Sahibzada Farhan Sets New Record for Most Runs in a Single Edition of the ICC Men's T20 World Cup

Major

Test Star
He has broken Kohli's record and now holds the record for hitting the most runs in a Men's T20 World Cup. And this is after having one match rained off and a possibility of not playing a Semi and Final.

What a player this guy is:

1772287902039.png

Seriously though, hope they just leave him alone and let him perform.

Leave this guy out of any stupid locker room politics that ruin so many players

And give him some basic ethics education so the impulse to fix doesn’t arise… dil bohot dafa toot chuka hai yaar

Could very well be a one season wonder like many before him. Has a hackish batting technique. At least he gave some joy to Pakistani fans, I'd give him that much.

I think Pakistanis and Pakistan fans should resist putting him on a pedestal like they do with every player who shows even the slightest bit of performance.

That said, he has been nothing short of outstanding. The first player to score two centuries in a T20 World Cup, and he’s shattered the record for most runs in a single edition by some distance too. Looks like someone with a good work-ethic: visibly stronger, clearly committed to spending time in the gym, and far more assured in his power game. Has also addressed his dot-ball percentage in this tournament somewhat, which was a major issue during the Asia Cup.

Definitely the highlight of Pakistan's campaign. Hope he keeps up this fantastic form, and most certainly should be playing ODIs too.

Could very well be a one season wonder like many before him. Has a hackish batting technique. At least he gave some joy to Pakistani fans, I'd give him that much.

It’s not that he’s a hack, same way Babar wasn’t a hack. The problem is Pakistani players are not evolving with the game. They got found out and can’t adjust and left in the dust.

Seriously though, hope they just leave him alone and let him perform.

Leave this guy out of any stupid locker room politics that ruin so many players

And give him some basic ethics education so the impulse to fix doesn’t arise… dil bohot dafa toot chuka hai yaar
Beyond that, I think social media training is also essential in this day and age. It reflects poorly when players are reposting cheesy fan edits of themselves or sharing posts highlighting the records they’ve broken.

Many of these players come from humble backgrounds, and when they suddenly reach this level of fame, they don't always know how to navigate it. That’s precisely why guidance is important. When you’re a public figure representing your country, how you conduct yourself - both on and off the field - carries weight.

I think Pakistanis and Pakistan fans should resist putting him on a pedestal like they do with every player who shows even the slightest bit of performance.

That said, he has been nothing short of outstanding. The first player to score two centuries in a T20 World Cup, and he’s shattered the record for most runs in a single edition by some distance too. Looks like someone with a good work-ethic: visibly stronger, clearly committed to spending time in the gym, and far more assured in his power game. Has also addressed his dot-ball percentage in this tournament somewhat, which was a major issue during the Asia Cup.

Definitely the highlight of Pakistan's campaign. Hope he keeps up this fantastic form, and most certainly should be playing ODIs too.
He needed support. He didn't got throughout the tournament until today.

Imagine if Fakhar was his partner from the beginning.

Unfortunately Farhan had to do lifting with Agha, Saim and King on his back.

It’s not that he’s a hack, same way Babar wasn’t a hack. The problem is Pakistani players are not evolving with the game. They got found out and can’t adjust and left in the dust.
We shall see, but have to admit even Babar's haters won't call him a hack.

cheetah, sadly won't be seeing him in the semis
markram will be eyeing up his record with zimbabwe in his sights plus 1/2 more games after though

He needed support. He didn't got throughout the tournament until today.

Imagine if Fakhar was his partner from the beginning.

Unfortunately Farhan had to do lifting with Agha, Saim and King on his back.
Yeah rest of the batting was completely zero. If they even had a couple of guys averaging 30 in the tournament at a good strike-rate, then you could have gotten somewhere. But the middle-order was an abject failure.

They wanted Babar Azam to be the glue in the middle-order, but he ended up being the lighter fluid... not that everyone didn't see that coming a mile away though.

The rest of the guys including the captain also proved themselves to be completely lacking in skill, tempo and mental toughness.

Sahibzada Farhan shared following thoughts in post-match presentation:

Sahibzada Farhan | PoTM: First of all, I had it in my mind that, we would do well as a team. The way Fakhar was playing, I actually felt that if he had scored a hundred, it would have been even better for the team. But it was my destiny to get it. Honestly, this hundred did not help the team win. Individually, it was good for me, but it wasn’t good for the team result. Yes, definitely. In the last two or three sessions, I spoke with Hanif Bhai (Hanif Malik batting coach) and told him I was feeling very good about my batting. The way I have been playing. Sometimes you get extra confidence and I tried to keep it normal because I knew when it comes in my range I can hit it easily. As I said before, a lot of credit goes to domestic cricket. I’ve been playing domestic cricket for the last four years. I topped the run charts in domestic cricket, PSL, and finished third in the Asia Cup as well and I top-scored here too. Playing consistently in domestic cricket helped me get used to scoring hundreds at a good strike rate. I think that form is continuing here. Making a record for Pakistan is a very happy moment for me.

