"Shaheen might have gone for 14-15 crore had he been there at the IPL auction" : Ravi Ashwin

Rationality is that Shaheen has almost zero chance of playing the IPL. And hence no one has any idea how much he would go for.

15-16 crore is 2mn USD. How many players in the history of IPL has gone for that amount? And how many of them non Indian?

Maxwell without much performance (earlier) did get 14+ contract deal..

Funny how you keep dodging the fact that they are garbage and would be lucky to get a contract in just about any other league in the world.

But yeah tell me about Unadkat was worth 12 crores :yuvi

Garbage? I tell you what, even if a retired guy like Raina puts his name in a league, he will earn top dollars. But fortunately he doesn't need to.

Who is garbage who is not isnt based on your opinion.

Yeah Unadkat got 12crs. You have an issue with it?

It seems guys like Kohli, Ashwin etc are obsessed with Pakistani players especially their left arm bowlers. :rabada2 :inti

Garbage? I tell you what, even if a retired guy like Raina puts his name in a league, he will earn top dollars. But fortunately he doesn't need to.

We have an issue with you undervaluing Pakistani players especially when your own players who are not international level are being valued at astronomical rates

The restrictions have increased with each event.

Ok and they can be decreased if need be so. Hence, inconsistent and nothing firm. So the stand itself if flimsy and emotional from day 1.

Why doesn’t the Indian public boycott the Asia cup coverage? Just like they are demanding boycott of Bollywood?

Flimsy patriotism? Desh Bhakti sirf hamain yahaan dikhane ke liye rakhi hai?

We have an issue with you undervaluing Pakistani players especially when your own players who are not international level are being valued at astronomical rates

The market says an Indian player is more valuable than a Pakistani one. Cry to the market.

Why is this even a question. Ashwin might have said that shaheen might fetch good amount but it is never guaranteed. What is the big deal about shaheen. Bumrah takes the cake and we have excellent players from all over the world who want to play in Ipl. Why should we ever play Pakistan players. It is our league we can play whom ever we want.

Ok and they can be decreased if need be so. Hence, inconsistent and nothing firm. So the stand itself if flimsy and emotional from day 1.

Why doesn’t the Indian public boycott the Asia cup coverage? Just like they are demanding boycott of Bollywood?

Flimsy patriotism? Desh Bhakti sirf hamain yahaan dikhane ke liye rakhi hai?

Why will they be decreased? 2008 was an event that stopped most of the bilateral engagements. Whatever was remaining stopped after URI.

Asia cup is not a Indian tournament. Its a multilateral event.

Why will i show you patriotism? What's the need?

It is. Because when you see garbage you can immediately tell so.

And all the bowlers I have named are utter garbage.

I seriously hope Avesh Khan and Arshdeep are in India's World Cup squad.

Shaheen perhaps would have been one of the top picks in IPL had he played but Ashwin is much smarter when it comes to commerce. He knows he's running a youtube channel and it gets valued based upon views so if PPers could become his audience and subscribers then even better for him.

You can talk about his motivations all day long, won't change the fact of the matter.

Jasprit Bumrah was paid 12cr for the 2022 season by MI.

So there is no way Shaheen will get 15cr 16cr.

But Shaheen will likely get similar to what Jofra or Rabada got.

It is. Because when you see garbage you can immediately tell so.

And all the bowlers I have named are utter garbage.

I seriously hope Avesh Khan and Arshdeep are in India's World Cup squad.

Unfortunately your opinion will not fetch Shaheen 1usd in India.

The market says an Indian player is more valuable than a Pakistani one. Cry to the market.

There is no market right now. I will cry to the market once your point is proven about how Pakistani players are not the same value lol

Why will they be decreased? 2008 was an event that stopped most of the bilateral engagements. Whatever was remaining stopped after URI.

Asia cup is not a Indian tournament. Its a multilateral event.

Why will i show you patriotism? What's the need?

Why don’t you boycott the coverage??? It is a centrally Indian covered event!

My understanding of the IPL market and the value of gaurenteed Pakistan picks (dollars)

1. Shaheen: $1.5m-$2m
2. Shadab: $800k-$1m
3. Babar: $300-500K
4. Harris Rauf: $100-200k
5. Hasnain: $80-120k
6. Naseem:$1m (big call. I think he will fetch that fee)
8. Asif Ali: $50-100k
9. Rizwan:$200-300k
10. Fakhar: $200k
11. Dahani: $50-100k

Shaheen would easily fetch a million plus assuming good India-Pak relations in some parallel universe.

