healthy!!

It wouldn't work. You are dealing with a different mindset.

I have said this before.

You will need to lock them up in a jail for three to six months.
They should be given ONE FOOD serving a day (low calorie) and lots of liquids, and then daily running/marathon of 10 miles, and weights in gym on an increasingly inclined routine. And then, a good long daily rest/sleep hours with no access to internet. Perhaps some TV can be allowed before 9:00 PM

Within six months, you will see the difference.

This will help them get fit, but they MUST pay the cost of this boot camp because, within the next 6 months of release from jail, they will look like Humpty Dumpties again.

What's stopping Fakhar from performing?? He was the preferred opener but the guy has to perform. He has been averaging like 10 or something in T20Is in like 20-25 matches. That's the level of 10 or 11 number batsmen.

Sharjeel is an obese fixer who shouldn't be anywhere near the team.
Regardless, you and every Pakistani fan right now know Sharjeel and Fakhar is your best opening combination for the WC. With all due respect to Babar, he is a wonderful player, but chasing a big score is beyond his capabilities. Rizwan will become unstuck against decent opposition. Hafeez is vital in the middle-order, cannot be moved from there.

Haider etc are disappointing to say the least. Might become one of the many Pakistani cricketers who started with a bang, but faded with a whimper. His game has regressed to the point where he is nothing more than a tullaybaaz at the moment.

Give him a chance, this is not the WC, if he fails he will be out anyways, if he does well then what's the harm? I can understand if you have players knocking the door down, but that is not the case.

It is the runs you score that matter at the end, no matter how fit or fat your are!

Yep, exactly i think PCB are making a special case by bypassing the usual fitness requirements which to be fair isn't really fair on players who really work hard on this but come on you can't deny that hitting. Let me say this if he smacks Rabada around the ground then i will be massively impressed.

Sharjeel
Fakhar
Babar
Hafeez/Rizwan
Rizwan/Hafeez

Number 6 can be anyone from Haider, Malik, Iftikhar, Asif etc. Output will be the same.

That top five has to play for Pakistan in the WC, otherwise we ain’t competing with anyone in our group besides the minnow teams.

Sharjeel
Fakhar
Babar
Hafeez/Rizwan
Rizwan/Hafeez

Number 6 can be anyone from Haider, Malik, Iftikhar, Asif etc. Output will be the same.

That top five has to play for Pakistan in the WC, otherwise we ain’t competing with anyone in our group besides the minnow teams.

hmm i mean Rizwan is doing a good job at the moment opening and t20 intl wise Fakhar wasn't in the best of form averaging what 9 and so does he constitute a return based on the National t20 cup performances and PSL?

I just want to see how this SA series goes, for me Asif Ali being in good form or regaining form would be great for us but he gets out too quickly.

What are Misbah’s honest views on Rohit Sharma?

Would love to know

How can you forget the mastermind of the "run heist"? The professor :hafeez

Ah yes! Our current best batsman in the format.

That just adds weight to my proposal, mooted first by [MENTION=2016]Rana[/MENTION] because we have the master blaster Prof waiting further down the line to flay your Bumrah's, Jofras and Starcs out of the ground. :aag

anyone arguing against this has zero knowledge of sports, or has never in his life played club cricket.

Bowler who bowl well, you cant hit them for shots. Running between wickets come into play and with someone like Rizwan batting, you need to be more proactive.

Sharjeel has it easy, he only has to play shots and he gets his runs. Guy doesn't run at all, and would barely convert a 1 into 2.

Waseem khan is a lunatic. He ended up making a guy selector who had barely played any game for Pakistan. And who is that lunatic dictating? Two players who not only achieved top rankings for their team, but two captains of Pakistan aswell.

Ah yes! Our current best batsman in the format.

That just adds weight to my proposal, mooted first by [MENTION=2016]Rana[/MENTION] because we have the master blaster Prof waiting further down the line to flay your Bumrah's, Jofras and Starcs out of the ground. :aag

Hafeez is the embodiment of the Khalnayak song in the form of a cricketer reinvented:

“Main bhi sharaafat se jeeta magar
Mujhako shareefon se lagata tha dar
Sabako pata tha main kamazor hoon
Main isalie aaj kuch aur hoo”

:hafeez

Sharjeel is a mediocre player who has already flopped at the international level and now he is in his mid 30s with atrocious, embarrassing fitness levels.