Unpicked in PSL

When picked, gets dropped for Joe Clark in KK.

Had to force his way back into the PSL again through his performances in domestic cricket.

Picked against NZ, comes in at 7.

Now, he’s opening the batting for Pakistan, and Babar is on the bench.

So, when you see him celebrating his 100, take into consideration the journey he went through to get to where he is now.

great tournament. I still don't rate him all that against good teams. But for Pak which anyway plays most of its games against mid tier teams or b teams from top tier, he will do fine

The difference between India and Pak batsman are few still playing for their milestones, whereas Indian players play for the win..If Indian openers had such a long partnership they would have converted the score to 280.. unfortunately Farhan focussed for another 100 when you know you need much bigger score..And once he scored his 100, instead of taking team to big score, he gets out..Till 11 th over, the score was less than 10 an over..All his innings are selfish innings..In few years he will be the next Babar azam..write it down..

Unpicked in PSL

Had to force his way back into the PSL again through his performances in domestic cricket.

So, when you see him celebrating his 100, take into consideration the journey he went through to get to where he is now.
He has worked incredibly hard to get where he is and that is something that absolutely should be appreciated. It is definitely an achievement for a player who plays for a team like Pakistan to have this kind of tournament. I think he may have more runs than the rest of the team combined. Also works hard in the gym, which you need to do if you want to hit sixes in this format.

I first noticed him during the 2017 Pakistan Cup when he was lighting the List-A charts on fire. But in between there he fell away and get lost shuffle. In the past 1.5 years though his hard work and the performance speaks for itself. Hopefully he keeps it up instead of going down a similar path of past predecessors.

great tournament. I still don't rate him all that against good teams. But for Pak which anyway plays most of its games against mid tier teams or b teams from top tier, he will do fine
Which top teams are you talking about genius australia don't even name them they got smashed in Pakistan got humiliated in world cup england well he smashed them as well not sure what's your point what team you want to name then.

The difference between India and Pak batsman are few still playing for their milestones, whereas Indian players play for the win..If Indian openers had such a long partnership they would have converted the score to 280.. unfortunately Farhan focussed for another 100 when you know you need much bigger score..And once he scored his 100, instead of taking team to big score, he gets out..Till 11 th over, the score was less than 10 an over..All his innings are selfish innings..In few years he will be the next Babar azam..write it down..
Did you watch the match? He must have spent 3-4 balls in the 90s. It wasn't his fault that the clowns on the other end were throwing away their wickets like expired coupons. When he got to 100 there were still two overs remaining. Also not everything has to be compared to India and Indian players. Indian players have the benefit of going through a highly structured and streamlined system that instills professionalism at a very basic level. They also play in the greatest T20 league in the world where they earn to handle high-pressure at a young age. Pakistani players like Farhan have no such luxury. Without Farhan playing this innings Pakistan would have never even had a chance tonight.

Congrats him for having a great wc... So far he's all about power, need to work on finding gaps/strike rotation..
Yes, finding gaps are important. Only from today's game I remember at least 5 good shots straight to the fielders. He could easily have made 120 today.

But he had a tremendous WC, the only positive for Pakistan. Well done! :)

Did you watch the match? He must have spent 3-4 balls in the 90s. It wasn't his fault that the clowns on the other end were throwing away their wickets like expired coupons. When he got to 100 there were still two overs remaining. Also not everything has to be compared to India and Indian players. Indian players have the benefit of going through a highly structured and streamlined system that instills professionalism at a very basic level. They also play in the greatest T20 league in the world where they earn to handle high-pressure at a young age. Pakistani players like Farhan have no such luxury. Without Farhan playing this innings Pakistan would have never even had a chance tonight.
I have heard same kind of defence for Babar earlier only to be exposed after few years. This is absolute flat wicket, however any batsman should take some time to adjust before go for hitting.. According to me Fakhar played a great Innings with 200 strike rate whereas this fellow, on this belter of a pitch and with support of pathetic bowling from srilankan can score 100 with just 166 strike rate. The longest partnership turns out to be a curse, as they were just above 10 runs per over in 17th over and they were aiming for 240 runs which they couldn't accelerate with limited no of balls..Had any one of these gotten out little early it would have given the other batsmen to settle and slog it in the end overs. But these two batsman didn't give much time for others to settle and hence they end up losing wickets in clusters..Moreover don't say about system.. Countries like west Indies without having great system were able to win 2 worldcups..NZ with their limited resources are able to consistently perform well in every ICC tournaments..If you system doesn't work well, thats because your players are part of the crappy system and you should accept that..

