Seven years after being picked by Rajasthan Royals, Atul Sharma is back to bowling fast

BaaliSoda

Accidentally came across the below article (published in April 2016). So, the elusive Indian legend(?) is back in the news (sorta) :steyn

Remember Atul Sharma, the fast bowler who despite not playing a single first-class match was picked up by the now-defunct Rajasthan Royals in the Indian Premier League (IPL) in 2009?

The pacer had recorded speeds over about 160 kmph at the nets, and was considered one of the fastest bowlers around in the country. Unfortunately, though, Sharma was forced to take a long break from cricket just days before the start of the 2009 IPL, suffering a muscle tear in his shoulder while fielding during a practice game.

However, the 27-year-old is fit again now, ready to start from scratch. "When I was selected for Rajasthan Royals, everyone was awestruck, because never before was a player selected without playing a first-class match. So now that I'm returning to cricket, I want to show everyone the reason I was picked for the Royals. I will play in the lowest division clubs, and when people see me bowling, I'm confident the bigger clubs will offer me a contract," Sharma said.

With a run up of just about 30 metres, Sharma can constantly touch the 160 kmph mark without even a jump. "It's not about how much of a run up I take," he said. "It's the action. I turn sideways about 10-12 metres before the crease, accelerate and then release the ball. My action is similar to that of a javelin thrower."

And there's a reason for that. "I wanted to bowl fast. I knew that bowlers could bowl fast had something more than just talent. You watch baseball and javelin, and you will realise that one doesn't need a long run up to throw so fast."

"So, in 2008, I contacted Jeff Gorski, the world javelin champion. He coaches javelin at the University of North Carolina. I told him that I wanted to bowl fast. He said he could coach me the basics of javelin and it was up to me to implement it in my bowling. I trained rigorously with him. I learnt strength conditioning. It was not a gym workout but lifting tyres and stuff like that. Much like how a boxer trains," Sharma said.

Now that he has returned to the sport, which format of the game is he looking to play. Surely, bowling in the longer format will be a huge challenge with his speed. "I want to play cricket, that's all. The format doesn't matter. The training I've undergone was so intense that I think I could bowl at that speed for days. I just cannot wait to get on the cricket field and show everyone what I can do with the ball," he said.

Source: http://www.dnaindia.com/sport/report-7-years-after-being-picked-by-rajasthan-royals-atul-sharma-is-back-to-bowling-fast-2203222

Good to see he has recovered from his injuries.. He can bowl 100mph easily every ball and can accelerate up to 175-180kmph.. Should be in the national side already if he's fit..

Never heard of him tbh, but good luck to him. More fast bowlers like this are needed in cricket

omg why ? Kill me

What do you mean by why? He's the fastest ever bowler by a mile the world has ever seen.. Even if you are a Pakistani fan atleast be happy you will get to see the express fast bowling... He can top speed at 175-180kmph when he's in his full flow..

Good news.

Hope he's selected in the Indian team in two year's time so that we can destroy Australia in Australia in our next tour there. They were luckily let off with just a scare last time around.

How old is he? maybe he skipped all those phases that a successful fast bowler has in his career and plans to directly debut in his prime :)))

"I have never faced a fast bowler with this speeds" Kohli when he first faced Sharma when he was still to debut for International.

Legend is back I hope parosis are ready to unleash 102 mph thunderbolts on opposition very soon.

legend is back again only to get injured again for another 5 6 years.anyways it isn't fair that batsman should face relentless 110 mph thunderbolts.and i think the legend understands it too:):yk2

What do you mean by why? He's the fastest ever bowler by a mile the world has ever seen.. Even if you are a Pakistani fan atleast be happy you will get to see the express fast bowling... He can top speed at 175-180kmph when he's in his full flow..

Stop exaggerating, he was a 165-170Kph bowler max. But it is good to see him back. :)

he's the best in the world at running in to bowl
whilst dragging a car tyre behind him. :)))

This guy looks more suited to wrestling

Legend Says he's still running to this very day !! On topic, can someone bump the original Atul Sharma Thread or @Mods can you guys merge both these so we can have this epic fairy tale in one single thread :D

it he clips his hair, the energy lost to aerodynamic drag will be transferred to his delivery and maybe he can get to 200 kmph.

what can this guy not do? flip tyres, do pull ups, do leg raises, hop on one leg, push a hockey goal, toss a medicine ball... he can do it all!

siegfried and roy need this guy more than the indian cricket team.

I am wondering if we will need some special glasses to even see this phenomenon, maybe he will be too phaast to even physically be seen...also will he achieve the full flow in our life time or will that happen some time much later in an alternate universe, far far away from earth?:imad

Atul sharma is now 32 years old

Hasn't made his debut yet because cameras can't capture his deliveries.