Shadab, Babar and Rizwan could be other picks as well.

Naseem stands no chance of being picked by any franchise. He isn't even 150+ to make up for his crap bowling.

Why don’t you boycott the coverage??? It is a centrally Indian covered event!

What is centrally indian covered event?

The organizer is ACC.

The Broadcaster is Star, owned by Disney.

Should i boycott the Asian Games next? Or the CWG?

What is centrally indian covered event?

The organizer is ACC.

The Broadcaster is Star, owned by Disney.

Should i boycott the Asian Games next? Or the CWG?

This will be the end of this line of posting. No more.

Lolwut? Bangladesh? When?

U clearly have been in Hibernation. We played Australia and SL in tests this year. He was brilliant on absolutely dead wickets vs Australia. Great again vs SL.
Great Psl. Great vs Ind here. Great in literally all cricket he's played this year.

PSL is irrelevant to IPL selection and rest of whatever you say isn't enough to make an IPL side. Australia in Asia and Sri Lanka anywhere isn't really a big deal, and those were one off performances. You may disagree, fair enough.

Batters and ARs get more Money. Which season was this? Because i remember that Livingston got the highest bid as foreigner.

In 2021.. problem with Maxwell is he's not successful in ipl prior to that.. btw Kyle Jamison fetch 15 crore same year i believe.. and Bumrah too will fetch 15+ crores if he released by MI when he's in his peak form..

You can talk about his motivations all day long, won't change the fact of the matter.

Ok sir but what's the fact of the matter that you think I am changing? I am saying Shaheen could very well be one of top picks in IPL so what riled you up?

PSL is irrelevant to IPL selection and rest of whatever you say isn't enough to make an IPL side. Australia in Asia and Sri Lanka anywhere isn't really a big deal, and those were one off performances. You may disagree, fair enough.

Nah. I'm saying you didn't watch him this year.He gets slandered based on one offs too.

Only a fool would argue over a fact that shahin is one of the top bowlers esp in T20 and only the bigger fools would like to speculate and argue over the exact price for him in an irrational market (not a performance driven fair value pricing market but teams combinations driven) where he can't participate. Many PPers need to find some real jobs.

Ok sir but what's the fact of the matter that you think I am changing? I am saying Shaheen could very well be one of top picks in IPL so what riled you up?

Riled up? Hahahah far from it bro. You're the only only here trying to deflect from the main point in a typically passive aggressive way. I mean what do his motivations have to do with the point he is presenting?

Unfortunately your opinion will not fetch Shaheen 1usd in India.

Shaheen doesn't need an IPL contract to get validation from Indians. He already did that when he made India's top order look like a house of cards at the World Cup.

And then Indian pundits are raising this question of his value, not Pakistani

He could have been in the IPL if he was not a Pakistani.

He wouldn't have been Shaheen if he wasn't a Pakistani.

Indians always seem to have a weird inferiority complex when it comes to Pakistan and Pakistanis, almost a fetishization of sorts. I have no doubt that even the likes of Nawaz, Asif and Rauf would have gone for big bucks in the IPL just by virtue of being Pakistanis. Let alone bonafide superstars like Babar, Rizwan, Shaheen, Naseem and Shadab.

The Indian government is playing it smart by restricting Pakistani players in the league. They know the Indian public will never go back to watching the Kumars once they see the boys playing live. :yk

I see Joshila is still here trying to earn validation from Pakistanis of all stripes while trying (and failing) to exude an air of confidence, lol.

Indians always seem to have a weird inferiority complex when it comes to Pakistan and Pakistanis, almost a fetishization of sorts. I have no doubt that even the likes of Nawaz, Asif and Rauf would have gone for big bucks in the IPL just by virtue of being Pakistanis. Let alone bonafide superstars like Babar, Rizwan, Shaheen, Naseem and Shadab.

The Indian government is playing it smart by restricting Pakistani players in the league. They know the Indian public will never go back to watching the Kumars once they see the boys playing live. :yk

The Kumars have Multiple test series wins in OZ and just drew a series in ENG. They have also won ODI and T20 series against the best LOI team in the world just recently at their home.

