[Reports] Shoaib Akhtar to be appointed Chief Selector - Wise move?

So lots of media reports and TV discussions saying that Mr. Akhtar could be our next Chief Selector.

Questions:

1. Wise move?
2. Is he capable of doing this job
3. Does he know enough about our cricket

Finally:

What will happen to his Youtube channel?

I think he will be a good selector but i am worried about his other job related skills.

So lots of media reports and TV discussions saying that Mr. Akhtar could be our next Chief Selector.

Questions:

1. Wise move?

Finally:

Anyone can be better than misbah
And this proves inzy was the best selector we had in a long time

Is PCB giving chance to all those who are always talk against PCB?
Yousaf, Younas, Shoaib, Razzaq .....

Questions:

1. Wise move?

Finally:

Well it will be egg on his face if he doesn't succeed so there is some personal motivation there for him.

Questions:

1. Wise move?

Finally:

May be this was the only way PCB could get him to close his youtube channel.

Let me ask a simple question in here. Have Shoaib watched or followed Pakistan's domestic cricket off late? My feeling is that answer is no and if its no then Shoaib should not be a Chief Selector.

Worst possible decision that the pcb could ever make.

We are going to pre 2010 days, when the likes of akhtar would create ruckus and go on doing whatever they wanted.
This guy is bad for any organization. He will say something dumb or do something and the whole pcb office would be in news.

A selector should be someone with patience. If a naseem shah doesnt perform the selector still gives him 10 chances. Shoaib akhtar is a type of impatient guy who will throw you out of the team mid game.

He will need to attend meetings, can he do that? He will be incharge of taking tough decisions, can he do that?
There is dofference between a man who goes out and make beutiful speeches and a man who acts as a good administrator.

Cant believe misbah is about to be replaced with this guy.
[MENTION=9]Saj[/MENTION] was right, pcb is saving itself from criticism by hiring its critics

There is a common universal rule. You do not let out secrets of your organixation when you are done working with them.

This guy on his youtube channel lets out every little detail that happened in the dressing room which looks bad. The other day he was telling how yousuf told him to bowl at murli so that his fingers break. Not the kind of thing you need to let everyone know.

Anyways,
Im placing a bet here,
Shoaibs first fight would be with faisal iqbal.

Misbah is an absolute joke. So, even though i am against this, why not. PCB's management is incompetent anyway so expect such stuff from them.

Love it!

The YouTube channel will be on hiatus, but sufficient comedy will ensue with one squad after another!

The only got outcome from this oddselection of Shoaob as aselecor is that we will see some different players as Misbah and Inzi carried out same old faces, the likes of Fahim, Asad S etc.

PCB just want to shut him up and get him to close his Youtube channel. This guy is going to turn us into a laughing stock.

I remember seeing him on TV channels moaning about how Pakistan needed Asad Shafiq and Umar Amin in the ODI side.

I don't think I could trust him to make the right selections if he's given responsibility to opt for his own choice of players.

I wouldn't be surprised if Shoaib Akhtar was given a glorified Chief Selector role, whilst Misbah is still calling the shots.

Up until now I've given Wasim Khan the benefit of the doubt because I personally don't he (nor Ehsan Mani) were behind Misbah's appointment but if this rumour ends being true I will lose all respect for him.

I'm sure [MENTION=2501]Savak[/MENTION] would be delighted with this appointment though.

There is a common universal rule. You do not let out secrets of your organixation when you are done working with them.

This guy on his youtube channel lets out every little detail that happened in the dressing room which looks bad. The other day he was telling how yousuf told him to bowl at murli so that his fingers break. Not the kind of thing you need to let everyone know.

Anyways,
Im placing a bet here,

Irrespective of all his issues, the majority of Pakistanis would much rather have him in a top role than someone from Misbah's status quo brigade.

We need a change of attitude and a change of standards. Akhtar in his playing days despite all the hassles, always challenged the best. I want that mindset to return, and if he can provide it even if there are some statements here and there, I will take it.
The mediocrity era championed by Misbah has to end.

