Sanjay Dutt diagnosed with lung cancer [Post#175]

Sanju baba helped the Masterminds of 93 Mumbai blasts ( in which 257 people were killed ) in hiding their weapons at his house. Since Sanju was son of an MP( MEMBER OF PARLIAMENT ) his terrorist friends thought that nobody would think about searching his house.

well deserve punishment thn

Practically speaking, i doubt they will let him go to jail. Too much money riding on him, they will probably ask the President, PM or CM to pardon him.

Mr Katju has just done it already...he is asking for forgiveness !!! And this is "educated"Indian !!!!

250 crores riding on him apparently....

Mainly Aamir Khan's Peekay which is 50% complete.....he is playing a big important role

Policegiri which is 80% complete....but he is the only hero...so they are saying he will complete this and scenes in Aamir's Peekay

and Karan Johar's production "Unglee" ...which is 30% complete.....and he will be replaced and scenes will be reshot with new actor....

and few more small characters in few movies which he will be most probably replaced....

Did people see Katju's please??? he sited revival of Gandhi Giri through Munna bhai, charity done by Sunil and nargis among some of the reasons....he has been our supreme court judge!!!!!!!

no wonder we give justice 20 yrs after the crime!!!!!...when it becomes insignificant to the victim...and almost seems unjustice to criminal himself for going to jail after correcting and becoming normal human 20 yrs later!! Pathetic on all the levels

Better late than never does not work here....Justice delayed is justice denied !!!

Did people see Katju's please??? he sited revival of Gandhi Giri through Munna bhai, charity done by Sunil and nargis among some of the reasons....he has been our supreme court judge!!!!!!!

no wonder we give justice 20 yrs after the crime!!!!!...when it becomes insignificant to the victim...and almost seems unjustice to criminal himself for going to jail after correcting and becoming normal human 20 yrs later!! Pathetic on all the levels

Better late than never does not work here....Justice delayed is justice denied !!!

Is it true that they were working on a new munna bhai?

also why are people dragging Salman Khan (by saying being human)? is it because he ran over a few ppl with his suv (dont know if they died)??

^^^^

Yes....that and he killed endangered species...

and then had connections with Mafia..and harrassed aishwarya to Dance in a function organized by dawood and co...and there is a phone tapping of it that was released to public...aish keeps refusing and salman bhai keeps abusing her....and threatening her...you can google....there are transcripts of the conversation....

and more than few reported incidents of him harrassing and beating his colleagues and girl friends in public....

but dont worry....too much money riding on him...in thousands of crores...he is not going to jail...our judiciary does not work that way:D..I will actually be suprised if Sanju baba goes to jail too ...a month is too much time..they will find something

^^^^

Yes....that and he killed endangered species...

and then had connections with Mafia..and harrassed aishwarya to Dance in a function organized by dawood and co...and there is a phone tapping of it that was released to public...aish keeps refusing and salman bhai keeps abusing her....and threatening her...you can google....there are transcripts of the conversation....

and more than few reported incidents of him harrassing and beating his colleagues and girl friends in public....

but dont worry....too much money riding on him...in thousands of crores...he is not going to jail...I will actually be suprised if Sanju baba goes to jail too ...a month is too much time..they will find something

I see. Apparently his sister (sanju)is a politician, like her dad so that would help his cause.

But it could be someone else faking Salman's voice..I mean how hard is it.

BTW, did SK kill the people he ran over?I know he turned himself in...and started riding on a bicycle..well at least thats what the indian news was showing that day.

Salman Khan didnt commit murder..that was culpabale homicide. regarding killing endangered species, i dont mind it..harassing aishwarya rai..if she didnt complain then others dont need to take suo moto notice for that..connection with underworld..where is the proof..and i am sure entire bollywood is connected with underworld..salman khan is needlessly being dragged in this thread. only thing he should be punished is for that hit and run case.

If you dont mind it,does not mean the law should not mind it !!! if not jailed...some sort of verdict should be out on that.....

abt Ash....true.... !!! and if whole bollywood is connected with mafia....whole bollywood should be questioned.....but I guess you cant arrest people for acquaintance ....

Proof should be found.....him asking her to perform in that party was lead enough to question him....but 2 days later....it was found out "FAKE" !!!

yeah..hit and run is a crime too....he should be arrested for that !!

and btw...did you read this news...even pics are on the web about Salman Bhai threatening the farmers to move and clean the place and find a new place...because it is spoling the view of his newly constructed home in mumbai ....dude is a A class retard.....and ego maniac with yes men like his brothers,Arjun Kapoor stroking his ego !!!!!

but yeah...he can only be arrested for hit and run...how many years according to indian judiciary for hit and run..any idea ??

What about Saif, didn't he punched some old guy, lets drag him in this too.

And SRK too. Wasn't he forcefully removed and banned from the cricket stadium in Mumbai and also hit some guy at a party for making fun of RA 1.

lol at the middle class which has suddenly become self righteous and wants every big name to be punished for every crime, no matter how small..they have suddenly woken up on the side of the law..when in fact they will be the first ones to go to jail if all laws are applied.. always love it when the morally corrupt middle class tries to find scapegoats to make itself feel good.

Sanjay Dutt gets five-year jail sentence in 1993 Bombay blasts case

lol at the middle class which has suddenly become self righteous and wants every big name to be punished for every crime, no matter how small..they have suddenly woken up on the side of the law..when in fact they will be the first ones to go to jail if all laws are applied.. always love it when the morally corrupt middle class tries to find scapegoats to make itself feel good.

Where do you belong? Communist middle class? :D

What about Saif, didn't he punched some old guy, lets drag him in this too.

And SRK too. Wasn't he forcefully removed and banned from the cricket stadium in Mumbai and also hit some guy at a party for making fun of RA 1.

I think those are personal incidents....and situations !!!!!!!! Many people including you me have gotten into or atleast seen people get into....punchingi n a party....bad mouthing some authority .....They are not fine or good behaviour....but normal....

however asking fishermen to move from their own place for something as silly as his view is just taking it to whole different level.....

he only asked fishermen to remove their fishing nets which was obstructing his sea side view..what is wrong with that?? you don buy an expensive sea facing property to see fishermens paraphernalia..this thread has become an excuse for people to pour their hatred for every celeb..especially if the surname is khan.