Let us know when the Khans and Shahs can do that rather than running out of gas in the second spell and getting whitewashed against county select xis masquerading as England.

Ironical you are talking about inferiority complex, but it's your lot making a thread about Shaheen's value in a League where Paksitanis are not even welcome.:yk

What validation? A poster believes Shaheen will get 2mn usd in IPL and i disagree because some like Bumrah gets 1.5mn and the likes of Jofra and Rabada get 1mn.

If one match is all it takes then Wade who cracked Shaheen in SF of the same tournament should be earning 15 mn dollars in IPL.

The only inferiority complex seems to be among some of the pakistani posters. IPL doesn't buy pakistanis. Thats the end of that.

Pakistanis played 2008 in IPL and never played again while the IPL has become one of the biggest sporting leagues in the world.

Seems pakistani players are not that important.

If one match is all it takes then Wade who cracked Shaheen in SF of the same tournament should be earning 15 mn dollars in IPL.

Snide remarks aside, Shaheen is a top bowler, but as Joshila said, he will earn the same as Rabada / Archer.

Babar on the other hand wont fetch much and Riz will not even be picked.

Snide remarks aside, Shaheen is a top bowler, but as Joshila said, he will earn the same as Rabada / Archer.

Babar on the other hand wont fetch much and Riz will not even be picked.

Rizwan will most likely get picked. He ticks 2 boxes. Batsman and WK.

He bats in the top order though. Do you think a foreigner's spot will be wasted on him? Mostly in IPL foreigner's spots are reserved for Fast bowlers, AR, or big hitters.
There are local talents that can score at Rizwan's rate batting at the top order at a much cheaper cost.

What validation? A poster believes Shaheen will get 2mn usd in IPL and i disagree because some like Bumrah gets 1.5mn and the likes of Jofra and Rabada get 1mn.

No idea why you are conflating my comments with the comments of other posters. Your own player Ashwin made this comment, not me. All I said was that if garbage bowlers like Avesh Khan and Arshdeep can get big money contacts than Shaheen (if he was playing the IPL) would surely get a much bigger contract than them.

At any rate, beyond the financial stand-point, doing well in the IPL means absolutely nothing. Because if it did Umran Malik, Arshdeep, Avesh Khan would be lighting the world cricket on fire with their bowling. The list of players who have done well in IPL and still been failures as crickeetrs is endless

Once in a generation bowlers like Shaheen strive for much bigger and better things.

He bats in the top order though. Do you think a foreigner's spot will be wasted on him? Mostly in IPL foreigner's spots are reserved for Fast bowlers, AR, or big hitters.
There are local talents that can score at Rizwan's rate batting at the top order at a much cheaper cost.

Foreign wks like De kock, Buttler, all play in the top order.

A WK is absolutely necessary in a game. So if a foreigner can settle that place, its a good buy. Plus Rizwan also doesn't have any spin issues in T20.

Foreign wks like De kock, Buttler, all play in the top order.

A WK is absolutely necessary in a game. So if a foreigner can settle that place, its a good buy. Plus Rizwan also doesn't have any spin issues in T20.

DeKock Buttler all play a much higher strike rate and go from ball one though. They might not have done it all the time but at least on potential.

No idea why you are conflating my comments with the comments of other posters. Your own player Ashwin made this comment, not me. All I said was that if garbage bowlers like Avesh Khan and Arshdeep can get big money contacts than Shaheen (if he was playing the IPL) would surely get a much bigger contract than them.

At any rate, beyond the financial stand-point, doing well in the IPL means absolutely nothing. Because if it did Umran Malik, Arshdeep, Avesh Khan would be lighting the world cricket on fire with their bowling. The list of players who have done well in IPL and still been failures as crickeetrs is endless

Once in a generation bowlers like Shaheen strive for much bigger and better things.

A value of the player is based on a lot of things. Local players will always earn more because of the spots available.

As if those are the only players who play in the IPL?

Also much bigger things like what? Like not able to win home series against Aus?

At any rate, beyond the financial stand-point, doing well in the IPL means absolutely nothing. Because if it did Umran Malik, Arshdeep, Avesh Khan would be lighting the world cricket on fire with their bowling.

Once in generation bowler, thats the hyperbole. Same was said to hype Amir.

