Sarfaraz Ahmed must go before the World Cup 2019

Hawkeye

He needs to go.

Can't bat, can't run, can't keep, can't lead.

On to getting his partners out as well out of anxiety.

Cannot afford him when we go into the big tournament.

what about minnow basher imam ul haq
one six hack asif ali
mr genius baber azam who didnt allow fakhar to take the review.

Mentally weak character. Only talks the good talk, but when it comes to actions, it's there for all to see.

You can tell a lot about a person from the way they carry themselves. In Sarfraz's case it's clear gobbling up samosas and pakoras means more to him than being fit.

ajeeb aur gareeb batein, reality is pakistan is still not good enough to beat top teams but the best way to do that is to keep playing them

The body language has been terrible. I thought he would calm down by now but he hasn't.

He can score a double hundred for all I care today.

That's like hiding the real disease but treating symptoms for 24 hours.

He's not cut for this level.

what if he scores a triple ton? then what eyehawk.

Roti bhai/behen, that will not change what he really is.

Incapable of batting against the good sides (or batting at all, in the last ~1.5 years). And, not able to lead. Always shouting.

When you don't have your own performances, you can't lead from the front either.

Today he will score because it's a flat pitch and Ind are playing 3 spinners but that will hurt Pakistan in long run. You could see his selfishness when he denied single after Baber reached middle of the pitch.

World Cup line up should be
Kamran Akmal ( best domestic batsman, plus best wicket keeper batsman we ever had, plus after Gilcrest the best wicket keeper batsman)
Salman Butt ( he turned his life around deserve a second chance, legally can’t travel to England, but I am sure we can arrange a boat for him)
Hafeez ( best Allrounder ever changes his action every year, he is the PROFESSOR)
Umar Akmal ( best talent Pak has ever produced, he wont play if his brother doesn’t play)
Misbah ( the saviour of Pak cric, if the top order fails we need someone to carry inning tuk tuk)
Shahid Afridi ( he is only 16, the best spinning option plus he can hit the ball out of stadium)
Mohammed irfan ( the tall fast bowler he just had best figures in T20 game)
Wahab Riaz ( he rejuvenated himself with Mitchell Johnson must ash)
Mohammed Asif ( the magician he will swing the ball in England, but when it comes to fielding he will lift his hand up and ask the youngster to get )
Saeed Ajmal ( he invented doora deserves to be in team )
Babar Azam ( need for fielding bc none of them can’t field )
Captain misbah and Afridi can flip the coin
Coach Mohsin Khan ( the best we ever had )
Manager intikhab Alam ( he apparently lost weight, he needs a vacation)
12, 13,14,15,16, players will be some diplomatics families
WE WILL WIN THE WORLD CUP

World Cup line up should be
Kamran Akmal ( best domestic batsman, plus best wicket keeper batsman we ever had, plus after Gilcrest the best wicket keeper batsman)
Salman Butt ( he turned his life around deserve a second chance, legally can’t travel to England, but I am sure we can arrange a boat for him)
Hafeez ( best Allrounder ever changes his action every year, he is the PROFESSOR)
Umar Akmal ( best talent Pak has ever produced, he wont play if his brother doesn’t play)
Misbah ( the saviour of Pak cric, if the top order fails we need someone to carry inning tuk tuk)
Shahid Afridi ( he is only 16, the best spinning option plus he can hit the ball out of stadium)
Mohammed irfan ( the tall fast bowler he just had best figures in T20 game)
Wahab Riaz ( he rejuvenated himself with Mitchell Johnson must ash)
Mohammed Asif ( the magician he will swing the ball in England, but when it comes to fielding he will lift his hand up and ask the youngster to get )
Saeed Ajmal ( he invented doora deserves to be in team )
Babar Azam ( need for fielding bc none of them can’t field )
Captain misbah and Afridi can flip the coin
Coach Mohsin Khan ( the best we ever had )
Manager intikhab Alam ( he apparently lost weight, he needs a vacation)
12, 13,14,15,16, players will be some diplomatics families
WE WILL WIN THE WORLD CUP

LOL potw man, trolling with class. Fans really don't know how good they have it right now. THis is easily the best pakistan team we've had in a decade in limited overs. Balanced. Still remember the days when we would huff and puff against minnows, and relied solely on an afridi special to win us any match.

Malik should be captain. A truly wondrful player at the moment. No one better to lead PAK at the moment.

He has genuine issues but i would take a one legged sarfraz over what misbah was doing to the odi team.

