Shah Rukh Khan - Films in decline?

Well said..he can not survive without his romantic roles..look at the Raees, he still try to show his lover boy image..common...

Another problem with Srk is that so many new comers can and are doing much more romantic roles and he left with no options...

He cant get into character and not fit or justify serious roles...

Too bad but thats the reality...

Unlike Salman who found his niche and Amir who always chose his role and can suit any role at any age, SRK seems to be left behind after aging. His niche was romance and now he is unfortunately not able to sustain it. The biggest problem with SRK is that whatever role he plays, he is still SRK. Whether it is chuck de or Baazigar, he always plays the role of SRK in the movie. On the other hand, Amir becomes the character himself. From Taare Zaamen par to PK to 3 idiots to Sangharsh, Amir Khan becomes the character instead of the actor

This is why SRK is going to find it more and more difficult as he ages unlike Amir or Salman

I have touched upon this topic in previous posts.

Salman has created a box office template that takes the actors age out of the equation.. As long as he can sustain it he can keep doing the same type of movies - rinse & repeat . Just swicth over to younger actresses and stronger/younger villians to keep the output seem fresh ! .. It is basically what the southern stars like Rajni, Chiranjeevi have sustained way into their 60's..

Aamir on the other hand, always picks roles that suit his strengths .. on potential he may not be as good an actor as SRk, but his roles rarely expose his weaknesses. And his dedication to get into the skin of his characters is always highlighted.. ! As I mentioned, your worth as an actor is always measured by output & not potential.

What Aamir did in Dangal, playing his own age and a highly non-starry role being sidelined for a good part by his female co-stars, is something that takes huge guts to do.. If it had failed , he would also have been branded as an "older role actor" alongside it .

SRK has a tendency to over-do his emotions in a lot of movies.. The same set of emotions/expressions , especially in dramatic scenes, that we see imitated by everyone ,in interviews or shows .. His acting style works perfectly well playing eccentrics in movies like Devdas or MNIK or Darr from the past , but in every other movie the hamming up is noticeable..

Well said..he can not survive without his romantic roles..look at the Raees, he still try to show his lover boy image..common...

Another problem with Srk is that so many new comers can and are doing much more romantic roles and he left with no options...

If you remember , all 3 Khans started out as romantic lover boys in cinema.. Till a point (early 90's), Sallu was on par with SRK or even better as the lover boy , both in terms of female fans and popularity(Mein ne pyar kiya ,Hum apke hai Kaun, Pyar kiya to darna kya etc). I believe Sallu was considered the bigger star in Karan Arjun.(need verification)

But SRK went through a phase where he did many landmark hits , all memorable romantic roles at heart with interesting aspects to his character, which finally helped him completely take up the - Lover Boy mantle..This was his most experimental & risk-taking phase . Also helping him was Salman's weird choice of films and his of-screen shenanigans..

But by mid-2005, SRK went stale in his choices. He seemed obsessed with perpetuating his BO success at any cost and taking over the mantle of Bollywoods complete superstar , which only Amitabh had achieved in the past .. His movie choices (remaking Don for eg.) to the names of his films (like badshah ) and his general behavior at Award shows and interview all pointed towards that burning need to knock off amitabh & claim that throne in his name completely .
His romantic roles became very repetitive with very little experimentation (what made his movies interesting in the 90's ) .. The other roles (Don was the exception ) didn't give the results he expected (romantic hero to a more rounded superstar )..

I remember during OSO in 2007 when his stardom was at his absolute peak, he was very disrespectful in his opinions regarding Rajnikanth in quite a few interviews (" I'm india's biggest star who's he " or something along those lines ). Rajni was far to good natured to reply to it and proceeded to brush it off.. Things came full cycle when in 2013, with his BO position challenged regularly by Sallu's & Aamir's hits he had to resort to a shameless pandering to Rajni's base in Chennai Express.

SRK needs to adapt his acting to suit a more matured approach to films .. Look at Akshay's recent films . Not a single one of them really need Akshay to work (except for the stunts maybe) .. SRK could do them too , maybe even better than Akshay . But the difference is the willingness to choose such films..

My FAV SRK film from the last decade is actually Chak De.. Because , there SRK went completely against type and played a kind of role we never saw him in before.. It may not have been the topmost hit among his established base, but SRK won over a lot many fans with that film(also note that that role was offered to and turned down by Sallu beacause they didn't offer him enough ).

I have touched upon this topic in previous posts.

Salman has created a box office template that takes the actors age out of the equation.. As long as he can sustain it he can keep doing the same type of movies - rinse & repeat . Just swicth over to younger actresses and stronger/younger villians to keep the output seem fresh ! .. It is basically what the southern stars like Rajni, Chiranjeevi have sustained way into their 60's..

Aamir on the other hand, always picks roles that suit his strengths .. on potential he may not be as good an actor as SRk, but his roles rarely expose his weaknesses. And his dedication to get into the skin of his characters is always highlighted.. ! As I mentioned, your worth as an actor is always measured by output & not potential.

What Aamir did in Dangal, playing his own age and a highly non-starry role being sidelined for a good part by his female co-stars, is something that takes huge guts to do.. If it had failed , he would also have been branded as an "older role actor" alongside it .

SRK has a tendency to over-do his emotions in a lot of movies.. The same set of emotions/expressions , especially in dramatic scenes, that we see imitated by everyone ,in interviews or shows .. His acting style works perfectly well playing eccentrics in movies like Devdas or MNIK or Darr from the past , but in every other movie the hamming up is noticeable..

If you remember , all 3 Khans started out as romantic lover boys in cinema.. Till a point (early 90's), Sallu was on par with SRK or even better as the lover boy , both in terms of female fans and popularity(Mein ne pyar kiya ,Hum apke hai Kaun, Pyar kiya to darna kya etc). I believe Sallu was considered the bigger star in Karan Arjun.(need verification)

But SRK went through a phase where he did many landmark hits , all memorable romantic roles at heart with interesting aspects to his character, which finally helped him completely take up the - Lover Boy mantle..This was his most experimental & risk-taking phase . Also helping him was Salman's weird choice of films and his of-screen shenanigans..

