Sarfaraz Ahmed expresses his disappointment at criticism towards him in a tweet

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="ur" dir="rtl">اتنا چھبنے لگا ہوں سب کو چھرا تو نہیں<br>جانی جتنا بتاتے وہ میرے بارے میں اتنا برا بھی نہیں ہوں</p>— Sarfaraz Ahmed (@SarfarazA_54) <a href="https://twitter.com/SarfarazA_54/status/1301082472495620097?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">September 2, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Roughly translated Sarfaraz saying he isnt as bad as people are making him out to be!

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Bhayya you have so many fans including me you will answer small number of people with your performance InshA Allah u have done so much in past for Pakistan and you will in future thanks for giving positive energy throughout the tour... stay strong <a href="https://t.co/GSRUolcleF">https://t.co/GSRUolcleF</a></p>— Azhar Ali (@AzharAli_) <a href="https://twitter.com/AzharAli_/status/1301247655499235335?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">September 2, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="hi" dir="ltr">Bhayya ❤️❤️���� <a href="https://t.co/jOQUCoXfvU">https://t.co/jOQUCoXfvU</a></p>— Sarfaraz Ahmed (@SarfarazA_54) <a href="https://twitter.com/SarfarazA_54/status/1301259435403358216?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">September 2, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Not a good look. Certain cricketers get picked on a lot more than others and he is one of them. But no need for the tweet.

I didn’t know Pakistanis used the word Bhayya too.. how do you guys pronounce it?

What is the need to tweet? The best place to answer your critics is on the pitch Not potentially get into a slanging match online

As an international player, you can expect criticism. Being a celebrity is truly a double-edged sword.

My God! Sarfraz really makes it hard to support him.

What kind of a cringy desperate tweet is that?!

I didn’t know Pakistanis used the word Bhayya too.. how do you guys pronounce it?

Certain communities in Karachi use it. I think Sarfaraz's roots are in UP. Tbh "bhaiya" is used as a pejorative in Punjab.

These tweets explain the issues with our cricket. 2 teammates are backing each other’s lack of results over social...bravo what stations

PCB for all their bravado on code of conduct etc - allowing such tweets from centrally contracted players etc.

Embarrasing exchange between two mentally weak and over the hill players.

Gist is that he isnt that bad as people say he is.

thanks sir.
Well i think he was good for some period but now he is over the hill.
He won Pakistan two ICC trophies.. and both against a final vs India.
He provided good services to Pakistan cricket but time to move on. I would like so that U-19 kid.. Rohail i think... to be inducted and given chances.

LOL his missed stumping almost cost us the match.

Bhayya,you are as terrible as seen on the pitch.

Probably just a ploy to stay in the public conscience before Pakistan's next series whenever it is.

He knows Rizwan has one-upped him majorly this summer.

PCB needs to lay some ground rules on social media use for cricketers. Sarfaraz coming out saying this, isn't really gonna help his cause. Just perform when you needed to.

Embarrasing exchange between two mentally weak and over the hill players.

They both are average cricketers but definitely not mentally weak. In fact whatever they have have achieved in international cricket with limited ability has been due to mental strength.

Whatever they have achieved is due to the lack of quality cricketers in Pakistan. As a result we have come to accept these guys as world class. It was obvious at last years WC. No other country would have a wicket keeper batsman like Sarfraz in their team, but we had him as our skipper.

Azhar definitely served a purpose for a while and made the most of his talents, but he struggles under pressure and was never captaincy material. In truth he has only been made captain because we have no other options. It is a bit like a repeat of Misbah.

The best players are able to work on their flaws and improve as batsmen and set a higher standard. This professionalism has been missing for a long time. Look at the way Hashim Amla was exposed by England on his first tour there but improved thereafter and became one of the leading cricketers in the world. Compare with Azhar Ali who has got out so many times in the same way since 2010 tour.

We have a lot to do and need to expect better from our cricketers. They're playing Test cricket for Pakistan after all.

Can't even handle a bit of criticism. How do you expect him to handle top international bowlers ?

Too many Pakistani cricketers these days who enjoy the praise, but can't handle any criticism.

I know sometimes people go overboard with criticism, but constructive criticism should be taken on board by these guys.

He has a point. We do like to taunt every slide bit we can. Bit like Misbah-ul-Haq. Get over it guys.