His selection in 2021 sums up Pakistan cricket and explains why we are and will always remain the poster boys of mediocrity in international cricket.

The fact that there are people who advocate his selection clearly illustrates that the vast majority of Pakistanis know nothing about cricket.

Truly a bankrupt cricket nation in multiple ways and facets.

Are you serious.. Forget about his weight
He was the only good attacking opener Pakistan found in recent times. Check highlights of his batting from Australia and England

But yes he is overweight.. but at least not mediocre

I'm about 5'7 myself and 17 stone is a lot, certainly it's correct that it's not good on the knees and i have experienced being that heavy myself it's not comfortable at all.

Sharjeel needs to improve his diet, he's already getting the exercise he needs but it's the late night munching or junk food. I would recommend him also doing some HITs

170lbs. Im like 5'10.5 at 160. Thats with like 13-15% body fat. Covid killed motivation last couple months lol.
Luckily gyms are open again getting back to it.

Sharjeel has a thicker build him at 112kg is ridiculous sinces hes like 5'7, even at 170lbs he would be a lil heavy but for him it would be huge lol

If a match winner is over weight and un fit then you get them fit. Wasim has prioritized Sharjeels match winning abilities over his fitness

Glad wasim has backed sharjeel because he has been performing in domestic cricket so has performance to back it.

Inzamam was overweight and was brilliant would misbah be against inzamam ?

Would love to know
[MENTION=9]Saj[/MENTION] can you please slip this question into him. Would he drop Rohit Sharma from the India side if Misbah were the current coach of India?

I wouldn't bet against him dropping the likes of Sharma. He doesn't like aggressive players and those looking to get on the front foot.

Old and love playing dot balls, yes please!

170lbs. Im like 5'10.5 at 160. Thats with like 13-15% body fat. Covid killed motivation last couple months lol.
Luckily gyms are open again getting back to it.

Sharjeel has a thicker build him at 112kg is ridiculous sinces hes like 5'7, even at 170lbs he would be a lil heavy but for him it would be huge lol

I checked the height on Sharjeel and he's about 5'9, i reckon 13 stone would be a good walk around weight for him, it's a problem in Pakistan that we don't do much exercise but doing exercise is part of this guy's job. I don't get it seriously eat right and just walk or something (put the ear buds in your ear and go listen to some podcast).

Yep, Covid certainly killed my motivation (well the second lockdown did anyways) but i'm slowly getting into my grove as well with the help of training apps.

Glad wasim has backed sharjeel because he has been performing in domestic cricket so has performance to back it.

Inzamam was overweight and was brilliant would misbah be against inzamam ?

Inzamam for the 1 time i seen him was an actual grizzly bear, the guy was huge when i saw him in real life and didn't really look fat.

Are you acting funny or are you genuinely serious, you're comparing Sharjeel fatty fixer Khan to the great Rohit Sharma?

Sharjeel can be Yokozona for all i care as long as he bats like Chris Gayle

Are you serious.. Forget about his weight
He was the only good attacking opener Pakistan found in recent times. Check highlights of his batting from Australia and England

But yes he is overweight.. but at least not mediocre

Three useless half-centuries in Australia on pitches where Australia piled up 370+. What is the big deal? He couldn’t win any of those matches for Pakistan and couldn’t convert any of those fifties into big innings.

I watched him in England and he averaged 20 in the ODI series, and his only good innings came in the one-off T20I when England were bored of smashing Pakistan.

He didn’t set the world on fire in the WT20 either.

Sharjeel made his debut in 2013 and he has failed in international cricket 99% of the time. The reality is that he is highly rated not because he is quality but because Pakistan has no talent whatsoever.

Even average players like him look good for our embarrassing standards.

One can only laugh at the audacity of establishing comparisons with Rohit Sharma.

