Sarfraz Ahmed confirmed as Pakistan Test captain

hadi123

Pakistan Tuesday rewarded Sarfraz Ahmed with the country's Test captaincy, a fortnight after he led the national team to an elusive Champions Trophy title in England.

Underdogs Pakistan trounced India by a record 180-run margin in the final in London on June 18 to lift the Champions Trophy, to the shock and ecstasy of the cricket-mad country.

Pakistan Cricket Board chairman Shaharyar Khan named Sarfraz Test captain at a ceremony honouring the winning team hosted by Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif in Islamabad on Tuesday.

"I take this opportunity to announce Ahmed as our Test captain in addition to one-day and Twenty20 captain," Khan said.

The 30-year-old will lead Pakistan in the three-match Test series against Sri Lanka, likely to be held on the neutral venue of the United Arab Emirates in October.

Ahmed has already led Pakistan in nine one-day internationals since last year, winning seven and losing two. He has also led in eight Twenty20s, winning seven and losing just one.

The Test captaincy has been vacant since Misbah-ul-Haq retired after winning a three-match Test series 2-1 in the West Indies in May this year.

Ahmed said leading Pakistan in all three formats is a great honour.

"I am honoured to be appointed Test captain," he said during the ceremony. "I will do my best to lift the team in all three formats and will not rest on Champions Trophy laurels."

Sharif rewarded every member of the Trophy winning team with a prize of 10 million rupees ($100,000) while members of the team management received five million ($50,000).

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/wires/af...t-Pakistan-appoints-Sarfraz-Test-captain.html

Good choice. Best captain in Pakistan.

Best captain in Pakistan but I am a little worried about the work load now...hopefully, he can cope with it. He is a fighter and won't quit like some in the past.

Best of luck Sarfraz!

How is he the best captain in pakistan when he is yet to captain in the test side?
Maybe best candidate you could say?

Test captaincy is gonna be the real test for sarfraz, he will have to fill in big boots here as misbah had an undefeated record in the uae.

Misbahs success was basically due to his ability to read the pitch and condition, so lets see how good sarfraz is in that area.

The captains before misbah didnt bother to select final 11 based on conditions but they selected based on false myths that ohhh oponent is scared of pace and this and that.

Lets what will be sarfrazs policy on batting tracks, will he play 2 spinners and 2 pacers on such tracks or what?

How is he the best captain in pakistan when he is yet to captain in the test side?

Test captaincy is gonna be the real test for sarfraz, he will have to fill in big boots here as misbah had an undefeated record in the uae.

Misbahs success was basically due to his ability to read the pitch and condition, so lets see how good sarfraz is in that area.

The captains before misbah didnt bother to select final 11 based on conditions but they selected based on false myths that ohhh oponent is scared of pace and this and that.

Lets what will be sarfrazs policy on batting tracks, will he play 2 spinners and 2 pacers on such tracks or what?

Well, best because he has proven himself as a captain at all levels so far (the Under 19s, domestic, PSL, and ODI/T20Is). It is normal to consider him the best captain in the formats he has captained so far. I am pretty sure, he will be successful in Tests as well.

MashAllah hafiz sarfraz Ahmed. May Allah grant him success in both worlds

Well, best because he has proven himself as a captain at all levels so far (the Under 19s, domestic, PSL, and ODI/T20Is). It is normal to consider him the best captain in the formats he has captained so far. I am pretty sure, he will be successful in Tests as well.

To be honest, i dont think he has proven himself in first class circuit(i could be wrong)

I think he was pias team member? Was he captain and did he lead them to a good wins rrcord percentage?

This is why i think hafeez is better candidate as he has a massive sngpl captaincy record with him

To be honest, i dont think he has proven himself in first class circuit(i could be wrong)

I think he was pias team member? Was he captain and did he lead them to a good wins rrcord percentage?

This is why i think hafeez is better candidate as he has a massive sngpl captaincy record with him

Yaar - Shukar heh aap selector nahin!!

Thank god you are not a selector!! HAFEEZ!! Oh my days.......