Lol. Not happening and it is a good thing that the PCB now has people in high positions that will not make silly moves like this. He is a very good captain and wicket-keeper and is a decent batsman who can dominate spin - something a lot of Pakistani batsmen cannot do anymore.

1) Imam
2) Fakhar
3) Babar/Haris
4) Haris/Babar
5) Sarfaraz
6) Malik
7) ?
8) Shadab
9) Amir
10) Hasan
11) Junaid/Usman/Shaheen

Sarfaraz's ideal place is #4 or #5 and he is someone who should excel in the middle overs where a lot of teams will be bowling their spinners. We just need to find a proper finisher at #7 who can hit the ball a long way and decide who should be our third seamer and the team is set.

His lack of fitness showing here, could tell he was flagging, so the rare occasion he does get himself in his pot belly prevents him from doing anything significant.

He will lead us to the 2019 WC. I think if we don't perform well and his individual performance isn't up to scratch he should be sacked.

People need to be a little realistic here. PCB isn't run by intetnet trolls so it is highly unlikely that they will change the captain months before the WC especially since Sarfaraz has been relativey sucessful.

Malik should be the captain. He is already the captain in my eyes

Well if he is already the captain in your eyes then why change anything? You can keep looking at Malik as captain as you already do anyways. Its a win-win sort of situation.

People need to be a little realistic here. PCB isn't run by intetnet trolls so it is highly unlikely that they will change the captain months before the WC especially since Sarfaraz has been relativey sucessful.

These internet trolls have more foresight than those running the PCB. A batting handicap team like Pakistan cannot afford an average batsman leading them with his poor fitness and anger issues. It will be miracle if Pakistan reach final 4.

Pakistan just has too many mediocre batsmen. They can’t hit boundaries or clear the ropes. Need to get Sharjeel back. Need at least 2 strong hitters down the order.

These internet trolls have more foresight than those running the PCB. A batting handicap team like Pakistan cannot afford an average batsman leading them with his poor fitness and anger issues. It will be miracle if Pakistan reach final 4.

Sarfaraz is out of form and IMO not the ideal captain either, for the future we should be looking at Zaman or Azam. But for the 2019 world cup, its too late to change now. Despite his own form, Sarfaraz has gotten decent results so i think its delusional to think that PCB will replace him.

Also i am shocked to see so many calling for Malik, have people looked at his recent captaincy record? Karachi Kings and Multan both struggled under his leadership and even when he was Pakistani captain, the results were pretty average.

He needs to go.

Idiotic thread but I am not surprised since it's coming from a person who supported Misbah as captain unarguably our worst LOI captain

Babar's run out was atrocious. Mickey should give him a nice danda for babar's dismissal.

Idiotic thread but I am not surprised since it's coming from a person who supported Misbah as captain unarguably our worst LOI captain

Lol if Misbah had this talent at his disposal he would be winning a lot more than this team is right now, kinda like how he does in PSL.

Sarfraz is not built for pressure, body language shows how nervous he is and that's not the type of person you want leading a side because eventually the players lose respect and that's what's happening right now.

Dont know why misbah's die hard fans are jumping up and down here. Sarfraz with all his idiocy is still better than misbah. Dont even want to remember the horrible times of misbah. :faceplam:

I just saw him abusing spinner after he got hit for boundary. I understand that this is his captaincy style but really it is so poor to see someone representing his country being shouted and abused on live television. Sarfaraz really needs to work on his style, this is so unprofessional. If my boss in office treats me like this he will get fired. Kohli abuses too but I have never seen him abusing his teammate on ground.

Lol if Misbah had this talent at his disposal he would be winning a lot more than this team is right now, kinda like how he does in PSL.

Sarfraz is not built for pressure, body language shows how nervous he is and that's not the type of person you want leading a side because eventually the players lose respect and that's what's happening right now.

Misbah persisted with trash that's his fault

He was one of the most powerful captains Pak had

He is the best captain Pakistan has ever had.Even IK doesn't come anywhere near to his greatness and people want him sacked?Get a life guys!

Misbah persisted with trash that's his fault

He was one of the most powerful captains Pak had

This entire team is made up of players found in PSL, misbah did not have that luxury of having guys come onto the team who had the confidence of selectors and fans before debuting and doing anything significant. I think PSL has been a revelation and with a better captain, a professional, thinking, mature captain, Pakistan can be formidable.