But by mid-2005, SRK went stale in his choices. He seemed obsessed with perpetuating his BO success at any cost and taking over the mantle of Bollywoods complete superstar , which only Amitabh had achieved in the past .. His movie choices (remaking Don for eg.) to the names of his films (like badshah ) and his general behavior at Award shows and interview all pointed towards that burning need to knock off amitabh & claim that throne in his name completely .
His romantic roles became very repetitive with very little experimentation (what made his movies interesting in the 90's ) .. The other roles (Don was the exception ) didn't give the results he expected (romantic hero to a more rounded superstar )..

I remember during OSO in 2007 when his stardom was at his absolute peak, he was very disrespectful in his opinions regarding Rajnikanth in quite a few interviews (" I'm india's biggest star who's he " or something along those lines ). Rajni was far to good natured to reply to it and proceeded to brush it off.. Things came full cycle when in 2013, with his BO position challenged regularly by Sallu's & Aamir's hits he had to resort to a shameless pandering to Rajni's base in Chennai Express.

SRK needs to adapt his acting to suit a more matured approach to films .. Look at Akshay's recent films . Not a single one of them really need Akshay to work (except for the stunts maybe) .. SRK could do them too , maybe even better than Akshay . But the difference is the willingness to choose such films..

My FAV SRK film from the last decade is actually Chak De.. Because , there SRK went completely against type and played a kind of role we never saw him in before.. It may not have been the topmost hit among his established base, but SRK won over a lot many fans with that film(also note that that role was offered to and turned down by Sallu beacause they didn't offer him enough ).

Your analysis is superb. Unfortunately the topic does not require this in depth analysis.That too its Bollywood. :sanga
On topic shahrukh overacts. Salman overact in some and doesn't act at all in others. Amir (in my opinion) underact(maybe for being more realistic and believable).

Probably one of the better interviews of SRK. to his fans [MENTION=46929]shaz619[/MENTION] also mentions Trump in political correctness.

Great stuff, man he's so old :)) does he still smoke? Have you watched the inner and outer world of SRK? that was pretty decent

Yup he still does,ve seen that I like his real humor more than his movie humor.

It is just funny that his PR team is spinning Raees as a super hit!

It hardly reaching 100cr after 7 days...I think he has given up comparing himself with Aamir and Salman or Akhshay...they are way ahead of him...

He has been seen promoting Raees in Hyderabad yesterday..I think he is pushing now Muslim community to and save his face..lol...

Man SRK is so hilarious compared to every other superstar. [MENTION=140459]SandyB[/MENTION] see he is talking about confusion about what films to do?

Yup he still does,ve seen that I like his real humor more than his movie humor.

What would you say are your best SRK movies after 2011 (beyond Don 2) ?

And you [MENTION=48086]s.h.a.k[/MENTION] what you reckon?

After Don 2, he has made JTHJ, CE, HNY, Dilwale, Fan and now Raees.

Would say Fan was the best one despite that being a flop. SRK went into the type of films like Salman does and they were awful despite them breaking records on the box office when they released at the time. He wanted to make films that would make money at box office which they did but glad critics and fans shot him down as a actor of his calibre shouldn't be doing such movies the masala crap. He realised himself and said in KWK episode he needs to re-assess the kind of cinema and said he not worried about box office now and just wants to make good films. Glad he done a movie like Fan and took a risk. Showed he still has it in him as a actor.
Ain't seen Raees yet. Going to watch it on the weekend and Lots of positive reviews of it especially of SRKs performance by critics so definitely worth a watch.

After Don 2, he has made JTHJ, CE, HNY, Dilwale, Fan and now Raees.

Would say Fan was the best one despite that being a flop. SRK went into the type of films like Salman does and they were awful despite them breaking records on the box office when they released at the time. He wanted to make films that would make money at box office which they did but glad critics and fans shot him down as a actor of his calibre shouldn't be doing such movies the masala crap. He realised himself and said in KWK episode he needs to re-assess the kind of cinema and said he not worried about box office now and just wants to make good films. Glad he done a movie like Fan and took a risk. Showed he still has it in him as a actor.
Ain't seen Raees yet. Going to watch it on the weekend and Lots of positive reviews of it especially of SRKs performance by critics so definitely worth a watch.

It's only beyond Don 2 that he made masala movies, prior to that his resume is pretty decent but like you say we need to judge him objectively in terms of individual performance. I've seen JTHJ, watched it with high expectations given the director and his collab with Khan in the past but was a bit dissapointed; what did you make of the movie? CH I didn't enjoy. Have not seen Dilwale or Raees and will be watching Fan tonight it's been wanting to see it for a while now but didn't get the chance

It's not a issue when people criticize but few people here not criticizing SRK bur are just haters. Not all of you only a few of you. I understand the criticism but a few just have pure hate. Like one of the person on here on another thread wrote that's good Shiv Shena are protesting against SRK saying ' India has given him much more than his aukat...he is a cheapo and deserve his *** kicked...'

This shows that it's got nothing to do with bollywood, this is just pure hate some people have for SRK for many various stupid reasons which I will mention below. (Sorry in advance for long message)

Starting off, I must say SRK is my favorite Indian actor of past 2 decades followed closely by Akshay Kumar. But that does NOT mean that I hate anybody else. I see movies of every actor, I like watchkng Aamir Khan movies as he chooses good scripts but it don't mean he is the best actor. Just to clarify that I am NOT going to be biased in favor of SRK just because he is my favorite and I will not try to abuse someone else just to show that he is better.

Now, moving on. In real life, I did not meet many people in 90s or even early 2000s who claimed to 'hate SRK'. However, I think in past 6-7 years, I did meet quite a few people who would say 'Oh, SRK is not good..I don't like him'. And it is only for past 3 years that I saw such a big bunch of 'SRK haters' on social media that just indulge in all kinds of abuses to him day and night. This made me very confused as to where are all these people coming from? I also asked around so many people around to find out why in recent times he getting so much hate. I have Indian friends too that actually live in India and recently met a Indian Lady some months back who was in UK for business trip and we had a very good discussion about Bollywood, SRK and other actors. She was not SRK fan but rated him highly and best amongst the Khans and gave some great depth into why so many SRK haters ate coming especially in India. So asking many people about this hatred I realised their were many factors of the hate.