Mark my words, Sarfraz will lead Pakistan to its first ever Test Series win in South Africa next year winter 2018.

Expected and just had to wait for the official announcement.

All the best to Sarfaraz and hopefully he replicates his performances in test matches as he has done so far in his ODI career as captain.

I am worried about his workload,though.Being captain of all three formats and keeping wickets in all of them is a huge task.It takes a lot out of you mentally but physically as well it is going to be a huge task.Hopefully he remains fit enough to do that for us.

At the same time we have to find a back up keeper for Sarfaraz and have him only in selected T20I matches and also rest him in dead rubbers in ODIs.Now our options include Rizwan or other WKs from domestics like Hasan,Rehan Afridi,Bismillah,etc.To me I don't think anyone among them is a very capable batsman who can be very successful in international cricket.So,I'll throw Umair Masood in the picture.I know a lot of people will argue that he needs domestic season and all that but to me the best way to groom him is under the wings of Sarfaraz and national coaches.Let him train under national coaches and play him in selected games,games in which Sarfaraz will be rested.Another option would've been Rohail Nazir who is very young but I am not sure about him as I am yet to watch him bat and keep wickets.

i think sarfraz ahmed is the first cricketer to captain pakistan in all three formats simultaneously

congrats sarfraz ahmed :sarf

long may you reign

yaar ek hondi hai muhabbat ek hondi hai anni muhabbat, Manna mein ke misbah great kuptaan si Pakistan da, lekin hun who retire hogaya way, koi aur wodi jaga kaptaan aajawe tay aida matlab ai nahi ke misbah kat si ya bekaar si

khuda nu mann, misbah wi insaan hi si, wonay bhi wadday wadday blunder kittay nay, lekin kaddi innay karray imtihaan tussi misbah sahib to nahi dittay jinnay critical vview tay churray tussi sarfaraz waastay tayyar kittay huey nay, ke will he play two spinners or two pacers

baksh de bhai, Pakistan ka hi captain hai

So we should again make the mistake of appointing a captain who isn't even a part of the team? That's before we bring his 'abilities' and 'age' into the discussion...

brilliant- 2 years too late but he's unquestionably the best captain we've had in 10+ years

So we should again make the mistake of appointing a captain who isn't even a part of the team? That's before we bring his 'abilities' and 'age' into the discussion...

We could be making a mistake by appoint sarfaz, so who knows.

You are right, that due to hafeez's bad form he might not be a direct selection as of yet.

I'm talking on the basis of captaincy. Hafeez has years of experience as captain for SNGPL. Sarfraz doesn't.

I wouldn't mind a 2-3 year stint with hafeez, while Sarfraz takes over captaincy of pakistan A and his domestic First class side. Even though, this should had happened before, not now.

Thing is, if Sarfraz fails as captain in test, we will be having a new captain next year.

THe way Sarfraz is being made captain for test is just like how Azhar Ali was made captain of the ODI team. These guys were not experimented properly with captaincy in domestic

I could be wrong about Sarfraz on this though, because i dont know how many games he captained in first class and what his record was. I tried searching it but i failed. Maybe he could be a good captain in first class, i dont know.

yaar ek hondi hai muhabbat ek hondi hai anni muhabbat, Manna mein ke misbah great kuptaan si Pakistan da, lekin hun who retire hogaya way, koi aur wodi jaga kaptaan aajawe tay aida matlab ai nahi ke misbah kat si ya bekaar si

khuda nu mann, misbah wi insaan hi si, wonay bhi wadday wadday blunder kittay nay, lekin kaddi innay karray imtihaan tussi misbah sahib to nahi dittay jinnay critical vview tay churray tussi sarfaraz waastay tayyar kittay huey nay, ke will he play two spinners or two pacers

baksh de bhai, Pakistan ka hi captain hai

Look bro, i only mentioned Misbah here as he is the predecessor, and as the predecessor he held the best record out of all Pakistani captains, to which i believe he was the best. Which is why i think the test captaincy standards are risen and hope that the next guy who comes in could fill in those boots.

