Sarfaraz Ahmed as Chief Selector for Champions Trophy 2025?

mominsaigol

The last time Pakistan won an ICC event was in 2017 and it happened to a Champions Trophy which is the next ICC event as T20 World Cup will conclude soon.

Pakistan won CT 2017 because we had certain elements of luck + A genius captain who had a wealth of experience leading sides of victory in past events be it local games or under 19 games + selections that were made on merit with every player playing in their proper position such as hafeez at no 4, Fakhar at opening etc.

Since then, we saw Misbah ul Haq being made chief selector and Coach in 2020 which led to serial losses against C teams.

The team would then recover when Pakistan would employ foreign coaches for 2021 t20 wc. Despite great performances Australia proved to mentally hold their nerve and get their team through to the final.

However afterwards Babar Azam would then be given more control and form a friendship clique that has led Pakistan to consistently get butchered in tournaments. Whats worse his ego has prevented the likes of Abrar to flourish and various other talented players such as Muhammad haris, Saud Shakeel, Tayyab tahir are taking a back seat thanks to Babar and Wahab at the helm.

Pakistan needs to learn that you don't need fake people with colledge degrees and zero intelligence to run our cricket.

You simply need a cricketing Mind who makes proper selections, has the mentality to play for the team and put the team and Country ahead of their own personal interests and a selector who actually is willing to watch Domestic games and select from the Domestic unit.

If we make Sarfraz Ahmed the Chief Selector, and Gary Kristen the coach + Chairman, then we can finally end the circus of Players like Azam Khan, Shadab Khan etc getting a free ride in the team.

I'm aware sarfi hasn't retired yet, but you can offer him the role and offer retirement as well.

My 2 solutions are

A) Make Sarfraz Chief selector with Gary as Chairman and Coach.

B) Make Gary Kristen all 3, Chief Selector + Coach + Chairman.

If Pakistan sticks to the current committee then by the time 2025 CT comes, Fans wont be able to resist comparing Sarfraz to Babar and tearing Babar apart for failing his 6th tournament in a row.

Thought people wanted him to play in CT 2025?

Lol if you read the recent revisionism you would think Sarfraz was a cross between Mike Brealey , Imran Khan, Clive Lloyd, Roy Keane and Abdul Qadir Khan.

He was a good captain for a period of time. He's had his time now. Bas Karo please.

Has he retired from international cricket?
No but PCB should just offer him retirement for chief selector role like they did to Wahab riaz,

We don't need a prejudice selector who keeps players like haris out.

Lol if you read the recent revisionism you would think Sarfraz was a cross between Mike Brealey , Imran Khan, Clive Lloyd, Roy Keane and Abdul Qadir Khan.

He was a good captain for a period of time. He's had his time now. Bas Karo please.
If Wahab and Babar can be made chief selector and captain and Misbah a former captain be made chief selector and coach, why can't sarfraz? A guy who unlike the aforementioned 3, has an ICC victory under his belt and still the record holder for most succesful t20 captain and PSL captain?

For that to happen, first he has to come on live television and criticize Babar. :dw

The last time Pakistan won an ICC event was in 2017 and it happened to a Champions Trophy which is the next ICC event as T20 World Cup will conclude soon.

Pakistan won CT 2017 because we had certain elements of luck + A genius captain who had a wealth of experience leading sides of victory in past events be it local games or under 19 games + selections that were made on merit with every player playing in their proper position such as hafeez at no 4, Fakhar at opening etc.

Since then, we saw Misbah ul Haq being made chief selector and Coach in 2020 which led to serial losses against C teams.

The team would then recover when Pakistan would employ foreign coaches for 2021 t20 wc. Despite great performances Australia proved to mentally hold their nerve and get their team through to the final.

However afterwards Babar Azam would then be given more control and form a friendship clique that has led Pakistan to consistently get butchered in tournaments. Whats worse his ego has prevented the likes of Abrar to flourish and various other talented players such as Muhammad haris, Saud Shakeel, Tayyab tahir are taking a back seat thanks to Babar and Wahab at the helm.

Pakistan needs to learn that you don't need fake people with colledge degrees and zero intelligence to run our cricket.