Rohit is not super fit like Kohli or Pandya or some other cricketers today, but he is “cricket fit.” He has similar fitness levels to the vast majority of great batsmen of the past. You don’t need to have fitness levels of Kohli etc. for cricket, it is excessive for the demands of this sport.

Rohit doesn’t cost his team in the field and he scores double-tons and bats all day in the hot weather of India.

Moreover, he is also a legendary batsman. If Sharjeel was 1% the player Rohit is, Misbah would accept him at 132 kg let alone 112 kg.

The real problem is that Sharjeel is an average player who will fail 9/10 times against a good bowling attack. He can only feast on poor bowlers. In addition, he is also a complete liability in the field.

This is yet another idiotic decision by the show-off Mohammad Wasim who is trying extremely hard to win cheap praise from Pakistani fans and project himself as some visionary genius.

Are you seriously comparing sharjeels fitness with rohit sharma? Rohit has gotten very fit. Kohli just dropped 3 players from the squad, including a great tlantned mystery spinner Varun C for not being fit

Rohit was dropped from the australia series for not being fit despite him playing IPL, and despite him declaring himself fit

Some of you guys live in your own fantasy world. You have to enjoy delusional to compare rohit with sharjeel, besharmi ki hadd hai

Pathetic Sharjeel khan fans are comparing his gigantic size to Rohit's
.317497.jpg

Sharjeel-Khan-of-Karachi-Kings_170de1e63a8_large.jpg

Would love to know

Rohit was dropped from Australia squad for not being fit despite him playing IPL and declaring himself fit. He is now pretty fit and back. Kohli just dropped 3 players including mystery spinner and young talent Varun C for not being fit

I know you will ignore all these facts and still repeat same thing blindly. Not all boards and Captains and selectors are as unprofessional

Rohit was fat during IPL but he lost a lot of weight during rehabilitation in NCA before Australia series.

Same for Pant

Forget about the ability

Rohit was fat during IPL but he lost a lot of weight during rehabilitation in NCA before Australia series.

Same for Pant

Forget about the ability

Yep and rohit said he was fit but still was dropped from the australia series and wasn't selected till he got fit. Pant was given warning for being fat and lost 8 kgs during the australia quarantine before being selected for second test.

But such facts don't matter to some people here

Well at least the weight of Sharjeel is exposed at public level. 112kg is embarrassing without bounds. A lot of biryani, haleem, nihari and paye in there.

There is a limit and line for everything and Sharjeel is too fat, simple as that. May have got away with it in the 1980s, early 1990s to an extent but in modern day cricket you just can't be so unprofessional. It goes without saying but...

1. Running between the wickets, quick singles, turning 1s into 2s, running 3 and then the next ball running 3 again etc. These are all important things and no side can win a world cup without being on its game with these things. Sharjeel is simply incapable of this because he is too fat.

2. Fielding. Diving, running after the ball etc. Not everyone has to be an athlete in the field but we cannot have liabilities and he is a liability because he is too fat.

3. Batting. Ok, he can smash a few but to be honest he strikes me as someone who will score 82 from 41 balls in the group stage against Sri Lanka and then fail in a crunch/knock out game.

I would have picked Fakhar Zaman ahead of him.

P.S. Also I don't think anyone who has been involved with bookies or fixing should ever play for Pakistan again.

Pathetic Sharjeel khan fans are comparing his gigantic size to Rohit's
.View attachment 107978

View attachment 107979

My my... Sharjeel looks like a Truck in front of Rohit. But Sharjeel does not have 5% of the ability that Rohit has. Rohit has batted all 50 overs for his double centuries and came back to field.
Takes really good catches in slip and in general.
Shameful to compare an ODI legend like Rohit Sharma to uncommitted, convicted fixer.
[MENTION=2016]Rana[/MENTION] kuch toh sharam kar le yaar. Had ho gai.

T20 is about standing and swinging anyways, not quick singles. That's why Gayle is so successful at them. I think most teams would be smart to pick Sharjeel, unless they have someone better

Well at least the weight of Sharjeel is exposed at public level. 112kg is embarrassing without bounds. A lot of biryani, haleem, nihari and paye in there.