Thing is Misbah did at the end of the day take a mediocre team to no.1 only because of his way of reading conditions.
Let me remind you our test team is still not the best, but it could be the best if we play by the conditions

I think he needs to let go of the T20 captaincy, three is too much pressure.

But a great choice none the less.

I think he needs to let go of the T20 captaincy, three is too much pressure.

But a great choice none the less.

he should sit out almost all t20 matches considering there in no wt20 till 2020

Look bro, i only mentioned Misbah here as he is the predecessor, and as the predecessor he held the best record out of all Pakistani captains, to which i believe he was the best. Which is why i think the test captaincy standards are risen and hope that the next guy who comes in could fill in those boots.

Thing is Misbah did at the end of the day take a mediocre team to no.1 only because of his way of reading conditions.
Let me remind you our test team is still not the best, but it could be the best if we play by the conditions

misbah was kicked out from captaincy and the team and 'forced' to take retirement because of some reason

his 1st position was a fluke one and pakistan in no time slumped to no 6 position, care to explain how?

thats a great news

we dont have any other option

except from few delusional fans who still argue bring back umar amin from home and give him test captaincy

Will be a FAR better captain than his predecessor.

Good choice. Pakistan is not playing too many tests so there is no need to have a separate captain and create divisions in the team.

[MENTION=135038]Major[/MENTION] no matter what people think of Misbah captaincy we could never dispute his place in the Test team, Hafeez can't even display a little bit of consistency and when he's not even a fix in the Test XI it is beyond me how you could possibly even entertain the idea of handing him the captaincy.

Sarfraz is a keeper and based on that speciality he's a fix in the Test XI, but if we look even beyond that we'd see that he's a very useful batsman down the order as well.

The first most important criteria for captaincy is being able to hold your position in an XI, when you can't even do that why even talk about captaincy? no one selects captaincy specialists and Sarfraz is by far the best candidate in Pakistan because he satisfies every criteria; he can hold his place in the team for one and he also has experience which backs up his Test potential with regards to captaincy IQ and leadership ability.

And posters need to calm down with the better then Misbah logic, Sarfraz got a big job on his hand and no need to put him under immense pressure to begin with because it's not going to be easy remaining undefeated in the UAE, taking Pakistan to the no.1 ranking and repeatedly owning a team like England home/away; these are not minor accomplishments.

But I do hope and expect that with time Sarfraz + Mickey duo will do well but there's so much hard work to do and the Test level is no joke, Sarfraz will also be captaining in all formats so he has a lot of weight on his shoulders.

Congrats, definitely the most deserving & capable one available right now; though I am not sure if the best fit one for triple play. Hope, it doesn't affect his individual performance.

In Cricket history, I don't think anyone ever had been given so much load to carry at one time - Captain of a struggling side in transition for all 3 formats, who happens to be the WK in 3 formats as well & expected to bat in 3 different positions in Test, ODI & T20 for 3 different batting roles. Truly it's a 3 cube for him - everything coming as a multiplier of 3. On top of that, he isn't the fittest guy & wrong side of 29. Wish, they appoint a capable deputy or two for his support.

Congrats, definitely the most deserving & capable one available right now; though I am not sure if the best fit one for triple play. Hope, it doesn't affect his individual performance.

In Cricket history, I don't think anyone ever had been given so much load to carry at one time - Captain of a struggling side in transition for all 3 formats, who happens to be the WK in 3 formats as well & expected to bat in 3 different positions in Test, ODI & T20 for 3 different batting roles. Truly it's a 3 cube for him - everything coming as a multiplier of 3. On top of that, he isn't the fittest guy & wrong side of 29. Wish, they appoint a capable deputy or two for his support.

will not mind him being the captain for 3 formats ,till next year but i will love to see aamir captaining pak in t20,even hassan or malik,,,he doesnt need to be wasting his energy there as he is much needed in other 2 formats..aamir can be there for future odi job but it is pcb u would nt see him..they may apppoint azhar ali as vc or may be hafeez....shafiq.babar...for me hassan ali,amir or shdab will be good options....heve seen enough of batsmen as captain,all were average except yunus....??