You simply need a cricketing Mind who makes proper selections, has the mentality to play for the team and put the team and Country ahead of their own personal interests and a selector who actually is willing to watch Domestic games and select from the Domestic unit.

If we make Sarfraz Ahmed the Chief Selector, and Gary Kristen the coach + Chairman, then we can finally end the circus of Players like Azam Khan, Shadab Khan etc getting a free ride in the team.

I'm aware sarfi hasn't retired yet, but you can offer him the role and offer retirement as well.

My 2 solutions are

If Pakistan sticks to the current committee then by the time 2025 CT comes, Fans wont be able to resist comparing Sarfraz to Babar and tearing Babar apart for failing his 6th tournament in a row.
Sarfraz as a chief selector alongside Gary Kirsten as coach, will be a lethal combination.

In Pakistan and mainly in the subcontinent, a captain should be a good player; otherwise, he will not be able to lead properly. The issue with Sarfraz was that he was a decent captain but a very average player, especially in the white-ball format, and that led to his downfall. Then we have the opposite case with Babar, who was a brilliant player but a terrible captain. Now, he is not even performing well after his failed captaincy fiasco. Very few players in Pakistan have been both good players and good captains, like Imran Khan and Wasim Akram.

I’m not sure about it. Sarfraz Ahmed kept selecting Azam Khan in Queeta Gladiators. At one point he said, “If you watch him play you will forget Chris Gayle.” Either fitness and being obese hold no value for him, or he is someone who can’t withstand pressure from the top. Plus, he doubles down gives outrageous statements.

It's not Sarfaraz's fault that Azam has failed to live up to his potential

My 2 solutions are

Option B is more acceptable

It's not Sarfaraz's fault that Azam has failed to live up to his potential
He was always obesed and should have never been backed. Sarfraz kept hyping him, makes me wonder if he understands how important fitness is, and how it affects a player.

My 2 solutions are

Give all the power to kirsten he will fix all of ur problems

He was always obesed and should have never been backed. Sarfraz kept hyping him, makes me wonder if he understands how important fitness is, and how it affects a player.
Sarfaraz selected him in Leagues where he had finn Allen statistics and would obviously be beneficial for Quetta.

Why would he select him if he's a chief selector and now has to search from an entire sample size

How can current active players be allow to hold a position like chief selector? Moreover I believe that for these important positions only a retired player should be selected and there should be a cooldown period after retiring.

Sarfaraz selected him in Leagues where he had finn Allen statistics and would obviously be beneficial for Quetta.

Why would he select him if he's a chief selector and now has to search from an entire sample size
He selected him as an emerging player and then didn’t even play him for a number of years. So he wasted a spot by selecting him which could have been given to another person. Even with a small sample size and so much less pressure, he didn’t make the right selection and caved in, so I don’t think he can withstand the pressure of being the chief selector for the National team.

If Sarfaraz was a genius captain, he wouldn’t have overseen one of the worst eras in Pakistan Test & ODI history (2018-2019).

Pakistan got hammered left right and centre in Tests in that period and lost 32 out of 40 ODIs vs the top 6 sides. These are not the workings of a genius captain.

People put too much stock into the CT win. No doubt a huge moment in Pakistan history, and most likely our last piece of silverware for a very long time, but the CT is a tournament for the underdogs because of the nature of the format.

3 consecutive wins in the right moment and you’re champions. It rewards flash in the pan performances over consistency.

This is why NZ, India/SL and even a poor team like the WI won the CT during the golden years of Australian cricket where no one could stop them from winning the WC.

Sarfaraz will achieve nothing as a CS in the long-term just like he achieved nothing as a captain in the long-term.

The second option can work, but only partially. Gary Kirsten doesn’t live in Pakistan, so it's logistically impossible for him to go and watch matches regularly. At this point, we don't even know how much time he would spend in Pakistan when there are no national duties. This approach would only be effective if we had a coach like Bob Woolmer, who spent a lot of time in Pakistan and regularly interacted with fans. I had many online interactions with him. What Kirsten can do is have the selection committee send him videos of promising domestic players, and then he can either finalize the names or, at the very least, discuss those players.

Chairman is Asim Munir’s puppet and he won’t be changed until AM retires.