Sarfaraz just doesn't look or sound like a captain. I know its a superficial observation but sometimes those turn out to be the most apt ones. He lacks temperament and appears impulsive at times. Winning a major tournamanet doesn't automatically gives you those qualities. The Champions Trophy win did not come only because of Sarfaraz's personal contributions to the team or his great acumen as a captain. We as a team managed to play out of our skins in that final game. Since we are an emotional nation, that one win against our arch rivals managed to hide all our deficiencies and insecurities. It also elevated Sarfaraz to the level that he did not deserved.

He never had class and even after that magical win, has not managed to grow into the figure we all aspired him to be. On the contrary, you see a guy who has become somewhat complacent. His fitness level always seemed questionable and one thought after becoming the captain that he will seriously work on shedding those extra pounds. Its been the opposite. He is a street fighter for sure but the game of cricket cannot always be treated as a street fight. Its requires planning, training, tact, patience and maturity. Pure brute self confidence and aggression can only take one so far.

Its hard for me to see any of the youngsters in the team getting inspired by him. He doesn't command any respect. Having said all that, the tragedy is that there are no better options available to us right now and if not but only for the sake of continuity, we simply have to stick with him and hope he improves in his ways. Though I seriously doubt that.

Sarfaraz just doesn't look or sound like a captain. I know its a superficial observation but sometimes those turn out to be the most apt ones. He lacks temperament and appears impulsive at times. Winning a major tournamanet doesn't automatically gives you those qualities. The Champions Trophy win did not come only because of Sarfaraz's personal contributions to the team or his great acumen as a captain. We as a team managed to play out of our skins in that final game. Since we are an emotional nation, that one win against our arch rivals managed to hide all our deficiencies and insecurities. It also elevated Sarfaraz to the level that he did not deserved.

He never had class and even after that magical win, has not managed to grow into the figure we all aspired him to be. On the contrary, you see a guy who has become somewhat complacent. His fitness level always seemed questionable and one thought after becoming the captain that he will seriously work on shedding those extra pounds. Its been the opposite. He is a street fighter for sure but the game of cricket cannot always be treated as a street fight. Its requires planning, training, tact, patience and maturity. Pure brute self confidence and aggression can only take one so far.

Its hard for me to see any of the youngsters in the team getting inspired by him. He doesn't command any respect. Having said all that, the tragedy is that there are no better options available to us right now and if not but only for the sake of continuity, we simply have to stick with him and hope he improves in his ways. Though I seriously doubt that.

Excellent post.

Hopeless captaincy today. Not even looked like trying. He had given up before the bowlers even started. Such a meek character will generate any inspiration for team?

He has to go. He is good for nothing.Not even a specialist captain now. He is pathetic in every department. Go sarfraz Go.

Totally agree with thread. Poor captaincy, remain in anxiety all time which puts unwanted pressure on all players result players keep dropping dolly catches. Also field placing was pathetic Fielders were placed on edges of circle but it was needed to at least stop singles. Also no slips were taken when you are defending a below average total. Look at how on every ball keep speaking to bowler. Such as aagay ker bowl pechey kar etc. Has to give players confidence and also change his attitude. Looks like champions trophy fluke win is still got on his head. Look at his performance after that 5-0 against Newzealand and now this asia cup.

Having said all in above paragraph I think Malik should be given captaincy until we find a better captain. Pcb also dont prepare much leaders look at PSL apart from Imaad waseem and sarfraz all 4 captains were foreigners.

When pakistan will drop sarfaraz as captain

Sarfaraz is pathetic as captain

I dont know why after loosing 5 -nil against NZ why he was continued as captain ?

Now after this performance he will be still continued..

I thnik they should Mailk as captain till world cup

Sarfaraz plays as keeper
And after world cup when Malik retires ..Babar Azam should be captain

Any opionos

POTW material right here.

He calls all junior players "beta". Isn't that offensive? Or at least annoying? I am surprised nobody has talked to him about it yet.

Fakhar Zaman as captain?

He is a trained commando. Does not speak unnecessarily and is fearless.

Btw, who is vice captain in this team? :))

But honestly i don't think other Pakistani players are world class either.

I don't think it is a great idea, just 8 months before the world cup. Pakistan need to work the batting order such that Sarfaraz bats at number 7. He has been the captain of the side for a while now and changing him will seriously damage the preparation for the world cup.

We can't change the captain this close to the WC. Who will replace him anyway?

In regards to his batting, he needs to play his natural game. Just rotate the strike. He should have been the guy who played the anchor role...