"The fisherman's family was called to Bandra police station today, where their statements were recorded," a police officer said. The family has also given investigators a written joint statement.

The actor, his father Salim Khan and at least five of their body guards are likely to be summoned soon, so that their statements too are recorded, the police officer said.

The actor landed in the thick of controversy after the fisherman's family alleged that he, his father Salim Khan and their bodyguards allegedly threatened them to shift their boats and fishing nets from the beach, since these "blocked the sea view" from the star's recently purchased Bandra West suburban sea-facing residence.

Salman Khan. File Pic

Recently, Additional Police Commissioner Vishwas Nangre Patil had assured fisherman Lawrence Falcon (65), his family and various citizens' associations, that Deputy Police Commissioner Chhering Dorje would conduct an impartial inquiry into the matter.

Three complaints had already been filed by the fisherman's family at the Bandra police station in September 2011, as well as in May and December last year.

However, instead of registering FIRs against the actor, his father and bodyguards, the police registered only non-cognisable offences, the fisherman had alleged.

The actor had bought two cottages, 'Belle View' and 'Benar', at suburban Bandra West's sea-facing Chimbai area in 2011 and had barricades put up around them.

The fisherman's family, which parks their boats and puts up fishing nets on the beach, had alleged that the actor's bodyguards began harassing them soon after he purchased these cottages.

Falcon had also alleged that plastic sheets used to cover their boats began disappearing. He had alleged that one of his family members was assaulted by the actor's bodyguards.

The family stated that the Khans had also offered them money if they removed their boats and fishing nets from the beach.

Falcon had also alleged that they threatened to sack him from his job as a liftman at Galaxy Apartments, the building in which the Khans have a residence.

The fisherman, who is a senior citizen, has been working in the building for the past 40 years.

Sure Definately sounds like he "ASKED" !!!!!!!!!!! It is their property..they will keep whatever they want....do you even know how big fishing boats and nets are......Do you think they have bungalows??

DO you know threatening somebody is an offence?? I am not asking him to go to Jail....but This Salman Khan is a A grade Tool !!!!!

Few film media people toolk photos of him "ASKING" !!

salman-fight.jpg

I think those are personal incidents....and situations !!!!!!!! Many people including you me have gotten into or atleast seen people get into....punchingi n a party....bad mouthing some authority .....They are not fine or good behaviour....but normal....

however asking fishermen to move from their own place for something as silly as his view is just taking it to whole different level.....

Maybe you and other Bollywood fanboys need to boycott his movies, that would hurt him where it matters he most. But no, you guys will keep defending those idiotic movies of his as halla gulla fantasy harmless fun, which only people without a chip on their shoulder can enjoy. Put your money where your mouth is fella. Do something about this injustice rather then just cribbing about it.

how did media people know that salman was going to meet the fisherman..looks staged by the fisherman so that he gets into news..and it is not like he has assaulted the guy..he was just asking..not salman's problem that he is a hunk and looks threatening.

agree totally. sab apne aap ko qanoon ke rakwale samajhne lagen hai. but will be the first ones to use influence or offer bribes to get out of tricky situations, such hypocrites..

sunjay dutt may be foolish and gullible but the last thing the man is- is a terrorist. its good to see the law being applied to all, but the crime does not fit the punishment in this case.

Maybe you and other Bollywood fanboys need to boycott his movies, that would hurt him where it matters he most. But no, you guys will keep defending those idiotic movies of his as halla gulla fantasy harmless fun, which only people without a chip on their shoulder can enjoy. Put your money where your mouth is fella. Do something about this injustice rather then just cribbing about it.

Whaaaaat???????????

How did enjoying movies translate to supporting his off screen activities ???? I dont need to agree with an actor's life style or his personality to enjoy a movie he makes or acts in .... It is the judiciary's job to make sure everybody is equal...not a movie audiences!!!

I will continue supporting his movies as long as he entertains me.....and Salman Khan will continue being Salman Khan.....but it is the judiciary who should look beyond a person's status in the society.....

People watching his movies are not giving a certificate for him to act like he wants ? Are we???

well..when you support his movie, a part of money goes to him from which he buys a bungalow and threatens your fisherman, so that you express your outrage here..when you are a participant to the whole cycle yourself.

agree totally. sab apne aap ko qanoon ke rakwale samajhne lagen hai. but will be the first ones to use influence or offer bribes to get out of tricky situations, such hypocrites..

sunjay dutt may be foolish and gullible but the last thing the man is- is a terrorist. its good to see the law being applied to all, but the crime does not fit the punishment in this case.

True at the first paragraph..!!!!

I think Crime fits the punishment....but at this point in his life...and for the victims...it does not make sense....you punish for justice and for rehabilitation.....Sanju is a changed man now.....but I think he also should accept responsibility for what he did that making statements as if he innocent.....

Whaaaaat???????????

How did enjoying movies translate to supporting his off screen activities ???? I dont need to agree with an actor's life style or his personality to enjoy a movie he makes or acts in .... It is the judiciary's job to make sure everybody is equal...not a movie audiences!!!

I will continue supporting his movies as long as he entertains me.....and Salman Khan will continue being Salman Khan.....but it is the judiciary who should look beyond a person's status in the society.....

People watching his movies are not giving a certificate for him to act like he wants ? Are we???

images

well..when you support his movie, a part of money goes to him from which he buys a bungalow and threatens your fisherman, so that you express your outrage here..when you are a participant to the whole cycle yourself.

What crap !!!

Money goes for his bungalow..

him threatening the fisherman is his action and his responsibility!!! Us paying him money for entertainment does not mean he can go bully around....Me paying for getting entertained is my right...him getting paid is his right.....him buying bungalow is his right....but him threatening the fisherman to movie away from his property is being obnoxious !! When I pay for the movie...I pay for the movie...not his off screen nonsense!!! So should we eradicate him from all the responsibility then because we pay him money????

Now we are down to blaming the public for watching the movies for the stars actions??? Does it even make any sense????