Once in a generation bowler is someone like Wasim Akram, and Shaheen isn't close to him at this point in time.

The only garbage i see is some posters desperately trying to hype their players.

I remember the last time Indian bowlers were called garbage, they went onto win a test series in Australia.

Speaking on his YT channel

"I have thought a lot about how crazy it would have been if Shaheen Afridi had been there in an IPL auction. A tall left-arm seamer who sets the game with the new ball and also unleashes yorkers at the death. He might have gone for 14-15 crore had he been there at the IPL auction"

"

Believe that would be slightly over 30 pkr Crores - basically Shaheen would be making pkr 50 lakhs per day in a 2 month IPL season according to Ashwin’s estimates (which is usually spot on)

Unfortunately for SSA, don’t see the situation changing as PCB seems to be intent on upsetting BCCI or it’s political masters with court cases, Kashmir league etc.

Once in a generation bowler is someone like Wasim Akram, and Shaheen isn't close to him at this point in time.

The only garbage i see is some posters desperately trying to hype their players.

I remember the last time Indian bowlers were called garbage, they went onto win a test series in Australia.

Did you not call Umran Malik once in a generation bowler yourself? You are allowed to say these things based on potential but not others? :inti

He is a once in a generation bowler in every sense of the word. One that India would give and arm and a leg to have. Especially now that Bumrah is 28 and seems to be getting injured twice a year.

Amir was too but unfortunately he was stupid enough to throw his career away by wasting 5 years of his life.

But yeah, go back to hyping your Avesh Khans and Umran Maliks. Hopefully one of these days Umran will finally land 6 deliveries in the same area and those tampered IPL speedguns will tell us how he broke the 160 km/h barrier.

He is a once in a generation bowler in every sense of the word. One that India would give and arm and a leg to have. Especially now that Bumrah is 28 and seems to be getting injured twice a year.

Amir was too but unfortunately he was stupid enough to throw his career away by wasting 5 years of his life.

But yeah, go back to hyping your Avesh Khans and Umran Maliks. Hopefully one of these days Umran will finally land 6 deliveries in the same area and those tampered IPL speedguns will tell us how he broke the 160 km/h barrier.

India has done quite well without these once in generation bowlers that people have hyped up every few years.

Keep whining about the IPL. As if its going to make any difference.

No pakistani is getting an IPL contract in the foreseeable future.

India has done quite well without these once in generation bowlers that people have hyped up every few years.

How about you tell your Players/experts to leave it out then. We all know they have mouthwatering dreams of seeing certain Pakistani players in their league. Maybe they shouldn’t let them out. Ashwin is a part of the India team wherever they travel. He is in their dressing room. He speaks what he sees and hears

Is Ashwin an Indian or a Pakistani now? :inti

Ashwin is one of the rare intelligent and educated subcontinent cricketers and always likes to postulate his theories in public platform. He has done multiple detailed analysis along with other analysts in his channel pre IPL mega auction and dispassionately examined possible pricing of several players - including himself. Analysts on his shows have freely raised debate topics such as Dhoni should be released/Kohli should not be retained which Ashwin has aired without worrying about how any toxic fan groups will react. It is disingenuous to think he is pandering to Pak audience for YouTube views.

He is correct that in the right auction setting (say a mini auction), a team which has lost or doesn't have a spearhead (say MI with injured Archer) may find it worthwhile to shell out 14-15 cr for a guy like Shaheen if a bidding war with another desperate bidder ensues.

It is also possible that same 14-15 cr Shaheen might be benched in same season for playing a 4-5 cr bits and pieces pick like Odean Smith if the team think tank feels that batting needs to be shored up.

IPL salaries and selection in XI are not exact measures of player's worth but rather function of other variables also like demand/supply, team/squad balance, player availability, home stadium conditions etc.

It is possible that someone like a Babar may not be picked ala Root in certain auctions since teams don't see value in picking him and benching him. Alternatively if someone like a KKR/SRH is unhappy with their current captain/batting anchor and wants to replace them they can spark off a bidding war in a mini auction which will net Babar 12-14 cr also.

Shaheen could've been one of the most expensive players. Ravi is right.

It could've also increased the quality of IPL.