Congrats. LIved up to his hype. Maximized whatever potential he had. Probably experience in domestic helped him read conditions bette.r

Did you watch the match? He must have spent 3-4 balls in the 90s. It wasn't his fault that the clowns on the other end were throwing away their wickets like expired coupons.
Absolutely.

The clowns that kept on coming didn't even give him the strike. They just slogged without a thought and fell one after another. Did it never cross their minds that maybe give the set batsman the strike?

Which top teams are you talking about genius australia don't even name them they got smashed in Pakistan got humiliated in world cup england well he smashed them as well not sure what's your point what team you want to name then.
he will not do well against SENAI consistently. He is just starting his career and will get noted going forward. Come back to this thread in few years and see for yourself. He will do fine, but not top class players to worry top teams

I have heard same kind of defence for Babar earlier only to be exposed after few years. This is absolute flat wicket, however any batsman should take some time to adjust before go for hitting.. According to me Fakhar played a great Innings with 200 strike rate whereas this fellow, on this belter of a pitch and with support of pathetic bowling from srilankan can score 100 with just 166 strike rate. The longest partnership turns out to be a curse, as they were just above 10 runs per over in 17th over and they were aiming for 240 runs which they couldn't accelerate with limited no of balls..Had any one of these gotten out little early it would have given the other batsmen to settle and slog it in the end overs. But these two batsman didn't give much time for others to settle and hence they end up losing wickets in clusters..Moreover don't say about system.. Countries like west Indies without having great system were able to win 2 worldcups..NZ with their limited resources are able to consistently perform well in every ICC tournaments..If you system doesn't work well, thats because your players are part of the crappy system and you should accept that..
You're completely off the ball with your analysis. Both guys played great hands. Fakhar was the more aggressive one but Farhan also batted at a SR of 166, which was very much in line with the requirement of the match, and modern standards. Pakistan should have gotten 30 off the last 2 and if they did they could have ended up with a total in-excess of 230. Comparing Farhan to Babar is a fool's errand because Babar has never played this type of an innings at even 150 SR in a T20 WC, even at his peak.

Countries like West Indies, New Zealand all have players playing in the IPL. Pakistan players don't. That's a massive gap that Pakistan players have compared to other teams that has definitely had a major impact on their T20 cricket. But maybe you are too ignorant to see that very obvious thing.

Correction:

Markram potentially has three more games.

Zimbabwe game tomorrow, SF and the Final (if RSA make it)

Absolutely.

The clowns that kept on coming didn't even give him the strike. They just slogged without a thought and fell one after another. Did it never cross their minds that maybe give the set batsman the strike?
Captain should have come in himself at 3 with a plan

I thought his was a mediocre innings against SL. 60 balls is 10 overs - half the innings. If you can't score at least 2 a ball, that's a net negative for the team, with no wickets lost.

For perspective, all of Babar's 100s were at a higher strike rate.

From 98 to 99 and 99 to 100, he didn't try to hit 4's or 6's. Personal milestone. His single off 18.1 led to a collapse.

Talented player. But perspective please.

I thought his was a mediocre innings against SL. 60 balls is 10 overs - half the innings. If you can't score at least 2 a ball, that's a net negative for the team, with no wickets lost.

From 98 to 99 and 99 to 100, he didn't try to hit 4's or 6's. Personal milestone. His single off 18.1 led to a collapse.

Problem is that a lot of his shots go straight to the fielders in powerplay even though he belts them pretty hard

I counted at least 4 or 5 solid shots which didn’t pierce the gaps and he got 0 for them, that’s an extra 20 runs off 5 balls. His issue isn’t strike rotation, it’s gap finding.

The other thing he messed up on today is the 19th over where I think he should have taken full control of Shanaka and dumped him for 3-4 sixes in the over. He was the set man on 99 and it was his job to just take this crappy mediocre medium pacer down for 25+ runs in the over.

If I am him only person I’m looking up to in the locker room is Fakhar, otherwise at the crease I have earbuds in so I don’t accidentally listen to some dumb advice from Babar, Rizwan or anyone else.
Unpicked in PSL

so many batting talents ruined this way, props to him for not letting it get to himself and continuing to push forward.