I will try to explain..

Deal between me and Salman is ...he entertains me....I pay him money....

Now that is where it ends !!!

What Salman does in his private life is his responsibility...

I do not get a peek into his bedroom because I pay him money for his movies....that is not fair for Salman...and it is equally unfair on the audience to ask them to share responsibility for his actions outside the movie...makes sense??

No?

What crap !!!

Money goes for his bungalow..

him threatening the fisherman is his action and his responsibility!!! Us paying him money for entertainment does not mean he can go bully around....Me paying for getting entertained is my right...him getting paid is his right.....him buying bungalow is his right....but him threatening the fisherman to movie away from his property is being obnoxious !! When I pay for the movie...I pay for the money ...not his off screen nonsense!!! So should we eradicate him from all the responsibility then because we pay him money????

Now we are down to blaming the public for watching the movies for the stars actions??? Does it even make any sense????

you are not guilty in this case..but now that you know he is an A grade tool..and you still do anything that provides revenue to him..then you are giving him more power..and then you are also guilty. but to be fair to you, your financial contribution will at best buy a milkshake for salman..so dont be too guilty.

Look....I will give money to an A grade tool until he makes good movies...I am only giving him money....Stopping the money from translating into power is the judiciary's Job. Not movie audiences.

No...I am done when you start talking personal about where I am from and make generalizations of millions of hard working people......I have argued on every point you make until you made them on topic....not going to reply to personal remarks which talk about the poster but not the post !!!!Sorry !!!!

i dont know why you see that as an insult..middle class morality is known for its hypocrisy..biggest cheerleaders of the elites when it suits them..and at the same time jealous and angry at what the elite gets away with.

Achaa...you say this
.middle class morality is known for its hypocrisy..biggest cheerleaders of the elites when it suits them..and at the same time jealous and angry at what the elite gets away with.

and then include me in it...and then ask me why I think it is personal ?? Nice...makes perfect sense !!!!!Not gong to stop you from making sweeping generalizations..and making millions of people sound like uni dimensional caricatures....I will leave that to your sensibility !!!! you have fun.....

the salman aish tapes were fake acc to Bombay police commisioner

http://www.dnaindia.com/mumbai/report_salman-tapes-bogus-says-forensic-lab_2258

Are people that khuar to create fake tapes on Salman? Fact is that guy has always been above the law which is the main reason why he continously gets away with the wild indisciplined lifestyle he leads. He is a bully bossy individual who has too much power in the industry to single handedly destroy anyone not in his good books.

It is no secret about his abusive violent attitude towards his gf's, most girls cozy up to him because they want to be successful in bollywood and not many dare to speak out against him because they dont want to put their careers in jeapordy.

Achaa...you say this

and then include me in it...and then ask me why I think it is personal ?? Nice...makes perfect sense !!!!!Not gong to stop you from making sweeping generalizations..and making millions of people sound like uni dimensional caricatures....I will leave that to your sensibility !!!! you have fun.....

ok navroks, sorry!! sometimes i cross my boundaries..this time i am gentleman 2.0, in your face and cocky..just trying to reinvent myself and give myself some personality. but sorry to include you in that..in truth, i have always hated the middle class because i come from poverty..just never got over my hatred for them who had what i never had. hope you understand. in real life you wont even let me wash your car..it is only the internet where i can reach the drawing rooms of the rich and the upper middle class..the internet is the great leveler for me..gives me some sadistic satisfaction..hope you understand where i am coming from.

Salman's misdemeanours

1) Abusive attitude towards girls and ex girlfriends
2) Killing that endangered specie
3) Homicide by running over a pedestrian while drunk driving inspite of being told by his driver not to drive (at this stage in his life he was hurting badly because Aish dumped him and his films were flopping in the box office)

These 3 things can all land him in jail for a long time.

Other than that i abhor him for the indisciplined lifestyle and his bullish, arrogant attitude. He has too much power in the industry and he uses it very unfairly, he demands people to suck his *@* otherwise he will use all his power and might to destroy their careers prime example being Vivek Oberoi. No one has the guts to stand up to him or speak out against him because they know full well it will spend the end of their careers because the guy is so well connected to the powerful bollywood producers, directors and will demand all his friends, colleagues to boycott his enemies.

I do know for a fact that the main reason why Salman wanted to destroy John Abraham after the Rockstar tour of 2006 was because he was the only actor who had the guts to tell Salman off at his face and not put up with his bossy attitude and unreasonable dictats. John just stood up and did what any self respecting person would do, Sallu was the one who never forgave John for this and publicly made statements against him, tried to avoid, boycott him but John was no Vivek Oberoi, he worked hard and continued to survive in the industry because of his hard work, struggle and is now a producer.

I am pretty certain he has stary tantrums, never comes to his shoots on time, shoots whiskey like water. No one is perfect in this entertainment business but Salman's indiscretions i cannot tolerate, he deserves to go to jail more than Sanjay Dutt.

@avenger, somehow i feel you have some personal grudge against salman khan and are out to avenge it.

Are people that khuar to create fake tapes on Salman? Fact is that guy has always been above the law which is the main reason why he continously gets away with the wild indisciplined lifestyle he leads. He is a bully bossy individual who has too much power in the industry to single handedly destroy anyone not in his good books.

It is no secret about his abusive violent attitude towards his gf's, most girls cozy up to him because they want to be successful in bollywood and not many dare to speak out against him because they dont want to put their careers in jeapordy.

he may be all of those things but the tapes are fake according the bombay police commisioner. no idea what khuar is or who would create the tapes, but i am guessing there are more than enough people who hate him ?

ETA Hmm thats quiet a thesis by avenger about SK! i guess its not hard to see why someone who hates Salman would want to implicate him in something he has'nt done?

ok navroks, sorry!! sometimes i cross my boundaries..this time i am gentleman 2.0, in your face and cocky..just trying to reinvent myself and give myself some personality. but sorry to include you in that..in truth, i have always hated the middle class because i come from poverty..just never got over my hatred for them who had what i never had. hope you understand. in real life you wont even let me wash your car..it is only the internet where i can reach the drawing rooms of the rich and the upper middle class..the internet is the great leveler for me..gives me some sadistic satisfaction..hope you understand where i am coming from.

