"Shadab Khan has got a head on him like a 30-year-old, but he is only 18" : Dean Jones

Islamabad United coach Dean Jones called leg spinner Shadab Khan a "special talent" and reckoned that the youngster is ready to take the next big step by playing for Pakistan.

The 18-year-old has made everyone sit up and take notice of his precious talent, in the HBL Pakistan Super League (PSL). Shadab Khan has taken eight wickets in seven matches so far and he also has the fourth best bowling figures in an innings (3-13).

Those figures came against the Karachi Kings at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium on Sunday night. He is a handy bat as well, having scored 42 against the Lahore Qalandars.

And Jones said that it was important to look after Shadab and nurture him.

"Shadab is a good boy and I will keep telling you again how good he is," said Jones.

"We need to watch him and look after him, watch him and prepare him. He is ready to play for Pakistan now. He is a very good fielder, he can hit sixes and is a brilliant bowler," added the former Australian batsman.

Jones also said that though Shadab may be just 18 years old, but he belies his age.

"He is a young kid, he has got a head on him like a 30-year-old, but he is only 18. You look how much cricket he has played, hardly any, but yet he seems to have the ability to know what to bowl, where his fielders are and where to play his shots. He is a special talent. That's what the PSL is all about. We want to do those things but we also want to develop some kids and he is special," Jones said.

Shadab has played for the Pakistan Under-19s and also Pakistan 'A' so far.

Meanwhile, talking about the loss to the Karachi Kings after Chris Gayle played a fine hand, Jones said it might have been interesting had it been a 20-over game.

"It would have been interesting if we didn't get a rain affected match. We prepared for the fact that he (Gayle) will play though. If you put a guy in a corner he is going to come out and bite. He is one of the greatest of all time at this form of the game. He had a good swing of the bat and probably changed the game in one over. And then, we had to play catch up," he said.

"But one thing about this Islamabad team is they won't give in, they won't give in and you must have seen right throughout this tournament. A lot of things had not gone our way, we won only three tosses, we pushed them (Karachi Kings) right till the last ball. We had a lot of things going against us at the start of the tournament, as you know they are well documented. And now, we qualified for the play-offs so we have got to play on and see what happens," added Jones.

http://www.khaleejtimes.com/shadab-ready-to-play-for-pakistan-reckons-jones

Now we know why Misbah has been playing him.

:salute

I remember that Mohammad Nawaz had similar rave reviews during his PSL performance last year and he was fast tracked into the national team. Question is whether Nawaz should make way for Shadab? If so, it would be harsh with Nawaz - granted that he's been below par with the bat but he's been decent with the ball given that it was his first year in international cricket and the team played in Eng, NZ and Aus (all tough conditions for spin). Nawaz averaged 29.4 in tests and 32.9 in odis with the ball (not too shabby).

I do rate Shadab ahead of Nawaz but I would feel sorry for Nawaz if he were dropped.

I remember that Mohammad Nawaz had similar rave reviews during his PSL performance last year and he was fast tracked into the national team. Question is whether Nawaz should make way for Shadab? If so, it would be harsh with Nawaz - granted that he's been below par with the bat but he's been decent with the ball given that it was his first year in international cricket and the team played in Eng, NZ and Aus (all tough conditions for spin). Nawaz averaged 29.4 in tests and 32.9 in odis with the ball (not too shabby).

I do rate Shadab ahead of Nawaz but I would feel sorry for Nawaz if he were dropped.

Nawaz is quite redundant b/c Imad is already in the team. Shadab adds another dimension.

Nobody rated Nawaz. It was a shocking selection of his for the national side.

I think you shouldn't defend the useless mediocre cricketer in Nawaz, and post stats without some factual context/ability and skills.

I'm 100% sure he will be miles batter then imad and nawaz he should be in odi and t20 squad for WI

Nobody rated Nawaz. It was a shocking selection of his for the national side.

I think you shouldn't defend the useless mediocre cricketer in Nawaz, and post stats without some factual context/ability and skills.

True. Should've picked Mohammad Asghar who was miles better.

No. he was preferred over Asghar from the PSL1 for his batting, but still he is better than Asghar in batting... His bowling is better than Imad i would say as he can spin the ball where Imad if didnt learn the art spin the ball.. he will be decoded in another year and will be played as a chinaman without any spin just angling it from off to leg.

Shadab is completely different from how Nawaz was rated..
Shadab is very good in all three aspects of the game..
Nawaz is a bowler who can bat or vice-versa.. and fielding is very ordinary..

Shadab still young into his career, He can even give up either batting for bowling or vice-versa because his talent in both batting and bowling is at a very good level to play for any team not just pakistan... He will walk into any team with his level of batting, bowling and fielding..

He didn't play in NZ and only one game in Aus.

as [MENTION=137148]Rayyman[/MENTION] alluded to Nawaz has been unfortune that Imad has done so well. As Mickey has stated int he past having two conventional left arm spinners in the same 11 isnt ideal.

I think the other issue is that Nawaz isnt really a late order hitter. He is more a middle order batsman, but we have better in that position.

He isnt as bad as some here state, and i think we be around the Pak team to come, but his issue will always be that others players of a similar type are better than him for the time being

Shadab is once in a decade talent coming out of Pakistan, there is always a proper time to bring a young talent like him to international cricket and for Shadab, the time is now. If we waited for few more years for him to get "matured" he will regress, like many others, thats the beauty of Pak domestic cricket.

A very good talent!!!
Hopefully he will become an all format player soon,especially LOIs.

A very good find but you are only tested in international arena where quality of cricket is totally different. Best of luck to him and Pakistan.

the guy is really smart.

Use to practice hard in Pindi, doing knocking early in the morning.

Hope he opens the bowling to Babar today.

Just want to check Babar is not scarred from the last game!

Lol I seriously hope he opens the bowling Today...Babar will Maul him to bits :babar

Aisi baat bhi nahi hai. Shadab is good and last time Babar had no idea which one is going to turn away or which one is going to come in. Mauling wauling ka tou pata nahi theek se khel le bus wohi kafi hai.

Yar Opposition kay Samnay Halka Nahe Ana hota hay....Samjha Karo :amir3

guys relax he wont open the bowling because gayle is gonna be at the other end.
though i would live for him to try and bowl at gayle and get him cheaply but not babar bhai;)

[MENTION=136079]ahmedwaqas92[/MENTION]

bhai I like you, but here you got owned. :afridi

Babar couldn't even last a ball against Shadab.