Fakhar Zaman as captain?

He is a trained commando. Does not speak unnecessarily and is fearless.

Btw, who is vice captain in this team? :))

But honestly i don't think other Pakistani players are world class either.

Trained commando doesn’t know what is lbw .

WC is too close so keep Sarfraz as captain. But he has to play in top 4 or bottom 3.

That's just not going to happen. What he needs to do is improve his batting before world cup 2019 as we will need him at his best then. If we don't make it past the first round (god forbid), then that'll probably be the last time he captains the ODI team, and the end of mickey Arthur.

We always have drama before the world cup. Our odi itinerary before the world cup includes series against NZ, Australia, South Africa and England. Theres no place to hide for Sarfaraz, malik, or hafeez. I hope sarfaraz is able to rise to the challenge.

Well that's certainly some competition, and good preparation. Indeed, no place to run, I worry most for sarfraz as he seems to lack the skills, inshallah he finds a way to score runs and get some kind of form going into the world cup. Hafeez I think might be okay if he comes in around 6/7 get a 30 odd.

He needs to go.

Bet you were well pleased with champions trophy. When is it going to register. Its a team failure. Lets not pick on individuals. Did Sarfraz drop that doddle of catch. He can only do so much.

He's not going anywhere, at least until the 2019 World Cup, so I hope he really pulls it together.

I just saw him abusing spinner after he got hit for boundary. I understand that this is his captaincy style but really it is so poor to see someone representing his country being shouted and abused on live television. Sarfaraz really needs to work on his style, this is so unprofessional. If my boss in office treats me like this he will get fired. Kohli abuses too but I have never seen him abusing his teammate on ground.

shukar hai ma behan ki galiyan nahi deen like imran or wasim

People just make a big deal of his talking on the field. I reiterate everbody was happy when Pakistan was winning. How un professional was it for thosecatches to be dropped.

He has won a ICC trophy. He deserves to lead us at the world cup.

Correction, the players in the team won you guys the CT with their batting/bowling. His captaincy wasn't anything special during CT, neither was his batting. However, I don't see a leader atm in PAK team. So stick with him till a leader pops up.

Interesting... so when Pakistan win its the TEAM. When they lose it HIM.

If they won it because of HIM, then they also lost 5-0 to NZ because of him.

They also had the worst defeat ever to India just a few days back because of him.

It remains to be seen if he can rise Pakistan from the ashes to somehow magically claim the Asia Cup, but in the unlikely event it doesn't happen, the failure of team in Asia Cup is also because of him.

I'm glad I've been in Miami for the past week or so because the scorecards look depressing to the say the least but I knew this was gonna happen to Pakistan with the lack of quality players of spin and spinner. It was also going to be a matter of time when the pressure was going to be on Sarfraz. Most of hype circle was convinced he was the better captain out of him and Kohli, well they've got the reality check they deserved now.

Sarfraz isn't good enough to make the team with the bat alone, so the question should be when should he be dropped from the XI? Are the reserve options in Rizwan and co any worse with the bat? How is their wicket keeping and fitness in comparison?

I also mentioned this before the tournament and will say again his fitness score doesn't seem legit at all.

the captain is as good as his team.
sarfaraz is still the best choice for captaining pakistan.
look at ricky ponting once the ATG's retired, he was failing even to compete.
captain cant do anything if batsman gifts there wickets and fielder start dropping lollies.
they are just low in confidence and 1 good spinner.
they can't be world beaters with the talent at the disposal currently but atleast they will give fight.

If they won it because of HIM, then they also lost 5-0 to NZ because of him.
They also had the worst defeat ever to India just a few days back because of him.

It remains to be seen if he can rise Pakistan from the ashes to somehow magically claim the Asia Cup, but in the unlikely event it doesn't happen, the failure of team in Asia Cup is also because of him.

Tunnel vision thinking. I reiterate he did not drop the catches....His leadership is fine. Its just haters here. Same people jump for joy when winning. It was a beautiful batting display by the indians

So in essence if we win, its because of him.

But if we lose, its despite his excellence on the field.

So in essence if we win, its because of him.

But if we lose, its despite his excellence on the field.

Clearly, you are not understanding my comments. People are saying it is Sarfraz fault for the last match. Explain how is that. Is it not TEAM issue. If we win its a TEAM effort. Is that clear enough for you. It is others who crying and blaming Sarfraz

He did win us the match versus Sri Lanka which was do or die, yes there were dropped catches but he took his team home.