Dont reinvent yourself..when there is no need to.....if internet is a leveler for you....it is also place where you can speak your mind without diplomacy, hatred....due to anonymity (oh well :D).....About you coming from poverty...I am not the one to teach life lessons....but that is not the way you look upon people who have stuff you do not have..you dont hate people for being born into families....even from your experience...you should know that middle class probably has hard working ...now that you are in usa and probably working.... that moving to middle class after the struggle of being poor is not easy...I think majority of indian middle class today are like that....and you seem to know that it is wrong too....so I guess work on it lol !!!!

Sanjay to try and complete pending films in four weeks

Bharati Dubey, PTI | Mar 22, 2013, 04.21 AM IST

MUMBAI: With the Supreme Court awarding a five-year sentence to Sanjay Dutt in the 1993 serial blasts case and giving him four weeks' time to surrender, the actor is in a race against time to try and complete all his films.

Dutt has about Rs 250 crore riding on him with four films under production: Raju Hirani's P.K., T P Agarwal's Policegiri, Apoorva Lakhia's Zanjeer and Karan Johar's Unglee. A close friend of the actor said: "Dutt has told his producers to finish as much shooting as possible before he surrenders.Also, I am sure he will try and complete his films as I remember that after. When he got bail for the first time in 1995, he had to attend court regularly during the day so, he shot his films in the night for nearly a year-and-a-half before he got an exemption from the court."

Agarwal said: Dutt has decided to complete his film before the four-week deadline given to him by the court to surrender.

"My son Rahul met him on Thursday. The first thing Sanju told him was 'Let's finish your film'. I know he will shoot for my film from Friday." The Rs 35-crore Policegiri is slated for release later this year. But Karan Johar's Rs 35-crore Unglee is incomplete. A source from the production house said 30% of shooting with Dutt is yet to be done. Dutt, who is doing a cameo in P.K., has completed about 20 days of shoot. He
needs to shoot for five more days for the film, which is being produced by VidhuVinod Chopra, Aamir Khan and Hirani, and Zanjeer, in which he essays the role of Sher Khan, is slated for a June release.

Trade analyst Amod Mehra said: "I am told that Dutt has 12 days of shooting left for Policegiri. As he has four weeks to surrender, he may be able to finish Zanjeer. If he fails to complete the films, they may have to replace him or snip his role."

Speaking about how these films could fare at the box office, trade analyst Taran Adarsh said: "A lot of it depends on the content. Khalnayak released when he went to jail; in that he played the lead. Of the four films he has on the floors, he plays the lead only in Policegiri."

In 1994, when Dutt was sent to jail, Anil Kapoor replaced him in Trimurti, Akshay Kumar's role in Amaanat was increased, and Mahanta, Vijeta and Shatranj were delayed.ENT-DUTT-PROJECTS (RPT) - Rs 250 crore riding on Sanjay Dutt movies?Mumbai, Mar 21 (PTI) With Sanjay Dutt having to undergo a jail term of three-and-a-half-years following a Supreme Court order today, Bollywood trade analysts estimate that around Rs 250 crores are at stake involving his big budget film projects.

The apex court today upheld Dutt's conviction for illegal possession of arms in the 2003 Mumbai blasts case.

"As per the back-of-the-envelope calculations, around Rs 250 crore are riding on Sanjay, involved in various projects. These projects include big ticket upcoming movies 'Peekay', 'Policegiri', 'Zanjeer', 'Ungli' among others," sources said.

Among the upcoming projects involving the 53-year-old actor is 'Ungli', produced by Karan Johar's Dharma Productions, also starring Emraan Hashmi and Neha Dhupia.

When contacted, a top source at Dharma Productions said, "Bollywood is distraught over the SC judgement today. The shooting of 'Ungli' concerning Sanjay Dutt's part is complete and only some portion of it is remaining to be completed."

He, however, refused to share the amount of money at stake on Sanjay in the project.

Among other projects having Sanjay on board is "Zanjeer", directed by Apoorva Lakhia. Sanjay is reprising the role of Sher Khan, epitomised by veteran actor Pran in the original movie.

According to sources, around Rs 50-60 crore are at stake in 'Zanjeer', while Rs 25 crore on 'Policegiri', which is the remake of a South movie. Sanjay is starring opposite Prachi Desai in the film.

"We have completed shooting for 'Zanjeer'. The verdict is shocking and I feel shattered. I am not worried about his (Sanjay's) presence for post-production and other formalities... My concern is that he fights back," Producer Amit Mehra said.

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/...-films-in-four-weeks/articleshow/19119022.cms

@avenger, somehow i feel you have some personal grudge against salman khan and are out to avenge it.

No personal grudge, i love his movies but if someone can argue against my points i will happily concede but he deserves to go to jail more than Sanjay.

Katju urges Maharashtra governor to pardon Sanjay Dutt

TNN | Mar 22, 2013, 01.56 AM IST

NEW DELHI: Press Council of India (PCI) chief Justice (retired) Markandey Katju on Thursday appealed to Maharashtra governor K Sankarnarayanan to pardon actor Sanjay Dutt who was awarded five years of imprisonment by the Supreme Court in the 1993 Mumbai blasts case.

Katju sought pardon for Dutt under Article 161 of the Constitution saying that he had not been found guilty of having played a role in the 1993 blasts and had suffered a lot.

Seeking pardon for Dutt, the PCI chief cited how the actor had through his film revived the memory of Mahatma Gandhi and the message of the father of the nation — an apparent reference to "Gandhigiri" in his Munnabhai films.

In a statement issue here, the PCI chief said the Supreme Court, having found that Dutt had in his possession a prohibited weapon without a licence, awarded him the minimum imprisonment which was prescribed under law.

"Section 25 (1(A) of the Arms Act states that if a person has in his possession a prohibited weapon without a licence, he shall be awarded punishment of not less than 5 years imprisonment and not more than 10 years," Katju said.

He added the power of pardon under Article 161 by the Constitution is different from judicial power as the Governor or the President can grant pardon or reduce the sentence of the court even if a minimum is prescribed.