In addition to Azam Khan's blunder, he continued to select players like Asad Shafique, Anwar Ali, Ahmad Shehzad, and Umar Amin. Additionally, he even included the overweight Umar Akmal in the squad for the 2019 edition.

League is not the same as international bhai. Big difference. None of this changes the fact that he holds the record as most succesful psl captain and the players you mentioned are the ones brought during 2016-2019 which was the time period he got that record.

As for UA, That was misbah, not Sarfi.

Not a bad shout. He knows the ins and outs of the domestic setup as well since he's been regularly playing there since forever. He's also serious about his work unlike these charlatans of recent times

How can current active players be allow to hold a position like chief selector? Moreover I believe that for these important positions only a retired player should be selected and there should be a cooldown period after retiring.
agreed!

There must be a rule that a player can't be in an administrative role for two years after their retirement.

League is not the same as international bhai. Big difference. None of this changes the fact that he holds the record as most succesful psl captain and the players you mentioned are the ones brought during 2016-2019 which was the time period he got that record.

As for UA, That was misbah, not Sarfi.
League is not the same as international when it's inconvenient.

But when it is convenient then being the most successful PSL captain ( by captaining most games), is enough to make someone chief selector.

Yeah Ahmed Shehzad was part of champions trophy squad as was the great Fahim Ashraf why not make them head coach and bowling coach respectively.

Make Azhar Ali chairman PCB he was part of CT squad aswell.

League is not the same as international when it's inconvenient.

But when it is convenient then being the most successful PSL captain ( by captaining most games), is enough to make someone chief selector.
No but winning ct 2017 and being the most successful T20 INTERNATIONAL CAPTAIN is

Yeah Ahmed Shehzad was part of champions trophy squad as was the great Fahim Ashraf why not make them head coach and bowling coach respectively.

Make Azhar Ali chairman PCB he was part of CT squad aswell.
It's about captaincy and leadership, those 3 aren't leaders.

Not right now... If sarfaraz announces his retirement then Naqvi might think about it. If wahab can be a chief sector than why not him.

Let's go.

Sarfraz as sectator is great choice, but team selection player positions etc. should strictly be in the hands of the coach and selectors.

Not right now... If sarfaraz announces his retirement then Naqvi might think about it. If wahab can be a chief sector than why not him.

Let's go.

Why should Sarfaraz retire? He still has a few more years of his Test career ahead of him.

It makes no difference who you make selector or coach if they have no real power and guys mohsin naqvi come in and make bobsy the captain after he was kicked few weeks before.

Consistency, with merit and justice needs to be top priority for the next 5 years.

Babar should never captain the team again. Babar so much as opens his mouth or doesn't play according to team plan , sack him from all formats.

Choose upcoming youngsters that can play and develop till next ODI WC. Whilst hoping that domestic structure improves and you get some real talent coming again.

He should be team manager rather . Who can do pitai of these players

Sarfraz was a great Leader but not a very good captain.

He should be team manager rather . Who can do pitai of these players
team managers job is to make arrangements and all. Kit is ready.

Karachi fans are already hurt about Sarfraz being hte water boy, how will they feel when they see him iron the kits?

Sarfraz was a great Leader but not a very good captain.
Id say he was the opposite to be honest. He was sharp and agile captain but probably lost the players with his lack of leadership ( constantly shouting and moaning and the yawning and being unfit)

Who’s a good captain if someone who wins 28 out of 36 games is not a good captain?
28 of 33.

Sri Lankan series doesn't count. Sorry to say this, but Misbah's influence as coach/chief selector does not count.

Misbah didn't even let sarfraz talk in the press conference post match or pre match, he sat with him and did the talking.

When asked why did the team collapse so badly againat sri lanka, All misbah said was I don't know, maybe it's because I'm asking right handed batsmen to bat left.

People need to wake up, This man isn't humble by any means. He gets sarcastic or starts shouting when someone questions his approach.

Their was nothing wrong with someone asking why he shouldn't bat up the order as he's downright garbo at no 5, their was no reason for him to respond with

KYA MEIK CHOKEI NAHI MARTA

Who’s a good captain if someone who wins 28 out of 36 games is not a good captain?