Whether his selection is right or wrong due to his fatness, I feel Misbah as a leader shouldn't be ostracizing any of his players like that. We have seen how such statements can cause rifts within the team.

People have issues with Sharjeel being compared to Rohit and Pant

Rohit looks like a manager at KFC whereas Pant looks like a Deliveroo Motor cyclist. People say Pant can do backflips so he isn’t fat. Ooookaaay then

People have issues with Sharjeel being compared to Rohit and Pant

Rohit looks like a manager at KFC whereas Pant looks like a Deliveroo Motor cyclist. People say Pant can do backflips so he isn’t fat. Ooookaaay then

By that scale, please go ahead and give Sharjeel a profession too. The point will be driven home by itself.

Well tbf he does look like the head chef of a Turkish restaurant in Harringey. But that’s OK because he can smash 200 off 70 balls on Sunday Elliot Davis cricket!

LMAO why are people comparing Shajreel to Rohit ������.
Rohit's been an absolute beast in ODI's for the last 7 years, has 29 odi 100s and 3 double hundreds.
Sharjeel only has 1 odi 100 that being against Ireland
It's honestly sad that people want this absolute disgrace of a player in our team. His batting is below standards, he only performs after being given 2 to the 3 chances per innings, he is an absolute bunny against the moving or swinging ball, he makes Sarfraz of 2019 look like Christino Ronaldo and just to put the cherry on top he is a convicted match fixer thus proving that he does not care about playing for PCT.
But thats all ok because he cant hit sixes and he can be our match winner - half of the posters on this forum

Anyone with history of corruption in cricket at any level should be banned from International cricket for life.

I checked the height on Sharjeel and he's about 5'9, i reckon 13 stone would be a good walk around weight for him, it's a problem in Pakistan that we don't do much exercise but doing exercise is part of this guy's job. I don't get it seriously eat right and just walk or something (put the ear buds in your ear and go listen to some podcast).

Yep, Covid certainly killed my motivation (well the second lockdown did anyways) but i'm slowly getting into my grove as well with the help of training apps.

Lazy culture, high sugar, oil and fatty foods. Good luck with getting the routine back.

Thanks for the motivation bhai.

I mean eating unhealthy foods now and again ain't bad but i reckon first few months diet and exercise right, then if you keep your exercise consistent (i.e. almost every day) then you can afford to binge more often in a week.

It's probably not even laziness sometimes you get caught up during the day e.g. small kids always need attention.

Whether his selection is right or wrong due to his fatness, I feel Misbah as a leader shouldn't be ostracizing any of his players like that. We have seen how such statements can cause rifts within the team.

That's right and would probably (at extreme) be taken to courts in developed countries. Unfortunately this culture is rampant in Pakistan society. If not the coach, someone else from the managerial team will say it, otherwise a journalist will say it, else an ex-player or even a current player might say it at a TV interview.

Usually off-field news make more headlines than on-field so these sort of comments are gold for the media to pick on. The players are equally dheet though and they have to be thick-skinned to survive.

Surely as a professional athlete you see yourself on tv or pictures of yourself and think, no that's not good, I can do better and look better than that. And then make the effort to shed some weight.

With the WC 8 or so months away, Sharjeel's got some time to work on it. Hope he puts the effort in so we can talk more about his explosiveness rather than his fatness.

I mean if he gets down to 13 stone great but at least target losing 2-3 stone at least.

Cycle, run, swim, play football, high intensity workouts there's lots he can do or should do in my view.

Disappointed in Misbah's decision to not play Sharjeel any game. :facepalm: We would not have seen Ranatungas and Inzimams of the cricket world if this logic prevails.

Sharjeel obviously needs to improve his fitness.but he does have skill to win games for Pakistan.atleast wasim is looking at both aspects and not narrow minded like misbah

IF you are a match winner, then you should be in the team. In cricket, 1 unfit player can be adjusted in a team if he is a match winner. Mickey with all his fitness regime supported Sharjeel's inclusion, even in test side.