"Hence, there is no doubt that the Governor can grant pardon/reduce the sentence. For example, in the case of Commander Nanavati who was held guilty of murder, the Governor gave him pardon although the minimum sentence for murder is life sentence," Katju said.

He said the Supreme Court had not found Dutt guilty for the 1993 bomb blasts but only found him guilty of having in his possession a prohibited weapon without licence. "Surely, this is a lesser offence than murder. When the Governor of Maharashtra granted pardon to Nanavati, surely he can grant pardon to Sanjay," Katju said.

He added though Dutt had committed an offence there, are extenuating circumstances like that the event happened 20 years ago. "During this period, Dutt suffered a lot and had a cloud hovering over his head throughout. He had to undergo various tribulations and indignities during this period. He had to go to court often, he had to take the permission of the court for foreign shootings, he could not get bank loans, etc," Katju said.

The PCI chairperson said Dutt had already undergone 18 months in jail. He added the actor had got married and they have two small children.

"He has not been held to be a terrorist and had no hand in the bomb blasts. His parents Sunil Dutt and Nargis worked for the good of society and the nation. Sunil Dutt and Nargis often went to border areas to give moral support to our brave jawans and did other social work for society," Katju said.

Katju added that Dutt in this period of 20 years has through his films revived the memory of Mahatma Gandhi. "In these circumstances, I respectfully appeal to your Excellency to pardon Sanjay Dutt and set him free," Katju said in his letter to the Maharashtra Governor and referred to the speech of Portia in Shakespeare's Merchant of Venice' that justice should be tempered with mercy.

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/...o-pardon-Sanjay-Dutt/articleshow/19117803.cms

@GM and @IgnitedMind

get a room and stop trolling every thread with ur back and forth!!!!!!!!

Seeking remission from President, governor Sanjay Dutt’s only option

TNN | Mar 22, 2013, 04.04 AM IST

NEW DELHI: Sanjay Dutt, riding high on his Munnabhai-series driven popularity, has a very slim chance of getting his sentence reduced by filing a petition in the Supreme Court seeking review of its Thursday judgment awarding him five-year sentence instead of six years imposed by the trial court.

That is because review petitions are always placed before the same bench which had pronounced the verdict. Given the detailed analysis of the evidence carried out by the bench of Justices P Sathasivam and BS Chauhan, lawyers close to Dutt ruled out the possibility of his moving a review plea.

However, given his string of charitable work, clean track record, his recent marriage and the goodwill of the public and politicians towards the Dutt family, sources said the actor could move either the President or the Maharashtra governor to seek remission of sentence.

Though Dutt may have to be in jail before the plea for remission of sentence is filed before the constitutional authority, if accepted, it would save the actor from undergoing the three-and-a-half sentence.

Under Article 72 of the Constitution, the President has the "power to grant pardon, reprieves, respites or remissions of punishment or to suspend, remit or commute the sentence of any person convicted of any offence". Governors have been conferred with similar powers under Article 161 of the Constitution.

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/...ay-Dutts-only-option/articleshow/19118886.cms

Personally of late i felt Sanjay Dutt was past it as far as action, serious roles were concerned. He has terribly neglected his fitness, physique in the last couple of years and in all his latest films he has looked so terribly out of shape. Now i have no objections to people drinking like fishes, smoking and partying in their spare time but for god sakes at least be professional enough to look good on the screen. To be an action hero a top notch physique is a bare minimum.

I was reading article on Sanjuy dutt's life....he really spent on sad life..

boarding school...drug addiction...rehabilitation..and then makes his first movie...with all hype...3 days before release ... his mother dies...and then he gets addicted again....and then rigorous rehabilitation in texas for an year...and then year later wife dies of cancer.....looses custody of his daughter.....and then 4 yrs later Khalnayak happens after string of flops and makes him into star...and then 1 month after Khalnayak he gets involved in this case and goes to Jail for 1.5 yrs...then back again with Vaastav and munna bhai..and then 6 months of jail in 2005...and then finally when he seems a bit settled in his life with wife...with twins ....has to go to jail again....

Pretty sad life indeed....some uncontrollable...some his deads !!!

I will try to explain..

Deal between me and Salman is ...he entertains me....I pay him money....

Now that is where it ends !!!

What Salman does in his private life is his responsibility...

I do not get a peek into his bedroom because I pay him money for his movies....that is not fair for Salman...and it is equally unfair on the audience to ask them to share responsibility for his actions outside the movie...makes sense??

No?

You make it sound like a deal between a prostitute and her client. :))

What you do in life has consequences. You promote a movie on this site, you recommend certain movies to people, you pay for the movie yourself....who is benefitting from all this. You call Salman, a tool, idiot etc. you condemn his behavior yet you don't think twice about the part you play in making him what he is, able to get away with things using his money and power. Yet, instead of taking at least some of the blame, you put all the blame on judiciary and the system etc. Guess what, you don't live in isolation. Part of responsible citizenry is you take action yourself befor blaming others. If you don't agree with something, take a stand, file a petition, boycott his movies, etc. You can't have it both ways, and if you do, don't expect anyone to believe in the sincerity of your criticism.

You make it sound like a deal between a prostitute and her client. :))

What you do in life has consequences. You promote a movie on this site, you recommend certain movies to people, you pay for the movie yourself....who is benefitting from all this. You call Salman, a tool, idiot etc. you condemn his behavior yet you don't think twice about the part you play in making him what he is, able to get away with things using his money and power. Yet, instead of taking at least some of the blame, you put all the blame on judiciary and the system etc. Guess what, you don't live in isolation. Part of responsible citizenry is you take action yourself befor blaming others. If you don't agree with something, take a stand, file a petition, boycott his movies, etc. You can't have it both ways, and if you do, don't expect anyone to believe in the sincerity of your criticism.

When I pay money....I am benefitting my money's worth...I am getting my money's worth of entertainment!!!! So lets stop acting like Audiences are doing favors to movie stars by watching their movies......they are not......we do it for our pleasure !!!