Whats wrong with the tweet? There has been a lot of namecalling recently and all he has said is expressed his disappointment/sadness in the form of poetry. When people can come to personal attacks then he has some right of decently defending him.

Probably just a ploy to stay in the public conscience before Pakistan's next series whenever it is.

He knows Rizwan has one-upped him majorly this summer.

Rizwan needs Sarfaraz to keep his game at a high level. Both our long term keepers before Rizwan(Kami and Sarfaraz) fell away quickly after great starts because there was no competition.

I wonder how long Sarfaraz will continue to be happy with the number 2 spot.

There comes a breaking point.

Plus throw Rohail into the mix.

This guy is the second worst thing ever happened to Pakistan cricket.He should have never played so many matches with his mediocre batting and so awful wicket-keeping.It's just insane he is still being played in national team.

He was picked because he was a solid batsman and far more reliable behind the wickets than Kamran Akmal.

Granted his batting declined under captaincy, and losing two stalwarts like Misbah AND Younis Khan didn't help matters.

Let's not just ignore his prior accomplishments prior to the last two years.

He was picked because he was a solid batsman and far more reliable behind the wickets than Kamran Akmal.

Granted his batting declined under captaincy, and losing two stalwarts like Misbah AND Younis Khan didn't help matters.

Let's not just ignore his prior accomplishments prior to the last two years.

Solid ? in built may be :, was not a consistent batsman other than a brief run of form on UAE roads. Kamran, an equally horrible keeper but far better batsman for many years.

NNTVuyr.png

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="hi" dir="ltr">Izat aur kamyaabi Allah ke haath mai hai. Jis ka dil saaf us ko kaun gira sakta hai? <a href="https://t.co/Lzv4kwM84L">https://t.co/Lzv4kwM84L</a></p>— Shadab Khan (@76Shadabkhan) <a href="https://twitter.com/76Shadabkhan/status/1304004064498384902?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">September 10, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="ur" dir="rtl">جس کے دل میں قرآن ہو<br>اور جسے اللہ عزت دے اوسے کون گراہ سکے <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/%DA%A9%D9%BE%D8%AA%D8%A7%D9%86?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#کپتان</a> <a href="https://t.co/IYSh0DUreJ">https://t.co/IYSh0DUreJ</a></p>— Hassan Ali &#55356;&#56821;&#55356;&#56816; (@RealHa55an) <a href="https://twitter.com/RealHa55an/status/1303987425312727041?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">September 10, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

He needs to sort his game out and his mindset.

He lost weight because he was in awful shape, which was a good start. However his keeping and his batting have really gone downhill.

Instead of posting messages on twitter etc he needs to work on his game, sort his head out and prove his critics wrong.

National T20 Cup scores so far:

10, 2, 11, 7 * and 20

50 runs in the whole tournament to date.

if we go by general standards of age fudging in pak, he pbly at least 35 or 36 now, most keepers go downhill at that age anyway. hes a good backup for the test team for the next few years, thats about it for him.

He can't even score in a rubbish domestic tournament and his fans were telling me he is the best in the country.

Best in the country? His fans put him ahead of Latif and Moin as the all time best WK Pakistan have ever produced.

Unfortunately his form is not up to the mark. His fans in desperation use the Karachi card but honestly speaking the standard of cricket in Karachi has dropped tremendously. Not a single Karachi player deserves a spot in the national side based on merit.

Hard for some people to admit that Sarfraz Ahmed and Azhar Ali are a thally honest triers and good kind hearted gentlemen.

Sarfraz led PK with dignity and is still needed to push Riz. If he goes, History shows Riz will become lazy and rubbish.

I believe you are trying to say there should be competition for wk position, so rizwan doesnt slacks off. I agree, But why him, why not some like rohail nazir instead.

Best in the country? His fans put him ahead of Latif and Moin as the all time best WK Pakistan have ever produced.

Depends on what aspect we’re talking about, because in terms of batting, despite his struggles for the last 2-3 years he was in the team, Sarfaraz has a superior record to the rest.

Best averages for wicket-keeper batsmen (all formats):

wLxrzHW.png

Depends on what aspect we’re talking about, because in terms of batting, despite his struggles for the last 2-3 years he was in the team, Sarfaraz has a superior record to the rest.

Best averages for wicket-keeper batsmen (all formats):

wLxrzHW.png
Where's Rizwan?