Sharjeel is much lighter than Rakheem Cornwall

So are most people :)

Rakheem's a spinner who stands around in the slips so to an extent he's not expected to be much of an athlete. But that's not to say that he should be lighter and fitter.

Sharjeel comes from the Inzi and Nasir Jamshed school of fitness and critical thinking. It appears the said batsman loses his "form" or "touch" when he loses weight. Some experts have tried to find logic in those statements and have concluded that "balance", a huge factor in batting can be affected by constant changes in weight. Considering the propensity to enjoy yummy food, the said batsman has decided not to.mess with changes in weight and instead focus on balance at the current weight.

I now wonder with so much pressure on Sharjeel from all quarters, will he collapse in a heap or show up with some good innings and surprise us all?

Sharjeel should not play one match. The selectors can choose the squad, however the coach and captain are responsible for the starting 11.

The thing that concerns me is that the Chief Selector is saying that some players weren't picked due to fitness issues, but Sharjeel has been.

Exactly! How can they justify not picking somebody like Azam Khan when Sharjeel is in the team? Also, wasnt Umar Akmal dropped on the grounds of not being fit? It kinda sends the message that if somebody likes you, they will ensure you are in the team - past transgressions & fitness criteria be like 😳

Main reason why Haris Sohail isn't in the squad is because of poor fitness.

Is he any worse than Sharjeel Khan when it comes to fitness?

Mohammed Wasim has opened up a can of worms and made a mockery of all our so-called selection norms.

People are looking at all sorts of negativity. Maybe the selectors are taking a gamble that getting Sharjeel in the national team might put him in the right environment where he will have no choice but to get fit as oppossed to being out of the team? The PCB is taking the same approach with Azam Khan as well now.

The bigger question is not that SHarjeel is 112 kilos but more why he has not reduced it to more manageable 70-75 kgs when he had so much time ( fitness issues were raised more than 1 year back - that's enough time to get ur act together )

This reflects badly on is work ethic & commitment

Are people here seriously comparing Rohit's fitness to Sharjeel's?

That's utterly laughable. First off, there is no comparison between how fat Sharjeel is and Rohit. Rohit is out of shape but he isn't nearly as bad as Sharjeel who has completely gone off the rails and is remarkably fat for cricket.

Secondly, Sharjeel is not 1/10th the player that Rohit is. He is the kind of guy who plays one good innings in ten matches. In 2016, he was actually improving and going somewhere. And 2021, he is not. But its good that Pakistani fans will get to see this fantasy of theirs play out. Once they see what a failure of a player Sharjeel is they will start clamoring to bring Fakhar back.

Three useless half-centuries in Australia on pitches where Australia piled up 370+. What is the big deal? He couldn’t win any of those matches for Pakistan and couldn’t convert any of those fifties into big innings.

I watched him in England and he averaged 20 in the ODI series, and his only good innings came in the one-off T20I when England were bored of smashing Pakistan.

He didn’t set the world on fire in the WT20 either.

Sharjeel made his debut in 2013 and he has failed in international cricket 99% of the time. The reality is that he is highly rated not because he is quality but because Pakistan has no talent whatsoever.

Even average players like him look good for our embarrassing standards.

There are two problems with your argument here:

1. Name me two Pakistani openers at the time of those contests (or at present) who are capable of producing such knocks?

2. You have to be at least half decent to score even "useless" brisk half centuries against England and Australia. Your main man, Imam, wouldn't do jack against those sides.

No one is saying Sharjeel is good enough to start for the top four white ball sides but he is good enough for a rubbish cricket team like Pakistan.

I wouldn't bet against him dropping the likes of Sharma. He doesn't like aggressive players and those looking to get on the front foot.

Old and love playing dot balls, yes please!

Yep, or he would shove Rohit down at number 6!

There are two problems with your argument here:

1. Name me two Pakistani openers at the time of those contests (or at present) who are capable of producing such knocks?

2. You have to be at least half decent to score even "useless" brisk half centuries against England and Australia. Your main man, Imam, wouldn't do jack against those sides.

No one is saying Sharjeel is good enough to start for the top four white ball sides but he is good enough for a rubbish cricket team like Pakistan.

