[Report] Taliban impose ban on telecasting the remaining games of the Indian Premier League (IPL)

KABUL: Taliban have imposed a ban on telecasting the remaining Indian Premier League (IPL) in Afghanistan.

According to Afghan media, the ban has been imposed due to possible anti-Islam contents, girls dancing & the attendance of barred hair women in the stadium.

Former Afghanistan Cricket Board (ACB)’s media manager, Mohammad Ibrahim also took to Twitter to share the news.

“Afghanistan national tv will not broadcast the IPL, as usual as it was reportedly banned to live the matches resumed tonight due to possible anti-Islam contents, girls dancing & the attendance of barred hair women in the stadium by the Islamic Emirates of the Taliban,” he wrote.

ARY

Taliban are acting like the ECB. Just be honest, the real reason is India is an enemy, who has been helping to occupy them for the last 20 years.

Taliban need to be honest and admit they see India as an enemy rather than using religion to suppress the rights of Afghans.

This is a perfect example exactly why uniting people merely by religion simply doesn't work. There will be people in Afghan (and some on this forum) who actually think Taliban are being sincere with their "adherence to Shariah" but the Prophet (PBUH) forewarned us about these type of people and described them as the khawariji.

Taliban need to be honest and admit they see India as an enemy rather than using religion to suppress the rights of Afghans.

This is a perfect example exactly why uniting people merely by religion simply doesn't work. There will be people in Afghan (and some on this forum) who actually think Taliban are being sincere with their "adherence to Shariah" but the Prophet (PBUH) forewarned us about these type of people and described them as the khawariji.

The Inds were in Afg to attack us and the Taliban are looking to revenge their enemies. Its all fun and games

Talibs are cricket purists like many of us. :)

I too dislike blalant sexualization of women in form of "cheer leader". :sa

The same can be said for any ideology.

I must say I am surprised with this response. You were one of the most vocal about "how everything is looked through the lenses of religion" on timepass. Your words not mine which I very much agreed with.

Talibs are cricket purists like many of us. :)

I too dislike blalant sexualization of women in form of "cheer leader". :sa

Yeah, desi men have stronger opinions about women's sexualization than women themselves! Lol!

So funny how men in Pakistan put serious thought into what is right and what is not for women, as if the later can't think for themselves.

Really wish our men could just **** and focus on their own selves!

Yeah, desi men have stronger opinions about women's sexualization than women themselves! Lol!

So funny how men in Pakistan put serious thought into what is right and what is not for women, as if the later can't think for themselves.

Really wish our men could just **** and focus on their own selves!

I'm sorry. Women absolutely can decide if they are being objectified. I just think cheerleading as it happens in ipl is not organic.

Please let me have something in common with talibs. They have defeated 2 superpowers and I have nothing in common with them. They must be onto something.

Seems like a made up story. I am sure the talibs have more important things to look at.

Our fans will actually love this.

But sadly this is terrible

Seems like a made up story. I am sure the talibs have more important things to look at.

Naw it’s been reported everywhere.. you really thought Talibanis would change..?

This is probably just the start of things to come.

I don't think there are cheerleaders in this IPL. The Taliban were concerned about an odd woman in the stadium that's blatant enough to show her hair. That violates all of Taliban's principles and is more important than begging for survival.

what a joke?
They should invent a technology , when a camera moves towards a barred woman, suddenly screen shows advertisement..

"Banned hair women" gave me a chuckle. In that case, that rules out the broadcast of not just cricket, but any sort of public event attended by women around the world except maybe the hardcore orthodox countries like Iran, Saudi Arabia, etc. Even generally conservative muslim countries like Pakistan don't have a forced hijab law in place and therefore it's not uncommon to see women without the hijab even in most muslim countries.

What the Taliban should do going forward is collaborate with some country and try developing a software that would filter out women with barred hair seated in the stadium in a tv broadcast or at the very least blur those portions out so that it doesn't offend the religious/cultural sensibilities of their population.

"Banned hair women" gave me a chuckle. In that case, that rules out the broadcast of not just cricket, but any sort of public event attended by women around the world except maybe the hardcore orthodox countries like Iran, Saudi Arabia, etc. Even generally conservative muslim countries like Pakistan don't have a forced hijab law in place and therefore it's not uncommon to see women without the hijab even in most muslim countries.

What the Taliban should do going forward is collaborate with some country and try developing a software that would filter out women with barred hair seated in the stadium in a tv broadcast or at the very least blur those portions out so that it doesn't offend the religious/cultural sensibilities of their population.

Chinese have developed really sophisticated facial recognition softwares. I'm sure Chinese will help out Talibs if Pakistan requests them.

I can also refer to them to "the Third Noble Truth".

"Norodha"

Their country is literally broke, no money for food and medicines yet they these jokers have these things to worry about.

I'm sorry. Women absolutely can decide if they are being objectified. I just think cheerleading as it happens in ipl is not organic.

Please let me have something in common with talibs. They have defeated 2 superpowers and I have nothing in common with them. They must be onto something.

Opposing it because it feels not organic is completely different than opposing it because you think it is "blatant sexualization of women". I can get totally on board with the former but it makes my blood boil when men think they can decide what it right and what is wrong for women!

As for the last part, I hope you are joking lol! We do not need even a bit more of that lot!

The only thing they have going for them is a difficult and mountainous country with plenty of hidey holes.

If Afghanistan was a desert, there would be nowhere to hide.

That, and a bunch of men who believe Islam is about hiding women and eating food and praying to Allah only.

I have no comment on Taliban's ban. However, I feel there's no need for cheerleaders in a game of cricket. It makes cricket feel like cheap junk food.

I must say I am surprised with this response. You were one of the most vocal about "how everything is looked through the lenses of religion" on timepass. Your words not mine which I very much agreed with.

Don't get me wrong or misinterpret my views. They are still the same. But to say religion doesn't unite people is I think, not completely correct. At the end of the day its an ideology that can be a cause of unity and/or division depending on how it is used. I don't think there's any ideology that can completely unite people.

Their country is literally broke, no money for food and medicines yet they these jokers have these things to worry about.

But they have plenty of US made weapons. Who cares about food and medicines?

Would it help if BCCI put Qawwals with harmoniums, tabla and shehnai on the boundary?

For every four, they can play:

“Mian, kya four maariya hai,
Bowler aariya hai,
Aur jaariya hai”

In retrospect probably not as the Taliban don’t like most music either, far less some Sufi inspired entertainment.

Great news. They can broadcast the PSL and this will help encourage friendly relations with direct neighbours instead of those seeking to sow discord by using cricket as a political tool.

But women in attendance at PSL will have to cover up.

That's not going to happen, although women are usually sort of covered up anyway at Pakistan games. But if only shuttlecock burqas are allowed then perhaps Taliban will have to forgo transmitting PSL matches as well.

Plenty of "Barred hair women" (whatever that means) in attendance at PSL too.
Wonder what would they ban next year?