He's waiting for technology to catch-up and then will come out to the big stage.

No but really, why didn't India invest in this guy? Doesn't even play FC cricket or anything. Is a self made man.

Jeff Thomson was an underage javelin throwing champion.

Both Holding and Lillee had the help of athletics coaches for their runnups

Does he even exist or even the person is some made up character?

This is going to be fun. :))

Hasn't made his debut yet because cameras can't capture his deliveries.

He's waiting for technology to catch-up and then will come out to the big stage.

No but really, why didn't India invest in this guy? Doesn't even play FC cricket or anything. Is a self made man.

:))) This thread is filled with such hilarious posts.

What's funny and amazing is that despite of being so hugely popular among cricketing fans and media ,there are virtually no photographs of him available. Maybe he's the BATMAN!

does this guy have a facebook page or some sort of online presence at all. he's done an amazing job keeping his life private considering the attention he got at the start of the ipl

lol , in the end will turn out to be a trundler if he plays !!! i wonder if he exists or is he just a myth lyk those childhood stories of bhoot aunty

but the big question is, why now in his 30s. Why did not he make a comeback( to cricket) like 3 years before

You know how people say that the US government has aliens in their custody and are running experiments on them, well according to 'my sources' Atul Sharma had escaped from Area 51 and swam across, from the other side that is, to the coasts of the Indian Ocean. This was way back in the 1930s.

He started living among the people of the sub continent but he never really showed his true powers because they were apparently super human in nature and he didn't want to attract unwanted attention since CIA and other agencies were on the look out for him.

so what he did was, he waited for 80 odd years, for the technology and the platform to emerge for his true potential to be seen by the world and now the bloke is ready. He's ready to unleash all his powers on the field of cricket and with 1 billion people cheering him on; there is no way CIA or any other agency would even consider touching him.

Once he becomes a mega star, he will expose the Area 51 details to the people of the subcontinent and when the Aliens are freed they will bestow us with the power to travel in light years so that we can discover other galaxies and earth like planets to migrate to and meet new species as well.

I for one am planning to make it and settle down permanently, with my family of course, somewhere near Cybertron.

You know how people say that the US government has aliens in their custody and are running experiments on them, well according to 'my sources' Atul Sharma had escaped from Area 51 and swam across, from the other side that is, to the coasts of the Indian Ocean. This was way back in the 1930s.

He started living among the people of the sub continent but he never really showed his true powers because they were apparently super human in nature and he didn't want to attract unwanted attention since CIA and other agencies were on the look out for him.

so what he did was, he waited for 80 odd years, for the technology and the platform to emerge for his true potential to be seen by the world and now the bloke is ready. He's ready to unleash all his powers on the field of cricket and with 1 billion people cheering him on; there is no way CIA or any other agency would even consider touching him.

Once he becomes a mega star, he will expose the Area 51 details to the people of the subcontinent and when the Aliens are freed they will bestow us with the power to travel in light years so that we can discover other galaxies and earth like planets to migrate to and meet new species as well.

I for one am planning to make it and settle down permanently, with my family of course, somewhere near Cybertron.

hmm makes sense

btw superman on new 52 is dead and another superman of another dimension has been discovered...so he might also join him,,,

(still, the indian media's comment on him..ie "daikyay, ye atul nahee atulya hai" :)))

I hear he can bowl faster than the speed of light. Can't wait to see him break world records. India should be proud of producing such fast bowling talunt

Who the hell is he? I want to know, does he even exist? Or just a myth?

He does exist, but all his movements are too fast for the human retina to capture hence we cannot experience his presence or how he bowls during a cricket match.

FC was his biggest supporter; you'll find blokes who've seen him up front.

When will he do debut for India?

Injuries hampered his career, it's a shame really the world could not witness its first 170+kmph bowler.. He can still bowl 150+ kmph but I don't think he can ever get back to his former pace of 170+kmph so should be given a chance now

I heard he can still crank it up to 165 KPH. What a great bowler.

The legends say he could bowl very very phast at speeds exceeding 180kmph, the 170 is not accurate

He better pay back his former coach Pont.

I remember he was looking for his former student even here on PP looking to collect dues owed to him by the Indian express. Lol

The recent javelin success for both India and Pakistan made me remember this legend who allegedly bowled with a javelin style run up.

I wonder what bro is doing now?

The recent javelin success for both India and Pakistan made me remember this legend who allegedly bowled with a javelin style run up.

I wonder what bro is doing now?

Bit emotional this.

Atul bhai was a once in a generation legend. Someone who at his peak could bowl in excess of 100 mph with ease.

It makes me wonder what if world witness a bowler who bowls around 165kph as average speed and clocks 175k as top speed , what will be your feelings?