Brilliant ! Looking forward to team announcements on his YouTube channel with a clickbaiting thumbnail. :))

Does Akhtar have the wisdom to judge long term prospects and give them a long rope? He's always seemed like the guy who wants instant gratification and immediate results.

PCB need to hire a selector who watches domestic cricket regularly and able to go to games live. Our selectors usually don't fall into this category. Most of our squads that are selected don't seem to have a plan.

When I look at how India and Australia select their squads, they seem to have a plan and know the role x player will have.

Surely the PCB higher ups are more sensible than this. I dont know of a worse person to take up a position like the Chief Selector than Akhtar.

He is a showman, an entertainer who loves drama and the spotlight. Chief selector position is a low profile one and he wouldnt be able to resist the temptation to issue public statements and rebuttals every day to the inevitable criticism.

PCB need to hire a selector who watches domestic cricket regularly and able to go to games live. Our selectors usually don't fall into this category. Most of our squads that are selected don't seem to have a plan.

When I look at how India and Australia select their squads, they seem to have a plan and know the role x player will have.

well they did. you guys dint like him

Anyways,
Im placing a bet here,

It would be great if Misbah leave Pakistan team with coaching and as a selector. He doesn't have it. But he could do better job as a administrator or MD or holding both position.

Both Wasim and Mani are nothing but waste of money and Misbah if he sets his mind can do better job than them combined.

One thing is for sure - all these yes men like Azhar and Shafiq would get a phenta from Shoaib and they will be replaced with tagde and daleer players. :akhtar

It would be great if Misbah leave Pakistan team with coaching and as a selector. He doesn't have it. But he could do better job as a administrator or MD or holding both position.

Both Wasim and Mani are nothing but waste of money and Misbah if he sets his mind can do better job than them combined.

Misbah is a classic pen pusher just like his prodigy Azhar Ali.

LOL @ Indian selectors having a plan. :yk

1 or 2 bad selections doesn't mean they don't have a plan. I can assure you they are more competent than the Pakistan selectors.

You wouldn't see India with 2 rookie fast bowlers starting and the back up being 2 over 30s with atrocious fitness.

1 or 2 bad selections doesn't mean they don't have a plan. I can assure you they are more competent than the Pakistan selectors.

You wouldn't see India with 2 rookie fast bowlers starting and the back up being 2 over 30s with atrocious fitness.

No they are not, they are probably the worst selectors going on just on par with our current management. Their team is more talented and have a capable captain, and coach at the helm that is why they are good. Otherwise, in what world Dhoni deserved such a long rope and Mavi, Gill are kept at the sidelines?

[MENTION=141114]Hasan123[/MENTION] not to forget the big blunder of not being able to develop a proper number 4 for the indian team. Biryani Rayadu, DK were constantly played without any thought. Take off your tinted glasses and stop being a wannabe Mamoon.

No they are not, they are probably the worst selectors going on just on par with our current management. Their team is more talented and have a capable captain, and coach at the helm that is why they are good. Otherwise, in what world Dhoni deserved such a long rope and Mavi, Gill are kept at the sidelines?

Easy there...you almost called Shastri 'capable'.

If this story is true, which I highly doubt, watch Shoaib do a volte-face and become an establishment figure and start doing Misbah's bidding in the blink of an eye.

All that bombast and hyperbole is merely that, talk.

Shoaib bhai will give many players a phainta.

He will bring back badmashi and harampai. Wonder which alpha males shoaib will select. He will also turn Naseem and Shaheen as arrogant as Starc and Hazlewood.

Shoaib, it's time to walk the talk. If you don't then I can see fans posting links of your videos here and continuously remind you of what you used to say on your channel. Save yourself from embarrassment and decline this offer. :inti

This capable captain and coach have yet to win an ICC tournament for India. Shastri especially is both overweight and overpaid. I am pretty sure he doesn't add any value to Indian team. The only thing he adds is the debit line in BCCI's account statements. :inti

One thing is for sure - all these yes men like Azhar and Shafiq would get a phenta from Shoaib and they will be replaced with tagde and daleer players. :akhtar

I was initially going to protest that Shoaib doesn't have enough cricket intelligence to be a selector, but having watched Pakistan's timid batting displays for the last couple of years, I'm not sure tagde and daleer players would be a worse option. Could do with some batsmen with a bit of fire in the bellies.