1-SRK Is NOT the best actor out there, yet he is so popular, his movies consistently break records and he is known as Baadshah, King Khan and so on. A lot of people give this reason. I think it is a subjective thing and comes down to JEALOUSY. See, I don't like Rajesh Khanna's acting style either, but he was the first in Bollywood to become a Superstar and I would be a fool to deny that. It is the same thing with SRK. He is not particularly good looking (like-Hrithik Roshan looks like a Greek God!) or very tall or anything like that. But he has CHARISMA! When he talks, he steals the limelight with his wittiness. He has a certain effect on people which is indescribable. He is charming and he HAS shown EXCELLENT acting in movies like Swades, Chak De, Paheli, Fan, Darr and so on which some were so ahead of their times that masses did not like it but all intelligent people agree that he CAN act amazingly well if he wants to. It is just that the masses want to see more of him as Rahul/ Raj that he has played in countless movies like DDLJ, KKHH, Chennai Express all of which have been global blockbusters. So a lot of people hate him for this! When he does a movie like Swades they say, 'He cannot make a movie which will earn 200 crores'. Then he does Chennai Express which at the time became highest grossingovie and then haters say, 'He cannot act'. No matter what he does, some people just want to abuse him. What to do :)

2-He is a COMMON Man who achieved UNCOMMON legend status. I think this is human nature, we are so jealous of other people's success that we do not need any reason to pull them down. A lot of people I asked why they hate SRK, say that 'oh,he does not look good, he is nobody, why is he so popular, why he does so much promotion for movies, his face is so sad, so bad, he is old, he has gone ahead by bribing people'. There is no logic to their hatred. The only thing I have understood is, it is difficult for many people to see a common man like them achieve so much when they have to struggle for little things in life. Also, SRK loves his success and why shouldn't he. He has worked sleeplessly for days on end and still does, he has focused on one thing in his life and given it his all and he knows that he deserves his success, he enjoys it so a lot of people get jealous seeing that. That is all I can say.

3-He is a GLOBAL superstar and the most known actor in the world. His fans & friends' list include worldwide legends such as Bret Ratner, Shakira, Kim Kardashian, Zayn Malik, Snoop Dogg, even Barack Obama used 'bade bade deshon mein choti choti baatein' dialogue in his speech which just shows how popular he really is! In countries like US, UK, France, Germany, Indonesia, Singapore and MANY MORE you can unexpectedly bump into many SRK fans, who have become fan of Bollywood and India by seeing his movies. He opened the doors of Bollywood to the world in past 2 decades and again, a lot of his 'haters' will try and prove that it is not so, and will fail miserably again and again. Jealousy again. They would say things like, 'why is he so popular? His movies are just about romance, stupid, we have so many good actors they should be more popular'. Yes, that is true. But see, this works everywhere. In Hollywood, Forest Whitaker and Mark Ruffalo are very talented but they not as popular as Brad Pitt and Tom Cruise.
SRK's popularity is just something these 'haters' cannot digest.

4-He IS A MUSLIM. I cannot emphasize on this enough. Let me explain. In India, there are some people who, NO MATTER WHAT, will refuse to believe that a Muslim can be an Indian, patriotic or a good person. Shah Rukh Khan is a devout Muslim, who often prays and in his interviews or even tweets, often says 'Allah' like-May Allah bless all, May Allah bring peace upon all, Insha'Allah. Moreover, he is married to a Hindu. If you are an Indian, you can see the complexities this situation gives rise to.

There are many staunch 'Hindu' groups who have been on a mission to prove that SRK is anti-India, Anti-Hindu, Pro-Pakistan, 'ISI Agent', 'Traitor' and what not. They have spread rumors, lies and photoshopped pictures to prove their point. Many people have believed all this as truth. There have been many instances. There was a rumor that SRK's uncle in in ISI -IT WAS PROVED FALSE. Then, there was a rumor that SRK was doing a show for Pakistan to aid them during the floods. THE SHOW NEVER HAPPENED and even when it was being planned, SRK DID NOT PLAN IT, Legends like Amitabh Bachchan were planning to be a part of it but nobody talked about them, everybody just blamed SRK. Again, there was this IPL controversy where apparently SRK said that we should let Pakistani players play here in India and not let the people-to-people relation between Pakistan and India suffer because of terrorism. This was taken as PROOF that he is anti India! EVEN THOUGH, ALMOST EVERY POLITICIAN IN POWER HAS SAID THE SAME THING! ALMOST EVERY PERSON IN BOLLYWOOD HAS SAID THE SAME THING! Pakistani Singers, actors have been living and working in India, their are channels like ZINDAGI showing pakistani serials everyday being watched by millions, ATAL BIHARI JI Started Samjhauta Express to solidify Indo-Pak relations even AFTER KARGIL WAR! Advani went to Pakistan and said good things about Mr Jinnah. Modi visited Nawaz Sharif before the Uri attacks. BUT NOTHING MATTERS. ONLY SRK WAS AND IS STILL TARGETED as if Indo-Pak relations are only being driven by him! When Modi was elected as Prime Minister of India, A FAKE MESSAGE WAS CIRCULATED BY SRK haters that he had said that 'he would leave India if Modi was elected PM'. SRK clarified IT WAS NOT HIM, it was actually KRK who had said that. AND SO ON! So many LIES and RUMORS just to prove that SRK has is a traitor.