A good captain is one who's entire strategy is built around batting first, getting to a pre-meditated total which you're able to achieve by inciting a collapse after favouring the selection of your mate, anointing yourself as the messiah who is only able to do get to said total if he only bats in position x and then looking to defend the total with gun bowlers; best bit, you get to take all the credit! Better, you can groom a generation of Pakistani cricketers built around this strategy, and eventually brainwash the fanbase, you may just end up erasing what happened in 07 & 11 through the evolution and acceptance of serial failure.

Id say he was the opposite to be honest. He was sharp and agile captain but probably lost the players with his lack of leadership ( constantly shouting and moaning and the yawning and being unfit)
His leadership qualities were great i believe. The reason why all the players did well under him was because of his leadership qualities.

As a captain he was pure rubbish and made Pakistan lose its winning streak in UAE.

Sarfraz knew how to get the best out of the players from his leadership, but once he was dropped due to poor performance, he lost his confidence and than even in the PSL his leadership became 0.

The shouting was a typical Karachi wala style, but you need to see how players didnt get offended by his shouting compare to the Batameez we had in Younis Khan where players hated his attitude. Players put up with sarfraz because they saw a very good leader in him.

His leadership qualities were great i believe. The reason why all the players did well under him was because of his leadership qualities.

As a captain he was pure rubbish and made Pakistan lose its winning streak in UAE.

Sarfraz knew how to get the best out of the players from his leadership, but once he was dropped due to poor performance, he lost his confidence and than even in the PSL his leadership became 0.

The shouting was a typical Karachi wala style, but you need to see how players didnt get offended by his shouting compare to the Batameez we had in Younis Khan where players hated his attitude. Players put up with sarfraz because they saw a very good leader in him.
Why does a winning streak hold more weight age then an ICC trophy win?

2 captains you have an issue with hold icc trophies.

Why does a winning streak hold more weight age then an ICC trophy win?

2 captains you have an issue with hold icc trophies.
you do know i am talking about test cricket right? ANd losing a series in UAE was criminal in Test cricket.

His 2017 win was a fluke. Sri Lanka and Pakistan both were playing rubbish cricket and Lankans dropped a catch.

Pakistan also made it to the 2022 World T20 FInal, had they won, would Babar been a great captain?

Because “shifting the goal posts streak” holds more weightage for him :ROFLMAO:
you laugh alot for a guy who thinks batting strike rate dfines aggressive and defensive captaincy.

His 2017 win was a fluke. Sri Lanka and Pakistan both were playing rubbish cricket and Lankans dropped a catch
Yeah that’s a fluke but Pakistan reaching the 2022 final was not according to you. That was well deserved wasn’t it?

I would had celebrated a trophy just like a celebrated the 2017 trophy. But it doesnt change a fact that Babar was a bad captian so was Sarfraz.

The problem with you is your comprehension skills. You think if a person praises a batter he is praising his captaincy and vice versa. I cant help it if you dont know how to differentiate.

you do know i am talking about test cricket right? ANd losing a series in UAE was criminal in Test cricket.

His 2017 win was a fluke. Sri Lanka and Pakistan both were playing rubbish cricket and Lankans dropped a catch.

Pakistan also made it to the 2022 World T20 FInal, had they won, would Babar been a great captain?
Sarfraz was a poor test captain, no doubt. He is not an allformat captain and I don't pretend he is like you pretend Misbah was even though in t20 he was so bad he got booted out and in odi he was equally crap.

As for 2017, this is where you are 100% wrong, it's because the side is pakistan and not Australia and it's led by sarfraz which is why you are complaining and throwing tantrums. Just like Australia got extremely lucky against Afghanistan, Pakistan lucked out a bit in the early stages which is something most teams require in cups unless the cup is a flawless victory which rarely ever happens. Heck in 2024 it's the first time it happened in t20 and the first time overall since the days of classic Australia

So by this logic everyone in the planet has fluked it besides Australia and India who have achieved flawless victories. Even Imran Khan fluked it then.

You don't know the definition of the word Fluke, and yet you try to insult @Rana For terminology which he hasn't even stated incorrectly.

A fluke is a one off event, I can fluke the lottery once, I can't fluke it a million times. Pakistan once they reached the semi's and finals achieved an utterly dominance display, those 2 games against the strongest sides were not fluked by any metric or any stretch of the imagination.