Now.....When I give somebody money for his service/entertainment...What he does or does not do with that money is on him...if he uses it for power...blame the cops who are allowing that to happen!!!! When I do not like his movies....I will take a stand by not watching his movies.....

And sure I will definitely sign a petition if there is one on his hit and run, talk against his arrogant behaviors against fisherman......but these do not have anything to do with his movies.

I would not stop appreciating Shane warne and not pay money to watch him if play ..inspite him cheating on his wive....sexuall harrassment charges....drugs....Those part of Shane warne's life is not my concern while I watch him play cricket !!!

Like wise What Salman does in his personal life is not my concern while watching his movie and appreciating it if I liked it......

You can be a very good at your art and be a shitty person...and people can appreciate and pay for his art and not like him as a person.......there is lot of difference !!!! atleast I can do that...

Even Hafiz Saeed does a lot of charity in Pakistan so going by Katju's logic Pakistan Governmen is also doing a noble job in shielding him.

Re: Sanjay Dutt gets five-year jail sentence in 1993 Bombay blasts case

When I pay money....I am benefitting my money's worth...I am getting my money's worth of entertainment!!!! So lets stop acting like Audiences are doing favors to movie stars by watching their movies......they are not......we do it for our pleasure !!!

Now.....When I give somebody money for his service/entertainment...What he does or does not do with that money is on him...if he uses it for power...blame the cops who are allowing that to happen!!!! When I do not like his movies....I will take a stand by not watching his movies.....

And sure I will definitely sign a petition if there is one on his hit and run, talk against his arrogant behaviors against fisherman......but these do not have anything to do with his movies.

I would not stop appreciating Shane warne and not pay money to watch him if play ..inspite him cheating on his wive....sexuall harrassment charges....drugs....Those part of Shane warne's life is not my concern while I watch him play cricket !!!

Like wise What Salman does in his personal life is not my concern while watching his movie and appreciating it if I liked it......

You can be a very good at your art and be a shitty person...and people can appreciate and pay for his art and not like him as a person.......there is lot of difference !!!! atleast I can do that...

I can guarantee your stance will change if god forbid and hypothetically speaking if you were to become a victim to one of his misdeeds or someone you are close to becomes a victim to his misdeeds. God knows how much of salmans misdeamenours have been brushed under the carpet.

Its naturally for celebrities to be pampered and have star tantrums but continously getting away with beating girls, acting like a bully, homicide, using your influence to disadvantage and sideline actors for petty childish grudges, demanding non stop to be above the law is not on.

Is it true that they were working on a new munna bhai?

also why are people dragging Salman Khan (by saying being human)? is it because he ran over a few ppl with his suv (dont know if they died)??

while shooting hum saath saath h in Rajasthan near jodhpur Salman khan allegedly killed blackbuks which is an endangered species of deer and sacred to local BISHNOI people..when they found out they followed him and Salman with his companions had to run to save his life..had they caught him he would have surely murdered by them..since then the poor guy regularly visits Rajasthan for hearing

Re: Sanjay Dutt gets five-year jail sentence in 1993 Bombay blasts case

while shooting hum saath saath h in Rajasthan near jodhpur Salman khan allegedly killed blackbuks which is an endangered species of deer and sacred to local BISHNOI people..when they found out they followed him and Salman with his companions had to run to save his life..had they caught him he would have surely murdered by them..since then the poor guy regularly visits Rajasthan for hearing

It was a well known fact that they were undangered species. Eye witnesses saw him mercilessly kill the animal for pleasure and a blood stained knife was found in the jeep.

Indian legal system is pretty slow. His hit and run case was even more easily punishable. How has he managed to escape the law all these years is beyond comprehension.

It was a well known fact that they were undangered species. Eye witnesses saw him mercilessly kill the animal for pleasure and a blood stained knife was found in the jeep.

Indian legal system is pretty slow. His hit and run case was even more easily punishable. How has he managed to escape the law all these years is beyond comprehension.

Don't worry, In Dharam-Raj's legal system there is no flaw and he will get punished in next life. I believe in Karma.

once khal nayak & kancha once munnabhai. always had my suspicions on him. two faced personality he was.

btw, did the supreme court make sure that the weapons grenedes werent any toys that he had at home to scare ppl? juz asking so that no misunderstanding occured.

pls answer

once khal nayak & kancha once munnabhai. always had my suspicions on him. two faced personality he was.

btw, did the supreme court make sure that the weapons grenedes werent any toys that he had at home to scare ppl? juz asking so that no misunderstanding occured.

pls answer

:afaq

So far we have been hearing the rightwing or naive opinions of : "OMG, he had weapons, he should go to jail no matter who he is, justice is for all"

Now here is a more balanced opinion on what was going in 1993 in India

So essentially the Dutts were evil because they were sympathetic to Muslims and protected them, and they received death threats from SS types because of that, and they kept guns in the aftermath of such violence, albeit illegal.

I was a child then, but what i heard then is the same as what i hear now; those responsible for killing Muslims in the aftermath of Babri Masjid were not punished, but one man keeps guns related to people who did the Mumbai blasts and suddenly he is the worst man alive

http://gulfnews.com/opinions/columnists/some-are-more-equal-before-the-law-or-so-it-seems-1.1165941

Some are more equal before the law or so it seems
The verdict has finally been pronounced in the 1993 Mumbai blasts case, but what about those who provided the motive for the terror strikes?

By Aijaz Zaka Syed | Special to Gulf News
Published: 20:00 April 2, 2013

If it were not for injustice, men would not know justice. Indian Supreme Court’s judgement, handing a five-year sentence to superstar Sanjay Dutt under the Arms Act has stunned Bollywood, setting off a furious, endless debate within and outside media circles. While the industry has rallied around Dutt, the country seems to have been split down the middle over the question of pardon to the actor.

Many feel Dutt has suffered enough. Drowning himself in drugs after the death of his legendary mother, he has been in and out of prison for his alleged underworld ties and acquisition of the much-touted gun, the AK-56 rifle. His travails have not been limited to the 20-year-long legal battle in the courts. It is a miracle that through those ups and downs, he has survived in the cut-throat world of showbiz. The actor is loved for the generosity of his spirit, much like the adorable, goofy Munnabhai that he has twice played.