They will ignore that he has not forced his wife to convert to Islam. His house has Quran as well as Lord Ganesha. He celebrates all festivals-Holi, Diwali, Rakhi, Eid, Christmas. He has not sent his children to madrassa but in normal good schools and wants them educated. His wife does not live in Burkha. He has not done 4 marriages like many people think all Muslims do and has rather lived his life with 1 woman,his only girlfriend,his only wife,his only love! He has lived his life like a normal Indian,like they all do, co-existing peacefully with everyone and still so many people spread rumors about him. What can be said about such people, they just want to divide people on the basis of religion and cannot see a Muslim superstar in a predominantly Hindu country. Good thing that most of India does not care about such stupid people and knows the truth of SRK's life, that he is as Indian as the rest!

5-SRK focuses on his work. He does not spend his whole day defending himself against stupid lies and rumors. He does not do charity for showing off. I personally know a friend of mine who has been treated for cancer thanks to him, he has helped many cancer patients but he has not put it out in news for all to see. He has donated towards many causes, like rural electrification, Tsunami, Bihar floods but not publicly. He has worked with Indian government for eradicating Polio. He has been awarded by UNESCO for his silent charitable activities. But most of SRK Haters IGNORE all this. In past 6-7 years, most of his haters compare him to Salman Khan and his Being Human charity which is just stupid. Amitabh Bachchan, Akshay Kumar and most of other bollywood people do charity but do not talk about it everyday. Many industrialists do charity but do you see them talking about it every day? But again, SRK IS ONLY TARGETED 'look he does no charity, Salman does so much, we hate SRK'. SRK believes that charity should not be done for publicity, he already gets publicity from his work, and his fans support him.

All in all, I STILL have to meet one person who can give me good reason to hate SRK. All I can say is, jealousy is the only reason for humanity's downfall!

To be fair, again, it is one thing to dislike someone. As I said, I dislike Rajesh Khanna's acting style, but I do NOT Hate him! I can still watch his movies, but I don't enjoy them much. I have no issues with anyone Disliking or criticizing SRK which I myself have crtitized him for making films like Chennai Express, Dilwale etc. Maybe his acting style does not suit them, maybe his choice of movies do not suit them,maybe his smoking puts them off, maybe they just don't like his face. That is okay. But here we are discussing HATRED which is such a powerful emotion. My answer was just for that :)

In terms of the overseas market when it comes to the UK especially I'd have to agree with [MENTION=48086]s.h.a.k[/MENTION] when it comes to SRK's star power, here in the UK his movies were influential in spearheading Bollywood in a manner which was only matched by Amitabh Bachan. He really did put the Bolly back into the Wood and took Indian cinema back to the mainstream when it had declined, obviously am purely speaking with regards to how big Khan is in the UK and the heights he'd reach here but it's just an example. Also, Shah Rukh Khan has also been a guest on the high profile Jonathon Ross show in the UK (it may have been twice!); we don't care care about Amir or Salman :mv

It's not a issue when people criticize but few people here not criticizing SRK bur are just haters. Not all of you only a few of you. I understand the criticism but a few just have pure hate. Like one of the person on here on another thread wrote that's good Shiv Shena are protesting against SRK saying ' India has given him much more than his aukat...he is a cheapo and deserve his *** kicked...'

This shows that it's got nothing to do with bollywood, this is just pure hate some people have for SRK for many various stupid reasons which I will mention below. (Sorry in advance for long message)

Starting off, I must say SRK is my favorite Indian actor of past 2 decades followed closely by Akshay Kumar. But that does NOT mean that I hate anybody else. I see movies of every actor, I like watchkng Aamir Khan movies as he chooses good scripts but it don't mean he is the best actor. Just to clarify that I am NOT going to be biased in favor of SRK just because he is my favorite and I will not try to abuse someone else just to show that he is better.

Now, moving on. In real life, I did not meet many people in 90s or even early 2000s who claimed to 'hate SRK'. However, I think in past 6-7 years, I did meet quite a few people who would say 'Oh, SRK is not good..I don't like him'. And it is only for past 3 years that I saw such a big bunch of 'SRK haters' on social media that just indulge in all kinds of abuses to him day and night. This made me very confused as to where are all these people coming from? I also asked around so many people around to find out why in recent times he getting so much hate. I have Indian friends too that actually live in India and recently met a Indian Lady some months back who was in UK for business trip and we had a very good discussion about Bollywood, SRK and other actors. She was not SRK fan but rated him highly and best amongst the Khans and gave some great depth into why so many SRK haters ate coming especially in India. So asking many people about this hatred I realised their were many factors of the hate.

1-SRK Is NOT the best actor out there, yet he is so popular, his movies consistently break records and he is known as Baadshah, King Khan and so on. A lot of people give this reason. I think it is a subjective thing and comes down to JEALOUSY. See, I don't like Rajesh Khanna's acting style either, but he was the first in Bollywood to become a Superstar and I would be a fool to deny that. It is the same thing with SRK. He is not particularly good looking (like-Hrithik Roshan looks like a Greek God!) or very tall or anything like that. But he has CHARISMA! When he talks, he steals the limelight with his wittiness. He has a certain effect on people which is indescribable. He is charming and he HAS shown EXCELLENT acting in movies like Swades, Chak De, Paheli, Fan, Darr and so on which some were so ahead of their times that masses did not like it but all intelligent people agree that he CAN act amazingly well if he wants to. It is just that the masses want to see more of him as Rahul/ Raj that he has played in countless movies like DDLJ, KKHH, Chennai Express all of which have been global blockbusters. So a lot of people hate him for this! When he does a movie like Swades they say, 'He cannot make a movie which will earn 200 crores'. Then he does Chennai Express which at the time became highest grossingovie and then haters say, 'He cannot act'. No matter what he does, some people just want to abuse him. What to do :)

2-He is a COMMON Man who achieved UNCOMMON legend status. I think this is human nature, we are so jealous of other people's success that we do not need any reason to pull them down. A lot of people I asked why they hate SRK, say that 'oh,he does not look good, he is nobody, why is he so popular, why he does so much promotion for movies, his face is so sad, so bad, he is old, he has gone ahead by bribing people'. There is no logic to their hatred. The only thing I have understood is, it is difficult for many people to see a common man like them achieve so much when they have to struggle for little things in life. Also, SRK loves his success and why shouldn't he. He has worked sleeplessly for days on end and still does, he has focused on one thing in his life and given it his all and he knows that he deserves his success, he enjoys it so a lot of people get jealous seeing that. That is all I can say.