Fakhar could have done it in 2017.

Today, Fakhar, Rizwan, Hafeez, and even Haider etc. all can play innings like that. Heck, even Iftikhar tonked Australian bowlers in a T20I in Australia two years back.

There was nothing special about Sharjeel’s performances at all - the likes of Starc, Hazlewood, Stanlake, Travis Head, Faulkner etc. were bowling boundary balls on flat pitches with lightning outfields.

The fact that Sharjeel couldn’t convert any of those half-centuries into three-figures summed up his lack of quality.

I don’t care if he is good enough for Pakistan or not when he doesn’t improve the team. With his lack of batting intelligence and temperament and atrocious fitness levels, he doesn’t add any value to the team.

I would rather pick Fakhar over him because he is going to score the same number of runs through boundaries but will probably save more runs in the field and run better between the wickets.

Even if Sharjeel scores more runs, he is not going to outscore Fakhar by a big enough margin to justify why Pakistan should carry this 112 kg sack of potatoes in the field.

Pakistan should go with a top 4 of Fakhar, Rizwan, Babar and Hafeez.

Fakhar is mediocre but so is Sharjeel, and I would rather go with the fit and mediocre over the fat and mediocre.

Mr. PowerPoint got him into the squad but the great thing is that he is not going to get a game as long as Misbah is at the helm and as long as he refuses to work on his fitness.

He may be a match winner on his day, but his fitness is appalling, fielding is poor and running between wickets. He may be a match winner with the bat in terms of explosive hitting, but other than that he's a liability.

Just watch the PSL, he hit well and smashed runs but he struggled with everything else.

With players like Sharjeel there will be no half measures:

On a good day with the bat, his running between the wickets and his fielding will be overlooked.

On a bad day with the bat, his poor running between the wickets and his fielding will be scrutinised.

Tough call this.

Sohail hasn't done anything at all, at least Sharjeel's performed in the PSL - not that I'm saying that's a barometer of high end quality.

Essentially, that's the crux of the matter, Sharjeel's putting himself out there, fat belly and all while Sohail's fallen of a cliff.

Saud shakeel was going to make the squad sooner or later in odis and tests.

Fakhar could have done it in 2017.

Today, Fakhar, Rizwan, Hafeez, and even Haider etc. all can play innings like that. Heck, even Iftikhar tonked Australian bowlers in a T20I in Australia two years back.

There was nothing special about Sharjeel’s performances at all - the likes of Starc, Hazlewood, Stanlake, Travis Head, Faulkner etc. were bowling boundary balls on flat pitches with lightning outfields.

The fact that Sharjeel couldn’t convert any of those half-centuries into three-figures summed up his lack of quality.

I don’t care if he is good enough for Pakistan or not when he doesn’t improve the team. With his lack of batting intelligence and temperament and atrocious fitness levels, he doesn’t add any value to the team.

I would rather pick Fakhar over him because he is going to score the same number of runs through boundaries but will probably save more runs in the field and run better between the wickets.

Even if Sharjeel scores more runs, he is not going to outscore Fakhar by a big enough margin to justify why Pakistan should carry this 112 kg sack of potatoes in the field.

Pakistan should go with a top 4 of Fakhar, Rizwan, Babar and Hafeez.

Fakhar is mediocre but so is Sharjeel, and I would rather go with the fit and mediocre over the fat and mediocre.

Mr. PowerPoint got him into the squad but the great thing is that he is not going to get a game as long as Misbah is at the helm and as long as he refuses to work on his fitness.

I had high hopes from Fakhar up until 2019 but unfortunately he doesn't have the technique to face the hard new ball due to his deficiencies when facing those balls pitched back of the length.

Also, I don't think Fakhar (as an opener) could score brisk half centuries against a decent Australia pace attack.

For Pakistan's low standards, the performances we saw from Sharjeel in Australia were special. Let me emphasise again for Pakistan's low standards. If you're comparing these knocks against the likes of Warner and Rohit then I agree they are not special by any measure.

If Sharjeel can shed some weight and show more evidence of form then I would like to see him open with Rizwan. I just think it's irrational to write him off.