How about you tell your Players/experts to leave it out then. We all know they have mouthwatering dreams of seeing certain Pakistani players in their league. Maybe they shouldn’t let them out. Ashwin is a part of the India team wherever they travel. He is in their dressing room. He speaks what he sees and hears

Indians own teams in 3 different leagues, they are yet to sign a Pakistani this season, tells you how much they want to sign a Pakistani.

:))) :))) Some of you guys live in a parallel universe. We all remember how Aamir was supposed to end up being a better bowler than Wasim Akram when he started. And Razzaq saying that a certain hack by the name of Ahmed Shehzad had more talent than Tendulkar.

Did you not call Umran Malik once in a generation bowler yourself? You are allowed to say these things based on potential but not others? :inti
Hahahahah
Shaheen once in a generation. Don't make me puke. Very mediocre test bowler outside opening spell.
Mediocre even in odi outside the first 5 overs. Average at death.
In t20 he is good but no one cares about t20.

Once in a generation lol. Man we have some seriously delusional fans.

Once in a generation would be someone like wasim who himself only averages 29 in sewai countries for tests.

Once in a generation bowlers of current era are rabada bumrah and Cummins. Not shaheen

India have siraj, tyagi who is way better than naseem btw in terms of potential, prasidh krishna, kuldeep sen, umran malik who is actually 22 (real age).
There are plenty more coming through the pipeline.

Let's not worry about India yea?
We should worry about ourselves first.

And no shaheen is not even close to once in a generation bowler.

:))) :))) Some of you guys live in a parallel universe. We all remember how Aamir was supposed to end up being a better bowler than Wasim Akram when he started. And Razzaq saying that a certain hack by the name of Ahmed Shehzad had more talent than Tendulkar.

The only one living in a parallel universe is you. Anyone who saw Amir in the summer of 2010 knows how good he was on the path to being. At that stage of his career he was light years ahead of where most top-level bowlers are after years on top. But then again, I guess you started watching cricket yesterday so its not really your fault is it?

I've been watching cricket since the 90's, much longer than you. What was his career Test average when he was banned, care to tell me?

India have siraj, tyagi who is way better than naseem btw in terms of potential, prasidh krishna, kuldeep sen, umran malik who is actually 22 (real age).
There are plenty more coming through the pipeline.

Let's not worry about India yea?
We should worry about ourselves first.

And no shaheen is not even close to once in a generation bowler.

None of these guys are as good as Shaheen or Naseem. Given their age. I'll worry about whoever I want to worry about and don't need your advice on that.

Siraj is 28. Way too old to have a great career at this point. Tyagi is as injury-prone as they come. At this young age of his career he has already had multiple injuries. Krishna hasn't done anything close to what Naseem has already done for Pakistan and Sen hasn't even played for India. And Umran Malik is utter garbage.

Also the fact that you think that Rabada, Cummins, Bumrah are once in a generation bowlers but Shaheen who is significantly younger than them, while being in the same conversation whenever the greatest fast bowlers of the modern era are discussed tells me you're either deeply delusion or trying to act like every other self-hating, ungrateful Pak cricket fan who somehow thinks that underplaying the quality we have in certain players is cool. Take a hike junior.

Shaheen is once in a generation bowler?? Hahahha what a joke to start a day .yes he is good thats it but not like the way pakistan fans hyping him .

I've been watching cricket since the 90's, much longer than you. What was his career Test average when he was banned, care to tell me?

Well there you go. That tells me all I need to know. You're a scoreboard analyst right? Because had you seen Amir bowl in Australia 2009 or the summer of 2010 in England you wouldn't be talking about his average. But I highly doubt that you did.

His bowling average was 29 when he got banned.

You guys know nothing about fast bowling, so better not embarass yourself.

Shaheen is an absolute top of the heap gold tier talent, if "once in a generation" triggers someone, I'd add he is once in many generations.

Tryhard responses like "haha no he is not haha lol.." are smelled from a mile off ��

I guess that's why India hyped guys like Irfan Pathan, Ashish Nehra to the moon right?

Don't really care about a Pakistani getting a contract in the IPL as I've told you a million times.

But it is funny that a guy who clocks in 149/150 in the IPL can barely hit 140 in the real world.

One a generation bowler Already conceded 3 six in a row to wade.

I see a few bringing their innate Anti-Pakistan bias to this thread.

It's easy to see through and not needed, and will not be tolerated.

Stick to the business of cricket and leave out the subliminal hate for Pakistan.