3-He is a GLOBAL superstar and the most known actor in the world. His fans & friends' list include worldwide legends such as Bret Ratner, Shakira, Kim Kardashian, Zayn Malik, Snoop Dogg, even Barack Obama used 'bade bade deshon mein choti choti baatein' dialogue in his speech which just shows how popular he really is! In countries like US, UK, France, Germany, Indonesia, Singapore and MANY MORE you can unexpectedly bump into many SRK fans, who have become fan of Bollywood and India by seeing his movies. He opened the doors of Bollywood to the world in past 2 decades and again, a lot of his 'haters' will try and prove that it is not so, and will fail miserably again and again. Jealousy again. They would say things like, 'why is he so popular? His movies are just about romance, stupid, we have so many good actors they should be more popular'. Yes, that is true. But see, this works everywhere. In Hollywood, Forest Whitaker and Mark Ruffalo are very talented but they not as popular as Brad Pitt and Tom Cruise.

4-He IS A MUSLIM. I cannot emphasize on this enough. Let me explain. In India, there are some people who, NO MATTER WHAT, will refuse to believe that a Muslim can be an Indian, patriotic or a good person. Shah Rukh Khan is a devout Muslim, who often prays and in his interviews or even tweets, often says 'Allah' like-May Allah bless all, May Allah bring peace upon all, Insha'Allah. Moreover, he is married to a Hindu. If you are an Indian, you can see the complexities this situation gives rise to.

There are many staunch 'Hindu' groups who have been on a mission to prove that SRK is anti-India, Anti-Hindu, Pro-Pakistan, 'ISI Agent', 'Traitor' and what not. They have spread rumors, lies and photoshopped pictures to prove their point. Many people have believed all this as truth. There have been many instances. There was a rumor that SRK's uncle in in ISI -IT WAS PROVED FALSE. Then, there was a rumor that SRK was doing a show for Pakistan to aid them during the floods. THE SHOW NEVER HAPPENED and even when it was being planned, SRK DID NOT PLAN IT, Legends like Amitabh Bachchan were planning to be a part of it but nobody talked about them, everybody just blamed SRK. Again, there was this IPL controversy where apparently SRK said that we should let Pakistani players play here in India and not let the people-to-people relation between Pakistan and India suffer because of terrorism. This was taken as PROOF that he is anti India! EVEN THOUGH, ALMOST EVERY POLITICIAN IN POWER HAS SAID THE SAME THING! ALMOST EVERY PERSON IN BOLLYWOOD HAS SAID THE SAME THING! Pakistani Singers, actors have been living and working in India, their are channels like ZINDAGI showing pakistani serials everyday being watched by millions, ATAL BIHARI JI Started Samjhauta Express to solidify Indo-Pak relations even AFTER KARGIL WAR! Advani went to Pakistan and said good things about Mr Jinnah. Modi visited Nawaz Sharif before the Uri attacks. BUT NOTHING MATTERS. ONLY SRK WAS AND IS STILL TARGETED as if Indo-Pak relations are only being driven by him! When Modi was elected as Prime Minister of India, A FAKE MESSAGE WAS CIRCULATED BY SRK haters that he had said that 'he would leave India if Modi was elected PM'. SRK clarified IT WAS NOT HIM, it was actually KRK who had said that. AND SO ON! So many LIES and RUMORS just to prove that SRK has is a traitor.

They will ignore that he has not forced his wife to convert to Islam. His house has Quran as well as Lord Ganesha. He celebrates all festivals-Holi, Diwali, Rakhi, Eid, Christmas. He has not sent his children to madrassa but in normal good schools and wants them educated. His wife does not live in Burkha. He has not done 4 marriages like many people think all Muslims do and has rather lived his life with 1 woman,his only girlfriend,his only wife,his only love! He has lived his life like a normal Indian,like they all do, co-existing peacefully with everyone and still so many people spread rumors about him. What can be said about such people, they just want to divide people on the basis of religion and cannot see a Muslim superstar in a predominantly Hindu country. Good thing that most of India does not care about such stupid people and knows the truth of SRK's life, that he is as Indian as the rest!

5-SRK focuses on his work. He does not spend his whole day defending himself against stupid lies and rumors. He does not do charity for showing off. I personally know a friend of mine who has been treated for cancer thanks to him, he has helped many cancer patients but he has not put it out in news for all to see. He has donated towards many causes, like rural electrification, Tsunami, Bihar floods but not publicly. He has worked with Indian government for eradicating Polio. He has been awarded by UNESCO for his silent charitable activities. But most of SRK Haters IGNORE all this. In past 6-7 years, most of his haters compare him to Salman Khan and his Being Human charity which is just stupid. Amitabh Bachchan, Akshay Kumar and most of other bollywood people do charity but do not talk about it everyday. Many industrialists do charity but do you see them talking about it every day? But again, SRK IS ONLY TARGETED 'look he does no charity, Salman does so much, we hate SRK'. SRK believes that charity should not be done for publicity, he already gets publicity from his work, and his fans support him.

All in all, I STILL have to meet one person who can give me good reason to hate SRK. All I can say is, jealousy is the only reason for humanity's downfall!