Fielding lapses galore around him - but this is not the same Sarfaraz who would be shouting at his players when he was playing international cricket - seems not bothered. How could he not be livid?

What a shame this is.

If people are unfairly criticizing him then he has every right to go out and tweet his feelings.

He is a human being. He has feelings, I don't know why people think these players are robots. His performances are fair game for criticism, but we see that he becomes the brunt of jokes and he has become a meme.

You can't be making fun of someone for reasons other than cricket and then be mad that they are out tweeting about it lol.

Hard for some people to admit that Sarfraz Ahmed and Azhar Ali are a thally honest triers and good kind hearted gentlemen.

They are and their services are very much respected (Azhar is one of the most underrated MVP’s in the Champions Trophy win and in getting to #1 in Tests).

Now both their times have come and gone and it is time to move on.

It's a cruel business. From being a captain to a backup wk in a span of a year can cause insecurities most of us won't understand. From time to time, people need a pat on the back or some kind of reassurance. He's not a PR professional to polish things.

Well, most of it is his own undoing.
He didnt grow as a player, but rather regressed in every department during the time he was in charge.

He is still getting more than what he deserves, because with his current performance and form, he doesn't deserve to be an automatic pick for Sindh's first XI, let alone captain it.

Well, most of it is his own undoing.
He didnt grow as a player, but rather regressed in every department during the time he was in charge.

He is still getting more than what he deserves, because with his current performance and form, he doesn't deserve to be an automatic pick for Sindh's first XI, let alone captain it.

I just don't understand why we are giving Sarfraz Ahmed this attention.

He was an excellent Test wicketkeeper-batsman for a couple of years, but his Test career went wrong not so much because of bad fitness as an inability to leave the ball outside off-stump in SENA. That made him unselectable compared with Mohammad Rizwan.

But now Pakistan has the world's best batsman-wicketkeeper in Mohammad Rizwan, and the world's best emerging young batsman-wicketkeeper in Rohail Nazir.

It fits with Misbah's character and personality that he carries Sarfraz around as a ready-to-play reserve, even though he is 33 years old and in clear decline.

But now is the moment that Rohail Nazir should be the second bastman-wicketkeeper in the squad in all forms of the game. He is six weeks younger than Moin Khan was in 1990 when Imran Khan gave him his Test debut against the world champion West Indies and their attack of Ambrose-Bishop-Walsh-Marshall. (Moin was the 3rd highest scorer in the First Innings and 2nd highest scorer in the second innings).

To be frank, I would already have Rohail Nazir as my keeper in all 3 formats, with Mohammad Rizwan batting in the Top Five of the order as a specialist Test and ODI batsman.

[MENTION=132916]Junaids[/MENTION] seems you don’t rate Tom Banton? I wager he could be a fantastic batsman wicketkeeper if not the best of the emerging lot.

I just don't understand why we are giving Sarfraz Ahmed this attention.

He was an excellent Test wicketkeeper-batsman for a couple of years, but his Test career went wrong not so much because of bad fitness as an inability to leave the ball outside off-stump in SENA. That made him unselectable compared with Mohammad Rizwan.

But now Pakistan has the world's best batsman-wicketkeeper in Mohammad Rizwan, and the world's best emerging young batsman-wicketkeeper in Rohail Nazir.

It fits with Misbah's character and personality that he carries Sarfraz around as a ready-to-play reserve, even though he is 33 years old and in clear decline.

But now is the moment that Rohail Nazir should be the second bastman-wicketkeeper in the squad in all forms of the game. He is six weeks younger than Moin Khan was in 1990 when Imran Khan gave him his Test debut against the world champion West Indies and their attack of Ambrose-Bishop-Walsh-Marshall. (Moin was the 3rd highest scorer in the First Innings and 2nd highest scorer in the second innings).

To be frank, I would already have Rohail Nazir as my keeper in all 3 formats, with Mohammad Rizwan batting in the Top Five of the order as a specialist Test and ODI batsman.
Rohail is not as good as you think.
He is an okay talent, and not an outrageously gifted one. He therefore needs a lot of gigs in the domestic arena to become honed at his craft.

For now, having Sarfaraz around makes sense, not only because Rohail is not ready but also to set a precedent that players wont be completely ostracised if they fall out of favour, which is important because not doing so will breed in bad will and fear of no job security among the players.

Fielding lapses galore around him - but this is not the same Sarfaraz who would be shouting at his players when he was playing international cricket - seems not bothered. How could he not be livid?