With this level of mental resilience he will In Sha Allah go very far.

These posts are SPOT ON.

Other posts going over the top in celebrations are missing the actual point and unfortunately reek of minnow mentality.

If this was done by an opener of a good side, playing half the innings or 10 overs, things would have been significantly different.

These posts are SPOT ON.

Other posts going over the top in celebrations are missing the actual point and unfortunately reek of minnow mentality.

If this was done by an opener of a good side, playing half the innings or 10 overs, things would have been significantly different.
Lol wow. At this rate we deserve Shadab and the “fraud” brigade.

First time in history a Pakistani batter tops the ICC tournament charts at 150+ strike rate… and the complaint is it’s not 200. The irony writes itself.

Support what you have. Critique is fine. But let’s not manufacture it. Everyone can be better than they are, but this was still a very fine innings given the context.

@Farabi If we don’t talk about painful things, we will remain absolute minnows.

Nobody is saying to drop him. Excessive over the top celebrations while ignoring the flaws will haunt us in yet another tournament.

Operation needs to be done on bigger culprits like Agha, Shadab, Nawaz, which everyone agrees on. Cut them loose from white ball cricket.

Things which need to be improved on despite a 100 must still be communicated to Farhan. Else the situation will become the same as Babar/Rizwan scoring runs at their prime but the end result still being the team losing.

If we have other dynamic batters at 3 and 4 then these flaws can still be covered.

He was alright. Pakistan went with 3 specialist batsmen (one of them is useless) Last 5 overs they should have made 65 runs. Whatever Farhan missed Fakhar made up. It allowed Fakhar to go. As a pair they did their job. BUt i do see your point. Many pak fans are surprisingly raising this pointin various social media avenues. But that is not where they lost. I heard this in one of the show, unlike say Rohit sharma who doesn't use muscles to hit the balls , Farhan is using every single nerve in his body to power the ball. Over a period you get tired. He ran a lot of twos as well.Power players lose their steam like this. They need soeone to carry on the good work

Yeah Fakhar did carry a lot of burden and scored at a pace which was commendable.

We could have ended up at 240 if Pakistan was playing proper batters at 3, 4, 5 and a batting allrounder at 6.

Agha, Shadab and Nawaz really are responsible for this loss. They simply cannot bat and Hesson the pathetic coach wants them to play non stop.

One season wonder? Lol. He has been topping Pakistan’s domestic constantly for many years but was unfairly kept out by Saya mafia.

Even before getting selected for Pakistan recently, he was not selected by any PSL team until IU got him as a supplementary player. Extremely unfair treatment with him. Credit to Shehzad for supporting him who himself has been unfairly dropped from test cricket.

Sahibzada Farhan shared following thoughts in post-match presentation:

Sahibzada Farhan | PoTM: First of all, I had it in my mind that, we would do well as a team. The way Fakhar was playing, I actually felt that if he had scored a hundred, it would have been even better for the team. But it was my destiny to get it. Honestly, this hundred did not help the team win. Individually, it was good for me, but it wasn’t good for the team result. Yes, definitely. In the last two or three sessions, I spoke with Hanif Bhai (Hanif Malik batting coach) and told him I was feeling very good about my batting. The way I have been playing. Sometimes you get extra confidence and I tried to keep it normal because I knew when it comes in my range I can hit it easily. As I said before, a lot of credit goes to domestic cricket. I’ve been playing domestic cricket for the last four years. I topped the run charts in domestic cricket, PSL, and finished third in the Asia Cup as well and I top-scored here too. Playing consistently in domestic cricket helped me get used to scoring hundreds at a good strike rate. I think that form is continuing here. Making a record for Pakistan is a very happy moment for me.

Awesome comments! Team should come first. I hope we can get rid off Saya mafia. One can hope.

Unpicked in PSL

Beautifully put, the kind of hell normal players have to go through because mafias dont let anyone get in. This is an indictment of our current cricketing setup. Things havent changed much when Shadab gets parachuted into the squad without any performance and straight as the vice captain. Lol.

Farhan should be an all format player. Period. Hes our main batsman.

That being said, some posters have rightly noted his strike rotation and gap related issues. Hopefully he works on this! Does not matter so much in tests and ODIs though where he should be inducted.

Not sure why our test cricket team has been donated to Shan Masood.

That being said, some posters have rightly noted his strike rotation and gap related issues. Hopefully he works on this! Does not matter so much in tests and ODIs though where he should be inducted.