To be fair, again, it is one thing to dislike someone. As I said, I dislike Rajesh Khanna's acting style, but I do NOT Hate him! I can still watch his movies, but I don't enjoy them much. I have no issues with anyone Disliking or criticizing SRK which I myself have crtitized him for making films like Chennai Express, Dilwale etc. Maybe his acting style does not suit them, maybe his choice of movies do not suit them,maybe his smoking puts them off, maybe they just don't like his face. That is okay. But here we are discussing HATRED which is such a powerful emotion. My answer was just for that :)

Wow, brilliant insight and excellent post! Time Pass Post of the Week for me [MENTION=93712]MenInG[/MENTION] [MENTION=139288]Abdul[/MENTION]

It's only beyond Don 2 that he made masala movies, prior to that his resume is pretty decent but like you say we need to judge him objectively in terms of individual performance. I've seen JTHJ, watched it with high expectations given the director and his collab with Khan in the past but was a bit dissapointed; what did you make of the movie? CH I didn't enjoy. Have not seen Dilwale or Raees and will be watching Fan tonight it's been wanting to see it for a while now but didn't get the chance

Yes beyond 2009 he made really poor choices. JTHJ was probably Yash Chopras worst movie. I think it was his son who wrote the story of that film and wanted Yash Chopra to direct it. Was a disappointment to be honest. Didn't like CE or HNY and CE at that time broke the record of the highest grossing movie and HNY still holds the highest opening day and single day collection and they were awful. Dilwale is worser.
That's why I mentioned only Fan as the only decent movie he done. Fan ain't great but compare to what the masala movies he done it was refreshing to see SRK the actor back and try something different and risky. It had potential to be a very great movie but think it lost track in 2nd half. Still was decent and one of his best performances but tanked at the Indian box office.
He was crtitized a lot for those masala movies especially by critics and as he said he reassesed his choices and now he has signed movies with directors he never worked before and trying different.
Started of with Fan, then Raees with Rahul Dholakia. Also is shooting a Imtiaz Ali movie and signed up for Anand Rais movie the director of Ranjhaana and Tanu Weds Manu. These movies ain't got the potential to be record breakers at the box office but it has got SRK back making better movies.
I think he will still do the odd masala movie to try breaking box office records but will be after Imtiaz Alis and Anand Rais movies.

Yes beyond 2009 he made really poor choices. JTHJ was probably Yash Chopras worst movie. I think it was his son who wrote the story of that film and wanted Yash Chopra to direct it. Was a disappointment to be honest. Didn't like CE or HNY and CE at that time broke the record of the highest grossing movie and HNY still holds the highest opening day and single day collection and they were awful. Dilwale is worser.
That's why I mentioned only Fan as the only decent movie he done. Fan ain't great but compare to what the masala movies he done it was refreshing to see SRK the actor back and try something different and risky. It had potential to be a very great movie but think it lost track in 2nd half. Still was decent and one of his best performances but tanked at the Indian box office.
He was crtitized a lot for those masala movies especially by critics and as he said he reassesed his choices and now he has signed movies with directors he never worked before and trying different.
Started of with Fan, then Raees with Rahul Dholakia. Also is shooting a Imtiaz Ali movie and signed up for Anand Rais movie the director of Ranjhaana and Tanu Weds Manu. These movies ain't got the potential to be record breakers at the box office but it has got SRK back making better movies.
I think he will still do the odd masala movie to try breaking box office records but will be after Imtiaz Alis and Anand Rais movies.

That's great news, look forward to more projects similar to Fan.

Have you watched the interview with Ross in the UK before?

It was incredibly insightful and covers a range of topics in such a short amount of time, for me it embodies his star power, life and aura in general. Was incredibly entertaining, one of the best episodes I've ever seen on the Jonathon Ross show.

Wow, brilliant insight and excellent post! Time Pass Post of the Week for me [MENTION=93712]MenInG[/MENTION] [MENTION=139288]Abdul[/MENTION]

Thanks I deserve it. Oops I will be called arrogant now like SRK lol.

It's just ridiculous and annoying when people just hate on a person. And some people who follow Bollywood recently don't know much and go by these hate comments and agree. And SRKs acting ability and stardom gets downplayed.
I said this before movies like PK, 3 idiots, Bhajrani Bhaijan and Dangal would still been record breakers if they had another A class actor. These movies are known for their brilliant script and story telling. Not by a outstanding performance by a actor.
And you watch movies like Chak De, Swades, Darr, Baazigar, Fan and can name some more they are remembered just for sheer class acting by SRK. Could a Amir or Salman do such roles. And these are all different roles he played in them not same romantic ones which he gets stereo typed for. People judging his acting ability on recent movies like CE, Dilwale, HNY which were rubbish movies and didn't need no acting in it at all. Then he pulls of Fan but still gets downplayed by some.

That's great news, look forward to more projects similar to Fan.

Have you watched the interview with Ross in the UK before?

It was incredibly insightful and covers a range of topics in such a short amount of time, for me it embodies his star power, life and aura in general. Was incredibly entertaining, one of the best episodes I've ever seen on the Jonathon Ross show.

Thanks for the videos and to be honest I ain't seen this interview. I remember at the time when this episode came out with Jonathan Ross and I was going to watch it but missed it and since then I completely forgot to watch it. Will give it a watch.

Ok budy, I think you need to wake up...let me give you why people hate him foremost...coz they feel cheated by his fake marketing...every time he hyped his movie and when you go and watch its crap...in India in last 5 to 10 years movies are not a pocket change..it's big expense to go with movie and eat outside..each movie with 4 people cost you easily 2000 to 3000 rs. So people started feeling this guy advertising Ferrari and selling us Tata Nano...most important why you see lot of people hate him coz they see him as a lier...

now let me give you one by one explanation on points you trying to justify.

1) SRK movies are record breaker?? are you serious man? Aamir Khan set the club of 100 cr, 200 cr, 300 cr and almost set 400 cr club with Dangal. You talking about star powers and people get jealous of his popularity? Think of Amitabh, Sachin, Salman, Aamir and some of your pakistan artist. When you keep bragging about his movies such as Fan, Raees, Paheli etc are some of the great movies, it shows you have not watched enough movies from India.

2) No one cares about some common man became celebrity, every other day in India someone achieve something big coming from common background...

3) you can not be so ignorant thinking that SRK is a Global star as some of the hollywood stars or singers. he is popular in US, UK, France, Germany, Indonesia, Singapore, Canada becoz there are lot of Desis lives there not becoz of white,black and chinese people...I think some 0.1% of white, black and chinese must have heard his name but they are not his fans or follow him...be real..

4) And this is the point forced me to respond you...you are pathetic looser to bring religion when you talk about bollywood...that shows your complete ignorance about India in general...you are talking about India not Pakistan...there are 3 Khans ruling bollywood since last 20-25 years..some of the greatest musicians are Muslims...Indians have loved their celebrity irrespective of their religion...