What a shame this is.

Much better today, lots of shabash and only ones, there are few better sights in T20 cricket then seeing Saifi and young spinners strangle a side to oblivion.

Rohail is not as good as you think.
He is an okay talent, and not an outrageously gifted one. He therefore needs a lot of gigs in the domestic arena to become honed at his craft.

For now, having Sarfaraz around makes sense, not only because Rohail is not ready but also to set a precedent that players wont be completely ostracised if they fall out of favour, which is important because not doing so will breed in bad will and fear of no job security among the players.

Rohail is developing well, shows intent to work harder and harder, and has a wealth of experience in U19, First Class, U23 (Man of the Match in Emerging Asia final) and PSL. He has been taking batting advice from Gary Palmer, notable in a high elbow position during this National T20 cup, and has shown that not only can he power hit but also plays modern T20 strokes such as ramps, scoops, etc.

If he continues this trajectory, Rohail will be a mainstay in the national team for many years to come.

What a shame this is.

Are other captains shouting at fielding lapses? This isn’t international cricket. No point shouting during matches if the skill levels aren’t quite there yet.

Its about passion.

Whether at international or Club level, it has to be the same.

Sarfraz’s career is done.

It is a dramatic fall from grace - he was on top of the world only 3 years ago and was getting compared to the likes of Imran Khan.

The England tour was the final nail in his coffin because Rizwan quickly established himself as a fan favorite and is rated highly by the PCB as well.

Expect Sarfraz to be dragged along on a couple of tours as backup WK before fizzling out for good.

He has no one but himself to blame. He complete lost focus as an individual player in terms of performance and fitness. Both keeping and batting went downhill.

3-4 years ago, his keeping was probably on par with Rizwan. Today, Rizwan is as good as anyone in the world as a pure keeper, while you might find better keepers than Sarfraz in associate teams.

No Pakistani cricketer in history has a bigger and quicker fall than Sarfraz. It is almost hard to believe.

3-4 years ago, his keeping was probably on par with Rizwan. Today, Rizwan is as good as anyone in the world as a pure keeper, while you might find better keepers than Sarfraz in associate teams.

Nope. Sarfraz doesn't have the natural agility and other attributes. He was never close to the current Rizwan in keeping, even in his prime.

Agility is only one factor. Rizwan has always been a great athlete but his keeping was not up to the mark until 2017-2018 where he improved drastically.

Sarfraz was a safe catcher for a long time but his keeping went downhill alarmingly in the last couple of years. He is a really poor keeper now, but he was quite decent in his peak years.

Sarfraz was at beast mode in 2014 to 2016......2017 2018 was just ok....but last two years his fitness has gone down he tried to establish himself as finisher whereas he should have come at 4 or better open ...but didn't do that.....and is now totally out of team......only yelling won't do anything......sometimes a stare does more than that.....
A. Should have played in top 4.
B. Should have led from front which he failed.
C. Became a yes man of coach.

His positive traits were he could have make use of limited resources esp in bowling and would allow everybody to express themselves but he became more and more strict and adamant . His behavior on the field became like of a road side cricket captain.
Plus his decline in form led to his downfall.

Now his only chance is t20...but I don't see him doing much there

Looks a spent force and at times disillusioned in the National T20 Cup.

Only one 50 with 167 runs in the whole tournament in 9 innings.

Looks a spent force and at times disillusioned in the National T20 Cup.

Only one 50 with 167 runs in the whole tournament in 9 innings.

Garbage player. Beyond me why it took years to get rid of him. Hopefully we never see him again.

He seems to be extra emotional person.
But he gets picked on unnecessarily as well.

At 33, looks likehe may not have many international games on his side.
But he is probably a good person at heart, and led reasonably well in LOI's.

His complacency towards fitness and improvement led to his downfall.

Half-centuries by Fawad Alam and captain Sarfaraz Ahmed had Sindh batting at 245 for six against Khyber Pakhtunkhwa at the close of play at UBL Sports Complex.

The pair stitched a crucial 119-run partnership for the fifth wicket which ended with Fawad getting run out nine runs short of what would have been his 36th first-class century. The left-handed batsman smashed eight fours in his 177-ball stay at the crease as he recorded 91.

His captain Sarfaraz was unbeaten on 68. The wicketkeeper-batsman had faced 81 balls to date from which five were dispatched to boundary.