Well there you go. That tells me all I need to know. You're a scoreboard analyst right? Because had you seen Amir bowl in Australia 2009 or the summer of 2010 in England you wouldn't be talking about his average. But I highly doubt that you did.

His bowling average was 29 when he got banned.

Australia, 2009? He averaged more than 40 in that series :))

Thanks for proving my point yet again. And congratulations for opening ESPNCricinfo and finding that out.

Too bad you didn't see the actual series and the way Amir got guys like Ponting and Watson out. Or some of the straight-up lethal spells he bowled in that series...that made his talent evident from the get-go.

Shaheen is an absolute top of the heap gold tier talent, if "once in a generation" triggers someone, I'd add he is once in many generations.

Tryhard responses like "haha no he is not haha lol.." are smelled from a mile off ��

Check his averages in sena for tests.

Once in a generation. Lmao.

Cummins bumrah rabada these are once in a generation.

Thanks for proving my point yet again. And congratulations for opening ESPNCricinfo and finding that out.

Too bad you didn't see the actual series and the way Amir got guys like Ponting and Watson out. Or some of the straight-up lethal spells he bowled in that series...that made his talent evident from the get-go.

Ishant Sharma impressed Ponting so much in his debut series that he wrote about it in his book. So? Amir was and still remains a nobody.

None of these guys are as good as Shaheen or Naseem. Given their age. I'll worry about whoever I want to worry about and don't need your advice on that.

Siraj is 28. Way too old to have a great career at this point. Tyagi is as injury-prone as they come. At this young age of his career he has already had multiple injuries. Krishna hasn't done anything close to what Naseem has already done for Pakistan and Sen hasn't even played for India. And Umran Malik is utter garbage.

Also the fact that you think that Rabada, Cummins, Bumrah are once in a generation bowlers but Shaheen who is significantly younger than them, while being in the same conversation whenever the greatest fast bowlers of the modern era are discussed tells me you're either deeply delusion or trying to act like every other self-hating, ungrateful Pak cricket fan who somehow thinks that underplaying the quality we have in certain players is cool. Take a hike junior.

What quality. What has he shown in tests. Couldn't even help us beat Aussies at HOME.

He is bang average in the main format. Good in t20 the weakest format.

Anyway I am done talking about shaheen.

He is the best since wasim but he is no where near big 3 overall I.e Cummins bumrah and rabada.

Ishant Sharma impressed Ponting so much in his debut series that he wrote about it in his book. So? Amir was and still remains a nobody.

I'm not gonna bother arguing this topic any longer with someone who did not even see Amir bowl during his early days.

Amir is definitely a nobody and he will go down in history as a nobody. But that was not the case when he burst onto the scene.

Shaheen has potential to be one of the best but that status is far far away from him as of now.
Let him achieve something substantial before hyping him up

Once in a generation term is used for proven performers and x factor players who won their team a test series in SENA country i.e Rishabh Pant.

He is the best since wasim but he is no where near big 3 overall I.e Cummins bumrah and rabada.

Yeah I guess that probably explains why he won Cricketer of the Year and Cummins, Rabada and Bumrah didn't. Because he was nowhere near them.

I don't think Shaheen is as good as Cummins and Bumrah right now. But to say he is nowhere near them is an utterly deluded thing to say that has no basis in reality. Shaheen is very much in the same league as these three and in a a few years will eclipse all three of these bowlers.

Shaheen is once in a generation bowler?? Hahahha what a joke to start a day .yes he is good thats it but not like the way pakistan fans hyping him .

There's always hype when it comes to Pakistani bowlers, but a few away tours, and it fizzles out fast.

Shaheen is good, but has only done well against WI, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka and Zimbabwe. Record against top sides is still pathetic.

I'm not gonna bother arguing this topic any longer with someone who did not even see Amir bowl during his early days.

Amir is definitely a nobody and he will go down in history as a nobody. But that was not the case when he burst onto the scene.
I've been watching cricket before Amir was even born. I've seen his early days.

There's always hype when it comes to Pakistani bowlers, but a few away tours, and it fizzles out fast.

Shaheen is good, but has only done well against WI, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka and Zimbabwe. Record against top sides is still pathetic.

And there isn't about Indian bowlers? I guess you were living under a rock when Indian posters were over-hyping Umran Malik to the moon.