So if you are not an Indian, you can have your opinion on someone but end of the day it is India who is going to make decision whom they want to love and hate...and many Indians now hate SRK for the garbage he is dumping on them...if your product is not good, end of the day your consumers going to throw your product, as simple as that....

Looking at his movie collections, you will notice that he is even struggling to collect 100 cr..forget about breaking records.

Only reason Chennai Express made some decent collection is not SRK...it was Deepika...it's hard truth for you but it is reality....SRK can bring you 100 cr movies ( that too with hyped ticket prices) but can not take movie collection to Aamir or Salman movies...

Come out of 90's...

Ok budy, I think you need to wake up...let me give you why people hate him foremost...coz they feel cheated by his fake marketing...every time he hyped his movie and when you go and watch its crap...in India in last 5 to 10 years movies are not a pocket change..it's big expense to go with movie and eat outside..each movie with 4 people cost you easily 2000 to 3000 rs. So people started feeling this guy advertising Ferrari and selling us Tata Nano...most important why you see lot of people hate him coz they see him as a lier...

now let me give you one by one explanation on points you trying to justify.

1) SRK movies are record breaker?? are you serious man? Aamir Khan set the club of 100 cr, 200 cr, 300 cr and almost set 400 cr club with Dangal. You talking about star powers and people get jealous of his popularity? Think of Amitabh, Sachin, Salman, Aamir and some of your pakistan artist. When you keep bragging about his movies such as Fan, Raees, Paheli etc are some of the great movies, it shows you have not watched enough movies from India.

2) No one cares about some common man became celebrity, every other day in India someone achieve something big coming from common background...

3) you can not be so ignorant thinking that SRK is a Global star as some of the hollywood stars or singers. he is popular in US, UK, France, Germany, Indonesia, Singapore, Canada becoz there are lot of Desis lives there not becoz of white,black and chinese people...I think some 0.1% of white, black and chinese must have heard his name but they are not his fans or follow him...be real..

4) And this is the point forced me to respond you...you are pathetic looser to bring religion when you talk about bollywood...that shows your complete ignorance about India in general...you are talking about India not Pakistan...there are 3 Khans ruling bollywood since last 20-25 years..some of the greatest musicians are Muslims...Indians have loved their celebrity irrespective of their religion...

So if you are not an Indian, you can have your opinion on someone but end of the day it is India who is going to make decision whom they want to love and hate...and many Indians now hate SRK for the garbage he is dumping on them...if your product is not good, end of the day your consumers going to throw your product, as simple as that....

Looking at his movie collections, you will notice that he is even struggling to collect 100 cr..forget about breaking records.

Only reason Chennai Express made some decent collection is not SRK...it was Deepika...it's hard truth for you but it is reality....SRK can bring you 100 cr movies ( that too with hyped ticket prices) but can not take movie collection to Aamir or Salman movies...

Come out of 90's...

Agree he has made garbage past few years I ain't not for once said CE, HNY were good despite breaking records at box office at the time. It's you that are twisting my comments around and making it up like your way. You said he can't act and when I name movies where he acted better then the so called great actors then you change the topic and bring box office or some next crap up.

1) Srk was breaking records overseas and worldwide he was competing with himself only for a long period of time. Yes Amir started 100 crore, 200 and etc. But it was time that box office was getting bigger. And Amir picked up some really good scripts and to go with a extended holiday like Christmas which got such big success.
Also Salman has given garbages over garbages still they make money in India, I thought Indian public don't watch garbages anymore. No that's wrong it's because Salman has found Eid releases as a success. Last time Srk released a film on Eid it became the highest grossing movie at the time and it was a garbage movie.
Also I ain't bragging about any great movies and never said they are great all I just mentioned was movies like Chak De, Swades, Fan, Darr and many many more where Srk stole the film with his acting which Amir and Salman can't pull off. You need to read what I write instead of changing my comments the way you want then to be. Amir has made better movies then Srk in recent times but it don't mean he turned into a better actor then hin all of a sudden.

3) Take your glasses if hatred of and you will find out how big and popular his stardom is around the world and no its not only because of just desis. You need to stop this hate and accept the reality.

4) Think I touched a very big nerve their so I don't want to talk about this too much now as clearly shows this is one of the reasons.
Shiv Sena and BJP supporters hate Muslims and we seen their comments against Srk telling him to go Pakistan and other things they said against him.

And you showed your hate with the Deepika comment. Really deluded and hater you are. Reason CE made that much money was it was a Eid release. We saw when Salman released Jai Ho in January and how it performed. I ain't bothered about box office records. All Srk has to do is make a masala movie and have a solo release on a Eid or Christmas and it break box office records like CE did at the time but glad he not signed any Rohit Shetty, Farah Khan and other masala movies.

And ain't a point debating with people that have pure hate. So keep it up.

Regarding Raees box office. Their was no way it could made 200 crore+. Less screens and January release with a clash. Only 1 holiday of Republic day which hardly has been a big spinner. Jai Ho released same time few years back with nearly double screens of Raees but only made just over 70 crore in its first 5 days. Raees has done extremely well considering their was a clash and it's a non holiday release.
It had a great buzz and according to trade analysts it would have made 30 crore on opening day which was a working Wednesday if it wasn't because of a clash. Most it can make is around 150 crore which it should.
It might have made 200 crore+ if it was a solo release but that would been very unlikely as theirs no holidays. Eid, Christmas and Diwali are the the big holidays for Bollywood.

None sadly,Chennai express and Jab Tak hai Jan were okish defn better than what he is doing now.

Agree. Ain't seen Raees so can't comment but he getting good reviews from critics.
I would say Fan was his best movie after 2011 even though I didn't like the 2nd half. Had great potential to be a great movie but messed it up 2nd half. But give it just for his acting. Was one of his best career performances and definitely his best since Chak De and Swades. Showed why he is regarded as a top actor. Needs to stop doing masala movies and more movies where he can show case his acting ability and better scripts.