yaar mama tu wi ek gal kar
kadi tu kehnda hai ke misbah is best phir tu kehnda way ke test team is still not best.

best tay aggay kuch wi nahi puttar, hun sarfaraz ki double best karay? Misbah aap class da test batsmen si, fir wodday kol younis khan wi si. Sarfaraz doesn't have that power packed batting line up

I think expecting him to perform as similar to misbah from word go, is a tad harsh and too much of expectations.

changa hoya ke predecessor insaan hi si, jay shair hunda, tu tay kehna si phir ke sarfaraz jadu tak banday nu khaa na jaway ya cheer phaar nardaway taday tak maza nahi aana

kasmay yaar who indian news channel wangal tu gall gitti hai

kya sarfaraz do spinner khilaayengay
kya sarfaraz do pacer khilaayengay
kya who rakhpaayengay misbah ka record barqarar
ya khaayengay kutay ki maar

aagay waqt hi batayega

jaayega nahi wapas aatay hain break ke baad

what misbah did and delivered, was not done overnight, it took him 7 years to bring this team to test number 1, we aren't giving Sarfaraz even 7 days and are ready to judge him before he steps onto the field as test captain

at the very least we should give him half the time - 3.5 years without any criticism (i.e. no crowd fan pressure) then go guns blazing :)

if one looks at sarfraz ahmed's career

1) won under 19 world cup for pak, and was totally ignored after that

2) got a call up after his amazing domestic performances but once selected was immediately dropped

3) adnan akmal replaced sarfraz as 'better player'

4) came as replacement of adnan akmal only when he was injured

5) was threatened by Iqbal Qasim to be dropped if there was one bad performance

6) had to play a brilliant innings to prolong his stay

7) he than hit three consecutive centuries against srilanka new zealand and australia and two fifties started to gain attention

8) was back bencher at world cup, was put in a lot of pressure by coach waqar younis but public pressure made him eventually get chance in the WC and proved waqar younis wrong by playing match winning innings

9) was made as vice captain as successor to misbah for a long time but immediately replaced by azhar ali as captain of ODIs

10) in PSL nobody wanted to pick him, his mentor nadeem umer picked him as captain of Quetta underdogs team, it was from here he started to build his captaincy credentials by making his team to the finals both times

11) Azhar ali was dropped as captain of LQ but after second edition, azhar secured captaincy of tests as well in place of sarfraz ahmed

12) after miserable defeats from zimbabwe, bangladesh england, australia, azhar ali finally stepped down and when PCB couldnt find anybody to be made captain, finally sarfraz got his chance

13) was badly criticized for westindies captaincy and he was not an 'automatic option for test captaincy'

14) people started calling for his replacement after indian CT defeat

15) was mocked for his spoken english and was called many names for not being 'charismatic'

16) after CT win finally got the trust of PCB to get test captaincy

17) he is more rated outside pakistan than at his own home country

this guy has fought tool and nail for everything he has become now, Allah has also helped him and he has achieved success after success, this guy is an inspiration for future pakistani cricketers and proves that if one is determined and works hard, nobody can stop him from achieving his dream

Sarfraz's biggest asset is his humility. I think the players will flourish under him as he lets them be who they are.

Misbah likes azhar ali more,but i wouldnt want him to captain test team.

I would had mentioned shoaib malik but malik retired

I'm sure if the Azhar captaincy wasn't a complete disaster more would be changing his name as the chosen successor

2) got a call up after his amazing domestic performances but once selected was immediately dropped

7) he than hit three consecutive centuries against srilanka new zealand and australia and two fifties started to gain attention

8) was back bencher at world cup, was put in a lot of pressure by coach waqar younis but public pressure made him eventually get chance in the WC and proved waqar younis wrong by playing match winning innings

9) was made as vice captain as successor to misbah for a long time but immediately replaced by azhar ali as captain of ODIs

10) in PSL nobody wanted to pick him, his mentor nadeem umer picked him as captain of Quetta underdogs team, it was from here he started to build his captaincy credentials by making his team to the finals both times