Mashallah brilliant decision.I m very very happy.He is very knowledgeable guy.He knows inside out of fast bowling.He will definitely bring changes.

Considering his general opinions and what he talked about, it looked like he wanted to work with the team and probably pacers. Not sure about his knowledge of domestic cricket and how easily he can impart the cultural change he wanted from this position.

Lets see how it goes. I also think cricket fans shouldnt be judging the people from their talks on youtube or media as aim on those mediums is to talk about things in a certain way so that as much people are interested as possible. He had pretty decent cricketing intelligence which can be seen from his playing days, how he can apply that to the role is something we will have to see.

Can Akhtar please unselect Misbah as head coach and Waqar Younis as the Bowling coach??

Considering his general opinions and what he talked about, it looked like he wanted to work with the team and probably pacers. Not sure about his knowledge of domestic cricket and how easily he can impart the cultural change he wanted from this position.

Lets see how it goes. I also think cricket fans shouldnt be judging the people from their talks on youtube or media as aim on those mediums is to talk about things in a certain way so that as much people are interested as possible. He had pretty decent cricketing intelligence which can be seen from his playing days, how he can apply that to the role is something we will have to see.

Problem now for Akhtar - if he does take that role - is that he will be expected to walk the walk

If things go wrong and he is sacked then he will bash the PCB even more. He will reveal some secrets and make claims that certain players were not selected due to the coach or the captain. He will also take credit for the good performance of a player whom he had selected.

If this happens then I may have to give up on Pakistan Cricket...

If they're looking for an Akhtar type but for half the price just go to any looney asylum and pluck one from there.

on a serious note, I hope he can identify solid cricketers with heart instead of the legendary 'softies' (also a harsher word starting with P) that Pakistan has identified as cricketers for the next 10-15 years.

On a side note: Who would have thought last year when Misbah was being given so many powers that Akhtar would be appointed chief selector on top of Misbah who is the head coach. :faf

Don't think what he will do as chief selector, but still there would be 6 more selectors with him also ( CA coaches).

At this point I'd even take some random Joe of the street if the other choice is Misbah. Nobody can be worse than Misbah.

Shoaib could take the job and sleep for the entirety of his tenure and still wipe the floor with Misbah.

Atleast one positive is that Akhtar has no favourites or close relatives in cricket so it will put an end to undue selection of bhanjas and bhatijas.

PCB just want to keep him quiet and they can manage that by keeping him on the payroll. It's what they did with Javed as well after his 3 failed stints as Head Coach.

If he is appointed, I highly doubt he'll be involved with selection matters.

If Shoaib Akhtar is the chief selector and the final authority, I cant see anyone challanging or overriding his decision through back stage politics.

Shoaib Akhtar is the necessary evil that the snakes in the PCB and the Pakistani domestic system need. The guy will make life a living hell for anyone that takes him on. How does this all look on PCB's senior attorney Tafazul Rizvi? Hopefully he pulls the plug on that guy also.

Problem now for Akhtar - if he does take that role - is that he will be expected to walk the walk

Exactly. He has created a certain image and persona of a man who wants bring in change but, actually doing that on the field is the difficult part. There are small obstacles and constraints in almost every job which one cant see from outside, so if he takes the job he will have to overcome those without compromising on his vision which he has marketed.

Shocking!! I am not a fan of Misbah as Chief Selector, but this is madness . .

If anyone has heard his youtube channel, you'd know why! His views on games of cricket are weird to say the least . . His analysis is devoid of any depth! And I haven't seen him go into domestic cricket, really talk about if there's any talent out there, what he sees in talent, how to nurture talent, etc. etc.

Plus, this guy can't get past me, myself and I!