Man, should have and could have doesnt matter when people talk about history...

Hr did not dare to relase Raees in July with Sultan coz he was afraid and chicken out...he dodnt even bother with Dangal time...that says it all how confidence he is and good...

Agree. Ain't seen Raees so can't comment but he getting good reviews from critics.
I would say Fan was his best movie after 2011 even though I didn't like the 2nd half. Had great potential to be a great movie but messed it up 2nd half. But give it just for his acting. Was one of his best career performances and definitely his best since Chak De and Swades. Showed why he is regarded as a top actor. Needs to stop doing masala movies and more movies where he can show case his acting ability and better scripts.

Spot on about fan,there was massively something missing in second half. He has movies with new set of directors coming up so that should be ok.

http://www.boxofficeindia.com/hit-count-actor.php

Here is the list of hits for all bollywood actors according to boxoffice. They are adding previous years over time so have movies from 1993 onwards only so far. But you can see that in the last decade Shahrukh Khan hit rate has gone down. Where as Aamir Khan and Salman Khan's hit rate has gone up despite that they have just started matching him in the hit rate. Shows how big he was in the 90-07 period. But overall the domination of the Khans in the last 25-26 years is the shocking part. How come no one else has been able to match them.

Indians and Pakistanis love to put famous Bollywood actors/actresses on a pedestal and religiously watch their movies even if they are obviously going to be trash. It's worse when it comes to Pakistanis since they do the same but they aren't even our actors. Keep turning up to watch movies starring these washed up geezers and they will keep making this garbage. I bet if Robert de Niro was Indian then "The adventures of Rocky and Bullwinkle" would be the highest grossing movie of 2000, both in India and Pakistan.

Yes a movie's cast is important but Indian and Pakistani cinema will never progress until people stop focusing on who the lead actor/actresses is and start concentrating on the things that actually matter like the performances, script, direction and actual quality of the movie. If Quentin Tarantino was an Indian or Pakistani he would've never been famous because unfortunately reservoir dogs didn't have any big names at the time

Indians and Pakistanis love to put famous Bollywood actors/actresses on a pedestal and religiously watch their movies even if they are obviously going to be trash. It's worse when it comes to Pakistanis since they do the same but they aren't even our actors. Keep turning up to watch movies starring these washed up geezers and they will keep making this garbage. I bet if Robert de Niro was Indian then "The adventures of Rocky and Bullwinkle" would be the highest grossing movie of 2000, both in India and Pakistan.

I can tell u for sure A gorilla falling in love with a girl wouldnt gross 200 crores n India,neither will cars becoming robot.

Good movies even in hollywood esp the oscar dont do big business,eg manchester by sea,kings speech,black swan.
Hell even godfather had what around 2-3 million dollar or something as total gross.

But you still watched those movies because you don't have a bias there plus people watching hollywood a majority of them don't need escpaism in desi land they do because life us tough here if all they had to do was something they can relate to they can rather tune into their depressing life.

You consider oscar movies to be good ,the similar one in India is national awards movies and let me tell u not one Of the 3 major khans have won it even once for their acting,check those movies out before generalizing

I can tell u for sure A gorilla falling in love with a girl wouldnt gross 200 crores n India,neither will cars becoming robot.

Good movies even in hollywood esp the oscar dont do big business,eg manchester by sea,kings speech,black swan.
Hell even godfather had what around 2-3 million dollar or something as total gross.

But you still watched those movies because you don't have a bias there plus people watching hollywood a majority of them don't need escpaism in desi land they do because life us tough here if all they had to do was something they can relate to they can rather tune into their depressing life.

You consider oscar movies to be good ,the similar one in India is national awards movies and let me tell u not one Of the 3 major khans have won it even once for their acting,check those movies out before generalizing

Well said. Agree

And regarding national awards none of the Khans have done anything significant to win it. Shahrukh probably should have won it in 2005 for Swades but they gave it to Saif Ali Khan for Hum Tum and Saif Ali Khans mum was one of the judges for that year on national awards lol.

Well said. Agree

And regarding national awards none of the Khans have done anything significant to win it. Shahrukh probably should have won it in 2005 for Swades but they gave it to Saif Ali Khan for Hum Tum and Saif Ali Khans mum was one of the judges for that year on national awards lol.

Yes the biggest disgrace ever but never happened before or after ,no one even considers him worthy of that award.They tried their best not to give Amitabh any award as well.
People cry about Bjp interference in arts but congress took the cake for their first term fiasco.

Mind folk like that who are a bit of a coconut :yk3 sit on their high horse commenting on the greatness of hollywood who actually make use of the same main-stream bollywood formula when you look at their action releases. Smart fans appreciate quality irrespective of where it originates from, there's plenty of good and bad in the subcontinent as far as the movies are concerned and even though am someone who'll only watch a mainstream movie if it is good understand that there are many independent and non-hindi movies which are driven by the narrative and characters.; it's COMMON SENSE :yk2 but I guess sense is rarely common :(

Also when SRK was dropping world class performances like they were nothing in the initial phase of his career not like he was a "name" then :yk2 his star wasn't as big but he made it through those incredible performances, so much for using "names" to sell tickets back then! and can't blame directors/producers these days who resort to the stars of old when very few have managed to match their star power, quiet frankly they just don't inspire on the same level and probably need to retake some acting modules :yk3

Mind folk like that who are a bit of a coconut :yk3 sit on their high horse commenting on the greatness of hollywood who actually make use of the same main-stream bollywood formula when you look at their action releases. Smart fans appreciate quality irrespective of where it originates from, there's plenty of good and bad in the subcontinent as far as the movies are concerned and even though am someone who'll only watch a mainstream movie if it is good understand that there are many independent and non-hindi movies which are driven by the narrative and characters.; it's COMMON SENSE :yk2 but I guess sense is rarely common :(

Pretty much that,within India I watch movies from atleast 3-4 languages ,I don't mind Korean,Brazilian even French which i find sometimes weird.
Was a big fan of 80's Chinese movies from drunken master,project A etc.