Understandably, the security establishment and right-wing parties have not taken kindly to the talk of mercy for Dutt. They want an example made out of the actor for the tinsel town and everyone else who dares stand up for the weak, as he and his father Sunil Dutt did during the devastating riots in Mumbai, following the Babri Masjid demolition.

The Dutts saved hundreds of Muslims, risking their own lives. They received repeated death threats. Some targeted women of the family. The Shiv Sena mob even assaulted the senior Dutt, a matinee idol himself and a much loved MP from Bombay [Mumbai]. It was in this atmosphere of fear that the star, son of Hindu-Muslim parents, acquired that rifle.

More thoughtful voices in the media have sought to draw attention to the less fortunate. There are many who have been condemned and like the actor, spent 20 traumatic years awaiting their fate away from the media glare. Zaibunissa Kazi, who is in her 70s and has already spent more than eight months in prison, has no one running around seeking pardon for her, except for her feisty daughter. Kazi has a tumour in her kidney, requiring constant medical attention.

Like Dutt, she has received a five-year sentence for illegal possession of weapons. But unlike the actor, who sought weapons to defend his family, Kazi had only agreed to keep a bag for Abu Salem, known to her as a “real estate agent” — with little knowledge about its contents.

She is not the only victim though. Hundreds of innocent lives have been shattered and livelihoods perished along with those unfairly targeted by the series of attacks that hit the financial capital apparently on the orders of underworld don Dawood Ebrahim. While the court has upheld death sentence for Yakub Memon, a chartered accountant who voluntarily surrendered and insists he had no inkling of the plot by his brother, Tiger Memon, sentences of ten others have been commuted to life terms. Justice has seemingly been done to the memory of all those who perished in those abominable attacks.

Indeed, those who play God and take innocent human lives deserve nothing but severe retribution. There is no greater sin in the eyes of all faiths — more so in Islam which warns that taking one innocent life is akin to targeting the whole of humanity.

That said, what strikes one in this whole debate is the fact that no reference, whatsoever, is made to the original crimes that were the apparent cause behind the 1993 serial blasts — the first and most devastating act of terror to hit India. Even a layman like me understands that in any crime, the motive not only matters, it determines the final outcome of the case and severity of the sentence. Yet, it figures neither in the special Mumbai court judgement nor in the final verdict of the highest court in the land. The elephant in the room remains ignored also by the all-knowing judges on the television.

In case our collective memory fails us, Mumbai [then Bombay] had burnt with the rest of India for more than two months before terror struck in March 1993. Even as the Muslims tried to make sense of the Ayodhya outrage, they found themselves in the path of the worst storm of religious violence since Independence. And the nation’s most cosmopolitan city was in the eye of the storm with mobs led by Shiv Sena and its Hindutva allies hunting the Muslims

The Congress government in Maharashtra and also in New Delhi — the latter under prime minister Narasimha Rao — not just stood mute spectators, but added fuel to the fire. More than 2,000 Muslims perished in the pogrom. Which in turn sowed the seeds of wrath that the city reaped soon in March in 1993.

What happened during 1992-93 was a two-part crime and neither can be seen in isolation. Both were reprehensible crimes against humanity. Why then do you see a stark difference in the approach to the two? While those who planned and perpetrated the first bit remain at large, enjoying power, justice has caught up with the small fry, who were at best “arrows” in the hands of distant players — as the Supreme Court put it.
The Justice Srikrishna Commission, which probed the 1992 pogrom and the subsequent strikes, had this to say in its findings: “Shiv Sena took the lead in organising attacks on Muslims and their properties under the guidance of several leaders from Shakha Pramukh (local unit chief) to Shiv Sena chief Bal Thackeray, who, like a veteran general, commanded the loyal Shiv Sainiks [Shiv Sena activists] to retaliate by organising attacks against Muslims.”

The Commission’s findings were shelved by the Shiv Sena-Bharatiya Janata Party government and remain shelved till date. Thackeray — and his henchmen — evaded the long arm of law till his death last year. Indeed, he was given a state funeral with Maharashtra chief minister and several central ministers in attendance and the president and prime minister offering copious tributes.

We live in strange times. In the words of Faiz, stones and bricks are locked away while mongrels breathe fire (Ke sang-o-khisht muqayyad hain aur sag azad). There are some who face the law for killing a blackbuck 15 years ago. And then there are those who sent thousands to their death, turning the whole country upside down and undermining its very foundations. They remain not just free, but dream of ruling India once again. Evidently, some are more equal before the law. If this is not double standards, what is?

Sanjay Dutt would have got away with TADA charge. But he got caught in political power play between Sunul Dutt and Sharad Pawar. Anyway i am glad justice finally caught to him.

WHAT THE HELL, 200 odd ppl die and this clown only gets 5 years ??? He shouldve been SHOT in public that wouldve been a statement for upcoming terrorist aspirers..

Sanjay Dutt would have got away with TADA charge. But he got caught in political power play between Sunul Dutt and Sharad Pawar. Anyway i am glad justice finally caught to him.

He has already got away.

Anyway, India is a banana republic, and nothing much should be expected. Sanjay dutt's pardon petition filed by Katju has been forwarded to the President. I expect a curtailment in his tenure soon. May be a total amnesty.

WHAT THE HELL, 200 odd ppl die and this clown only gets 5 years ??? He shouldve been SHOT in public that wouldve been a statement for upcoming terrorist aspirers..

I hope you are being sarcastic;

Hundreds of Muslims killed in riots and not a day in jail for those who did it, and one guy has some guns and he should be killed.

I hope you are being sarcastic;

Hundreds of Muslims killed in riots and not a day in jail for those who did it, and one guy has some guns and he should be killed.

AGain here comes the muslim card, If Modi had been convicted by court yeah I say do the same to him aswell...

Bollywood star Sanjay Dutt held in Ajmal Kasab’s jail cell: report

NEW DELHI: Bollywood superstar Sanjay Dutt, who is in jail for arms possession, is being held in a cell built for militants where he cannot see daylight and wants to be transferred, a report said Saturday.