If there's one person who's equipped to being chief selector just by his commentary, its Bazid Khan! The guy knows his domestic cricket . .

Exactly. He has created a certain image and persona of a man who wants bring in change but, actually doing that on the field is the difficult part. There are small obstacles and constraints in almost every job which one cant see from outside, so if he takes the job he will have to overcome those without compromising on his vision which he has marketed.

And his selections need to come off at international level. its the players and their ability to perform that define the quality of the man who selected them.

It's difficult to just boot out a legend like Dhoni you have to understand that.

India have probably the best top 3 in the world in LO how is Gill going to displace them?

If you want to believe that Indian selextors are worse than ours you can believe that.

The rankings and performances of the 2 teams tell you which management is more clueless.

What is Inzimam doing now? Has he given up on coaching? He was a good coach for Afghanistan

[MENTION=141114]Hasan123[/MENTION] not to forget the big blunder of not being able to develop a proper number 4 for the indian team. Biryani Rayadu, DK were constantly played without any thought. Take off your tinted glasses and stop being a wannabe Mamoon.

Your a deluded Pakistan fan who doesn't see how average the selection and coaching is under this management. It's sad that being better than India in selection despite our team being utter crap makes you feel better.

Out of the box move. You have to admire the current PCB administration for taking risks and not going by the book.

I love Akhtar, his personality and his passion, but it seems like Pakistan is hiring someone like Trump here. He can talk big, say what people want to hear, give big speeches, but in the end I doubt he is someone who can get the job done. Add the fact he cannot get along with people and has a huge ego, it just means we are down for some tamasha, where he says big things and then resigns in a huff after a few months, after clashes with others. Then goes on TV and tells whatever happened in private everywhere

Fun times ahead

This would be the worse decision that can possibly be made and I don't believe this to be true.

Whoever appears on pre and post match cricket shows is eligible for an important position in PCB. One less critic or a paid journo is much better than whatever he does with the team. Imran Khan has literally destroyed Pakistan cricket structure by putting Mani in. We are hitting new lows everyday.

I think most importantly, Shoaib has come across as quite reserved and formally-spoken in his public/media appearances since rumors have begun floating around. Interesting to note.

This move has high-risk, high-rewards potential.

High-risk for all the reasons noted in the thread. Akhtar is emotional, doesn't have exceptionally high cricket IQ, outspoken, etc

But, at least on Game On Hai, he's always talking about building stars and playing more aggressively. Perhaps he'll look for more players with those qualities and move away from the long line of mediocre players we have today

Shoaib Akhtar is a mentally immature self centered narcissist.
He seriously has a mild psychiatric disorder, and I don’t think he is a suitable choice for any higher managerial role that requires focus, determination and a lot of patience.

However, he does know a thing or two about pace bowling, fitness routine, and how to avoid injuries.

To get the best out of Shoaib, we could’ve hired him as a limited, part time consultant to work with pace bowlers by removing a full time Waqar Younus.

This is a win-win for me.

He will either walk the talk, or he will get exposed as a talker and will be forced to tone down on his YouTube channel and Game On Hai.

So you either get an improved bowling attack or a quieter, mellowed Shoaib.

Both are favorable outcomes.

This should be interesting. Give him a chance!

Don't think these reports are true though.

Agree with you sir, just a slight tweak imo: ....PCB need to hire a selector who watches domestic cricket *and has cricketing sense*...

If Akhtar is coming in as the CS, I am extremely sorry to say this, but the say has ZERO cricketing acumen, has not outgrown the maturity or a 15 year old and is as much a professional as I am Test ATG player.

This is a win-win for me.

He will either walk the talk, or he will get exposed as a talker and will be forced to tone down on his YouTube channel and Game On Hai.

So you either get an improved bowling attack or a quieter, mellowed Shoaib.

Both are favorable outcomes.

Doubt it. He makes his buck being loud, noisy and obnoxiously so. What I am anticipating is that he will wilt under pressure, have a fallout when he realises how deep the problem runs and call foul play immediately after or near the end of his term saying he cannot do honest work in this kind of set up within PCB.