This is the issue with you, you'll apply a silly fluke logic for sarfraz but will act misbah reaching qf in a world cup is the greatest era achievement in white ball pakistani history.

Now as for Babar, I don't know why you're bringing this point because pakistan did not win plain and simple. Had they won we'd be having a very intresting conversation but that's not the case. So the point is irrelevant, nor was semi final, final or the Bangladesh game a dominating display like England and India games were.

I would had celebrated a trophy just like a celebrated the 2017 trophy. But it doesnt change a fact that Babar was a bad captian so was Sarfraz.

The problem with you is your comprehension skills. You think if a person praises a batter he is praising his captaincy and vice versa. I cant help it if you dont know how to differentiate.
Why was Misbah a good captain?

Genuinely why? Explain?

He's a good test captain, Followed by a medicore odi captain, followed by one of the worst all time t20 captains, followed by the worst Coach and selector for pakistan ever.

Misbah was so bad, that not only did he get sacked very quickly and destroy the whiteball side, but even someone like rameez raja looks like an angel compared to him, since at least with rameez he was able to mask reality by helping pakistan achieve no 1 rank in bilaterals.

Misbah couldn't even do that despite having complete control vs Zimbabwe lol

Answer my question.

2017 was a fluke but Pakistan reaching final in 2022 isn’t? Don’t beat around the bush

@Rana Eoin Morgan is a garbage captain since he fluked 2019 due to Ben stokes catch drops and Deflections being god gifted sends.

Only way to be a good captain is

A) Achieve flawless victory like Ricky pointing or Rohit Sharma in a tournament.

B) Be Misbah.

@Rana Eoin Morgan is a garbage captain since he fluked 2019 due to Ben stokes catch drops and Deflections being god gifted sends.

Only way to be a good captain is

A) Achieve flawless victory like Ricky pointing or Rohit Sharma in a tournament.

B) Be Misbah.
Oh I should have known better.

Safaraz?
Another one that lacks IQ

I have a solution to all of Pakistan Crickete problems but no one here is gonna like it

Answer my question.

2017 was a fluke but Pakistan reaching final in 2022 isn’t? Don’t beat around the bush
my answer is their, you can deduce it if you can comprehend it.

Why was Misbah a good captain?

Genuinely why? Explain?

He's a good test captain, Followed by a medicore odi captain, followed by one of the worst all time t20 captains, followed by the worst Coach and selector for pakistan ever.

Misbah was so bad, that not only did he get sacked very quickly and destroy the whiteball side, but even someone like rameez raja looks like an angel compared to him, since at least with rameez he was able to mask reality by helping pakistan achieve no 1 rank in bilaterals.

Misbah couldn't even do that despite having complete control vs Zimbabwe lol
no matter what i write, it wont make a difference. You havent watched him played nor can i make you change your opinion. So there is no point.

You see him as a bad captain, thats fine, difference of opinion.

no matter what i write, it wont make a difference. You havent watched him played nor can i make you change your opinion. So there is no point.

You see him as a bad captain, thats fine, difference of opinion.
I watched the entire Misbah era. Saw everything.

How many times must I tell you I started watching in 2010 but full time in 2011. And in the past 4 weeks I've now gone back all the way till 1970 finding any footage I could find, any highlights so I could watch past eras.

Judging by the Misbah vs Inzi thread you started watching around 2010 or 2006, it's one of these dates. It's not far off, Misbah era started In 2012, before that he had no impact on the team beyond being a middle order batsmen.

I watched the entire Misbah era. Saw everything.

How many times must I tell you I started watching in 2010 but full time in 2011. And in the past 4 weeks I've now gone back all the way till 1970 finding any footage I could find, any highlights so I could watch past eras.

Judging by the Misbah vs Inzi thread you started watching around 2010 or 2006, it's one of these dates. It's not far off, Misbah era started In 2012, before that he had no impact on the team beyond being a middle order batsmen.
first you said you started watching after 2015 now you have made claim back to 2010? nice lies

GUYS, this thread is not about misbah and Sarfaraz as captains and their performances. This is about exactly what title says.

Please stay on topic