Dutt, 53, surrendered on Thursday to serve out the remaining three-and-a-half years of a five-year term in a case linked to deadly 1993 Mumbai bombings.

Dutt's lawyer, Rizwan Merchant, has demanded the transfer of the actor whom he said was being kept in the cell once occupied by Mumbai attacks gunman Mohammed Ajmal Kasab, according to the Indian Express daily newspaper.

Pakistani-born Kasab was executed last November, nearly four years after 166 people died in a three-day rampage in the Indian metropolis.

The steel bunker specially built for Kasab at Mumbai's Arthur Road Jail had no ventilation and the actor could not even tell if it was day or night, the lawyer said.

“He (Dutt) is not a terrorist” and should not be kept in such a cell, the lawyer was quoted as saying.

There was no immediate comment available from the jail.

The actor, whose parents were two of India's biggest stars, shot to fame in the 1980s in a string of action movies in which he performed his own stunts, earning him the nickname “Deadly Dutt”.

He was convicted in 2006 of possessing guns supplied by gangsters who staged the 1993 bomb attacks that killed 257 people but was freed on bail after serving 18 months in prison. In March, the Supreme Court upheld Dutt’s conviction.

He was cleared in 2007 of more serious conspiracy charges in the blasts, believed staged by Muslim underworld leaders in revenge for religious riots in which mainly Muslims died after the razing of an ancient mosque by Hindu zealots.

Dutt, whose mother was Muslim and father Hindu, was found guilty of possession of an automatic rifle and a pistol which he insisted were only meant to protect his family in Mumbai’s charged atmosphere following the mosque’s destruction.

After the Supreme Court upheld his conviction, the father-of-three wept and declared himself “a shattered man”.

http://beta.dawn.com/news/1012129/bollywood-star-sanjay-dutt-held-in-ajmal-kasabs-jail-cell-report

Its funny;

How many people were punished for actually killing Muslims after the Babri Masjid destruction?

And yet one person has guns linked to the reprisals and is treated like an actual killer

Its funny;

How many people were punished for actually killing Muslims after the Babri Masjid destruction?

And yet one person has guns linked to the reprisals and is treated like an actual killer

True, but I guess this fact will be brushed under the Carpet.

New Delhi: A key accused in the 1993 Mumbai serial blasts, who is a close associate of the terror attack's key conspirator Tiger Memon, was arrested from the airport in Maharashtra's capital by the Gujarat Anti-Terror Squad (ATS) in a drug seizure case, a senior official said on Monday.

Munaf Halari, was caught at the Mumbai Airport on Sunday night while he was on his way to Dubai with a Pakistani passport. Halari is wanted in a narcotics case where the police believe he is responsible for heroin smuggling through the Gujarat coast in which five Pakistani nationals were arrested on January 2.

According to the Mumbai Police, Munaf Halari had played vital role in the planning and execution of the 1993 blasts and a Red Corner Notice was issued against him on request of the Central Bureau of Investigation (CBI). Halari is an aide of Tiger Memon - a close associate of underworld don Dawood Ibrahim. He had sourced three brand new scooters which were then loaded with explosives and used to set off explosions across Mumbai. One of the scooters procured by Halari was planted at Zaveri Bazar and exploded subsequently.

A series of bomb explosions rocked Mumbai on March 12, 1993, resulting in death of 257 people while leaving 713 persons injured. According to the Mumbai Police records, after the serial blasts in Mumbai Munaf Halari fled to Bareilly and thereafter went to Bangkok. Along with Tiger Memon, he then got a Pakistani passport with help of Pakistani authorities. His assumed identity is of Anwar Muhammad and his Pakistani passport number BM1799983.

Munaf Halari was in continuous contact with Tiger Memon and took shelter in Nairobi, Kenya based on assumed identity of Pakistani National to evade arrest and trial for his role in the Bombay blasts case. According to the Gujarat ATS, in Nairobi he was running a business and later shifted to export-import of grains, especially rice. However, in the guise of export-import of rice, Munaf Halari tried to smuggle explosives and drugs to India.

From the interrogation of the five Pakistani Nationals who were caught in the Arabian Sea on January 2, 2020, the Gujarat ATS learnt that the consignment belonged to Haji Hasan of Karachi. Investigators told the media, Haji Hasan has had telephone conversations with Munaf Halari regarding the smuggling of explosives and heroin into India through the Gujarat coast.

Investigators also told reporters that Munaf Halari had entered India twice on a Pakistani passport after fleeing in 1993. He had come in India last in the year 2014 from Atari Border, and visited Mumbai. The Gujarat ATS has seized the Pakistani passport, which was renewed twice by Pakistani authorities. Halari will now face trial in India for smuggling charges along with his role in the 1993 Mumbai serial blasts case.

https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/199...ssport-in-mumbai-2178065?pfrom=home-topscroll

The guy's career was as good as over anyways, he hasn't given a hit film in ages

He is 60 years old and all the problems he faced earlier in his personal life have only aggravated his career.

Drugs, jail sentences, divorces, losing his mother at a very early age, etc.. He has gone through a lot to be honest.

Sanju Baba is an actor whose personality was enough to make the film entertaining. A huge fan of him.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="und" dir="ltr">🙏🏻 <a href="https://t.co/tinDb6BxcL">pic.twitter.com/tinDb6BxcL</a></p>— Sanjay Dutt (@duttsanjay) <a href="https://twitter.com/duttsanjay/status/1293142626850336775?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 11, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

A dissapointment to his late father

Although his roles as raghubir and munna bhai were top ten of all time
Also played kancha in agneepath well, not sure he makes a good durrani though

Salman and him are the real gangsters of Bollywood.

Ironically both are my fav actors too :))

Salman and him are the real gangsters of Bollywood.

Ironically both are my fav actors too :))

I think you mean stars , at best Sanjay was an actor in 3 movies? Salman is defn on 0.

I have enjoyed their older movies as stars too.

That's because he is still probably playing hero roles when he's too old for it. I don't think I've ever sat through one of his films, but I've see clips, and he seems to have some charisma. He could play a great mafia don for example. Indian directors are just too clueless, they cater for shallow audiences with their endless dance numbers.