11) Azhar ali was dropped as captain of LQ but after second edition, azhar secured captaincy of tests as well in place of sarfraz ahmed

12) after miserable defeats from zimbabwe, bangladesh england, australia, azhar ali finally stepped down and when PCB couldnt find anybody to be made captain, finally sarfraz got his chance

13) was badly criticized for westindies captaincy and he was not an 'automatic option for test captaincy'

15) was mocked for his spoken english and was called many names for not being 'charismatic'

this guy has fought tool and nail for everything he has become now, Allah has also helped him and he has achieved success after success, this guy is an inspiration for future pakistani cricketers and proves that if one is determined and works hard, nobody can stop him from achieving his dream

Very well put. Has been a dream journey for Sarfaraz. From a time when even Adnan Akmal was preferred over him to becoming CT Champion and now the Test Captain, he certainly has come a very very long way.

Something similar even happened with Dhoni and things started falling in place for him. This is too good to happen without the blessings of any divine intervention. Sarfaraz is truly blessed apart from the hard work that he has put plus his talent.

I remember he played during the Asia VIP which has held in Pakistan. Looked like a nothing player then and who would have thought that he will become the poster boy of Pakistan Cricket in the future.

Very compiled. Sarfraz has had a lot going against him, his off-field presentation, regionial background... but he's constantly defied odds and to his hard work has always made him a fan fav

I do think there are more good times ahead iA with Sarfraz as captain. Here's hoping PCB has enough sense to not create meaningless controversies with there captain

Congrats to him, well deserved. Hope he can kick off his test captaincy by beating SL. It shouldn't be that hard I mean it's SL and we are playing in UAE. Hopefully we whitewash them.

After PCB cost Azhar the role by making him Odi captain, Sarfaraz is the most logical choice. He deserves it. He is going to have a high workload. Inshallah he will lead Pakistan to success.

I don;t endorse this decision, Sarfraz should be kept as ODI and T20 captain but test captaincy should have gone to our best test player and the mentally strongest player, Azhar Ali. Captaining all 3 format will effect Sarfraz's performance who is already not the best keeper in the world.

The right choice but being captain in all formats will means great pressure. Perhaps someone else should be appointed for the one dayer's.

Sarfraz-Arthur-Inzamam triumvirate is a major improvement on recent years.

They have my full support.

MSD, Kohli, Mathews, Smith and Williamson have captained in all three formats. :najam

Sangakara & Jayawardena as well. It's not only about captaining in all 3 formats, he has to keep & bat at 4/5 in ODI, 6 in Test. And, he is appointed as Test Captain, at the age almost when MS left Test Captaincy (left Test cricket all together).

If PCB had the plan to appoint him Captain for all 3 formats (which should have been the case considering his U19 & domestic records), they should have appointed him LO Captain right after 2015 WC - that would have saved the embarrassment of ODI team for 2 years & T20 team in WC. More importantly, they should have appointed a capable deputy who could have off loaded him for side matches or dead rubbers. Making WK as Captain means, he has to play every match even the 5th one after 4-0/0-4 in a series, unless there is a back-up in playing XI.

It's done now, so no point discussing the merit (I even didn't dragged Azhar down, once he was appointed, though I almost could see what was coming). Rather PCB should facilitate him, so that he can serve at least 2 years, may be even 4, so that he can try to defend CT title. Two musts for that is

1. Appoint a capable & loyal deputy, who won't back stab - only way to do that is to appoint someone at least 5/6 years younger. Any senior appointed as deputy'll put a cat among the pigeons.

2. Try to accommodate Umar in LO XI (on merit), or develop Rzwan's batting so that he can find a spot in squad, if not in playing XI as batsman (In LO), or find a young batsman in squad, who can keep - so that Sarfraz can skip keeping in few matches to play as specialist bat & captain, or he can rest out a match allowing the deputy to lead.

If he is to manage 3 roles & play each of 10 Tests, 25 ODI & 5 T20I every year - he won't last till 2019 WC.

Pakistan does not play as much Cricket as Australia, India, England, etc. so workload should not be an issue.