With all due respect there are other young fc performers who deserve chance ahead of him in Test Cricket.

Including Azan Awais, Saad Baig, Huraira, etc

If you’re going to be negative against the best Pakistani player, at least use your brain.
Sahibzada Farhan is miles ahead of every Pakistani batsman and it’s even more impressive given how little support he had from the system. He’s a prime example of sheer determination and hard work. He’s grabbed every opportunity he was given with both hands.
I remember him spanking Bumrah so not sure what you want him to prove to you.
He’s the reason Pakistan team have been getting scores they have. The rest of the team is mediocre at best.
Scoring 2 centuries in a world cup in crucial matches and being the highest scorer is no joke. Which Indian batsman has done this?
If we have 2 more batsman like him, we would beat every other team in this world cup.

With all due respect there are other young fc performers who deserve chance ahead of him in Test Cricket.

Including Azan Awais, Saad Baig, Huraira, etc

Theres space for these players and Farhan too. We need to clear old garbage out from our teams. They aint getting us any trophies so its time to try the new ones.

I also think Farhan can be an all-format player. His technique is good.

If you’re going to be negative against the best Pakistani player, at least use your brain.
Sahibzada Farhan is miles ahead of every Pakistani batsman and it’s even more impressive given how little support he had from the system. He’s a prime example of sheer determination and hard work. He’s grabbed every opportunity he was given with both hands.
I remember him spanking Bumrah so not sure what you want him to prove to you.
He’s the reason Pakistan team have been getting scores they have. The rest of the team is mediocre at best.
Scoring 2 centuries in a world cup in crucial matches and being the highest scorer is no joke. Which Indian batsman has done this?
If we have 2 more batsman like him, we would beat every other team in this world cup.
I understand your emotion but I would like you to wait and watch next few years to understand the reality. Till then you keep making documentaries and feature films on him..I rate Shanakas and Fakhar Innings much higher than his..

A great tournament for him. Congrats on this record-breaking stint... Keep shining... Should get a chance in Odis as well. We need opener anyway.

I understand your emotion but I would like you to wait and watch next few years to understand the reality. Till then you keep making documentaries and feature films on him..I rate Shanakas and Fakhar Innings much higher than his..
What happens in the next few years doesn’t matter and doesn’t discount his performances. You’re basically undermining his performance based on your “feeling” of him declining in future. Lol

My analysis is after seeing all his performance and its impact on the team..I never said he didn't perform, but his performance was all against weaker bowling sides. Also, post powerplay his strike rates crashes down..No proper rotation of strikes, many mishits initially to survive, No doubling of the strike rates in death overs, more selfish when nearing the milestones..these are not the trait of modern T20 players..in yesterday's match also, Srilanka almost scored the same no of runs, even when their batsmen didn't try to win on their first 10 overs..Earlier Babar did the same gimmick and this Farhan is just an upgraded version of him..

Problem is that a lot of his shots go straight to the fielders in powerplay even though he belts them pretty hard

I counted at least 4 or 5 solid shots which didn’t pierce the gaps and he got 0 for them, that’s an extra 20 runs off 5 balls. His issue isn’t strike rotation, it’s gap finding.

The other thing he messed up on today is the 19th over where I think he should have taken full control of Shanaka and dumped him for 3-4 sixes in the over. He was the set man on 99 and it was his job to just take this crappy mediocre medium pacer down for 25+ runs in the over.
He has to work on his dot ball issues
Look for singles and doubles
Keep rotating the strike instead of smashing every bowl for boundary

But he is the best we got at the moment and it has been great achievement wish we had played better against England so we might have made it to semis

My analysis is after seeing all his performance and its impact on the team..I never said he didn't perform, but his performance was all against weaker bowling sides. Also, post powerplay his strike rates crashes down..No proper rotation of strikes, many mishits initially to survive, No doubling of the strike rates in death overs, more selfish when nearing the milestones..these are not the trait of modern T20 players..in yesterday's match also, Srilanka almost scored the same no of runs, even when their batsmen didn't try to win on their first 10 overs..Earlier Babar did the same gimmick and this Farhan is just an upgraded version of him..
So what’s your point then? He should be discarded and replaced by someone more “selfless”?
You compared him to indian players who have the luxury of a more robust system, get a ton of money spent in them, in relation to them, Farhan is worth his weight in gold. Unless someone can step up and match his performance, he can play however he wants as long as he’s scoring runs at a high strike rate. You can’t have 9 players failing in a team of 11 players and pass the blame to Farhan.